Search
Email Us
Tennis Resorts Online
Sea Colony, Bethany Beach, Delaware
©Roger Cox

Sea Colony

Bethany Beach, Delaware



SPR-728x90-alt

PBI Camps-Reynolds



Your Call

Here's what others have had to say about Sea Colony and Sea Colony Tennis Camp.

  • 3-Ball Rating "Days 1 and 2 of the Nike camp were amazing, but day 3 was a waste of my time. The instructor on day 3 did not build on what was taught on the first two days. In addition, I spent all of day 3 listening to what should not be done versus what should be done. Day 3 needs restructuring and all the assistants should be on the same page. Also, try to include all players in the matches."—K.C., Low Int., August 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Great facilities and staff. Lovely setting. So many courts! Everything was perfectly maintained."—M.T., Adv. Int., August 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Great coach to student ratio. Thomas was very helpful, working with all of our different skill levels."—B.G., Adv. Int., August 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—L.F., Adv. Int., May 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—J.B., Adv. Int., May 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—S.F., Adv., May 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—A.D., Adv., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—A.D., Adv., April 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating "In Southern Delaware, we are fortunate to have excellent tennis programs and facilities at Sea Colony. Built during the nationwide “tennis craze” of the late 1960’s, early 1970’s (may we fondly remember those days), Sea Colony has endured by offering excellent outstanding outdoor and indoor playing conditions and excellent instruction. Every time I have taken a clinic or a drill at Sea Colony, I’ve learned something new that has improved my game. Only three minor weaknesses: first, for nonmembers of the facility and nonresidents of the Sea Colony complex, I've never perceived much interest in the facility's arranging matches. Second, limited number of indoor courts (handy in inclement weather) although in recent years the number of indoor courts has increased. Third, some of the outdoor hard courts have been striped to accommodate playing pickleball, potentially distracting competitive tennis players trying to play tennis on those courts. If the pickleball fad does not fizzle (compare hula hoops, racquetball, etc.), then I'd prefer that Sea Colony build a few regulation pickleball courts (without, of course, displacing any tennis courts). Let tennis courts be tennis courts, and give the pickleballers their own courts. Sea Colony always should prioritize tennis over pickleball."—M.G., Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Prepare to work hard by participating in creative drills to hone your game skills. Learn strategy and reinforce mental aspect of game. Sea Colony tennis camp never disappoints. For me it’s an annual adventure with friends who want to up their game."—M.W., Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—C.L., Low Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Consistently great tennis center, with top notch facilities and excellent instruction. The staff makes all levels of players feel welcome."—T.M., Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Great facility at a superior beach resort. Tennis is well done, matches arranged as needed. Daily drills stroke of the day and cardiac tennis are run well and provide excellent instruction.. Hartru courts are pristine and are serviced and kept well by a superior ground crew. I play on Hartru in NY and have not found courts as well maintained anywhere in NY. My son and I play at Sea Colony and are amazed at how tru the bounces are and how forgiving it is on a 65 y/o knees."—R.G., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "A fabulous year-round tennis and beach resort with terrific tennis pros, programs, and clinics."—T.B., Adv., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Sea Colony Tennis helped our team get ready for the Spring season. We have attended their camps many time and always enjoy! Thomas and his staff are fabulous! We get a good workout and work on our technique and tactics. This tennis facility is the real deal!!"—E.T., Adv., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "This is a fantastic tennis location! Excellent facilities, welcoming office staff, fantastic director of Tennis and the best teaching professionals."—D.B., Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "This is an awesome, full service facility. We return year after year."—M.J., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Great tennis, close to the beach, lots of great restaurants, fitness center, pools and lots of kids activities. This is a great resort for families and for individuals/teams looking to improve their games."—G.S., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Instruction top notch, attention to each individual with excellent tips based on their goals and level. Fun, organized and thorough."—D.C., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—B.H., Adv., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "excellent tennis, loved the instruction"—E.J., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—D.F., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating "My 4.0 USTA tennis team visits Sea Colony for a weekend of tennis annually before the start of the season. The staff is excellent, providing quality instruction along with humor and personality. They are open to our questions and do their best to provide the perfect balance between improving our game, while being realistic about our potential. We consistently have a wonderful time and would highly recommend a visit."—S.F., Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Great tennis obstructing and very nice indoor and outdoor courts. Near the beach and lots of restaurants and shopping. It would be nice if there were a couple more indoor courts."—M.T., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating "Excellent court conditions and pro shop. Staff is friendly and helpful. Pros are excellent. I took the stroke of the day clinic each day I was there. The Pros were excellent. Just a great experience"—C. ., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating "Spotless tennis facility minutes away from Bethany beach. Area loaded with different activities and great for family fun. Would highly recommend for anyone looking to play loads of tennis in a laid back atmosphere."—R.M., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—S.J., Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Fantastic facility, instructors are great and identifying one or two area to improve and know how to clearly communicate the adjustments on how to improve."—B.E., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Excellent tennis facility and teaching."—H.S., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Excellent facilities. Great accommodations of any size to fit your needs with fantastic tennis facilities. Great location on the DE shore too with lots of good restaurants and local food (hard and soft shell crabs, tomatoes, corn, oysters). The resort attracts lots of good tennis players to hook up with in clinics, round robins or just friendly play. The staff is super friendly and knowledgeable. Highly recommend Sea Colony."—J.H., Adv., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Very friendly and accommodating staff. Made a point of asking what we wanted and verified that they were meeting our expectations. Pros made the camp a learning experience. Since the camp is long they also made sure that it was fun and not just hard work. The gift at the end of the camp is a nice touch. It would be nice if there was at least some small incentives for repeat campers."—J.D., Adv., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—P.T., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Amazing instruction, great facilities. The best tennis instructors in a top notch tennis resort."—C.G., Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—M.L., Adv., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I stay at Rehoboth Beach but come down twice a year to the Sea Colony Clinics. Every time I come I learn something. Thomas has the ability to see the next step for any level of player. I have seen him do that time and time again with players of different ratings. It's great that the steps he gives are not too great for a player at my level and at the same time, not too easy. He makes everyone feel welcome and he groups players of similar levels so that the games we play are competitive. His staff are also welcoming, good teachers, and willing to answer questions and demonstrate what they are talking about. I look forward to my trips down there."—D.T., Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—T.G., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "This place is great. Tons of courts, great pros, good group hitting sessions. Easy to find matches once you arrive. The pros will hook you up with similarly skilled players. There are year-round residents who are tennis people that are always looking for a match, or a 4th for doubles. Lots of nice condos available for rent through Wyndham and the local town is very nice. Great local restaurants open year round."—M.F., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating "We've owned property in Sea Colony's West Side since 2012. The facility is very well maintained, beautifully landscaped, with outstanding amenities which includes the Nationally Recognized Tennis facility. The fitness center is top notch and pools are in excellent condition with wonderful furniture to relax and enjoy the weather. Sea Colony staff are friendly and helpful, including a 24x7 security and maintenance staff should any issues arise. The beach is staffed and maintained with several tram shuttles making access to and from the beach easy and convenient. Great family destination !"—E.M., Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—Y.S., Low Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Strengths - listened to me and what I wanted to achieve by attending the camp. Specific tips and instructions to improve my game. Exceptional staff who remembered my name and gave me encouragement. Really nice courts. Beautiful surroundings. Good restaurants nearby. Heavenly loft with big soft puffy reclining leather chairs to rest and watch other players or watch the Tennis Channel on the big screen. Or sit at the bar and sip a glass of wine while watching the playoffs just below the railing. Loved it. Weaknesses - uh the mirrors need to be replaced; I still look like a popped can of biscuits when I tried on that really cute size 8 tennis dress."—R.H., Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Sea Colony is an outstanding tennis club and gets my highest possible rating! From the individual instruction to the clinics to the tennis socials - everything is first class! I have visited three other tennis clubs, but Sea Colony is far and away the best of the three!"—T.P., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "The pros are excellent. They give us great clinics. Quality time. Not a lot of waste."—S.A., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—D.C., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Great staff; comprehensive programs; extensive and well maintained facilities; great community."—M.F., Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The tennis clinic at Sea Colony was fantastic. The instruction was great and the drills covered all aspects of doubles tennis. The team really has their act together."—T.V., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating "Great place with great camps, clinics and pickleball. Love Love the pros."—J.W., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Great clinics-instruction is both fun and helpful. There is not another tennis facility near the Washington DC /Philadelphia/Northern VA area that provides terrific instruction, a great resort and a fun environment Thanks for a great experience!!!"—S.G., Adv., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—E.W., Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Sea Colony is an excellent tennis resort right next the beach. Great to play tennis in the morning and go to the beach in the afternoon - unless you feel like playing in the afternoon - when court availability is very good."—D.S., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating "Fun clinics and great lessons. We always include this in our times at the beach."—E.H., Int., April 2019
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Excellent teaching"—A.B., Int., April 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—J.N., Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—R.S., Int., April 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating "I have vacationed for a week+ for the past 20 years at Sea Colony because of the tennis clinics, round-robins, events, and overall convenience of having both the tennis and the beach experience. It is a lovely area with nice swimming pools and the trams to carry one to the beach, making car parking not an issue. It feels safe, and everyone is friendly and helpful. The tennis pros are top-notch and give 100% effort to make for a wonderful experience. I would like to see the daily round-robins advertised more during the normal a.m. clinics to ensure strong attendance. I would like to see any player who shows up wanting to participate in a clinic accommodated somehow, even if it's only a short private lesson. Sea Colony is definitely a favorite during the summer for great tennis and the delightful beach and pools. I always recommend it to my tennis friends."—S.C., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "take advantage of the beach and tennis in one great trip. classes were fun, well planned, and helpful. lots of energy from all instructors and it drew a great class of participants who also brought their energy and teamwork. The indoor courts looked great (didn't use) and the clay courts were amazing. Very well maintained and lots of space between the courts for gear, relaxation, and a bit of privacy. Can't wait to go back and would love to be a resident of Sea Colony some day and start everyday on the Sea Colony courts. There was construction going on during my visit to update the facility. So only for that reason it was temporarily inconvenient to reach the Pro Shop"—A.F., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating "Every summer when I travel to the beach I always make sure I jump into one of the Sea Colony Clinics. The staff is very knowledgable, the clinics are fast paced and they keep you moving. Alex and Thomas are two of the best and most outgoing pros around. I highly recommend Sea Colony if you want to keep up your tennis skills over the summer. They run fabulous group clinics as well anytime of the year. Looking forward to getting out there again this upcoming summer!"—S.R., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 2½-Ball Rating "My friend and I took a cardio tennis class, that was ok. It hard some great cardio at times, not enough fast paced action for me to sign up again. Took 2 stroke of the day classes and my only complaint was not enough focus on the stoke of the day, which I learned is only really followed in the summer. Pros never asked my name, rarely gave feed back, and never arranged the 8-12 players to put stronger players together. This doesn’t help a new player learn, and can be frustrating for the better player when balls are never returned. I believe the goal in a cardio class or a stoke of the day to to make sure ALL players are given an opportunity to hit a ton of balls. The pro must be able to change pace based on this. We also asked the front desk if we could take a cardio class on Sunday, but only one stop was left so we were told we couldn’t take it. So instead of having one person extra in a cardio class, at the rate of $25 each we were turned down. 15 minutes later we were told we could take it but no mention of a discount so we left and played outside. This was off season when courts were empty. Customer service was not helpful at all."—M.H., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Awesome resort right next to the Atlantic Ocean with a vibrant tennis program. Courts are in excellent shape and well maintained. Very close to many outstanding restaurants with some of the best seafood you will find anywhere."—R.K.,  April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—R.G., Adv., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Sea Colony is a tennis player's dream. The Head of Tennis Thomas Johnston is a skilled, professional and enthusiastic tennis pro and leader of the Sea Colony program. They have multiple surfaces indoor and outdoor, the facilities are maintained with excellence and the programming is top notch. I have been taking instruction and doing drill camps for many years here and it is a fantastic experience. The tennis staff is exceptional!"—L.P., Adv., April 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating "After playing for 4 years, I finally decided to take lessons with friends. Great time and literally "game changing" for me. Amazing what I didn't know"—P.B., Low Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—D.R., Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—J.P., Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "In 2017 Sea Colony had several very unprofessional and rude staff members who allowed certain "owners" to unfairly monopolize the courts and game the system of reservations to the exclusion of others. I believe those staff members no longer work at Sea Colony. They created an extremely unfair system of preferences to the regulars who also are on the tennis committee, while legitimate but infrequent users were exclude from their limited fair use. They went as far as changing and deleting confirmed court reservations to kick off owners and threatened to call security in preference to others. This happened more than once, so it was the standard operating procedure of at least a few staff members. I don't believe that Thomas Johnston had any idea what his staff was doing. Or he did, and subsequently fixed it. Other than several terrible experiences with these inexcusable staff members, the facility and its programs are first rate! The 2018 experience was totally and pleasantly different. Great staff in 2018!!"—M.B., Adv., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Great facilities and a tremendous number of clinics. Something for everyone."—K.H., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—G.B., Adv., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Great people, great facilities!"—T.B., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—C.W., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The Sea Colony Tennis Center has no close competition for perhaps 100 miles. Without the six excellent indoor courts being available in the winter, many of us would probably consider moving to another state. The outdoor Har-Tru courts are tournament-grade, busy, and well-maintained during the outdoor season. The facility maintains a new, no-expense-spared appearance. Improvements are continuously made. The Tennis Staff is very dedicated to customer service. It’s not unusual to see the Director, Thomas Johnston (between lessons and clinics), touring the outdoor courts in the summer, greeting the players, asking how they and the courts are playing, and offering tips, all done with his distinctive professionalism and humor. The Tennis Manager, Krista Burton, is helpful and friendly. It is a privilege to attend the very-well-run tournaments held at the Sea Colony Tennis Center. Although the facility is primarily for Sea Colony homeowners, guests, and renters, summer and winter memberships remain an outstanding opportunity."—L.L., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—J.K., Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Wonderful weekend with our USTA team. Alex created clinics for things we wanted to work on and at our level. Continued to challenge us the whole weekend."—S.G., Adv., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "They have outstanding facilities and instructional staff. The clay courts are in tip-top shape. The staff is quite helpful in helping arrange matches with similar level players. The courts are a few blocks from the ocean - bit asset for a resort - but occasionally it is windy, affecting outdoor play."—P.P., Adv., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—J.E., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Sea Colony is an exceptional tennis facility with great teaching staff. Thomas does a fantastic job at recruiting and retaining excellent teaching pros. Their clinics are the best that I have been to. They offer hard courts as well as clay courts and have six indoor hard courts. In my mind, their tennis clinics (cardio as well as teaching clinics) are the best part of going to the Delaware shore."—K.W., Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "It is an awesome place to play. The professionals are very talented and easy going. Love everything about the place!"—V.M., Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Love the staff and quality instruction! The clinic times and availability are outstanding! The convenience to major east coast cities is excellent! Accommodations within the Sea Colony community and surrounding area are affordable and readily available!"—J.B., Int., April 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating "Outstanding teaching pros - ability to focus on each individuals needs within a group setting exceptionally well plus they make it fun!"—T.H., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—J.G., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Every year for the last 15 years I make a trip to Sea Colony with my tennis teammates. It is a wonderful bonding experience, great work out, and a super warm-up to our USTA competitive season. Thomas and his staff have always come through with great drills, strategy and suggestions for our games. Our last trip was a few weeks ago and our group of 12 women said it was the best experience we have had yet."—C.B., Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Great tennis facility with excellent pros and fun, instructive daily clinics."—C.W., Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—B.H., Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—G.L., Adv., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—H.D., Adv., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "I was part of a 4.0 USTA team that went to the 3 day Sea Colony camp to hone our tennis skills and get ready for the spring season. The coach at Sea Colony asked us what were the specific skills we wanted to work on. He took our list and plotted out a very specific and helpful series of drills for us over the 3 days of the camp. They provided us with a pro on each court and they were excellent! They also took individual training with players who requested it. It was a great camp and I learned some new skills/tricks, I'dd come back next year for sure."—C.C., Adv., March 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—L.A., Adv. Int., March 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating "Enjoyed a week of well run advanced clinics with a friendly, diverse, skilled set of coaches. Great location for a beach vacation for the whole family. On the court, sessions combined fun, challenging drills with competitive play. Particularly enjoyed working with several pros over the course of the week. Also, it was quite convenient to have indoor courts available when mother nature had her own plans."—R.F., Adv., March 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—M.Y., Adv. Int., January 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—K.B., Int., September 2018
  • 2-Ball Rating ""—J.W., Adv., September 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "Excellent instructions. Great pro's. Excellent facility. Thomas is a great instructor as well as a great director. Tons of fun."—M.M., Adv., April 2018
  • 4-Ball Rating "Great facility with great pros. Very friendly and helpful with all aspects of tennis"—S.M., Int., April 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—A.S., Int., April 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "You don’t need to come to Sea Colony with a group or even a partner because you can just hop in any of the morning clinic drills by yourself. There is a clinic for every level. The pros are all great for private lessons too. In the afternoons, there are round robins as well. In addition to tennis, there are so many activities for those family members or guests who don’t play tennis, so they won’t miss you if you spend all your time at the courts! You won’t find any place like Sea Colony on the East Coast in the Mid-Atlantic or New England areas — a tennis resort right on the beach. And the surrounding towns are awesome, especially the outlet shopping in Rehoboth Beach."—C.C., Adv. Int., April 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Great people! Lots of courts that are well kept. No showers. Wonderful teachers."—T.B., Adv. Int., April 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—S.L., Adv. Int., April 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—J.G., Adv. Int., April 2018
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—D.C., Adv. Int., April 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We had a great time at a mixed doubles weekend camp. Good instructors covered a number of areas of learning. We hope to do it again!"—J.M., Adv. Int., April 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—D.K., Int., April 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "We recommend Sea Colony all the time to friends, and return at least once a year for a private weekend camp. Excellent instruction; we always bring home new approaches and skills to enhance our tennis games."—D.M., Adv. Int., April 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "This is our 8th year at Sea Colony to prepare our team for the USTA season. All three pro's working with us were excellent. Each one added something to take home to think about and work on. Facility is clean, well stocked pro shop."—S.G., Adv., April 2018
  • 4-Ball Rating "Excellent drills in a fun but highly organized manner. Instructors. very good at helping each player get to next level."—M.M., Adv. Int., April 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—B.S., Adv., April 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "Extremely attentive And knowledgeable staff from the tennis pros down to the cleaning staff. All were friendly and helpful to all our needs. Beautiful scenery with immaculate grounds and courts."—D.Y., Adv. Int., April 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "THE BEST TENNIS PROGRAM! If you want to improve your game to a new level, you've got to get to Sea Colony Tennis and take lesson or adult group camp with Thomas and his excellent staff of Tennis professionals. Not only their program is top-notch, their admin and pro-shop staff, especially Krista, is very responsive to your needs to make you really looking forward to your session. Thomas's instructions, tips and dedication to making sure tennis is done right is The BEST! And the beautiful beach is right at your front door! We have make this our regular "Tennis Home" every year!"—C.P., Int., April 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—D.B., Adv. Int., April 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Friendly and family atmosphere offering great tennis facilities and instruction along with beach, pools and other activities"—H.Z., Adv., April 2018
  • 3½-Ball Rating ""—R.R., Adv., April 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—H.S., Adv. Int., April 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Very convenient for players in the mid-Atlantic region. An excellent Tennis Camp that truly is fun and meaningful for all levels and ages. The instructors are knowledgeable and personable. The drills are well-run and really help build skills. If you want to learn how to play effective, high percentage doubles in one weekend...this is the place to go. Video analysis and mental toughness coaching are added bonuses. Great Pro Shop with friendly, welcoming staff. The facility itself is always clean and very well-maintained."—M.J., Adv. Int., April 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—B.C., Adv. Int., April 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Love it; have loved it for years. Both of my children began their tennis at Sea Colony and, over the years, both they and the program have grown. We're now starting yet another generation of tennis players who are learning at Sea Colony. While the leadership and the pros have changed over the years, the dedication to excellence, to learning, to making tennis a wonderful experience, whatever the age and ability, have been mainstays."—T.F., Low Int., April 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Sea Colony at Bethany Beach , Del.. continues to be my favorite tennis environment. The location, har tru courts, programs and pro's are just great."—R.K., Adv., April 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—C.C., Int., April 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "First rate facility and tennis instruction. The teaching staff works under the direction of the Sea Colony director so as to provide a consistent approach and teaching experience. Excellent set of drills throughout the week working through tennis progressions helps to cover all the facets of the game."—L.M., Adv., April 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "Loved the staff, facility, ocean proximity, agenda. Highlight of the year for my friends and me. The pros at Sea Colony were fun and offered better instruction than we've had in many other venues. We didn't want our weekend to end! [We had our own lodging so not offering opinion on that!]"—P.T., Adv., April 2018
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—M.D., Int., April 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I have nothing but a great review of Sea Colony Tennis after spending this past weekend with my tennis team there! Alex, Katie, and Thomas were wonderful and each had something to offer. Enjoyed every minute!"—K.K., Adv. Int., April 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "A group of 7 friends did a weekend camp. We are 4.0/4.5. Pros and drills were awesome! Definitely recommend"—J.S., Adv., April 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—R.F., Adv. Int., April 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—V.D., Int., April 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Strengths: Courts always in good shape. Staff always helpful. Clinics wonderful. Weaknesses: Landscaping needs work. Back of courts behind curtain not as clean as it should be. A few summer hires not as good as they should be."—M.M., Int., April 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "Great tennis- wonderful facilities! You will meet the nicest players in clinics and they will become your new tennis friends!! Beautiful accommodations and a terrific beach, also great restaurants- Sea Colony is the place to go!!!"—S.G., Adv. Int., April 2018
  • 4-Ball Rating "Great location with easy access to beach and courts. It is a place we go back to again and again (2 - 3 times/year). We have met some great people there and there is lots of excellent tennis."—G.S., Adv. Int., April 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "Sea Colony is a great destination to get both your tennis and beach "needs" fulfilled. Love the indoor club for year round play, and love that you can relax upstairs while watching live tennis and tennis matches on the huge t.v's while cooling down after a match. The staff is knowledgeable and friendly, and the instruction is great too. It's just a great place to go for tennis!"—J.K., Int., April 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Its a wonderful place to go for all levels of tennis. They do a excellent job of pairing players. Plus their energy, ability, and creativity create different experiences for all those involved. Lastly, having said all that, it makes it feel new and fresh each time I play!!"—B.P., Int., April 2018
  • 4-Ball Rating "In a overall setting, pros were good but worked 60 over crowd to much, my arm was basically ruined for 6 months and had to take prescription pain meds. No experience people there to tell me to stop but keep going your doing great. I’m still dealing with it so probably won’t return to a tennis camp. Can do on my own and group."—R.B., Adv., April 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Fantastic programs and instructors. So many courts!"—L.B., Adv. Int., April 2018
  • 4-Ball Rating "Best tennis instruction I’ve gotten. Will be going back every year!"—K.C., Adv. Int., April 2018
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—A.D., Adv., April 2018
  • 4-Ball Rating "Great place to learn, play and improve the game. Good facilities. My kids got on varsity because of the lessons there. Nice place to be. Close to the beach and good restaurants. My and kids favorite place to be."—P.B., Int., April 2018
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Sea Colony tennis is my favorite part of vacationing down ocean. I just love starting my day with one of their morning clinics - always learn something new- the pros make it fun and worth the money and it's always great playing tennis with friends on their courts. I have also attended a few weekend getways there with my ladies tennis team and we've always had a great time!"—C.A., Int., March 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "This beautiful tennis facility, in Bethany Beach, Delaware, offers tennis clinics and camps year-round. In courts indoors and outdoors, skilled instructors are there in Stroke of the Day daily clinics as well as weekend (and longer) opportunities. Instruction is excellent.I've no complaints whatsoever!"—M.D., Adv. Int., November 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "The instruction is insightful as the head pro is very good at identifying what changes will help each individual player's game. Every instructor at Sea Colony has been helpful and made my visits enjoyable - it's a great place to go for improvement and fun!"—W.B., Adv. Int., May 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "Strengths- the camp was well organized and ran on-time. 3 pros for our 11 players gave each of us a chance to work one on one with a pro during the drills. Head pro Thomas Johnson was personable, professional and remembered each of our names. Plus he had a great sense of humor. Individual coaching and positive feedback was a plus. They allowed us to play outside on a unusually beautiful day in early spring. The pace was perfect for our group and we were kept moving the entire time. Cons- can't think of any."—S.H., Adv. Int., May 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—R.G., Adv. Int., April 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Friendly , knowledgeable staff. All on the same page with their tennis instruction. Very organized classes with opportunity for all abilities."—B.M., Low Int., April 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—M.L., Int., April 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I am very impressed with Sea Colony! The facility is clean and well maintained. Their pro's are personable and knowledgeable. The staff is friendly. I find their prices to be the most reasonable anywhere. I love this place! Sea Colony is one of the main reasons we moved here."—A.B., Adv., April 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Great staff. Talented and certified instructors. Teach well. Program well organized. Participants regardless of level felt welcomed and supported to do the drill or play without predjudice. We had a ton of fun. Personally I didn't find a weakness to write about here."—I.S., Low Int., April 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "Great facility run by top notch tennis professionals"—R.K., Adv. Int., April 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "I visited sea colony last fall for a tennis clinic. I learned so much! They gave me so much knowledge to take back back with me to my home courts. I can't wait until I return to another clinic!"—R.S., Int., April 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "Great place for adults and kids. We've been coming for 7 years. My kids have been taken tennis lessons there. That got them to varsity team. Thomas Jonston is the best. He sees everything that needs to be changed and improves tennis game."—P.B., Int., April 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Great facilities, can almost always get a court, resort has it all - beach, pools, fitness center, activities, etc. The staff is great. Town of Bethany Beach is within walking distance with many good restuarants. Great night life is within 10 miles"—L.C., Adv. Int., April 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "Best weekend ever! Great instruction and So much fun."—L.M., Adv., April 2017
  • 3½-Ball Rating "The tennis classes are well instructed. However, the hour long classes are really too short. In addition, during the off season, there can be such a disparatey in skill sets of individuals taking the clinics."—L.D., Adv., April 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—B.L., Beg., April 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Very welcoming tennis clinic program. Upbeat."—B.B., Int., April 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "Sea Colony Tennis Center deserves the highest rating one can give any organization that seeks to provide both instruction and recreation to a diverse clientele. My own experience has been so positive that it seems extraordinary. The instruction has helped me improve my confidence, stroke selection, and shot tolerance--and the improvement in the last three years at Sea Colony is nothing less than miraculous. I should say that I've been playing since I was five, but I've learned more in the last three years--in terms of specific, explicit instruction--than in all other tennis lessons at some very good and popular resorts. Moving beyond the 'stroke of the day,' Sea Colony instructors provide specific guidance in court strategy for both doubles and singles matches. And they focus on the subtle but important variations of the Big Five strokes: instead of a single backhand, Sea Colony instructors work on high backhands, low back-hands, half court backhands, overhead backhands--each with its own grip or position (e.g. open stance). Down the line, cross-court, lob. The instruction is so good and precise that I turned my serve over to Director Thomas Johnson to entirely take it apart--with the goal of being able to understand what wasn't working if my serve went awry in a match. I can now vary the position and spin on my serve--all of which makes tennis so much more interesting and enjoyable. And this new confidence build strength and focus. The courts are clean--pristine, in fact--and the atmosphere is friendly and kind. Perhaps what I like most is that the Center focuses on "nice." The instructors and staff are "nice," and they communicate an atmosphere of polite niceness which is too often neglected in the politics of tennis matches and competitive jockeying for position at other country clubs where I have played (and play now). You cant ask for a better weekend of tennis instruction and play--with so many indoor and outdoor courts, clay and hard surface. And you'll leave with a smile."—B.S., Adv. Int., April 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Sea colony"—G.L., Adv., April 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—C.W., Int., April 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—J.C., Adv. Int., April 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—M.H., Int., April 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—L.M., Int., April 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Great place to work on your game. Something for everyone. Located in a great beach community."—M.C., Adv. Int., April 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—C.P., Adv. Int., April 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Sea Colony Tennis is a great place for camps. Instructors are knowledgeable and excellent communicators. Facilities are impeccable and the office is efficient and organized. Overall this facility is outstanding and highly recommendable."—J.P., Int., April 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The tennis camp was very well run and fun. The times were accommodating and the pricing was reasonable. There was great value with the instructors. The instruction was meaningful and ample. We came away with more skills to practice."—A.T., Int., April 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—M.L., Int., April 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "Sea Colony staff is able to address every level of player with positivity and applicable instruction, while always having fun! The prices are fair, parking is adequate, and the setting is close to the beach. Just perfect. No negative comments."—T.R., Adv. Int., April 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "Strengths: Plenty of tennis courts (hard and clay), all levels of tennis players, friendly and knowledgeable staff, located near ocean and good restaurants, biking, swimming, new fitness center. Weakness: Small pro shop, no lounge area on ground floor of tennis center."—D.G., Adv. Int., April 2017
  • 3½-Ball Rating ""—C.M., Adv. Int., April 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—M.A., Int., April 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "Beautiful facilities, excellent coaching, nice community, near the ocean. Reasonable prices even in high season."—E.W., Int., April 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "I'm not a frequent visitor to tennis resorts but I play a lot in my home area at a number of facilities and have several good points of reference about pro staffs, drill sessions, and facilities. I've found Sea Colony to have a high-quality teaching staff and excellent facilities. It's well-run and there are drill sessions daily for all levels. You can play on lots of hard courts and HarTru - dozens of courts available. They run a number of round robins and there is a hitting list of locals and visitors. I've taken advantage of private sessions with some of the staff and followed up with the high-quality ball machine. Video sessions are next for me. There have been a lot of big improvements in the club itself and there is a brand new fitness center a short walk away."—C.S., Adv., April 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—N.F., Adv. Int., April 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—S.M., Int., April 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—P.D., Int., April 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Beautiful setting with plenty of courts, inside and outside. Tennis pros are excellent and make it pleasant to play there. Wide variety of clinics and socials. Plus, walking distance to a fabulous beach. Our favorite tennis spot!"—S.M., Int., April 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "Sea Colony continues to be an exceptional tennis facility. Great staff and well-stocked pro shop keep Sea Colony at the top of my tennis list!"—P.P., Adv. Int., April 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "Excellent facility led by Thomas Johnson who runs a fabulous program. I am going to the USTA Nationals in 2 weeks and needed some help while in Sea Colony last week. Thomas set me up with a great volley lesson with Greg, a doubles match with 3 great guys and 2 sessions on the ball machine. I'm ready."—C.R., Adv. Int., April 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "With 6 indoor courts and more than two dozen outdoor courts, there's always action at Sea Colony tennis. The daily clinics are fun and rewarding. Private instruction is top notch and a really good value."—R.S., Int., April 2017
  • 3½-Ball Rating ""—K.L., Beg., April 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "The tennis instruction is exemplary. Weekend camps are great fun. Both hard and clay courts are available."—J.R., Adv. Int., April 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—D.D., Adv., April 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—P.F., Adv., April 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "Thomas and his team of pros were exceptional. It was a great weekend of drills, lots of doubles play and even some video analysis. We will be back."—T.R., Adv. Int., April 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Awesome experience. I love Sea Colony"—M.S., Adv. Int., April 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "Awesome staff! Lessons are terrific"—S.K., Low Int., April 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Sea Colony has high quality hard courts and clay courts with excellent clinics for all abilities. It is easy to meet players of comparable abilities through the clinics and get some additional playing time during your vacation. The instruction is of high caliber but it is a laid back environment where everyone can feel comfortable and enjoy the tennis."—J.P., Adv., April 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—T.H., Adv. Int., April 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—E.H., Int., April 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Sea colony tennis is a full service facility. The pros are outstanding and always ready to assist players."—M.W., Adv. Int., April 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Strong centralized program with great staff."—D.K., Int., April 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We love Sea colony, bethany beach, DE! We go every year with our team before the USTA team season. We really enjoy spending time with the coaches. The clinics are fun and informative."—H.G., Adv. Int., April 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—A.B., Int., April 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—C.G., Adv., April 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "The best tennis clinic I have ever attended. Thomas Johnston director of the facilities does a great job in making sure all taking clinics are satisfied with their lesson. BEST TENNIS CLINIC!!! Sea Colony also gives back to the community by giving free tennis lessons to our Wounded Warrior's who come visit in September with their families."—R.R., Int., April 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "How good I felt when the head pro calls me by name and mentions last years tip. Or when he sees we are missing a 4th. , volunteers to fill in. That says it all about Sea Colony, Bethany Beach, Del.."—P.T., Adv. Int., April 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "-LOTS OF COURTS -GREAT PROS -LOTS OF SOCIALS -GREAT RESTAURANTS IN THE AREA -NICE BEACHES WEAKNESS: ON RAIN DAYS LIMITED INDOOR COURTS FOR DAILY CLINICS"—D.R., Int., April 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "Love tennis at Sea Colony! They offer a lot of different formats (e.g., clinics, lessons, and camps) and pros with different styles. Courts and balls are always in great condition and friendly staff!"—S.L., Adv. Int., April 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Fantastic tennis facility. Outdoor hard and clay courts. Indoor courts are awesome. Friendly staff. Great instructors."—N.M., Low Int., April 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "We make Sea Colony Tennis a yearly event for ourselves and 5 other couples. We always get great instruction, learn things, gain confidence in our game and have a wonderful time with the pros. Was asked for a weakness, I'd say.... leaving."—L.W., Int., April 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—J.G., Int., April 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "Sea Colony is terrific. Great for tennis. Great for families. It is a highlight of our year."—J.G., Adv. Int., April 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—C.G., Int., April 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—J.B., Int., April 2017
  • 3-Ball Rating "Great tennis and resort facilities. We used to stay a week at Sea Colony twice a summer every year for five or six years. We really enjoyed the tennis. The last couple of years, the tennis instruction has gone down hill. I think the level of players has gotten lower so the instructors are trying to accommodate more levels of play. That is a good thing. But in the past, the instructors would split the group up more intelligently and logically during point play. These days the groups are split randomly unless you ask for the Head Pro to intervene.....and who wants to do that every time. The point play/live ball could be 13 year old beginners on the court with 5.0 USTA rated players. Strange and not fun for anyone involved. Good price for tennis though and the resort has everything you need."—C.M., Adv., March 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Great venue for get-away tennis. Clay Courts in terrific condition; indoor courts extremely well lit. Staff friendly and willing to go the extra mile to ensure the maximum amount of play time. Highly recommended!"—J.R., Adv., October 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "This has to be one of the best kept secrets in the US. Sea Colony is a beautiful facility with indoor courts, outdoor hard courts, and out door har-tru courts. The staff is top notch. But best of all, the location is just a short walk from the beach. Talk about the best of all worlds !!!!"—B.E., Adv., October 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The facility was excellent. The staff was very helpful and the courts were in good shape. I played both inside and out. The indoor lighting is good and the speed of the court moderate so that rallies could be had. I would recommend Sea Colony to everyone and I will definitely be back."—F.K., Adv., October 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—M.E., Adv., May 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "ALL instructors are amazing. Indoor, hard courts, har-tru..... Great programs, great instruction. Everyone there is willing to help in all facets of the game."—C.G., Int., May 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating "Great tennis program. Daily drop in and play clinics for adults. Friendly atmosphere for all skill levels. I've never had a problem finding games at my level due to excellent pro shop matching program."—P.C., Adv. Int., April 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—L.B., Adv. Int., April 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—D.M., Adv. Int., April 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "Sea Colony Tennis rocks! My son looks forward to his clinics, lessons and tournaments at the center. Thomas and his team are fantastic!"—T.R., Adv. Int., April 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—S.S., Int., April 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Great customer focus and flexibility. Modern game tennis instruction."—J.D., Adv. Int., April 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating "Excellent cap with superb instruction. Can't think of any weaknesses."—J.G., Adv. Int., April 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating "Our tennis weekend was awesome! There were four of us so we got alot of work. The best part is that Austin completely fixed my serve! I was having so much difficulty for a few years and he fixed it (or me)!!! Too bad he has moved on, but it was a great time, and great learning experience."—P.K.,  April 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "My daughter looks forward to Sea Colony Junior Tennis 3 times a week, and now is on her 5th year. Under the direction of Thomas Johnston and his amazing pro staff, she has developed her skills and love of tennis. Now we are attending USTA Tournaments and looking forward to the high school tennis team. Sea Colony is a warm, welcoming place to learn and grow."—C.P., Adv. Int., April 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—D.M., Adv. Int., April 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "The Sea Colony Tennis Facility is excellent - the indoor courts are brightly lit, courts are well maintained, and the pro shop has everything you need. But what makes the Sea Colony Tennis camp special is Head Pro Thomas Johnston and his staff of top tier instructors. They are great communicators and extremely positive when teaching new concepts which helps take the stress out of learning new techniques and strategies. Thomas frequently requested feedback and suggestions so that our camp was tailored to the specific needs of our 12 person private camp. I've been to camp at Sea Colony four times in the past 14 months, each time with a different set of people, and I can say each camp was uniquely tailored to our needs. I was also able to immediately incorporate new techniques and strategies into my game when I got back home. The instructors are creative at handling a variety of skill levels and personalities, often within the same group of camp participants. They kept our group moving through several drills that all built upon one another, enforcing what we'd learned while introducing something new. There always seemed to be a logical progression. Last but not least, Thomas and his assistant instructors consistently displayed their great sense of humor and kept us smiling the whole time, we had a ton of fun throughout the weekend! I highly recommend the Sea Colony Tennis Camp to anyone looking for improvement to their tennis game, a team building event for their USTA team, or just a fun weekend get away."—D.M., Adv. Int., April 2016
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Great camp and great instruction! As always! Thomas and his crew always show our teams a good time with lots of exercise and instruction. Would go back as often as possible!"—J.D., Adv. Int., April 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Every thing your tennis needs , at high quality, is at SeaColony. Except for grass courts."—R.K., Adv., April 2016
  • 2-Ball Rating "The staff was rude and the pro shop uninviting."—S.L., Adv. Int., April 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "Sea Colony Tennis Resort is hands down the best vacation resort for active families. The tennis facilities are superior as are the overall resort amenities: fitness centers, indoor and outdoor pools, adult and children's fitness and entertainment activities, and all of that is set on the shore of the cleanest, quietest, best beach in the Delmarva peninsula. We vacationed for years at Sea Colony and loved it so much we bought a vacation home there."—T.S., Int., April 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—M.P., Int., April 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating "Sea Colony Tennis is the best in vacation tennis! The courts are immacualte and well maintained. There are so many courts within the complex you can guarantee you'll play when you want! The round robins are fun and well organized. Lastly, there are players of all levels making it fun and challenging. I have been goinf there for 15 years! Richard from NJ"—R.G., Adv. Int., April 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—M.Y., Adv. Int., April 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating "This is a great resort/facility - well maintained inside and out. Nice location near restaurants, beach, shops. Lots of families and very busy and very quiet sports - depending on what you are looking for."—P.K., Adv. Int., April 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I really enjoy Sea Colony. I have been taking clinics, and lessons there for the past 3 years. Great instruction and a good variety of players and pros. It's always a big part of my beach vacation!"—J.A., Int., April 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I did this camp at the beginning of March. Awesome camp. We had lots of instruction and great guidance on strategy and following the ball in doubles play. I learned some invaluable tip on every shot. I would highly recommend this camp."—J.A., Int., April 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "Thomas and his team really have their act together. They break down every group into logical skill levels. But no group is left without a very talented and helpful instructor. My family goes to a clinic there every chance we get on vacation. Thomas and his team teach things in a way that you can remember and implement during your next matches and for many years to come . If my tennis game has improved at all it is largely due to what I've learned at sea colony."—J.A., Int., April 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating "Extremely friendly and knowledgeable staff"—E.N., Int., April 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—K.B., Int., April 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—G.B., Adv., April 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "There are so many awesome tennis experiences here that I don't even know where to begin....from the fabulous stroke of the day clinics, aerobic tennis, private lessons, tennis games, round robins, player matching, informal groups, and tennis weekend camps. I've done them all. The teaching staff is, above all, enthusiastic and FUN! There are about 30 courts, including 6 indoor on which to experience all levels of play! The facility and grounds are exceptionally beautiful with the BEST dining in all directions."—L.B., Adv., April 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating "My tennis teammates & I LOVE coming to Sea Colony. We choose it for team camps, individual clinics, and even participate in tournaments. The staff is amazing & the location is comfortable."—T.D., Adv. Int., April 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating "This is paradise! You get to spend an entire morning playing tennis (with a variety of options from cardio to individual classes) , the afternoon at the beach, and have enough options for dinner out or can always cook in. I loved this place so much that after my first visit I took a group of 6 friends back with me. We all loved it and promised to come back next year."—C.V., Adv. Int., April 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We had 12 ladies down for a tennis clinic weekend and everyone had a fabulous time. The program was organized well. The best thing for me was the energy and positive attitude of the Pro Staff teaching the clinics. They kept it moving and kept us directed while giving feedback the entire time. Big Thank You to all at Sea Colony!!"—A.H., Int., April 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "Great resort with an outstanding tennis program. They have 34 tennis courts, 10 outdoor pools, 2 indoor pools and private beach access with trams that will take you to the beach. Great tennis clinics and camps for all ages. Bike and walking paths throughout the development. A true vacation spot."—W.C., Adv. Int., April 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "I've gone to their drop in clinics for the past few years and they have been very well run. They do a good job placing similar skill levels together and the instruction was always on point. There are always a good number of participants and the ratio of coaches to students was great."—D.F., Adv., April 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "I have never been to a tennis facility where the enthusiasm is down right contagious! Upon approaching Sea Colony, you see people briskly and cheerfully walking or riding bikes to the courts. Once there, you are greeted by such warm and friendly professionals. There are always clinics going on for different levels. Often there is exhilarating music playing so it gets you really pumped up for playing well!! I LOVE it here!!!"—J.C., Adv. Int., April 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Program is organized well, Thomas tries to keep the levels of play even. The coaches are terrific and keep the sessions moving at a good pace. A great way to meet other players."—M.M., Adv., April 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating "friendly professional staff ...teachers very clear with instruction.Nice environment. would recommend to beginners and seasoned players."—E.R., Int., April 2016
  • 3½-Ball Rating ""—P.R., Adv. Int., April 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "A great camp experience incorporating skill drills, strategy and point play. You will come out of it with a great appreciation of your skills and weaknesses. What you do well and what you need to work on. However, they do not overwhelm you with too much change that it would totally mess up your game. They just highlight one or two things that each player might want to work on."—A.M., Int., April 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating "I have been to Sea Colony Tennis Camp approx. 15 times in the past 5 years. Every time I go, I learn something new and have a chance to brush up on all the basics, always with the goal of being a better doubles player. Thomas Johnston is an outstanding, personable, enthusiastic and fun Tennis Director, and his team of instructors is (usually) outstanding. Because my groups are more than 12 people, there may be some coaches who aren't part of the "core team," and these instructors sometimes don't match the level of the "regulars," but they are all still very good. The resort itself is huge, with something for everyone, and Bethany Beach is a really nice, quaint family-friendly beach town. No matter what size the group, or what level the players, Sea Colony Tennis Camp is well worth a weekend of your time -- and very affordable compared to most other Tennis Camps."—M.J., Adv. Int., April 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—D.D., Adv., April 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Sea Colony is one of the best tennis resorts I visit each year. The management, professional staff and all aspects of the tennis program is outstanding. Always treated with a welcoming respect and appreciation makes me want to keep coming back to enjoy tennis at Sea Colony. The resort is kept spotless and beautiful. Funds are used to enhance the facility and programming. I appreciate this excellent Tennis program made available to me. Keep up the great work. No recommendations for improvements at this time."—C.B., Adv. Int., April 2016
  • 3½-Ball Rating ""—P.B., Int., April 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "Sea Colony is an amazing Tennis Resort with a variety of playing surfaces. The staff is outstanding and provides great individual feedback, even in a group setting. I travel to DE from NY often and I always make time to take a clinic, a mini-camp or just play with a group. Sea Colony is located in a beautiful setting near the ocean with a myriad of activities for all and fabulous restaurants!"—B.W., Int., April 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I went with a group of 7 women to a weekend tennis camp at Sea Colony. The pace and instruction was excellent. The director, Thomas Johnson, has very useful tips and insights into each person's game. I have attended for several years and always come away with an improved game. Sea Colony Tennis is the best, I highly recommend for all tennis lovers!"—A.P., Adv. Int., April 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "My wife and I, both 4.5 tennis players, love going to Sea Colony. They have 6 great indoor courts for winter play. Outdoors, it's a nice combination of soft and hard courts, and reserving a court is rarely a problem (except maybe from 9-11AM during peak summer weeks). The teaching staff is really upbeat and offer tennis drills for every level, daily during the summer. Sea Colony in general has primarily condos available for rent, some on the beach, others closer to the tennis. Other amenities include lots of swimming pools and multiple gyms (one of them about to be reopened after a major renovation). Sea Colony takes great pride in keeping the facilities up to date. Finally, the town of Bethany Beach is great for those who like something low key (it's motto is "the Quiet Beach") but is right near Dewey and Rehoboth beaches for those who want a rowdier environment."—P.N., Adv., April 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "What a fabulous place! Great instructors, beautiful courts, fun drills. I learned a lot and plan to return for a refresh!"—E.S., Int., April 2016
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Thomas Johnson runs a first class operation who cares about people young and old, beginners and advanced, and who is developing a good junior program."—A.D., Adv. Int., April 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating "Great resort for fun tennis instruction and competitive play. Many players at all levels available. Instructors provide insightful instruction, not just cookie cutter recommendations. Instructors very friendly and make the lessons fun."—C.C., Adv. Int., April 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—J.D., Adv., April 2016

Rate Sea Colony or
Sea Colony Tennis Camp


Ratings

(690 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Instruction
4-Ball Rating
Game Matching
3½-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4-Ball Rating
Cuisine
2½-Ball Rating Lodging
3½-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
4-Ball Rating
Dollar Value
4½-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4½-Ball Rating Setting
3½-Ball Rating
Kids' Programs
4½-Ball Rating Romance
4-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4-Ball Rating


Sea Colony Tennis Camp Ratings
( 542 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating
Instruction
4-Ball Rating
Junior Tennis
4½-Ball Rating
Dollar Value
4½-Ball Rating

Ratings

(690 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Instruction
4-Ball Rating Lodging
3½-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
4-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4½-Ball Rating Kids' Programs
4½-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Game Matching
3½-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4-Ball Rating Cuisine
2½-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4½-Ball Rating Setting
3½-Ball Rating Romance
4-Ball Rating


Sea Colony Tennis Camp Ratings
( 542 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Instruction
4-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4½-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4½-Ball Rating

Rates and Reservations

Lodging consists of 1-to-5 bedroom condos and houses, some oceanfront, others near the tennis complex. During the summer, one-week bookings are required.

Visit the website for current rates

Sea Colony
33546 Marketplace
P.O. Box 480
Bethany Beach, DE 19930
302-539-6961
Toll-free: 800-732-2656
Web Link: Sea Colony