Search
Email Us
Tennis Resorts Online
Van Der Meer Tennis Center, Hilton head Island, SC
©Roger Cox

Van Der Meer Tennis Center

Hilton Head Island, South Carolina



Wild Dunes 728 banner

Boars Head 250x250



Your Call

Here's what others have had to say about Van Der Meer Tennis Center.

  • 3½-Ball Rating "The strength of the Van Der Meer Center is its staff. They are not only knowledgeable about tennis, but also very energetic which is not easy to keep up everyday. I know, I taught tennis many years ago. The team that worked with our group created a fun, positive experience for all of the players."—J.C., Adv., January 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I've been lucky enough to go to Van Der Meer Tennis Center for the past 6 years with a group of 15-20 ladies from my neighborhood. We stay within walking distance and very much enjoy the drills, play and instruction they offer. The staff is receptive to our requests and suggestions. The coaches are super fun and seem to love their jobs."—L.C., Int., January 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "Great staff and facilities. Accommodates players of all ages and abilities. Been going there for many years and always look forward to it!"—P.R., Adv., January 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "Really good with the my two grandchildren who were both beginners and spent a week in their tennis camp. Extra help was given to them and my grandson received private instruction each day. my grandchildren were day students as I live on the island."—K.P., Beg., January 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Excellent camp. My wife and I had a great time and learned a lot."—D.V., Int., January 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We travel to Hilton Head about twice each year and my 16 yo son chooses to attend the Van Der Meer Junior tennis camps each time. He says the instruction he receives is outstanding, as is the competitive play with the other participants. The vacation works out wonderfully for us all. He'd rather be playing tennis and improving his game, and the rest of the family loves the other recreation available on the island, such as biking on the beach, walking the many paths, and playing golf and tennis."—T.F., Adv. Int., January 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The tennis camp is fantastic. My daughter (12) loved the camp and came back a much stronger player. She also came back very confident. I continue to be impressed with how they run the school and resort."—H.E., Low Int., January 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "The tennis camp we participated in in 2016 was extremely fun and helpful. They compacted a lot of tennis into 3 days and had a good mix of drills and competition. The teaching staff was competent and fun. I would highly recommend the Van Der Meer Tennis Center."—S.M., Low Int., January 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Amazing instruction. Individual attention...no more than 4 people in a group. A great combination of lessons and point play."—R.S., Int., January 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Van der Meer is, to me, one of the best resorts around. it's a beautiful spot on Hilton Head island that is surrounded by natural beauty. but, more than that, the tennis instruction is first rate. I've been to many, including IMG and many others and VdM is right up there among the best. I took lessons from Dennis when he was healthy and he is a wonderful man and a superb tennis instructor."—D.B., Int., April 2015
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—E.S., Int., April 2013
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—R.L., Adv. Int., April 2013
  • 3-Ball Rating "My neighborhood tennis team has been to Van Der Meer for the last 8 years and we have alawys had a great experience. The staff is very good and they cater to our specific needs as a team and different levels of play. I highly recommend this facility and plan to return again."—B.K., Adv. Int., April 2013
  • 3½-Ball Rating "I loved the way that the pro was teaching us. Wish I had more time to get stay with the pro."—D.H., Adv., March 2012
  • 3-Ball Rating "Attending the adult weekend clinic in 2009, 2010 and 2011. I opted to stay at the Elston Inn on campus instead of the regular offering of dorm rooms."—A.A., Adv., March 2012
  • 3-Ball Rating "Excellent instruction; pros try to connect to the kids and genuinely seem to enjoy teaching"—K.C., Low Int., July 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—A.M., Low Int., April 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—I.I., Adv., March 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "There is no doubt that VDM Tennis is the best tennis facility that I have seen. The programs are varied so that they can meet the expectation of every individual. The pros are experienced, personable, and professional. They quickly assess your level of play and assist you to improve your abilities. The resort has both outdoor and indoor courts, so even in inclement weather, you are sure to receive the instruction you signed up for. A great place!  "—G.D., Adv. Int., March 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "strengths: quality of intruction, location  "—A.G., Int., February 2011
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Kids enjoyed the Junior Weekend clinic. I had privates with Brig, and he was excellent. The facility itself is a bit dreary compared to others on the island. The pro shop staff was slow. My husband was able to only find 1 match using the game matching book. That was very unfortunate."—J.R., Adv. Int., January 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I wanted to improve my game so that I could start playing sectional and national tournaments. Vandermeer TC pros are just outstanding! Sales and teaching staff give you personal attention unlike other tennis teaching factories. One year of hard work and 6-7 trips to Vandermeer in Hilton Head has cleaned up my strokes/game tremendously!"—S.D., Adv., June 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Only weakness was the heat. Great camp, great instructors and a great experience!"—M.G., Adv. Int., June 2010
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Service was not very good at The Player's Club. There is no decaf coffee. The rooms are left unmade till one or later in the afternoons. There is no service after five."—D.G., Low Int., June 2010
  • 3-Ball Rating ""—D.H., Int., June 2010
  • 5-Ball Rating "It is very informative and the staff is very attentive to the whole group, and a lot of one on one time during the clinic"—K.B., Adv., May 2010
  • 3½-Ball Rating ""—V.F., Adv., May 2010
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Players club hotel adjacent to the courts are a real plus. Only downside, no restraunt on-site, but short walk to food and drinks."—B.G., Adv. Int., May 2010

Rate Van Der Meer Tennis Center


Ratings

(28 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Instruction
4½-Ball Rating
Game Matching
3½-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4½-Ball Rating
Cuisine
2-Ball Rating Lodging
3½-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
5-Ball Rating
Dollar Value
4-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4-Ball Rating Setting
3½-Ball Rating
Kids' Programs
5-Ball Rating Romance
3½-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4½-Ball Rating

Ratings

(28 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Instruction
4½-Ball Rating Cuisine
2-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4-Ball Rating Setting
3½-Ball Rating Romance
3½-Ball Rating Kids' Programs
5-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Game Matching
3½-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4½-Ball Rating Lodging
3½-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
5-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4½-Ball Rating

Rates and Reservations

Most of the longer adult programs take place at Van der Meer's Shipyard Racquet Club. The Tennis Center offers a variety of daily programs. Discounted lodging is available for players utilizing either facility. Call for current rates and say you were referred by Tennis Resorts Online.

Visit the website for current rates

Van Der Meer Tennis Center
P.O. Box 5902
Hilton Head Island, SC 29938