Search
Email Us
Tennis Resorts Online
Van Der Meer Tennis at Shipyard Plantation
Courtesy Van Der Meer Tennis

Shipyard Plantation
Van Der Meer Tennis

Hilton Head Island, South Carolina



Kiawah 728x90 2019

SPR250-weekend



Your Call

Here's what others have had to say about Shipyard Plantation and Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island.

  • 4½-Ball Rating "VDM Shipyard is the best tennis instruction facility I have attended and I have attended multiple tennis camps. The factility, environment, instructors are the BEST."—T.O., Int., April 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—L.S., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating "Fantastic time at Van de Mer tennis camp!"—M.C., Low Int., April 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating "Excellent clinics. The instructors were young and we were old, but they related well. They started where we were, and didn't try to change everything. Instead, they tweaked our games up a bit, which is all we hoped for. (I'm 80)"—D.W., Int., September 2018
  • 2-Ball Rating "Just OK. Not a lot of individual help. Group presentations were good but the pros offered very little help. Always felt rushed and never had even an extra minute of court time. Would not return. There are other camps that provide better value for your money. Some inappropriate comments made toward the female participants in the group. An old boys club in my opinion."—S.H., Adv. Int., May 2018
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Program is good but living on an old reputation. They could do a better job with more adult programs but one of the few places with a good round robin most days"—A.R., Int., February 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—M.B., Adv. Int., September 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "Good camp. Andy led the Group. Very knowledgeable. Video Analysis was very helpful. Beautiful clay courts. Drill and instruction were well done. There was more match play at this camp then any of my other previous camps (Saddlebrook, Sugarbush, Stowe, Amelia Island) The location was excellent. Shipyard Plantation is very desirable. Stay at the Sonesta ( 1 minute walk ) was excellent. Included pool and beachfront. Restaurants were good. June in Hilton Head is HOT and HUMID. Take this in consideration when signing up for 10 hour weekend camp. About 12 adult campers with experience ranging from 2.5-4.0"—P.K., Adv., June 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "This is my go to tennis resort in Hilton Head.The pros are seriously great teachers and the players there want to learn. I love that they offer level- specific daily classes to hone your skills against like players. And the setting is so peaceful."—P.S., Adv. Int., May 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—C.R., Int., April 2017
  • 3½-Ball Rating "My wife and I attended a weekend clinic May 2016. We arrived a day early so we started with a daily program. There were only 3 of us on court so we got great instruction, hit a ton of balls and got quite the work out. The weekend clinic was full but was well organized and had plenty of instructors. We were matched up well with players of similar ability. Dr. Louie is very entertaining and has a phenomenal memory. He can walk by your court and remind you of a mistake your making that he taught you on a previous day. We covered a lot in a short time and the video analysis was helpful. No gimmicks here, just solid instruction. We will definitely return for a future visit."—J.K., Int., January 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "My wife and I attended the Advanced Adult Weekend Clinic at Van Der Meer Tennis Center in Shipyard Plantation on HHI, SC for the 3rd time at the end of October 2016. There were 3 other couples we knew who also attended. The pros did a great job of working with us on all aspects of our tennis games. And many of the pointers we received are ones we've been able to incorporate into our matches back here in the Atlanta area. The only downside was that it didn't last longer. However, for the time we spent on the courts, it was an intense workout. We look forward to coming back again."—T.B., Adv. Int., January 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "I have visited the Van Der Meer Tennis Center on Hilton Head Island for quite a few years and highly recommend the facility. I particularly like the knowledgeable staff and friendly atmosphere. My family enjoyed the the location near the beach and the chance to experience the Hilton Head Island experience. I have always benefited from the coaching I have received from Van Der Meer as have my players because I am a High School Coach. My young players enjoyed the rigorous tennis workouts and skill building sessions at their Junior clinic. I would like to see Van Der Meer improve there indoor facility but that is a minor complaint of mine. I look forward to returning to Van Der Meer and Hilton Head Island soon."—R.B., Adv. Int., January 2017
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Good facilities Friendly instructors Would like to see more video analysis"—J.L., Int., January 2017
  • 3-Ball Rating "Good for 3.5 and below at the BOOMER program for 5 days. Definitely can improve your overall skills if you apply yourself..Lots of repetitive workouts using different shot distances.. Older players have a more difficult time adjusting to new habits.. Only real negative was lack of shot types, such as drop or backhand slice .. Overall a satisfying experience with a congenial staff."—T.W., Adv., January 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—G.B., Int., January 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I really enjoyed the instruction and the opportunity to play games with the March 2016 tennis camp at Van Der Meer Tennis. Dr. Louis Cap and Ramon were excellent instructors; a very nice touch was to review our shots with video. An excellent quality was the fact that we were a very small group - just eight with two instructors. Extremely useful were the warm-up sessions. I would strongly recommend Van Der Meer tennis. I enjoyed my week there tremendously and look forward to returning."—M.S., Adv. Int., January 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Van Der Meer Clinics are the best. We have been going for the last 25 years and have missed very few years. We try to go the the Advanced Clinic at the end of Oct or early Nov for 4.0 and above. We always have great competition and a great time."—C.B., Adv., January 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "I attended a Boomer Tennis Camp, thinking I'd be able to manage morning and afternoon sessions with seniors. But there were no ladies who lunch here--four full courts of competitive fun. The group of 16 was sorted at first and instruction began in groups of similar level. After starting every day with a set of injury preventing dynamic stretches it was onto the focus of the day with instruction tailored to develop each participant's strengths. Instructors were experienced and made it fun, and it was a great value on top of that. I just loved it and plan to go back again this year."—J.S., Int., January 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I had a wonderful time and learned many tactical skills that I incorporated into my tennis game. The instructors were professional, knowledgeable, and flexible about what parts of the game I was interested in learning and incorporating that into the schedule. The three hour a day clinics were perfect for learning and then we were able to use the courts to play after clinic to practice. Can't wait to go back!"—M.S., Int., January 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "It was a great weekend. They definitely worked us hard. Great staff, fun, friendly environment."—K.H., Adv. Int., January 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Van Der Meer at Shipyard was really good at getting individual or coupled vacationers together for some larger group instruction or match play. Instructors very, very good at positivity and humor while still keeping it competitive. We vacationers enjoyed the tennis so much that most of us came back every day we were there making a nice group and getting to know each other a bit. Morning and afternoon sessions available for flexibility. Morning sessions were more popular than afternoon because of the heat. It would be nice to have the morning clinics and match play offered every day during those cooler hours of the day. Tennis clinics were offered every afternoon, but the afternoons were hot."—C.A., Adv. Int., January 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "The VDM Tennis Center is just that, a place to play, improve your game with high quality teaching (including video feedback), and get an excellent workout. There is no housing but they arrange discounts at local hotels. For other recreational experiences you have all of Hilton Head to explore and take advantage of - if you are not too tired. The instruction was intensive with the primary focus being building on your tennis skills, not tearing them down to start over. I learned a great deal that I was able to apply right away when I returned to Sarasota and my very active tennis community where I play every day. I play on both a 60's and a 70's team and have gone from being a mediocre player who frequently sat out matches to one who plays almost every league match. I had hoped there would be a lot of focus specifically on doubles; there wasn't but my doubles game still went to the next level."—J.K., Adv. Int., January 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Outstanding coaching and the facility is clean and professional. I have been coming back for 15 years and love it. I recommend it to all my friends."—D.H., Adv., January 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The staff is very professional in the way they provide positive feedback during drills and match play. They manage to take away frustrations while challenging participants to make improvements."—J.O., Int., January 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Love the program there. Coaches are a great mix of different personalities and skill teachers. Had a blast and my game improved, will definitely be coming back again!!!"—T.P., Int., January 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "I go back every year. Beautiful courts, great instruction and Hilton Head Island has a lot to offer. Great beaches, golf, lots of biking paths and tons of restaurants."—R.B., Adv., January 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—M.B., Int., January 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—D.J., Adv., January 2017
  • 3½-Ball Rating "I experienced the week-long "Boomer Tennis" clinic and very much enjoyed it. The other players were friendly and enthusiastic and the instruction was good. Got a good workout as a result of the many drills (16 hrs.), spread over 5 days. Picturesque setting, too. The accommodations next door, arranged through Van der Meer, were very good."—D.F., Int., January 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "My wife and I have visited many tennis resorts through on our country and Shipyard is one of the best. We try to visit it annually. Lou Cap is the head pro and is helpful with improving your game without trying to change everything in your present form. He makes tennis fun and entertaining. There is a great hotel adjacent to the tennis called the Sonesta Resort that is a nice place to stay. Condos nearby are also available for rent. This resort has 3 indoor courts and 4 covered courts. Therefore, if it rains, you have the opportunity to play inside. Lastly, Hilton Head has a lot of other activities to do with historic areas nearby."—J.D., Adv. Int., January 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "Doubles clinic is a lot of fun, a great workout, and also a chance to work on skills. The instructors do a great job of giving individual coaching in a group setting. Also a chance to play with and against players of various skill levels and playing styles."—E.S., Low Int., January 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I had a great time and really improved my game during a 3.5 weekend tennis clinic at Van Der Meer. This was a small group clinic, 3 hours each day Fri- Sun and lots of individual attention was given to each player between the two pros that worked with us all weekend. They focused on pointers to improve each persons weaknesses and plenty of praise for solid shots and points played. Several strategies to get to tough shots were taught. I really enjoyed the weekend and hope to attend another clinic in 2017."—L.B., Int., January 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "My wife and I had a wonderful experience at this camp. We celebrated our wedding anniversary by taking a doubles weekend clinic here and it was extremely fun and we got to meet great people. The instructors were great. They made sure they made it fair to divide everyone up in proper levels. And they were very hands on helping your weaknesses. I highly recommend this resort because it has very nice facilities and a friendly staff. I would definitely do this again without hesitation. There was nothing I didn't like about this camp. Thumbs up!"—R.R., Adv., January 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Van Der Meer tennis was highly recommended to me by a tennis friend who has sampled other tennis camps. I have gone to the adult tennis camp at VDM for the last two years, and plan to make it an annual event. The staff and instruction are excellent, the courts and facilities in great shape, and it is located in a beautiful setting on the ocean. Exceptional value for your tennis dollar."—R.W., Adv. Int., January 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "WOW....it was wonderful. I first attended a one week "boot camp" for adults who've played before. There were 8 total with 2 instructors who were excellent. The camp was well structured and kept all levels of players actively involved working their individual skill levels while mixing it up so all were improving. Highly recommend their adult one week session (5 days with 3, 2 a days). I then joined one of the other players and did semi private lessons with Jim Stubbs who was great. As I had guests visiting, they too joined the lessons. Jim was flexible, determined to improve all our games and made it fun, but a great workout. I left HHI a much better tennis player."—S.C., Int., January 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "Strengths- Great coaching staff; right amount of tennis time; great weather Weaknesses - None"—S.S., Adv. Int., January 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Great accomodations near the beach and first class individualized instruction."—S.K., Adv. Int., January 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The instructor was great. I believe his name was Jim Stubbs (sorry, it was last summer - memory issues). Afternoon events were fun. I hope I can do it again."—G.M., Int., January 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "I have gone to this tennis camp every year for the past 15 or 16 years! The staff and drills are wonderful! I love that the pros know your name almost immediately and place you in groups of comparable ability. I have also done drills and clinics at shipyard, sc. Again wonderful instruction and pros remember me from clinics in VA on previous years. It is an awesome program. I would recommend VanDerMeer to anyone who would like a great learning environment."—M.S., Adv., January 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Individualized instruction Good ratio of instructors to participants Unlimited use of courts Clay and hard courts Beautiful setting, beaches next door"—M.H., Adv., January 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "Fantastic experience! The instruction was excellent and very specific to our level of play. Our class was small so we had amazing individual instruction by two pros. The sessions moved quickly so we covered a lot of strokes and strategy while hitting a LOT of balls! The videoing of our serves was particularly helpful to me and I've been able to incorporate what I learned into my game since returning home. I absolutely would recommend this tennis camp to anyone interested in honing their game!"—L.B., Int., January 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—T.K., Adv., January 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "If you are serious about tennis and want to have fun while sharpening your game, this place is for you. Superb instruction and friendly staff makes for the experience to be worthwhile and satisfying. I truly felt that I walked away from my weekend there with more confidence in my volleys and learned various strategies. Their drills truly help your game. The facility is also beautiful and relaxing. You certainly feel like you are on a vacation while improving your tennis game. This is a place I highly recommend. Louie is also the best pro. He analayzes everyone's game and works on your issues with him. The only weakness is personal. After the clinic, I couldn't move for days! LOL"—M.Y., Adv. Int., January 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "I have attended many of their Week long clinics. They are great and always friendly staff. Highly recommend them and nice facility. I'm now age 75 and still playing 4.0 USTA teams. Had two heart attacks and quadruple bypass. Played sixty days after my heart operation. Playing 4-5 times weekly. We had discussed getting together to play in NY many years ago but that never worked out."—L.W., Adv., January 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "My husband and I along with another couple have attended the Van Der Meer Tennis Center for the Adult Clinic the past two years. The four of us are regular club players and highly recommend their programs!! The staff is awesome and you hit a ton of balls!!!!!"—C.L., Adv., January 2017
  • 3½-Ball Rating "This was my first time at a week long tennis clinic. It exceeded my expectations. They kept us going from the minute we arrived each day. Lots and lots of drills. The coaches were great and offered very specific feedback to work on, then followed up with more drills to work on that area. We were videotaped several times and given specific feedback, then back out to the courts to work on the details. The clinic was geared to doubles play - lots of time spent on volleys and net play, service line play, etc. We had the opportunity 2 of the days to join the resort's general "round robin" doubles socials after the clinic and that was really a great added bonus. It gave us lower level players a chance to up our game by playing with high level players, and really drove home all the skills we were working on in the clinic. Two of the people in my group had attended Van Der Meer in past years and returned due to the great experience. I would highly recommend this clinic."—C.P., Low Int., January 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Covered courts in case of a rainy day, top notch instructors: my son loved his 20-hour tennis camp!"—J.L., Adv., January 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "The pro's all had great personalities both on and off the court. They were skilled, experienced and worked our group of 20 quite hard. When you asked a particular question about a technique, they were ready with answers. It was a great experience, so great that most of our 20 guys have been coming back for years...including me. Thanks."—H.H., Adv., January 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "I love this camp. I have been going twice a year for several years now doing the 5 day clinics. The ratio of teachers to students is excellent so you hit a lot of balls and get wonderful one on one instruction. Great value also compared to the prices of other clinics. only weakness might be the amount of actual play time you get but then again you are so beat by the afternoon I was glad it was the shorter play session."—I.O., Adv. Int., January 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—J.L., Adv. Int., January 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "It is the best, great instructors, great people, always the highlight of my tennis year. I play on numerous league teams and tournaments, but coming to Van Der Meer just makes tennis fun, no expectations, no pressure. It is enjoyable, relaxing and great fellowship."—D.B., Adv. Int., January 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "Well located at Shipyard, Hilton Head, SC, VDMTC offers you a wide range of alternatives to improve your tennis; no matter what your choice is ( clinic, private lesson, stroke of the day ) always you will have dedicated Pro´s ready to teach a bit more of the sport while enjoying your vacations."—G.Z., Int., January 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "The drill and play clinics are always great. 100% live ball workout. Last year we did a 2.5 day doubles clinic. It was very good."—S.P., Adv. Int., January 2017
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Great fun with good instructors. Made use of full time limit each day for maximum playing. Break down in levels had a disparity, at least for me who was stuck playing with the same three much weaker players the entire two and a half days. Wish they would have switched it up or paid attention."—B.S., Int., January 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Wonderful area. Beautiful beaches and sights set a perfect backdrop for playing tennis. The staff was wonderful. Gabi and Louie were marvelous and my skills were improved x10 during a weekend adult clinic. Highly recommend."—S.B., Int., January 2017
  • 3½-Ball Rating "The instruction is always top notch. The facilities are in need of a face lift. Doesn't impact play but if you are there for a week long vacation the feel and atmosphere is not that of a resort. We have been to this program at least 6 times-if would be nice for repeat customers to have a bit more variety of instruction as well as a reward program for repeat customers. Will return."—L.A., Int., April 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating "Excellent facilities with indoor and covered courts, in case of rain. This is the only resort on Hilton Head Island with indoor courts, so you don't have to worry if you are not able to play on rainy days. Teaching pro, Louie has been there for many years and will make your instruction fun."—J.D., Adv. Int., April 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating "I spent two months this winter/spring in Hilton Head this year, splitting my tennis time between Van der Meer, Shipyard Tennis Club and Palmetto Dunes Tennis Centre. It gave me a good opportunity to compare the two. All things considered, my favourite place to play is still at Shipyard. Things have changed,, and not for the better since Dennis Van der Meer became ill, but it's not all bad news. In fact from a player's perspective, it is all good. The best news is that the tennis professional associat3d with Shipyard are still among the best on the Island. The clinics and lessons will help players at all levels to enhance their game. There are nearly always courts available for visitors who want to play. Usually, anyone involved in a clinic or a week long or week-end program has free access to courts if they are available, to work on the skills taught during the clinic or lesson. The drills used for advanced players, to hone their skills and strategies are second to none and keep players coming back year after year. I often saw groups of six to ten people who arrived together for a week or week-end of instruction to prepare for an upcoming USTA season I never saw any leave who were disappointed by the results. Accommodations on the Island vary from the Sonesta Grand Hotel, which is adjacent to the Shipyard tennis facility, to many other mid-range hotels and a variety of condominiums where visitors can enjoy a home-like atmosphere. The fantastic Hilton Head beach is literally steps away. So if you're serious about becoming a tennis player, or an advanced player who wants to enhance your skills, and you are considering Hilton Head, SC, I'll recommend Van Der Meer, Shipyard every time.."—G.D., Adv. Int., April 2016
  • 2½-Ball Rating "This winter, I took a tour in my truck camper to escape the cold VT winter to head south - to learn some new skills by attending a few highly-rated adult tennis camps. I'm a 4.5 rated player and so I've had a lot of tennis lessons and clinics over the 25+ years I've been playing competitively. I'm writing up separate reviews for each of my visits to Saddlebrook, VanderMeer-Shipyard and Cliff Drysdale-Amelia Island. On the plus - the pros were friendly and accommodating; the grounds were very nice, and the Sonesta hotel was modern and very lovely - a great location. On the negative - the tennis experience! It was not great. First, the 6:1 teaching ratio is just too high. I asked about it and they said that is their norm; I was surprised and don't recall reading this anywhere on the website, though maybe it's there. Next, the level of players in my group. I asked well in advance about the level of players signed up for my target weekend and I was told that there was another 4.5 and a strong 4.0 - Ok, that sounded perfect, as having strong players in the group is key to a good clinic, since we're doing many cooperative and competitive drills. There was one strong 4.0 male player, but the others were much lower level, which was disappointing. I asked about options and the pros asked another large private group of guys from GA if I could join their group, which I did for the second day. They were great guys, good energy and welcoming - a lot of fun. But the group was so large with only 2 pros that it wasn't the experience I had hoped for. The pros and the guys I joined were super nice, but not a lot of individual attention or advanced drills or strategy - it was pretty basic - just too many on the court. They all seemed delighted though! Not every customer is looking for the same experience, though. I chose not to attend the third day, and instead enjoyed a bike tour of Hilton Head, my first time there. I gave this candid feedback to my contact at VanderMeer tennis in the sales dept and asked them to reply, but I didn't receive one. I try to be fair, as I know that online reviews are critically important. My biggest request is that if a tennis camp is geared towards the 3.0-3.5 recreational club player, that's fine - just be upfront about it. And if they do teach more advanced levels (which I had assumed that VDM does), then make sure your guests are matched up appropriately at all costs!! It was a frustrating experience, and I made sure they had this feedback from me directly. I can't give great marks to the teaching pros since I didn't get to experience their full abilities - the level and the size of the group was a major debilitating factor for a good experience."—M.M., Adv., March 2016
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Great individual and small group instruction. Pros have excellent knowledge of the game and skills. They made learning fun and a great workout. Definitely feel it is a wonderful opportunity for a couple or for USTA team. We always love going in January or February."—F.W., Adv. Int., March 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Awesome location for a fun tennis getaway. The pros are amazing - they provide the perfect balance of instruction and fun. There is a variety of daily clinics and round robin's are offered daily for those seeking fun competition. Mostly clay courts, but a couple of hard court and even indoor should it happen to rain."—T.W., Adv. Int., April 2015
  • 4-Ball Rating "very positive"—E.S., Int., April 2015
  • 4-Ball Rating "Friendly staff. Good instruction. Because they have some indoor courts, you are guaranteed that you will able to play, if it rains."—J.D., Adv. Int., April 2015
  • 4-Ball Rating "Great clinics, both inside if necessary or outside. The others taking the clinic we more or less at our skill level."—J.G., Adv. Int., April 2015
  • 4-Ball Rating "Excellent instruction via, 1:1, video, etc.....we have experienced the camp x 3.....we have recommended the camp to our friends ......they are appreciative of the efforts of personal and professional instruction by staff. The facilies are tops, indoors and outdoor facilities. ...I will return!"—F.W., Adv. Int., April 2015
  • 2-Ball Rating "Last trip 2014 was very disappointing. our group of 12 ladies was not divided by our tennis abilities and we were sometimes placed in a group with a beginning pro who could not feed the ball very well, and obvious that he was a beginner. However, we paid top dollar for pro and felt like we may not visit again. Have been to this tennis facility before and quite pleased with pro Louie, who seemed to keep everyone on task. He did not waste our time or money. We were offered court time, but lights went out very early."—S.M., Adv. Int., March 2015
  • 3-Ball Rating "Small group. Video analysis. Round robin after lessons. Good, not great, instruction."—D.H., Adv. Int., January 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "great instruction. wonderful location. lots to do. good food"—K.G., Low Int., April 2013
  • 3-Ball Rating "Just returned from the Boomer camp and was disappointed in the way it was organized. I emailed the camp director with my USTA rating (4.0) for correct placement in the group; when I got there, I found only 6 or so people ranging from beginner to 3.0 level. I would have appreciated a little due diligence from the organizers. They moved me into the advanced daily clinics where the participants varied daily. This was OK, except there was no consistency and not what I expected. I also felt the pros had their agenda and did not tailor the instruction to the group.
    I have done many clinics over the years and in most clinics, the pros feed 90% of the balls so the players get to hit and run. In these clinics, the players fed the balls at least 75% of the time and many times, the ball was hit in the net or out. Obviously, this style of teaching works for many people, but the next time I visit HIlton Head, I will try Sea Pines and Palmetto Dunes in particular. I also felt the pros were aware of the situation and might have tried to do some game matching, but again, they clearly only work within their own format."
    —M.H., Adv., April 2013
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—C.M., Int., April 2013
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—L.B., Int., April 2013
  • 4-Ball Rating "Great instruction. They take tennis seriously and push all participants to improve,"—M.W., Int., April 2013
  • 4-Ball Rating "Really enjoyed the drills this year! A smaller group made for more playing time, so we spent a lot of time hitting balls rather than watching! The scheduling by the pro shop left something to be desired this year - they were a bit disorganized and appeared to be understaffed."—R.A., Int., April 2013
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—E.S., Int., April 2013
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—R.L., Int., April 2013
  • 3½-Ball Rating "It's a well-run camp. I didn't particularly like the instructor I was placed with, but that's not something I can hold against the camp. The other instructors were very good. They use video of all your main strokes so you can see yourself and have them analyzed with the instructor. The one thing I didn't like is that they told me I would be in a strong group; but as a 3.5-4.0 player, I was one of two or three at that level; all the others were significantly lower. So that makes for a problem, and they weren't level with me in advance about the general group level."—M.A., Adv. Int., April 2013
  • 3½-Ball Rating "My wife and I attended multiple times the weekly Adult tennis Programs, and found them very good, and good value for money. The instructors were very knowledgebale and helpful. We recoomend Van der Meer Tennis to all our friends."—A.R., Int., April 2013
  • 2½-Ball Rating "Twelve enrolled for our 3.5 day clinic, two of were 3.5/4.0s, the rest were 2.5s or less. This is too small a group for advanced players to have good clinic, but the managers did a good job customizing for us. Two of us ended up having semi-private lessons for 3 days. Courts are great! Worked out on har-tru except when torrential rain drove us to indoor courts.
    I picked up some good tips on strokes and volleys. It was not as organized or good instruction as I expected for the venerable Van der Meer brand. The young pro identified a couple if weaknesses in my play but offered no hints or corrections.
    We appreciated their response to the problem presented by our only having two advanced players. They did right by us, but it was makeshift. Just needed at least another pair or more of advanced players.
    If I learned they were going to have a strong advanced group I would consider this school again. Or, if I was staying in Hilton Head and wanted quality court time, maybe. Otherwise, not again for me. Too many other choices to take a chance on having the right mix of players."
    —J.C., Adv., April 2013
  • 4-Ball Rating "Enjoyed a 3 day clinic with 5 other tennis friends last October at Shipyard, led by Louie, who is always thorough and energetic about his teaching. Makes it fun. I can't really say there were weaknesses in the programs. I appreciate the timeliness and keeping the clinics moving along. The first 15-30 minutes of warm up stretches, etc., could be dropped from the program, since players should prepare themselves before coming to court with their own routines. Also, rotating the players among the entire clinic participants; nice to play stronger opponents some instead of same level. Of course, stronger players would probably complain when faced with less skilled players."—S.C., Adv. Int., April 2013
  • 3-Ball Rating "The facility is very nice with wonderful outdoor courts plus indoor for rainy days. The three primary instructors are as good as the come. But some of the assisting staff are a total waste of time. Zero people skills and when we tried to move things around be work with the good staff we got nowhere. They also offer no followup survey to voice your concerns. So after many years of attending Van Der Meer we will never go back and are using Saddlebrook. Much nicer and more professional place."—B.R., Int., April 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "My husband and I attended an adult weekend clinic and thoroughly enjoyed the coaching staff and drills. Groups are small so that individual attention can be given to each participant. It was an excellent opportunity to improve technique and learn new strategies."—J.O., Int., November 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "Dr. Louie, during one of the daily clinics, gave me the best serving lesson ever. Simple to repeat and it results in a strong service motion that holds up under pressure. Thank you, Dr. Louie!"—M.F., Int., September 2011
  • 3½-Ball Rating ""—L.C., Int., August 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Got really great instruction. Loved the video so that everyone could see for themselves how they did. Wish we could've played more doubles matches. Enjoyed everyones company"—E.D., Low Int., August 2011
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Strengths - Fine-tuned stroke mechanics & serves. I learned a lot. Louis and Chris were phenomenal. Weaknesses - Nature of the beast (with multiple people, not much one-on-one time with instructors)."—S.B., Int., August 2011
  • 2½-Ball Rating "The pro's were nice but the drills seemed to be less advanced than I wanted. The camp title was world class drills and the drills were not world class, not even close."—R.D., Adv. Int., July 2011
  • 3½-Ball Rating ""—S.W., Int., July 2011
  • 3-Ball Rating "Duran and Oscar and especially Louie are excellent instructors. I really appreciated the guidance on serves and forehand/backhand. I also really enjoyed the warm-up exercises, which I am still using. Changing up the instructors kept it interesting.
    My personal experience was mixed. I was placed at first in the weakest group, in which I out-performed. Then I was bumped up to the next level and I suppose I under-performed because I was placed back with the weakest group. I just wasn't challenged.
    Further, the groups were too large. Last year (2010), there were only six people signed up for the camp. This year (2011) there were 20. Finally, Garrett was assigned most-often to my group. Unfortunately, at times he was pre-occupied with texting or checking out the French Open scores. He also called for water breaks more frequently than the other groups were breaking."
    —K.C., Low Int., July 2011
  • 3-Ball Rating "Great camp. Andy and Bridge were spectacular pros. Would like more matchplay analysis. Didn't think videos were particularly helpful. Staff was great."—B.S., Int., June 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—L.M., Int., June 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "Great instructors."—R.B.,  June 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "Strengths: The training was all around very good. The staff made good use of every minute available. They kept a good pace and showed exceptional skill in teaching the major points of the game with very good insight. The video analysis was great.
    Weaknesses: It was very hot (June) and the sun was very taxing, indoors would have been nice if only for the afternoon sessions. Practicing earlier or later under lights would have been nice. Picking up all the balls got old very quickly. More work on the service game would have been nicer."
    —P.A., Int., June 2011
  • 3-Ball Rating ""—S.S., Adv. Int., June 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "The experience from the time I registered online in January to the weekend of May13 to 15th was out of this world. The staff treated me great."—D.H., Low Int., May 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Excellent Clinic for ALL levels. Tennis pro's were fantastic and clinic was geared toward realistic match play."—T.A., Low Int., May 2011
  • 3½-Ball Rating "I would recommend the Drill and Play weekend for 3.5 and 4.0 players because the class size is ideal --one pro per 5 students, courts and club house are clean and well maintained. Helpful ,and well trained staff."—S.P., Int., May 2011
  • 3-Ball Rating ""—R.S., Int., May 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "We did the Drill and Play weekend clinic. We hit a TON of balls. The instruction was minimal and more global than targeted. The staff was energetic and fun."—K.M., Adv., April 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—R.C., Adv., April 2011
  • 3½-Ball Rating "professionalism was great. No standing around; continual instruction."—B.K., Int., April 2011
  • 3½-Ball Rating "It was great! The Tennis Pros were extremely fun to work with! Louie was awesome!!! I left there feeling like I made alot of progress on all aspects of tennis."—A.W., Beg., April 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "This was my third visit and it had been about twenty years since my last it was still a great refresher and a good workout. I'll be back on the 2nd of May for the shot of the day."—R.I., Int., April 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "Great instruction and fantastic facility"—P.D., Adv., April 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "The teaching staff was excellent, and the drills were very helpful. I attended both the weekend camp and the advanced camp. I'm a 4.0 rated player, and I would recommend the advanced camp over the weekend one. The weekend one had mostly beginning-level players, although this might vary from weekend to weekend. But the advanced camp is limited to 4.0 and above, and it was really good."—E.C., Adv. Int., April 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "Outstanding stroke mechanics, incl stroke component detail followed by effective drills. All tennis, no misc stuff. Helpful video instruction. Good instructor communication with good personal attention. Great facility. 3 and 5 hr days demanding but right amount of work. Wouldn't change anything."—M.L., Adv. Int., April 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—L.H., Int., April 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "My teenage boys loved it. Many skilled participants and a great ratio of pros to players. They made the drills fun and challenging. The boys learned game and fitness strategies."—J.H., Adv. Int., April 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "My children and I just attended the Van Der Meer tennis camp and loved it. The kids got a great workout, made improvements in their technique(they're advanced players)and had a lot of fun. I did the week long adult camp - not as much running around but lot's of emphasis on technique and mechanics. Video analysis was very helpful. Instructors were very good at breaking down the shots and rebuilding them. The adults seemed to be 3.0 to 4.0 players and probably in the 30's to 50's age range.
    If you need to improve your mechanics (don't we all), get some exercise and have a fun time this is it! We stayed at the Marriott in Palmetto Dunes and drove over every day but the Crowne Plaza is right next door to the adult camp (kids camp approx 1 mile away)."
    —K.R., Adv. Int., April 2011
  • 3½-Ball Rating "This is a great tennis camp. The pros are very knowledgeable and helpful."—C.N., Adv. Int., April 2011
  • 3-Ball Rating "A thoughtful well-run camp that graciously accommodated me and one other player when there were inadequate numbers of players at our level."—P.T., Adv. Int., April 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "The tenis center was clean, full of wonderful tennis gear for purchase, fresh drinks and snacks after the round robins each day. The instruction was superior, well maitained courts and well managed. The housing was three to four star and had security. Easy access to the beach as well. Perfect for the tennis family; lessons for children as well as the adults at the same time. Would definitely go back!"—M.T., Adv., March 2011
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Good instruction and size of clinics. Excellent facilties"—D.L., Adv., March 2011
  • 3½-Ball Rating "I spent a week in a fantasy world where I did nothing but play tennis in the morning and afternoon. I loved it. Andy, assisted by different staff, really worked to improve our weaknesses without destroying our existing strengths. The drills were challenging and interesting and (mostly) fun. Even more important is the noticeable (and sustained) improvement in my game.
    If I could change one thing about my camp, I would match singles players with other singles players and doubles players with doubles players - if/when possible.
    Otherwise, I loved my time at VDM Shipyard and plan to return. I also raved about the experience to other friends - one already booked a weekend at the club (and loved it as well). Another plans to return with me later in 2011."
    —D.M., Int., March 2011
  • 3-Ball Rating "The staff was excellent. They were friendly, helpful, professional, and great at what they did. As with any camp, make sure there are enough people of your level of play attending the week you choose if possible. I asked and they were very up front about the levels attending, so I changed weeks. Secondly, note what type of program is happening that week. I did the Drill & Play, which gave me great ideas for coaching, if I had wanted to work on specific strokes, I might have attended a different week.
    Van Der Meer offers all levels and varied types of programs. Their staff is excellent in helping you find the right type if you have some flexibility."
    —S.M., Adv., March 2011
  • 3½-Ball Rating ""—A.P., Adv. Int., March 2011
  • 3½-Ball Rating ""—F.L., Int., March 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The most wonderful tennis clinic that I have ever attended.Instructors were fantastic,courts were the best and a must for any player looking to improve their game and fitness level. 5 stars all around.  "—J.F., Int., March 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating " This was a great place to improve my tennis game! Instead of trying to teach me a whole new stroke, the coaches totally improved my strokes and serve, and gave me a lot of pointers that I can focus on at home to continue to improve. The videotape helped me see what I was doing wrong and showed me how to improve. Great coaches - good sense of humor and targeted advice that really helped! It was a great way to kickstart my season after not having played in a while."—H.S., Int., March 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating " "—S.B., Int., March 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating " "—G.H., Adv. Int., March 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "Excellent drills and clinic year after year. Helps me enter spring tennis season with confidence and an extra shot or two. Instructors always are helpful, professional and fun. Only weakness this year was some of the practice balls were dead/flat."—P.H., Adv. Int., March 2011
  • 3½-Ball Rating "I'd recommend the week. It was fun, fulfilling, inspiring. The pros were talented, personable and great-humored. Weather was great. Personally, I wish we'd had a bit more doubles tactics, but stroke production was, admittedly, the focus of the week.  "—L.G., Low Int., March 2011
  • 3½-Ball Rating " "—K.B., Int., March 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "Well organized Excellent instructors Constant motion --- and that is good -- you really get your money's worth. Plantation is so beautiful...once you've been you want to stay  "—N.H., Adv., March 2011
  • 3½-Ball Rating " "—L.C., Int., March 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I hadn't played tennis in months because of bad weather. It was a perfect weekend to get my swing and timing back. The staff was direct in their advice about skills and ideas on how to improve a particular skill. They made is fun; and challenged me to focus on my strokes. I really can't think of a weakness. They have the program down to a science.  "—K.L., Adv. Int., February 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating " I had a GREAT time while at the tennis camp! The instructors were extremely knowledgeable and interested in helping our team to improve as players. The drills were great and I got a great workout. It was challenging and I wish we had more instructional time. I would like to be able to come back after lunch and work another 2 hours on Sat. and Sun. Overall, it was a fabulous experience and we plan on coming back! Thanks to all of you!!"—J.B., Low Int., February 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating " "—E.M., Int., February 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating " "—D.W., Int., February 2011
  • 3½-Ball Rating " "—J.F., Int., February 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "I have nothing but good to say about my experience! Instructors were very knowledgeable and offered very helpful hints. One of the instructors was young and did not offer much advice but was very nice."—M.C., Adv. Int., February 2011
  • 3½-Ball Rating "I've been to the Drill & Play Weekend clinics in 2010 and 2011. Overall, I have enjoyed my time there. There are not a lot of 4.0+ players that sign-up for these clinics. If there were, it would be much better. I find that the drills are well run and organized, but just lacking in younger and higher rated players.  "—A.L., Adv., February 2011
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Strengths great drills and play time, weakness some teachers hard to understand due to language barriers  "—T.K., Int., February 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "We wre very pleased with the hotel accomodations, the friendliness of the staff and the knowledge of our tennis pro. We did not feel there were truly any weaknesses.. We would highly recommend this to our tennis friends.. !!!  "—F.W., Adv. Int., January 2011
  • 3½-Ball Rating " Good pro to player ratio. Players were all of similar level so no one was left behind"—P.R., Adv. Int., January 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "I played on Shipyard's indoor courts a couple times this past week -- as the weather here has been cold (below 50 degrees) and windy. Despite the fact that these are the only three indoor courts on the entire Hilton Head Island, I saw few others playing there -- besides the Van Der Meer juniors. I did see a few diehards out on the clay courts.
    I am a 4.5 player and had a good hitting lesson with Paul. Van Deer Meer has a second tennis facility located just a couple miles away on DeAllyon Avenue. Note: The indoor courts cost a very high $50 per hour, but a lesson including the court fee only costs $60 per hour."
    —C.L., Adv., January 2011
  • 3-Ball Rating "Went to a few day clinics along with a semi-private lession. Found instruction generally to be accurate and helpful and drills were kept moving at a good pace.  "—J.S., Adv. Int., January 2011
  • 3½-Ball Rating "I liked the pace of the tennis instruction. The size of the group (16) was also just right. Louie Cap, the headcoach was great, learned lots of tips to improve my shots. His 2 assistants, Ailene and Kenji were also good. Lots of practice and drills!  "—F.A., Int., January 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating " the clinic was extensive and immensely helpful. the accommodation was great - very well furnished and conveniently located minutes from the tennis courts!"—D.D., Adv., January 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating " "—L.U., Int., December 2010
  • 2½-Ball Rating " "—M.T., Int., November 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "NO weaknesses! Great pros, very personalized attention and coaching, loved the videotaping of our serves and ground strokes. Nothing bad to say - this is my 3rd time to VanDerMeer and always have great success  "—D.L., Int., November 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating " "—J.Q., Int., November 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating "excellent instruction by excellent instructors. worth the time and a bargain for the money. found that my ground strokes have improved greatly since attending the senior clinic.  "—J.F., Int., November 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating "Strenghts- pros, instructions, genuine concern to make sure that you have a good time  "—C.B., Adv., November 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating " "—E.J., Int., November 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Steve, the pro was great. He put fun into a lot of work.  "—M.S., Int., October 2010
  • 3-Ball Rating " "—R.L., Int., October 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Thoroughly enjoyable!"—R.L., Adv. Int., October 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The video analysis of your forhand and backhand was an excellent learning tool."—B.S., Int., October 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating "Excellent instruction, first class facility, well structured, focused on all aspects of the game. The best tennis instruction I've ever had"—R.Y., Low Int., October 2010
  • 3½-Ball Rating ""—L.R., Beg., September 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating "Personal instruction, great tennis facilities. If utilizing cottages owned by Van Der Meer, know general procedures for use of a condo, limited information once arrive on campus of facility. Had a great time and obtained great benefit from information learned."—G.D., Int., September 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating "Great experience. Very well organized and professional. I learned several new "tricks" and I'm quite pleased with the tennis camp."—J.G., Adv. Int., September 2010
  • 3½-Ball Rating ""—J.S., Adv., September 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—A.M., Beg., September 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating "Exactly what I expected when I signed up for a 5 day clinic"—A.G., Int., September 2010
  • 3-Ball Rating ""—R.L., Int., August 2010
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Great pros w great attitude. Fun experience. Very informative. Would love to repeat"—S.A., Int., August 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The adult clinics were small and competitive with a lot of well structured drills. My husband and I both got good feedback and great workouts."—S.T., Adv. Int., August 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—C.M., Adv. Int., July 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating "This was our second year in a row for the family Van Der Meer tennis week. Our son is 11 years old, and loves the kids program. It provides excellent instruction, drills, game practice, and exciting game activities. I attended the daily advanced drills (9-12). You will not find a better group of instructors--especially with Louie at the helm. There is no better way to get your game on track and hone your skills. My wife participated in several of the stroke of the day and drill sessions. This permitted her to improve her tennis and spend time taking in the Hilton Head culture (shopping)."—R.D., Adv., July 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—C.M., Adv., July 2010
  • 3½-Ball Rating ""—J.J., Adv., June 2010
  • 3-Ball Rating "Strengths: (1) Small class size (9 students to 4 pros); (2) Video analysis of serve, backhand, and forehand helped with correcting form; (3) Overall a great experience (repetition, play, tips tailored to my form/game) with the exceptions below.
    Weaknesses: (1) I did not get to work with the head pro until the 4th day after I noticed he kept rotating with the other 8 students and I brought it up to him. (2) One of the junior pros I kept getting paired with did not speak English and though he was able to demonstrate, it was difficult for him to explain. (3) He and another junior pro did not notice that I was using the wrong grip on the serve (after serving for at least 15 minutes) until the 3rd junior pro noticed and came over."
    —L.C., Int., June 2010
  • 3-Ball Rating "Video analysis of serves and strokes was specific and helpful. Pros were friendly, Dr. Lou is very knowledgable. Participant to Pro ratios were low enough for plenty of individual attention. Overall, I enjoyed the opportunity to strengthen some of my tennis skills.
    The experience would be improved if there was increased separation of participants by skill level, and more variety in the training content and process(i.e., basic strokes were taught in a fairly rigid fashion to all levels, rather than building on individuals current capacity, or addressing specific areas a person might request). A greater variety of interactive play and strategy drills would have increased the fun level."
    —S.L., Int., June 2010
  • 2½-Ball Rating "Very friendly staff, beautiful site, love the har-tru courts. On the not-so-good side, I'm a true USTA 3.0 level, but even so, the overall camper levels were pretty weak. Also, I appreciate the basics that were covered, but I more appreciate when the instructions are more focused on tweaking, rather than rebuilding."—M.O., Int., June 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating "This is the best program! The instruction by Lou Kap is the best!Cannot complain about anything!"—H.S., Low Int., June 2010
  • 3-Ball Rating ""—D.G., Low Int., June 2010
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Very good grouping of abiities. Faclities excellent."—M.S., Adv. Int., June 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—T.W., Adv. Int., June 2010
  • 3½-Ball Rating "6 of us went to Hilton Head for a long weekend to attend tennis camp. It was a great time and we learned a lot of new drills which will be helpful as we plan for our fall matches."—N.A., Int., June 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—B.K., Int., June 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating "Six of us visited Van Der Meer Tennis at Shipyard on Memorial day weekend for 4 days of tennis. The facility was fabulous and coaching pros were fantastic. The drills were excellent and match play in the afternoon reinforced what we learned in the morning. Brandon Ardent the Director of Sales did a great job with our accommodation."—J.B., Adv. Int., June 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating "The Instruction was excellent but, the pro shop was a little bit to small for me..."—M.C., Adv. Int., June 2010
  • 2½-Ball Rating "This is a good deal at $300. so I don't want to complain too much. I mean seriously, at this price, it was one of the cheapest Adult Tennis Camps I could find on the net. Other than the price, I really appreciated Louis' super sharp eyes. He saw things in all of our games and the video sessions with him were worth $100. each easily. Thank you Louis.
    Now for the negatives. We were grouped based on self-ratings. No one observed us play in order to determine group assignment. As a result, the within-group level of play varied wildly, making for frustrating pairings at times.
    Second, while the ratio of teachers to students remained at 1:4, some of the teachers were summer interns who had no business teaching. My group got stuck for most of the weekend with a sweet but really limited instructor.
    Was it worth it? As my mom would say, really you get what you pay for."
    —J.B., Adv. Int., June 2010
  • 3-Ball Rating "Facilities are very nice, and resort is lovely, but tennis instruction was only adequate. Louis is hard to understand. Everyone is friendly but I wouldn't rate this camp as highly as others I've attended (Broadmoor, Total Tennis)."—N.M., Int., May 2010
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Strengths: Several really good instructors and a friendly staff. Weaknesses: Not enough 4.0 and above players in the 2 clinics I have attended at this location."—D.F., Adv. Int., May 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Great drills and work-out. Ensured good matching of ability. Good mix of drills and point playing to use drill. Instructors were very patience and encouraging to keep working hard. No obvious weakness."—B.L., Adv., May 2010
  • 3-Ball Rating "Stengths... Well organized Weaknesses... Be sure there are enough people there at your same level."—J.K., Adv., May 2010
  • 3½-Ball Rating ""—L.W., Adv., May 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating "Coaches are very professional and intelligent. They tailor their instruction and drills to all levels of players."—D.C., Int., May 2010
  • 3-Ball Rating "Better for players rated 3.5 or below. Great staff and facility. Very knowledgeable staff. Should have used ratings to determine groups before day 2."—S.F., Adv. Int., May 2010
  • 3-Ball Rating "very experienced, knowledgeable, friendly staff, up to date on technique evolution. variety of programs offered to fit ones need for different levels and needs/focus."—R.K., Adv., May 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Highly recommend and will definitely return. The clinic re-inforces technique and bolsters self-confidence. Good player/coach ratio. I would like to see more instruction in strategy."—B.R., Int., May 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating "Van Der Meer Shipyard is located in Hilton Head, SC. The tennis facility is exceptional. The tennis courts are kept in excellent shape. They were raked before our sessions in the morning and again for our sessions in the afternoon. The staff were very knowledgeable and through the week we were able to cover pretty much every stroke you could possibly hit during a match. Drills were conducted at a reasonable pace and extra time was available if I wanted to work on some strokes a little extra.
    The staff were very polite and always on time to the sessions. There was absolutely no wasted time. I paid for 20 hours of drills during the week and received all 20 as promised, possibly a little more. I have the blisters to prove it.
    As far as negatives, I felt like there were a couple of people at the camp who were not at the same skill level as the others. For this reason, some of the matches played were not as fun as they could have been otherwise.
    Van Der Meer tennis is good for someone who really wants to practice. If you are more for socializing there may be another camp which suits you better. You should definately take the time to research the type of camp you want to attend.
    Overall I would recommend Van Der Meer tennis to any tennis players who are serious about improving and want to make sure they get their money's worth."
    —J.B., Adv. Int., April 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating "The Drill and Play Clinic (10 hours over 3 days) was well done. The drills were good and the pace was excellent. It felt like 15 hours of instruction!"—C.S., Int., April 2010
  • 3-Ball Rating "Great program with very courteous and talented tennis pros. Courts are maintained well"—S.P., Int., April 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Excellent instruction, stroke analysis and daily reinforcement of skills learned in previous days sessions. Helpful daily warm up insight for preserving aging tennis player's bodies."—K.A., Adv. Int., April 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "It is great fun! Technique and skills work was wonderful. The staff is knowledgeable and able to look at you as an individual and help you improve your game. Our entire family loved it!"—L.M., Adv. Int., April 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating "I thought the overall experience was very strong. The surroundings & weather could not have been better. The pros were wonderful - each had a lot to offer and each was so easy to get along with - very professional and personable. My only suggestion would be to perhaps not rotate between the 4 or 5 pros because I felt like I got less feedback on how to improve personally. A lot of great tips were shared, and the drills were great, but it could have been more customized if we were with one pro the whole entire time."—C.T., Int., April 2010
  • 3½-Ball Rating "I attended one of the weekend clinics. The strengths were the video analysis. This was done for the serve, forehand, and backhand with a little feedback on what I should do to improve technique. Another strength was the location (Hilton Head) so there were things to do off court and the staff was friendly and professional.
    The major weakness was that during this 10-hr clinic, I felt we spent too much time "just playing points" without instruction from the pros. On the first day, we basically played tennis for the first 2 1/2 hours. I felt like I paid for 5 hours of instruction and 5 hours to play tennis with people that I did not know (this was great but I could have done it for free at home).
    There also needs to be some one-on-one time with the pro for all the students. For example, on 2 occasions during the weekend, the pro took one student who was having difficulty with a stroke and basically did a private 30 minute lesson (so an hour total) while the rest of us "played points" with the other pro (no instruction). I think it was good to give this student instruction but at the same time, I was paying to "play points" and watch someone else get a private lesson.
    In all fairness, I'm not sure what I should have expected from a 10-hr weekend clinic, but I do not feel that I got what I paid for."
    —D.B., Adv. Int., October 2009
  • 4-Ball Rating "I participated in daily clinics here for 6 days last Nov. Always a Pro per 4 player/ratio, always had terrific coaches, some teaching styles differed, was always met w/ warm welcome, felt safe as a single in the area,rode my bike to & from condo, & round robins well attended by locals as well as guests. I will return!"—S.M., Int., March 2009

Rate Shipyard Plantation or
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island


Ratings

(194 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Cuisine
3-Ball Rating Romance
3½-Ball Rating Kids' Programs
4-Ball Rating
Instruction
4-Ball Rating Lodging
3½-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
3½-Ball Rating
Game Matching
3½-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4-Ball Rating Setting
4-Ball Rating


Van Der Meer Tennis

Ratings
( 190 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating
Instruction
4-Ball Rating
Junior Tennis
4½-Ball Rating
Dollar Value
4-Ball Rating

Ratings

(194 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Game Matching
3½-Ball Rating Lodging
3½-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4-Ball Rating Romance
3½-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Instruction
4-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4½-Ball Rating Cuisine
3-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
3½-Ball Rating Setting
4-Ball Rating Kids' Programs
4-Ball Rating


Van Der Meer Tennis Ratings
( 190 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4-Ball Rating Instruction
4-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4½-Ball Rating

Rates and Reservations

The Van der Meer organization has arrangements with a variety of Hilton Head lodging properties, in and out of Shipyard, at generally attractive discount prices. Check with them for current prices. 

Visit the website for current rates

Shipyard Plantation
Hilton Head Island, SC 29928