Search
Email Us
Tennis Resorts Online
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, Puerto Rico
Courtesy Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa

Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa

Rio Grande, Puerto Rico




Four Seasons Nevis

Enjoy your 4th Night Free at the new Four Seasons Resort Nevis!. A modern embodiment of the spirit and soul of the Caribbean, this beachfront oasis has been reimagined and revitalized, while remaining rooted in history and heritage. Discover a captivating combination of adventure, exploration, serenity and recreation. All that, when combined with the uniquely Nevisian hospitality, forms one perfect only-in-Nevis paradise. Tennis lovers can play at the Caribbean's No. 1 tennis centre, choosing from three different surfaces and programs managed by Peter Burwash International. For reservations, please call 869-469-6238 or visit fourseasons.com/nevis



Your Call

Here's what others have had to say about Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa.

  • 3½-Ball Rating "As a tennis vacation, this was a disappointment. The pro, Louis, is very good, but I had hoped to play several matches over the course of a one-week stay, as well as to attend clinics. The pro was unable to arrange a single match for me (a 3.5+ player looking for singles matches), or a single mixed doubles match for my wife & me. There were only two one-hour clinics the entire week, and one of those was on a Saturday (a travel day on both ends, and therefore not available to me). I ended up hitting with the pro every day, which was fine, but not what I had expected. If you are looking for a nice vacation at a nice resort with tennis on the side, Rio Mar is a good possibility. If you are looking for a tennis vacation, look elsewhere."—M.W., Adv. Int., March 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "Just finnished 5 days of tennis during the "low" season and had a great time. Called ahead as I am a single player and Debby arraigned for matches with a couple of enthusiastic and friendly locals. I also took a couple of lessons with Bolitari grad Louis who tuned me up for a great week of tennis. Pro shop is fully stocked and fees are reasonable, facilities are showing their age, but courts were well maintained, har-tru was deep, swept, courts were watered, hats off to the grounds crew. Had a great time."—B.C., Adv. Int., September 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating "Great quality clay courts. Awesome tennis instructor , Luiz , has an excellent skills clinic."—H.T., Adv. Int., May 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating "The Rio Mar is an unbelievably beautiful resort. Set amongst coconut palms, under the watchful eye of the El Yunque Rainforest, and frequented by prehistoric sized iguanas, the resort has a perfect setting. There are numerous courts from which to choose, with the choice of hard and Har-tru. The Hardcourts are in great shape, the green clay could use a good rolling and a couple of them might need a bit more love. Luis, the tennis pro is top notch. A former attendee of the Bolliteri Academy, Luis works with every level to help bring everyone's game to the next level. He is also a deceptively strong player and can give anyone a run on the court. Debbie, the manager of the facility, is very accommodating and always greets guests with a smile. Both Luis and Debbie are very helpful in helping arrange matches with local players and guests staying at the hotel. We love this place so much, we visit every other month."—G.G., Adv. Int., April 2016
  • 3½-Ball Rating "It was a great last minute tennis vacation. PR is beautiful. The resort was very large and the grounds were immaculate. The beach was beautiful and there was barely anyone on it! Most importantly the tennis instruction I received from Scott Teller was top-notch. He went above and beyond and made me feel welcome from day one. My only complaint was the rooms were a little tired. Very minor in the grand scheme of things. I was upgraded to a larger suite so I was very comfortable. All in all I had a great solo vacation and the time I spent playing tennis made it all worthwhile. I would consider returning for sure!"—A.C., Int., August 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I had a wonderful week stay in May, 2012. Easy, convenient, full-service resort; very accessible from San Juan. Well-run Peter Burwash International tennis center, managed by professional, Scott Teller. Great Har-Tru courts, in the midst of excellent renovation, that played superbly. Welcoming staff and local members. Beautiful setting near the beach and El Yunque National Rain Forest."—M.K., Adv., May 2012
  • 2½-Ball Rating "Tennis has deterioated at this resort. During Thanksgiving week 2011 there were only 5 courts playable. Of course there were no players. If you have your own partner you had no problem getting a court."—W.T., Adv. Int., November 2011
  • 3½-Ball Rating "During my stay I worked with Miguel each day. I was thrilled to have such an experienced and informed coach. Miguel added variety to my game. Not only did he teach me how to hit the shots, but why to hit them and when. He evaluated my weapons, and showed me ways to set myself up to use them. The week with Miguel reminded me why I love the game!"—B.C., Adv., April 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—E.T., Adv., April 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "We went for a girl’s tennis vacation (week before Thanksgiving week 2010) and chose PR because of the easy access by plane and car to resort. Pricing was also a factor. The courts are a bit tired, but still fine for playing. The staff was excellent; very friendly, knowledgeable, and quite accommodating. The Wyndam had a nice beach and pools. Both golf courses were also a bit tired, but fun to play and reasonably priced. Overall it was just what we were looking for: lots of tennis, laughs, and downtime."—R.R., Adv., March 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "My wife and I enjoyed a week of tennis including a clinic at the Rio Mar Tennis Center. Scott the Pro was excellent and the entire staff was very welcoming. The facilities were great with ample # of clay courts, a few Hard courts with a spectacular view of the mountains in the background. The staff is always willing to match you up for games. It was a nice way to meet a wonderful group of local members as well as other guests.  "—J.L., Adv., February 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating " I have stayed at the Rio Mar many times and highly recommend the tennis program. One of the best tennis facilities that I have been to on vacation. My most recent experience was in January 2011 when I had an opportunity to take a hitting lesson with Scott Teller who was outstanding in his clear and concise approach. Excellent facility and great teaching pros..."—R.W., Adv., January 2011

See more reviews

Rate Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa


Ratings

(51 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Instruction
4-Ball Rating
Game Matching
4-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
3-Ball Rating
Cuisine
3½-Ball Rating Lodging
3½-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
3½-Ball Rating
Dollar Value
4-Ball Rating Other Recreation
3½-Ball Rating Setting
4-Ball Rating
Kids' Programs
3½-Ball Rating Romance
4-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
3-Ball Rating

Ratings

(51 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Instruction
4-Ball Rating Cuisine
3½-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4-Ball Rating Setting
4-Ball Rating Romance
4-Ball Rating Kids' Programs
3½-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Game Matching
4-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
3-Ball Rating Lodging
3½-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
3½-Ball Rating Other Recreation
3½-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
3-Ball Rating

Rates and Reservations

Visit the website for current rates

Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
6000 Rio Mar Blvd.
Rio Grande, 00745 Puerto Rico