Search
Email Us
Tennis Resorts Online
Wintergreen Resort, Virginia
©Roger Cox

Wintergreen Resort

Wintergreen, Virginia



Boars Head 728x90

Boars Head 250x250



Your Call

Here's what others have had to say about Wintergreen Resort and Wintergreen Tennis Academy.

  • 5-Ball Rating "We will definitely be back. The tennis courts are superbly maintained. The tennis instructors are enthusiastic and make every drlll challenging. The setting is absolutely gorgeous and in the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains. Wintergreen is well known for skiing but the tennis really shines. It is a hidden gem and we know because we've played all over including Europe but never realized a comparable facility was within driving distance!"—D.D., Adv. Int., August 2022
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Strengths: Everyone were very friendly and engaging with guest. I had the opportunity to work with the tennis pro. She did not try to change my game, but game me excellent tips to make it better. I used them today in my match (6/10/22). The view was breath taking. I can’t wait to go back"—M.S., Adv., June 2022
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Excellent experience! From the group lessons to the private lesson the the tennis staff was so informative and helpful with my overall game. Ethan in particular helped me so much better understand the equipment I am using and found me the right type of string to be hitting with. Something I rarely used to think about before picking up my racquet"—N.D.,  June 2022
  • 5-Ball Rating "My tennis experience at Wintergreen has been exceptional. I have participated in many academies and taken quite a few lessons. The instructors/pros are quick to interpret what I need to work on. They keep lessons and group play engaging and fast paced. I highly recommend any time spent in the court with one of their wonderful pros. Worth every penny and a whole lot of fun!"—J.F., Adv. Int., June 2022
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—V.C., Adv., June 2022
  • 5-Ball Rating "Tennis academies and staff are awesome!"—R.T., Adv., June 2022
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Excellent instruction from professional experts."—T.C., Int., May 2022
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—K.D., Int., May 2022
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—V.A., Adv. Int., May 2022
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Had a wonderful 2-day group instruction experience at the Wintergreen Tennis Academy. The coaches were lively, highly experienced and knowledgeable, easy to work with. I learned a lot. They were committed to getting through all the basics and more and I'm sure my game will improve. The facility is top-notch as is the whole Wintergreen Resort area. Instructions on some of the drills were confusing. I would have enjoyed a little more direct feedback on my play and doubles strategy while we were playing."—G.M., Adv. Int., May 2022
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—C.Z., Adv., May 2022
  • 5-Ball Rating "Best place on earth!"—M.C., Adv. Int., May 2022
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I live full time at wintergreen so is hard to respond to these questions. It’s a great resort or I would not have chosen to retire here. Good golf and racquet sports, hiking and skiing"—W.G.,  May 2022
  • 3½-Ball Rating ""—C.C.,  May 2022
  • 5-Ball Rating "Two day , eight guy academy - exceptional ! Can’t say enough good things !!"—J.P., Int., March 2022
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—J.T., Int., March 2022
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Colleen at the Wintergreen tennis club is FABULOUS. Great with kids."—J.C., Int., January 2022
  • 5-Ball Rating "Superb tennis instruction and staff."—J.M., Beg., January 2022
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—C.B., Int., December 2021
  • 4-Ball Rating "For our short retreat, we were specifically looking for a resort that had indoor Pickleball. Bonus is that it was in the mountains. We had private Pickleball lessons with Colleen and were very pleased with her instruction. She was observant and picked up on where my husband and I needed the most assistance. She frequently used analogies when explaining moves and tips of the game which made the teaching fun and relatable. Colleen was friendly and and positive and we will be sure to request her when we return. Our favorite feature of our condo was the amazing view of the mountains where we were able to watch a beautiful sunrise each morning. Our 2nd favorite feature was that the condo included a fireplace. We loved how the resort offered complimentary chopped wood and we took advantage of it each evening. We will be returning to Winterplace!"—K.E.,  December 2021
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—L.H., Int., November 2021
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I've taken tennis lessons with some of the best teaching pros all over the country (in Tulsa, Pittsburgh, Richmond, Dallas, New Braunfels, TX, Naples, FL and other places) and have played on many surfaces (hard court around the world including Cape Town, South Africa, and even the White House Tennis Court; grass at Oxford University in England; and red clay in Germany). I'm a 73 year old, 4.0 player who competes in National USTA tournaments in my 70s age group, so I have a pretty good idea what an outstanding tennis lesson is. Colleen Campbell's lesson was one of the best I've had, rivaled only by lessons with my older son, Jeremy Carl, an Elite Professional who's coached nationally ranked juniors, teaches at Belle Haven Country Club in Alexandria, VA and has co-authored two best-selling books on tennis (The Complete Coach and The Complete Player). I mention all this to highlight how impressed I was with Colleen Campbell. She helped me on so many levels in only an hour and a half! She is very well-trained, has beautiful strokes, and zeros in quickly on whatever will improve your game. Having worked with Vic Braden, she is able to bring to her lessons the kind of science and technique Vic has mastered with his unique style of coaching players. Because my wife and I like Wintergreen (we met our tennis pro son, his wife and daughter--who is a strong junior player--for Thanksgiving there a couple of years ago and will do so again), I'm sure we will be back. And when we return to Wintergreen, I hope to stay longer so I can get more lessons with Colleen Campbell! Also, the indoor courts are really well-lit with a surface that is easy on the joints. Wonderful tennis facility."—W.C., Adv., November 2021
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Colleen was amazing and gave great instruction. She brought lots of energy and great drills and improve our game! Highly recommend her!"—V.J., Adv., November 2021
  • 4-Ball Rating "We just got home from a trip of 8 women who went for tennis instruction and trips to local wineries. Shelly was our instructor each day. As we are all mostly novices, we learned so much in one week. I loved her teaching drills and individual instruction! The resort is beautiful! We rented a house on property that was very comfortable. I will definitely return to Wintergreen!"—G.C.,  August 2021
  • 3-Ball Rating "Our group just returned home from a 5 day tennis workshop. Shelly was masterful at teaching 8 women, of varying abilities, something new every day. The tennis center is well equipped (indoors and out), the ball machine is worth the expense especially if you have enough to use it in 15 minute intervals. The trolley pick up is very reliable for inter-resort transportation. Did not visit the gym or the spa, the pool was adequate. Not a very walkable resort. The nearest real grocery store (or any store) is 30 minutes away. There is no nightlife that we were aware of, no real restaurant selection and no entertainment. What there is though, is mother nature at her finest."—S.C., Int., August 2021
  • 5-Ball Rating "The pros at Wintergreen are top notch. They kept the intensity and energy up the entire three days of our clinic. The strategy for doubles play was amazing and kept our attention throughout. I play tennis almost daily and am rated 4.0, and while I have a membership at a Richmond club with pros, these clinics have surpassed my expectations and were absolutely worth every dollar. The facility and courts were in great shape too. We plan on coming back for a third clinic soon!"—R.H., Adv., June 2021
  • 5-Ball Rating "Always high energy, no wasted time on the court while keeping it fun. Kostyantyn and each Wintergreen pro are first class!"—C.S., Adv. Int., June 2021
  • 5-Ball Rating "David, Kostyantyn, and Ryan are the greatest! We just finished our third tennis academy and we learn more every time. They are all extremely knowledgeable and skilled and make learning fun!"—L.C., Adv. Int., March 2021
  • 5-Ball Rating "We've had a variety of lessons over the years but this experience vastly exceeded all. The instructors were outstanding and tailored their content to each player's abilities and method of learning. Kostyantyn and Ryan made the entire weekend a lot of fun for our whole party! Overall this was a great location and best instruction we've had, bar none."—J.A., Adv. Int., March 2021
  • 5-Ball Rating "My husband and I had a great weekend at Wintergreen tennis Academy. The instruction was excellent , and you could tell our professional (Shelly) really enjoyed coaching. There wasn’t a lot of downtime and we were able to do a lot of drills based on what we wanted to work on. Great place and great staff, highly recommend! I would go back!"—J.K., Adv. Int., March 2021
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Outstanding clear instruction. Coaches made assessment and created a program that worked on our weaknesses. Meaningful constructive breakdown of things we were doing right and wrong. Learned so much and ready to sign up again."—J.C., Low Int., February 2021
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—T.S., Low Int., January 2021
  • 5-Ball Rating "Excellent tennis instruction. Learned new strategies that I have never been taught before and I regularly take lessons/clinics. Coaches were super fun and really high energy. Kept the group moving and switched around our group on 2 courts constantly. Coaches observed our strengths and weaknesses and taught to what was needed. overall such a great tennis academy and can't wait to go to Wintergreen for tennis again!"—S.G., Adv. Int., December 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—M.M., Adv. Int., December 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating "A group of my friends and I went up for the weekend for the Tennis Academy. We had such a blast! The tennis instruction was face paced, high energy and very informative. We are 4.0 players looking to take our court strategy and movement to the next level and this did not disappoint. We will be back!!!! Loved our instructors!!"—S.P., Adv. Int., December 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Both instructors were high energy, personable, fun and very informative. We enjoyed learning new tactics to take out tennis to the next level. The hours spent were fun and fast paced, I felt like I certainly got my monies worth and plan to come back again!"—K.M., Adv. Int., December 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Excellent tennis instruction packed into 8 hours. There is still plenty of time to enjoy the resort and surrounding area."—M.C., Adv. Int., November 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating "Excellent tennis academy experience with great instruction on strategy as well as technique."—L.W., Int., October 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating "Love all the instructors and instruction at the resort. Been attending for years and look forward to continuing for many more!"—S.M., Adv. Int., October 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating "Exceptional experience with the personable & skilled pros!! Learned a tremendous amount about strategy, shot selection and technique! Overall, an incredibly positive outstanding learning experience! I look forward to returning for additional instruction."—P.B., Int., October 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—E.D., Adv. Int., October 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—T.S., Adv. Int., October 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I have been to Tennis Camp several years and this was by far the best one yet. Kostyantyn and Ryan put a great plan together for our group. I am having a ball using my new tools on the courts."—D.H., Adv. Int., October 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Attended the weekend Wintergreen Tennis Academy for the second time and had David as the instructor all weekend. He was excellent--no nonsense, listens and observes carefully, makes great recommendations and leads very helpful drills. I couldn't be more satisfied."—J.R., Adv. Int., October 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating "This is the best Tennis Academy for Doubles Strategy and identifying areas for stroke improvement. My group is so happy with the last Academy we attended. Kostyantyn is the best! My tennis game is improved because of this Academy and the staff!"—R.M., Adv. Int., September 2020
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Great get away during covid 19"—K.L., Int., August 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating "It is important to note at the that because of COVID, Wintergreen has not been able to open all of their resort amenities. Tennis and golf are fully open, and the pool and lakefront are open on limited hours. Restaurants and shopping at the resort are mostly open only on weekends. Unfortunately some of the other attractions, particularly for kids (ziplines! archery!), remain closed. These will be a draw for us in the future. That said, our experience at Wintergreen was outstanding. We planned a family tennis vacation for a family of 4 at all different levels of tennis, and Kostyantyn, Ryan, David, and Shelley did a great job taking care of us. As an initial matter, they were very proficient as pros in being able quickly to spot the flaws in our game and tactfully and encouragingly help us fix them. Shelly instantly diagnosed a nagging problem I had with my serve and not only fixed it, but gave me the tools so I can fix it myself if it shows up again. She was also very patient with my beginner daughter, and had her smiling and hitting the ball in the court before the end of the lesson. The kids enjoyed David’s fast pace and competitions (Jailbreak!) so much that they forgot all about their video games. And Kostyantyn’s and Ryan’s cardio sessions had me sweating buckets (Kostyantyn still maintains he took it easy on me) with just the right balance of cardio and instruction. I could feel my fitness and my game getting stronger every day. The tennis staff are exceptional. They’re a clear strength. The facilities are also excellent, though it appears COVID has prevented the resort from undertaking some routine maintenance this year. This didn’t affect the quality of the tennis at all – merely cosmetic issues like fencing and landscaping. They have something like a dozen outdoor har-tru courts that are in great shape and three very nice indoor courts for the winter or when the mountain weather becomes unpredictable. We stayed in a spotless, newly-restored condominium with a beautiful mountain view that was walking distance from the tennis center. And the rates were much more economical than several other resorts we investigated. And that is perhaps the second nicest characteristic of the Wintergreen tennis program – the mountain location at around 3500 feet. This meant that we had sunny 70s and low 80s all day long in mid-July while the valleys below baked in the 90s. Our visit was a great success. We planned a vacation with tennis at the center with other activities added in. COVID prevented us from taking advantage of some of the other activities, but didn’t hurt the tennis at all. We look forward to thrashing our tennis friends back home with our new skills, and to coming back again when the resort is able to open fully."—M.S., Adv., July 2020
  • 4-Ball Rating "We have been coming with a group of 4 couples. We rent a very comfortable VRBO house. Tennis clinics for 8 people each day for 3hrs. Kostyantyn and Ryan pros at Wintergreen are simply excellent! They know how to teach, are constantly engaged providing pointed immediate feedback. Each segment featured great drills on specific aspects of double play. All husband wife players were solid 3.5 USTA level. Clearly some better than others. What was perfect, was that Kostyantyn and Ryan did not drop down to the lowest level of player skill and derail the clinic to any one individual. All had competent baseline skills and all focused on working doubles strategy, shot selection and positioning"—D.H., Adv. Int., March 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—M.B., Int., March 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating "Constantine is an exceptional and an expert coach. The perfect balance of knowledge, confidence, and competence. He clearly and concisely communicates pro level insights so that you can digest it and apply it. He is extremely professional and personable. An experience that you don't want to miss."—L.Y., Int., March 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating "The tennis coaches are high energy and knowledgeable. Provided excellent coaching and met the group at the appropriate level and challenged everyone to gain the skills to play at the next level. Highly recommend!"—K.S., Low Int., March 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I took a private lesson from Kostyantyn and it was exceptional. I would highly recommend anyone from the region to take a day trip like I did to participate in a clinic or two and add a 30 minute private lesson. He really honed in on some key issues I was having with my tennis strokes and gave me very helpful and relevant tips that I can take home to focus on. He explained the mechanics of the strokes very well and gave feedback that was understandable. I got a good workout also which is always good!"—M.C., Int., March 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating "I arranged for my tennis team to go to the Wintergreen Resort for a tennis weekend away. It was a great experience from start to finish! The staff were exceptional in customizing the weekend to fit our tennis needs as well as social outings. They were welcoming and friendly and kept us moving with drills and play. Everyone loved this experience and we can't wait to come back!"—B.V., Low Int., March 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating "The tennis staff was amazing. Extremely high customer service from everyone at the tennis academy. Will definitely come back and recommend to friends."—B.L., Low Int., March 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Constantine and his crew were so awesome from the minute we walked in. They all knew our names and provided a challenging and fun tennis experience."—L.S., Low Int., March 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—C.B., Int., March 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating "I have come back here few times every year with my team and with my family— And still looking forward to the experience every time! My games has significantly improved so much. Superb tennis programs, exceptional coaches and flexible to customize the drills to your needs and levels. Top all that with the awesome resort features and the view : it is a complete outstanding tennis vacation package!!! I just came back last week, and two more trips there this year! You will love it!!!"—C.P., Adv. Int., March 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Best tennis camp.....friendly staff, exceptional instruction, nice facility in a beautiful setting in the mountains. Great overall experience."—P.G., Int., March 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—R.B., Adv. Int., March 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating "ALL of the instructors were knowledgable, friendly and approachable. I especially enjoyed Ryan's easy going style and sense of humor -he had a wonderful light touch while helping me to understand why I have absolutely no follow-through!! I truly expect to unlock my ability to advance my tennis game from this experience....truly the BEST tennis camp I have experienced as yet."—L.M., Int., March 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Strengths - The warm-up exercises, drills and descriptions of the tennis strategies that we were learning were all well explained and demonstrated before our team members gave them a try. We had plenty of opportunities to practice and continue building upon these new skills over the course of three days of coaching. I've only been to two other tennis programs previously (both in MD) and this one was much better by far - the facilities were thoughtfully laid out, clean, well ventilated/heated, etc. and all of the instructors did an excellent job of helping us to visualize how/why each stroke should be played to win points quickly without depending upon power. My 30-minute private lesson helped me to address inconsistencies in my serve. The step-by-step instruction just required relatively minor tweaks to my process which will have major positive impact on my serve going forward. All the while providing more peace of mind that I can minimize the risk of reinjurying my knee while still playing at a competitive level. Weaknesses - The lighting inside the courts seem to be a bit too dull. The heating system suspended from the ceiling is really loud and startling when it first comes on. But, the sound doesn't last that long and it doesn't happen very often."—D.W., Adv. Int., March 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The tennis academy Winter 2020 was superb. It is a beautiful location with a nice indoor facility. The coaching staff was fun and informative. We were able to really work on skills and strategy that will take our tennis to the next level. The facility was very nice with comfortable indoor courts, a good pro-shop, great racket stringing, facilities near the courts for quick restroom breaks during the longer training time. The academy really could not have been better."—J.S., Int., March 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating "Loved the instruction and usefulness of the drill. It was a wonderful experience and i cant wait to come back."—J.W., Low Int., March 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—L.H., Adv. Int., March 2020
  • 4-Ball Rating "I really liked that dynamic stretching is part of the program. The ratio of pros to tennis players at 1 to 3 or 4 was great & I enjoyed the 30 minute private lesson."—D.B., Int., March 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating "We have utilized Wintergreen's tennis facilities and programs for many years. I have to say, the current staff is the best with the most productive clinics and lessons we have experienced. A recent clinic with our son who was visiting from out of town was absolutely great.  He is a very strong player (us, not so much). Shelly Scott ran a clinic for us in such a way that his higher skill level did not diminish the experience in any way. We had a wonderful time."—H.G., Adv. Int., February 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating "Excellent, clear, concise instruction. Pros are professional and keep the drills moving. Communication and organization is excellent."—M.G., Int., February 2020
  • 4-Ball Rating "Our group was there for a tennis clinic and the doubles strategy and movement on the court instruction was fantastic!"—S.S., Adv. Int., February 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—J.R., Int., February 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating "An exceptional opportunity for our team players to work on strategy and overall techniques without trying to change."—K.L., Int., February 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—K.M., Int., February 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating "Truly amazing and targeted tennis instruction"—H.I., Low Int., February 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—K.H., Int., February 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating "The tennis experience was outstanding! Learned all new skills and will definitely be back!"—C.W., Low Int., February 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—B.M., Adv. Int., February 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—K.L., Int., February 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating "Coach K and his staff was extremely accommodating, and made our group of 10 tennis fanatics feel right at home. The staff was very responsive to our feedback and gave us more of what we wanted."—C.L., Int., February 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—M.R., Adv. Int., February 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating "Well run and energetic academies"—S.P., Adv., February 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Tennis and wine camp was excellent. Can’t wait to come again. Instruction was very helpful."—N.W., Adv. Int., February 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating "The staff was super accommodating about every single thing!"—K.A., Int., February 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating "Tennis staff is incredibly engaging. They aim to please."—E.O., Adv. Int., February 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating "Tennis staff was amazing. Ryan and Konstantine were great,"—A.T., Adv. Int., February 2020
  • 4-Ball Rating "Close to cities in southeastern usa"—K.O., Int., February 2020
  • 4-Ball Rating "Conveniently located in southeast usa"—S.O., Beg., February 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The professional tennis staff is the strongest component to the Academy Tennis Program at Wintergreen. The instructors really work hard to help you improve your game without an overwhelming amount of things to change. The pro shop was well stocked with ladies tennis clothes for all shapes and sizes. On top of all this, the location of Wintergreen in the mountains is breathtaking."—L.H., Int., February 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Wintergreen Tennis Academy has always been my favourite option for quality instruction and overall getaway enjoyment. Kostyantyn and Ryan don't look to break down your technique as much as challenge you to rethink your approach to match play with the strokes you have. Together, they have developed creative ways to get you to focus on raising your level of play without feeling like you need to relearn how to hit a ball, although they'll diplomatically suggest ways to improve on that too. Always a great learning experience and helps me maintain a consistent 4.0 level of play into my 60's. Hope to return soon!"—R.M., Adv. Int., January 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—J.A., Adv. Int., December 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—O.G., Int., December 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Kostyantyn and Ryan were amazing instructors. My suburban tennis team (8) went for a three day 8 hour instruction tennis academy and we will go back. Next time I will stay longer and book a spa appointment for sure. Kostyantyn and Ryan were accommodating and always wanted to know if we were happy:)"—A.G., Int., November 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Great Tennis experience at the Academy! 9 hours of instruction over 2.5 days was just right. We worked on all aspects of the game with most focus on doubles but threw in some singles for those of us interested. 2 pro's for 6 people so lots of attention and rotation."—M.S., Adv. Int., November 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I have gone to Wintergreen 3 times, including the last 2 years, and the experience has been uniformly excellent. In the last 2 years, the academy for adults has been delightful, not only for the excellent instruction and the congenial atmosphere, but for the improvement in my game. The teaching approach focuses more on point play than on individual strokes, though stroke production gets plenty of attention. All of the instructors I've worked with have been excellent, though I will always have a special, warm spot in my heart for Shelly. The setting is lovely;accommodations are reasonable and well kept--an excellent value, really. Food options are reasonably diverse and tasty. Lunch from the deli counter at the gas station is a real value. Views, hikes, spa visits, and pool time, not to mention special events and entertainment, keep the hyper energetic from being bored."—C.R., Adv. Int., October 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Amazing tennis experience! Exceptional pros"—A.F., Adv. Int., September 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—M.H., Adv. Int., September 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Great tennis academy. The pros are outstanding at identifying your weaknesses and improving upon them. Kostyantyn, Shelley and David are great !! Beautiful setting in the Blue Ridge mountains."—M.P., Adv. Int., September 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "We had a fantastic time at the recent Tennis & Wine camp. 2 intense days of tennis: doubles drills and skill development and a tour of 3 local vineyards...what a blast. Can't wait to go back and do it again!"—R.D., Adv. Int., August 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "The tennis academy was outstanding. We had 4 players with our pro David Richter. David is an excellent pro and gave us many valuable tips and lessons. Every day, we would record what we learned that day. Combination of lessons and actual game to learn from actual game situation were invaluable. Their Director of Tennis, Kostyantyn also took some videos of our strokes and gave us very good feedback and suggestions on areas we need to improve our technique. He then sent us a copy of our video after we returned home. The videos were very helpful to understand the areas we need to improve. . David also sent us a very detailed tips on tennis strategy, techniques to use in what situations, and overall strategy. We are using this like a bible to read before we play or practice. The facility was also outstanding in that we got to play in cool outdoor clay courts (more comfortable on your feet and knees) and when a rain shower came through, we got to go inside to play in their nice indoor courts. The staff in the Tennis pro shop were all very friendly, professional, and helpful. Overall experience was truly amazing. The condo we rented had a very nice deck with a beautiful view of the Blue Ridge Mountains. Restaurants and breweries in the area were excellent as well."—G.O., Int., July 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "I did the weekend tennis academy. We had one professional for four participants. David was our professional and he was focused and an excellent teacher. Each session was well planned. We learned new drills and skills. Each time he progressed from feeding drills all the way to playing out points using the new skill. We kept moving, so I was exhausted at the end of each day (which I liked). I would definitely go here again."—D.D., Adv. Int., July 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "I can't say enough on how great The Tennis Academy is. Kostyantyn has new creative drills that are fast paced and fun while you learn new technique. The close proximity to DC is a plus and makes this a go to place to get away, play tennis, visit breweries, hike, and be with friends."—V.H., Adv. Int., June 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—K.L., Adv. Int., June 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—J.B., Adv., June 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Our Tennis clinic instruction was remarkable due to the fact that I actually remember a lot of it. I actually use the information learned and practiced in my USTA matches. The repetition and precise skill focus helped me to remember key strategies of the game. It was very useful."—L.G., Adv. Int., May 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Beautiful scenery. Really enjoyed the tennis clinics. Pros we’re enthusiastic and helpful!"—S.M., Adv., May 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—S.R., Int., May 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "What makes this camp/clinic so special is that while rigorous and technical, it is also FUN! I especially appreciate how the pros tailor the drills and instruction to what they observe in your play. I would recommend for any level!"—S.W., Adv. Int., May 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "It is one of the most unique places in the country. I love the mountain air and the trails and the environment for all the outdoor opportunities. If you play tennis or golf it is a paradise. I live there in the summer and play tennis nearly every day. The pros are wonderful and very accommodating. I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys the outdoors!"—C.J., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "This was the second Wintergreen Tennis Academy that we have attended as a team, and it was as outstanding as the first. I really enjoyed the fast pace, the variety of drills, and the opportunity to play with real-time coaching. The pros at Wintergreen are masters of giving positive, constructive feedback; in addition, they provide a wealth of information regarding strategy, positioning and shot selection for different situations. I appreciate that the pros tailor their feedback and structure the sessions around both individual requests as well as what they observe during play. I've come away from these Academies feeling more confident in my game, especially in my ability to "see" how to play certain points. And, as an added bonus, the setting up at Wintergreen is beautiful!"—C.E., Int., April 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating "I found the tennis academy to be very helpful to my game. We had three pros working with our group the weekend we attended. I appreciated how the techniques were demonstrated to us and then we were right to work practicing the technique with verbal corrections which made learning the drills much easier to follow. I liked that we did not stop often to just talk about the drill but were corrected as we were playing, however questions and clarifications were welcomed. The drills we practiced were different from what our other coaches have taught us and because props were used such as tapes on the court and cones it greatly helped in strengthening our shots. The clinics were fast paced and we didn’t stop moving until the clinic was over!"—J.L., Int., March 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "The Tennis Academy was an excellent three day weekend focused on intensive doubles tennis. The pro to player ratio was small allowing for maximum instruction and continuous play. From the moment we arrived until our departure the Kostyantyn, Dave and Ryan were entirely focused on making our experience the best possible. I learned a lot of new strategies and technic that I am able to immediately to put into action improving my game. It was so far above my expectation!! I will definitely return!"—F.A., Int., March 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Tennis Academy with my mixed doubles team was amazing. Pros were knowledgeable, skilled, positive attitudes and kept us moving with drills so skillfully that the 3 hour clinics flew by. I played and learned so much in 2 days! They even sent us an email after our weekend documenting and explaining all of the skills and tips from the clinics. I really can't think of any negatives."—B.S., Adv. Int., March 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "The teaching staff is wonderful! The staff listens to participants and focuses on specifics that the group is most interested in working on. They break groups into smaller groups so they are better able to focus on each player. The staff is very attentive, helpful and they make the clinics very enjoyable. I appreciated that the staff was truly trying to teach us and reminded us what we needed to change during the clinics (in a nice way). I have taken 3 weekend clinics at Wintergreen and would definitely go back!"—J.W., Adv. Int., March 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "a strong approach to improving your doubles tennis game"—G.M., Int., March 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—L.W., Adv., March 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—J.E., Int., March 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "I would recommend Wintergreen Tennis Academy to any of my tennis friends,regardless of their skill level or USTA rating.I was fortunate to have three days of excellent coaching by the Assistant Director of Tennis,Ryan Bauman,who tailored the instruction to my level and worked on those areas of my game which I was capable of improving. He explained thoroughly why he would suggest each movement or tactic in a very friendly manner and his critiques were always done in a positive way. When I returned home,I could hardly wait to get back on the court to apply what he had taught me. My stay at the Resort was also very pleasurable with excellent accomodations and a beautiful view of the ski slopes,excellent restaurants on site,available spa and a shuttle service. I can only hope that I have the opportunity to return often!!"—G.A., Int., March 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Our small group checked in for 3 days of tennis Clinics. The whole experience was fabulous! The two pros were great. Lots of individual attention. Serious about working with us to improve our game. Yet, at the same time, they were somewhat entertaining! Whaaaat! Don’t tell them that. Ha! Will book it again soon."—B.C., Int., February 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Wintergreen Resort continues to provide tennis players of all levels a great variety of clinics and events. The outdoor clay courts are amazing in the warmer months with their beautiful mountain setting.. And the indoor courts have recently been renovated for year round play. All that being said, it is the staff that makes the place shine. They are enthusiastic and knowledgable and they will improve your game no matter your level. You'll have blast, I promise!"—N.M., Adv. Int., February 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Had a great and active experience with a low ratio of Tennis Pro's to teammates offering helpful strategies and tips to improve the level of my game and techniques. Would highly recommend the indoor facility at Wintergreen Resort in Virginia!"—L.W., Int., January 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—C.Z., Adv., January 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—G.S., Int., January 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—L.D., Adv. Int., January 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The Pros at Wintergreen are excellent. They have tremendous knowledge of tennis both in strokes and strategy. The Pros tailor the lessons to the group while covering many aspects of the game. Highly recommending going!!"—D.M., Adv. Int., December 2018
  • 4-Ball Rating "Taking an Adult Tennis Academy at Wintergreen Resort for the first time in August 2018, I discovered a refreshingly low-key program taught by friendly, talented professionals. With adults like me (I’m age 64 or better), the pros here work with what they’re presented instead of trying to reinvent a player’s game. I especially appreciated the low ratio of students to instructors (maximum 4:1), inclusion in the program of a 30-minute private lesson, and access to indoor courts. The indoor courts saved one session that rain otherwise would have aborted. Since attending, I've received great news that the indoor facility is being upgraded. I also appreciated learning some doubles strategy that was new to me. I suggest only two improvements. First, provide participants a written summary of the stretching exercises that are run through quickly at the start of each teaching session. Second, better coordinate the Tennis Academy with Wintergreen's Accommodations Department. On weekends, tennis academies run through 12:00 noon, yet Accommodations insists that guests check out of their rooms by 11:00 AM. I had to plead to Accommodations for a slightly delayed checkout time—just long enough to shower before having to travel home. Accommodations, unlike the Tennis Academy, did not demonstrate much flexibility."—M.G., Int., September 2018
  • 4-Ball Rating "Wintergreen is a haven for golfers, tennis players, hikers and anyone who wants to enjoy a view from any window of the mountains and our gorgeous world. It is Dreamy! I was fortunate enough to have been asked by a tennis team member, to visit & attend the Wintergreen Tennis Academy. It was AWESOME!!! The tennis pro, Kostyantyn Khodirev is the best instructor I have ever had. He had patiece, was great fun, very informed and had the best of drills and strategies for doubles. His warmups were great -- he was always conscious of safety. We all learned a lot to take forward to our teams. The four of us in the 3 day clinic also enjoyed the spa -- super!!! one of the Best massages I have ever had -- and I do weekly after breaking my neck. Dinners at the golf club and the "hotel" were very good, considering we were off season. All views for dinning are beautiful. Staff throughout our stay were always pleasant and most accommodating. The fitness center, I only went to once, the equipment and space were Very good. The 3 large hot tubs and pool were Great! We were disappointed the pool closed during our week for the season so if you want the pool, it closes after Labor Day. Our experience was surprising great and I would recommend a stay --- Very Reasonable room and board. The golf course looked changeling -- narrow and hilly -- Next time I will definitely take my clubs.... Have Fun!!!"—S.B., Adv. Int., September 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Kostyantyn was a wonderful instructor for a three day camp that concentrated on doubles strategy. He provided great drills to help us learn and practice new skills. He worked us hard, but made it fun. I look forward to returning with team members for future academies. The setting in the Blue Ridge Mountains was beautiful. The resort had great restaurants, aand we enjoyed the pool and spa."—C.S., Adv. Int., September 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I enjoyed all 3 days of instruction with Kostyantyn Khodirev. He gave us advanced instruction with many fun and informative drills. Each day began with stretching exercises and warmups. We continued with specific patterned drills to help us with our doubles strategy. Definitely strong drills and great energy through out the entire 3 days of instruction. Couldn’t believe how quickly the time went by. We all enjoyed a wonderful Swedish deep tissue massage between day 2 and 3 and also took advantage of the outdoor pool and hot tubs. Found great restaurants and Mountain View’s from our unit were spectacular. Main focus was for the tennis but we also enjoyed all Wintergreen has to offer."—L.D., Adv. Int., September 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "Terrific tennis academy. 3 days, 10 hours of intense skills development tailored to wherever you are in your game. Kostyantyn and Shelley are amazing. Both total experts, will work you out and make you a better player. You will come out of this academy a better player."—K.M., Low Int., August 2018
  • 4-Ball Rating "Great tennis weekend! They can accommodate any and all levels of play as well as any size group. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable and we got to play rain or shine!"—L.B.,  August 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "Love this Academy! It is an intense 3-days of well thought out Clinics, with a private lesson to cap things off. All was taylored to our group of high level USTA players. The Director and Pros ( Kostyantyn, Shelly & Ryan) provided constructive insight to each of us, with fun and beautiful surroundings in the Blue Ridge Mountains!"—J.D., Adv., August 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I've been going to Wintergreen for 5+ years and did the 3 day academy for a few years. My knees no longer love playing 3 days in a row. Fortunately, the pro at Wintergreen has offered our tennis team 2 hour clinics that are just perfect. Kostyantyn has always been very positive and encouraging and makes the clinics fun and worthwhile."—T.P., Int., August 2018
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—M.F., Int., August 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "We did a high level academy for. 9 women. The pros were outstanding, tailored the training to our specific group and levels, and made it extremely challenging and fun. Everyone who attended thought the academy was awesome and there was no negative feedback. And it was so nice to play in the cool mountain air with no bugs! I would highly recommend the wintergreen academies to anyone at any level."—R.T., Adv., August 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I attended two weekend academies on successive weekends. The first weekend was a 3.5 level and the second one was 4.0. It was an excellent progression for me. I learned a lot the first weekend and then the more advanced drilling the second weekend really topped it off. Kostyantyn, Ryan, & Shelley are great at explaining & drilling with a purpose. The first weekend was almost all drilling with a small amount of serving & playing doubles. Most of the drills are geared to doubles play but also carryover to singles as well. The 4.0 weekend had an increased amount of actual doubles play. The included half hour private lesson is a great way to hone in on whatever aspect of your game needs extra attention. I had a great time and highly recommended the Tennis Academy."—C.W., Adv. Int., July 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Played in their "Tennis Academy”. It was a great experience. Loved the instruction, challenge of play and the overall amenities of the wintergreen. Highly recommend for any ‘serious” tennis player to step up their game and have a wonderful mini vacation. The weather was amazing as the country was in the middle of a heat wave and we played in 72 degrees……"—G.M., Adv. Int., July 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "Excellent instruction with knowledgeable tennis professionals who improve your game with hitting lots of balls, new drills that focus on recognizing different shots and when to hit what, live match play, great tips about how pros play, and having a fantastic time playing tennis. Highly recommend . It definitely helped my game. Can’t wait to do another one. Totally worth it!!! Not to mention it is in a beautiful place with glorious mountain views and very nice and caring professionals Constantyn and Ryan. I hope to work with Shelley too. She also gave me input and was so friendly and knowledgeable. Thank you Wintergreen Tennis Academy and Constantyn and Ryan. I hope to come back soon."—E.W., Adv., July 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Three of us organized a four-day custom group tennis camp with Shelly, who was fantastic. Her observations and tips were top-notch as she assessed our technique, tactics, court position, etc. She offered concrete guidance and great practical drills to work on problems and improve all aspects of our game. Best of all she continually assessed what we did right and wrong and encouraged self analysis when corrections were needed. Did I mention she is also a delight on the court?!? Very friendly, positive and upbeat, while also an excellent player and instructor. The Wintergreen facility is fantastic -- plenty of outdoor courts and indoor courts as well that we were able to use when the weather turned foggy and cold. I cme away from 12 hours of lessons with at least two years of advice and techniques to work into my game."—M.H., Int., July 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "I had a wonderful experience at the Wintergreen Tennis Academy. The staff is knowledgeable and able to tailor the time on court to the participants needs and requests. The atmosphere is fun and challenging and provides players with info and tips that they can use right away. I highly recommend a weekend academy!"—K.P., Adv. Int., July 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "I just finished the 4.0 tennis academy at Wintergreen Resort in Virginia. It was absolutely amazing. The staff are first rate, the drills are really challenging and you and the play fantastic. It is hard to believe you could have so much fun, while working hard to improve your game. The resort is in a drop dead beautiful location, 3500 feet above sea level. So while it is 94 in the valley, our temp never rose above 83 on the mountain. This is my 21 st academy at Wintergreen and it never disappoints. There is first rate dining, spa, hiking and the summer music festival to enjoy. Can't wait to go back."—E.H., Adv., July 2018
  • 4-Ball Rating "Pro Shelley Scott does a fantastic job! Our 3 woman clinic, 4 hours per day, was well worth the 4 hour drive from DC. I am not sure the Academy would be as good without Shelley, though, as there were other glitches, not related to her (such as lack of tennis towels on the last day). Overall, very good value for money as you also get a half-hour private lesson as part of the package and a nice gift for completing the 4 day Academy. Plus, scenery is fantastic if you rent a condo that overlooks the Blue Ridge Mountains, and there are adequate restaurants and recreational activities as well."—K.B., Int., June 2018
  • 4-Ball Rating "Three of us went for a mid-week clinic. We had an excellent experience. Our coach, Shelly, designed a program that addressed our specific concerns and also gave us great training in skills and strategies for doubles, which is mostly what we play. She explained why those skills were important and drilled us in exercises that were challenging and a lot of fun. I will definitely go back in the future."—E.S., Int., June 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "Excellent Tennis Academy! I've been going to the Tennis Academy for the last five years and it's been outstanding. Kostyantyn is one of the best tennis pros I've ever seen. He has an incredible eye for the little adjustments needed to take your game to the next level. And because of the elevation, we enjoyed 75 degrees all weekend while the DC area endured a steamy 95 degrees. I highly recommend Wintergreen Tennis Academy."—H.B., Adv., June 2018
  • 4-Ball Rating "Well worth the time and money... Excellent pro-participant ratio (2 pros, 5-6 participants) ; focused on what I needed / wanted, not on what they wanted to teach ; with lots of personal attention, they were able to address individual strengths and weaknesses of a diverse group of players. I was really pleased and will look forward to returning.. The indoor facility is due for an upgrade which is scheduled and this will be welcomed (very noisy when it pours due to winter damage)"—S.N., Int., June 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I attend their clinic sessions on June 7th and 8th, for a total of 8 hours of tennis. I can sincerely say that after playing tennis all my life, that I’ve never received the quality of instruction that Kostyantyn and his staff provided. Every part of my game was covered in these 8 hours through both on court discussion, hitting lessons and pointers, point construction and strategy as well as general advice overall during downtimes and rest periods. These guys truly give it their all 100% of the time that you’re there. On top of all that, I had a blast. Even while giving that quality of instruction there was nothing clinical about the time, they made sure a good time was had by all. I can’t recommend their camps and clinics enough. In addition, I took a few private lessons directly from Kostyantyn and would recommend him for privates as well, if you are able. All in all, a wonderful experience. I’ll be back for sure. Best tennnis experience I’ve ever had."—S.J., Adv., June 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The staff and pros are the absolute best. I saw such an improvement in my net play in just one weekend in their academy."—P.F., Int., May 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Enjoyed a very nice weekend getaway. Excellent Tennis instructions and tips to take home and tennis pro and staff very friendly and accommodating. Probably going back very soon."—C.P., Adv. Int., May 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Go to Wintergreen Tennis Academy if you’re looking to improve your game. No time was wasted as the pros got right to it each day- drills were run efficiently and explained well. Each pro provided feedback on shots, giving individualized attention as well as group attention. If a participant had a question or request, the pros were respectful in their responses and made sure the participants understood their feedback."—L.M., Adv., April 2018
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Well thought out plan for teaching tennis. Realistic. Usable."—C.M., Adv., April 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—D.M., Adv. Int., April 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—S.R., Int., April 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—M.J., Adv. Int., April 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—S.H., Adv. Int., April 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—D.N., Adv. Int., April 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "Although Wintergreen is known for winter sports, it has tennis all year and golf. It is especially nice in the summer when the east coast of the US is hot and humid. It is always cooler in the mountains. There are clinics available for which guests can sign up covering strokes, fitness and doubles play. Individual lessons are also available and my game has always improved after I have been at Wintergreen."—K.M., Int., April 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Picturesque setting in the Blue Ridge mountains; well maintained clay outdoor courts Very friendly and knowledgeable staff at the tennis academy only 3 restaurants in the resort but nonetheless reasonable food options"—C.M., Int., April 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "They have 1 pro per court and teach over 3 days. It covers stroke, strategy and conditioning. If you want a different mix then talk to them before and they can customize the teaching. The real plus, though, is that the pros are patient but no nonsense. They watch what you do and correct. Our group was very happy with the instruction and workout."—E.F., Adv. Int., April 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "Fantastic Tennis facility! Beautifully groomed clay courts and terrific indoor courts as well. Well stocked Tennis shop and friendly staff."—S.W., Adv., April 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "The Wintergreen tennis camp is exceptional. The staff is amazing and the courts are great. I have attended for the past 4 years and plan to go again this summer."—C.W., Int., April 2018
  • 4-Ball Rating "Beautiful scenery, great clay courts, indoor-outdoor offered and great tennis academies offered..."—H.D., Adv. Int., April 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "Instructors are excellent. They cover strategy, shot selection, defensive and offensive play. They are friendly, knowledgeable and have great ideas on how to improve play. They customize training to your teams needs. They are also funny and great to be around. My team has been coming for years. Love the facilities and the personal attention we get every time we attend. Highly recommend. Mountain scenery is a phenomenal bonus."—M.B., Adv. Int., April 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "Everything you want, and you get results too."—P.H., Adv. Int., April 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—A.G., Adv. Int., April 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Excellent staff and training, loved it!!"—T.F., Int., April 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "My husband and I went to clinics in both winter and summer. Their inside courts are great and the staff is very friendly and helpful in setting up our clinics. The pros are very good instructors and made us feel very special. The outside courts are nestled in a beautiful wooded mountain area. Overall we have been extremely happy with our experiences at Wintergreen. We found nothing negative."—C.D., Adv. Int., April 2018
  • 4-Ball Rating "Clinic with our USTA team on April 14, 2014 was exceptional! Staff was professional, enthusiastic, and seriously interested in all of our team members improving our skills. Thank you!!!!"—G.D., Int., April 2018
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Great faced paced clinic . I felt the drills were good and the instructors adapted quickly to the different levels of play amongst our group of ten."—A.S.,  April 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "My USTA 3.5 ladies team did a 3 hour tennis academy at Wintergreen. It was fabulous!! The pros are friendly, knowledgable and make really useful comments and corrections to a player's court position and shot selection. They understand that your time is money and keep you moving for the entire clinic! It was both great fun and hard work but best of all provided a lot of useful information to take home for our games. Excellent program in a beautiful setting."—R.N., Int., April 2018
  • 4-Ball Rating "This is my second adult tennis “camp” that I’ve done and I was left highly satisfied. I was only able to attend the first two of the 3 days however I found the instruction very informative, personalized, with constant feedback. I haven’t been able to get this type of instruction since high school/college. The level of play was great, with quite a few other players at my level (4.0-4.5). It was a great workout while at the same time, lots of live play, drills, games, and informative. I hope to go back again!"—K.S., Adv., April 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—M.M., Int., April 2018
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—J.L., Adv. Int., March 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "We had an awesome weekend working with Ryan at our recent Tennis Academy. He was very good at pointing out where we needed to make changes right after a point so that we could make quick adjustments. I would highly recommend all of the pros at Wintergreen!"—K.M., Int., March 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Ryan and Konstyntyn were both excellent instructors, gave instruction at the appropriate level and made the whole experience a lot of fun."—C.I., Int., March 2018
  • 4-Ball Rating "Good assessment of playing level of participants. Instruction was customized to the level of the individuals. You were not overwhelmed with too much and there was repetition so you came away with a skill not just an idea."—A.D., Adv. Int., March 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The instructors were very clear, extremely positive, and a lot of fun. The instructional format was excellent: present a technique, practice the technique in a dril then live play, and review it the following day. The hard courts were tough on my knees, but the resort plans to build another complex soon. We were there in the winter; I heard that the outdoor courts are very nice."—P.Z., Int., March 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "Wintergreen Tennis Academy is comprehensive and excellent!"—J.F., Int., March 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Attended the Adult Academy with Shelly over the weekend and also participated in a Saturday morning clinic with Ryan. Both instructors provided guidance relevant to my game and put the focus on strengthening my weaknesses without compromising my strengths. Incorporating the new things I learned this weekend will result in improvement in the near future. I improved after my first trip here, I will improve after this second trip and I plan to return often as the instruction is outstanding, challenging and fun. The resort itself is quiet and secluded and makes for a very relaxed setting."—A.M., Int., March 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "This is a beautiful mountain vacation facility with lots of fun activities through all 4 seasons. The tennis pros are wonderful--friendly, fun, knowlegable, and great at individualizing the experience for you. Plus prices for everything throughout the resort are very affordable."—S.N., Int., March 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "had a FABULOUS three day camp (for old ladies!)-- unexpected snowfall was beautiful and we went indoors without a hitch- had three pros that taught every single person PLENTY that we had not heard before- i am sure the spelling of the names are not correct but close enough: constantyne/bryan/shelly. the drills were totally customized for our level of play and could not have been better in any way. would go back for more at any time! weaknesses???? zero."—C.K., Adv. Int., March 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—S.R., Int., March 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "Tennis courts at 3500 ' above sea level. Cool in summer. Good teaching staff."—M.B., Int., March 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "The tennis professionals are very skilled and adapt to your level of play and they make it fun."—C.P., Adv. Int., March 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "Love the atmosphere and friendly staff... Beautiful mountains and great weather ...my grandson attended the Nike tennis camp which was excellent."—T.S., Int., March 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—K.M., Adv. Int., March 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "I live at Wintergreen, in the heart of the beautiful Blue Ridge Mts"—J.W., Low Int., March 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "Great Place!"—J.H., Low Int., March 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—W.Z., Adv. Int., March 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—L.C., Int., March 2018
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—J.W., Adv. Int., March 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—C.T., Int., March 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—B.C., Adv. Int., March 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—M.J., Adv. Int., March 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—T.C., Int., March 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "great location and great temperature for tennis in the summer"—A.H., Adv., March 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Over the weekend, I had a fantastic time at the Wintergreen Tennis Academy. The staff was friendly and very flexible in helping me adjust my lessons so that I could attend in two days instead of three. They even found other players to join me. I haven't taken many tennis lessons, but I felt that the instructor (Ryan) was very knowledgeable and experienced. He addressed all of our questions and requests. He was great in explaining and showing us techniques, and kept the momentum of the lessons going with drills and personal tips. Overall, the trip was well worth it, although exhausting. Next time, I will try to bring other people and play over three days, instead of two!"—L.Y., Int., March 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The enthusiasm of the tennis pro's was tangible and it gave our group good energy. The skills that were taught helped us all to kick our game up a notch, and I have already had success with them. The mountain scenery at Wintergreen Resort is gorgeous and there are lots of wineries and breweries to visit on the off hours. Additionally, the pro shop is well stocked and all the ladies in our group left with treasures :-). The tennis bubble where we played is in need of upgrading and repair. However, it was warm enough for winter play, and we were told it is slated to be worked on in the coming months. All of the participants in our group said they would definitely go back."—L.H., Int., March 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "I played tennis regularly in the early 80's but stopped because of work etc. I started tennis again because my daughter decided she wanted to play for the high school team. When she started tacking lesson at Wintergreen I decided I would do the same so we could play together. My "Old School" tennis was terrible with the new racquet technology. I started with clinics and after several clinics started taking some private lessons with Kostyantyn Khodirev. I went from a slicer dinker to a power two hand backhand and a topspin forehand. During the latest workout with the ball machine the last hopper... only 2 in the net! I am now the assistant coach on the girls high school tennis team. The clay courts are so much easier on my knees!"—J.H., Adv. Int., February 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "It was a well-run, 5 hours. I had plenty of individual instruction, ongoing input. I feel like my specific goals were addressed, as well as some input I didn’t know I needed, but was valuable. There was plenty of time for reinforcement, yet the pace was never too slow. Overall, it was a great 5 hours and I plan to do again after I have time to act on what I Learned"—L.B., Int., January 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—C.Z., Adv., December 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "Experiencing a Tennis Academy at the Wintergreen Resrt in VA is unbelievable! The staff are the best & their talents & structures are unbeatable! I would recommend participating in one of these academies, or any of their clinics, for incredible drills....& lessons you actually enjoy learning. PamB"—P.B., Adv. Int., December 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "I attended the two-day program and was extremely pleased by the professionalism and the strength of the program. I learned more than I expected and left feeling more confident with my own skills than I usually am by other tennis academies. I highly recommend these instructors and plan to go again in the near future."—B.M., Int., November 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I just spent a weekend with some of the ladies from my tennis team at Wintergreen Resort as part of their Tennis Academy. From the minute I walked in the door, I felt welcomed and that the staff was excited that we were there. The instruction was fast paced and extremely applicable to my play. The instructors were engaging and friendly. I found the Academy to be so helpful and look forward to applying what I learned at my home club."—L.H., Int., November 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "This is the second year I have gone to Wintergreen for a girls weekend/tennis clinic and it has been wonderful both times! The instructors are professional and friendly and keep the sessions moving so you're never standing around. I was very impressed with the fact that the pros took the time to review what we did last year and built on it for this year's clinic. The resort is set in a beautiful location in the mountains and there are delicious restaurants, breweries, a very nice spa and indoor pool. There is so much to do you need more than a weekend. I have learned so much from the tennis clinics at Wintergreen that I will definitely return and I highly recommend it to all tennis lovers!"—D.H., Adv. Int., November 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "Tennis Academy was enjoyable as well as informative. Excellent instructors adept at tailoring academy to level and condition of participants. I learn something new every time!"—E.P., Int., November 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "Strengths - Constructive criticism, ability to break down shots for individual improvement, staff are fun Weaknesses - A couple of the pros tended to talk too much about what went on in a previous shot. Thought they could have been more concise."—J.S., Int., November 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The pros are well tuned to the needs of intermediate-level tennis players. They focus on weaknesses and stretch you to your limit. The tennis academies are particularly well managed, even when populated by players at slightly different levels. No nonsense but lots of fun. Your game can really show improvement after a three-day academy."—G.S., Int., November 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "Shelly is an exceptional coach! She is very professional, kind, and inspirational! Her instructions/tips are easy to follow and result in immediate improvement! I would highly recommend Wintergreen Tennis Academy."—Q.C., Int., October 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "My wife and I wanted to get "re-started" in our tennis journey. We booked a personal adult academy with Shelly Scott and were so very pleased. She took the time to re-introduce us to the game we love and was so patient as we practiced and learned the basics again. The entire staff was friendly, helpful, and wonderful in every way. I was most impressed when we walked back in and we were called by name. We plan to return again and again to work on improving. The fees were very fair."—G.B., Low Int., October 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The tennis pros are so good at giving each person in a clinic or lesson such individualized tips on their game, that no matter the size of the group, everyone comes away with something. They are also such delightful people you can’t help but have a great time."—S.T., Int., October 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "Couldn't wait to go to my first tennis camp at age 64. Shelly Scott and Kostyantyn Khodirev at the Wintergreen Resort Tennis Academy made my tennis stay educational and enjoyable. I can honestly say that Shelly's teaching technique and drills raised my game considerably. Her patience and enthusiasm made for a sure fire recipe for better tennis strokes and strategy. The resort setting is incredible. At 3800 feet, the air is cool and crisp and the views are breathtaking. The food and service was awesome and always friendly. We rented a condo which was very clean and cozy with deck for memorable views from the mountain top. I can't wait to go back for more tennis and relaxation."—M.Z., Adv. Int., October 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "Loved every minute of it and worth every penny. Pros were attentive, patient and full of good advice. Good mix of drills and playing some competitive points. Would recommend to anyone looking to take game to next level. Doing it at beautiful Wintergreen Resort doesn't hurt!"—B.F., Int., October 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I took a nine hour weekend clinic that also included 30 minutes of an additional private lesson at Wintergreen Resort. What can I say but AMAZING! First I felt the price was very reasonable for the amount of instruction that I was given. The instructor Shelly Scott was very knowledgeable and was an excellent teacher. I came in wanting to work on very specific parts of my game and that was the main focus. Shelly made sure that I was going to learn and adapt to those changes given to me. Believe me...when I wanted to go back to my old ways (just for a little) she would not allow it. Those changes were drilled into my head so that when I went back home I would want to continue working on those specific things taught to me. I am happy to say...IT WORKED! I can still see her smiling face and positive attitude telling me I can do this. I just can't speak highly enough about this resort and of Shelly. I can't wait to return with my daughter next year. Also, the level of service you get from anyone working in the tennis facility is top notch and very professional. Also, the Wintergreen Resort is a breath-taking, beautiful place. The pictures people post just don't do the place justice. It is a true resort placed on top of a mountain!!"—W.L., Adv., October 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "Having not played in over 20 years, the staff at Wintergreen made me feel very comfortable about getting back on a court. Shelley Scott was my instructor for two hours on two days. She went over all the strokes with great patience, precision and encouragement. I will certainly return for additional tennis holidays. In the meantime, Shelley has given me the confidence to look for women's leagues close to home."—J.G., Beg., October 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I had a wonderful experience at the resort's tennis academy. Our instructor was Shelly Scott and by far the best instructor I have had. I have been taking lessons off and on for over 10 years and Shelly pointed things out and methods that no one else had. She is very patient, fun and clear in her instructions-- and very supportive and a cheerleader for her students. I now want to continue lessons and I will definitely come back."—N.M., Beg., October 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Wintergreen was an incredible tennis getaway. This was my husband and I's second trip. The setting is gorgeous, set in the Va mountains, it is a short drive off of 64 just outside of Charlottesville. There is a 4 to 1 ratio of students to pro which is a major plus. The weather was perfect on both trips so we were able to play on one of the many clay courts. Shelly Scott was our pro this last trip. She made a quick and thorough assessment of our abilities and got right down to working on our weaknesses. Our group had a range of abilities, but she was able to include something for each one of us and in a way that we all enjoyed every minute. I never once felt ignored or under or overwhelmed. Her attitude was always upbeat and positive and she never "over instructed" . Just a good mix of instruction, correction and fun!! There is a wide range of different restaurants on the mountain so something for everyone. Our condo, which was walking distance to the courts had a full kitchen so we were able to make our own breakfast right there and take our time in the mornings (a discount for lodging when booking at the academy a major plus!) And the view was incredible. The spa is wonderful and has a full menu of offerings. It really was and is a great way to get away!!! I highly recommend it to any tennis player whether you are a 4.5 player or a 3.0. I promise you'll enjoy yourself!!!"—J.F., Adv. Int., September 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I have been to this camp 3 times, each time I learn so much. It is amazing how they tie it all together and build on past expericences. Look forward to returning sooner rather than later."—D.H., Int., September 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The strengths are that the staff are excellent teachers, personable , good w/ names, great at mixing up the people , and fun to be with! I heard that John is leaving so there will be a big hole to fill."—S.G., Adv. Int., June 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The setting is gorgeous in the Shenandoah Mountains. When the weather is 100 degrees in the valley, the tennis courts are at a pleasant 80-85 degrees. The permanent instructors are very well-rounded in terms of understanding biomechanics, physical limitations, and methods of improving stroke production. Combined with their technical knowledge, they are also very friendly and encouraging; two characteristics that are important to me. In the summer, they have a habit of hiring very talented staff. For those of us who are there year round, it's always a downer when they leave. I wish there were more indoor courts in the winter. But I will take what I can get."—A.S., Adv. Int., April 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "We just got back from another weekend at the Wintergreen Tennis Academy. It was a GREAT time. David, Kostyantyn and Jon are great pros. They bring a good sense of humor with excellent drills and instructive points. We all had a great time and plan to go back in the fall."—C.P., Int., April 2017
  • 3½-Ball Rating "The tennis pro are phenomenal. They remember me when I get back. They review what my group learned last time there and they built on it. I love going there's and they're fun!"—C.V., Int., April 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "This is a very well planned and fun camp. Receptive to your level and needs. Enthusiastic and very positive. Clinics , camps and round robins are so much fun and great for improving your game. The pros are very knowledgeable and great teachers!"—C.C., Adv. Int., April 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "Fantastic tennis camp for adults. Weekend full of drills and instruction. We have done the program twice. Once with a group and once on our own. Best instructors in the MD, DC, and VA area."—M.O., Adv. Int., April 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Wintergreen Tennis Academy has extremely talented tennis professionals on staff. They not only provide excellent instruction but with a sense of humor which I think is very important. They make each participant feel valued and comfortable."—C.D., Adv. Int., April 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "Wonderful resort and staff. The best instruction I have ever received. Instructors have a very keen eye, and can correct your issues in a matter of a couple swings of the racket."—C.U., Int., April 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "Top notch tennis instruction in a beautiful location! Good getaway from the summer heat, as it is on a mountain top! Stunning views!"—B.C., Adv. Int., April 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The pro's at Wintergreen Tennis Academy offer a very strong tennis program. Not only does the Academy focus on stroke production, but more importantly, offers excellent tips on court positioning, strategy and shot selection. The drills emphasize what you learn and help you incorporate them into your regular play. And it's so much fun! Great time there!"—A.S., Adv. Int., April 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "What an Exceleent resort that includes all the First class amenities. You must see to believe."—B.H., Int., April 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—K.O., Low Int., April 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The indoor facility is neat and clean. The courts are in great shape. The only thing that I would make a negative comment about is the heating/air exchange system. It is very loud, intermittently, yet, after becoming engrossed in the tennis activity it is not as noticable. The instruction is superb with much positive reinforcement and critique. The pros enthusiastic demeanor is contagious and helped to create a fun experience."—E.C., Adv. Int., April 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "Teaching staff is exceptional."—W.I., Int., April 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "I have taken a number of clinics and private lessons as well. The entire staff is great but I want to give a special shout out to Kostantyn Kondriev. His clinics are outstanding. He creates match type situations and helps you develop shots and strategy that are really practical and that you can utilize immediately. Most of all it's about as much fun as actually playing. Can't recommend WG tennis highly enough!"—H.G., Adv. Int., March 2017
  • 3½-Ball Rating "I'm a prospective Wintergreen Resort homeowner, so still evaluating facilities and amenities and Wintergreen's Tennis Center and programs look very promising."—B.N., Adv. Int., March 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "Great pros, great instruction, and nice facility. Really enjoyed the tennis academy and I always feel my game improves every year after this. Pros do a great job of teaching strategy, positioning, and shot selection."—R.P., Adv., March 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—S.P., Adv., March 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "Tennis Instructors are exceptional; They know how to convey techniques and strategy to improve your game."—M.E., Adv. Int., March 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "This year was my 3rd year attending Wintergreen Tennis Academy. I love it. The tennis pros Jon, Dave & Kostyantyn are superb in what they do. I always come home with great strategies that helps me finish my points. For the last 3 academies here these pros know how to mix it up and make it new and refreshing every time. The are very organized, professional and know how to have fun too. My husband and I travel all over the county playing tennis and taking clinics. We have even been to many of the top 100 tennis resorts. It's with great pleasure to say I feel the best one is in my home state of Virginia at Wintergreen Tennis."—C.G., Adv. Int., March 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—J.F., Int., March 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "Friendly, top notch instructors, gorgeous setting, cool in summer due to mountain top location. Beautiful area to explore after tennis!!"—A.G., Adv. Int., March 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—D.N., Adv. Int., March 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—B.P., Adv. Int., March 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—C.Z., Adv., March 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—G.W., Int., March 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—J.H., Adv., March 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The Pros are top-notch! They are very willing to customize a clinic or academy just for you or your group. These guys make all the difference in your tennis academy experience......really!"—C.D., Low Int., March 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—D.B., Int., March 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "Wintergreen Tennis Academy sits on top of a mountain with gorgeous views and very mild temperatures, especially given it is in the Southeastern US and I was there in August. The complex is nice, nestled into the trees so that whichever set of (4) outdoor courts you're on is without distraction and works really well for an adult weekend academy like I was on. The tennis staff is really friendly, with a nice playful humor about them. They all know their stuff but also have varying personalities and opinions on different points of strokes and strategy, letting the student decide what/how to work on certain things. The academy sessions are very active, even intensive in some sections, but the staff does a great job of working you for 20 minutes or so and then giving group instruction/demonstration with conversation to break things up and let the students rest before getting back at it. Instruction is structured on setting the stage for the next session via demonstration, then breaking into groups to work on the drill/strategy, with instructors giving small, consistent teaching points for each student, rather than simply repeating the teaching points from the demonstration. The focus for teaching strategy was on doubles play. They teach an aggressive style of doubles play for the up-player, and their consistent focus on a few principles is really beneficial as things sink in and become more natural over a few days with them. The only marginally negative aspect of the academy for me was the number of students at the level I was hoping for (being a 3.5-4.0, trying to move into a solid 4.0). At the same time, because the sessions were so well structured and active, and enough guys around my level were there, it was more than beneficial to my game. The instructors identified some small and one large technique flaws in my game, and I saw immediate results when I got back home to my normal playing schedule. As for the resort beyond the tennis academy, they have a variety of lodging and restaurants, an excellent golf course, and ski slopes, all on the mountain. As a single guy, there wasn't much to do in the evenings. Off the mountain, there are several really neat brew pub restaurants and a couple distilleries, but they do require a drive down (and then back up) the mountain and several minutes drive, depending on the one you choose. Charlottesville is also about 45 minutes away (Monticello, the University of Virginia, other restaurants). Overall, Wintergreen was a great experience and helped improve my game. I've been trying to find the time to get back and plan to make it at least an annual expedition."—T.C., Adv. Int., March 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—J.F., Int., March 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—K.W., Low Int., March 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "It's a beautiful location for tennis located at the peak of a mountain. You'll never find better clay courts and indoor hard courts in Virginia with such great service and people."—H.P., Adv. Int., March 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Get instructors and lovely location in the cool, sunny mountains of Virginia. Just down the road in the valley are interesting breweries and wineries for sitting outdoors. Also near Appalachian trail and other great trails and overlooks of the Shenandoah. My first choice to get away from the heat. There are a number of B&Bs in the valley if you don't want a condo."—S.G., Int., March 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—W.Z., Adv. Int., March 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Great instruction for a group who wants a few hours concentrated in one day at a resort that the group can drive to in a few hours."—M.N., Int., March 2017

Rate Wintergreen Resort or
Wintergreen Tennis Academy


Ratings

(1329 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
5-Ball Rating Tennis Staff
5-Ball Rating Instruction
5-Ball Rating
Game Matching
4½-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4½-Ball Rating Pickleball
5-Ball Rating
Cuisine
3½-Ball Rating Lodging
4-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
4-Ball Rating
Dollar Value
5-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4½-Ball Rating Setting
4½-Ball Rating
Kids' Programs
4½-Ball Rating Romance
4½-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4½-Ball Rating


Wintergreen Tennis Academy Ratings
( 624 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
5-Ball Rating
Tennis
Staff
5-Ball Rating
Instruction
5-Ball Rating
Junior Tennis
4-Ball Rating
Pickleball
5-Ball Rating

Ratings

(1329 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
5-Ball Rating Instruction
5-Ball Rating Tennis Staff
5-Ball Rating Lodging
4-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
4-Ball Rating Dollar Value
5-Ball Rating Kids' Programs
4½-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4½-Ball Rating
Game Matching
4½-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4½-Ball Rating Pickleball
5-Ball Rating Cuisine
3½-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4½-Ball Rating Setting
4½-Ball Rating Romance
4½-Ball Rating


Wintergreen Tennis Academy Ratings
( 624 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
5-Ball Rating Instruction
5-Ball Rating Tennis Staff
5-Ball Rating
Junior Tennis
4-Ball Rating Pickleball
5-Ball Rating

Rates and Reservations

Wintergreen Resort

Lodging ranges from studios and lodge rooms to 1-to-5-bedroom condos and 2-to-7-bedroom homes. Rates include access to the Wintergarden Spa and Fitness Center and complimentary midweek court time.

Route 664
P.O. Box 706
Wintergreen, VA 22958