Search
Email Us
Tennis Resorts Online
Rancho Valencia Resort & Spa, Rancho Santa Fe, California
Courtesy Rancho Valencia Resort & Spa

Rancho Valencia Resort & Spa

Rancho Santa Fe, California



La Jolla Banner

Silverado 250x250



Your Call

Here's what others have had to say about Rancho Valencia Resort & Spa.

  • 5-Ball Rating ""—J.F., Adv. Int., September 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Amazingly private and serene environment. Beautiful grounds and room amenities cannot be beat. Wonderful service at every turn. Spectacular restaurants."—J.A., Adv., September 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The pro Doug Faila, was terrific! I really enjoyed hitting with him. In fact, he was the best pro I’ve ever hit with. The sunken court was wonderful, which I specifically requested. The only comment I would make is that the director of tennis, Robin White, was not as accommodating and friendly when I specifically requested the sunken court which I had reserved. Can’t wait to go back and play!"—D.C., Adv., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Well organized Great courts Very pleasant"—D.K., Adv., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "This is an absolute amazing hidden getaway. It comes with amazing wonderful pros a beautiful boutique hotel and a unparalleled spa. There is fresh squeezed orange juice at your door in the morning, the mini fridge is stocked and free of charge and there are sports cars available to drive without charge. It is the true peaceful getaway at the highest level of service. All that said, the best part is the tennis tailored to your needs and level. Since we have found this gem, we go every year."—H.S., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Absolutely outstanding tennis resort! I've been all over the US and this one is top notch in every regard - setting, staff, pros, facilities, court surfaces, etc. Highly recommend it!"—J.F., Adv., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—M.B., Beg., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "The most peaceful and most beautiful resort I have ever been to!"—S.B., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—V.A., Adv., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I have traveled to Rancho Valencia four times in the past six years. I travel with my husband and children (ages 10-15). What I love about the tennis at Rancho Valencia is that the programming works for everyone in my family. It is great for my two daughters who are competitive junior usta players. It is perfect for my 10 year old who is moving from green dot balls to real balls. It works for my husband who doesn’t play that often and it is amazing for me, a 4.5 league player. The tennis pros are all wonderful and they work with you to arrange a great tennis schedule. The courts are fantastic and the setting could not be more beautiful. When I enter the property, I feel transformed. You can’t help but relax when you are there. The accommodations are also five star."—K.F., Adv., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—D.N., Adv., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Gorgeous setting just north of San Diego. You stay at a luxury resort that has, in its compound, a first rate tennis center with 18 tennis courts that are just minutes from your villa."—J.F., Adv. Int., February 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "For the past five years my tennis partner and I have been leading a group of twelve ladies on a tennis trip to the beautiful Rancho Valencia. From the moment we arrive to the moment we leave, the service and amenities are top-notch. We play tennis approximately four hours per day over a long weekend. Our tennis program is coordinated through the fabulous Robin White, Director of Tennis. She tailors our program based upon our input which we love. Her staff of pros are always spot-on and take the time to listen to our feedback to customize their instruction; and they are all really fun! Off the court, we thoroughly enjoy the two restaurants on property (the food is amazing!) as well as the workout center and spa. The rooms are beautifully appointed with luxurious linens, fabulous bath products and a cozy fireplace. Each room has a spacious private patio to relax in the warm San Diego sun. Every morning we are delighted by the delivery of freshly squeezed orange juice to our rooms. In the evenings after dinner we enjoy relaxing around the fire pits with a few cocktails and recapping our day. The laughs are abundant! Our group is so happy with our experience at Rancho Valencia we don't ever want to take this tennis trip anywhere else, even considering the travel time from the East coast. This resort is really special. The beautiful location coupled with the impeccable service, top notch tennis program, fantastic food and amazing room amenities have us coming back year after year."—K.D., Int., February 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Strengths - Quaint, beautiful, luxurious, fabulous instruction, well-maintained courts, friendly staff, wonderful spa, charming rooms! Weaknesses - None!!!! Favorite tennis resort I have even been to!"—S.G., Int., February 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Rancho Valencia is tennis and vacation paradise. The tennis facilities are impeccable (particularly with the addition of two red clay courts), and the professional staff friendly and are the best technically I have found anywhere. The resort itself is simply our favorite place to spend a few days. Rooms, food, staff, environment, weather, spa, yoga, gym, spinning, etc. etc. – it’s just the best."—D.H., Adv., February 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Most magnificent resort! Relaxing yet plenty of activities. Tennis facility is beautiful!"—C.D., Adv., February 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—J.L., Low Int., January 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—V.S., Adv., November 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "Our stay at Rancho Valencia Resort was a dream come true. I got restored in just three days of yoga playing tennis and enjoying the whole experiennce. Outstanding service! The tennis lessons were amazing. I had a lesson with Eduardo Sanchez and one with Robin White. The lessons are worth every penny! It is impressive to see how experienced they are to pick on what you need to work on to move to the next level and the tools they use to make a very quick transformation!"—B.O., Adv. Int., November 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Rancho Valencia is a magnificent resort. Our casita was beautifully appointed. It was spacious and well appointed. Service throughout the resort was great. The staff seemed truly happy. Food was delicious. Tennis facility is first class. We took a 2 1/2 hour clinic one morning with Steve. He was great. We got a lot out of it. Marie set us up for mixed doubles play with club members the next two mornings. She was very accommodating. We had a great time and rank Rancho Valencia Tennis as best we have ever experienced."—L.G., Int., November 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "Rancho Valencia is my happy place! My husband and I have been visiting this lovely resort at least once a year for over 10 years--no other resort compares to it. The spacious casitas complete with fireplaces and private patios with hot tubs provide the perfect place to relax after an invigorating workout on the courts. The morning tennis drills provide small group instruction and over 2 hours of hitting with terrific, personable teaching pros. The staff delivers fresh fruit, juice, and smoothies during these drills and even stand in to play doubles when needed. The courts and grounds are fabulous--as is the service from both tennis staff and pros. We leave Rancho Valencia feeling rejuvenated, and we will continue to return because it offers a truly outstanding experience both on and off the court."—K.E., Adv. Int., November 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "The most fantastic place. Tennis coaching is the best in the world, as are the facilities. More importantly though, all the people are so nice, fun, kind and helpful. On top of this, you have the resort itself, which is one of the best in the world."—D.S., Beg., September 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "Incredible facility and fantastic pros. I'm an active 4.5 and played with several of the pros. Would recommend Doug and Arturo in particular. Arturo even brought out his son as a hitting partner while standing next to me at the baseline adjusting my strokes and providing tactical inputs and critiques. I will return here several times per year going forward!"—M.A., Adv., August 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The best tennis resort Ive been to and one of the nicest overall resorts where I have stayed."—D.M., Int., August 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I am a avid tennis player, who plays 3-4 times per week in addition to a weekly private lesson and I would tell my tennis playing friends the following: Strengths: great location/climate in Southern California, fabulous setting in the hills that works with the rolling topography of the land; facilities are first rate with several hard courts and two clay courts; the four instructors that I had for three private clinics and one group clinic were very knowledgeable, provided great input on how to improve my game, personable, and had long tenures at the resort; the staff provided great service with smoothies or fresh fruit waiting for me after my morning clinics and scheduled a match for me with a local player; the spa and lodging at the resort have Forbes Five Star ratings. Cons: ????"—J.G., Adv. Int., August 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I'm a picky vacationer, but it's hard to find anything to pick on in this 3 days/2 night trip. Strengths: - Plenty of courts (even has 2 new clay courts) very well maintained. - Very easy to book court time, and flexible in last-minute schedule changes - Courteous patient coaches (I tried 2 of them, 2 one-hour sessions each) with spot-on insights - Nice court amenities especially for hot days - Excellent dining / quality of dinner food - 900 sq ft room is spacious, luxurious, and private - Enjoyed the spa treatment too, very relaxing facility Weakness: - Jaw-drop pricey for overnight stay, but you get the exclusivity and you get what you pay"—S.H., Adv. Int., July 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—J.F., Adv. Int., June 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "Beautiful setting. Lovely courts. Great food. THE nicest Spa I have ever experienced."—L.D., Adv., April 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The staff at Rancho Valencia is highly professional and warm. I've visited numerous times in the last 12 months and always have a phenomenal experience. Arturo, Josh and director, Robin White make the learning most enjoyable. The tennis concierges, Marie and Sandra know what they are doing in arranging lessons and match play. Trust their experience. Truly no place compares and with the new Red Clay courts coming in 2018 this will be premier spot in the country."—M.M., Adv., April 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Rancho Valencia is tennis heaven! I have gone here 10 times over the past 8 years--first on girl's trips, then with my husband, and then with our 2 adult children. The resort itself is fantastic. Beautiful casitas in a relaxing setting with every detail thought-out, including luscious Natura Bisse toiletries, turn-down with upscale chocolates, fresh-squeezed orange juice delivered each morning to your door, and a complimentary mini bar stocked with soft drinks, juices, candy, popcorn, etc. I can't say enough about the tennis instruction led by Robin White. All of the instructors are outstanding and do a great job of making the clinics fun and instructional. My husband is a much better tennis player than I am (high 4.5 vs. low 4.0), but we were able to take clinics together and we both felt like we learned a lot despite our differing levels. The spa, Pilates, yoga and workout facilities here are also top-notch, as are the restaurants and bars. We plan to continue visiting whenever we have the opportunity. I honestly can't think of any weaknesses or I wouldn't keep coming back year after year!"—J.C., Int., April 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Rancho Valencia offers top notch tennis instruction (experienced, tour level pros) and high quality a.m. clinics (2 & 1/2 hr) in an amazing setting. Friends and I have traveled and experienced several of the highly ranked tennis resorts accross the US and have consistently felt the instruction and setting are just award winning."—N.E., Adv. Int., April 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "Phenomenal Resort! Most impressive staff"—M.W., Pro, April 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I have visited Rancho Valencia with mu family over the Spring Braak. The tennis facilities are superb, all courts in perfect condition, surrounded by blooming citrus treas. Water and clean towels available by each court. I took some lessons from Eduardo Sanchez. He was very focused on body mechanics and proper technique. My local instructor back home couldn’t believe how much I improved in such a short time."—M.S., Beg., April 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "excellent teachers/pros on the court"—R.G., Adv., April 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "Rancho Valencia and the tennis facilities, pros and staff are simply amazing. For anyone passionate about tennis there is nothing better. My son and I play a lot of tennis but my wife and daughter do not. They love Rancho Valencia just as much. They love the spa, yoga, pools, restaurants, atmosphere and everything else Rancho Valencia has to offer. It's our home away from home."—J.D., Adv., April 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "Just beautiful! Loved all the amenities. First class, everything."—C.K., Int., March 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "Best tennis resort ever! Very lush and spread out. Staff is amazing, friendly and helpful!"—K.G.,  March 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "Beautiful resort! Extremely courteous and friendly staff!"—K.P., Int., March 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "this is easily the best tennis resort i've ever been to, and i've been to all the top ones. the amenities, instructors, setting, food, etc beats everything else by a mile. i'd be shocked if this wasn't on your list of top tennis resorts."—D.C.,  March 2018
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—L.L., Adv., February 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Beautiful courts and location! Everyone there was very friendly and helpful in arranging various tennis activities for me including lessons, clinics, and a competitive match. Aturro who I took a lesson with was great. I’d highly recommend!"—K.J., Adv. Int., February 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "Beautiful resort"—B.N., Beg., February 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "Beautiful resort, we loved staying there and the tennis program was fabulous."—M.F., Int., February 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "It is a beautiful resort. We didn't stay on the property but attended tennis clinics for 4 days. We were able to use the pool and have lunch after tennis too! Amazing facilities and tennis instruction was very good. I left with so much to work on and it was just the right amount of time. I like that we switched instructors during the clinics. That way we all got different perspectives on our games. Everyone was so nice and pleasant."—T..,  January 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "I organized a girls tennis week Rancho Valencia in October 2017 and we had a fabulous time at this tennis resort. We were a group of 8 women traveling from Baltimore MD. While I was organizing the trip, the staff at the resort were helpful and always quick to answer all my questions and needs . Once we arrived and started our mini-camp, we couldn’t have been happier. The pros were excellent! Each day of tennis we focused on different things - strokes and/or strategies. They were flexible to our needs and level of play. Our group of 8 women had a blast! Can’t wait for a chance to go back ."—W.F., Adv. Int., January 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I have visited Rancho Valencia on four separate occasions now and each visit I fall more in love. The setting is serene and lovely, the tennis is spectacular, the spa is divine, the restaurants are delicious, the service is top-notch and it feels just like home, only better! I give the resort a 10 out of 10 on every level. I can't wait to go back soon."—K.H., Int., October 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—C.K., Adv. Int., August 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Excellent facility! I spent most of a week here at the end of April to play tennis and get private coaching (the tennis package). The courts and tennis staff are excellent, and coaches Arturo and Eduardo were extremely helpful and friendly. I couldn't have enjoyed my stay any more, and have recommended it to several friends in need of a getaway. The room was very comfortable and quiet, and the housekeeping staff took care of me like a king. Also loved the spa and gym facilities. I look forward to coming back soon and hope it stays exactly as it is."—R.S., Adv., July 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "Both my children really enjoyed taking lessons at the Rancho Valencia. Pro Shop was very helpful and aided in finding matches and pros. Robin and Arturo are both very good tennis coaches. My son really enjoyed the tennis camp for kids."—A.N., Adv. Int., July 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We've taken a girls' tennis trip to Rancho Valencia annually for 5 years and look forward to it every year. Marie in the tennis shop is very accommodating in setting up round robins with local players and clinics. The staff is extremely pleasant, the weather perfect, the setting is beautiful. I don't know why you would go anywhere else."—M.D., Int., June 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—A.W., Adv., June 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We loved this resort. Best tennis instructors my 17 year old daughter has ever experienced bar none! We have stayed at several top notch tennis resorts in Florida , Hawaii and Caribbean and this was the best. Also great for my husband and I as we look for 5 star hotel experience. The rooms, food and service all great!"—P.S., Adv., April 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—J.S., Adv. Int., March 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Really fantastic location and team of professionals! Rooms are terrific, location is lovely and tennis is great! My only request is that they install some clay courts as it rained a fair bit while I was there and it took forever for the hard courts to dry. Also, practicing on clay is preferential to hard courts and juniors and active adults."—J.H., Adv., March 2017
  • 3½-Ball Rating "The service is exceptional and the courts are well maintained. They have a mixed bag of pros. The older pros are personable, helpful and energetic. The younger one has low energy and is condescending."—J.J., Int., March 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—B.G., Int., February 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "The resort was beautiful. The accommodations, pool, spa, restaurant and tennis were all top-notch. We couldn't have picked a better spot for our annual ladies tennis getaway. The tennis staff were very accommodating and went out of their way at every turn to be sure we had what we needed and were treated like royalty. The teaching pros treated us like athletes, which was refreshing. We'll definitely be back!"—C.B., Int., February 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "Beautiful facility, courts, resort and spa. Excellent coaching staff with a variety of different personalities and strengths to work with. Would definitely visit again."—S.W., Adv. Int., February 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Playing tennis at Rancho Valencia was one of the highlights of our year. We could not stop talking about how the intelligence, experience, creativity and good humored nature of the teaching pros. We learned so much, got a great workout in a truly beautiful environment, and it made us want to redouble our efforts to excel at the game. And it was just really fun!"—A.W., Adv. Int., January 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—L.F., Adv., January 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "If you are looking for tennis heaven on earth then Rancho Valencia is where you will find it. Perfect weather. First class teaching professionals. Matches with club members. A world class spa. Add yoga, pilates, spin classes all day, plus a large fitness center and you will be happy to retire to your beautifully updated casita. And to add to the heavenly tennis experience - clay courts may be coming in 2017"—M.S., Adv. Int., December 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "I play a lot of tennis as well as travel to play a lot of tennis. That being said, and having played at many tennis resorts, Rancho Valencia is hands down my favorite. There Pro's are as good as they get. Robin White, the pro I play with, is the best teaching pro I have ever worked with. So much so that I take a "me only" trip every year and fly from Miami to spend a few days with her at the club. As well, the courts and facility are fantastic and all the support staff couldn't be nicer. A+"—A.R., Int., November 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Outstanding tuition and coaching. After four lessons I left Rancho with a stronger backhand and great topspin on my forehand. The pro shop service was also excellent. They set me up for a couple of matches with local members, at my skill level. But the most significant service tribute was the team helping me with a racquet purchase. They sourced where I could buy the racquet, then on their way home from work, stopped in and picked it up for me."—B.S., Int., November 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—R.T., Adv. Int., August 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating "Great"—M.M., Adv. Int., July 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "Rancho Valencia gave us all the tennis we wanted. An excellent clinic with a break with juice and fruit. They offered us a mixed doubles match as well. The instruction lifted up our game. We enjoyed a yoga stretch class later that day and an afternoon at a quiet pool. Great instruction and facilities."—B.M., Adv. Int., July 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating "Wonderful facility One complaint need to use newer balls Hit to many dead or flat balls. Every there has plenty of money replace balls at least every other week and if you have to charge more It no fun and hard on players with hand or arm injuries to hit bad balls"—S.K., Int., July 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "What began as a birthday tennis get away has become an annual trip! RV is my favorite spot to vacation. It's the perfect mix of casual luxury. The tennis pros are amazing, love playing tennis with the local ladies & the food and spa are exceptional. Can't wait to get back next summer for our 6th annual girls tennis weekend."—C.L., Int., July 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "Rancho Valencia Resort and Spa is one of my all time favorite places to visit!! The place is amazing with a fabulous staff and food that will blow you away!! The tennis facilities are by far some of the nicest I have ever visited. And then you add the tennis staff and it's pure heaven!!! The pros are encouraging, knowledgeable and fun!! Hands down, after visiting 6 times, this is my go-to vacation spot!!!"—E.A., Adv. Int., July 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "I cannot express how much I have enjoyed visiting Rancho Valencia. This is my fourth year returning and with each year, I haven't been disappointed at all. When the visit comes to an end, I am already planning for the next year. The tennis is wonderful, the food is delicious, the atmosphere is beautiful, the spa is refreshing, and most importantly....the staff is professional and courteous."—K.W., Adv. Int., July 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "My wife and I celebrated our 25th anniversary here. Although more expensive than other places we checked out, at the end of our 4 days, we felt the value was great. We enjoyed great tennis, from clinics with Todd, to arranged mixed doubles matches with same level players, and even some singles play with local members. The environment was welcoming and fun, and our accommodations were fabulous. The food at the property restaurants was very good as well. The tennis facilities were nice, with the only knock being the absence of a clay court."—D.C., Adv. Int., June 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "Rancho Valencia is a world-class Relais & Chateau resort, not just a tennis resort. We stayed for 4 nights and 5 days - it's expensive, so make sure to maximize your time there by requesting early check-in and late checkout. The resort is small, only 50 suites plus villas. But there are 18 tennis courts (all hard courts). The pros are fantastic, both excellent players and teachers, and it's easy to reserve time and a pro to hit with or get a lesson. The pros can also arrange matches with local Rancho Santa Fe local players who are tennis members. The suites come two per casita. We stayed in a Valencia suite, about 1,300 sq ft. Absolutely beautiful interior, and very livable, not overdone and not underdone. The suite has a private patio and jacuzzi in back with a gorgeous view. The zen spa is tranquil, calming and beautifully designed. You wait for your spa treatment in a lovely waiting room in your bathrobe with a murky green-colored drink that's quite tasty. By the fireplace is a basket with complimentary reading glasses. This is to say, they think of every little detail. Open your front door in the morning and a newspaper and bottle of fresh-squeezed orange juice awaits. We stayed in April when the weather is blue sky and the temperature is typically in the low to mid-70's, but it was 10-15 degrees hotter due to Santa Ana winds. Really great time of the year to visit. Just a wonderful, relaxing vacation with lots of tennis."—F.F., Adv., May 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating "GreattTennis camp with tailor made instruction. Small group size, very qualified staff."—M.L., Low Int., May 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Absolutely loved it! The staff was so wonderful and knowledgeable and I really enjoyed each professional. The food, however, at the restaurants was just so/so. For such a beautiful resort the food needs to be revamped. That was the only downside. Accommodations were top notch"—N.H., Int., May 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—S.F., Adv., April 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating "Beautiful resort, tennis courts and amenities. Staff are top notch and professional."—T.S., Adv. Int., March 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "I travel from Washington DC for the tennis here. I've been to all he resorts in Florida, (which is much more convenient for me) and Rancho Valencia is by far and away the best all around tennis facility."—T.S., Adv., March 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—S.J., Adv. Int., March 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Rancho Valencia has the advantage of being situated on a breathtaking property with wonderful facilities in a region of the country that practically guarantees great weather. What more can you ask for? Eighteen courts makes it easy to schedule time and there are options for group clinics, individual play, or games arranged by the staff with the broad membership. My husband and I played in the clinic and were pleased overall with the instructional staff. Todd Nelson in particular was fantastic! We've visited many, many tennis resorts and RV is among our favourites. We'll be back and highly recommend it to others who want a luxury vacation destination."—S.A., Adv., February 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We absolutely loved this resort. The best spa we've ever been to and the fitness programs and options were amazing. We were able to get in a pilates class and a tennis lesson that was amazing. We had taken several lessons before and we learned more in this lesson that all others combined!"—C.P., Beg., January 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—L.S., Adv. Int., January 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Would be great if the resort had a few clay courts! That would send it over the top."—M.S., Adv., December 2015
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Tennis clinic was a bit low in energy, probably due to the particular pro we had that morning. Private and semiprivate lessons with 2 other different pros were fantastic. The room was spectacular: spacious, comfy beds, huge bathroom with dressing room and very private with its own large backyard. The resort setting is beautiful, well worth it's number one ranking!"—E.M., Adv. Int., November 2015
  • 4-Ball Rating "Rancho Valencia is a beautiful and intimate resort with a world-class tennis instruction and spa and fitness facility. The setting is such, the lodging is beautiful, but what sets this resort apart is the incredible level of personal service and attention paid to every guest. This is NOT a factory - they can only accommodate fewer than 100 guests so between the local tennis members and tennis guests the tennis facility will never seem over-crowded. Within a day the tennis staff knew me, and my instructor was fabulous throughout my stay. If you want a huge tennis "social" experience this is probably not for you."—H.D., Adv. Int., November 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating "The location, accommodations, grounds, restaurants, food, personnel, and tennis experience opportunities are WORLD class. We've had several stays now, and cannot wait to go back."—N.R., Adv. Int., November 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating "Marie Deitz is the main reason for the high marks I have given. She is outstanding, both professionally and in personality."—B.B., Adv. Int., September 2015
  • 4-Ball Rating "Best tennis resort I've been to, and I have been to a few. 18 clean, hard courts in good condition in 3 different locations on the resort grounds. Court speed is fair, not too fast or slow. Weather is great for tennis. Pros are friendly and knowledgeable. There is generally a court available for play at any time. Tennis complex is quiet. Resort is expensive, but tennis is FREE, unlike other facilities where there is a charge."—P.T., Adv. Int., September 2015
  • 4-Ball Rating "Vacationers and club members were friendly and competitive. Clinics and social games were exactly what how I envisioned. My only complaint is the surface (hard courts) took a toll on my aging body and I was not able to play more than a few hours a day. On a Har-Tru surface I am able to play all day."—J.S., Int., August 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "A fantastic Tennis resort. We stayed 8 days. From the first day until the last matches and clinics were arranged for me. I have never played more tennis in such a short period and never enjoyed it more. Matches and coaching for my wife was also arranged. All matches were arranged at perfectly suitable standards. The facilities were fantastic, the coaches excellent, the administration faultless. I cannot wait to return"—S.S., Adv. Int., August 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Absolutely fabulous resort with top class tennis facilities and staff. We had Mario coaching us during our stay and he was excellent. Each session was informative, fun and a great workout. Our tennis experience was the highlight of a great stay at Rancho Valencia"—T.F., Int., August 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Overall, my family and I had an amazing experience. The key highlights were the teaching staff and instruction. My young daughter very much enjoyed working with Steve and I very much enjoyed working with Mario. Other instructors were great tool. The tennis facilities were also outstanding and very conveniently located near the villas and restaurant. RV is somewhat near San Diego and probably a 2-hour drive from Los Angeles. In other words, there won't be many other activities except tennis and the nearby beaches. Having said that, there were a couple of outstanding restaurants nearby which are worth going to, including Market. Based in Asia, my wife and I travel extensively within Asia and Europe. Rancho Valencia would be without a doubt one of our top resorts and mirrors the high level of service quality we are accustomed to at 5-star resorts."—F.D., Int., August 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Fantastic! Our accommodations in the Olive Grove Suite were superb. The food was excellent. Service was courteous and attentive. The tennis facilities and spa were first rate. I will definitely recommend."—S.M., Adv. Int., August 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Incredible facility, GREAT staff and Pros. They arranged hitting times with club members I had an incredible time, definitely will come back next year if not sooner ."—P.W., Adv., July 2015
  • 4-Ball Rating "Wonderful facility, courts well maintained in a beautiful setting, pro staff topnotch, office staff friendly and helpful."—C.P., Adv. Int., June 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—A.W., Beg., June 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Beautiful setting, great accommodations and tons of tennis courts. Its a wonderful place to go with other tennis playing couples since there is no court charge for hotel guests. Clinic are available on daily basis, and a staff of good pros is also available for lessons.. If you are a fan of fine resorts, and you like tennis its a good fit.. The accommodations and suites are exceptional, but they are also very expensive, so this might be a reach if you are on a tight budget"—D.F., Adv., June 2015
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—B.A., Adv. Int., May 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "No other tennis resort has ever compared to Rancho Valencia. It has it all. Beautiful setting, plenty of courts, great instructors, amazing spa, and top notch accommodations. It is the type of place where everything is high end without feeling stuffy and pretentious. The rooms and spa are warm, comfortable, and relaxing. My wife and I find it hard to believe that there is a better place to relax and play tennis."—B.E., Adv., May 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—D.H., Beg., May 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "My experience was private lessons only. I did not participate in any clinics or group activities. The private lessons were excellent. Only so much one can do with a resort guest in a couple of days--well done, however, in that context. Quality instruction in a beautiful environment."—J.H., Adv. Int., May 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating "Rancho Valencia is tennis heaven. There are 18 courts all well spaced in a fabulous setting. The pros are exceptional and so friendly, always ready to help you improve your game. The pro shop staff will find you a playing partner regardless of your playing level. The outdoor spa, the fitness facilities, restaurant, and resort are first class and deserving of the five RV star rating."—S.S., Int., April 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Our entire family enjoyed all aspects of Rancho Valencia. We took full advantage of all of the resort's amenities. The attentiveness and personalized service of the tennis staff was extraordinary. The pro staff was truly world class. Robin and her team arranged top flight teaching pros and high quality junior match play for my family. They could not be more supportive and accommodating. The accommodations were five star and the resort spa was top shelf. We hope to return very soon."—S.H., Adv., April 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Absolutely beautiful! If you like to play tennis and be active, but want a really nice room and surrounds, then this is the place for you!! I'd live there if I could!"—Y.S., Adv. Int., April 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Fantastic resort with all amenities and gorgeous grounds."—J.Z., Int., April 2015
  • 4-Ball Rating "My family and I spent a wonderful few days at Rancho Valencia recently. The resort is beautiful! Our two "family" tennis lessons with Mario were very enjoyable and helpful - he did a great job of working with three of us with different skill levels. The tennis courts were well kept and in a beautiful setting."—K.M., Adv. Int., March 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating "Came to Rancho Valencia for tennis. Director Robin White could not have been more accommodating. From arranging courts to a fabulous hitting partner for my daughter, she went above board to make our time there perfect. It is one of the most fabulous tennis resorts we have ever visited. The setting is divine, the cuisine unreal, and the friendly staff amazing. Peeked in on the junior program one afternoon and was astonished by how many local children were participating and how innovative it was. It was such a treat to finally visit Rancho Valencia after hearing about it for so many years."—L.B.,  March 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I have been to tennis resorts and camps all over the country and RV is definitely the best of the best. Robin White , head tennis pro, is a seasoned tennis veteran with a US Open Mixed doubles trophy in the pro shop. Her teaching style is refreshing and straightforward. The facilities are gorgeous. I highly recommend for your next tennis vacation!"—S.W., Adv. Int., March 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—L.H., Adv. Int., February 2015
  • 4-Ball Rating "It's a beautiful resort! Small and intimate feeling. They set my husband and I up with mixed doubles games and they had clinic instruction also. They would have fresh squeezed orange juice and fresh fruit for us. You feel so pampered! The downside is that the rooms are very expensive...we've been there a couple of times for special occasions...we wish we could go more often."—A.M., Adv., February 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating "Rancho Valencia is the best tennis resort in the country. Every year we have gone to a tennis destination; Rancho Valenchia is our favorite because of the great tennis teacher, fantastic food, beautiful room, great plantings and surroundings. We will definitely return to Rancho Valencia. (Our home is in Washington, DC)"—M.S., Int., February 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Just returned from a ladies tennis weekend. The entire experience was amazing. The accommodations are spacious and beautiful. The restaurants and food are fantastic- loved all the outdoor seating areas with fireplaces and fire pits . The spa and fitness classes are outstanding. The tennis clinics were challenging and a great workout! Lots of great tips to take home! The tennis facilities are top notch. The Director of tennis, Robin White and her staff are all very friendly and welcoming, as is the entire resort staff. Would highly recommend - Can't wait to go back!!"—J.G., Int., January 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating "Just returned from an amazing weekend with a group of friends. Robin White ran an engaging tennis program including terrific clinics and round robins. We all learned a lot! The accomodations, meals, spa and pool areas were top notch. The resort provides exceptional service in a beautiful setting. Can't wait to return!"—M.M., Int., January 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating "Enjoyed an amazing girls tennis weekend at RV. Tennis Director Robin White and her staff provided outstanding tennis instruction while being friendly, professional, and client-centered. Great formats for round-robin. Terrific skills and drills. Excellent facilities in a stunning setting. Cannot be beat. Looking forward to returning next winter."—M.M., Adv. Int., January 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—A.S., Low Int., January 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—P.L., Adv., January 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "WOW! An unforgettable experience. Not only are the accommodations amazing, but everything else about this resort is truly superior. We came to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. Although we are avid tennis folk, every experience was extremely thoughtful, individualized and genuine! Service is impeccable, People are very genuine, and ALL services are waay above the norm!"—S.C., Adv., December 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating "My wife and friends just stayed and Rancho Valencia for 4 days of relaxation and tennis. The tennis facility was great and Maria was particularly helpful in helping us to set up some games with other couples. The courts were in great shape, plenty of water on each court, and perfect weather. The rest of the resort was also way above our expectations -- food, spa, staff, and accommodations. A big thanks to Alan on the sales team for bringing us to Rancho Valencia."—C.H., Adv. Int., October 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—J.B., Adv., October 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Just returned from our annual girls tennis retreat. The clinics were fun, a great workout and educational. Pros Arturo, Mario, Todd and Mason were each unique in their instruction which made the daily lessons great. The food at the resort (Pony Room and Veladora) was delish. Fab service all the way around."—L.S., Adv., October 2014
  • 4-Ball Rating "My wife and I just celebrated our 15th wedding anniversary at Rancho Valencia and decided to combine it with some great tennis instruction. My wife has been playing for two years and I recently picked up tennis again after playing a lot as a youth. The tennis facility at Rancho is excellent, the clinics and lessons we arranged were very good as we golf during the summer and needed this as a tennis tune up. We highly recommend this resort."—M.A., Int., September 2014
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Excellent instruction. However,1. Drills should be limited to 1 1/2 hours rather than 3. 2. Balls used during instruction should be relatively new instead of very worn,"—J.L., Int., August 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating "Outstanding program. They have a daily clinic for all levels (beginning, intermediate, and advanced). The instructors are top-notch. The front desk staff is very accommodating. The courts are beautiful. The water dispenser is replenished throughout the day. The locker rooms are immaculate. I cannot say enough good things about this program and resort. We are planning to return next month. There is not one bad thing to say. It truly could not be better."—J.M., Int., August 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Rancho Valencia is simply the best tennis resort I have been to in my entire life. I have traveled to 30 of the 50 states and stayed and played at many of best tennis resorts in the county, including some of the most noteworthy and highest rated ones in Florida. It is easy to say that the Rancho Valencia "experience" trumps them all! Tennis Director Robin White and her dedicated staff present a first class tennis facility that caters to both expert instruction via the resort's top credentialed teaching professionals as well as high-end customer service too.
    Pro Mark Davis is a consummate professional well versed in the dynamics, techniques, and mechanics of the proper tennis swing. I was immensely helped by his instruction, especially by the video lesson technology using an Ipad that he is able to implement into the lesson plan. In fact, I highly recommend everyone who plans to visit the Rancho Valencia take a video analysis lesson as Mark as he is then able to email you the video footage of your lesson and you can watch it at home and show your friends and family. It is simply the best souvenir of a memorable vacation! Plus you can review the video clips when you get back home to learn more about your swing.
    The tennis courts are always in perfect shape there. The locker rooms adjacent to the facility are convenient for a post lesson or match shower. Marie and Sergei are super wonderful and are always most willing to help best enhance the guest experience in any way possible! The accommodations at the Rancho Valencia are spacious, well appointed, and literally dreamy! The weather is always perfect for tennis with temperatures in the low 70's and little humidity.
    The spa is not to be missed! It is extremely tranquil there and very relaxing. The spa treatment rooms are unique in that they are open air, and this is something I have never seen before. The spa pool is wonderful too. And the food and beverages at both Veladora and the Pony Room are exceptionally good. All in all, the Rancho Valencia resort is probably one of the best vacations I have ever had in my entire life. I would highly recommend it to anyone!"
    —E.E., Adv., June 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating ""awesome""—P.B., Int., April 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Rancho Valencia is paradise! We've stayed in the villas several times with our children. We are always impressed with the quality of service and attention to detail. The Easter Brunch was superb and included a "Bubble Bar" (champagne bar) as well as bounce house and face painting for the children. I walked into the pro shop and was accommodated immediately with a lesson on the spot with Mason. The whole resort is just amazing since the renovation. We could stay forever..... Weakness: Pony Room service a bit slow...especially when hungry children are waiting."—A.R., Adv., April 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating "Fantastic- We are from Colorado and visit Rancho Valencia at least six times per year. My partner has been playing tennis there for at least 10 years and I am more of a beginner. Let me say that it is hands down one of the nicest places in the country (Hawaii included). Amanda, Mason, and Eduardo are all top notch for instruction. Marie and Sergio are fantastic and will accommodate schedules (I like to do yoga and barre before playing tennis). Rancho is our home away from home and is one of the best places to relax, play tennis, and enjoy a beautiful life."—A.A., Int., April 2014
  • 4-Ball Rating "We have been to Rancho Valencia twice now, and each time was amongst the best vacations/tennis experiences we have ever had. For the (father and son) tennis fanatics in the family the beautiful courts, accomplished competitive tennis professionals (who enjoy teaching), and attentive staff make it unsurpassed as compared to our other tennis destinations to-date. The non-tennis players in the family (wife, daughter, close friends) report to me that the spa is perhaps the best they have ever been to; next time I am definitely carving some time away from tennis to see for myself! The facilities are impeccable and we all like the weather and great food at RV, not to mention the fantastic Tequila bar at The Pony Room. Tennis, Tequila and tacos - it doesn't get much better than that!"—B.A., Adv. Int., April 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating "I visited this resort while on vacation in April 2014 and was very impressed with their tennis facility. Eduardo was fantastic and very helpful in improving my game. Beautiful facility - will be back soon. Marie was very friendly and made me feel so welcome."—C.K., Int., April 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Rancho Valencia Resort is number one when it comes to a great tennis experience! The teaching Pros are the best! They will step up your game while making sure your having fun! Robin is very friendly, and personable, she goes out of her way to be helpful! Marie and Sergio are excellent at taking care of us from setting up lessons to last minute court reservations! The food is excellent and the staff are all first class! The Resort surroundings are beautiful, it truly is a magnificent getaway experience!"—L.B., Adv. Int., April 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—J.G., Adv., April 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The facilities were first class. The personnel were outstanding making our stay for our 50th anniversary wonderful. We found the restaurants two of the best we have experienced. We would definite recommend Rancho Valencia (and we have)."—S.H., Beg., April 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We loved everything about this place and we will be back!"—S.B., Low Int., April 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "One of the nicest resorts in the country that we have ever visited. Great pros: Todd and Robin that enjoy people and teaching. The tennis complex was under major renovation in Dec 2013, but they had ample courts for play and instruction. First class in all respects. Marie does a great job in game matching. Short drive to the ocean to visit Delmar, Solona Beach, and Torey Pines State Park."—J.D., Adv. Int., March 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating "Rancho Valencia is THE BEST in every way!! The hotel,the courts, the staff ,the lessons....it is far & away the best tennis facility in the most beautiful location with great weather....look no further foe another tennis resort...nothing can compare to Rancho Valencia! At this moment the pro shop is being remodeled...to be even better soon!"—C.B., Adv., March 2014
  • 4-Ball Rating "Strengths: Good pro team and great at matching players.gorgeous resort (it was our 4th time but first since the renovations) Weakness: need to be more proactive with their program"—A.D., Adv., March 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I was blown away by the meticulous attention to detail at Rancho Valencia. Our stay exceeded my expectations in just about every way possible. The service, the friendliness, the beautiful grounds, the wonderful tennis...it was all first-class. Marie and the rest of the tennis pros were just so helpful and friendly. I was able to play tennis as much as I wanted every day of my stay. They connected me with great players who were at my level for fun, exciting, friendly competition. I will definitely be returning to this amazing resort and recommending it to all of my friends."—L.T., Adv., March 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Absolutely beautiful surroundings and facilities. Terrific California weather - warm and dry with no humidity. Wonderful staff who make you very welcome and do everything for you. On the grounds of a five star plus hotel, with Spa, restaurants, etc."—J.F., Adv. Int., March 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Beautiful resort that treats you right. Pros: Lots of courts for a resort with so few units. Food was excellent. Cons: Expensive"—J.T., Adv., January 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We have been to Rancho 20 times over the last 23 years. We try to make an annual getaway there. It is without a doubt the most accomodating resort we have ever been to. Last year, Rancho was under renovation so we stayed at the Grand Del Mar. That hotel and resort is also over the top, but Rancho has casitas that make you feel like you are in your own little oasis. The tennis courts are beautiful and the dining superb but the staff is what makes each trip truly memorable. We may be bias with our many return visits, but we have never been disappointed"—D.M., Adv., September 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating "It took us about a week to come off the high of staying at the newly renovated Rancho Valencia. The hotel is over the top. The tennis facility is as well with their 18 courts, all conveniently walkable to our gorgeous huge room with a very large private patio and spa pool. The Pros there are top notch and very personable. Lots of great tips to take home. For the first time ever, I wrote notes on the plane ride home of valuable tips I was given during my clinics and lessons from Robin and Eduardo! We were served freshly squeezed orange juice and sliced fruit between clinics. Everyone should add this resort to their list of tennis camp must-do list!"—D.L., Adv. Int., August 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We LOVED Rancho Valencia. We have been to other tennis resorts in the top 10 (Kiawah, Wild Dunes, Tops'L) and this was our best experience. The rooms are luxurious and the setting spectacular, though the feeling around the resort is very casual. It is very expensive, but you get a lot for the money. They don't nickel and dime you, which we found so refreshing. Included in the cost is full access to the state of the art gym, free yoga and fitness classes (the yoga class was the best I have ever taken, in the most beautiful setting), free use of the ball machines, and all of the snacks and drinks in the room are complimentary. We even asked where we could rent bicycles, and they produced two bicycles free of charge. The staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful.
    As for the tennis, we called a week before and asked if they would arrange games for three of the afternoons we would be there. I am a 4.0 and my husband is a 4.5, and we have always had trouble finding challenging games at other resorts. They often have trouble providing matches, or match us against much weaker players. At Rancho Valencia, we had three very competitive, highly enjoyable matches with exceptionally nice club members, who went out of their way to make sure we were having fun.
    We took a clinic with Mason, who gave us good, specific instructions that both my husband and I can implement at home. I also took a lesson with Eduardo, who is not only an excellent instructor, but clearly loves what he does. My lesson ran over by 15 minutes, because he was so focused on trying to teach me something. And then afterward, he even stayed around to watch a few games of a match I had following the lesson, to make sure I was doing what we had just practiced on my serve.
    I would highly recommend this resort. My only complaint is that I was very sore when I got home from all of the tennis, because I am used to playing on soft courts and they have only hard. But overall, it was a truly memorable experience."
    —A.B., Adv. Int., June 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—D.S., Adv., June 2013
  • 3½-Ball Rating ""—K.W., Adv. Int., April 2013
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—A.C., Beg., April 2013
  • 3-Ball Rating "There's some good news and some bad news...."—T.P., Adv., April 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating "Has to be my favorite place to play and stay."—A.R., Int., April 2013
  • 4-Ball Rating "Excellent facility. Large number of courts with no witing. Great instructors at all levels. Casitas, spa, and food are world-class."—R.S., Adv., April 2013
  • 4-Ball Rating "The rooms were beautiful with a large living area. Fresh orange juice arrived every moring with the daily paper. Tennis facilies were great and staff fantastic. Lessons with pro, Robin White, were fun and she gave great insight to the strategies to the game. Yoga classes were led by skilled and kind instructors. All of the staff was attentive, friendly, and on top of what you need. Rancho Valencia is a gorgeous location with everything you need to enjoy tennis, relaxation, great dining, and lounging by beautiful pools. If you get lucky like us, you will even have hot air baloons fly overhead. We loved it there!"—A.A., Adv. Int., April 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Visited on a girls' trip and had a wonderful time. Robin White was exceptional in her instruction and clinics! I would and have recommended this resort to many of my friends and fellow tennis players. We are looking forward to another trip to Rancho Valencia and more clinics with Robin!"—C.L., Adv. Int., April 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating "Great experience. Yes, the courts and hotel are beautiful but what sticks with me is the environment. The tennis crew was not only skilled & professionals, but friendly, & helpful. They seemed happy to be there."—J.H., Adv., April 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating "Great facilities, tennis clinics were very specific to our group level. Pro put together some super-fun, competitive games with tennis members of the resort. Can't say enough about the tennis pro and her wonderful personality. After a 2 hour clinic we basked in the sun by the Rancho Valencia pool, a must for all tennis enthusiasts!"—L.L., Adv., April 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Revisited Rancho Valencia following its multimillion dollar renovation and 6-month closure and was pleasantly surprised by the upgraded rooms and tennis program being instituted by the new director of tennis, Robin White, two-time US Open champion in both doubles and mixed dbls.
    Robin is aggressively revamping the program to make it more inclusive for Resort guests with both a daily 3hr morning clinic and a slew of other activities including Cardio Tennis. The courts have all be resurfaced and while I prefer soft courts these are first rate and a lot slower than the old ones. I definitely recommend Ranch Valencia for anyone looking for a truely luxurious destination and topnotch tennis. Only disappointment was the food, which is overly ambitious and appears to be a work in progress."
    —B.W., Adv. Int., December 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "One of the most beautiful settings anywhere for tennis. Classic southern California ambience with tennis courts nestled amongst groves of orange and lemon trees, birds of paradise and bougainvillea. Also, perfect tennis weather, with cool ocean breezes and warm sunshine. Excellent and also fun-filled instruction and John DeLile will serve up his special pancakes for breakfast, courtside. It just doesn't get any better than that!"—L.C., Int., April 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The staff is friendly and the pros are really experts. I have played tennis at many resorts and tennis clubs, but I always leave here with a "new tip" and a better game than when I came."—D.B., Int., April 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—G.W., Adv. Int., April 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Best tennis resort I have ever experienced. Everyone is treated individually, based on skill level and goals. Highly professional team of instructors, and a first class resort in all aspects."—M.H., Adv., September 2011
  • 5-Ball Rating "This is was our fourth trip to Rancho Valencia and we love it! John Delille the tennis director does a fabulous job of organizing a clinic that is tailored to your specific skill level and needs. We participated in the morning clinics and received top-notch instruction as always. The resort itself is beautiful and the spa is outstanding. We will be back next year!!"—B.M., Adv., September 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "Exquisite resort setting. Great tennis pros- worked with two of them. Tennis director set up good matches for me as well. Also my 18 yr old son and his his 18 yr old buddy, both 4 yr. varsity high shcool players had good sessions with the pros. Lodging and dining was excellent. Very well done and sensitive masterplanning, architecture and landscape design of resort."—W.M., Adv., July 2011
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—M.O., Int., May 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Wonderful, romantic spot. Celebrated my 50th birthday At Rancho Valencia. Truly a memorable experience I will always cherish."—L.M., Low Int., April 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Great tennis instruction with picturesque landscape around the courts. Accommodations are exceptional and the staff is there to make your stay pleasant and enjoyable."—S.C., Adv., April 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—H.G., Adv., April 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "Excellent resort!!! The rooms, staff, spa, restaurant...and of course the tennis facility are all first rate. In total it is the best tennis resort I've stayed at... this place lives up to it's well deserved reputation. I can't wait to return."—D.D., Adv. Int., April 2011
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—N.H., Adv. Int., April 2011
  • 5-Ball Rating "We have been going there for 18 years and have had a wonderfully, magical experience each time. The pros are awesome, John does a super job setting up matches with other people, food, and margaritas are to die for! Wonderful staff all the way around! Would never miss a year going to Rancho!"—D.M., Adv. Int., April 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Rancho Valencia is truly a special place. Its intimate surroundings and understated luxury make it the perfect retreat. The cozy casita becomes your home away from home while you are there. Staff will oblige your every request and are attentive without being intrusive. The spa is divine and never too crowded or noisy. This is one of our favorite places!"—J.S., Int., April 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—D.B., Beg., April 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Just returned from the most amazing weekend at Rancho Valencia. We did the "Champions Package". The hotel is so wonderful as is the spa and most importantly the tennis ... the clinics were great, the courts beautiful, I have found my favorite tennis resort!"—S.M., Adv. Int., April 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—M.B., Adv. Int., April 2011
  • 5-Ball Rating "I'm a student from Spain who came to Southern California for vacation and tennis and I couldn't have found a better resort than Rancho Valencia."—N.M., Int., April 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Great staff and facilities."—E.K., Adv. Int., April 2011
  • 5-Ball Rating "Enjoyed the Rancho Valencia for a 4 day getaway and was immensely impressed with the quality of the tennis instruction & the ability to accommodate a variety of players skills. Participated in the 3 hr clinic and also the special "family clinic". Learned new drills & tweeked form enough to take away advancements to the game that will make a difference immediately. After the clinics we had plenty of time to enjoy the heated pool or drive to the ocean. The service was above and beyond, in both the tennis and @ the resort & restaurant. Accommodations were exceptional & amazingly spacious. The food was fabulous and prepared very healthy. We were spoiled royally which made it hard to leave. Everyone was exceptionally helpful in making our vacation awesome."—B.P., Int., April 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Great facilities, with the courts set in the most beautiful background imaginable. Director works hard to accommodate individual needs. Pro was a great instructor, able to focus on a few key items I could take away to improve my game without overwhelming me with tips. (Note weak 4.5 player)."—R.T., Adv., March 2011
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—G.W., Low Int., March 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating " "—S.B., Int., November 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating "We have travelled quite extensively and this is simply the most unique tennis facility/resort that we have experienced.The tennis courts are beautiful; as is the whole resort. The instruction was superb (thanks Arturo). Strengths = everything; esp. the setting. Weaknesses= its not cheap (it shouldn't be)Incidentally, we went there with kids.  "—J.S., Int., November 2010
  • 5-Ball Rating "This was my 3rd trip to Rancho Valencia and I am hoping I can go a 100 or more times! It is the most fun and welcoming experience imagineable! John DeLille does an amazing job and the entire staff is top-notch! If you are not into tennis it is still a great place to go but for a tennis nut like me it is heavenly."—S.L., Int., October 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—D.N., Adv., October 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating "We will definitely recommend this tennis resort to our friends! It was everything we wanted, good instructors, great advice on improving our game and helpful tips--such as relax enjoy the game and don't beat yourself up everytime you miss a point. Half the fun is playing which is so true! A recommendation I would make about the breakfast buffet (which was very good) is to add wheat bread and bagels as part of it instead of having to pay extra. Other breads were included (they were wonderful) but because of health reasons (diabetes, etc) or someone who needs more carbs (esp. if playing tennis)the wheat bread option would be better. Everything overall was great and the scenery was wonderful. Thanks for such a great vacation."—D.M., Adv. Int., October 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating "I had an absolutely magnificent experience at RV and I plan to visit again in 01/11."—C.D., Adv. Int., September 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating "My partner and I spent four nights at Rancho Valencia in the Fall, and we are anxious to return. The Resort and the tennis program are top notch for players of all levels. We experienced first hand Steve and John's patience and instruction with lower level players and witnessed the staff's interactions with players of much greater skill. And, even beyond the tennis programs, the villas and the spa are exceptional. Ranco Valencia is an excellent choice for combining tennis with R&R. It's highly recomended."—D.G., Low Int., June 2010
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Excellent environment for the tennis enthusiast. There is a variety of instructional formats complemented by a keen and gracious group of members who combine to make this a very welcoming resort."—A.W., Adv. Int., May 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "You will have the most amazing vacation! The resort is beautiful, the spa is one of the best in the California and the Tennis is fantastic! The pros who teach tennis are excellent as well as so much fun to be on the court with! I always look forward to my vacations at Rancho Valencia!"—J.D., Adv. Int., April 2010
  • 5-Ball Rating "first rate tennis facility/coaching and accomodation"—A.R., Int., April 2010
  • 5-Ball Rating "My husband and I and our 2 boys 12 and 10 have been coming here for the last 5 years.It is simply the BEST tennis resort.The Pros are FANTASTIC!"—J.R., Int., April 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The physical setting is absolutely gorgeous. The tennis program, both in terms of daily clinics and drop-ins were excellent. The staff was very skilled and kept the lessons insightful yet fun. My family took the "family" lesson which included my wife who is a 3.0 player and two teenagers who are not big players. Both of the kids really liked the instruction and we ended up doing a lesson each day of the trip. The only weakness in the program is that the courts were hard courts and our preference is to play on soft courts. That said, we would come back in a heartbeat. I'm only sorry we had four days here."—G.R., Adv. Int., April 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The staff is extremely helpful, professional and friendly. They will arrange games, lessons or clinics to suit your needs"—K.W., Adv. Int., April 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Hands down the best resort EVER! I return to Rancho V every year and it keeps getting better. Great instruction and super friendly instructors. The daily clinics are a MUST! Beautiful, relaxing setting. And make sure you try the margaritas!"—C.C., Int., April 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating "Three hour clinic run by Steve, who was always kind and gracious and suggested a couple of adjustments which I incorporated and which improved my strokes. John Delille is a good director who seems to really care. Yay, Rancho Valencia. Will return soon, I hope!"—K.G., Int., April 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Rancho Valencia is by far our favorite destination location for a great tennis getaway. Tennis Director, John DeLille, has outstanding customer service and always goes above and beyond to ensure that guests are well taken care of before and during a visit. My husband and I just did our second 3-hour clinic at the resort and had a fantastic time learning from tennis pro, Robin White. Her teaching style and drills were fantastic--the best instruction we have EVER had!"—I.S., Int., April 2010
  • 5-Ball Rating "You wake up in the morning and see a beautiful view, and eat the food that you ordered the night before at the exact time you asked them to deliver it. As you finish your breakfast you get dressed to go play tennis for a lesson with your favorite tennis instructor. When you arrive at the courts a little bit early, your instructor is there waiting for you. You finish your tennis and set off for the pool to relax and eat a delicious lunch. When your done you go the the front desk and rent your favorite movie to watch that night while you devour the pizza from room service that is soooooo good! AS your watching the movie the house keeping comes to turn down your bed and lives a a little chocolate so you know that you came. Its been a long day so lay down in your comfy bed and fall asleep. Then you wake up in the morning for another excellent day!"—A.B., Int., April 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "In a word: perfect. It is expensive, but what you get for your money is as much tennis, privacy, romance, and pampering as you can stand. The pros take special care to make sure you get exactly the tennis experience you want. Arturo and Mason are both great! The resort is quiet and private, and most times we had the pool, hot-tub, etc. to ourselves. The on-site restaurant is good but expensive.
    I wouldn't recommend this to anyone who is not a serious tennis freak: there's not much to do except play tennis. The spa is also excellent. Although the resort allows children, the lack of non-tennis activities has made each of our 3 previous visits blissfully screaming children-free! In fact, the spa pool is adults only. The fitness room is also great, if you need it after all the court time!"
    —C.L., Adv. Int., March 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—M.Y., Adv. Int., March 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Strenghts are pro staff and instant welcome to playing. Felt like a member and treated like one about an hour after arrival!!Absolutely best experience I've had @ a tennis resosrt"—D.B., Low Int., February 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Rancho Valencia's tennis setting is idyllic, with 18 courts that are privately set within the resort's sprawling natural grounds. Colorful floral vines hang over the court fences adding ambiance on the court that doesn't interfere with play but enhances the esthetic. Courts are well-maintained and have a good playing surface.
    We arrange our trip on a short two weeks notice and called ahead to sign up for the three-hour daily clinic and request a game match at our 4.5/5.0 level. Director John DeLille called in a top playing pro (Mason) to lead the two of us in our clinic, which turned out to be a 3-hour semi-private and playing lesson. He was very skilled in leading us through challenging drills that were exhausting but beneficial. He noted right away we already had good strokes so he wasn't going to overhaul anything, but just as we had hoped he gave us a couple of gem suggestions (tweaks) that were alone worth the money and time. He was a very talented player (still active on the pro tour) but also had a remarkably friendly and courteous manner that distinguishes great teaching pro's from the good ones.
    John also set up a mixed doubles match for us the following day with two local players that were at our comparative level. They were very pleasant and we enjoyed both meeting and playing them. When we walked back to the main courts having finished playing two sets (one of the locals had to go to a work meeting), John saw we probably would have liked to play more so he asked if we'd like to jump in on a clinic another mixed couple was completing to be their playing partners. This couple was also very pleasant and we enjoyed playing another three sets with them. Their teaching pro, Rick, amenably sat courtside and volunteered constructive comments during play, and chased down balls we errantly hit into adjacent orange orchards.
    The only weakness of this facility is probably it's extremely small meeting area/pro shop, which is really nothing more than a racket stringing space and court sign-in desk. I'd think guests here would gladly deposit more funds on merchandise if it were available. And while we really enjoyed the three-hour clinic I believe it's probably best-suited to really committed and advanced tennis players. If the club offered more traditionally shorter drop-in clinics (like 1-1.5 hours) we might had added this in the afternoon. Still, we filled our afternoon with spa treatments at the equally fabulous spa on-site and were not disappointed.
    We very much enjoyed our experience and plan on returning often. We are fortunate to live within an hour's driving distance from the resort and realized how easy it made for us to vacation without having the expense and hassle of dealing with airports, etc. Villas are expensive but they are large and luxurious, this is truly a destination resort."
    —L.T., Adv., February 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating "The teaching pros were great. When the clinic participants were out of balance with my needs the pro set up a private clinic just for me, which was phenomenal. The family clinic was tons of fun, catering nicely to three of us with widely different strength levels. My only disappointment at this resort is the lack of much for kids to do if they are not tennis fanatics."—J.C., Int., January 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I went with my wife, that she is returning to tennis, and it was a great escape to an awesome place, the tennis pro that we met: John, Mark, Steve and Arturo made us feel at home, very professionals, and knowledge.
    If I may suggest, hire a convertible car with a GPS in order to move around, weather and the area are great for it., book on line your villa and ask for any specifics that you need, these guys will take care of them happily. Spoil surprising your partner and your self taking this romantic escape."
    —F.S., Adv., September 2009
  • 4-Ball Rating "I spent 4 tennis days there with John, Mark and Rick. They were all extremely pleasant and giving. John literally loaned his shoes to a surprise member of our group. The lessons were as intense as we desired and certainly insightful.
    The setting in beautiful to say the least. The courts were in excellent condition; the hotel is fantastic, the pool/spa and locker rooms were first rate.
    When you're done with tennis for the day, the beaches are fabulous and within a 20 minute drive! You absolutely cannot go wrong with this destination."
    —V.M., Adv. Int., September 2009
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Just spent a weekend at Rancho Valencia, and thanks to the resort staff and property, I am now rated among the most romantic husbands in the world. Great resort. Great Staff. Incredible spa. Tennis staff are very friendly and accomodating. First time I've ever taken a clinic with all new balls, and that seemed to be the norm. Hats off to John DeVille and the rest of the tennis staff."—T.S., Int., July 2009
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Rancho Valencia is an exquisite resort. The setting overall is beautiful and the many courts are terraced into the hills of the resort so you never feel you are in a sprawling area. The spa is fantastic, not just the treatments, but the facility which is open to guests for use of pool and workout facilities.
    The tennis was good, not great, but perhaps that is because I was expecting more of a "camp" experience. There were more feeding drills than live drills and I felt I could have been pushed more. The drills weren't particularily creative but I did get some good solid feedback and I really enjoyed the other participants. I did observe some other pros doing more interesting drills so it could have been just the pro I had.
    Overall, the total experience and the Southern Cal location is outstanding."
    —L.F., Int., July 2009
  • 4½-Ball Rating "One word sums it up for RV.....AWESOME!!! Accomodtions are superb and the tennis facility is outstanding. In fact, the playing environment is so beautiful that it can be distracting. John DeLille and his staff are the secret ingredients that make RV a must-go destination for tennis players looking for a first-class resort experience. Leave some time for the spa, you won't regret it."—T.M., Adv. Int., May 2009
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—D.B., Int., April 2009
  • 4-Ball Rating "The staff is incredible. The accomodations great. We go back every year and wish we could stay longer."—S.B., Int., April 2009
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I absolutely LOVED my experience at Rancho Valencia. I never expected to have such an amazing time, and for a reasonable rate - particularly in this economy. I came to Rancho Valencia as a beginner - make that an "extreme beginner," and left with more confidence and skills than I imagined being able to gain in only 4 days on the courts.
    The 3-hour morning sessions were phenomenal, and John (Tennis Director Extraordinaire) made every effort to match me with a pro with whom I would be well suited given my instruction needs and goals. Mason taught me a tremendous amount, watched my progress closely and was able to spot subtle things I was doing wrong and which could be improved. After 2 hours on the court, players were treated to a beautiful fruit "snack," which was actually a generous spread of fresh melons, pineapples, grapes, etc., along with freshly squeezed orange juice.
    I was waiting for someone from Conde Nast Travel to come out and take our picture - it was just so beautiful and refreshing. Pros other than Mason were more than happy to provide me with tips, as well, and even though I was a beginner, I never felt at more ease... Not only did a learn a ton during these clinics, but I also had a great time. The Rancho Tennis Team somehow integrates learning and enjoyment very well...
    In the afternoons, I was able to work with the ball machine with very few limitations. When the balls seemed to be feeding improperly, John purchased a whole new slew of balls for me and refilled the machine so it would work without a hitch. Pros came by to watch and shout out tips or adjustments, even though my using the ball machine was totally free.
    In addition to the tennis program, the rooms were spectacular and the staff could not have been more helpful. My primary objective in going all the way from New York City to Rancho Santa Fe was for the tennis, but I found that the resort offered so much more than that alone. Even before signing out, I asked about when rates were lower so I could come back twice in one year, and continue to improve my game and have an amazing time using the other resort facilities.
    Weaknesses are hard - if even possible - to identify. I can't say, in all honesty, that I can claim any part of my experience as having a weakness. It's not the cheapest place, but it was a great deal for what you get."
    —K.R., Beg., April 2009
  • 5-Ball Rating "Lovely, peaceful natural setting near the Pacific, wonderful food and great tennis staff."—J.T., Int., April 2009
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Great tennis pro, John Delille, who bends over backwards to make sure every player has a great time & appropriate instruction. The rooms are terrific, each has a private patio. The grounds are lovely. Location near the Del Mar beaches is very good."—L.F., Adv. Int., April 2009
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—A.C., Int., April 2009
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I had my first tennis vacation at this resort last October with some new teammates who had experienced Rancho on a number of occasions over the years. My sister tennis players couldn't express enough how wonderful the pros are (JOHN et. al) and how beautiful the resort accomodations are. Well, after experiencing this myself, I can see why my tennis sisters return year after year. I had such a fun tennis adventure and plan on returning annually with my new team."—K.M., Int., April 2009
  • 5-Ball Rating "Amazing Resort, Beautiful Accomidations and grounds. Outstanding Tennis clinics and incredible customer service. We will be back!!!!"—B.B., Adv. Int., April 2009
  • 4½-Ball Rating "This a great resort with wonderful people. The weather is perfect for tennis. We took lessons and played in the morning and hit the pool and hot tubs in the afternoon. The coaches are wonderful. The cassitas are spacious and very comfortable. The chef at the resort is excellent and there are other options near by. The only downside is that the hard courts are hard on our joints as we get older."—D.W., Adv. Int., April 2009
  • 5-Ball Rating "Beautiful tennis resort!"—A.O., Int., April 2009
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Fantastic tennis experience. Clinics are a great value. The staff went out of its way to ensure that we were having a great experience. Everything about the resort is first rate. Our only regret is that we can't stay longer. John Delille, the tennis director, did a great job and even played against us to ensure we got plenty of tennis. We are hoping for a rematch with John upon our return."—B.A., Adv., March 2009
  • 4-Ball Rating "This is an unbeleivable resort - the best I have been to. It is expensive to stay, eat and play, but everything is first class. The tennis instruction is as good as it gets, and they do indeed customize. Rooms are wonderfull and service top notch. Close to SanDiego, so city trips are easy also Close to Del Mar a sea side village."—J.H., Adv. Int., March 2009
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Simply beautiful."—H.T., Adv. Int., February 2009
  • 5-Ball Rating "What a secluded haven for rest and wonderful tennis. Coaches are personable, talented & experienced. Set into quiet eucylptus covered hills, in an old world village with a wonderful spa, it is my tennis destination of choice!! I can't remember any weakness."—J.T., Int., January 2009
  • 4½-Ball Rating "What an amazing weekend with the girls. I was impressed from beginning to end. I loved everything about the resort... especially the tennis!"—A.C., Adv. Int., January 2009
  • 5-Ball Rating "John and his staff are absolutely fantastic; Ranch Valencia has the best tennis instruction. They set up great tennis clinics and matchesfor your specific team or individual players. Not only is the tennis great the spa and lodging is amazing. This is a vacation you won't regret!!!"—M.P., Adv. Int., January 2009

Rate Rancho Valencia Resort & Spa


Ratings

(217 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
5-Ball Rating Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Instruction
4½-Ball Rating
Game Matching
4½-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4-Ball Rating
Cuisine
4-Ball Rating Lodging
4½-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
4½-Ball Rating
Dollar Value
4-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4-Ball Rating Setting
4½-Ball Rating
Kids' Programs
3½-Ball Rating Romance
4½-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4½-Ball Rating

Ratings

(217 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
5-Ball Rating Instruction
4½-Ball Rating Cuisine
4-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4-Ball Rating Setting
4½-Ball Rating Romance
4½-Ball Rating Kids' Programs
3½-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Game Matching
4½-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4-Ball Rating Lodging
4½-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
4½-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4½-Ball Rating

Rates and Reservations

Rates at Rancho Valencia are the same year-round and vary according to the size and location of the suite chosen and whether you're booking midweek or weekend and whether its a holiday. There is also a Hacienda, which contains three suites, a full kitchen, and a private pool.

Visit the website for current rates

Rancho Valencia Resort & Spa
5921 Valencia Circle
Rancho Santa Fe, CA 92067