Search
Email Us
Tennis Resorts Online
Wintergreen Resort, Virginia
©Roger Cox

Wintergreen Resort

Wintergreen, Virginia



Wild Dunes 728 banner

Wild Dunes 250x250



Your Call

Here's what others have had to say about Wintergreen Resort and Wintergreen Tennis Academy.

  • 4-Ball Rating "Colleen at the Wintergreen tennis club is FABULOUS. Great with kids."—J.C., Int., January 2022
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Superb tennis instruction and staff."—J.M., Beg., January 2022
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—C.B., Int., December 2021
  • 4-Ball Rating "For our short retreat, we were specifically looking for a resort that had indoor Pickleball. Bonus is that it was in the mountains. We had private Pickleball lessons with Colleen and were very pleased with her instruction. She was observant and picked up on where my husband and I needed the most assistance. She frequently used analogies when explaining moves and tips of the game which made the teaching fun and relatable. Colleen was friendly and and positive and we will be sure to request her when we return. Our favorite feature of our condo was the amazing view of the mountains where we were able to watch a beautiful sunrise each morning. Our 2nd favorite feature was that the condo included a fireplace. We loved how the resort offered complimentary chopped wood and we took advantage of it each evening. We will be returning to Winterplace!"—K.E.,  December 2021
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—L.H., Int., November 2021
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I've taken tennis lessons with some of the best teaching pros all over the country (in Tulsa, Pittsburgh, Richmond, Dallas, New Braunfels, TX, Naples, FL and other places) and have played on many surfaces (hard court around the world including Cape Town, South Africa, and even the White House Tennis Court; grass at Oxford University in England; and red clay in Germany). I'm a 73 year old, 4.0 player who competes in National USTA tournaments in my 70s age group, so I have a pretty good idea what an outstanding tennis lesson is. Colleen Campbell's lesson was one of the best I've had, rivaled only by lessons with my older son, Jeremy Carl, an Elite Professional who's coached nationally ranked juniors, teaches at Belle Haven Country Club in Alexandria, VA and has co-authored two best-selling books on tennis (The Complete Coach and The Complete Player). I mention all this to highlight how impressed I was with Colleen Campbell. She helped me on so many levels in only an hour and a half! She is very well-trained, has beautiful strokes, and zeros in quickly on whatever will improve your game. Having worked with Vic Braden, she is able to bring to her lessons the kind of science and technique Vic has mastered with his unique style of coaching players. Because my wife and I like Wintergreen (we met our tennis pro son, his wife and daughter--who is a strong junior player--for Thanksgiving there a couple of years ago and will do so again), I'm sure we will be back. And when we return to Wintergreen, I hope to stay longer so I can get more lessons with Colleen Campbell! Also, the indoor courts are really well-lit with a surface that is easy on the joints. Wonderful tennis facility."—W.C., Adv., November 2021
  • 4-Ball Rating "Colleen was amazing and gave great instruction. She brought lots of energy and great drills and improve our game! Highly recommend her!"—V.J., Adv., November 2021
  • 4-Ball Rating "We just got home from a trip of 8 women who went for tennis instruction and trips to local wineries. Shelly was our instructor each day. As we are all mostly novices, we learned so much in one week. I loved her teaching drills and individual instruction! The resort is beautiful! We rented a house on property that was very comfortable. I will definitely return to Wintergreen!"—G.C.,  August 2021
  • 3-Ball Rating "Our group just returned home from a 5 day tennis workshop. Shelly was masterful at teaching 8 women, of varying abilities, something new every day. The tennis center is well equipped (indoors and out), the ball machine is worth the expense especially if you have enough to use it in 15 minute intervals. The trolley pick up is very reliable for inter-resort transportation. Did not visit the gym or the spa, the pool was adequate. Not a very walkable resort. The nearest real grocery store (or any store) is 30 minutes away. There is no nightlife that we were aware of, no real restaurant selection and no entertainment. What there is though, is mother nature at her finest."—S.C., Int., August 2021
  • 5-Ball Rating "The pros at Wintergreen are top notch. They kept the intensity and energy up the entire three days of our clinic. The strategy for doubles play was amazing and kept our attention throughout. I play tennis almost daily and am rated 4.0, and while I have a membership at a Richmond club with pros, these clinics have surpassed my expectations and were absolutely worth every dollar. The facility and courts were in great shape too. We plan on coming back for a third clinic soon!"—R.H., Adv., June 2021
  • 5-Ball Rating "Always high energy, no wasted time on the court while keeping it fun. Kostyantyn and each Wintergreen pro are first class!"—C.S., Adv. Int., June 2021
  • 5-Ball Rating "David, Kostyantyn, and Ryan are the greatest! We just finished our third tennis academy and we learn more every time. They are all extremely knowledgeable and skilled and make learning fun!"—L.C., Adv. Int., March 2021

See more reviews

Rate Wintergreen Resort or
Wintergreen Tennis Academy


Ratings

(702 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Instruction
4½-Ball Rating
Game Matching
4-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4-Ball Rating
Cuisine
3½-Ball Rating Lodging
3½-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
4-Ball Rating
Dollar Value
4½-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4½-Ball Rating Setting
4-Ball Rating
Kids' Programs
4½-Ball Rating Romance
4-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4-Ball Rating


Wintergreen Tennis Academy Ratings
( 619 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating
Instruction
4½-Ball Rating
Junior Tennis
4-Ball Rating
Dollar Value
4½-Ball Rating

Ratings

(702 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Instruction
4½-Ball Rating Lodging
3½-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
4-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4½-Ball Rating Kids' Programs
4½-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Game Matching
4-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4-Ball Rating Cuisine
3½-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4½-Ball Rating Setting
4-Ball Rating Romance
4-Ball Rating


Wintergreen Tennis Academy Ratings
( 619 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Instruction
4½-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4½-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4-Ball Rating

Rates and Reservations

Lodging ranges from studios and lodge rooms to 1-to-5-bedroom condos and 2-to-7-bedroom homes. Rates include access to the Wintergarden Spa and Fitness Center and complimentary midweek court time.

Visit the website for current rates

Wintergreen Resort
Route 664
P.O. Box 706
Wintergreen, VA 22958