Search
Email Us
Tennis Resorts Online
Westin Mission Hills Resort & Spa, Rancho Mirage, California
Courtesy Westin Mission Hills

Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa

Rancho Mirage, California



La Jolla Banner

Silverado 250x250



Your Call

Here's what others have had to say about Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa.

  • 4-Ball Rating "Chad Ruthig was an excellent pro. I hadn't played tennis in a VERY long time. With his direction, my game improved impressively. He also emailed a detailed report of all that I and my friend need to work on and a review of everything we learned in the clinics. Thank you!"—C.C.,  October 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Chad is an outstanding tennis coach with very good positive energy and he's very courteous. I learned things in a very simple go to manner that I hadn't heard or done before which really helped. I really enjoyed Chad's tennis clinics and really wanted to get out of bed at 7am in the morning to make the clinic, which is highly unlikely for me on any given vacation. I want to come back asap! !"—S.H., Int., October 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "I took two private lessons with Chad Ruthig and he was excellent. He was both a great instructor and an excellent tennis player himself. He communicated well and gave me specific tips that I’m sure will take my game to the next level. He was very responsive, patient, and had a great attitude. I enthusiastically recommend his coaching and look forward to working with him again!"—R.R., Adv. Int., September 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Chad did an awesome job both in the clinic and private lesson. Will definitely return to him upon my next trip to the desert."—S.S., Adv., August 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—R.P., Beg., July 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Tennis was the highlight of the trip. Chad is a great instructor. He saw a lot of issues with my swing that I didn't realize. Very helpful!"—S.T., Adv., July 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Chad did a great job with 12 lawyers from the Callifornia Bankruptcy Forum.....not an easy group to work with. Thankyou"—P.C., Int., June 2019
  • 3½-Ball Rating "The ground stroke clinic drills were not helpful as the group was maxed at 6 players...drills had people on each side of the ct w/ varied skill levels made play difficult. Some good general tips but not player specific. The serve clinic was much more helpful as I was he only participant and Chad could give me more attention make adjustment to my serve and give relevant tips. The 2nd clinic made up for the 1st one"—S.S., Adv. Int., May 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "An excellent vacation resort We particularly enjoyed tennis coaching with Chad Ruthig who provided excellent and systematic tuition in a fun and relaxed atmosphere"—P.L., Low Int., May 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating "The director, Chad, is fantastic. Great instruction and had a blast."—P.Y., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 3½-Ball Rating "I visited the Westin Mission Hills resort and was able to take both a tennis clinic and private lesson with Coach Chad. I've been taking lessons for a year and had a couple of issues that just weren't getting any better. Chad targeted those areas in 3 ways which I feel really helped me to understand and apply them. I like that he used visuals (both 2 and 3 dimensional) to train me in addition to verbal coaching. My game is already better!"—M.B., Low Int., April 2019
  • 3½-Ball Rating "This was my 5th year staying at the Westin resort and participating in the tennis program by attending daily clinics and taking private lessons. I was disappointed that Kevin was no longer at the Westin due to his promotion to La Quinta tennis resort but Chad Ruthig turned out to be as equally as enthusiastic, talented, helpful, charming and handsome! Chad, Joey from Colorado and the organized and lovely front office staff exceeded my expectations, again. I, without any reservations would highly recommend the tennis program at the Westin for any level of player under the direction of Mr. Chad Ruthig."—L.S., Int., April 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating "The main court is very nice but the surrounding courts could use a bit of refreshing. The pro, Chad, is excellent. He’s smart, funny, and seems able to zero in on 1 or 2 aspects of my game at each focused clinic that he provided some simple advice on, with immediate tangible results. I played with him in clinics, a private lesson one-on-one, and a family lesson, and he was punctual and well prepared everyday. He tailored the instruction perfectly to a variety of ages and skill levels. He also has some novel and innovative teaching tools that I’ve never seen or used before. Chad gets A+ from us."—Y.V., Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "I recently played at the Westin Mission Hills Resort & Spa during the BNP Paribas tournament and had an excellent experience. The resort staff including the tennis director, Chad Ruthig, were especially accommodating. The courts are well laid out and maintained. It rained one morning and the staff were immediately drying the courts in the early morning--very impressive. They went above and beyond to meet all of my group's needs. We'll definitely be back!"—M.H., Adv., March 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I attended adult clinics at the Westin Mission Hills resort during the Indian Wells tennis tournament. New Tennis Director, Chad Ruthig and his teaching team did an awesome job managing the clinics. Each session was focused at teaching skills within subsets of the game. The program was both beneficial and very enjoyable. I highly recommend and will definitely sign up again on future vacations to Indian Wells and Rancho Mirage."—D.M., Adv. Int., March 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We played tennis at Westin Mission Hills with the PBI Pros Chad and Joey. My tennis Partner and I learned so much and we really had a lot of fun. The tennis clinics were challenging but Joey and Chad were fun and encouraging. We would love to stay and Play at the Westin."—B.J., Int., March 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Great resort! Excellent and talented staff who were very accomodating!"—J.A.,  March 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating "Good spot for tennis. The head pro, Chad, has the technical skill to teach more advanced students and make it fun. He was very positive and avoided dwelling on what went wrong with a shot (which many pros seem to do). The resort is well priced for what it is and the staff with whom we interacted were attentive and went out of there way to be helpful. We stayed for 3 nights during the Indian Wells ATP tournament. I’ve all been impressed by Peter Burwash International’s teaching philosophy."—P.B., Adv., March 2019
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Used tennis courts for tennis camp I held during bnp paribas. Tennis courts need resurfacing except for stadium court . Courts need more squeegee s for rainy days like we had just one squeegee available and no blowers . Facility as great and players loved it others than that . Thanks !"—N.L., Pro, March 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating "Awesome facility convenient to hotel rooms Excellent Pro for all levels Clinics several times a week Laocker room/shower if neede Great relaxed atmosphere"—D.D., Int., March 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Had a great week at the Westin. The new tennis coordinator is doing a great job, and I was able to play every day. They are happy to match you with other people, as well as drills every morning. This was during the Indian Wells tournament, so they were crazy busy, but they managed to accommodate me every day I was there."—M.D., Adv. Int., March 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Tessa Lang at Westin Mission Hills was outstanding as a pro -- and person! I am an accomplished tennis player and received insightful, most helpful instruction and superb workouts. Tess gave me one of the best lessons I has ever had. The Westin Mission Hills facility is also top-notch."—C.H., Adv., May 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Coaches and programs are fantastic and for all levels. I've been 4 consecutive years and will be back again. Kevin took personal time out at the end of the lesson to give me a few further tips. I was enjoying it all so much that a friend decided to take up tennis to see what all the fuss was about and now I have a new tennis friend! No weaknesses. Highly recommend!!"—C.C., Int., April 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—J.F., Int., March 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—C.O., Pro, March 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The Westin Mission Hills has excellent instruction for entry level to advance players. Kevin and Martina are enthusiastic and skilled at engaging players to achieve their potential. I have been visiting the Mission Hills tennis centre for the past 3 years and have gained valuable lessons with each visit. I look forward to returning again next year to improve my game with the professional guidance of Kevin and Martina!"—M.D., Beg., March 2018
  • 4-Ball Rating "The management at Westin Mission Hills should be very proud of their staff without exception all staff we encountered where friendly and accommodating particularly the tennis pro Kevin. We`re returning to Palm Springs in 2019 for the fourth consecutive year and if it wasn`t for the great tennis available under Kevin`s leadership we would be going to another City. Thank -you to the Mission Hills Staff with special mention to Kevin for making our vacation even that much more fun and exciting. All the best to you and your families."—R.C., Adv. Int., March 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We have been to The Westin Mission Hills for the past 5 years. We go to the BNP Paribas and have Four days of Tennis at the resort for ourselves. The courts themselves are fantastic , well maintained and in a beautiful setting that makes for a wonderful experience. I have to say Kevin Connolly and Tessa Lang go the extra mile to get us court times and help with timely teaching advice. We enjoy their professionalism and friendship and will look forward to seeing them at least twice a year. They make our stay a great one!"—R.H., Int., March 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "Kevin Connolly once again is stellar in hosting our event at The Westin Mission Hills Resort! We truly appreciate his accommodation and first-rate service in contributing to the success of our Desert Event. He, along with his team were superb professionals in conducting rotational tennis games and a junior clinic for our clients. Our Academy Junior Players loved Kevin and enjoyed his court! We love Kevin and choose the Westin because of him!"—M.L., Adv., March 2018
  • 4-Ball Rating "This is my third year coming here for the clinics. The Pros Kevin, Tess and Quinn are always outstanding!"—L.N., Adv. Int., March 2018
  • 4-Ball Rating "My girlfriends and I take the trip to Palm Desert every year to watch to BNP Paribas. While we are there we take tennis clinics from Kevin and his staff at the Westin. We love this! The program Kevin runs is exceptional- it's fast paced and energetic with players matched to our ability level. They keep the talking to a minimum but give you real life tennis situations and drills to improve your game. We have done this for several years and I don't think we have ever had to same drill twice. Always something new to learn. We will be returning again next year."—L.H., Adv. Int., March 2018
  • 4-Ball Rating "I had great experience each year I go and hit with the pros teaching there, but especially in the last couple years I loved hitting with Tess in early mornings - perfect tennis environment and excellent workout."—B.M., Adv., March 2018
  • 3½-Ball Rating "The pro, Kevin, worked hard to please the guests. His clinics were well thought out and preserved a pro to guest ration that allowed for teaching and a workout."—M.B., Int., March 2018
  • 4-Ball Rating "We have been visiting the Westin Mission Hills Resort for the past few years. During the last two (2) seasons we have made regular use of the tennis facilities and professional instruction available at the Tennis Centre. The range of instruction options range from beginner to advanced players with specialized lessons available for groups and children. With ample courts and night tennis available, the Mission Hills Temnis Centre provides an added dimension to any vacation. For our family, the professional lessons and available court times has been an encouragement for our family to return year-after-year. Recommended for any vacation for players of all skill levels."—J.D., Int., February 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—D.M., Int., October 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "After 6 years of taking tennis lessons and coaching I had the opportunity to work with Kevin Connolly the Director of Tennis at the Westin Mission Hills resort. He is the best instructor I have worked with. He was able to assess my technique and skills and customize drills and strategies that we could practice and build upon. I saw immediate results and was able to explore all aspects of my game. I would highly recommend him to others looking to improve their game."—P.A., Int., September 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—J.T., Int., July 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "Kevin Connelly was a superb instructor. We had a group of women taking his clinic. He kept us going all week with different strokes and strategies. I would recommend his program at Westin mission hills to anyone interested in having great fun while learning more about your strengths and weaknesses in a very positive way. Kevin was keenly aware of what we needed to work on for a better game of doubles. I highly recommend him as well as the beautiful resort."—P.B., Adv. Int., July 2017
  • 3-Ball Rating "Enjoyed my trip out to the Westin for Father's Day and some business. The golf courses, tennis facility, workout space, staff, and all around ground are amazing. The rooms definitely need to be updated. Popcorn ceilings...not a good look. Especially at the high end brand level of a Westin. Also, important to call out Kevin Connelly as an awesome tennis instructor. I've played tennis all my life at a high level and getting back into the sport. I've had a heck of a time with my forehand going long. He was able to diagnose what was happening and it was simply my grip pressure not enabling me to cover the ball. I've been to other pros and I finally had the 'I get' it moment. Thanks Kev. I'll be sure to swing in to see you in September."—B.F., Adv., June 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "That the resort is excellent and that I go every year for the tennis. the tennis staff always arranges matches for me and have well run tennis clinics"—L.F., Adv., April 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "Todd our instructor was fantastic. I participated in 2 group clinics and learned much. I really appreciated how Todd could work with each player at their own level. Very professional with commendable teaching skills."—M.P., Adv. Int., April 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "Everyone was so wonderful, friendly and obliging at this resort. I particularly enjoyed my tennis lessons with Keven. I enjoyed my first lesson so much that I extended my visit by two days and took a tennis lesson every morning. I can't wait to come back."—T.C., Beg., April 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I've played at, and taken drills at, the Westin Mission Hills many times. I've been coming there for a few years, most recently was March 2017 for the Indian Wells BNP Tournament. We are blessed to vacation there often (we live in Colorado) and I always take the daily drill there with the pro Kevin. He always makes it fun and competitive no matter what the level. I am a 4.5 and sometimes it's hard if there's a big difference in levels. He keeps it moving and doesn't talk too much like a lot of pros do. I think most of us players want to hit as many balls as we can and get a good work out in! I've also taken some one-on-one hitting with Kevin and he gave me a few good tips and we hit a lot of balls. Thanks Kevin! I can't think of a weakness in the program. There is water on the courts and the bathroom is very close. The only complaint I have is the last time I was there the lady in the tennis shop was a little abrasive, but hey, maybe she was having a bad day! This is a great place to come and get some tennis in while you are on vacation."—S.D., Adv., April 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—C.O., Pro, April 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "the tennis resort program at the Westin is terrific. the Director of Tennis Kevin Connolly runs different clinics daily and fine tunes them to the students needs. After his instruction one will have game improvement by practicing his corrections,the drills are challenging but also fun.The court setting is very good,and for those who want to play golf and go the spa,they are both wonderful."—B.G., Adv., April 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "I was at the Westin for a week at the end of March 2017. They offer a morning tennis clinic from 8:30am to 10:00am every day, except Sunday, and each day has a separate focus, ie. ground stroke, volley, serve, etc. I signed up each day and found the coaches friendly and knowledgeable. The clinics were customized for various abilities and everyone felt challenged and had a great time! I also had several one hour private lessons during my stay. They were easy to book and they had a flexible schedule. I received some great tips that helped me improve my technique, shot selection, and overall game strategy! The Westin has seven tennis courts and are all in great condition. I'm looking forward to my next stay!"—S.D., Int., April 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "We took our family of six to the Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort and Spa for spring break. Our main goals were to play tennis and relax. We were blown away by the incredible tennis program. Our family ranges in age from 50 to 5, and our skill level includes 4.0 recreational players, to high school varsity players to 10-and-under players. All of us benefited from what Kevin and Tess had to offer. The drills were interesting, informative and fun. They were able to quickly identify strengths and weaknesses in our games, and build on those, rather than completely change our game. It was a wonderful experience that we would drive across the country again to do."—A.K., Adv., March 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The tennis program at the Westin Mission Hills is outstanding! They have one of the best tennis pros we have ever met ( Kevin Connolly) so our family continues to come back every year. We call Kevin the tennis puzzle solver, because he find the missing or broken piece in everyone's game and fixes it. My two sons, my husband, and my 80 year old dad all feel the same way – we all love taking lessons from Kevin. He is also a super nice guy, too, and can deal with any temperament of kids (or adults). I strongly recommend tennis at the Westin Mission Hills as well as Kevin Connolly."—D.M., Int., March 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Director of tennis, Kevin Connolly, is in a league of his own. His experience and enthusiasm shines through in both group clinics and private lessons. Every time I'm in the Palm Springs/Rancho Mirage area, I make sure to book time with Kevin at Westin Mission Hills. No desert vacation is complete without instruction from this talented and personable pro!"—M.B., Adv., March 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "Each day the pros focused on a different aspect of the tennis game. The drills were both very educatational and fun."—L.V., Adv. Int., March 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—A.B., Adv. Int., March 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I was wintering for 6 weeks in Mission Hills. The owner of the condo that we were renting suggested that I go to the Westin for tennis. I was thrilled to meet Kevin who is the pro there. He gave morning drills six days a week and they were just fantastic. Not so much talking or feeding balls, but actually playing out points after working for just a bit on whatever the theme was for that day (overheads, serves, ground strokes, etc). Kevin really kept things moving and kept his comments positive. It was fun to actually be playing instead of just hitting balls that were fed to me."—C.O., Int., February 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "Strengths - Highly trained and personable staff. If you are a motivated to improve your tennis, this is the place to go. There is a good balance of focusing on skills and playing fun drills"—J.K., Adv. Int., April 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "We come to Palm Springs every year for our "girls tennis trip" and Kevin is ALWAYS the pro of choice! He sets up a great week of drills and make it not only fun but we always find improvement in our games when we leave. If we didn't have Kevin and his specialized program I'm not sure our spring would be the same :) Perfect place for tennis team trips!!!"—S.P., Adv. Int., April 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Kevin Connelly is a great pro and definitely learned a lot but was also a lot of fun"—P.C., Adv. Int., April 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "Great escape from NYC winter! Beautiful resort. Courts are impeccably maintained - played everyday. Loved the stadium court! Extremely pleasant staff. Planning to return."—A.B., Adv. Int., April 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "I travelled to Rancho Mirage to play in a National tennis tournament at Westin Mission Hills. The tennis complex was amazing! I trained there all week during my stay."—S.E., Adv., January 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating "The PBI tennis program is excellent. I had a very positive learning experience with Kevin. I have come back to this resort to play with Kevin and Pat for a number of years. I could not recommend it more highly. I only wish there were more clinics on the weekend and in the late afternoons."—J.G., Int., January 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating "My wife, 10 year old daughter and I recently stayed and played at Westin Mission Hills Hotel. We had 3 semi-private lessons with Kevin. my wife and I were both very impressed at Kevin's adaptability to teaching 2 oldies and one young up and comer. Kevin made our sessions fun and just the right pace and difficulty. We're already planning the next trip, and we'll be sure to look for Kevin for some more hot tennis tips."—A.H., Int., January 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating "We spent a few days at the end of 2015. Our family enjoyed the tennis director's (Kevin) tennis clinics and private lessons. Kevin is quick at diagnosing areas to improve, and he would be a welcome addition as tennis director at any club. Westin should include court use with the resort fee, however, rather than charging an additional court fee per hour. Overall, tennis facility/instruction are excellent and would be happy to recommend it. A match up service for doubles would be a great plus. Resort room service was very sluggish when we stayed (over an hour wait for breakfast). Otherwise, you won't go wrong staying here."—M.R., Adv. Int., January 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating "Kevin was a great teacher, spotting weaknesses immediately and fixing them in a flash."—L.B., Low Int., December 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "A wonderful tennis department in a wonderful setting - While visiting the Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, I participated in the full week of tennis clinics - each day another focus area, each day new insights and improvements to my game. In order to avoid the heat, the clinics are held in the morning, leaving the whole day for the pool and time with the family - a perfect balance. Kevin, the pro, was very skilled and helped us all develop our game from the level we were at. Kevin also helped us arrange games, which was much appreciated as it gave us a chance to practice our new skills. I really would recommend this to my friends, should they ever travel in the area."—T.J., Int., May 2015
  • 3½-Ball Rating "I recently spent several days at the Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort and Spa. I was there for a conference, but while there managed to fit in some tennis. The tennis facility was excellent. The several asphalt courts are in great shape and attractively set. I am moved to write this review, though, to comment on the tennis pro, Kevin Connelly. He was great. We took a few group clinics, each on a different aspect of the game, with three to six people of different abilities each time. Kevin has a keen ability to give constructive critique, suitable for the player's level, in a way that was both critical and supportive. Tennis players know how to play tennis; teacher know how to teach. Kevin obviously is both. I highly recommend him."—R.G., Int., May 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Courts (hard) were pristine. Coaching was amazing... had coach "Kevin". Excellent instruction, picked up on little things to improve your game and made them simple to implement.... saw results in a few days! Made the lessons fun but you worked as hard as you wanted to and hit many, many balls! One of the best coaches I've had, compared with home clubs and other camps and resorts. A 1-hour lesson was a full hour of hitting. Value of lesson was amazing. Played in the early am before the conference and the club accommodated my work schedule. I'd go back as soon as I could and highly recommend it."—K.R., Adv. Int., May 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating "Fantastic tennis pro, Kevin Connelly. Great instructor who keyed in on what each tennis student needed to improve their game whether in a group clinic or private individual lesson. Quinn was also fantastic, and both made drills engaging and fun. Both my kids walked away after a week of tennis camp and lessons better skilled and more passionate about the game. We plan on coming back in the fall."—P.D.,  April 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Our team had a fantastic 4 day experience - the pros so we built on our game day to day. Great clinics!"—M.S., Int., April 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Kevin is awesome. He created a program that had a different focus every day and built up to a final day of match play which ensured that we were prepared to play our best in matches. He's very friendly but also prepared and professional. Quinn was also great. He's so kind and ensured that we were always satisfied with the drills. I aways love playing with Kevin and his staff because I know that I will improve my game while having a blast."—J.A., Adv. Int., April 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I attended the Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort &Spa with a group of girlfriends on our annual tennis team trip. We had Kevin as our pro for a four-day session of drills and games. He was always on time and prepared with objectives and activities. Each day was a review of what we had learned and then a new skill set. He teaches in a very positive manner and makes you feel good even when you've done something wrong. His communication skills are excellent and his overall personality made our trip a wonderful experience. We will be back!"—M.O., Low Int., April 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Kevin Connolly is fantastic. He is so positive and a great instructor with a lot of energy!!"—L.M., Adv. Int., April 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I love Kevin and his crew! His tennis lessons and drills apply to any level of play in a fun and engaging environment. I took his class three days in a row (while on vacation) and we hit baskets of balls, got in a great workout, laughed, and he never tried to change my grip! Each day we worked on something new: volleys, ground strokes, doubles strategy, and each day I walked away with "a pearl of information" to take with me. Sign up! You won't regret it."—M.G., Adv. Int., April 2015
  • 3½-Ball Rating "We found the Westin Mission Hills to have a good courts available at most times. We participated in both group classes and private lessons and found them to be well conducted and very helpful"—K.D., Beg., April 2015
  • 4-Ball Rating "We loved the tennis lessons at the Westin Mission Hills. We did clinics everyday that were well thought out and kept you moving. I loved that you knew from the weekly hotel "agenda" what day each clinic was going to focus on so that if you are a singles player and you didn't want to go to doubles strategy then you could skip that day. Quinne and Kevin were awesome instructors and really helpful with seeing what we were weak on and what we could build on. Our son, my husband and myself all did the daily clinics and my son (16) ended up with a private lesson that he said really helped his forehand. Only weakness is I would have loved more clinic options for teens, they had good ones for both adults and young kids/tweens but the 14-18 age group kind of were in the middle of the two."—C.B., Int., April 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating "I would tell them that it is really a friendly resort, that the Director of Tennis Kevin Connolly is the most obliging and pleasant man. It is situated in the Coachella Valley which is a beautiful place, desert, surrounded by mountains. The hotel food was excellent and the service first class. I will definately be going again."—A.W., Adv. Int., April 2015
  • 4-Ball Rating "Great location! Kevin is a terrific coach. I had been away from tennis for awhile because of work and just not having time. I came here for a conference and spent a couple of afternoons with a group lesson and then a private lesson. I was a pretty good player years ago and over the course of a couple afternoons, Kevin was able to get me almost back to my prior form. He was able to immediately identify my weaknesses and had terrific drills to work out all the kinks. Beautiful location, terrific instruction, and a lot of fun! I highly recommend!"—H.V., Adv., April 2015
  • 4-Ball Rating "Excellent Instruction! Very accomodating."—E.D., Adv. Int., March 2015
  • 2½-Ball Rating "The game arranging did not produce a game or compensation as advertised."—M.B., Int., March 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We recently visited the Westin in Rancho Mirage for a family vacation. Our 9 year old daughter took two tennis lessons from the hotel's tennis pro, Kevin. He was fantastic! He taught her a number of valuable ways to improve her tennis game, and did it with patience and good humor. We were very impressed with him. We also reserved courts for the other mornings when our daughter didn't have lessons scheduled. The courts are well-maintained and the fee for use ($20) was low. We will be sure to come back to the Westin for more tennis!"—D.C., Low Int., March 2015
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—C.G., Adv., January 2015
  • 4-Ball Rating "The tennis courts are new and in great condition! Nice view of the mountains from the courts. Coach Kevin is great! I did his drills for a week and learned every day something important how to improve technically or strategically. Kevin gives great advice without completely trying to change your strokes. I still use his tips being home and my game has significantely improved! (I am a 4.0 player). Kevin is also great with kids. My children, ages 7, 10 and 11 took lessons from him and loved it! They improved in taking only 2 lessons. We will be back for sure!"—K.F., Adv. Int., January 2015
  • 3-Ball Rating "Not the best spot if you can't enjoy the pools so stick to warmer months. I did have a great time doing golf and tennis clinics though and found the staff to be exceptional."—M.G., Adv. Int., January 2015
  • 4-Ball Rating "Great lessons for my wife & I. We both felt that we improved technically. Kevin helped us out in a fun way. We will book in with Kevin next time we are in Palm Springs. Definitely recommended."—J.H., Low Int., January 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I followed Kevin to Westin Mission Hills this 2014 season because I so enjoyed his teaching last season. His clinics focus on all aspects of the game but always keeping in mind your personal game and goals. He is positive, easygoing and effective. I would love to take a multiple day camp next season if it could be organized. The surroundings are beautiful and the spa is world class."—K.S., Int., November 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I have been to this resort a few times for business conventions. On this last trip my room was a little dated, but other trips have been perfect. The tennis program deserves special mention. I typically skip the meetings to play tennis. With both trips the instructors have been fantastic. They follow an established teaching philosophy which is very effective. Drill sessions are available daily which I really enjoyed. I also took private lessons which have been great as well. On this last trip I tried to book a lesson at the last minute and Kevin the instructor was great enough to put me in at 6pm after having a full day on the court. They really do everything they can to make it a great tennis experience."—A.J., Int., November 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Signed up for tennis with Kevin Connelly at the Westin Mission Hills tennis facility in Palm Springs and had two terrific mornings. Between morning drills and privates, we hit a ton of balls and I loved it! Kevin helped my game and was very encouraging! I loved the golf but TENNIS at MH was the most fun."—A.V., Adv. Int., November 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The hotel and room exceeded our expectations for comfort and relaxed atmoshere. The tennis pro provided us with exceptional service, even at 7:30pm."—B.B., Adv., November 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating "Mission Hills is a lovely tennis resort. I’ve taken tennis lessons from Kevin for years and have seen my form improve dramatically. He uses fun and effective drills to teach new skills and deliver a great workout. I always look forward to hitting with Kevin!"—J.C., Adv., August 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Visited for two weeks in July 2014. During our stay, our three children (13, 11, 10) took tennis lessons for a week from Martina. She was amazing! Our children had never played before and Martina was not only patient but very encouraging and upbeat. Her enthusiasm was infectious and all three children are now signed up for tennis lessons at home and have racquets of their own. Thank you Martina for all you did! We will be sure to come back and visit!"—H.V., Beg., August 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The facilities are top-notch, clean and well maintained. The office staff is attentive. Kevin is one of the finest instructors in the desert - he custom tailors lessons with a remarkable level of personal attention. I always leave feeling like I have learned a new skill or approach that organically improves my game."—J.F., Int., July 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—C.B., Adv., July 2014
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Fabio could tell me in 5 minutes how to make a minor adjustment and it completely changed my game. My backhand is now just as strong as my forehand. Great tennis instruction!"—D.S., Int., April 2014
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Be sure to take part in the tennis clinic. My friend and I were on our way to play a few sets when we were kindly approached by Pat Dennehy, the PBI Tennis Director, who invited us to take part in the clinic. This was a combination of a tennis lesson, a fun-filled cardio workout (accompanied by some great hip-hop music) and some very enjoyable mingling with the other participants. After the clinic both myself and my friend purchased new racquets, which were strung and ready for us by the end of the day. The whole experience was truly 5 star."—D.C., Low Int., April 2014
  • 4-Ball Rating "I would definitely advise them to go to the Westin Mission Hills tennis facility! Our group had a great experience there. We had really good clinics. The pros were very helpful and friendly and we will most likely be back next year."—J.B., Adv. Int., March 2014
  • 4-Ball Rating "Everything was GREAT. We stayed at the villas and had a fantastic time. Everyone was very friendly so it was a great time away and the weather was perfect. WE really enjoyed the villas as well as the hotel, the pools were great and the tennis was excellent. The setting was fantastic being right on the gold course."—P.S., Int., March 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Another great visit to hit with and to learn from Pat and Fabio. PBI has an excellent reputation- and has delivered again. Fun, social time as always. If you like to play tennis- and you want to play in wonderful weather in a great setting- the Westin Mission Hills resort and the PBi staff of Fabio and Pat are the only way to go. P.S. We have met the nicest people on the courts there."—J.T., Low Int., March 2014
  • 3½-Ball Rating "The Westin Mission Hills is in a beautiful setting and centrally located in the Palm Springs/Palm Desert valley. The tennis teaching pros were experienced and excellent and my husband and I both learned valuable tips in differentiated level instruction. They were able to set up matches for us with some local players, as well. The pro shop is small and the restaurant on the property is limited in its choices but we still had a good experience with the staff and quality of what we purchased."—B.R., Int., February 2014
  • 3½-Ball Rating "I spent a week hitting and doing drills with Pat and Fabio and cannot say enough good things about them. I am an advanced player who was mostly looking to drill and hit a lot of balls - what I got was some really sound feedback, some valuable tips, and solid coaching. Everything I was offered as advice was something I could use and not just something that they say to everyone that they meet. It was an absolute pleasure to be there and I would absolutely not only recommend it as a tennis destination to others, but I would go back there myself."—D.H., Adv., February 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Echoing the positive comments, I too enjoyed Pat's tennis instruction program. Because there was only one other student in the 8:30 am clinics, Pat clinics provided excellent value. For the low cost of "group" instruction, you essentially get a 1.5 hour lesson with Pat. Organized, and personable, he provided insightful guidance/instruction. My game (and confidence) improved after a week with Pat!"—G.W., Adv. Int., February 2014
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Pat Dennehy was awesome - great coach, learnt excellent techniques to practice and his ability to customise for us was fabulous."—J.M., Int., January 2014
  • 4-Ball Rating "I attended clinics each of the four days. They were taught by Pat Dennehy. I found them to be insightful and practical. Our groups were small, and Pat focused on the "why" of techniques as well as the mechanics. I'm recommending this school to all club-level players."—R.H., Adv. Int., December 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We loved the PBI program and thought that our Pro, Pat Dennehy, was among the best. He was prompt, kept the drills fast paced and interesting, worked at each of our levels to challenge the variety of levels in our class, and listened and responded to our concerns. He didn't overwhelm us with information and gave us lots of opportunities to practice his focus for the day. He is very personable with a delightful sense of humor. We look forward to returning for more of his instruction."—J.H., Int., December 2013
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Really loved the 3 clinics with Pat - he found what I needed to work on as well as asked what I felt I wanted to improve. Very targeted drill to improve what needed to be worked on, with lots of positive reinforcement of what was already being done well. Pat explains and demonstrates well what and why each technique is being taught. Will look forward to seeing him here in the future - hope he sees the improvement!"—M.S., Adv. Int., October 2013
  • 4-Ball Rating "Our family visited the Westin Mission Hills for one week over Spring Break. The resort is beautiful and the service is fantastic. For us, the best part of the vacation was the tennis. We played everyday. The courts are fantastic! Pat Dennehy and Jeff Henkelman, the tennis pros, are two of the most patient and skilled teachers I've ever encountered. My sons and I all took lessons and thoroughly enjoyed the instruction. I would highly recommend this resort and would particularly recommend the tennis!"—H.A., Int., April 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I was visiting Palm Springs and went to a 4.0 Drill Clinic. The instructor was wonderful. I had not played tennis in several months. The staff were very accommodating in helping me "shake off the rust". It was such fun! I would highly recommend a clinic if you are visiting this resort."—L.S., Int., April 2013
  • 4-Ball Rating "Our 10-year old son had never picked up a tennis racquet before attending this program. He had tons of fun AND learned tennis basics very quickly. His teacher, Pat, was fantastic! He not only loves and understands tennis, but he really connects with kids. Our son was smiling the entire time. He may not have known that he was in a lesson. Also, the facility (courts, grounds, & pro shop) were very nice quality. Lessons were easy to schedule and equipment, for rent & purchase, was readily available. I'd recommend this program and Pat to anyone. I truly believe that getting a great start from Pat has set the proper course of tennis fundamentals for our son to have a life-long enjoyment for the game."—G.W., Beg., April 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Pat Dennehy does a great job--Friendly, but serious about tennis teaching. Sticks to the schedue of daily clinics, even if class is small or large. I have come for several years, and I always walk away with good notes that improve my game. Westin Mission Hills and nearby Willow are great resorts, and the area has endless activities."—E.H., Adv. Int., March 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Pat Dennehey is a very patient, knowledgeable and fun person to work with. My daughter and I were in the courts daily, either as part of the clinic or private lesson. The weather was excellent and the tennis facilities were well kept. We normally don't return to the same place for vacation and if we were to make an exception, the tennis instruction with Pat would be the reason to return to Westin Mission HIlls."—W.G., Adv. Int., March 2013
  • 3-Ball Rating ""—M.H., Low Int., February 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Enjoyed a great two hour tennis drill with a tennis pro. Learned a great deal expecially how to play the net. I can't wait to go back for another round of drills!"—T.W., Int., February 2013
  • 3½-Ball Rating "It is a very nice facility, easy to get to. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The tennis pro very knowledgeable. Really enjoyed his drills and input. Great workout."—A.M., Adv. Int., February 2013
  • 4-Ball Rating "An excellent tennis club with great tennis coaches for junior tennis players. The coaching is great fun, enjoyable & very helpful. nb: I only attended the tennis club & not the resort."—J.F., Adv., May 2012
  • 4-Ball Rating "Pat Denehy did a very good job with my group of friends. From customizing a two day program to being a very good tennis teacher with up to date methods and skills. Pat was friendly, knowledgeable and adapted to all levels with ease. I would definitely reccomend Pat and the facility for a great active getaway.."—M.T., Int., April 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "My friends and I went on a girls trip and thought to enroll in a tennis clinic. We were staying at this resort and so ended up here. Wow! Our tennis instructor, Pat, was amazing. We had a great time and we actually learned! He was very educated and was an excellent teacher. I am looking forward to practice my new game at home in Santa Barbara."—K.B., Low Int., April 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Finally, our favorite vacation spot has a tennis program worthy of its location . Pat, the pro taught us things that will change our game forever. By this t ime next year expect that this will be one of the best locations to watch a great tournament (BNP) AND play some marve,ous tennis. Good for you Westin!"—B.C., Adv. Int., March 2012
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Had a wonderful 4.0+ drills session with Pat Denehy while staying at the Westin Mission Hills. Since no one else was there that day, I got the whole hour and one half for just me! It was a valuable session. Pat is great to work with. I would do it again."—P.M., Adv. Int., January 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Was there for the opening of the tennis pro shop and Pat the instructor, was fabulous. Took some lessons, rented a ball machine and had a great time. Pat is very friendly, knows his game and more importantly how to teach others. I will definitely be back and will book some refresher lessons with him!"—A.B., Adv. Int., November 2011
  • 3-Ball Rating "Although this facility has been without a real tennis pro for a while, Pat Dennehy is the new pro who impressed my group with his plans to get this very nice facility pumped up & ready for some action. Pat's tenure as a pro spans over 20 years & his patience & pleasant personality make his teaching style very comfortable for students of all skill levels. My group attended his stroke of the day clinics and did some private lessons. We were very well satisfied. Please remember to ask him to share his "your left hand" lesson.
    In addition, Pat is a source for local activities in the area. If I visit this area again, I would definitely be a repeat tennis customer for Pat Dennehy at the Westin Mission Hills Resort."
    —P.R., Int., September 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I attended A Tennis clinic for two days Under their new Pro Pat Dennehy. He came from The Marriott Desert Springs where he ha taught and coached for 25 years. I am 75 years old and have taken lessons from all over the US over the past 45 years. I learned more from him in two sessionsThan any other pro. He was low key,very professional,patient and encouraging. Built up my drops shots and service."—M.F., Pro, September 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "The tennis pro, Pat Dennehy, is superb. He explains very well and is very patient. He has excellent excercises for reinforcing what he is teaching. He is new to the Westin and I think they are very fortunate to have him to develop their tennis program. I highly recommend him. I have taken lessons from pros on Hilton Head Island, throughout the midwest, and now here at the Westin Mission Hills, and I think Pat Dennehy is the best!"—M.B., Int., September 2011
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Really enjoyed the tennis. Pat Dennehy, the tennis pro, was very patient and gave excellent visual examples to help my strokes. I hope to return to the area and will certainly connect with Pat for more lessons."—S.E., Low Int., September 2011

Rate Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa


Ratings

(118 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Tennis Staff
5-Ball Rating Instruction
4½-Ball Rating
Game Matching
3½-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4½-Ball Rating
Cuisine
3½-Ball Rating Lodging
3½-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
3½-Ball Rating
Dollar Value
4-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4-Ball Rating Setting
4-Ball Rating
Kids' Programs
4½-Ball Rating Romance
3½-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4-Ball Rating

Ratings

(118 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Instruction
4½-Ball Rating Cuisine
3½-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4-Ball Rating Setting
4-Ball Rating Romance
3½-Ball Rating Kids' Programs
4½-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
5-Ball Rating Game Matching
3½-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4½-Ball Rating Lodging
3½-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
3½-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4-Ball Rating

Rates and Reservations

Visit the website for current rates

Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa
71333 Dinah Shore Drive
Rancho Mirage, CA 92270