Search
Email Us
Tennis Resorts Online
Wintergreen Resort, Virginia
©Roger Cox

Wintergreen Resort

Wintergreen, Virginia



Kiawah 728x90 2019

Dave Marshall 2019
Dave Marshall Tennis runs Friday-Sunday weekend camps consisting of 8 hours of instruction and drills at $250/person as well as private clinics and other programing during the week. The professional staff includes Coach Dave Marshall, who coaches the Bryan Brothers and was a part of Mike Bryan’s doubles Grand Slams at Wimbledon and the U.S. Open, and Coach Ellis Ferreira, who himself has two Grand Slam doubles titles. Optional lodging packages arranged. For more information, phone 302.645.0713, email dave@davemarshalltennis.com or visit Dave Marshall Tennis


Your Call

Here's what others have had to say about Wintergreen Resort and Wintergreen Tennis Academy.

  • 4½-Ball Rating "The tennis academy was outstanding. We had 4 players with our pro David Richter. David is an excellent pro and gave us many valuable tips and lessons. Every day, we would record what we learned that day. Combination of lessons and actual game to learn from actual game situation were invaluable. Their Director of Tennis, Kostyantyn also took some videos of our strokes and gave us very good feedback and suggestions on areas we need to improve our technique. He then sent us a copy of our video after we returned home. The videos were very helpful to understand the areas we need to improve. . David also sent us a very detailed tips on tennis strategy, techniques to use in what situations, and overall strategy. We are using this like a bible to read before we play or practice. The facility was also outstanding in that we got to play in cool outdoor clay courts (more comfortable on your feet and knees) and when a rain shower came through, we got to go inside to play in their nice indoor courts. The staff in the Tennis pro shop were all very friendly, professional, and helpful. Overall experience was truly amazing. The condo we rented had a very nice deck with a beautiful view of the Blue Ridge Mountains. Restaurants and breweries in the area were excellent as well."—G.O., Int., July 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "I did the weekend tennis academy. We had one professional for four participants. David was our professional and he was focused and an excellent teacher. Each session was well planned. We learned new drills and skills. Each time he progressed from feeding drills all the way to playing out points using the new skill. We kept moving, so I was exhausted at the end of each day (which I liked). I would definitely go here again."—D.D., Adv. Int., July 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I can't say enough on how great The Tennis Academy is. Kostyantyn has new creative drills that are fast paced and fun while you learn new technique. The close proximity to DC is a plus and makes this a go to place to get away, play tennis, visit breweries, hike, and be with friends."—V.H., Adv. Int., June 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—K.L., Adv. Int., June 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—J.B., Adv., June 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Our Tennis clinic instruction was remarkable due to the fact that I actually remember a lot of it. I actually use the information learned and practiced in my USTA matches. The repetition and precise skill focus helped me to remember key strategies of the game. It was very useful."—L.G., Adv. Int., May 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Beautiful scenery. Really enjoyed the tennis clinics. Pros we’re enthusiastic and helpful!"—S.M., Adv., May 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—S.R., Int., May 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "What makes this camp/clinic so special is that while rigorous and technical, it is also FUN! I especially appreciate how the pros tailor the drills and instruction to what they observe in your play. I would recommend for any level!"—S.W., Adv. Int., May 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "It is one of the most unique places in the country. I love the mountain air and the trails and the environment for all the outdoor opportunities. If you play tennis or golf it is a paradise. I live there in the summer and play tennis nearly every day. The pros are wonderful and very accommodating. I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys the outdoors!"—C.J., Adv., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "This was the second Wintergreen Tennis Academy that we have attended as a team, and it was as outstanding as the first. I really enjoyed the fast pace, the variety of drills, and the opportunity to play with real-time coaching. The pros at Wintergreen are masters of giving positive, constructive feedback; in addition, they provide a wealth of information regarding strategy, positioning and shot selection for different situations. I appreciate that the pros tailor their feedback and structure the sessions around both individual requests as well as what they observe during play. I've come away from these Academies feeling more confident in my game, especially in my ability to "see" how to play certain points. And, as an added bonus, the setting up at Wintergreen is beautiful!"—C.E., Int., April 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating "I found the tennis academy to be very helpful to my game. We had three pros working with our group the weekend we attended. I appreciated how the techniques were demonstrated to us and then we were right to work practicing the technique with verbal corrections which made learning the drills much easier to follow. I liked that we did not stop often to just talk about the drill but were corrected as we were playing, however questions and clarifications were welcomed. The drills we practiced were different from what our other coaches have taught us and because props were used such as tapes on the court and cones it greatly helped in strengthening our shots. The clinics were fast paced and we didn’t stop moving until the clinic was over!"—J.L., Int., March 2019

See more reviews

Rate Wintergreen Resort or
Wintergreen Tennis Academy


Ratings

(690 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Instruction
4½-Ball Rating
Game Matching
4-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4-Ball Rating
Cuisine
3½-Ball Rating Lodging
3½-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
4-Ball Rating
Dollar Value
4½-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4½-Ball Rating Setting
4-Ball Rating
Kids' Programs
4½-Ball Rating Romance
4-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4-Ball Rating


Wintergreen Tennis Academy Ratings
( 571 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating
Instruction
4½-Ball Rating
Junior Tennis
4-Ball Rating
Dollar Value
4½-Ball Rating

Ratings

(690 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Instruction
4½-Ball Rating Lodging
3½-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
4-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4½-Ball Rating Kids' Programs
4½-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Game Matching
4-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4-Ball Rating Cuisine
3½-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4½-Ball Rating Setting
4-Ball Rating Romance
4-Ball Rating


Wintergreen Tennis Academy Ratings
( 571 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Instruction
4½-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4½-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4-Ball Rating

Rates and Reservations

Lodging ranges from studios and lodge rooms to 1-to-5-bedroom condos and 2-to-7-bedroom homes. Rates include access to the Wintergarden Spa and Fitness Center and complimentary midweek court time.

Visit the website for current rates

Wintergreen Resort
Route 664
P.O. Box 706
Wintergreen, VA 22958