Search
Email Us
Tennis Resorts Online
Van Der Meer Tennis at Shipyard Plantation
Courtesy Van Der Meer Tennis

Shipyard Plantation
Van Der Meer Tennis

Hilton Head Island, South Carolina



SPR-728x90-alt

Drysdale 2019 Programs


Join us at the Omni Amelia Island Plantation for our all new Ladies Retreat from October 9-13th. This first-of-its-kind, Ladies Retreat is a 5 day, fun filled tennis getaway and will feature tennis instruction, learning seminars, video analysis, live-ball sessions, and so much more. If you are looking to improve our game, learn more about the intricacies of tennis, and overall have FUN, join us this October in Amelia Island! For more information, please call 830-625-5911x208, email k.steck@cliffdrysdale.com or visit us at  experiencecdt.com


Your Call

Here's what others have had to say about Shipyard Plantation and Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island.

  • 4½-Ball Rating "VDM Shipyard is the best tennis instruction facility I have attended and I have attended multiple tennis camps. The factility, environment, instructors are the BEST."—T.O., Int., April 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—L.S., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating "Fantastic time at Van de Mer tennis camp!"—M.C., Low Int., April 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating "Excellent clinics. The instructors were young and we were old, but they related well. They started where we were, and didn't try to change everything. Instead, they tweaked our games up a bit, which is all we hoped for. (I'm 80)"—D.W., Int., September 2018
  • 2-Ball Rating "Just OK. Not a lot of individual help. Group presentations were good but the pros offered very little help. Always felt rushed and never had even an extra minute of court time. Would not return. There are other camps that provide better value for your money. Some inappropriate comments made toward the female participants in the group. An old boys club in my opinion."—S.H., Adv. Int., May 2018
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Program is good but living on an old reputation. They could do a better job with more adult programs but one of the few places with a good round robin most days"—A.R., Int., February 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—M.B., Adv. Int., September 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "Good camp. Andy led the Group. Very knowledgeable. Video Analysis was very helpful. Beautiful clay courts. Drill and instruction were well done. There was more match play at this camp then any of my other previous camps (Saddlebrook, Sugarbush, Stowe, Amelia Island) The location was excellent. Shipyard Plantation is very desirable. Stay at the Sonesta ( 1 minute walk ) was excellent. Included pool and beachfront. Restaurants were good. June in Hilton Head is HOT and HUMID. Take this in consideration when signing up for 10 hour weekend camp. About 12 adult campers with experience ranging from 2.5-4.0"—P.K., Adv., June 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "This is my go to tennis resort in Hilton Head.The pros are seriously great teachers and the players there want to learn. I love that they offer level- specific daily classes to hone your skills against like players. And the setting is so peaceful."—P.S., Adv. Int., May 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—C.R., Int., April 2017
  • 3½-Ball Rating "My wife and I attended a weekend clinic May 2016. We arrived a day early so we started with a daily program. There were only 3 of us on court so we got great instruction, hit a ton of balls and got quite the work out. The weekend clinic was full but was well organized and had plenty of instructors. We were matched up well with players of similar ability. Dr. Louie is very entertaining and has a phenomenal memory. He can walk by your court and remind you of a mistake your making that he taught you on a previous day. We covered a lot in a short time and the video analysis was helpful. No gimmicks here, just solid instruction. We will definitely return for a future visit."—J.K., Int., January 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "My wife and I attended the Advanced Adult Weekend Clinic at Van Der Meer Tennis Center in Shipyard Plantation on HHI, SC for the 3rd time at the end of October 2016. There were 3 other couples we knew who also attended. The pros did a great job of working with us on all aspects of our tennis games. And many of the pointers we received are ones we've been able to incorporate into our matches back here in the Atlanta area. The only downside was that it didn't last longer. However, for the time we spent on the courts, it was an intense workout. We look forward to coming back again."—T.B., Adv. Int., January 2017

See more reviews

Rate Shipyard Plantation or
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island


Ratings

(194 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Cuisine
3-Ball Rating Romance
3½-Ball Rating Kids' Programs
4-Ball Rating
Instruction
4-Ball Rating Lodging
3½-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
3½-Ball Rating
Game Matching
3½-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4-Ball Rating Setting
4-Ball Rating


Van Der Meer Tennis

Ratings
( 190 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating
Instruction
4-Ball Rating
Junior Tennis
4½-Ball Rating
Dollar Value
4-Ball Rating

Ratings

(194 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Game Matching
3½-Ball Rating Lodging
3½-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4-Ball Rating Romance
3½-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Instruction
4-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4½-Ball Rating Cuisine
3-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
3½-Ball Rating Setting
4-Ball Rating Kids' Programs
4-Ball Rating


Van Der Meer Tennis Ratings
( 190 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4-Ball Rating Instruction
4-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4½-Ball Rating

Rates and Reservations

The Van der Meer organization has arrangements with a variety of Hilton Head lodging properties, in and out of Shipyard, at generally attractive discount prices. Check with them for current prices. 

Visit the website for current rates

Shipyard Plantation
Hilton Head Island, SC 29928