Search
Email Us
Tennis Resorts Online
Wintergreen Resort, Virginia
©Roger Cox

Wintergreen Resort

Wintergreen, Virginia



Kiawah 728x90 2019

Boars Head text+graphic

Achieve order on the court with Boar's Head Tennis Academy in the beautiful mountain town of Charlottesville, VA. Voted as one of the top tennis resorts in the world, Boar's Head has clay and hard courts as well as some of the best indoor facilities in the Mid-Atlantic region. For more information on tennis academies and stay packages, visit www.boarsheadresort.com


Your Call

Here's what others have had to say about Wintergreen Resort and Wintergreen Tennis Academy.

  • 4½-Ball Rating "Our small group checked in for 3 days of tennis Clinics. The whole experience was fabulous! The two pros were great. Lots of individual attention. Serious about working with us to improve our game. Yet, at the same time, they were somewhat entertaining! Whaaaat! Don’t tell them that. Ha! Will book it again soon."—B.C., Int., February 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Wintergreen Resort continues to provide tennis players of all levels a great variety of clinics and events. The outdoor clay courts are amazing in the warmer months with their beautiful mountain setting.. And the indoor courts have recently been renovated for year round play. All that being said, it is the staff that makes the place shine. They are enthusiastic and knowledgable and they will improve your game no matter your level. You'll have blast, I promise!"—N.M., Adv. Int., February 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Had a great and active experience with a low ratio of Tennis Pro's to teammates offering helpful strategies and tips to improve the level of my game and techniques. Would highly recommend the indoor facility at Wintergreen Resort in Virginia!"—L.W., Int., January 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—C.Z., Adv. Int., January 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—G.S., Int., January 2019
  • 3½-Ball Rating ""—L.D., Adv. Int., January 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The Pros at Wintergreen are excellent. They have tremendous knowledge of tennis both in strokes and strategy. The Pros tailor the lessons to the group while covering many aspects of the game. Highly recommending going!!"—D.M., Adv. Int., December 2018
  • 4-Ball Rating "Taking an Adult Tennis Academy at Wintergreen Resort for the first time in August 2018, I discovered a refreshingly low-key program taught by friendly, talented professionals. With adults like me (I’m age 64 or better), the pros here work with what they’re presented instead of trying to reinvent a player’s game. I especially appreciated the low ratio of students to instructors (maximum 4:1), inclusion in the program of a 30-minute private lesson, and access to indoor courts. The indoor courts saved one session that rain otherwise would have aborted. Since attending, I've received great news that the indoor facility is being upgraded. I also appreciated learning some doubles strategy that was new to me. I suggest only two improvements. First, provide participants a written summary of the stretching exercises that are run through quickly at the start of each teaching session. Second, better coordinate the Tennis Academy with Wintergreen's Accommodations Department. On weekends, tennis academies run through 12:00 noon, yet Accommodations insists that guests check out of their rooms by 11:00 AM. I had to plead to Accommodations for a slightly delayed checkout time—just long enough to shower before having to travel home. Accommodations, unlike the Tennis Academy, did not demonstrate much flexibility."—M.G., Int., September 2018
  • 4-Ball Rating "Wintergreen is a haven for golfers, tennis players, hikers and anyone who wants to enjoy a view from any window of the mountains and our gorgeous world. It is Dreamy! I was fortunate enough to have been asked by a tennis team member, to visit & attend the Wintergreen Tennis Academy. It was AWESOME!!! The tennis pro, Kostyantyn Khodirev is the best instructor I have ever had. He had patiece, was great fun, very informed and had the best of drills and strategies for doubles. His warmups were great -- he was always conscious of safety. We all learned a lot to take forward to our teams. The four of us in the 3 day clinic also enjoyed the spa -- super!!! one of the Best massages I have ever had -- and I do weekly after breaking my neck. Dinners at the golf club and the "hotel" were very good, considering we were off season. All views for dinning are beautiful. Staff throughout our stay were always pleasant and most accommodating. The fitness center, I only went to once, the equipment and space were Very good. The 3 large hot tubs and pool were Great! We were disappointed the pool closed during our week for the season so if you want the pool, it closes after Labor Day. Our experience was surprising great and I would recommend a stay --- Very Reasonable room and board. The golf course looked changeling -- narrow and hilly -- Next time I will definitely take my clubs.... Have Fun!!!"—S.B., Adv. Int., September 2018
  • 4-Ball Rating "Kostyantyn was a wonderful instructor for a three day camp that concentrated on doubles strategy. He provided great drills to help us learn and practice new skills. He worked us hard, but made it fun. I look forward to returning with team members for future academies. The setting in the Blue Ridge Mountains was beautiful. The resort had great restaurants, aand we enjoyed the pool and spa."—C.S., Adv. Int., September 2018
  • 4-Ball Rating "I enjoyed all 3 days of instruction with Kostyantyn Khodirev. He gave us advanced instruction with many fun and informative drills. Each day began with stretching exercises and warmups. We continued with specific patterned drills to help us with our doubles strategy. Definitely strong drills and great energy through out the entire 3 days of instruction. Couldn’t believe how quickly the time went by. We all enjoyed a wonderful Swedish deep tissue massage between day 2 and 3 and also took advantage of the outdoor pool and hot tubs. Found great restaurants and Mountain View’s from our unit were spectacular. Main focus was for the tennis but we also enjoyed all Wintergreen has to offer."—L.D., Adv. Int., September 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "A friend and I, both in our fifties, booked a 3-day weekend. Shelly was our pro, and she was exceptional, not only in providing pointers but in giving encouragement and tips on the mental side of the game. The setting is lovely, though the risk of being trampled by deer is not negligible. This was a reminder of what a tennis camp outing should be. As for the resort itself, the condo was well maintained and comfortable; dining was consistently a pleasure, and the spa was a delight. But Shelly was the best."—C.R., Adv. Int., August 2018

See more reviews

Rate Wintergreen Resort or
Wintergreen Tennis Academy


Ratings

(635 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Instruction
4½-Ball Rating
Game Matching
4-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4-Ball Rating Tennis Complex
4-Ball Rating
Cuisine
3½-Ball Rating Lodging
3½-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
4-Ball Rating
Dollar Value
4½-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4½-Ball Rating Setting
4-Ball Rating
Kids' Programs
4½-Ball Rating Romance
4-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4-Ball Rating


Wintergreen Tennis Academy Ratings
( 552 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating
Instruction
4½-Ball Rating
Junior Tennis
4-Ball Rating
Dollar Value
4½-Ball Rating

Ratings

(635 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Instruction
4½-Ball Rating Tennis Complex
4-Ball Rating Lodging
3½-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
4-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4½-Ball Rating Kids' Programs
4½-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Game Matching
4-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4-Ball Rating Cuisine
3½-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4½-Ball Rating Setting
4-Ball Rating Romance
4-Ball Rating


Wintergreen Tennis Academy Ratings
( 552 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Instruction
4½-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4½-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4-Ball Rating

Rates and Reservations

Lodging ranges from studios and lodge rooms to 1-to-5-bedroom condos and 2-to-7-bedroom homes. Rates include access to the Wintergarden Spa and Fitness Center and complimentary midweek court time.

Visit the website for current rates

Wintergreen Resort
Route 664
P.O. Box 706
Wintergreen, VA 22958