Search
Email Us
Tennis Resorts Online
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, Puerto Rico
Courtesy Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa

Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa

Rio Grande, Puerto Rico




Four Seasons Nevis

Enjoy your 4th Night Free at the new Four Seasons Resort Nevis!. A modern embodiment of the spirit and soul of the Caribbean, this beachfront oasis has been reimagined and revitalized, while remaining rooted in history and heritage. Discover a captivating combination of adventure, exploration, serenity and recreation. All that, when combined with the uniquely Nevisian hospitality, forms one perfect only-in-Nevis paradise. Tennis lovers can play at the Caribbean's No. 1 tennis centre, choosing from three different surfaces and programs managed by Peter Burwash International. For reservations, please call 869-469-6238 or visit fourseasons.com/nevis



Your Call

Here's what others have had to say about Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa.

  • 3½-Ball Rating "As a tennis vacation, this was a disappointment. The pro, Louis, is very good, but I had hoped to play several matches over the course of a one-week stay, as well as to attend clinics. The pro was unable to arrange a single match for me (a 3.5+ player looking for singles matches), or a single mixed doubles match for my wife & me. There were only two one-hour clinics the entire week, and one of those was on a Saturday (a travel day on both ends, and therefore not available to me). I ended up hitting with the pro every day, which was fine, but not what I had expected. If you are looking for a nice vacation at a nice resort with tennis on the side, Rio Mar is a good possibility. If you are looking for a tennis vacation, look elsewhere."—M.W., Adv. Int., March 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "Just finnished 5 days of tennis during the "low" season and had a great time. Called ahead as I am a single player and Debby arraigned for matches with a couple of enthusiastic and friendly locals. I also took a couple of lessons with Bolitari grad Louis who tuned me up for a great week of tennis. Pro shop is fully stocked and fees are reasonable, facilities are showing their age, but courts were well maintained, har-tru was deep, swept, courts were watered, hats off to the grounds crew. Had a great time."—B.C., Adv. Int., September 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating "Great quality clay courts. Awesome tennis instructor , Luiz , has an excellent skills clinic."—H.T., Adv. Int., May 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating "The Rio Mar is an unbelievably beautiful resort. Set amongst coconut palms, under the watchful eye of the El Yunque Rainforest, and frequented by prehistoric sized iguanas, the resort has a perfect setting. There are numerous courts from which to choose, with the choice of hard and Har-tru. The Hardcourts are in great shape, the green clay could use a good rolling and a couple of them might need a bit more love. Luis, the tennis pro is top notch. A former attendee of the Bolliteri Academy, Luis works with every level to help bring everyone's game to the next level. He is also a deceptively strong player and can give anyone a run on the court. Debbie, the manager of the facility, is very accommodating and always greets guests with a smile. Both Luis and Debbie are very helpful in helping arrange matches with local players and guests staying at the hotel. We love this place so much, we visit every other month."—G.G., Adv. Int., April 2016
  • 3½-Ball Rating "It was a great last minute tennis vacation. PR is beautiful. The resort was very large and the grounds were immaculate. The beach was beautiful and there was barely anyone on it! Most importantly the tennis instruction I received from Scott Teller was top-notch. He went above and beyond and made me feel welcome from day one. My only complaint was the rooms were a little tired. Very minor in the grand scheme of things. I was upgraded to a larger suite so I was very comfortable. All in all I had a great solo vacation and the time I spent playing tennis made it all worthwhile. I would consider returning for sure!"—A.C., Int., August 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I had a wonderful week stay in May, 2012. Easy, convenient, full-service resort; very accessible from San Juan. Well-run Peter Burwash International tennis center, managed by professional, Scott Teller. Great Har-Tru courts, in the midst of excellent renovation, that played superbly. Welcoming staff and local members. Beautiful setting near the beach and El Yunque National Rain Forest."—M.K., Adv., May 2012
  • 2½-Ball Rating "Tennis has deterioated at this resort. During Thanksgiving week 2011 there were only 5 courts playable. Of course there were no players. If you have your own partner you had no problem getting a court."—W.T., Adv. Int., November 2011
  • 3½-Ball Rating "During my stay I worked with Miguel each day. I was thrilled to have such an experienced and informed coach. Miguel added variety to my game. Not only did he teach me how to hit the shots, but why to hit them and when. He evaluated my weapons, and showed me ways to set myself up to use them. The week with Miguel reminded me why I love the game!"—B.C., Adv., April 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—E.T., Adv., April 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "We went for a girl’s tennis vacation (week before Thanksgiving week 2010) and chose PR because of the easy access by plane and car to resort. Pricing was also a factor. The courts are a bit tired, but still fine for playing. The staff was excellent; very friendly, knowledgeable, and quite accommodating. The Wyndam had a nice beach and pools. Both golf courses were also a bit tired, but fun to play and reasonably priced. Overall it was just what we were looking for: lots of tennis, laughs, and downtime."—R.R., Adv., March 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "My wife and I enjoyed a week of tennis including a clinic at the Rio Mar Tennis Center. Scott the Pro was excellent and the entire staff was very welcoming. The facilities were great with ample # of clay courts, a few Hard courts with a spectacular view of the mountains in the background. The staff is always willing to match you up for games. It was a nice way to meet a wonderful group of local members as well as other guests.  "—J.L., Adv., February 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating " I have stayed at the Rio Mar many times and highly recommend the tennis program. One of the best tennis facilities that I have been to on vacation. My most recent experience was in January 2011 when I had an opportunity to take a hitting lesson with Scott Teller who was outstanding in his clear and concise approach. Excellent facility and great teaching pros..."—R.W., Adv., January 2011
  • 3½-Ball Rating "The Rio Mar is a very nice tennis facility with many courts available. The adults clinics were fun and challenging. My husband & I enjoyed them very much. Scott Teller's instruction was very beneficial for my game. The staff is friendly and welcoming.  "—D.H., Int., January 2011
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Great tennis instructor!  "—D.B., Int., January 2011
  • 3½-Ball Rating " Great tennis courts and instructor Scott Teller is the very best! Friendly and helpful tennis court staff too!"—L.B., Int., December 2010
  • 3½-Ball Rating "We visited Rio Mar specifically to play tennis. The tennis pro, Scott Teller, was available whenever we asked and was always friendly and willing to provide the instruction we requested. His attitude, as well as the pro shops attitude, contributed to a great tennis experience. We were even matched with 2 members for a doubles match and had a great, highly competitive match.
    The tennis courts could have been better maintained. They had a poor drainage system and the hard courts had many cracks and uneven surfaces. I suggest restoring the tennis courts to attract more tennis vacationers. I would love to plan another visit to Rio Mar with more tennis players and look forward to hearing the tennis center has been renovated.  "
    —L.R., Adv. Int., November 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating "Many lighted courts, mostly clay - great on the legs! Pleasant staff always willing to accomodate.  "—R.L., Adv. Int., November 2010
  • 2-Ball Rating "Run down facilities- need upkeep! Not many people to play-match. No junior program nor many acitvities. I found the rates to be too high and the policies not clear.  "—A.P., Adv. Int., November 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating "The staff was great in securing matches both singles and doubles in my month stay at Rio Mar. The pro Scott Teller ran a tournament which was very competitive and a lot of fun.
    I understand that additional har true has been purchased and will be applied in November which will make the courts much better. They have not been resurfaced in a number of years. It is a great facility with a great staff  "
    —R.L., Adv. Int., November 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Scott Teller was the tennis professional at the Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa in Puerto Rico that I worked with. He did a fantastic job identifying areas that my game lacked as was able to quickly demonstrate strategies to help me improve those skills. I was very satisfied with my experience working with Scott and would highly recommend him as a tennis instructor to those visiting the resort and considering tennis lessons."—A.A., Low Int., October 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating "Great club members who were very friendly and fun to play with at a wide range of ability levels. The tennis pro Scott helped me alleviate shoulder pain from my serve with a private lesson, in addition to improving my power with it! I was lucky enough to be there when they had a club tournament and participate in it. It was a highlight of my vacation! The only negative is the extreme heat. Play very early or late in the day to avoid the heat."—T.V., Int., October 2010
  • 3-Ball Rating ""—V.V., Int., August 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I signed up for the Adult Tennis Clinic and was pleasantly surprised to have a private lesson with the tennis pro, Scott Teller. He was so amazing, that I signed up for each day I was at the resort. I had 6 private lessons with Scott.
    I hadn't played tennis for well over a few years. Scott was patient, professional and precise and helped me to regain my confidence in the game and re-energize me to continue to play. I had so much fun each hour at the tennis center! Scott is a true professional..despite the 90+ degree heat and high humidity, we were out there each morning hitting away and doing numerous drills to help me re-develop. Scott even went out of his way to find me a match while I was there. I lost the match, but had so much fun playing another guest. Scott even came out to watch, so that was fun. I'll be back to Rio Mar and I'll definitely keep in touch with Scott."
    —T.R., Int., August 2010
  • 3½-Ball Rating ""—K.P., Int., August 2010
  • 3½-Ball Rating ""—F.F., Int., July 2010
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Strengths: Tennis pro Scott is great! Very accessible and accomodating. He even came in on his day off to give a lesson since mine had been rained out the day before. They have both clay and hardcourts and several of each, which is nice. The staff is very friendly as well!
    Weaknesses: Since there are no tarps at the center, once it rains (and it does so frequently, at least when I was there...), the courts are unplayable for at least several hours after, so it is difficult to really plan on playing, as I was rained out of a late afternoon lesson on two occasions. Suggest playing early in the morning, before the rain and before the extreme heat set in:)"
    —E.F., Int., June 2010
  • 3½-Ball Rating "I highly recommend tennis instruction with Scott Teller. I was looking to get back into tennis, remote playing history and in just 3 sessions I felt like I learned more than I had in my entire past playing experience. Not to mention it was done in a very fun, easy going yet productive manner. I travel widely and I can say, this is one of the best experiences with professional lessons I have had!"—L.B.,  June 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating "I was very impressed with the tennis director Scott Teller. I was only staying on the resort for 4 days. This is the slow season at the hotel and I was not sure if I would be able to get in much tennis. Scott started by offering me a private lesson where we hit and he assessed my game. The lesson was thoughtful and productive. When you are on vacation you don't need someone trying to change your whole game. Scott was able to focus on one area and we were able to get in some good rallies.
    Then Scott was able to pair me with another player with my level of ability. We took a lesson together and then the other player and I were able to play on our own. I was even able to convince my wife to take a lesson with Scott!
    Scott has a great wealth of tennis knowledge. But more importantly he was able to interact well with myself and my wife.
    Scott helped to make my 15 yr. anniversary vacation memorable."
    —H.P., Adv. Int., May 2010
  • 3½-Ball Rating "I thought the tennis instructor Scott was an excellent instructor and really pointed out techniques that will be useful in my game."—M.B., Adv. Int., May 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Joao Oliveira is a great pro and I loved the tennis facility."—G.P., Adv. Int., April 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Rio Mar's tennis club is outstanding. They maintain the facilities very nicely, and everyone there is incredibly friendly and helpful. There are many courts available, both hard true and hard courts. The lessons that I received were fun and instructional and gave me a great workout. I recommend this resort to anyone who loves tennis or wants to improve their game."—R.P., Int., March 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating "I was on a five-day vacation and decided to take a lesson from the pro, Joao Olivera on the last day I was there. I had not played tennis up to that point. I have had many lessons, clinics, etc., over the past ten years, but Joao did more for my forehand and backhand in a one-hour lesson than all the lessons and clinics combined. They were fairly simple tips and I am surprised no other pro had ever keyed in as well as he did. Joao is also a very nice guy. That we both happened to be left-handed didn't hurt. I highly recommend him and the tennis facilities at the Rio Mar are excellent if you are a Har-Tru fan."—T.B., Adv. Int., February 2010
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Took several lessons with Joao Oliveira the resident pro. Was absolutely superb. Excellent player and more importantly an excellent teacher. Happens to be a very personable fun guy as well. Higly reccomended."—M.B., Adv. Int., January 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating "Just came back from from Puerto Rico and a stay for business at Rio Mar. Snuck out early to play a couple of matches and take a lesson. The Har True courts are great and when and loved the pro Joah- who gave me great workout and lesson. Just what i was looking for. The doubles matches were fina and a perfect break from the boring meetings."—S.M., Int., January 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The resort is great offering nearly empty tennis courts in Feb 2009. Two beautiful golf courses and wonderful vacation rentals available to rent by owners...we loved ours with a great view of the rain forest and golf course and a three minute walk to the courts."—A.R., Beg., January 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Superb resort with lots of skilled players to match your game. Great tennis"—E.T., Adv. Int., January 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Where else can you find 11 har-tru and 2 hard courts, an excellent tennis program and tennis pro, and friendly and supportive staff in a lush, sunny, warm setting with two golf courses as well. The only downside is that it may rain occasionally, but we always managed to get a court."—T.H., Adv. Int., January 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "What can I say? Again returned to beautiful Rio Mar and spent tow glorious weeks playing tennis every day, sometimes twice a day, at their beautiful courts. Being from LA, CA, it is a pleasure to know we have a home away from home. Debbie, Alexandra, Carmen and Joao, the PBI professional, are such great people. They go to great lengths to make your stay a pleasant one and leave no stone untirned to find you a match. Simply marvelous! Looking forward to our next visit."—C.E., Adv., May 2009
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—G.S., Adv. Int., April 2009
  • 4-Ball Rating "Super tennis facilities and outstanding staff that are gracias and always willing to assist."—T.W., Int., March 2009
  • 4-Ball Rating "Excellent tennis facilities and superior staff."—W.S., Int., March 2009
  • 3-Ball Rating "if you want to play twice a day, and have a chance to take advantage of empty clinics, which can double as cheap private lessons, the rio mar is a sensible choice among the resort lot in and around san juan. if you want to play twice a day, and have a chance to take advantage of empty clinics, which can double as cheap private lessons, the rio mar is a sensible choice among the resort lot in and around san juan. we went last month and found the place empty, which allowed us to get near private lessons with joao, who was an ethusiastic and patient instructor, truly a pro. the pro shop was also able to arrange us matches for the cost of $35 or so for the court, and considering how obscene and unfriendly some places can be, the courts at rio mar made our trip worth it.
    spacewe went last month and found the place empty, which allowed us to get near private lessons with joao, who was an ethusiastic and patient instructor, truly a pro. the pro shop was also able to arrange us matches for the cost of $35 or so for the court, and considering how obscene and unfriendly some places can be, the courts at rio mar made our trip worth it."
    —G.G., Adv. Int., March 2009
  • 4-Ball Rating "I visit Rio Mar a month ago and the place is very nice. The Staff, Joao the pro and Carmen and Alexandra are so friendly and attentive I felt like I knew them for years. I took the drills and was then matched with local players for doubles. I left feeling like I had tennis friends there I could return to play with again.
    spaceJoao Oliveira at Rio Mar in Puerto Rico is an outstanding tennis professional whose coaching is nuanced and direct. It was some of the best instructions I've ever received. The hour went very fast, but it felt like I learnt a week's worth of tennis. The teaching pro, Joao Oliveira, was the best instructor I have ever received lessons from. Clinics and private lessons will benefit all. Excellent har-tru courts, very nice pro shop. Recommended 100%"
    —A.S., Int., March 2009
  • 4½-Ball Rating "My family has a condo here so we come here all the time. This vacation was the first where we took tennis lessons, and both my father and I were thrilled with the tennis pro and the immense improvement we both saw in our games after only a few lessons. The instructor is encouraging, upbeat,and ensures a fun and rigorous tennis lesson.
    spaceNot only did my tennis game improve, but the tennis pro also helped me with my Spanish. I would recommend him to anyone who wants to improve their tennis game, get a great workout, or just hit some balls and have some fun. Keep up the great work, Joao, and Rio Mar!"
    —R.P., Int., March 2009
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Well I was very happy on being at Rio Mar and the tennis pro was great to improve my knwoledge about the tennis skills!!"—R.C.,  March 2009
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Wow, what can I say about this resort that can really reveal the true nature of this God's land? First the courts are magnificently Har-Tru clay and being from the CA bay area where there are none and over being 50 years old it really feels good. The Staff, Joao the pro and Carmen and Alexandra are so friendly and attentive I felt like I knew them for years.
    spaceNow the resort itself. The resort is incredible starting with the spacious lobby, great restaurants (at least 5 from snacks to dinner) especially Palio. The staff are incredibly nice(a teenager opened the door for me!!)especially Zondra who helped us with problems and provided us with all our needs and we left with a good feeling.
    spaceIt is located right on the beach, get the upgrade room for the beachview, you can hear the waves and are a just a hundred yards from bath water, warmer than the pools! The Rainforest is just 10 min. away.
    spaceWe will be back every year, you can bet on that!"
    —J.M., Adv., March 2009
  • 4-Ball Rating "Puerto Rico is very friendly and the scenery at Rio Mar is stunning. I took the drills and was then matched with local players for doubles. The pro was knowledgeable and helpful. I left feeling like I had tennis friends there I could return to play with again."—B.C., Int., March 2009
  • 4-Ball Rating "im very upset because the program said pbi clinic one hour, and Joao just give me half hour because its only me (one person."—R.G., Adv., February 2009
  • 3½-Ball Rating "A wonderfully friendly tennis facility with a talented pro and a staff that sets up matches for you. Plus soft courts. Don't go in the rainy season."—T.H., Adv. Int., February 2009
  • 4-Ball Rating "Excellent har-tru courts, very nice pro shop, and an excellent head pro (Joao Oliveira). Recommended."—R.T., Int., January 2009
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Joao Oliveira at Rio Mar in Puerto Rico is an outstanding tennis professional whose coaching is nuanced and direct. I look forward to a repeat."—E.L., Adv. Int., January 2009

Rate Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa


Ratings

(51 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Instruction
4-Ball Rating
Game Matching
4-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
3-Ball Rating
Cuisine
3½-Ball Rating Lodging
3½-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
3½-Ball Rating
Dollar Value
4-Ball Rating Other Recreation
3½-Ball Rating Setting
4-Ball Rating
Kids' Programs
3½-Ball Rating Romance
4-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
3-Ball Rating

Ratings

(51 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Instruction
4-Ball Rating Cuisine
3½-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4-Ball Rating Setting
4-Ball Rating Romance
4-Ball Rating Kids' Programs
3½-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Game Matching
4-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
3-Ball Rating Lodging
3½-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
3½-Ball Rating Other Recreation
3½-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
3-Ball Rating

Rates and Reservations

Visit the website for current rates

Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
6000 Rio Mar Blvd.
Rio Grande, 00745 Puerto Rico