Search
Email Us
Tennis Resorts Online
Gstaad Palace, Switzerland, home of Roy Emerson Tennis Weeks
©Roger cox

Gstaad Palace
Roy Emerson Tennis Weeks

CH-3780 Gstaad, Switzerland





Your Call

Here's what others have had to say about Gstaad Palace/Roy Emerson Tennis Weeks and Roy Emerson Tennis Weeks.

  • 2½-Ball Rating ""—M.B., Adv. Int., April 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Voted #1 on almost every tennis camp internet search, Roy Emmerson's Tennis Weeks in Gstaad, Switzerland lives up to—and beyond—it's stellar reputation. The accommodation and hospitality, scenery and schedule, tennis pros and Roy, create an experience like no other. From the day you arrive, Roy and Joy welcome you to their summer home-away-from-home, and to their tennis family. Each day is packed with practice, wise instruction, tips, tricks, drills and feisty competition and match play. Each evening is a round robin of socializing with new friends, extraordinary food, necessary cocktails and nursing weary muscles. The week I spent with Roy was an absolute once-in-a-lifetime experience. So much so that I'm going again this year."—S.P., Adv. Int., April 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "A lovely experience. Truly delightful. I can't wait to go back."—S.E., Low Int., April 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Simply the best experience I've had at a tennis camp, and I've been to many. A solid week of tennis with the same group of people; not just a lost of different people coming and going and making instruction rag tag. And you can't beat the location - the Swiss Alps at a 5 Star Hotel. Great clay courts. and some of my instructors, aside from Roy himself, have been a #1 doubles player in the world, a captain of a David Cup Team, and very skilled players all who follow the Emerson approach. although it's not cheap, it's much better value and experience than anywhere else."—G.W., Adv. Int., April 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "Always an amazing vacation: fantastic Tennis, food from the gods, a dream hotel. Not sure it could be any better. Have been going to camp at the Palace with Roy and Joy since 2004 and don’t see missing a year unless something is wrong with me!! A great value: a five star hotel and five star tennis. Do yourself a favor and GO!!"—K.S., Adv. Int., April 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "Absolutely loved every aspect of it. It is pricy but worth it"—T.M., Int., March 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "Set in the Alps, and playing on red clay courts at the Palace Hotel or the village of Gstaad, I can not imagine a more delightful place to play tennis. Roy Emerson is delightful and actively involved in all sessions. The mix of Suisse and international teaching professionals (many with tour experience), makes for a low key but valuable learning experience. The Palace Hotel is delightful. With an international group of attendees, I found it an outstanding tennis and social experience. I will be returning this July for my ninth year."—T.C., Int., March 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "I loved every minute. My husband and I went in 2016 and 2017 and those were the best vacations we ever had. The town of Gstaad is wonderful and the view of the mountains made waking up every morning a special treat. But the real treats were Roy and Joy Emerson who are wonderful hosts, dedicated to giving every guest a great experience. My husband and I play at different levels but they arranged the small groups so we both had great tennis. Roy is an insightful teacher and seems to take great pleasure helping middle aged ladies improve their strokes and their strategy! I have an aversion to hard courts and Roy always made sure I had a clay court. One half day is devoted to a picnic in the mountains which is impossibly beautiful. Roy collects terrific pros from all over the globe and they are enthusiastic, fun people who are also great teachers. I cannot recommend the Roy Emerson tennis week more strongly. It's simply the best --and I have been to a lot of tennis camps."—A.T., Int., March 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "Tennis heaven. My wife and I have been to the Roy Emerson Tennis Week twice and would like to go every year. The whole experience is extraordinary. The setting is breathtaking. The hotel, the service and the food are spectacular. But we went for the tennis and that was even better. The facilities are terrific with indoor and outdoor courts available depending on the weather. The pros and the quality of the teaching were superb. While the play or drills are usually in groups of 4, there is enough individual attention for a given student's "issues." Roy Emerson and his wife Joy are absolutely delightful, charming and hilarious. Roy's personality pervades the entire experience with a love of tennis and his sense of humor to offset the inevitable frustrations of trying to improve your tennis. And Roy is not just a figure head. Although he has been doing it for decades he is actually on the court teaching every day. The other pros are from around the world and it makes for a fabulous adventure."—C.T., Adv. Int., March 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "My favorite week of the year! This was our second year attending the camp and we are already booked to return this summer. I have already decided, if I win the lottery I am spending my summer in Gstaad doing all seven weeks worth of sessions! Everything about this experience is top-notch and worth every last dollar. Let's start with Roy. It's amazing to have a chance to learn from a legend. He has lots of tips and advice to share AND plenty of stories to keep us all laughing. The coaching staff he has assembled is accomplished, knowledgeable, patient and keep each session informative and fun. I love that we get to play a lot of tennis every day. For those who want less, it isn't a problem to skip a session if so desired. The setting is fabulous. I am blaming my missed volleys on the fact I was caught staring at the beautiful scenery surrounding the courts. It's been a pleasure to meet other tennis lovers from all over the world. Both sessions that I have attended have been a mix of genders, age and skill levels from countries as varied as Australia to South Africa to the Netherlands to the USA. I haven't even mentioned the setting of the Palace Hotel! Wow. Perfect. Luxurious and comfortable. Exceptional staff to attend to every request with pleasure. All meals are included and offer quality and choice for any taste. Finally, the spa experience is heavenly. The environment is peaceful and relaxing and the facilities are just what is needed after a long day of tennis. I can't say enough about this tennis experience. If I could only take one trip a year, this would be it!"—C.S., Low Int., February 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "There are so many different aspects of this camp to love. There truly is something for everyone. I, in particular, love the tennis. Roy is an excellent speaker and instructor. Keeps things simple with a charming and comedic story to personalize every session. All the different instructors bring something special with them as well. I love that they range from male ex players from South Africa to young female current players from Serbia and everything in between. You come away with a new knowledge of the game, its history, its future. Lifelong friends, gorgeous photographs, relaxed body and mind. I had forgotten that I even came here for tennis."—E.K., Low Int., February 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "If you are a tennis afficianado, this is definitely THE premier tennis camp for you. Playing on perfectly groomed red clay tennis courts surroudnded by the majestic Swiss mountains is the experience of a lifetime. Roy Emerson and his amazing tennis teaching staff, all of whom have either played in one or more of the four majors, and/or captained a Davis Cup team, give you their undivided attention. With a ratio of three players to one professional for each 2.5 hour hour session (2x per day) you have an opportunity to improve one major tennis skill each day i.e. serve, overhead, volley, backhand, forehand, slice, doubles strategy. Last time I was there one individual was a raw beginner and every morning session they had one-on-one instruction. Every morning and afternoon Roy spends a lot of time figuring out the best threesome for each group. You get to play some mixed, women’s/men’s with individuals all at your level. Roy’s sense of humor and genuine interest in each individual no matter how old or young or experienced or novice you are makes you feel completely embraced into that session’s tennis family. Additionally, Roy’s wife, Joy always ensures that all is running smoothly, and is available to help figure out excursions or shopping tips for everyone. Ten years ago, the first time I attended I went solo and I must admit I was quite nervous but after the first evening’s welcome cocktail I knew I was going to have a lot of fun. Most of the people I met the first evening had been attending for 15 years and I befriended two ladies who had been coming each year for 30 plus years, one of whom, now in her 90’s still participates in back to back sessions every year. You would think that those individuals who return every year would stick to themselves but that is not the case. Every newcomer is embraced into the group. I’ve since attended as a couple, or with a group of friends, and each time I return, the experience is somehow even more enjoyable.The Palace Hotel in Gstaad is truly a five star hotel. The food is amazing, the service outstanding, and the staff ensure that every need is met even before you think about asking for something. They remember your preferences for your morning coffee, any allergies or dietary restrictions you have and even whether or not you have a favorite cocktail in the evening. I’ve only been able to attend every other year because of the distance from California and can you imagine how impressed I was the second time I was there, after a two year absence, that I was called by name and asked at breakfast if I still liked my latte extra hot? Every morning when I awaken and look out of my hotel window and look at the magnificent view I am humbled by the majesty of the mountains and find myself being reflective and appreciative of life. The hotel rooms are comfortable and the housekeeping staff are available to attend to every need. It’s not just about the tennis at Roy’s tennis week. It’s also about meeting interesting, sophisticated, and intriguing individuals from all over the world, forming friendships, relaxing over a pre-dinner cocktail, walking into the beautiful town of Gstaad to do some high end shopping, being treated to a “picnic” in the mountains catered by the Palace Hotel and enjoying the views and the sunshine. Of course, there is also the Spa to indulge yourself as often as you like. The huge outdoor hot tub is a favorite gathering place after the afternoon tennis to relax those muscles after two active tennis sessions each day. The last evening everyone gathers in Guildo’s restaurant where Guilio sings opera and Roy entertains us with stories from the years he was on the circuit. I pretty much know all the words to Waltzing Matilda now and sing it along with all my fellow campers with more and more gusto each year. I love the sophistication of the hotel, getting dressed up for dinner, and being thoroughly spoiled and attended to in every way. I don’t know of any other program or hotel where you get this big of a “bang for your buck”. The wine cellar is world class and the kitchen tour definitely worth a look see. The only think I can’t comment on is the junior tennis program or children’s program because I have no experience with it. One thing is for sure, you can count on my being there every other year whether I go alone, with a partner, or a group of friends. Tighten your seatbelt, you are in for the experience of a lifetime."—C.S., Adv., February 2018

See more reviews

Rate Gstaad Palace/Roy Emerson Tennis Weeks or Roy Emerson Tennis Weeks


Ratings

(155 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
5-Ball Rating Tennis Staff
5-Ball Rating Instruction
4½-Ball Rating
Game Matching
4½-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4½-Ball Rating Tennis Complex
4½-Ball Rating
Cuisine
5-Ball Rating Lodging
4½-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
4½-Ball Rating
Dollar Value
4½-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4½-Ball Rating Setting
5-Ball Rating
Kids' Programs
4-Ball Rating Romance
4½-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4½-Ball Rating


Roy Emerson Tennis Weeks Ratings
( 144 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
5-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
5-Ball Rating
Instruction
4½-Ball Rating
Junior Tennis
4½-Ball Rating
Dollar Value
4½-Ball Rating

Ratings

(155 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
5-Ball Rating Instruction
4½-Ball Rating Tennis Complex
4½-Ball Rating Lodging
4½-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
4½-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4½-Ball Rating Kids' Programs
4-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4½-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
5-Ball Rating Game Matching
4½-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4½-Ball Rating Cuisine
5-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4½-Ball Rating Setting
5-Ball Rating Romance
4½-Ball Rating


Roy Emerson Tennis Weeks Ratings
( 144 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
5-Ball Rating Instruction
4½-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4½-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
5-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4½-Ball Rating

Rates and Reservations

The prices for the Emerson weeks include lodging for six nights, instruction, all meals, one massage, use of the swimming pool and gymnasium, and taxes. For information and reservations, email Roy Emerson Tennis Weeks.

Emerson Weeks: June 24-30, 2018
From CHF 4,200; non-participant in same room, CHF 3,400

Emerson Weeks:July 1-7, 8-14, and 15-21, 2018
From CHF 4,200; non-participant in same room, CHF 3,400

Emerson Weeks: Aug. 19-25, 2018
From CHF 4,200; non-participant in same room, CHF 3,400

Emerson Weeks: Aug. 26-Sept. 1 and Sept. 2-8, 2018
From CHF 4,200; non-participant in same room, CHF 3,400

Gstaad Palace
CH-3780 Gstaad, Switzerland