Search
Email Us
Tennis Resorts Online
The Buccaneer, St. Croix, USVI
Courtesy The Buccaneer

The Buccaneer

St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands




Four Seasons Nevis

Enjoy your 4th Night Free at the new Four Seasons Resort Nevis! Unveiling a fresh take on a timeless Caribbean experience, our enhanced Resort includes completely redesigned guest rooms, an updated Great House and two brand new restaurants. Of course, tennis lovers can still play at the Caribbean's No. 1 tennis centre with your choice of four red-clay, four hard and two AstroTurf courts, managed by world-renowned Peter Burwash International. For reservations, please call 869-469-6238 or visit fourseasons.com/nevis


Your Call

Here's what others have had to say about Buccaneer.

  • 4½-Ball Rating "As a retired flight attendant, I have been to St. Croix many times. First visit to Buccaneer left me in awe. I have posted many photos to family and friends..they cant wait to book their vacations."—C.F., Adv., September 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I was pleasantly surprised at the Buccaneer resort’s tennis facility. The staff was very welcoming and accommodating and the ambiance was very pleasant and energetic. The most exciting moment was finding coach Kevin. He was exceptional and probably the best coach I’ve had to date. He’s super high energy but also very patient and had a great training and coaching system that absolutely makes you better. I made some very significant strides in my technique and overall tennis mind and fitness. I look forward to heading back to this beautiful resort and getting much more tennis in at the club with coach Kevin and seeing the lovely staff."—S.D., Low Int., September 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "If you are looking for some good tennis by one of the best beaches in the Caribbean - this is it. Gayle (Pro Shop Manager) and Coach Kevin are too good - I played in the Round Robin (organized by Gayle) on the first day, and took clinics from Coach Kevin the following day, and the coach had already received feedback about my level of play and tailored his lessons accordingly. Just after one day of clinic, I felt that my stroke and technique had improved significantly. I visit St Croix frequently for work and look forward to attend more clinics, private lessons, and play with all the fun people on Sunday Round Robin! And the setting of the resort is unbeatable - beautiful beach, great snorkeling over corals just off the beach, and so many other activities to do."—S.G., Beg., September 2019
  • 3½-Ball Rating "We are pickleball players and Buccaneer makes great effort to serve our needs no matter how many or few. They are working towards a pickleball program that we islanders and tourists will be able to enjoy the fastest game in world. Look forward to clinics and world class tournaments in our future Thanks Gayle and Stan for making it work so well."—T.S.,  September 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "The service at this resort is fantastic ! Great staff great atmosphere ! I really enjoyed the tennis experience, the private lesson with coach Kevin are the best you will ever have ! Gaelle is doing a great job at the tennis club organizing round robin matches, connecting people who want to play."—M.O., Int., August 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating "As a family of 6 from 9 years old to 75 we wanted to learn how to play pickle ball. Stan and Gayle could not have been more supportive and encouraging. Within 46 minutes it was easy to enjoy a game. As one with a hip replacement and arthritis, I have not been on a tennis court for 3 years. Their patience and teaching skills made it a positive experience each day, and I recommend pickle ball to anyone insecure on a tennis court because of aging joint issues. Learning in a gorgeous setting with charming coaches was a very special experience that left us all wanting more. We will return to The Buccaneer ASAP."—C.S., Int., July 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating "6 members of our family from ages 9-75 learned Pickle Ball for the first time. Pros Stan and Gayle could not have been more encouraging, and accommodating. Within 1 hour we were hooked and able to enjoy playing games. . We plan to make Pickle Ball an integral part of our liives as we return to Los Angeles and Berkeley, thanks to their support and the glorious experience on the courts at the Buccaneer. Although I played recreational tennis since childhood, recent hip replacement and arthritis prevented my play for 3 years. I was reluctant to go back on any court and just played ping pong. Pickle ball changed all that and I highly recommend it for whomever might think their tennis days are over."—C.S., Int., July 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Best itf in the world , gayle ( in charge ) was amazing and I went all over the world"—P.C., Adv., June 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "My player and I were there for two ITF Tournaments. Beautiful resort with fantastic tennis facilities and staff. Have told many tennis clients to go visit!"—S.W., Adv., June 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating "Went there for a ITF tournament and it was run so well, and tennis tournament was very well organized, Ill be back to visit as a vacation"—D.R.,  May 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—L.S., Adv., May 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "My daughter played her ITF Juniors tournament in Buccaneer. The experience is amazing. This is the perfect place which has everything in the beautiful ocean background. I have never seen a place wherein you can watch your kid playing tennis sitting from your balcony or room. Absolutely mesmerizing background ocean. Since, the purpose is just tournament, felt, expensive."—S.S., Adv., May 2019
  • 3½-Ball Rating "I did not stay at the resort, I was vacationing at a VRBO nearby and was able to just drop in to a couple of clinics before the rest of my family got going for the day. There were not many players at the clinic, but the clinic itself fit my need perfectly to just get out and hit."—S.J., Int., May 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "First time at the Buccaneer as Caneel Bay is still under repair. What a pleasant surprise! Gayle is an awesome host as the courts were very well maintained and Kevin and Stan took time to chat tennis and tips! Play conditions were amazing and challenging. Lea took exceptional care to dry the courts after an all night rain and ready them for an early morning match! Thanks again to the entire staff for making our tennis experience at the Buccaneer one to remember!"—J.O., Int., May 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—B.G., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—R.E., Int., April 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating "Excellent tennis facility with programs everyday of the week. The teaching pro is terrific. The tennis staff is good at arranging matches between locals and hotel guests. More skilled players may have some difficulty finding players at their level with the limited population of the island. The ocean views from the courts cannot be beat."—B.H., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—C.S., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Tennis in paradise...need I say more? The Buccaneer Tennis has eight well maintained courts, a club house and breezes from the turquoise Caribbean. I have enjoyed court time and tennis clinics at the Buccaneer. Coach Kevin instructs us on our strokes, stance and play. The drills are a fun workout that helps me with my game. I will certainly join the club next year when I return. Each week there are new hotel guests from all over the world to make the clinics even more interesting. The Buccaneer Resort has everything...tennis, golf, spectacular beaches, pools and fabulous restaurants."—S.A., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—C.D., Adv., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I just spent a week here and I had Tennis lessons for my 5.5 year old son every day. The pro was outstanding, better with kids than most I have seen back home in NY or at other resorts. Also, the overall experience was great - really great facility, lots of courts, and very friendly full team. They have a very nice exercise facility and even had my 2.5 year old daughter rolling the ball around with a racquet. They have everything here - racquets, balls so all you have to bring is yourself or your kids."—B.W.,  March 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—M.T., Int., March 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The facility and staff are exceptional, always responsive and accommodating. The pro staff, specifically coach Kevin Moda, has transformed my game, eliminated my bad habits and put on the road to being a player."—C.W., Int., March 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We have traveled extensively through the Caribbean over the last 15 years. We almost always go somewhere that has a tennis program. But this is my first time doing a review on Tennisresortonline. I would have to say that , in my opinion, this is currently the best tennis resort in the Caribbean. The Buccaneer is a gorgeous property. If you like to play and you like nice people, this is your place. If you are looking for a good value, this is the best value also Gayle runs the program and is so dedicated. Kevin is a fabulous instructor. I left there serving better than I ever have before. A lot of places/instructors just “go through the motions” of giving lessons and clinics, but not here They want and expect it to be worthwhile and fun"—S.H., Adv. Int., February 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—R.M., Adv. Int., February 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The Buccaneer is a beautiful resort on the ocean, with four restaurants and many activities including tennis, golf and water sports. We just spent 10 days there and particularly enjoyed the tennis. Gayle Vanasse runs the tennis shop with charming efficiency and makes sure that resort guests have whatever matches they desire: singles, men's doubles, women's doubles, mixed doubles, round robins, etc. Gayle is good at matching players with similar skill levels. Tennis players who live on St. Croix also play at the Buccaneer and add to the mix of good available players. During my recent stay, half of my doubles matches were with Resort guests and half with players who live on St. Croix. The resort's new tennis pro Kevin Motta is an accomplished player and wonderful instructor who is able to teach players at all levels, from beginners to young hot shots (or older advanced players) who want to learn the modern game. He gave me a lot to work on in February 2019 and I hope he is there next year when I return because I can learn more from him."—T.G., Adv. Int., February 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "During Our stay at the St. Croix Buccaneer Resort we played tennis on one of the 8 courts most days. The staff made arrangements for our playing singles, doubles and mixed doubles with the hotel guests as well as with local club members. We were always paired with similar ranking. The club house provides more than adequately. Gayle and Stan are professional, attentive and totally dedicated to making our tennis play at the Buc very fun & competitive. Rick & I look forward to seeing the staff and friends same time next year. Thank you for adding to an already great vacation."—J.M., Int., February 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—S.Y., Adv. Int., February 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating "The tennis facility at The Buccaneer is great. It’s beautifully situated on a hill overlooking the Caribbean. It’s very well maintained, as is the hotel. Gayle is excellent as is the pro with whom we worked, Kevin. The courts were squeegeed very early every day as there was a bit of rain during our stay. Pitchers of ice water and rolled towels were always on the court for us. As a guest at the resort I was thrilled with how play for us was combined with regular local members of the club. Clinics and round robins were always going on, with hotel guests given priority. Everyone is very friendly and welcoming. Would definitely go back to The Buccaneer – perhaps for the tennis alone!"—M.P., Int., January 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—K.H., Adv. Int., January 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "An amazing 15 years in a row at Buccaneer playing tennis at Christmas. The pros are great, very nice 8 courts, doubles, singles tournaments and clinics. They call you when there's a match available. Even played pickle ball with the kids. A lot of fun."—J.R., Int., January 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "The Buccaneers is one of our family’s favorite resorts. The location is beautiful, the weather is perfect and the hotel has it all. The staff is very friendly that makes us feel like we are at home. Roman is an excellent tennis coach who helped our son to get to the next level. Gayle is fantastic and super helpful. Even though the hotel is not new, the hotel management is doing their best to constantly update it and to bring cool things like live entertainment and special events programs. We always meet nice people here and our son makes good friends. We love being here and tennis is always a big part of our vacation."—E.S., Beg., November 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The atmosphere is very inviting. It is one of the most beautiful island. The hospitable atmosphere makes it a home away from home. I thoroughly enjoyed my overall experience. Tennis was a highlight. I received 2 lessons from Coach Roman. He challenged me to work on my weak areas in my tennis game. Receiving this level of training was icing on the cake. The food at The Buccaneer was excellent. The pork chop is a must. Breakfast was always a highlight. I enjoyed my ocean front room, just steps away from the beach. I will definitely go back."—D.D., Low Int., October 2018
  • 4-Ball Rating "The Buccaneer has a very good Pro (Roman) who offers a good variety of clinics for every skill level.. I learned something new in every group and individual lesson that I took and he was always encouraging. The staff is very friendly, helpful, and accommodating."—P.P., Int., September 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "I have had such an amazing time here at The Buccaneer while on my honeymoon. We played tennis with Ramon and couldn’t have enjoyed ourselves more! My husband is more experienced than me, but we had a great time and Ramon was awesome at balancing the exercises. The weather is incredible and there are early clinics so it’s not too hot and you can book privates with Ramon anytime. He is super accommodating. Gayle and her husband Stan were awesome working out playtimes with our crazy schedules. Couldn’t recommend them more! Sweet people with great attitudes!"—J.V., Low Int., September 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Lovely setting for tennis. Great courts, well kept up. 8 hard courts. Roman is an excellent pro, with clinics every day. He understands weaknesses, and gives great advice. Gayle runs the tennis program and is very accommodating. Set up a great men’s doubles match for me. Highly recommend. The Resort is peaceful and beautiful. Local restaurants are very good. The island has a beautiful botanical garden/ old historical sugar cane plantation. The only drawback for me is getting used to a higher humidity, but I’m from a colder, dryer climate."—J.L., Int., August 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We've been to the Buccaneer 6 years in a row. The resort isn't large but has everything you need --> a beautiful and relaxing beach, friendly staff, excellent food and really terrific entertainment at the lounge overlooking the bay (an exceptional view!). The tennis facility is brand new, the courts are wonderful, the pro is super nice and fun to play with. Gayle will hook you up with hitting partners or matches! Overall if you're a tennis family, you can't do better than the Buccaneer."—G.G., Int., August 2018
  • 4-Ball Rating "What a dream:Tennis courts and beach within 50 feet! I strongly recommend the Tennis resort at the Bucaneer. I was there for an entire week. Great competence, great service and great instruction. Grace is great and Roman is amazing, Gracias de todo, Roman. I will be back for sure!"—A.P., Int., July 2018
  • 4-Ball Rating "I started back playing tennis after being off the courts for 25 years! The staff, instructor and the other players really made me feel welcomed. The clinics are great and Gayle makes sure everyone plays! As I live on St. Croix we enjoy playing with the guests that come to Th Buccaneer. The breezes are great while you are playing and the view of the Caribbean is nothing to sneeze at!! Come enjoy St. Croix and The Buccaneer.. See you on the courts!"—D.F., Int., July 2018
  • 4-Ball Rating "We had a great time on our tennis mini holiday. Although we did not stay at the resort, we felt welcome at Roman's clinics and semi private lesson. The program is well run, and the facilities are in fine shape, even after Hurricane Maria's visit. The Buccaneer also. offers a couple of dining options, golf and lodging. We suggest you visit soon!"—S.O., Int., June 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "This may sound corny, but I have no weaknesses to report. I have been going to this resort to play tennis for about 30 years. I would never keep going back if it wasn’t fantastic. The courts are always in great shape, the pros have always been terrific, the resort itself is beautiful. Do yourself a favor and go to The Buccaneer- you will not be disappointed."—J.D., Adv., May 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "A real home experience at a fabulous resort The manager offered iced water along with animated conversation"—T.S., Adv. Int., April 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The Buccaneer has a fantastic tennis facility in the middle of paradise. This year was our 2nd consecutive year there and we met people who were back for 10+ straight years. We are a family of 4 with 3 avid tennis players. There's plenty for everyone with a nice A/C gym and beautiful beaches. The best part is the team that runs the tennis facility. Gayle V takes amazing care of you and finds matches to suit your level of play, court times and lessons well before you arrive. And if you don't plan in advance, she will take care of you when you arrive. My kids played and took lessons with Roman who was engaging and fun and in just a short hour was able to tweak my kids' game to improve it. The resort looks great after the devastating hurricanes and the staff are fantastic. We plan to go back year after year!"—V.S., Adv., April 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "Spectacular surroundings, excellent courts and the tennis club management and pro are the BEST!!"—T.D., Adv. Int., April 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We love playing at the Buccaneer and go back every year. The pro is world class, the staff is so friendly and helpful and the courts are always in good shape. The resort itself is amazing...both in terms of beauty and so many different things to do. You can truly make this fit your style, whether you want it to be reclusive or involved. A Caribbean gem!!"—P.S., Adv. Int., April 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I had a great time playing tennis at the Buccaneer. Gayle helped arrange everything for me so that I could participate in drills, round robins, and even use the ball machine. The doubles play was especially great because Gayle grouped us according to our levels. Overall, the facilities were beautiful, and I would love to return. This is a great place, with great people!"—C.K., Adv. Int., April 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "This is an outstanding resort with a wonderful tennis facility/team! Gayle Vanasse runs the tennis center, and she is delight. Welcoming, informative, and just a pleasure to be around. She helped my son and I book clinics, games and lessons during our stay. We were never disappointed. Roman Ramirez is the Pro, and he is outstanding. He's incredibly knowledgeable, but he keeps things simple to allow improvement to your overall game. Just as important, he keeps it fun. He has great energy and always has a smile on his face (especially when he's running you around the court). And, he's a phenomenal player. I can't say enough positive about the fine folks at the Buccaneer."—J.O., Adv. Int., April 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We had a wonderful time at the Buccaneer. Gayle and Stan were very helpful in getting our tennis arranged before we arrived. My daughter (age 17) and I participated each morning in the adult clinic from 8-9am and then took a private lesson from 9-10am. She could have also played in an advanced juniors clinic in the afternoon, but we chose to do other activities on the island instead (snorkeling, kayaking, painting, etc). The pro, Roman Ramirez made the adult clinic was fun for all levels of players. He is very friendly and experienced. I have played tennis for 40 years and he was able to give me a pointers that were very helpful. The clinic was limited to 5 people so we felt like we got a lot of attention. The resort is beautiful and very spread out. We never felt crowded even though we heard that they were full that week. There are 3 beaches and 2 pools and there were always chairs available."—A.M., Adv. Int., April 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—R.W., Int., March 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Great overall facility, has it all, tennis, beach, golf, fitness / running trails, swimming. This could be your day: Start with great brekfast overlooking ocean, play two hours of tennis, refresh by swimming in pool or ocean, afternoon round of golf or work out in gym, back to courts for afternoon/night tennis, eat dinner at the beach restaruant - all on the Buccaneer property. Gayle, and Stan are super nice and make everyone feel welcome and relaxed. Would go back tomorrow,"—C.A., Beg., March 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "This is our third time at this resort. We always had a great experience. The new pro, Roman, is very experienced, friendly and pays attention to your personal needs. He is running an excellent clinic for kids twice per week. There are adult clinics and tennis activities every day. The courts are in excellent shape and with a great view to the ocean. Gayle, Christine and Stan, the staff of the tennis club, are super nice. Overall an excellent experience and one of the main reasons we went back to this resort."—P.P., Adv. Int., February 2018
  • 4-Ball Rating "Really great tennis facilities, conveniently located on-premise, well kept courts, and great pro working there. We weren't orginally going as a "tennis vacation" (more a beach vacation), but this resort has the best of both worlds. We've been to dozens of resorts, but very few where we say we must come back... Well, this was one."—E.Y., Low Int., September 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "Very friendly tennis staff and they went all out to make our tennis the best experience- introducing us to members, organising games & mixed doubles. Beautiful facility and would recommend."—E.B., Int., August 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "VERY Nice facility- Neal Cassidy is a GREAT instructor- I learned a lot and had fun doing it!"—R.L., Low Int., March 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The tennis facilities are great. Lots of courts, recently re-surfaced, easy to set up a time to play. Neal is a fantastic teacher. He makes the game fun, but is also super solid at getting you to improve rapidly. He was big reason we came down to the Buccaneer. Overall our family loved the resort. Spectacular setting, friendly, helpful staff. Only downside I can think of is the cost of the shuttle into town. With a group of six being charged by the person, it got quite expensive."—T.B., Int., March 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "Very friendly and accommodating. We called for a last minute lesson and they were happy to adjust the schedule to make it work for us. The pro, Neal Cassidy, was also very friendly and personable. He was a true instructor. He was able to explain and demonstrate skills to our boys in a way that made sense to them. They were able to immediately implement the new techniques and saw immediate improvement in just a one hour lesson."—C.G.,  March 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "My husband and I took lessons from Neal Cassidy when we were at the Buccaneer over Christmas and at the beginning of March. He is an excellent teacher and an enthusiastic coach. He helped us both individually and in playing together. I was returning to tennis after a five-year hiatus arising from an issue with my vision, so Neal had to figure out what I could do and where I needed help. He was terrific at both."—J.G., Int., March 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—K.P.,  March 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I took two clinics and did a private lesson. The clinics were great and only $20 for 90 minutes. The clinics were informative and competitive. I took a private lesson with coach Neil and he did a great job working with some shots I was having problems with. He gave me some great tips. I will definitely come back."—M.M., Adv. Int., March 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—G.D., Int., March 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—A.B., Int., March 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "The Buccaneer's newly renovated tennis courts and pro shop make it a top-notch tennis facility, certainly among the top tennis centers in the Caribbean. Its tennis programming and management , led by Director of Tennis Neal Cassidy, is extraordinary. Neal is so welcoming and friendly and his instruction is superb, tailored to each individual. A wide variety of clinics and round-robins is offered so there's something for everyone. We truly enjoyed our tennis at The Buccaneer."—T.O., Adv. Int., March 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "The Buccaneer's newly renovated tennis courts and pro shop make it a top-notch tennis facility, certainly among the top tennis centers in the Caribbean. Its tennis programming and management , led by Director of Tennis Neal Cassidy, is extraordinary. Neal is so welcoming and friendly and his instruction is superb, tailored to each individual. A wide variety of clinics and round-robins is offered so there's something for everyone. We truly enjoyed our tennis at The Buccaneer."—T.O., Adv. Int., March 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We will return."—J.M., Int., March 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—A.M., Adv. Int., February 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "First time at the Buccaneer in St. Croix and I don't think it will be the last. We were there for a brief family vacation and used the courts a couple of times, once to do a lesson with the pro. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The facilities are beautiful and the food was very good as well. All in all a great relaxing vacation with lots of things to do. We will definitely be making a return trip."—L.Y., Int., February 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Great facility and easy access. Neil Cassidy is an exceptional teaching pro. I took several lessons with him and all were valuable. He is very friendly and was always available for follow up questions I would highly recommend this facility"—R.H., Adv. Int., February 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "My husband and I had the best vacation at the Buccaneer. We were celebrating our 25th anniversary. We hadn't planned on playing much tennis but then we drilled together and Neal the pro there made it so much fun for both of us who are at different levels. We hit a lot of balls and improved our games. We ended up playing almost everyday. I love the location of the courts. You can see the ocean while you are playing tennis nothing better. The beaches and food at the Buccaneer are incredible too. The location was great for shopping and going to local pubs. I would love to go back."—A.F., Adv., February 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "Neal the new tennis director is amazing! Lots of fun, great player, and excellent teacher. Huge plus as the Buccaneer has 8 courts and is a gorgeous ocean resort. We love it!"—G.R., Adv., February 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—M.H.,  February 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "The Buccaneer made a fantastic decision when partnering with PBI, a beautiful setting with a top notch director of tennis Neal Cassidy. The clinics I took were outstanding and I think I learned more from Neal than and any previous pro. Neal is amiable and really reaches out to all guests and members. He is personable and a pleasure to be around. He knows his stuff and shares his knowledge and expertise with everyone at all levels. His ability to coach different levels at the same time is quite a feat. I highly recommend The Buccaneer and the tennis program here. I can't wait to return."—M.C., Adv. Int., February 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "Had an amazing lesson with the pro, Neal C., who did more for me in a one hour than I thought possible. The staff is courteous and caring. The atmosphere and ambiance is as good as it gets."—R.C., Adv. Int., February 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—T.M., Adv., February 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—D.M., Adv., February 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "This is a spectacular ocean side resort. The dinner was exceptional in the restaurant in the main lodge and once we ate there, we ate the rest of our meals there. It turns out that their chef is well known on the island and has a devoted local following. The resort was also exceptional in that they contacted me before our visit to discuss my dietary requirements related to my Celiac Disease. Gluten-Free options were available at the breakfast buffet every morning and Gluten-free pasta was available at dinner. They were very knowledgeable about the disease and there was no sign of cross-contamination. The tennis courts were well kept and the pro, Neal Cassidy, was personable, friendly and gave me excellent tips to propel my tennis game forward. I had no difficulty scheduling my lesson with Coach Neal. We were at the Buccaneer the week leading up to Christmas and due to the relatively rainy week, we did not have a chance to try out a round robin or group lesson."—K.D., Adv. Int., January 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I had a great experience with Neal in January, 2017. Hi staff was very nice and helpful. I attended the Ladies Clinic five mornings and found it enjoyable and great for my tennis. I am still thinking of some of his instruction now that I'm back playing at home."—J.P., Adv. Int., January 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "Great quality courts, spectacular views, beautiful weather and great people! Would like to see a bit more refreshments and snacks to buy. Haven't seen a better place to play tennis."—M.B., Adv., January 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Great Place and Staff, Director of Tennis Neil Cassidy is very knowledgeable and professional."—L.B., Adv., January 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Beautiful courts facing the ocean, friendly staff. Director of Tennis Neal Cassidy, a laid back, personable and highly skilled pro, made improving my game a joy. Lessons highly recommended. The staff arranged games and clinics, very smooth and easy."—M.S., Adv. Int., January 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Was there last month and met the new tennis director and pro. Neal Cassidy, who is taking over the facility after the last pro was there for 34 years. Neal was great, he arranged a foursome for me twice and played in with us. This facility is amazing, view out to the ocean and sandy beach, eight brand new resurfaced courts with two courts lit at night and the club house was being completely remodeled with the addition of a exercise area. There is a restaurant below right on the beach. The rooms at the hotel are first class especially a new set that are right next to the tennis facility that face the water and the beach. There is also a full restaurant above in the Hotel Lobby area and a Business Center plus the Hotel has a 18 hole golf course. The tennis facility is a perfect destination to get away from it all but still have the ability to find players to play with as it is also a membership club. The staff was totally focused on making you feel welcome and went out of there way to meet my needs to be able to play while I was in St. Croix."—S.H., Int., December 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—K.M., Int., April 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "St Croix is a wonderful island to go to for any vacation and The Buccaneer is a first class resort with all of the amenities. The tennis concession is operated by Don de Wilde and it is also first class. The competition is always based on your level of play, and there is always plenty of games to join in. The courts are in great condition and the Pro Shop is well stocked with the latest equipment. I would recommend this tennis resort to any level of player."—W.K., Int., April 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Don deWilde is the tennis pro and does an unbelievable job.He gives lessons,clinics, runs tournaments and sells quality tennis gear.I would highly recommend this facility."—R.H., Adv. Int., April 2015
  • 4-Ball Rating "It is one of the best clubs I have ever played at. Don, the Tennis Professional, is an exceptionally wonderful coach. My only wish is that they would add courts with a clay surface."—M.R., Adv. Int., April 2015
  • 4-Ball Rating "Had very good intro lessons to tennis for daughter with Don DeWilde. Very patient and encouraging."—B.R., Adv. Int., April 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating "This was an outstanding tennis experience. In addition to playing with family in a stunningly beautiful setting, I had two sessions with the consummate pro Don DeWilde. I am a club player and a former teaching pro who has not taken any instruction in decades. Don not only updated my stroke mechanics with expert skills and ease, he also provided a set of workouts that helped me drill and cement the new stroke into my form. I had such an enjoyable and athletic highlight at The Buccaneer that we are looking forward to going back for tennis and holiday time."—D.C., Adv., March 2015
  • 4-Ball Rating "The courts at the Buccaneer were in very good shape, and when there was rain, there were adequate squeegees to clear the rain off quickly. The pro arranged for us to get signed up for all scheduled clinics our first day which was wonderful. We met many other players from around the area who were very enthusiastic about getting us involved in other match play both at the resort, and off site. Many friendly people were there to make it a fun vacation with tennis! The pro shop had great women's clothing and shoe selections. The men's side was a bit sparse but still had basics for those who forgot things at home. We had a great time and hope to go back!"—B.S., Int., March 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "really nice courts in a beautiful setting. The mixed doubles round robbin is a lot of fun. A range of players from beginner to intermediate."—N.L., Adv. Int., March 2015
  • 3½-Ball Rating "We've rented condos for several years on St Croix --always attend tennis clinics@ the Buccaneer. The pro- Don -is great---keeps us moving--drills are challenging, versatile, always something new, and fun. Adapteble so that all play levels are able to participate. Downside -clinics are only twice a week at 8am.--8am is tough when you're on vacation!!!!"—J.G., Adv. Int., March 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "For any tennis enthusiast, I highly recommend a stay at The Buccaneer, a family owned hotel and resort in St. Croix, USVI, with breathtaking views of the Caribbean Sea. Eight beautiful hard courts, including several with good lighting for night play. The long time, personable, resident pro, Don deWilde, will help whether you seek a lesson, or drills or a cardio workout, or to match with partner(s) of comparable play."—S.W., Adv., February 2015
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Loved the resort, was very relaxing. Had a nice time hitting and taking lessons with the tennis pro."—K.H., Int., January 2015
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—J.C., Adv., January 2015
  • 4-Ball Rating "Don is superb at connecting players staying at the hotel and on the island."—S.S.,  January 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The Buccaneer has an exceptional tennis pro in Don De Wilde! He is the best tennis pro we have ever had the privlege of working with. As adults trying to revive the tennis skills we developed as teenagers, Don worked with us, patiently and enthusiastically to improve our abilities, form, strategies and games remarkably well, and in a ridiculously short amount of time! And, he was super fun to be with!! He deminstrated to us that he is very much ahead of the curve technique wise as he brought our game into the 21st century, clearly articulating how to use form to create power and energetically drilling our new form into us as he worked us back and forth, forward and back over the court to get us in fighting shape!"—L.K., Low Int., December 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I recently visited the Buccaneer in St. Croix. Don DelWide was the tennis pro. I took a 1 hour lesson with him and thought it was the best instruction I have ever received. They also had group lessons that you could participate, which I did as well as tennis mixers. The also offered a free kids camp daily, which my kids absolutely loved. They told me was the best camp ever. The hotel is expensive but well worth the money and the views incredible."—M.M., Adv. Int., April 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "You'll want to stay at the Buccaneer or close by, as you'll want to be there everyday. They offer a "drop in" mixed doubles on Sunday where you can meet the local members and seasonal guests. This is the time to arrange matches for the week ahead. It was amazing. I've never felt so welcome and had so much fun. And if you need help, Don is there to help fine tune your game or find a match for you. And between matches you can play golf or stretch out on their beautiful beach and order your favorite drink. I'll return."—D.J., Adv. Int., April 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "A wonderful tennis facility for players of all ages and abilities. Don de Wilde is an outstanding and engaging teacher. I would strongly recommend the Buccaneer and its tennis facility for anyone considering a visit to the Virgin Islands."—J.M., Adv., April 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—T.K., Adv. Int., April 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We took a family with teenagers vacation at the Buccaneer Resort in St. Croix, USVI. The tennis portion of this vacation was wonderful and just what we wanted. We signed up for 3 tennis sessions: an instructional clinic, a conditioning clinic and a fun game morning. All three were exceptional, fun and great experiences. The clinics were well taught and challenging. The game morning was a 6-game, random co-ed partner match then rotate partner. WE had so much fun meeting new people and the tennis was exciting and challenging. I had fun learning something new from each different partner, and the level of play worked well since it was doubles. I had a great time. I think anyone, even expert tennis players, would find this a rewarding tennis vacation. Don DeWilde, the tennis pro, is accommodating, experienced and friendly. You'll enjoy meeting him."—I.N., Int., March 2014
  • 4-Ball Rating "One of the finest resorts, with the finest tennis facilities, in the Caribbean. The tennis pros always seem to be able to set-up a good match - doubles or singles. Unfortunately, an injury prevented me from playing this year, but it was obvious that the program was as strong as ever."—J.C., Int., March 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Please go there ,it is a wonderful resort.Been going there for last 15 years and try to visit twice a year.It has been in the Armstrong family for over 50 years and is still owned and operated by them. The tennis professional is an excellent teacher and dedicated to his profession. He has worked their for over 15 years . He does a wonderful job for both young and advanced players. They have 8 very good hard courts."—K.M., Adv. Int., March 2014
  • 4-Ball Rating "This is a great (and fun!)tennis program, offering a multitude of clinics, round robins and private lessons. Don DeWilde is the very able and enthusiastic head of the program which draws both hotel guests and residents in for the many events and activities. The only distraction is the beautiful ocean view from the courts."—J.H., Adv. Int., March 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—D.P., Adv. Int., March 2014
  • 3½-Ball Rating ""—A.H., Adv. Int., April 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "My husband, children and I stayed at the Buccaneer for a week in March 2013. We played tennis daily. The courts are beautiful and situated on a hill with a view,and a beautiful breeze cools you as you play. The Pro Don de Wilde was PERFECT. He provided excellent instruction to our somewhat unathletic beginner nine year old who made great progress after two 30 minute private lessons. During our week of play we observed him giving terrific lessons to adults as well. He was friendly and obliging (restringing two racquets overnight so we could optimize our time there), and the shop had everything we needed. There was no "attitude", just a love of the game.
    We used many of the Buccaneer's facilities; the tennis was a highlight. We have traveled extensively and played at luxury resorts (Four Seasons etc.), and this tennis experience was absolutely on par with those. The overall gestalt of the Buccanner is friendly, spacious,"low-key" and super relaxing. Hope to return!"
    —K.D., Adv. Int., March 2013
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Lovely setting with 8 courts, an affable and capable pro in a low-key venue."—N.C., Adv. Int., March 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating "The best of the buccaneer are the weekly clinics. Going to a resort for a limited time you are able to play tennis and meet other players for additional games. The clinics are filled with drills that are rarely repeated. Players of all levels are able to get a work out by participating. I stayed longer this year and was able to enter the century tournament. In march they will have the club tournament. After a good work-out walk to the beach and jump in the Caribbean. Then a drink at the mermaid. Cheers."—K.M., Adv. Int., February 2013
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—C.S., Int., February 2013
  • 4-Ball Rating "VERY active tennis program; guests of the hotel were encouraged (and warmly welcomed) to participate in clinics with the club members."—S.H., Int., February 2013
  • 4-Ball Rating "Beautiful facility, views of the Caribbean Sea from the courts. Great lessons with two pros and matches can be arranged for players of all levels."—M.T., Adv. Int., February 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating "Fabulous tennis pro. Great clinics. Courts in excellent condition. Night courts available. Met lovely ladies from St. Croix."—E.P., Adv. Int., February 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Our family of four just returned from a 10-day vacation at the Buccaneer. The resort is beautiful, with its own beachfront spotted with palm trees, so you can always find shade. The snorkeling is also excellent right from the hotel beaches.
    We enjoyed quite a bit of tennis on our vacation. The courts are immaculately maintained; the pro shop is well-organized and helped set up a couple of matches for us during our stay. Also, I arranged beforehand for our son to have a series of lessons, which worked out wonderfully. The instruction was first-rate."
    —K.F., Int., March 2012
  • 4-Ball Rating "We came to the Buccaneer this past February. We learned of it through TennisResorts Online. We wanted an upscale resort with a well established tennis facility offering instruction, clinics and game matching. Our expectations were more than fulfilled. The resort is just beautiful, with a magnificent panoramic view of the turquoise sea all around you. The icing on the cake was that at the center of the beautiful resort is an attractive and well maintained and managed tennis facility. Head Pro Don DeWilde is an excellent instructor. We had lessons almost daily for the week we were there, and even after years of playing and taking lessons along the way, we benefitted greatly from his perspective and mild mannered approach. He's a dedicated professional, and puts a lot of effort and energy into maintaining a great tennis program for all levels, whether it be instruction or fun playing. We look forward to returning, and bringing our children here to enjoy the beautiful resort, and having a great place to play tennis overlooking the beach."—L.W., Int., March 2012
  • 4-Ball Rating "My wife and I arrived three weeks ago at the Buccaneer to find the tennis facility in a beautiful setting at the heart of the property. I had called in advance to arrange lessons with Don DeWlde hoping for a positive learning experience. Don was terrific in creating a picture of what we were doing and how to improve, and most importantly, a gentleman of the first order. We have taken with us what he taught and are implementing these tips and lessons in our play right now. In addition, the Buccaneer property is quite expansive, and you never feel crowded and always feel like you have your own private space, which is just what we were looking for."—J.W., Adv. Int., March 2012
  • 4-Ball Rating "Don is an excellent instructor. Courts are in great condition. Hard to find a game. Ball machine pretty always available. Setting, on a hill overlooking the Caribbean, is breathtaking ."—K.D., Adv., March 2012
  • 4-Ball Rating "Members of the Vieques (PR) Tennis Club visited St. Croix for a tennis weekend. While there we signed up and had clinics with the Pro, and boy did he live up to the title! Absolutely fantastic, and very highly recommended! Thank you Don!"—E.G., Adv. Int., January 2012
  • 4-Ball Rating "Don DeWilde provided a fun filled three day tennis experience for the eight players in our group Everyone wants to return to the Buccaneer again"—J.H., Int., January 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I went to this resort with 7 tennis pals and had private lessons with the Pro, Don DeWilde. I had contacted him before begging for him to sell me a serve! He responded with great cheer and optimism and he DELIVERED!!! I have a serve! He ran clinics for our group and we had a ton of fun with a mixed skill group, not an easy challenge for the leader.
    We also enjoyed the property itself, big breakfasts are included and we were hungry! The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. There are really excellent restaurants off campus but close by. Cab drivers are knowledgeable and friendly. The on campus beaches are OK, we live on Vieques so are pretty fussy about our beaches!
    We have all agreed that we will return and especially look forward to more clinics with Don."
    —S.H., Low Int., January 2012
  • 4-Ball Rating "I hit with Don my first day at the buccaneer. He made several insightful comments at the end of the lesson that made for a quick and lasting improvement. He doesn't aim for a drastic overhaul but works with what you bring to the table which is a somewhat novel approach. After viewing my game he also made arrangements for me to hit with one of the stronger local residents. I hit with Don my first day at the buccaneer. He made several insightful comments at the end of the lesson that made for a quick and lasting improvement. He doesn't aim for a drastic overhaul but works with what you bring to the table which is a somewhat novel approach. After viewing my game he also made arrangements for me to hit with one of the stronger local residents. Most resorts I've been to that tout game matching usually put the onus on you to find someone and often times I am left disappointed. The beach at the resort is private and beautiful and the hotel does have a warm family feel to it. I will look forward to going back.
    Most resorts I've been to that tout game matching usually put the onus on you to find someone and often times I am left disappointed. The beach at the resort is private and beautiful and the hotel does have a warm family feel to it. I will look forward to going back."
    —J.L., Adv. Int., April 2011
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Don de Wilde is one of those great, classic instructors who have played long enough to know exactly what your doing wrong and fix it. Fast. Through simple and targeted drills, Don was able to diagnose and correct the issues with my forehand, backhand and serve. By the second lesson, Don had improved the consistency of my game tremendously. You can really tell he loves his job."—M.K., Adv. Int., April 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating " Not only is the resort great, but the tennis is as well. I played for fun and also participated in cardio drills and worked on some new strategies. Mr. deWilde kept the drills moving quickly and was a lot of fun! He was very helpful finding others for me to play with as well. The play was competitive and the courts/facilities were in great shape. The ocean views were out of this world-the prettiest spot I've ever played."—J.N., Adv. Int., March 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Great resort. Don dewilde was helpful in matching me with local players and other visitors. Would return and highly recommend. There were no junior clinics available which would be nice for the kids.  "—D.C., Adv., February 2011
  • 3-Ball Rating "great family resort, very easy, reasonably priced in relation to other comparable resorts, free day camp & 8 hard surface tennis courts
    Rooms were a little disappointing, we stayed in family cottage and there was 1-small bathroom for 4-people to share. Overall dining service was extremely slow even by island standards, no waitress or bar service on the beach  "
    —E.G., Adv., February 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "I would definitely recommend this resort for lessons or to play. The facilities are great and the tennis pro on propeerty is excellent  "—G.C., Low Int., February 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "I was nationally ranked in the seniors up until 2 years ago when I had 3 back surgeries, the last about 10 months ago. At the Club I worked with Don de Wilde, top pro and manager on getting my game back. His instruction was excellent and I benefited greatly from our hitting sessions. I highly recommend the Buccaneer for all player levels. There is opportunity for men and women's doubles, mixed doubles and singles play. A wonderful place!  "—M.C., Adv., January 2011
  • "I must say I have really enjoyed playing tennis at The Buccaneer while visiting St. Croix. The location of the tennis courts offers an exceptional view of the resort’s beautiful beach and surrounding grounds. Overall the courts are in good condition. Windscreens are not torn, courts are clean with no debris in the corners. Nets well maintained. There are no holes or cracks evident on the surface to warrant any concern about footing while playing. It does rain in paradise and there is an adequate supply of squeegees to remove water and resume playing quickly. The sun has taken is toll on the courts and the surface is just a bit faded.
    It would be nice to see the courts re-surfaced with the US Open color scheme. The updated look would greatly improve the player’s ability to “see” the ball in day and night conditions. It would also set it apart from the other resorts in the Caribbean that do not utilize this color scheme. The pro shop provides a good selection of clothing, shoes, racquets, hats, strings, grips, and accessories to outfit any tennis player. An electronic stringer enable’s staff to properly string any racquet that may come their way. A cooler of beverages awaits thirsty players. Dressing rooms allows for the trying on of the many items of clothing offered.
    Don deWilde offers insightful instruction in private lessons and drills. Tournament’s and round robin play are a staple at The Buccaneer. There is plenty of depth and variety in the programs offered for those visiting on vacation or tennis players living on the island. The Buccaneer tennis facility is truly breathtaking in its setting. Don deWilde has crafted and organized a facility that easily meets the needs of all skill levels that visit The Buccaneer. So prepare yourself to come, play hard, finish and reward yourself by sitting in the courts shaded patio area while drinking a cool beverage and gazing out into paradise."
    —L.C., Adv., December 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The tennis pro at the Buccaneer, Don de Wilde, is a fabulous seasoned instructor. I played with him at least an hour each day the week we were in St. Croix. Living in a small community with few indoor courts, I needed to rejuvenate my game after an injury last fall and the long cold winter that forced me off the courts. Don was great as we worked out the cobwebs and soon had me back to perfecting my game."—T.V., Adv. Int., May 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating "My wife and I have stayed at the Buccaneer twice and really enjoyed it. Its advantage over most other Caribbean resorts is that Don De Wilde helps line up games and also is available for lessons and hitting practice. I was pleased with all of these services."—R.H., Adv. Int., April 2010
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Great Locationm for the courts, friendly people and staff. A very pleasant atmosphere to play tenis in the Caribbean. The lighted coourts a are real plus."—R.S., Int., April 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating "Program is quite good. Don is one of the best pros I have worked with. One the weakness side, it would be ideal to have more organized team play during peak times."—T.V., Int., April 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating "We selected the Buccaneer primarily for its reputation as a great family resort, with its tennis program as an added bonus. Both exceeded our expectations. The grounds and proximity to activities were perfectly suited for our 3,5 and 7 year old kids and the centrally located courts made it easy for them to check out Dad too. Tennis pro Don DeWilde was very responsive to my needs and set me up with singles matches with both a local player and hotel guest. I also took a private lesson from Don and took away some key pointers. Be sure to ask Don to tell you his Connors story!
    We arrived during one of the clubs annual tournaments. I was impressed by the caliber of play, some of which was under the lights with many folks cheering. You could tell immediately there was a real tennis culture here. The Buccaneer's full service resort and tennis club met everyone's needs in our family. We'll definitely return."
    —A.G., Adv., April 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating "Great getaway both on and off the court! Only one pro but he was awesome! Don DeWilde, the tennis pro, set us up with lessons for the kids, clinics for us, and match play. Great personality and very good with different skill levels. Kids (ages 6-11)loved him! We saw all ages playing throughout the day. Would definitely recommend this resort and will probably go back!"—I.S., Adv. Int., March 2010
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Great tennis facilities, Don is a master, lots of help setting up games."—J.H., Adv. Int., March 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating "The Buccaneer, located on the north shores of St. Croix, was a great place to vacation. The grounds are fabulous, and the room are spread out so that you feel very private. The tennis courts are in great shape.....and the pro is excellent. My husband, the tennis player, said it was the best lesson he ever had, and it was worth the travel time to just even do that! And Wendy, who works at the Club, was excellent at setting up games for my husband! A happy husband, who is having fun with tennis, makes for a happy wife, who likes to snorkel!"—L.O., Adv. Int., January 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating "This is a really nice tennis club with eight well kept asphalt courts. The staff is very friendly and flexible and it was easy to get a court or change court times during the Christmas vacation week we were there. There is also a well stocked shop and ability to get rackets re-strung overnight on the premises. Don deWilde, the tennis pro, did a great job with a lesson for my son.
    This is all located in the middle of a gorgeous resort right on the Caribbean with lots of other island stuff to do for those who cannot play tennis non-stop. I highly recommend this spot for tennis and island/beach relaxation."
    —D.B., Adv. Int., January 2010
  • 3½-Ball Rating "The resort and tennis facilities came recommended from friends who enjoy tennis. I have never played tennis before and was nervous about taking on a new sport. The location and facilities were wonderful and Don's friendly and helpful way of breaking down the grips, swings and body movement were fabulous. He has created a new tennis fanatic out of me. I plan on visiting The Buccaneer again in the future for more refresher lessons."—D.R., Beg., January 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—L.B., Adv., April 2009
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Don is a superb coach. The program is simply outstanding!"—A.L., Int., April 2009

Rate Buccaneer


Ratings

(138 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Instruction
4-Ball Rating
Game Matching
4-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4-Ball Rating
Cuisine
4-Ball Rating Lodging
4-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
3½-Ball Rating
Dollar Value
4-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4½-Ball Rating Setting
4½-Ball Rating
Kids' Programs
4½-Ball Rating Romance
4½-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4-Ball Rating

Ratings

(138 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Instruction
4-Ball Rating Cuisine
4-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4-Ball Rating Setting
4½-Ball Rating Romance
4½-Ball Rating Kids' Programs
4½-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Game Matching
4-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4-Ball Rating Lodging
4-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
3½-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4½-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4-Ball Rating

Rates and Reservations

Lodging consists of hotel rooms, cottages, hotel suites, and luxury oceanfront suites. 

Visit the website for current rates

The Buccaneer
P.O. Box 25200
Gallows Bay
St. Croix, 00824-2100 U.S. Virgin Islands