Search
Email Us
Tennis Resorts Online
Waterville Valley Resort, Waterville Valley, New Hampshire
©Roger Cox

Waterville Valley Resort

Waterville Valley, New Hampshire





Your Call

Here's what others have had to say about Waterville Valley Resort.

  • 5-Ball Rating "The Waterville Valley Resort and tennis center is a true gem. I can’t think of a more picturesque place to play. I love their clay courts in a scenic spot on the valley floor surrounded by 4000 ft peaks. Tom Gross is an exceptional teacher and coach and gave me the best lessons I’ve ever had. He is committed to improving your fundamentals and he has an engaging and positive style that makes you want to learn and improve. The tennis community in the valley was very open and welcoming to vacationers and I had no trouble finding matches and having a great experience. It’s a special place."—J.P., Adv., September 2021
  • 4-Ball Rating "I had an excellent private tennis lesson - some of the best instruction I have ever had. Very skilled at observing and assessing my game and making just the right recommendations and adjustments to get me hitting well and consistently. The courts are well maintained and plentiful."—C.D., Adv., August 2021
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Waterville Valley Tennis has been a real highlight for me these last 2 summers. Tom gives so many great pointers to improve my game. Love his instruction. Social tennis was really fun . Everyone was so nice. Can not wait till next summer for my next trip up!"—B.R., Adv., August 2021
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Our family of 6 tennis players had a great time in Waterville Valley. We rented a house near the tennis center for two weeks. My kids participated in the kids clinics, my teens took lessons, and my husband and I participated in adult clinics, lessons, and the round robins which happened four times a week. It was a very easy place to connect with other players and a very welcoming community. We got really great advice that has stuck with us -- we have been asking ourselves "What would Tom say?" regularly since our time there."—K.S., Adv. Int., August 2021
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—T.G., Adv. Int., August 2021
  • 4-Ball Rating "Tom Gross provided the most understandable tips that immediately improved my game in my 40 years of taking tennis lessons around the world. I live in Houston and am a 4.25 level player. I highly recommend Tom Gross and Waterville Valleys smooth playing red clay courts to have fun and improve your game."—K.P., Adv., July 2021
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We wanted to get out of the heat and play tennis. Tom Gross is an amazing pro really helped my game. The courts are red clay and are well maintained. I recommend this place for a fun getaway."—J.P., Adv., July 2021
  • 5-Ball Rating "Stunning scenery and the courts were in great condition, even after days of rain. Tom was a great instructor who knows exactly how to improve your game. Overall a really great place and experience."—H.R., Adv. Int., July 2021
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Had a great weekend in the heart of the White Mountains. The scenery is so beautiful, you'll stop mid-game to enjoy. Friendly staff, captained by the legend, Tom Gross. I'm a solid 4.5 and his tune up of my game was just what I needed."—I.R., Adv., July 2021
  • 5-Ball Rating "High level instruction, fun atmosphere"—O.F., Int., July 2021
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Tom was a great instructor. He did not overwhelm me with changes, but made slight adjustments each day. By the 4th day my forehand and backhand strokes had improved greatly. My serves now have quite a bit more power and accuracy. Will certainly do more private lessons later this summer."—K.R., Int., June 2021
  • 5-Ball Rating "The tennis clinics by Tom Gross are outstanding. He gives phenomenal feedback and my strokes and general game-play really improved. He is encouraging and always keeps the drills engaging and challenging."—J.P., Low Int., June 2021
  • 5-Ball Rating "I absolutely love Waterville Valley!! From the moment you arrive, you know you have entered a truly special village. It's amazing to be able to find peace & tranquility while at the same time having so many activities available for people of all ages. Everyone is friendly, helpful, and accomodating. It is not heavily commercialized like other vacation spots which is refreshing today. I could spend all day, every day on the tennis courts! I thoroughly enjoy the private lessons and the tennis clinics run by Tom Gross, Jr. as he a great person and the best tennis coach! As far as I am concered, Waterville Valley is the gem of New England!"—L.B., Int., October 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating "At the Waterville Valley Resort, there is this awesome tennis pro, Tom Gross Jr. (USPTA), who can really teach tennis in a simple and easy way. Previously, I have been to various world-renowned tennis camps in Florida and Barcelona, Spain. Nevertheless, I find Tom Gross Jr. in Waterville Valley, NH to be the best pro I have ever met so far. Trust me: he really knows what he is doing. His explanation is very succinct, articulate, and easy to follow. I was also extremely impressed by the 14-year-old kid named Eddie who was ranked #1 in New England and, of course, taught by guess who? Tom Gross Jr. I wish Coach Tom Gross Jr. all the best in years to come."—J.K., Adv. Int., September 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating "A low key experience in a gorgeous setting with excellent instruction from Tom. No better place to come in a pandemic than this locale for this sport. Fabulous. Looking forward to next time."—A.D., Beg., September 2020
  • 4-Ball Rating "I attended the Tennis Camp for the first time. It was fantastic - the staff was very attentive and fun. They did a great job critiquing our volleys, forehands, backhands and serves. A very fun experience and I know it will definitely improve my tennis game!"—C.M., Adv., September 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Tom Gross and his staff run a tremendous tennis facility. The location and backdrop are second to none. If the beautiful mountains aren't enough, the quality of the clay courts and the instruction makes this my favorite tennis destination. The adult clinics give you a great workout and the staff can work with any type of player, with improvement being seen by the end of one clinic. My children love going to the junior clinics and with Waterville being such an easy place to get around, they ride their bikes to lessons on their own each morning. The pro shop always gets my racquets restrung in a timely manner. I found my current racquet through their demo program. Players looking for matches can put their name on the board in the pro shop. It was great to find a few new playing partners this summer."—M.S., Adv. Int., September 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Tennis instruction at WV Resort is high energy and will improve your game immediately. Loads of courts, great instructors and a fun atmosphere. I wish I could be there every weekend."—P.S., Adv. Int., September 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Tom Gross is an excellent coach. He knows his stuff. He's personable, fun and great at what he does. He remembers peoples names which is just as important as his superb knowledge base."—J.C., Adv. Int., September 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—E.G., Int., September 2020
  • 3½-Ball Rating ""—L.S., Adv. Int., August 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The area is beautiful. The tennis center is terrific- multiple clay courts in great condition. I took a group clinic and the coach was great. He pinpointed things i need to work but didn't try to overhaul my game. He left my strengths alone and helped me improve my weaknesses. I would highly recommend Waterville Valley for a vacation and the tennis center is great fun."—K.L., Int., August 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating "Waterville valley tennis is a high quality facility. Tom Gross is a pro's pro."—A.S., Adv. Int., August 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The pro and owner Tom Gross Is a great Teacher offering a few choice pointers that change you game and I’d a lot of fun. The red clay court’s Are in the bowl a gorgeous Valley setting looking up at the mountains. My favorite spot."—G.D., Adv. Int., August 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I loved every minute on the clay courts over looking the mountains at beautiful Waterville Valley! My private lesson with the assistant pro Nick was great and the numerous clinics I attended with Head Pro Tom were super fun, challenging and helpful at improving my game. I made some lovely new friends. I will ALWAYS schedule time for tennis on all my return trips to Waterville."—B.R., Adv. Int., August 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating "You get off the main highway 93 and travel for 15 minutes where the road ends in a paradise named Waterville valley , set in a beautiful bowl in the white mountains of new hampshire There are many opportunities for hiking, biking, golf ( not available this summer as a visitor due to covid restrictions ) a ( very) small lake with boating and swimming , an athletic center with indoor and outdoor pools , exerciseroom and two indoor tennis courts and a small “town” center with a few nice shops and eateries. There is a small market but its best to stop at a supermarket before arriving to stock up on groceries For tennis players it is a bit of paradise with many clay tennis courts surrounded by impressive mountains everwhere you look . My husband and I joined two clinics with Tom Gross the head tennis pro and director . He is very friendly and gives a thoughtful analysis of your strokes with simple but helpful tips on how to make improvements without trying to change anything dramatic. There can be a variety of skill levels at the clinics so while Tom works it out quite well , I might choose to book semi private lessons when we come back in the future . If we had had more time there is a board where players leave messages so you can easily arrange games and there is a daily round robin available as well . Overall this place is a tennis players dream This is not a place for fancy food or dress, it is a place of restful beauty with ample opportunities for sport and leisure , one of our very favorites"—E.P., Adv. Int., August 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating "This is an extraordinarily beautiful setting, a valley enclosed by high peaks with only one way in and one way out. So there is a special sensibility to the place, a little bit of a lost horizon. In the middle of this there are 18 red clay courts, a beautiful 9 hole golf course and a cute miniature village. Biking, hiking, swimming abound. So it’s like being a kid again, a lucky kid. The tennis is first rate, led by Tom Gross and a very nice staff. Tom is an excellent teacher and very congenial to learn with, whatever one’s level. If you are looking for Four Seasons accommodations you are in the wrong place, and probably the wrong state and not amenable to the old northeast outdoor experience that this offers. Having said that, it appears some of the lodges do need updating. In addition, there could be a little more food choices, including perhaps one somewhat more upscale one. But it was also Covid at the time and that was very constraining. This is a very special place."—G.H., Adv. Int., August 2020
  • 3-Ball Rating "Tom who is the pro at WV was professional and knowledgeable. Wish we planned more lessons with him. The resort is beautiful, sandwiched between mountain ranges, and there are lots of other activities including wonderful biking. We were with a group of friends so we were able to reserve courts and play. I think we all would have enjoyed participating in clinics during the week if they were offered. The round robin is organized by an affiliated group of locals on the weekend but there is nothing offered by the resort."—E.S., Adv. Int., August 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Beautiful surroundings with hiking trails and top notch instruction by tennis director Tom Gross combine for a perfect weekend or vacation. My favorite getaway"—M.G.,  August 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating "Exceptional clinics. Tom Gross brings out the best in you, and after all this time I’m happy to say I have a net game and he re-tooled my serve so I enjoy playing again where I had given up. We vacationed here for years with our children and watched their tennis skills grow over time. Now we’ve gone back with our grandchildren and realized yet again what a wonderful program they have as we watched them play in he junior programs The town, facilities, pond, and pools surrounded by the White Mountains make this a great place. Hiking, mountain biking are right at your fingertips and mountain streams are abundant. Frankly don’t see any weaknesses. We had such a positive experience my wife and I are going back again next week for another round of clinics!"—R.B., Adv. Int., August 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Wow, to find a tennis resort with 18 red clay courts surrounded by beautiful mountains and a staff that was so friendly and helpful was awesome! My wife and I immediately joined some social groups to play mixed, she took multiple clinics, and I took private lessons with director Tom Gross. Each lesson with Tom was “spot on” in terms of suggesting improvements to my game. Final comment was we bought a second home 10 days after arriving for a 5 week vacation. Look forward to years of enjoyment at Waterville Valley Tennis Resort. Ranks at the top of tennis resorts I have experienced!"—B.P., Adv. Int., August 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I didn't know what to expect being from Texas. I had an amazing experience and the mountains surrounding the tennis courts in the valley were calming and just surreal. Even on a warmer day you can just look up all around you and just be grateful to view the overall surroundings. The tennis clinics improved my game very quickly and met people who will continue to stay in touch for the next year. Tom Gross was the best no nonsense, motivating and consistent coach I have ever had the pleasure to work with...he was relentless to help me fix 2 key weaknesses that had held me back from reaching 3.5. I can still hear his coaching in my head everytime I hit my forehand. He never forgot any of our names and this man was booked solid 12 hours a day on the court. Great experience and energy in a beautiful area of the country surrounded by the White Mountains."—C.L., Int., August 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—P.S., Int., August 2020
  • 4-Ball Rating "Setting at Waterville Valley tennis was beautiful and a joy to play at. Participated in tennis clinics with my wife - each of us being at different levels. Tom, head pro, was fantastic and had a real eye for technique. He made great suggestions for both of us to tweak swings/game that led to meaningful improvements. Overall, we had a great time and would enjoy returning."—M.Y.,  August 2020
  • 4-Ball Rating "I attended the adult tennis camp at Waterville Valley NH with John, Chris and Kord. It was fun and challenging and helped me advance my skills. The pros were very patient and very good at instruction with every stroke. I also liked that they taped our drills and we could review them and be critiqued. I would recommend this camp to anyone who wants to hone their skills, play some games, and meet like minded people who like a good competition. I came as a single but felt very welcome with the group."—B.G., Int., August 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating "MANY well-maintained red clay courts and two excellent indoor courts. Amazing views and many things to do, in addition to great tennis experience. Hiking trails, bike trails, a shuttle bus, Town Center with restaurants, stores, and even a US Post Office."—G.C., Adv. Int., July 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—A.G., Adv. Int., July 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I just returned from a week of tennis lessons with Tom Gross - and the improvement in my game is remarkable. It seems I always develop bad habits, which he figures out how to fix. I have never worked with a pro whose analysis and suggestions are as impactful as Tom's. And, the views of the mountains make this an incredibly beautiful place to play tennis."—H.T., Adv. Int., July 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating "It’s fun. Good teaching tips for improvement. Great scenery would highly recommend it to anyone that loves tennis"—K.G., Adv. Int., July 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—J.P., Int., January 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating "A hidden gem. Gorgeous views all over the place, ESPECIALLY from the tennis courts. Very reasonably priced for lodging, activities, etc. They have 18 red clay courts and two indoor courts for foul weather days. There is also so much other activity than tennis. It’s a great family vacation spot with something for all."—E.R., Int., January 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating "My husband and I recently visited Waterville Valley in the beautiful White Mountains specifically to take private tennis lessons with the owner and Pro, Tom Gross at the Waterville Valley Tennis Center. The tennis center has some of the most beautiful red clay tennis courts in the world, that are completely surrounded by a breathtaking view of the mountains. It is stunning. We completely enjoyed our lessons with Tom; he is the consummate professional, whose tennis knowledge is unparalleled. He has a knack of knowing exactly what is needed for you to improve every aspect of your game, and he teaches you in plain terms that players at any level can truly appreciate and benefit from. He is also an incredibly nice person - and we enjoyed our lessons tremendously. We both left feeling more knowledgeable and much more confident in our tennis. We are very eager to return, and I cannot recommend Tom and his magnificent tennis center enough."—K.G., Low Int., November 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—R.W., Adv. Int., November 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I had an amazing experience at Waterville Valley Tennis Resort this summer. With excellent instruction by Tom Gross, in just a few weeks I went from absolute beginner to being able to play in the resort’s round robin and even win a match or two. The resort has a friendly and welcoming atmosphere to new players and it is easy to find a partner at your level to play tennis with. If you play tennis regularly or are looking to begin playing, come to Waterville Valley - the red clay courts, the mountain views and beautiful valley setting will make your tennis experience relaxing and memorable."—P.K., Low Int., November 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The Waterville Valley Resort is an amazing place to vacation! You’re surrounded by beautiful mountains and fresh air. The tennis pros there are great and so friendly. They are super helpful in your tennis game. The staff, too, is super kind and friendly. The pro shop has everything you would need to play simple tennis. However, there are not a lot of people there so it is difficult to find juniors to play with. Nevertheless, the pros are so friendly, they are always able to find solutions."—C.L., Adv., November 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Most beautiful setting to play tennis. The courts are in the heart of the White Mountains with panoramic views. Spectacular! The tennis pro will help you improve your game dramatically in just a few lessons. I highly recommend Waterville Valley Resort."—R.C., Int., November 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—J.G., Int., November 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Tom Gross runs the best and friendliest instructional clinics and individual lessons I have been fortunate to enjoy. The setting of Waterville Valley is spectacularly beautiful. The court are in excellent shape. Its an ideal vacation spot. I can't think of any weaknesses. I'd go there more often if work and family obligations didn't take me on other travels. I'd like to retire in WV and play more tennis!"—M.G.,  November 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating "Great instruction by Tom Gross, head pro. I learned a lot, even though I have been playing for 35 years and taking lessons almost that long. He still taught me new stuff. Facility is outstanding, Beautiful American red clay courts, well maintained,"—N.C., Adv. Int., November 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Waterville Valley Resort is a very nice resort. My grandkids enjoyed the tennis lessons and the swimming pool. I enjoyed my tennis lessons with Tom Gross. He is an excellent instructor."—J.K., Beg., November 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Tennis facility and staff are outstanding. great clay courts. Lessons are very impactful, high energy, and fun. Cant wait to get back in the spring."—J.F., Int., November 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—A.H., Adv. Int., November 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Waterville valley tennis was an unexpected bonus for us when we purchased a town home in the Valley. We spent a lot of time with Tom Gros the pro and owner and not only improved our game but had a delightful time. It appears you can teach an old dog new tricks. We look forward to many more lessons and playing at this beautiful facility. We have played at many resorts including 5 star and this is our favorite."—C.F., Low Int., November 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Amazing mountain views from the well maintained red clay tennis courts. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The round robins on Fri, Sat & Sunday are a lot of fun and well attended. The Head Pro, Tom Gross, is an excellent instructor and makes the clinics well worth the price. I always learn something that makes me a better player."—T.K., Adv. Int., September 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Had a great experience at Waterville Valley. We were only stopping through for 3 days but in that short time Tom Gross completely fixed the issues that have been plaguing me all summer. He also did it in a way that was easy to understand and will stay with me for the long term. Kids enjoyed the junior program, but it was the adults that had the most fun. Resort itself has lots of recreation activities outside tennis making it a real destination where you could easily spend a week and really work on your game. Highly recommend mountain biking and swimming in the cascade waterfalls. Overall incredible value in a beautiful setting. We hope to return again."—J.C., Adv. Int., September 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Beautiful surroundings. Ideal for outdoor loving people. Our family really enjoyed playing tennis on the clay courts. Staff is very friendly and accommodating, especially Tom (tennis director) and Town Square front desk. We all had fun and good memories from the 3-day staying at the resort."—T.N., Int., August 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Tom Grosse is a superb instructor. After not playing for many years, Tom got me tuned up in one lesson while sharing tips I had never heard before during many years of competitive play, lots of drills and lessons. Incredibly well worth the time!"—M.W., Adv. Int., August 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating "The most beautiful setting for any resort. Where can you play tennis surrounded by majestic mountains. 18 clay courts, Pro Tom Gross gives the best clinics and lessons, and there is organized social round robins. I can’t wait to take girlfriends for a tennis weekend."—J.L., Adv., August 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—E.N., Adv. Int., August 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Waterville Valley is an incredible tennis resort destination. Tom Gross and his staff do an exceptional job with all aspects of a tennis vacation. Terrific groomed courts, a fantastic setting in beautiful New Hampshire, friendly and helpful staff not to mention top notch tennis instruction from a very knowledgable pro who has worked with some of the legends of the game, Laver, Emerson, Hoad, andGonzalez to name a few. I would highly recommend a tennis vacation here, and there are also many other activities at the resort, golf, biking, hiking, swimming, boating, fishing to name a few so bring the whole family."—R.S., Adv. Int., July 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Great tennis! loved the clay courts, beautiful setting, great coaching"—C.B., Adv., July 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "I had the chance to play at the outdoor facility, which is a beautiful facility of over 10 clay courts. They are immaculately maintained and it is a beautiful setting to play tennis. The pro (Tom) was awesome and gave a terrific private lesson - definitely provided a lot of great insights to improve my strokes. It is a wonderful facility and I highly recommend it to people who are coming to Waterville Valley with an interest in tennis."—B.K., Adv. Int., June 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "I have been to many tennis camps and resorts that are ranked in the Top 25 on tennisresortsonline.com in California, Florida, New Hampshire and Vermont, and I have only the highest praise for Tom Gross, Jr., who is the Director/Owner/Head Pro at Waterville Valley. He single handedly helped me to go from a 3.5 to an (almost) 4.5 in one year and help me to help my 40yo and over men's USTA team make the national finals in 2018. Unlike most/almost all other programs, when you take lessons at Waterville Valley, you get direct instruction from the Head Pro, in this case who has decades of experience but still has a very authentic and genuine love of the game and teaching it to the level that the student is willing/able to receive. Waterville Valley is also one of the most beautiful AND reasonably priced tennis resorts in the US. Without qualification, I give it my highest recommendation which is reflected in the fact that I sometime drive round-trip in one day from Boston just to take lessons with Tom."—L.B., Adv., March 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Been going there for 25 plus years . Beautiful setting with mountains on all sides. 18 red clay courts are finely manicured and well kept thru the day . Lots of activity and the ability to 'pick up a game' . Moreover , lessons are available from the Rod Laver-Roy Emerson trained USPTA pro Tom Gross ! I have visited 20 plus tennis resorts over the years and my favorite is WV !!!"—J.N., Adv. Int., March 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Great clay courts, a terrific tennis pro, Tom Gross, and lessons and games going on constantly. Tom ensures everyone gets what they want in lessons and partners to keep the tennis fun and challenging."—M.F., Int., January 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I love the 14 red clay courts in the basin of the Waterville valley, with wonderful towering mountains all around. Tom Gross is one of the best coaches I've come across. It's really a fun day to start of with a lesson from Tom, play some matches then hang out in this Shagrila village in the mountains of New Hampshire."—G.D., Adv. Int., November 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I love Waterville Valley. The people are friendly, the town is lively and everywhere you look you see the most picturesque view of the White Mountains. While Waterville is nestled by itself away from it all, there is a ton to do for kids and adults. At the center of the town is the Town Square with outdoor concerts, a man made lake for swimming, renting boats etc. shopping, and a couple of great restaurants. There is a very laid back 9 hole golf course small enough for a beginner but quite a few holes that will challenge any player. There is some awesome hiking, bike trails, kids camps, ice cream socials and a list of events that is posted every week. Now for the best part of Waterville Valley - the tennis! Just outside of the town square sits 20+ extremely well kept and picturesque red clay courts. It is easy to book court time and if you give your phone # and level to the staff at the pro shop they will set you up with a good match with someone in the valley. I have come to Waterville almost every summer since i was a kid and have taken many lessons from the head pro Tom Gross. He's a great guy, a fantastic coach and makes taking lessons a ton of fun. My kids are still too young for a lesson with Tom but they have enjoyed the group lessons every morning for kids their age. Waterville Valley is without a doubt my favorite place."—P.B., Adv., November 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "This place is beautiful. I've been coming here all my life and will continue to do so."—D.V., Adv., November 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We took both a group clinic and private tennis lessons with pro Tom Gross at Waterville this past summer. After being away from the sport for some time, Tom had us hitting like pros again in no time at all. He is one of the best teachers we have ever had. Thank you Tom for getting us back in the groove!"—J.S., Int., November 2018
  • 4-Ball Rating "We had a wonderful experience at the Waterville Valley Resort the summer of 2018. Tennis lessons for the whole family in a picturesque setting. The instruction was quality and fun. We can't wait to go back next summer for more!"—M.T., Beg., November 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "the view. the courts are special"—M.K., Int., September 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Very nice welcoming people in the office and to play with. Tennis social round robin is fun. Well maintained clay courts and often available. Love the community and great hiking, food, kids activities. My son enjoyed the day camp at the school and they arranged great lessons for my 10 year old who now loves the game."—A.M., Adv. Int., September 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—B.N., Adv. Int., September 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Enjoyed the beautiful amenities ,scenery and professional courteous staff."—M.K., Int., September 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "We’ve been going up to see Tom for many years, this year we also put our grandchildren in the clinic. I had USTA sectionals coming up and went to have Tom help with my volleys as well as ground shots. It really helped to have his coaching in my head while I was there. So glad to have the opportunity."—R.C., Int., August 2018
  • 4-Ball Rating "My husband and I went to WV for a getaway weekend in August. We took morning tennis clinics with Tom, the Director of Tennis. He gave us excellent instruction focusing on a few very useful concepts for our 3.5 level skills, including my husband coming back from some injuries. He presented similar ideas to what other pros have taught us but expressed in slightly different ways that clicked with us. I look forward to truly incorporating these into my game. I would love to return in the future for a "refresher" and additional lessons. The red clay courts and the beautiful mountain backdrop were a treat. We were not there long enough for more games as we wanted to hike in the afternoon. There was a long list of people wanting to play on a board in the pro shop so we should have been able to find additional games. There were also daily round robins had we not done the clinics."—C.G., Adv. Int., August 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I loved it there! The Pros were great, fun and good times here. I have been now 3 times, and I think it be a regular yearly event for me from now on. Tennis was very big part of my life and a young girl. I even began to teach in my 30's due to the help of a tennis Pro from PBI tennis pros. The encouragement I got this past weekend Aug 17-19th in Waterville Valley, has me ready to keep on keeping on with my tennis and enjoy more weekends here and maybe other tennis resorts too!!"—K.G., Adv. Int., August 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Tom is the best tennis instructor I have ever had. I hadn't taken a lesson in many years. I was once pretty decent 20 years ago. Within two lessons, I started to see glimpses of an old self due to Tom's ease and to the point instruction. I am a visual learner and the way he spoke allowed me to "see" what adjustments I needed. He's awesome!"—M.A., Int., August 2018
  • 4-Ball Rating "The instructors are great teachers and were attentive to everyone's individual needs and goals. The drills were excellent. The tennis courts and amenities are very good."—L.C., Beg., August 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "A college buddy and I (we are now 5 yrs old) wanted to get in a couple days of advanced tennis instruction and chose Waterville Valley. It was fantastic. Tom is great. He has great, and easily digestible, advice. He also has a great set of drills to bake in concepts. We thoroughly enjoyed it."—D.H., Adv., August 2018
  • 4-Ball Rating "The tennis camp was great. The instructors did a fantastic job helping to improve my game. They did not try to change too much, but gave you plenty to work on moving forward."—T.B., Int., August 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Great tennis academy with a very good pro! 18 courts surrounded by mountains, beautiful scenery and very friendly staff. Perfect place to spend time if you love playing tennis. Daily tennis clinics for adults and kids during summertime. Many good players in the club. Love it there..."—A.H., Adv., August 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The best tennis instruction I've ever had. Really helped my game."—O.F., Int., August 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Easy trip less than two hours from Boston. Beautiful valley at the end of the highway in the national forest. From the beautiful tennis courts you see mountains in all directions . I have improve my game so much through clinics and from social doubles on Wednesday afternoons. All of my four kids have taken lessons and have grown to love the sport. The pro shop has everything you need to play the game and it’s close to other amenities in the resort like the swimming pool which also has indoor courts. I was not a tennis player until I tried playing here and it’s so beautiful anyone will be converted ."—C.D., Low Int., July 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "My wife and I are longtime visitors to WV and beginner tennis players. We decided to take lessons and play a little and really enjoyed it. The instruction was excellent and the courts and scenery are second to none. We also signed up our 5 year old for lessons and she had a great time as well. We look forward to returning in years to come!"—J.T., Beg., July 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Tom Gross is an exceptional tennis coach who intensely committed to his students success. He has strong beliefs about the best ways to teach club level players and is a master at analyzing and teaching proper stroke technique."—J.O., Adv. Int., July 2018
  • 4-Ball Rating "An easy drive for a long weekend from Boston brought us to a beautiful and relaxing setting at Waterville Valley. This place is the opposite of pretentious, very friendly, casual, easy to use and gorgeous. Played in a tennis clinic each morning and hit a ton of balls. Great instruction from Tom. I am a solid player and dont need much help but in addition to getting the hitting in Tom gave me simple little tweaks that are very helpful. The courts are pristine, red clay - in great shape. The rest of the resort also has plenty to offer. Full service pool and athletic facility, multiple restaurants in the cute town square, walking trails, bike rentals and world class day hiking. There is plenty to do here. Love it and we will be back."—M.L., Adv., June 2018
  • 2½-Ball Rating "Nice clay courts, beautiful mountain setting. Tennis instruction was good, but I don't think it attracts enough numbers of players overall and not enough good players if you are looking for strong level of competition during competitive drills. Part of it is I think it is a camp run by someone who's been doing it for many years and is at the end of their career. Not saying they are going through the motions but just not as vigorous as I would have liked and as they might have done 20 years ago. Nice people though overall, both instructors and attendants, and I had a nice time; but not on my list of a camp I must return to compared to others I've attended. Two small but "important" things to me--mid-day lunch we were on our own and had to leave the tennis complex to find someplace to eat and get back in time for afternoon tennis session; and no T-shirt included??? Never been to a camp that didn't give you a camp t-shirt!!! If nothing else it's a free advertisement for the camp when I wear it at the tennis courts at home."—P.B., Adv. Int., April 2018
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Great way for a group of tennis friends to hone their skills, even if just for the weekend! Nice that they video your swing so you can actually see what you are doing. Coaches are knowledgeable, and nice to get a different view from lessons at home. Did not stay at the resort. Stayed at a friends condo nearby."—W.G., Int., April 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Love playing here"—J.M., Int., March 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "Just plain wonderful, from the ability to book a court to refreshments on the deck after a few sets...fantastic"—S.H., Adv. Int., February 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "An abundant number of clay courts , perfectly maintained in a setting surrounded by the White Mountain National Forest. Professional coaching available , as well as pro shop. Indoor courts available at White Mountain Athlettic Club that also houses indoor-outdoor pools, fitness rooms, massage room. Waterville Valley has hiking and biking trails, lodging, a variety of restaurants, and is the home of Curious George."—M.H., Adv. Int., February 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—N.S., Adv. Int., February 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—R.W., Adv., February 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—S.D., Adv. Int., February 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I love the sense of community at WV. There are a lot of the same folks each summer and it's like catching up with old friends."—R.V., Int., February 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The best Clay courts surrounded by the White Mountains. Everything is within walking distances from Restaurants , Hiking trails, swimming, biking and many other outdoor activities. Very family oriented Resort.."—T.B., Adv. Int., February 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—M.R., Int., February 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Having spent at least a week each summer since 1995 - I can say that WV is an idyllic place for families. There is so much to do and the Tennis Center is just perfect. Tom Gross runs a terrific operation."—A.D., Int., February 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "Amazing location - friendly but professional staff - great involving activities for people who want them and lots of available courts if you have your own group pre-set. resort has a family feel but the level of tennis instruction is outstanding"—S.M., Low Int., February 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "The best the view is the best in the world"—T.K., Adv. Int., February 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Very friendly staff. Beautiful setting. With courts kept in excellent shape. The teaching is top notch ... the philosophy is to improve your game based on what you already do."—J.R., Adv. Int., February 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—T.E., Int., February 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Overall excellent resort. Beautiful setting, surrounded by mountains. Tom Gross, the head pro, is first class. Also, the 18 red clay courts are in terrific shape. Tennis as it is meant to be played."—T.C., Adv. Int., February 2018
  • 3½-Ball Rating "great courts and pro"—D.C., Adv., February 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "It was great! Tom was an excellent instructor...he was very throrough in explaining what he needed for me to do to obtain the level of strength that I have acheived"—M.G., Int., February 2018
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—T.S., Adv. Int., February 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—J.M., Adv. Int., November 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "I live in CA and travel back to NH to visit my wife's relatives once or twice a year. So I bring my rackets and look for new places to explore and play. This summer was outstanding when I found Tom Gross up at Waterville Valley. We were staying in the area for only a few days, but I managed to get two lessons in with Tom. I play 4.0-4.5 and I have a coach that I have been working with for 3+ years back here in the San Francisco bay area. I loved Tom's "old school" approach to tennis and I wish I was there longer to work with him. He will push you as much as you want to be pushed- we had two very intense sessions with him and we figured out some little tweaks to my two hand backhand and we worked on a monster kick serve. I'll be back next summer! Oh yea- absolutely beautiful setting up in the white mountains against the red clay courts...."—G.P., Adv., November 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "My family loves our vacation time together at Waterville Valley and have been spending time in July there for 41 years in a row! My parents, children and grandchildren come together. We are all on the tennis courts together and Tom and his staff have taught all of my children and grandchildren how to play! My children have been on tennis teams through highschool and college with his guidance and my older son still plays on a competetive men's team at 37!!! Tom, Waterville and the clay courts are part of our families history!!! I would highly recommend it. It is a really special place."—L.M., Int., October 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "We love Waterville Valley Resort.Have been going for manny years with our family.The tennis pro has been there for manny years and is great and has made tennis a wonder fun sport for all of us. Manny fun things to do there besides tennis also.Would recommend it to anyone."—W.B., Int., October 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—M.J., Adv., October 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "The tennis facilities there are terrific and Tom Gross was an excellent instructor. I thought the drills that Tom did with us were challenging and very effective in helping to improve my tennis skills."—J.S., Adv. Int., October 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "The entire staff is amazing at really teaching you about tennis, not just having you repeat your mistakes. Lessons for the kids are always fun and you can't beat that view."—C.S., Low Int., September 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "the view is beyond special courts are in great shape"—M.K., Adv. Int., September 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "Waterville Valley has the best tennis facility I've ever been to. There are 18 clay courts, so getting court time isn't an issue. The Pro is always on hand for a lesson for kids or adults. There are fantastic kids' lessons, which allow the adults to play while keeping the kiddies busy. And - all of this while you look out onto the mountains around you in one of the most beautiful places on earth! After tennis, you can go boating, play a round of challenging golf, take the ski lift up with a mountain bike to ride down the mountain, hike, swim, or grab an icecream in the town square. This is an exceptional place to visit."—M.B., Adv. Int., September 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Love WVV. Tom Gross is a great pro. Very nice red clay. Nice scenic escape to the white mountains coupled with a great tennis center."—C.L., Adv. Int., September 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—S.E., Adv. Int., September 2017
  • 2½-Ball Rating "Let me start with the good. The setting is serene. Playing tennis surrounded by beautiful NH mountains is a unique and enjoyable experience. They have 18 red clay courts which means you would always have a court available to play. Most courts are in good shape. Tom Gross, the only head pro there is a nice and friendly fellow and so is the tennis receptionist. Playing there is inexpensive – it $15 per hour per person or $100 per week for unlimited tennis. On to the bad. Several courts have small amount of weed growing through them – they are still playable, though. None of the courts have benches or water barrels next to them. There are three water barrels next to the tennis hut. The wind shields attached to the fences are torn at the bottom. If you play on a breezy day, the wind may drive you crazy. These are all nitpicks. The biggest problem is if you are a decent player (4.0 to 5.0) younger than 50. It is very hard to find a partner. They use a chalk board where you put your name. I spent two weeks there and found two people to play with. As I already mentioned, Tom is the only pro there who is in his 60’s. He obviously caters to the older crowd. If you want to hit with a collage level kid, you are out of luck. All of these things are to be expected from a run of the mill tennis facility that nobody has heard of. What really irritated me to no end, is that Waterville Valley is billed as the top-notch gold level tennis resort on par with such tennis mecca as Saddlebrook. This is simply not true. What is equally upsetting is that the place has tremendous potential given the great location and large number of courts. Hire college level pros, attract younger crows, perform exhibition matches, upgrade tennis facilities. I might be wrong but I got the vibe that this place used to be great but its hey days are long gone. There are tons of much better places on the East Coast if you are looking for decent tennis experience. To be fair, if you are a beginner or intermediate player who also happens to be older, I surmise that it would be much easier for you to find a partner or doubles partners and consequently you will enjoy yourself much more."—S.A., Adv., August 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "{New England Tennis Holidays Camp]. The courts are great, our two pros (ration was 6-2) were excellent. Strength was the quality of the teaching. I highly recommend this camp. Only weakness was the indoor "carpet" the day we had to go indoors."—B.H., Int., August 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Excellent instruction, informative, encouraging and fun. Lovely setting, easy to drive to, very hospitable lodging offering a superior breakfast buffet. The restaurants serve too slowly for a good lunch experience, but the tennis program will find a fix for that. Go and Enjoy!"—D.W., Int., July 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Waterville has a great tennis program! The courts are wonderfully maintained and the staff is helpful and friendly. The instructors are no nonsense and able to hone in on your personal needs quickly. Love going there!"—J.B., Adv. Int., April 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The staff is super kind and the view from the courts couldn't be better!"—C.S., Int., April 2017
  • 3½-Ball Rating "True red clay courts in excellent condition. Frequent cloud bursts keep them moist and soft nestled in a mountain paradise. Nice people. No attitude. An educated, respectful community shows up for doubles every morning and the ITA they host every summer brings out top East Coast college players."—E.S., Adv. Int., April 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "A small quant town with an abundant amounts of activities for every age. The tennis center is placed on the valley floor surrounded by mountains. Priceless! I took a tennis lesson with Mr. Tom Gross at the outdoor tennis center late fall 2016. Tom was professional and very much a big help with improving by backhand. The young lady who worked at the pro-shop took excellent care of all of my families lesson scheduling . Thank you, we'll be back for sure!!!"—D.V., Low Int., November 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—C.T., Int., November 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—S.M., Int., November 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—S.L., Low Int., October 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—B.J., Int., October 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "The resort is situated in the middle of the white mountains with 360 degrees of wilderness surrounding you on magnificent clay courts. The cool mountain air keeps you refreshed even on the hottest summer day. In addition to the out side cours the balky also offers inside facilities at the athletic center also in the center of the town. The center of town is a pristine lake that offer a great place to take a dip or paddle a small boat around between games. The life's in town are filled with happy and friendly employees and there are many place to grab great food to refill the tank after a long day of hit the ball. All of these amenities and great staff are one two hours north of Boston Logan airport and just over an hour north of Manchester international marketing it very convenient to get to. The only down side that I can find is that you can feel a bit isolated from the rest of the world. Great place, I could write so much more but I only have so much time. I would tell my friends to just check it out, I promise you won't be disappointed."—T.S., Adv. Int., October 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—K.K., Adv. Int., October 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—C.F., Beg., October 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating "18 of the BEST clay courts with the most AMAZING views!"—S.A., Adv., October 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Great instruction from Tom Grosse, the best"—W.M.,  October 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—W.B., Low Int., October 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "The beauty of Waterville Valley is awe-inspiring. Yet more so, the staff made you feel as if you were their family."—J.T., Adv., October 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "Tennis pro was amazing. A born teacher. He was so helpful for me, somewhat of a beginner, and he changed my husband's tennis serve. The tips he gave him really stuck. My husband still comments on how his serve has changed and how grateful he is to him. We will definitely be back. His enthusiasm for teaching hasn't faded after all his years of teaching. He's great. I rarely write recommendations but he's worth writing about."—G.B., Adv., October 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating "The resort nestled in the valley of the white mountains is stunning; it's hard to keep your eye on the ball surrounded by such beauty. The head instructor Tom is excellent, a nice combination of technique and humor. He quickly can evaluate your game and tweaks it. Nothing to big but enough that you leave with something to work on. Thank you Tom."—J.S., Adv. Int., October 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating "Well maintained clay courts in a picturesque setting. Coaching by pros both professional and tailored to your specific needs."—T.T.,  October 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Really great instructor!"—J.D., Int., October 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—C.R., Adv., October 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We appreciate not only the 18 red clay courts surrounded by 4,000-foot mountain views, but also the beautiful resort. Nice folks, great courts, and just a wonderful place."—J.H., Low Int., October 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Fantastic views, great surfaces, friendly helpful staff"—M.A., Int., October 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "Tom Gross is an inspirational tennis guru ("sometimes it's the Indian, and not the arrow"), technical diagnostician ("respect the toss"), and highly skilled sparring partner wrapped in one. Our 18 year old son was off to college to play on the tennis team and needed to "dial it in again" in Tom-speak. Amazing progress inconsistency and in mindset over ten days. "Every ball has its own personality" he coached "no need to go all Mach 5 on every ball." Tom's the best; his assistant Sam was professional, friendly and eager to please."—M.R., Adv., August 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—N.R., Adv., August 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating "Every time I have gone to Tennis Camp with New England Holidays my game improves by leaps and bounds... and I am 70 years young! The coaches are great at melding all levels into the play while keeping us going at a perfect pace- challenging but not intimidating. I have been now 6 times over the years and love it every time. It was rainy the weekend we went so we could not play on the clay courts, which I was looking forward to. Oh well... next year!"—P.H., Adv. Int., July 2016
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Supportive and positive coaching from all the New England Tennis Holiday staff. Video feedback was extremely helpful. Could have used more game strategy sessions."—D.M., Int., July 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—J.C., Low Int., July 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—C.O., Adv., April 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—B.P., Adv. Int., February 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—T.T., Adv., February 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "The tennis instruction is superb! Tom Gross is very encouraging and explains things well. He makes the experience very enjoyable. My technique improved immediately. The chiidren's programs are very strong too. Our six-year old daughter enjoyed group and individual lessons."—K.D., Low Int., February 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Always can play great clay courts"—B.B., Adv. Int., February 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating "Great tennis courts in a spectacular mountain setting!!"—U.H., Int., January 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Stunning family resort with 17 clay courts with amazing views. Lots to do for whole family. Great kids programs. Peaceful, wholesome environment. Exceptional tennis experience with out being over the top!"—S.P., Int., January 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—R.F., Adv. Int., January 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—R.A., Int., January 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating "Beautiful setting and well maintained facility"—S.A., Int., January 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—M.B., Int., January 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We love playing tennis at Waterville Valley."—P.R., Adv. Int., January 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "tennis:strengths-16+ clay courts great shape, beautiful outdoor views weakness - always got a court but if I remember correctly reservations only a day or two in advance Resort in general=many, many things to do, easy access to all activities, great setting , surrounded by mountain peaks, great variety in hikes, remodeled sports center is excellent"—B.T., Adv. Int., January 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—D.C., Low Int., January 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "Excellent teaching staff! The most scenic resort I have ever played tennis at; you feel as if you are in your own world while in Waterville Valley. Beautifully maintained outdoor clay courts."—L.F., Int., January 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Clay courts are well maintained and well operated. This is the most beautiful area surrounded by the White Mountains. Great pro shop and if you are looking for instruction, they have that covered. Also there is always someone ready to play in case you are short for doubles or singles."—G.C., Adv. Int., January 2016
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Great location. Beautiful Surroundings. Feel like I'm in Switzerland1"—C.R., Adv., December 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Outstanding instruction, well-maintained courts, great scenery, other activities nearby, indoor courts, golf and ski village, wide choices for lodging, opportunities for arranged matches - great place to go short or long term. No weaknesses I can think of."—M.L., Adv. Int., December 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—B.K., Adv., December 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating "Waterville Valley delivers. I’ve been a long time visitor of Waterville Valley and just this past summer picked up a tennis racket for the first time in over 10 years. A trip up to WV and few lessons, with legend Tom Gross, later and I remember how much I love playing tennis here. The views are fantastic, don’t just take my word for it though, a google image search will give you all the evidence you need! While I was pretty rusty Tom’s excellent teaching ability helped to identify my weak areas while improving my stronger points. The valley itself possess a unique charm and you will find the people here immensely friendly. There is also no shortage of mountain biking, hiking, etc. People have been playing tennis here since the 1880s for a reason, it’s awesome!"—P.D., Int., December 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Beautiful setting; well-maintained tennis courts; friendly, competent staff; excellent summer weather."—J.R., Adv. Int., December 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—L.D., Low Int., December 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "This is the best tennis resort ever! Well-Maintained clay courts and views to die for."—T.S., Adv. Int., December 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Tom Gross at Waterville Valley Resort has laserlike intuition when exhibiting his teaching skills. He immediately zones in on your best and worst to appropriately praise then evaluate and convey whatever he deems necessary. As a result, it becomes impossible to not improve your game. What else do you need to know tennis fans! Oh yes, spectacular views, exceptional clay courts and crisp mountain air will not only enhance and invigorate your game but will also entice you to return! Did I mention Tom's wonderful sense of humor?!"—D.G., Int., December 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Small program with excellent instruction. More like getting an intense private lesson with some opportunity to practice. Because the program was so small, you may not be matched with players at the same level for practice. However as the instruction was one-on-one, Tom (the superb pro) could instantly identify and fix problems in my game."—D.M., Adv., December 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Beautiful setting; great people especially Tom Gross in charge of instruction"—M.G., Int., December 2015
  • 4-Ball Rating "Great views.18 clay courts. The Wed round robin and party afterwards are a real bargain. Great company."—R.B., Adv. Int., November 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Beautiful setting!"—C.F., Adv., October 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "This is one of the very best tennis camp: solid instruction, lots of valuable drills, terrific instructors. After three days in the beautiful White Mountains in Waterville Valley, NH, I feel energized and ready to put all I learned into practice."—M.L., Int., August 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Beautiful setting. Third time I have been to this [New England Tennis H9oidays] camp. Professional instruction, but fun and thoughtful instructors. Work on all aspects of game and attempt to work with each individual to give pointers are particular areas that need work. Great time for all Will be going back"—N.F., Int., August 2015
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Great tennis instruction, idyllic surroundings, beautiful courts"—M.L., Adv. Int., March 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—T.H., Adv. Int., March 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Great. Great coaches. A beautiful setting. Well maintained red clay. I have no negatives. It is my top choice and recommendation for others."—D.L., Int., March 2015
  • 4-Ball Rating "over 16 great clay courts. kept in a1 condition. round robins every day open to public for about two dollars per person. beau.indoor athletic facility with huge indoor and outdoor pools/hot tubs etc & restaurant overlookg indoor tennis courts. beaut. town center surrounding large pond/indoor skating rink/ boat (and ski rentals)"—R.R., Adv. Int., March 2015
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—R.L., Int., March 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—A.D., Int., January 2015
  • 4-Ball Rating "Waterville Valley is a beautiful, family oriented resort--great for tennis, hiking, biking and other outdoor activities. !7 clay courts plus a couple of indoor for backup in case weather gets bad. What i like is that you can park your car and walk or bike to everything. It's a small place but everything you need is there--four or five restaurant options-and all at least decent--Wild Coyote is excellent as is Pizza Company and Legends Bar. Weaknesses--a bit off the beaten path, and a bit short on glitz, but some of us like it that way. A lot of other non-tennis activities for children as well. Value equation is excellent, as lodging, while not luxurious, is more than adequate and very inexpensive compared to schmancy places."—A.N., Int., January 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—B.T., Adv., January 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—J.L., Adv., January 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—P.H., Beg., January 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—L.L., Low Int., August 2014
  • 4-Ball Rating "The Tennis Camp at NETH/Waterville Valley was fantastic! All the pros keyed in on various skills providing a balance of drills and game play to highlight and improve level of play. Within 2 days I felt like I upped my game! These pros took the time to address each skill: volley, stroke,serve, etc. and then made time to focus on individual requests. My backhand needed improvement and they worked on that with me. The video footage really helps to see how to develop your positioning, etc. The Tennis Camp itself gets an A+! The Black Bear Lodge where I stayed could use a course in positive reception 101."—J.C., Int., August 2014
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Strengths - great courts, friendly staff, friendly local members and resort visitors for a daily round robin while kids took lessons. Lessons were great - taught kids about the court areas and technical skills. Weaknesses - would be nice if the courts were lit for late evening, night playing. Otherwise, fantastic resort and tennis."—L.B., Int., August 2014
  • 4-Ball Rating "We visited Waterville Valley for the first time and we loved playing tennis at the tennis center run by the fabulous Tom Gross. The center features 18 clay courts with beautiful mountain vistas and it was wonderful to have the opportunity to play here. I cannot believe we did not discover this place sooner. Tom gave my teenage son a tennis lesson that he is still talking about and helped him with a lefty "Pancho Gonzalez" serve. Tom was warm, funny and a fantastic coach, and it was worth the trip to New England just to have that experience. We also played several times during our stay, using our activities pass for unlimited free tennis. You can sign up for clinics or private lessons (individual or group) at the tennis center (for a fee) or be matched with a partner if you just need someone to play with. Also, the Athletic Center down the road has two indoor courts for an extra fee per hour.
    Waterville has lots of activities but tennis was the draw for us and it exceeded our expectations. We loved it! Oh--and after tennis you can grab a chairlift ride right next door up a mountain and do some hiking. Or head to the Athletic Center for a swim in one of the beautiful pools. So...please don't just think of Waterville Valley only as a winter ski resort--you will enjoy the tennis here for sure. And don't miss a lesson with Tom!"
    —J.K., Int., August 2014
  • 4-Ball Rating "[New England Tennis Holidays camp}: Great location and good support from the pros. We did a lot of drills, watched ourselves volley in slow motion on a TV, and played a lot of doubles. I would have liked to play a bit more singles, but it's no big deal. I would love to do this again."—J.G., Int., August 2014
  • 4-Ball Rating "Well run, lots of instruction individualized for each person. Sometimes, the lead instructor talked a little too long but overall an amazing experience."—R.H., Int., August 2014
  • 3½-Ball Rating "I have been in the tennis camp for 3 days and I learned a lot. Teaching team was very patient and fun. They were also very professional too. I would recommend to everyone to go there for 1, 2 or 3 days of tennis camp. I would not hesitate to go back."—R.H., Int., August 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating "The NE Tennis Holidays team does a fantastic job. We attended camp at Waterville Valley and it was well-run, and we got a ton of value out of the instruction. We'll definitely be back!"—D.T., Int., August 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating "The best camp at the best, most beautiful location. Terrific pros, terrific programming and tennis drills. Couldn't have asked for better coaching."—M.L., Int., August 2014
  • 4-Ball Rating "The courts are beautifully located in the white mountains. The red clay courts are in really good shape. The club have 18 courts so there is always an open court. The resort itself have many great activities beside the tennis. Tom Gross is a real tennis genius that can take your game and especially your serve to the next level."—M.C., Adv. Int., July 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating "Training on this resort was awesome! I've learnt so much about the serve from tom!! I will definitely keep in mind, all of the things I've learned. Thank you, see you next time!"—M.C., Adv. Int., July 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Love the 18 clay courts situated in the beautiful White Mountains. Spent many summers there and have had a great experience each time. There's also fun round-robins which are fun for meeting other guests. Really enjoy biking to the courts surrounded by a 360 degree view of the mountains."—B.J., Adv. Int., June 2014
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—Z.J., Adv. Int., June 2014
  • 2-Ball Rating "Based on its ranking at Tennis Resorts Online, we went to Waterville Valley and the place is a joke! I called ahead of time to get information on the clinics and when we arrived, we were told they were all booked! It is a teeny tiny tennis resort which was quite dead in August 2013. We will not be going back and I will now be very leary of the rankings on Tennis Resort Online particularly as when we were there a person from the club was handing out flyers to vote for them! NO way! I will spread the word that this place is to be avoided!"—M.M., Int., April 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—G.S., Adv., March 2014
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Beautiful, friendly resort. Downside, courts could be better maintained."—B.B., Int., March 2014
  • 4-Ball Rating "The Tennis Center is so much fun. The Waterville Valley Tennis Center earned a Top 25 in the world ranking. The ranking was voted on by vacationers who rated the tennis center by going online to tennisresortsonline.com and describing their experience in Waterville Valley. The Tennis Center, in existence since 1884, is part of Waterville Valley Resort. The resort features hotels, restaurants, fitness center, and a variety of other amenities (i.e. golf, mountain biking, hiking, in-line skating, canoeing, paddle boating). The Tennis Center offers a variety of instructional lessons and opportunities for unstructured play for visitors.
    The Waterville Valley Tennis Center’s Director is United States Professional Tennis Association (USPTA) professional Tom Gross, Jr., who was trained by and worked for Rod Laver, Roy Emerson, Lew Hoad, Mal Anderson and Jack Kenney."
    —J.S., Low Int., March 2014
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—R.B., Adv. Int., March 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Extraordinary location. Views. Serenity. Lots of amenities."—D.S., Adv. Int., March 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating "Most beautiful place in the world."—W.B.,  March 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—P.S., Int., February 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Pristine and well run - Waterville Valley Tennis is the best!"—K.B., Int., February 2014
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Great place for a family of 3!!!"—D.L., Low Int., February 2014
  • 3½-Ball Rating ""—K.H., Low Int., February 2014
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—T.W., Adv. Int., February 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Great clay Great mountain views and air Great staff"—D.F., Adv. Int., February 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating "Awesome place. Strengths: The location is first off incredible. In the middle of the Mountains with georgeous scenery. There are 18 clay courts and they are all very well maintained. The place is very low key and also hosts bigger tournements such as the New Hampshire Open. Everyone is friendly. There are kids clinics and private lessons available, and it it the perfect place for both families and anyone serious about there tennis game. There are also many other activities to do around the Valley.
    Weaknesses: Being in the White Mountains of NH you will get quite a bit of rainy days, so the outdoor clay courts aren't always open, though there are two indoor courts."
    —C.B., Adv. Int., February 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating "great courts! Love it!"—N.B., Int., February 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—B.B., Adv., February 2014
  • 2½-Ball Rating "I would not recommend attending the New England Tennis Holidays camp at Waterville Valley if you are under 55 or are a player with a 3.5 or higher rating. I am 43 and the friend I attended with was 42 and we were a good 20 years younger than the average attendee. Being younger and 4.0 to 4.5 players, we were matched with significantly less skilled players. I actually felt decieved by the camp because if you are going to cater to such a niche as older, less skilled tennis players, you should probably let prospective attendees know that so they can make informed decisions. Furthermore, the camp not only attracts the elderly, it caters to them by keeping the activity level relatively low by spending much of the time packing 8 to 16 people on a court. Forget about any type of running or workout. The camp's director goes one step further by actually teaching old, outdated tennis techniques. We were encouraged to hit with a continental grip on all our strokes and discouraged from adapting contemporary tennis techniques. Furthermore, the camp is structured so you don't have the time or repetitions needed to master anything they teach you. I was given some advice regarding my forehand and instead of letting me practice that sufficiently they rotated us through courts teaching ground strokes, volleys, and serves and returns. I simply did not have the time to concentrate on what little constructive advice they gave."—M.S., Adv., August 2013
  • 2½-Ball Rating "I would not recommend attending the New England Tennis Holidays camp at Waterville Valley if you are under 55 or are a player with a 3.5 or higher rating. I am 43 and the friend I attended with was 42 and we were a good 20 years younger than the average attendee. Being younger and 4.0 to 4.5 players, we were matched with significantly less skilled players.
    I actually felt decieved by the camp because if you are going to cater to such a niche as older, less skilled tennis players, you should probably let prospective attendees know that so they can make informed decisions. Furthermore, the camp not only attracts the elderly, it caters to them by keeping the activity level relatively low by spending much of the time packing 8 to 16 people on a court. Forget about any type of running or workout.
    The camp's director goes one step further by actually teaching old, outdated tennis techniques. We were encouraged to hit with a continental grip on all our strokes and discouraged from adapting contemporary tennis techniques. Furthermore, the camp is structured so you don't have the time or repetitions needed to master anything they teach you. I was given some advice regarding my forehand and instead of letting me practice that sufficiently they rotated us through courts teaching ground strokes, volleys, and serves and returns. I simply did not have the time to concentrate on what little constructive advice they gave."
    —M.S., Adv., August 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Waterville Valley offers sports, swimming, tennis, boating,skiing A great resort area for couples or families Has something to offer year round Fantastic place to bring kids of all ages We actually own a condo in WV and are avid skiers in the winter and enjoy other activities in the other season"—N.F., Int., August 2013
  • 4-Ball Rating "very friendly to all, easy to find people to play with, every morning, laid back in gorgeous setting, everyone plays together all ages, genders et... fun. excellent instruction, many lodging possibilities, good restaurant and fitness center , many pools. very basic pro shop so don't wait to buy hour tennis clothes there, but no need to shleppe a racket either, many to rent. reasonable prices"—P.M., Int., August 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Overall great place to play tennis....great pro....highly recommend it"—A.G., Low Int., August 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Great tennis court! Staff is friendly and helpful (especially Emily!) and explains the courts procedures in depth. Was great for new players as well as experienced players. Was able to explain why some rackets were better then others, and explain the equitment in the pro shop."—C.L., Low Int., August 2013
  • 4-Ball Rating "It was a fun filled tennis weekend. Facility is wonderful, instructors are excellent. Instructions are PLENTIFUL, some helpful, some slightly confusing... probably due to lots of information offered in such a short time frame. Overall, a very positive experience. Would love to return next year."—E.C., Int., August 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "This is the second year that I've been to Waterville Valley for tennis camp and I love it. The pros are just wonderful and I was happy to see them again this year. I played tennis over 30 years ago but just got back into it 3.5 years ago. I would highly recommend this to any tennis player who wants to improve on their game. While at Waterville Valley I just made use of the tennis and lunch at Town Square. My level is between itermediate and strong intermediate."—M.F., Adv. Int., August 2013
  • 4-Ball Rating "If you are looking to channel the tennis wisdom of the greats, Laver, Hoad, Emerson etc, the head pro at this club, Tom Gross, is the man to see. This is a world class tennis pro. The courts and resort are nice...very nice but I would travel to a concrete tennis court in Alaska during the winter time to take a lesson from Tom. Great workout, great instruction fun time."—G.M., Adv., July 2013
  • 4-Ball Rating "Great courts and beautiful environment. No problem to schedule our courts and the staff there were really helpful!"—A.S., Adv. Int., July 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Beautiful, prestige red clay courts, and lush green mountain surroundings. Tom Gross is a fantastic teaching pro. He was able to quickly re-wire 2 significant bad habits in my game. Folks are extremely friendly and accomodating. There's tons to do in the valley; mountain biking and hiking are superb.
    Weaknesses: black flies - comes with the beautiful territory - bring your insect repellent - reapply periodically and you'll be fine."
    —E.L., Adv. Int., July 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I have been going here one week a year for a few years now, doing 3-4 drills (3-4 people in each drill) each time. Tom is a great teaching pro (provides tweaks for seasoned players and basics for beginners), and I have had nice improvements to my game as a result of each session.
    The courts are perfectly maintained down to the evenly tacked down lines, the orientation in relation to the sun perfect, and the view of the mountains inspiring."
    —B.R., Adv., July 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—T.P., Adv. Int., July 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—D.M., Int., April 2013
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—A.L., Low Int., April 2013
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—M.K., Beg., April 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—K.S.,  April 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating "It's beautiful here - so much to offer and it's a small community. They have everything you could want for a getaway and great staff and things to do in the area."—E.Y., Beg., April 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "great place to visit and to live. great in the winter and in the summer every season has it's perks.i should know we live here and we enjoy all it has to offer."—S.B., Beg., April 2013
  • 3½-Ball Rating ""—B.T., Int., March 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "It was our second time to visit Waterville Vally. I enjoyed Tom's daily clinics as well as private lessons. Overall, wonderful experience."—J.M., Adv. Int., October 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I took Tom's clinics for about a week. I learned more from Tom than what I had learned at my local tennis club in a year. Look forward to next summer."—K.M., Low Int., October 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Highly recommended. Tom's clinics are a wonderful opportunity to receive individualized instructions. We will be there again next summer."—Y.M., Low Int., October 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I really enjoyed Tom Gross's clinics. A lot of individual attention. I like his teaching philosophy."—M.M., Int., October 2012
  • 3-Ball Rating "great tennis drills and lots of fun. Wish we worked more on doubles strategy and had more time allocated for doubles play. If I were to go again, I would want to have some of my tennis buddies come along, as that seemed to be the way others did it."—V.W., Adv. Int., September 2012
  • 3½-Ball Rating "We had a small group (7 total) for two days of tennis instruction with two [New England Tennis Holisdays'] pros. I felt like I received a lot of personalized attention and great tips."—T.D., Int., August 2012
  • 4-Ball Rating "It's a special relaxing place, non commercial, with all outdoor activities. Welcoming atmosphere. Limited nightlife. There is no place like Waterville Valley."—H.C., Adv. Int., July 2012
  • 4-Ball Rating "Great facility, courts well maintained, helpful staff. Excellent clinics led by Tom Gross, an outstanding coach who patiently dealt with 4 low-intermediate players. Made the vacation worthwhile."—P.B., Low Int., July 2012
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—C.G., Pro, July 2012
  • 4-Ball Rating "If you want to improve your tennis in a beautiful setting on well-maintained red clay, you can't do better than to work with Tom Gross, Owner and Head Pro."—C.M., Adv. Int., June 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—D.B., Adv., April 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Awesom"—D.C., Adv. Int., April 2012
  • 4-Ball Rating "There is nothing better--or more beautiful--than standing on the red clay courts surrounded by the mountains. There are daily round-robins, instruction is available, and the club runs several tournaments throughout the summer. It's a spectacular place to be!"—C.S., Adv. Int., April 2012

Rate Waterville Valley Resort


Ratings

(365 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Instruction
4½-Ball Rating
Game Matching
4-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4-Ball Rating
Cuisine
3½-Ball Rating Lodging
3½-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
3½-Ball Rating
Dollar Value
4½-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4½-Ball Rating Setting
4½-Ball Rating
Kids' Programs
4½-Ball Rating Romance
4-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4-Ball Rating

Ratings

(365 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Instruction
4½-Ball Rating Cuisine
3½-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4½-Ball Rating Setting
4½-Ball Rating Romance
4-Ball Rating Kids' Programs
4½-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Game Matching
4-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4-Ball Rating Lodging
3½-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
3½-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4½-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4-Ball Rating

Rates and Reservations

Rooms in Waterville Valley range from simple accommodations for 2 in a country inn to 3-bedroom condos capable of sleeping 6. Check with the resort for exact current summer rates.

Visit the website for current rates

Waterville Valley Resort
Rte. 49
Waterville Valley, NH 03215
603-236-4840
Toll-free: 800-608-8568
Email:
Web Link: Waterville Valley Resort