Search
Email Us
Tennis Resorts Online
The Buccaneer, St. Croix, USVI
Courtesy The Buccaneer

The Buccaneer

St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands




Four Seasons Nevis

Enjoy your 4th Night Free at the new Four Seasons Resort Nevis!. A modern embodiment of the spirit and soul of the Caribbean, this beachfront oasis has been reimagined and revitalized, while remaining rooted in history and heritage. Discover a captivating combination of adventure, exploration, serenity and recreation. All that, when combined with the uniquely Nevisian hospitality, forms one perfect only-in-Nevis paradise. Tennis lovers can play at the Caribbean's No. 1 tennis centre, choosing from three different surfaces and programs managed by Peter Burwash International. For reservations, please call 869-469-6238 or visit fourseasons.com/nevis



Your Call

Here's what others have had to say about Buccaneer.

  • 4½-Ball Rating "I have taken multiple lessons and clinics with Coach Kevin Motta at The Buccaneer. He has improved my game A LOT and knows exactly how much to push - he adapts his coaching style very well to suit the needs of the player. He offers advice while I am playing and if he is around in the club, which is spot-on - slight tweaks to a serve stance, or strategy on how to rally depending on the opponent, etc. Kevin is one of the best coaches around. Gayle Vanesse, the Tennis Club manager, is very nice to work with, makes sure that players a matchup on a similar level, and even coordinates activities while she is away on her two days off. She also invited me to one of the tennis tournaments while I was in town, and I had a great time socializing with the tennis-lovers in St Croix."—S.G., Int., March 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Lovely facility in a beautiful setting. Staff was very helpful in setting up matches, and very energetic. Will definitely return."—D.D., Pro, March 2020
  • 3½-Ball Rating "We signed up for a week of tennis clinics and lessons at the Buccaneer because we'd heard great things about the resort from friends. No disappointments here! Coach Kevin did a fantastic job of improving our tennis by encouraging us to make some small changes -- and by making the process fun. Others who came on clinic days -- many of whom lived in St. Croix -- all came because he's such a great teacher. Adding pickleball to the mix was a bonus. Stan was a wonderful teacher, and we were able to come off the court after our first lesson with enough of a sense of the game to be able to play in a social a couple of days later. And Gayle, who does the scheduling and runs the shop, couldn't have been nicer and more organized. Loved the laid-back family feeling of the Buccaneer and would definitely recommend it to anyone. We visited at the end of February 2020."—B.Q., Low Int., March 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating "My 2020 tennis experience at the Buccaneer was top notch. The cordial staff at the pro-shop organized quality matches as well as clinics and instruction and were always ready to meet my specific needs."—A.L., Adv. Int., February 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating "The Buccaneer has a wonderful, friendly staff. We felt right at home and always had great tennis partners for Round Robin. It's the best tennis on St. Croix."—L.S., Adv. Int., February 2020
  • 4-Ball Rating "Beautiful resort! Tennis is great Gayle and Stan run a super tennis program! Can’t say enough about there commitment to make everyone tennis happy! Coach Kevin is great it was fun to take a lesson.and I learned definitely 1 new thing . And I used it back in my first U S TA match . Thanks ?? So needless to say we go back every year! Thanks guys."—J.C., Pro, February 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We are returning guests for 20 years. I think that says a lot! The tennis staff are professional & go the extra mile to ensure guests have a great time on the courts. We have made lasting friendships with local residents and hotel guests. We look forward to next year."—J.M., Adv. Int., February 2020
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—S.C., Adv., February 2020
  • 4-Ball Rating "I brought my tennis racquet to St. Croix with the hope that I might be able to hit a few balls on my vacation. The Buccaneer was recommended by the owner of our rental home. When I called the tennis shop, Gayle warmly greeted me and set up a game for me the next day. I was so excited. My husband and our good friends signed up for a clinic while I played doubles. Afterwards, we had lunch at The Mermaid restaurant and lounged by the beach ($10 per person) for the rest of the day. The Buccaneer is a friendly destination for tennis players, whether local or from afar. Gayle and her husband Stan obviously enjoy their jobs as the Buccaneer's tennis ambassadors. Towels and cold water are always on hand. The courts are in adequate shape considering the island weather. You feel welcome and a part of a group of tennis lovers, regardless of your level. The Buccaneer is the place to play when you visit St. Croix."—N.H., Adv. Int., February 2020
  • 4-Ball Rating "The Buccaneer has 8 courts and in Feb 2020 I played every day if I wanted. Great arrangement by Gayle and her husband with emails and players organised so efficiently! They're a lovely couple and all the players are so friendly and fun. There are lots of locals who come to play, plus a great coach if you want to take a clinic. Also many couples who return year after year for the tennis and the hotel. The courts are just above the beach, so easy to stroll 5 minutes to the sea and swim, or stay all day on the sun loungers. Restaurant there too. I specifically came to St Croix for the tennis and have been absolutely delighted by what I found. So thanks Gayle!"—V.M., Adv. Int., February 2020
  • 4-Ball Rating "Tennis at the Buccaneer is wonderful because of the amazing staff and welcoming vibe. Gayle and her husband Stan are incredibly upbeat and whether it’s the fun round robin on Sundays or the clinic most mornings, one can play great tennis at any level. Gayle figures out your level and organizes a game. It’s also a lovely hybrid of hotel guests and locals. Stan is the pickle ball instructor. My kids and I had never played, and we had a really enjoyable lesson that converted us to the game. There are also socials after the events. It’s a wonderful program."—A.M., Adv. Int., February 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating "We have been coming to St. Croix for over 20 years and the Buccaneer and it’s tennis facility have always been an important part of our vacation. Last month we didn’t two weeks on the island and tennis has been on the menu every day. There has been a remarkable improvement in the atmosphere and the professionalism at the Buccaneer facility. There is a buzz of activity , fun and serious instruction which was contagious. Starting with the facility manager Gayle, who works her you know what off to make playing there not only possible but enjoyable, from drying the courts to providing ice water , organizing the round robin or keeping you informed about your lessons or clinics. Very professional! The Pro, Kevin , is the heart and engine of this new tennis experience at the Buccaneer. Taking lessons with him and attending the DAILY clinics he holds, has been such a fun but more importantly rewarding time spent. Best instruction I have received in my 20 years of taking tennis lessons. The Buccaneer tennis center has made such a great improvement in their offering, that we have decided to come back later this year again and build the entire vacation around tennis with Gayle and Kevin. Thank you guys"—J.E., Int., February 2020

See more reviews

Rate Buccaneer


Ratings

(154 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Instruction
4-Ball Rating
Game Matching
4-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4-Ball Rating
Cuisine
4-Ball Rating Lodging
4-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
3½-Ball Rating
Dollar Value
4-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4½-Ball Rating Setting
4½-Ball Rating
Kids' Programs
4½-Ball Rating Romance
4½-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4-Ball Rating

Ratings

(154 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Instruction
4-Ball Rating Cuisine
4-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4-Ball Rating Setting
4½-Ball Rating Romance
4½-Ball Rating Kids' Programs
4½-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Game Matching
4-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4-Ball Rating Lodging
4-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
3½-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4½-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4-Ball Rating

Rates and Reservations

Lodging consists of hotel rooms, cottages, hotel suites, and luxury oceanfront suites. 

Visit the website for current rates

The Buccaneer
P.O. Box 25200
Gallows Bay
St. Croix, 00824-2100 U.S. Virgin Islands