Search
Email Us
Tennis Resorts Online
Photo of Port Royal Golf & Racquet Club, Hilton Head Island, SC
Courtesy Port Royal Golf & Racquet Club

Port Royal Golf & Racquet Club

Hilton Head Island, South Carolina


Your Call

Here's what others have had to say about Port Royal Golf & Racquet Club.

  • 5-Ball Rating ""—J.S., Adv. Int., April 2024
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—A.H., Int., April 2024
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—E.A., Adv. Int., April 2024
  • 5-Ball Rating "The tennis center is the best on the island. Friendly staff and offer many clinics to help with your game. They also have round robins that are super fun and a great way to meet new people. I would highly recommend taking private lessons with their tennis pro, Dale Brown. I have taken many lessons from different coaches over the years and none compare to Dale. He has helped my game tremendously. He has a great attitude, very attentive, uplifting and personalizes the lesson accordingly."—H.Y., Int., April 2024
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Tennis instruction is superb. The Pros are highly skilled and able to communicate tennis knowledge to the player, based on the player's goals. Also, the courts are always in extremely good shape, easily the best on HHI."—W.S., Adv. Int., April 2024
  • 5-Ball Rating "A Grand Slam Experience: A Review of Dale Brown, Heritage Golf and Port Royal Racquet Club. If you're searching for a children's tennis coach who combines skill, patience, and a passion for the game, look no further than Coach Dale Brown. As a parent, I couldn't be more thrilled with the transformative experience he provided my two boys (ages 7 and 10) during our March 2024 spring break at Port Royal Racquet Club, Hilton Head, SC. The boys had four individual private lessons which culminated with my 4th grader being very well postured for tennis team in Northern VA. More importantly, he inspired my boys to enjoy tennis and instilled their personal confidence in the sport. My 10-year-old son describes Coach Dale as “really patient, reasonable, fair, but really fun and a great teacher.” First and foremost, Coach Dale is absolutely dedicated. From the moment children step onto the court, they are greeted with warmth and encouragement, setting the tone for a positive and supportive learning environment. Coach Dale understood that the boys had different levels; and tailored two unique sessions with “drills” customized to their gaps, strengths, and areas for growth. At the end of each session, he played a game to improve their hits (and sportsmanship) while both boys strategized how to beat Coach Dale in volleys. Coach Dale is talented at breaking down complex techniques into simple, easy to understand concepts. His lessons resulted in my son being able to start tennis with confidence in serving and being proud of his top spin either backhand or front hand. Furthermore, his passion for tennis is contagious. His love for the sport inspired the children to develop a genuine enthusiasm for tennis that wasn’t there before. Through his guidance, he also taught them to be better well-rounded individuals in understanding sportsmanship, teamwork, and perseverance. No minute of practice was wasted from picking up balls, to keeping boys interested and driven, or to being respectful. Coach Dale also manages the Port Royal Racquet Club. The club is pristine, immaculate, and run by professionals who care about your experience, fitness, and Hilton Head, In addition to his exceptional coaching abilities, Coach Dale’s professionalism and communication skills are exemplary. He keeps parents informed about their child's progress, providing regular updates and constructive feedback. In conclusion, Coach Dale is a true gem in the world of youth sports. With his expertise, passion, and unwavering dedication, he cultivates a love for tennis that lasts a lifetime. If you're seeking a coach who not only teaches tennis but also instills invaluable life lessons, Coach Dale is the perfect match."—C.R., Beg., April 2024
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Had two beginner lessons with coach Dale Brown for three kids and an adult. All had a great time and learned a lot. Highly recommend Dale for lessons."—J.A., Beg., March 2024
  • 5-Ball Rating "Dale Brown is an outstanding coach. He explains everything very clearly and is particularly good at keeping it simple so it is easily understood and more likely to be retained. I learned so much from him this past week and really enjoyed myself at the same time. The resort is beautiful and the courts are superb. I plan to go back next year and I met several people who like it so much they return repeatedly."—K.N., Int., April 2023
  • 4-Ball Rating "Dale, our tennis instructor/pro, was excellent. Very knowledgeable, entertaining and tailored his program to our abilities and specific requests. He was responsive when we communicated ahead of time and everything he promised, he delivered (plus great restaurant recommendations! ). We definitely will go back. Port Royal as a tennis court is a lovely facility. Beautifully maintained courts in a gorgeous, Hilton Head setting."—B.J., Adv., December 2022
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We were a group of four 3.5/4.0 level players in Hilton Head for a week in Nov 2022. We signed up for daily back to back clinics (stroke of the day followed by fast strokes) with Dale. Dale is fabulous! He provided great insights into each of our individual games. We all improved during our time with him while having lots of laughs along the way. Some of Dale's pro tips were new to us and made us think of elements of our games in new ways. Since I have returned home, my serve consistency has vastly improved which is down to Dale's teaching. If one gets a chance to play at Port Royal, you will not go wrong with Dale!"—S.W., Adv. Int., December 2022
  • 5-Ball Rating "Dale is top drawer....high energy and effectiveness on the first stroke to the very last Virtuoso"—J.B., Adv., October 2022
  • 4-Ball Rating "Dale and his staff do an excellent job running the Port Royal Tennis facility. I have worked with several USTA certified tennis instructors, and Dale is up there at the top as one of the best I have had the pleasure to learn from on court. He had good input into my swing path, foot work and swing preparation that helped me improve my swing. I highly recommend anyone thinking of getting lessons from Dale to give him a shot. He is a great coach. He has excellent communication skills to explain what he is thinking with respect to your swing in a way that is easy to understand and implement quickly for improvement. Two thumbs up! Thanks Dale!"—J.P., Adv., September 2022
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—K.I., Int., August 2022
  • 5-Ball Rating "Awesome week of tennis clinics. Can’t wait to come again."—K.D., Pro, August 2022
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—J.H.,  August 2022
  • 5-Ball Rating "Loved my private tennis lesson and stroke of the day clinics I took with Dale the past few days. They were fun, I learned a lot and it was a great work out. I wish I was here longer and had something like this in NY! Looking forward to being back next year."—K.P., Beg., June 2022
  • 4-Ball Rating "Dale our pickleball instructor was very friendly and knowledgeable. We played a fun round robin and met great people. Only 2 pickleball courts but lovely facility."—D.A., Adv. Int., June 2022
  • 5-Ball Rating "I participated in four tennis stroke clinics and one organized round robin. Tennis instruction was provided by Dale Brown who creates a fun environment but also provides meaningful instruction specific to each person's skill level. A great experience. One suggestion is for the club to manage a system to connect players who are looking to play with others during their stay."—E.G., Int., May 2022
  • 5-Ball Rating "Very friendly and inviting Great social atmosphere. Relaxing , great pools and sports !"—C.G., Int., May 2022
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—J.H., Low Int., May 2022
  • 4-Ball Rating "Tennis instructor Dale Brown was welcoming and friendly. His easy going manner is deceptive as he pays attention to each player/participant and gives very insightful and helpful individual instruction in a 6 person clinic setting. Never playing on clay before, he also made the transition very easy. Totally enjoyable. Compliments to Dale and staff, as we were alerted to a delay in play one day, kept up to date, and even brought in new instructors to make sure we got our hour of play in Highly recommend if you're in Port Royal and play tennis."—K.M., Int., April 2022
  • 4½-Ball Rating "my son and I vacationed at the port royal westin. We played tennis and pickleball and did clinics/lessons daily. The staff at Port royal was exceptional. It was by far our favorite. The tennis director (Dale) at Port royal is excellent. He can teach you, encourage you and keep you smiling with his personality. I will definitely return."—H.L., Adv., March 2022
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—A.P., Int., March 2022
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—E.T., Int., March 2022
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—D.D., Int., January 2022
  • 5-Ball Rating "Great daily tennis clinics at a reasonable cost! Dale Brown and his staff were excellent instructors. The courts and facilities were very well maintained! We will definitely be returning!"—C.C., Low Int., October 2021
  • 4-Ball Rating "Tennis clinics were excellent. Dale Brown did a great job of instructing and executing drills. There was a good balance between doing the drills and stopping to make suggestions regarding strokes and positioning. He also did a very good job of explaining "why" we should do certain things. Another positive aspect was the way that he involved us in the process of trying to figure things out. Finally, Dale made the process fun - even when I was gasping for breath."—L.S., Int., September 2021
  • 5-Ball Rating "My wife and I keep coming back to Port Royal (three times in one year) because of Dale Brown, its Director of Tennis. Dale is an excellent teaching pro and he has helped both of us improve our games significantly. Dale has an incredible ability to quickly identify a player's strengths and weaknesses and then come up with easy to understand methods to enhance a player's strengths and improve his/her weaknesses. Dale also has a great sense of humor and makes the lessons very enjoyable. My wife and I can't wait to go back to Port Royal in a few months!"—K.S., Adv. Int., September 2021
  • 5-Ball Rating "Dale is an excellent teacher. Lots of energy and made the clinics fun as well as educational. I will definitely be back in the future as my schedule allows."—M.G., Beg., August 2021
  • 5-Ball Rating "I had a tennis private with Dale at the Port Royal Golf & Racquet Club. I’m returning to tennis after years long hiatus. Dale was fantastic- he was holistically insightful and gave me valuable advice to improve on my game in every aspect. Dale made my lesson feel lighthearted and he took the time to get to know me, which made me feel comfortable on a new court. His teaching style allowed me to build confidence both on the court and in my strokes. Dale even emailed me a summary of things we discussed during our lesson afterwards- extremely helpful as I was only in town for a vacation and would have definitely forgotten each detail. Overall, Dale was great. I definitely hope to work with him in the future when I am back in the area."—L.H., Int., August 2021
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We went to the Westin for our vacation and the Port Royal Racquet Club program was definitely one of the best parts of our trip. They have a great pro, great programming and you get to meet new people."—M.J., Beg., July 2021
  • 5-Ball Rating "Port Royal is a great club for both golf and tennis. My wife and I stayed at the Westin and did the Daily Double tennis clinic every morning with Dale Brown from 9-11. While we really enjoyed the club and facilities, it was Director of Tennis Dale Brown who really made it a truly exceptional experience. Fun, high energy, and excellent instruction from someone who is truly passionate about tennis. We’ll definitely be repeat customers and highly recommend Dale and Port Royal for tennis on Hilton Head Island."—S.J., Beg., July 2021
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The “daily double” tennis drills with Dale are a must! We loved the structure of having a stroke of the day to focus on for the first hour and then more of a cardio workout while playing tennis for the second hour. Dale was an excellent coach and taught us so much in the short time that we were on vacation. Dale also went above and beyond by helping put us in touch with a tennis pro in our hometown area. We will definitely be back soon!"—C.P., Low Int., July 2021
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Dale at the port royal tennis club was amazing."—S.K., Int., July 2021
  • 5-Ball Rating "Getting our little ones in Port Royals Tennis clinic is one of the highlights for our summer visits to Hilton Head every year. The pro shop staff is professional, the grounds are stunning and most importantly our kids always have a blast. You can tell the tennis pros love what they do and they’re just outstanding with the kids. You can tell the tennis community at Port Royal is a close group and knows how to have a good time; they’ve always been incredibly friendly, welcoming and kind on our brief visits."—K.S., Int., July 2021
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I first see that the 2021 date option of this survey needs to be updated ... I visited 4/04-11/2021. Dale Brown, Tennis Director is a fantastic teacher, coach, problem solver who creates a positive, supportive, relaxing and comfortable environment for learning and improving. I enjoyed taking the Stroke of the Day and the Drills clinics (3 mornings). Adding two 1-hour private lessons of Dale's masterful coaching was just what this former tennis player needed to literally get 'back in the game' ( I hadn't played for 20 years). Most memorable, Dale went above and beyond connecting me with a couple of folks from my home town when I told him I didn't have a network of folks to tap into yet for playing. Dale did an exceptional job making my customer experience at Port Royal Tennis a wonderfully memorable one. Finally, a shout out to Golf Director, Jay Rusch, who spent 15-20 minutes with me late one Saturday afternoon 2 weeks before our arrival explaining the tennis clinics and private lessons offered .... he was so patient and courteous ... and made the sale! Thanks to everyone who made my re-entry into tennis so enjoyable, fun and equipped me with many tips to keep me improving."—M.T., Low Int., April 2021
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Rented tennis courts for just family hit around. Conditions and experience were great. In addition, we setup private Family "Pickleball" lessons with Dale Brown to get acquainted to the game and learn the rules. Dale was superb including a lot of patience and great personality. Highly recommend giving Dale and Pickleball a try."—J.L., Int., March 2021
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—S.T., Adv., February 2021
  • 5-Ball Rating "I was very fortunate to have lessons and clinics with Dale Brown this January 2021. Dale Brown was the best private lesson, group lesson and clinic coach that I've ever had! I should have done this many years ago! The Port Royal tennis staff were also excellent, very professional and friendly. I look forward to returning next year! Jack Foster"—J.F., Adv. Int., February 2021
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—L.B., Int., December 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Myself and my children have done a series of tennis clinics and private lessons with Dale Brown who is really an outstanding instructor. We were impressed with his ability to coach towards change in our games, excite my children with his enthusiasm, and his patience with players who took longer to gain the skills. We have all taken lessons and clinics at various clubs, resorts and camps, but to date we have found Dale to be the best instructor we have met. Again, his kindness, patience and true ability to really COACH to a desired outcome are all qualities appreciated by students."—L.D., Adv. Int., October 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating "The Director of Tennis and Head Pro is exceptional! Very professional, excellent teacher, and because of his personality, creates a fun, happy atmosphere!! The staff is knowledgeable and friendly! The tennis courts are perfectly maintained! The grounds are beautifully landscaped! No weaknesses at Port Royal Golf and Racquet Club!"—K.P., Adv. Int., September 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—L.K., Adv., September 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating "All around excellent experience. Dale arranged for me to play with a group that was fantastic. He is a terrific instructor and will focus on whatever you choose to work on."—P.M., Adv. Int., September 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating "The highlight of my lesson was the instructor, Dale. He made learning fun and kept it simple, with just a few tips that immediately improved my form. He is such a great instructor! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!"—C.H., Beg., August 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating "We came in from Washington DC and met Dale for the first time. He was truly amazing. We are extremely picky when it comes to tennis instruction and needed someone for kids, adults and grandparents. He rose to the occasion and provided thoughtful instruction in a really fun manner. We had a blast each day and it was refreshing to get his perspective on the game and its techniques. More importantly our kids had a great time and could not wait to go each and every day. Dale is really a great coach and teacher - he is patient and thoughtful. He handled all the personalities well and we hope to take more lessons from him in the future. We are used to top training and have one of the best in the country in the DC area - Dale is right there with them and we would highly rec'd."—M.G., Adv. Int., July 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—D.G.,  July 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating "The Port Royal tennis facility has been upgraded and is tremendous. The Har-Tru courts are outstanding. Head pro Dale Brown is a great guy and a pleasure to be around."—W.L., Adv. Int., July 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating "Dale Brown, Director of Tennis Is awesome. Great instructions, keeps you focused and fun sense of humor. Even a clinic in 100 degrees goes quickly w Dale."—E.Y., Int., July 2020
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Tennis: add backboard and ball machines"—R.A., Adv., July 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Hit 4-5 times with Dale who was the perfect pro for me to hit with. Dale provided the best mix of hard hitting, good feedback, and technical expertise. It was a very enjoyable experience."—C.P., Adv., June 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating "Club was great. Courts were beautiful and well maintained. Dale was hands down the best tennis instructor I’ve ever had. And I’ve had many!! Helped my backhand and overall cleaned up my game!"—H.K., Adv. Int., June 2020
  • 4-Ball Rating "Check out Port Royal Tennis club in Hiltonhead SC. Great facility with plenty of drills and match play offered plus top notch pros on staff."—B.W., Adv. Int., June 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—R.W., Adv. Int., May 2020
  • 4-Ball Rating "We enjoyed our last minute trip so much!! Tennis drills were available and received a lot of one on one instruction. Dale, the pro was the best! Rented pickleball equipment and courts and had such a fun social time at a great price!"—M.T., Int., May 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating "Dale is an awesome coach. He knows exactly how to work with each player’s personality to help them improve. One week with Dale is like 6 months with others. He helps you be your best and makes it fun!"—M.L., Int., April 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating "Outstanding tennis staff and courts. Everyone was exceptionally friendly and accommodating."—B.P., Int., March 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating "The staff was so friendly! I am recovering from an injury and couldn’t play tennis. Pam went out of her way to see if she could find a fitness center I could use. Very helpful and so nice to work with! We will be back!"—S.E., Adv. Int., March 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—R.F., Int., March 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating "We have been to Port Royal for our annual girls trip 4 years in a row. We always play tennis here and Dale hooks up with courts, times we need , and luckily great weather. The facility is beautiful and we have a large loud group that enjoys every minute we have playing tennis. Highly recommend Port Royal"—K.S., Adv., March 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating "Dale Brown, He was a great teacher. I worked with him for 3 days straight and he focused on simple and getting the bad habits out. I improved just over 3 days and would go back for a lesson if I was in the area. He is great communicator."—J.E., Int., February 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I can only review Dale, the tennis Pro/Director. I attended one of his clinics January 2019 and I came back again in January 2020 and even brought my friends with me. We had a nice time, learned a few new things and really appreciated the lesson. I will definitely go back."—A.S., Int., February 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—L.M., Int., February 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating "Very good instruction. Dale increased my skill level in 4 days. He made it very enjoyable!!"—V.A., Low Int., February 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Head tennis pro evidences sincere personal interest in your progress. Appreciated the explicit email outlining improvement strategy."—G.T.,  February 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating "Dale Brown, MS, CSCS, USPTA, Director of Tennis was experienced and patient. He was able to convey rules, regulations, and applied instructional tutelage specific to each of us (4 were playing). The courts and club are new and a great asset to the Port Royal Plantation Tennis and Racquet Club. We are owners at Ocean Palms Villas and having this state-of-the-art Club, Golfing, and pro's like Dale, is a definite attraction and impressing benefit."—H.M., Low Int., January 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Dale, is a very good coach as well as very encouraging. I look forward to getting back on the court to put his tips to the test. I also look forward to returning to HH and meeting with Dale for continued instruction. Thanks for e everything Dale. Jeff"—J.M., Adv. Int., December 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—D.T., Int., December 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating "Port Royal Golf and Racquet Club is a first class facility. Instruction was clear focused and well organized. Pickleball Courts were new and specifically designed for pickleball play. Clubhouse staff was helpful and setting is amidst beautifully manicured grounds. Most enjoyable experience."—J.C., Low Int., December 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "The tennis clinic programs are very good and the tennis instructor Dale Brown, a former tennis college coach, provided excellent and very helpful advice that has significantly improved my game. I can unequivocally recommend Port Royal to anyone looking to improve their game and have fun doing it."—R.C., Adv. Int., December 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We took several clinics from Dale as a couple. He is an exceptional teacher with a superb ability to make it simple. We feel much more confidence on the court and his teaching strategies will definitely improve our game in the future! He was always extremely positive in-spite of our learning curve. Dale’s personality really gives you a love for the game . Looking forward to next October so we can do it again ????????????"—P.W., Int., December 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Found the pro-shop staff (Ami) to be very helpful and enthusiastic. Worked with Dale over two sessions, both were clinics, but one turned into a one-on-one as I was the only attendee. Dale was great, helped me improve some basic technique issues and get a good work out. I look forward to working with him again on a future visit to HHI."—P.G., Int., November 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating "Brad - great tennis pro. Saw and fixed some stuff very quickly. Will Come back."—T.P., Adv. Int., October 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Brand new Tennis club house, 8 clay courts 2 pickle ball courts All in excellent condition, Dale head pro was an excellent instructor very knowledgeable about tennis, very personable and ran an enjoyable stroke of the day and daily drill. Only negative is he needs a larger budget for tennis balls for drills too many dead balls!"—M.S., Adv. Int., October 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Our family had a fantastic experience at the Port Royal racquet club. We took two different clinics with the head pro, Dale Brown, and our kids took a private lesson with another pro. Dale is the best pro we've ever worked with - anywhere. His coaching is simple, smart, and effective, and he has a fun, warm and encouraging approach to the clinics. We loved every minute of the daily stroke clinic and the fast-action clinic. We really can't say enough good things about our experience. The new racquet club facilities are beautiful and the pro shop is also a major upgrade We can't wait to go back!"—C.S., Low Int., October 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Dale Brown is an excellent coach & person. We really enjoyed our clinics with him, and his love of tennis makes it hard for you not to fall in love with tennis all over again."—J.S., Beg., October 2019
  • 3½-Ball Rating "The new Port Royal is on its way to becoming a terrific tennis option on an island that has great tennis. The courts need more seasoning to get that wonderful southern har-tru playing surface. Head Pro Dale Brown aims to please, is very observant and can communicate his message to help you improve your game. It's great to have a tennis resort on the north end of the island again. I look forward to playing at Port Royal on my next visit to Hilton Head."—P.I., Adv., October 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—K.V., Int., October 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—G.F., Int., October 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—M.M., Int., October 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Great lessons and personalized instructions teamed with friendly, laid back staff. Dale and Amy made us feel welcomed every single day of our stay. In fact, We are sending our granddaughter to them for lessons. That’s the best recommendation any grandparent can give! Can’t say a weakness. They were great."—C.B., Int., October 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating "The staff was very friendly & efficient. Dale, the Director of Tennis, and our instructor was great! He helped me work on my weaknesses and was very positive in his instruction. He kept us moving which I really like. Great courts and atmosphere. Would definitely come back. Also had a clinic with George and he was good too. He took time from his day off to accommodate my friend and I since we couldn't do a clinic at Harbortown due to the National Junior Tournament."—R.V., Int., September 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Dale was an exceptional pro here. He gave very useful tips for my tennis improvement. Will definitely attend another of his clinics when I return."—D.S., Int., September 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "I I have already recommended this club to friends and this club was recommended to me by friends at my local tennis club in Ann Arbor, MI. I’m happy to say I was able to play all 5 days I was in Hilton Head and with all of the good tennis clubs on the island this was my favorite. One of the main reasons for this was the instructor that led the clinics, Dale. He has a great way of making the clinic fun, informative and hard at the same time. In one of the clinics I attended he had many different levels and by the end he’d created an atmosphere where everyone was hitting at their level and feeling good about the time used.the courts are in immaculate conditions. They are clay courts without digs and any unevenness. There was constant work happening when the court was available. This is a younger club that will be growing rapidly as the word reaches out to tourist and players who specifically travelled for the tennis. I was thoroughly happy with the treatment, facilities, instruction, and maintenance. I am already planning another trip and with the new equipment they are planning I can see this being a reason to visit Hilton Head for the tennis."—M.M., Adv. Int., August 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Spent two weeks at Port Royal and Dale and his staff did a great job accommodating my tennis needs. Dale is very observant and does a great job with his clinics."—T.G., Adv., August 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—P.W., Int., August 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "My family and I were in Hilton Head last month (May) on vacation. I drove over to Port Royal a couple of mornings with my two older kids to sign up for the morning Fast Action Drill with the local instructor, Dale Brown. We really enjoyed the drill... Dale made it challenging while also keeping it fun... and the facility was very nice. Wish I would have ventured over to the club earlier in the week. Will definitely go back next time we are in Hilton Head... and will recommend Port Royal to our friends and family."—J.B., Int., June 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Great facility with all new courts! Plenty of courts to play when you want. Tennis clinics were great. Dan was an exceptional Pro who was very easy to work with and understand. Dan ran a great tennis program that made our vacation one of the best ever. Port Royal is highly recommended for anyone looking for a great tennis vacation!"—N.P., Adv. Int., June 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Port Royal has a beautiful facility and new/well maintained hard-tru courts. Dale, the pro, is knowledgeable and fun. Lessons are informative with the appropriate level of intensity. I love spending a morning on the courts with either a private lesson or in a clinic!"—P.M., Int., June 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—P.M., Adv. Int., June 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "I had private lessons with Dale. He is an amazing teacher with a very high sense of observation. I improved my tennis a lot (and still need to improve a lot ;-)). I highly recommend Dale for private lessons and cannot wait to come back to get more."—C.C., Adv. Int., June 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—M.G., Int., June 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Port Royal has excellent tennis and golf facilities and the whole staff was outstanding. Request Dale for tennis clinics. Top notch coach who makes the experience fun. Would also recommend for children. This was great value while staying at the Westin Hilton Head."—K.K., Low Int., June 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "My husband and I had a great 2 weeks on HHI. We played golf, hubby had a great private golf lesson. I was lucky to have several tennis lessons with Dale, who was really great. Dale is knowledgeable, engaged and all around a great guy and teacher. Hubby had a pickleball lesson with Dale and he came home and bought a racket he enjoyed this lesson/playing so much! We'll be back, hopefully for more of the same Jan/Feb 2020. Kathleen and Ross Fenton"—K.F., Int., June 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Love the new tennis facility. I play on har tru at several country clubs and none compare to the condition of these courts. Dale’s stroke of the day and fast action drill are great clinics. Not only will you hit a ton of balls, but unlike a lot of clinics, you’ll get excellent individual instruction. His private lessons are exceptional, as well. Dale successfully creates a fun and productive experience for everyone."—A.M., Adv. Int., June 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Dale is a wonderful instructor"—J.F., Adv. Int., June 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Me and my daughter played some tennis at the Port Royal Racquetclub and had some work on our tennis racquets. I must say that Amy and Dale were two of the most friendly people we met and genuinely talked and took an interest in her tennis game. I can't wait for her to receive lessons and for us to try out pickle ball."—D.S., Int., June 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Wow....cannot say enough about the experience at this club! First off the staff, Amy at the front desk, was pleasant, accommodating, and just so nice! Then I got on the court with instructor Dale...and I was blown away. Not only is he knowledgeable, but he is passionate about coaching and teaching. In one hour I learned so many helpful tips about my form, etc., that my game changed for the better by at least fifty percent. I was really impressed! Thanks Dale... I will be back and hope to get my entire Atlanta team down here too! Highly recommend."—V.N., Int., June 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Great new pro at Royal Palms ! Clinics and private lessons were targeted and great exercise. Hoping as this resort expands there are more opportunities to play late in the day with help setting up matches for guests. Beautiful new courts!"—G.M., Int., June 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Tennis instruction is excellent - both individual and group clinics - much improved over previous years. Dale does an excellent job of providing simple precise instruction and feedback targeted at both technique and strategy. The courts are excellent. Will return next year and look forward to be big able to take advantage of some social tennis and arranged matches!"—J.R., Int., June 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Port Royal Racquet Club is very special to me. I have enjoyed playing there for years when my family vacationed in Hilton Head. When the Club moved to its new location, I was prepared to be disappointed, but I was pleasantly surprised. The new pro shop and courts are lovely, and all of the staff are warm and welcoming. Dale's clinics and lessons are both enjoyable and helpful. I've been playing tennis for more than 40 years, and Dale not only reminded me of things I know I need to work on, but he gave me some new pointers to help fix old problems. He even had us working on shots I had never tried before. Everyone there - staff, resident members, and vacationers - is so nice, making for an enjoyable atmosphere all around. I'll be back!"—K.B., Adv. Int., May 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Port Royal, to me, is a hidden gem. It is quiet and has a lot to offer. The new tennis facility is beautiful. Dale makes clinics and private lessons fun and worthwhile. No matter the level of play you may have had on a particular day, you go out with a positive! I plan to bring tennis friends to Port Royal again. We plan to return in the fall to create a lessons package for ourselves with Dale. If you have someone who doesn't play tennis, there is a beautiful patio with tables and chairs to sit under the trees to view the courts. We have had lunch after tennis on the patio outside the clubhouse. Delicious food and great service."—D.B., Adv. Int., May 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "I really enjoyed the tennis instruction. Dale had some great pointers, both on strategy and strokes. I liked the fact that the maximum number of players in a class was six. After 11 am, it appeared that the courts were wide open for tennis. There are lots of good players in Hilton Head so it would be easy to find a game."—S.K., Adv. Int., May 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—M.T., Int., May 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—B.L., Int., May 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Beautiful facilities in beautiful setting. Thank you!"—H.L., Adv. Int., May 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "I attended Dale Brown's stroke clinics and drills Mon-Thu last March 2019 when I was on vacation for a week in Hilton Head. In the stroke clinics, Dale identified minor changes to make to my forehand and backhand and within 2 days I was hitting both topspin forehand and backhands with considerably more power and topspin. It was an amazing experience and improvement which has led to better play and results this spring. I will definitely come back on my next visit for another 3-4 days of clinic and drills."—S.M., Adv. Int., May 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "It's an excellent location for tennis and social activities, as well as a very scenic location."—D.O., Int., May 2019
  • 2-Ball Rating "This used to be the go to place on Hilton Head Island. However, recent changes in location and staff have all but made it less than desirable. The old staff was top notch and you were always warmly greeted by Tanda and Denny. They always made sure you were very important. Now the staff is less accommodating to the point they act like your not there unless you want to play golf. Your only hope is that you get lucky and one of the hold overs from the old location is there to help you. Recently I was waiting for a court assignment while the person at the desk was helping golfers who came in after we did. She carried a conversation with them and finally looked at us and commented " I didn't see you there". lastly, there tennis pro was top notch and has to be missed. Denny really knew how to run a tennis resort. Going to be looking for a new place to play on the island."—R.S., Adv., May 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—J.M., Adv. Int., May 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I would highly recommend going to the Port Royal Golf and Racquet Club. My wife and I went there back in February 2019 and had a great time. We took tennis lessons from Dale there at the club and had a great experience. Dale was able to provide us with some value tennis tips and instructions that we could apply immediately to our tennis game. He made the instructions very simple, so that my wife could understand them. The price of the tennis lessons were very reasonable compared to some so the other resorts on the island."—R.H., Int., May 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—S.M., Adv., May 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "A great setting, plenty of courts, dedicated pickle ball, an adequate pro shop, outstanding instruction from the head pro, Dale."—T.G., Adv., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "I have been coming here year after year and this is without doubt the friendliest club on the island. Denny, Tanda and the rest of their team are a credit to Port Royal Racquet Club and always go the extra mile to ensure you have a great tennis vacation."—J.H., Adv., November 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "I have taken clinics, lessons and have played tennis at Port Royal Racquet Club over a period of several years. Dana, the tennis pro, Tanda, the go to person for planning a tennis getaway, and the entire staff at Port Royal Racquet Club are very professional, welcoming and offer a tennis experience that keeps me and my friends coming back. The tennis facility is about to relocate and hopefully the same dynamic and service will transfer as well. The personnel at the racquet club make the experience what it is. Thoroughly enjoy it."—C.P., Int., October 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I have been coming to Port Royal for several years during our weekly vacation to HHI. The staff both in the shop and on the courts are terrific. They even recall us--by name--each year. Cinics and instruction are top notch. The facilities were damaged somewhat in hurricane Matthew and the entire property has been sold to condo developers. The clubhouse and courts are moving to the golf clubhouse area. I believe they will have 8 new courts and a very nice new clubhouse. The courts and clubhouse were nearly complete as of late July 2018. The staff and programs should remain the same, but the facilities will be brand new. Looking forward to next year! The Marriott and Westin right on property offer tremendous vacation experiences, right on the beach. One of the 3 golf courses at Port Royal is also closed, and I do not know whether there are plans to reoopen it. It was lying fallow as of July. The other two golf courses were in great shape, and are a good value."—R.R., Adv. Int., September 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "An amazing facility with the best director of tennis & staff I have ever experienced!"—M.K., Adv. Int., April 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—T.R., Adv., November 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—P.S., Adv. Int., November 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "Good match play for more advanced players If your looking for this is the place to start on Hilton Head."—A.M., Adv., November 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "Strengths include great southern hospitality, wonderful accommodations steps away from the tennis courts, affordable rates for tennis drills/lessons and easy access to the beach. Very dedicated Tennis pro who was very open to feedback, ran great drills at good pace, and had helpful tips. Absolutely beautiful setting, very peaceful and relaxing. Weakness was tennis pro - could have been more attentive to all players in the group equally. People were left feeling excluded or even ignored Some days. Or even that they were not getting their money's worth."—R.A., Int., October 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "A great facility. The pro and the staff work to ensure guest's needs are met. Our group was able to customize our drills--and the free court time was a big plus. Plenty of reasonable accommodations within walking distance of courts and beach!"—A.H., Adv. Int., October 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "I attended with 12 other tennis team mates and our Pro for a 4 day tennis camp. The teaching staff was excellent, the facility was clean and the Pro Shop Manager Tandy was superior. I would highly recommend this facility and any clinics/camps they would offer. We stayed in VRBO condos within walking distance and the Westin (with beach acces) was also within in walking distance."—J.E., Low Int., October 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Very nice facilities and exceptionally nice staff. Port Royal offers a wide variety of tennis clinics. I attended the "free clinic" early in the week along with many "stroke of the day" and "fast paced" play. The pros were very knowledgeable and made great efforts to work with all to see improve. Most of the courts are clay (Har-Tru) which is unique. The courts were well maintained everytime we played."—C.S., Beg., April 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "My favourite place for a tennis holiday, staff are accommodating for the whole vacation experience eating other recreation activities beyond tennis"—R.P., Int., April 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "Staff very friendly. Still recovering from relatively recent hurricane."—M.B., Adv. Int., April 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—M.E., Adv., March 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Great tennis facilities with well-manicured clay courts and nice hard courts. The viewing area is spectacular and nice seating on each court with accessible water. The staff are very helpful with a great atmosphere for all levels of players from beginner to collegiate."—J.C., Adv., March 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—J.R., Adv. Int., March 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "Wonderful people! Great courts and accommodations!"—J.R., Int., July 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "The friendly, helpful, welcoming and accommodating staff at Port Royal made our family feel "at home" in their beautiful facility!! Pat Robinette"—P.R., Int., July 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "Port Royal Racquet Club is a beautiful, well-equipped facility run by an exceptional staff. Dennie and team always make our vacation a delight by helping us reserve courts on a daily basis for our family of 22. We have our "Robinette" family tennis camp every morning and an annual "Robinette Family Cup" in surely one of the most beautiful tennis settings ever. This year, Dennie gave us a special free lesson in Pickleball, a game we hope to be able to play on a small court at the "homeplace" in Knoxville, TN. LOVE this place!"—J.F., Adv. Int., July 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "This is a modest sized tennis facility. They have 10 clay courts and 4 hard courts. The courts are beautiful! They are laid out in twos with spectacular trees with Spanish Moss all around. An especially nice touch is the Jasmine the provides the "wind screen" for all the courts! We played on the clay courts and found them to be in excellent shape - very well maintained. The staff at the club is extremely friendly and accommodate all your needs with a smile. The condo we rented was well maintained and had all the amenities one would expect. We hope to go back again next year!"—R.M., Adv., May 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—J.D., Adv., May 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "Great facilities, ambiance, friendly staff and beautiful scenery."—J.W., Adv., May 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—D.K., Adv., May 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "Hilton Head is awesome location"—R.R., Adv. Int., May 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "I love coming here everyday. The staff is really helpful and welcoming. The courts are in excellent condition."—D.L., Adv., April 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Always great tennis in a beautiful setting. The staff is terrific and run so well. The pro shop has the best selection of tennis wear on the island."—B.S., Int., April 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We as a group love port Royal , Denny and his team there are terrific and have been going there at least 35 yrs on and off...beautiful tennis ,golf and ocean access . We are going back mid June with multiple families, such a GREAT Time !"—D.S., Adv. Int., April 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—P.B., Low Int., April 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "Tennis facility is awesome and lots of courts available. Great clay and hard court options!"—N.E., Int., April 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I think the strength of the club is the staff. They made us feel special and welcome."—J.T., Adv., April 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "Just an amazing tennis club with an unbelievable staff that is both helpful and knowledgeable. They helped in arranging matches and court time with members and locals while I was visiting. Made the trip that much better!"—B.N., Adv., April 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "The facility and staff are top notch--it's one of the ultimate tennis destinations!"—W.P., Adv., April 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "I find the people at Port Royal always helpful and friendly. The courts are always in good shape and access is easy. I go there mostly for instruction and I value the teaching of the Pro Patrick Page."—D.H., Int., April 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—J.L., Adv., April 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "Port Royal is an old style classic tennis club. The tennis pros, the staff and the director of tennis are terrific. their one goal is to make your experience great."—J.B., Adv., March 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "Great atmosphere. Personnel accommodating and knowledgable.Wonderful courts.We always have a great time. Always able to arrange matches with their help. No apparent weaknesses.Maybe could use more a few more courts."—G.C., Adv. Int., March 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Outstanding tennis facility with both hardtru(10) and (4) hardcourts and (2) grass courts under redo conditions. Outstanding friendly staff with excellent pros"—D.P., Adv. Int., March 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "Staff treats you like family"—R.R., Adv. Int., April 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating "The Port Royal Racquet Club is a warm,friendly, and accommodating resort. It has 14 courts which allows the club to take good care of large groups. Tanda and Denny Bianco, tennis managers and professionals, are welcoming and very service oriented. They are there to help with whatever you need, not to mention operating a fully stocked pro shop with beautiful tennis apparel. The tennis instruction is first rate! Try the Port Royal Racquet Club for your tennis vacation.You won't be disappointed!"—B.L., Pro, April 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—K.K., Adv. Int., April 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating "Great people and great time!!! Tanda and Dana are awesome."—G.S., Adv. Int., November 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—E.S., Adv., November 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The facility has all that we look for and the people are knowledgeable, helpful and friendly."—M.K., Int., May 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "PRRC is a great place to have group and individual lessons at HHI. Have been there 5 times in the past 7 years and I also had lessons in other places in the Island to compare. The pros at PRRC are very good and I liked to participate both in the clinics and to take individual lessons. All the staff are very friendly."—A.V., Adv. Int., May 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—B.E., Adv., April 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The visitors are very well taken care of and the the club is beautiful."—P.C.,  April 2014
  • 4-Ball Rating "This is a great place!"—M.S., Adv. Int., April 2014
  • 4-Ball Rating "They were very nice and accomodatimg. The facility is beautiful"—K.W.,  April 2014
  • 4-Ball Rating "Port royal is a great club that offers a great number of both Har-Tru and hard courts. Great seating and viewing as well."—J.J., Adv. Int., April 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating "Fantastic setting! All the people are friendly, helpful, and very pleasant! Great place to play tennis."—P.G., Adv. Int., April 2014
  • 4-Ball Rating "Port Royale Racquet Club was a lovely experience! The staff was friendly and helpful. The courts were very well maintained. I will definitely go back."—A.H., Adv. Int., April 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Denny and Tanda manage the best tennis resort I've ever been to. The entire staff is friendly and they all know their tennis. I can't wait to return this coming October!"—S.B., Adv., April 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—M.H., Int., April 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "My mom asked me to write this. I took a private lesson everyday from Patrick. I had so much fun because he showed me how to put the ball away so I could win points. The pros back home make me play with the color balls and all we do is bloop it over. Now my favorite shot is the smash. He gave me a nickname to remind me "hit it like you mean it!" Thank you, Crusher. PS: I'm only 8 so my mom typed this."—O.H., Low Int., March 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We have been coming down to Hilton Head Island for many years. Our tennis club of choice is always the Port Royal Racquet Club. Great location, friend and helpful staff, and we have had no problem picking up games. With Hartrue and Harcourt courts, there is a choice of playing surfaces and it is easy to book a court. Tandy and Denny, the managers, and Dana the head pro, have been wonderful to us and are always friendly and helpful. Overall, a great tennis experience!!"—B.R., Adv. Int., March 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—A.C., Adv. Int., October 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating "Ever have a favorite restaurant that you think is a 5 star experience, then a new place opens up or you try a new place and have a true 5 star experience which renders your old favorite place a 3.5? That is what the clinics put on by Dana and Pat are like. You may think you have gone to great clinic at other places nearby or in your travels but the clinics at Port Royal are truly 5 star causing you to re-evaluate all of your other ratings."—E.W., Adv. Int., August 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating "I go to HHI every year to Marriott's Barony Beach in Port Royal. Patrick Page is by far, the best tennis pro I have ever come across! He offers tips that help your game and designs the drills specifically for you. He is very knowledgeable, tells great stories and is a wonderful teacher:) I go to HHI to take lessons from Patrick every year! He is awesome:) Hi Roger!"—L.S., Int., June 2013
  • 3½-Ball Rating "My wife and I took the 8am tennis clinic all week and had a great time. Tennis pro was a true ambassador of the game and represented the club well. He ended a few of our lessons by teaching our 4 year old... who now wants her own tennis court."—M.R., Low Int., May 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—S.B., Adv., May 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Love Port Royal! The staff is outstanding. The courts are extremely well maintained. The instruction is the best I have ever had."—K.B., Adv., May 2013
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—D.H., Adv. Int., May 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—S.B., Pro, May 2013
  • 4-Ball Rating "We have been bringing our high school tennis team (Walsh Jesuit High School, Ohio) down in March during spring break for training. I have been with the team the last 3 years. Denny and Tanda Bianco always do a great job of making us feel welcome and they always make sure we get ample court time for the boys. Some of our top boys get to play sets with the excellent players at the academy. This is a huge plus for our program. Port Royal is an outstanding facility and we always look forward to coming down from Ohio."—D.M., Int., March 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—P.B., Pro, March 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Beautiful clay courts and very friendly staff. Perfect for couples getaway for group tennis vacation. I highly recommend Port Royal!"—J.S., Adv., December 2012
  • 5-Ball Rating "Excellent staff with gracious Attitude. There are a tremendous variety of tennis venues and they bend over backwards to get you to participate."—T.S.,  November 2012
  • 5-Ball Rating "I have been playing tennis for many years in Hilton Head at The Port Royal Racquet Club, and the courts are always in great shape. The staff is always very helpful, and make sure that all players have a great tennis experience. Denny and his staff bend over backwards to arrange a match,and always make you feel at home. Dink & Lob from Ohio."—H.D., Adv., November 2012
  • 5-Ball Rating "I am a 4.5 and my buddy is a 4.0. We called the club while on vacation and they established 3 different matches for us, one including a club pro. This resort went out of their way to make sure we were happy. I would like to see some towels for the guests though...VERY HUMID in the summer..."—S.A., Adv., August 2012
  • 5-Ball Rating "My experience at Port Royal was outstanding. They quickly organized challenging matches to my ability. The clay courts give true bounces. The staff ensured a good experience. Denny, Dana and the rest made it a definite to go back!"—T.W., Adv., August 2012
  • 5-Ball Rating "Port Royal offers the complete tennis experience(lessons, clinics, drills, free play) in a very friendly environment. Pros (Dana,Pat,etc.) are top notch. Denny, Tanda, Bruce, Sue, Babs and Melissa work together to ensure all needs are met. We've vacationed there for 12 years and look forward to many more."—M.W., Int., August 2012
  • 4-Ball Rating "Denny, Tanda and the team at Port Royal couldn't be better ambassadors for tennis, Port Royal, and Hitlon Head in general. The courts are in great shape (hard and clay), the ProShop has great items, and it was just an all around great experience."—J.M., Adv. Int., July 2012
  • 5-Ball Rating "Great place...everyone friendly, nice facilities. been there before, will go again."—S.S., Adv., April 2012
  • 4-Ball Rating "Owner/opporaters very friendly, courts always in great shape, daily instruction superb."—T.B., Adv. Int., April 2012
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—K.K., Adv., April 2012
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—J.W., Adv. Int., April 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Port Royal is a fabulous tennis facility in a beautiful setting. The staff are incredibly nice, accommodating and welcoming, not to mention, knowledgable! If you are a tennis enthusiast, you will enjoy working on your game at a first class club."—K.H., Adv. Int., April 2012
  • 5-Ball Rating "Port Royal racquet club makes a guest feel like they've visited the set of "Cheers"....what a warm and friendly feeling you get immediately upon entering the clubhouse. Denny Bianco and his staff go out of their way to provide a friendly atmosphere and help arrange games. Gr88888!!!!"—T.L., Adv., April 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—G.U., Adv., April 2012
  • 5-Ball Rating "The tennis club managers & teaching staff are very accomodating/exceptional. I've been vacationing there for many years and plan to return for many years. The tennis courts are always in great shape. Would like to see the grounds around the tennis courts improved/updated."—J.C., Adv., April 2012
  • 5-Ball Rating "Incredibly friendly and accomodating staff, coupled with top-notch facilities are the reason I go twice per year, every year!"—D.B., Adv., April 2012
  • 5-Ball Rating "Terrific facilities and a marvelous staff has made Port Royal a yearly destination for both my family and my tennis group. Quite simply, this is a very well managed club where you feel like a member immediately."—S.B., Adv., April 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Great court conditions and great people at the front desk. Good lessons from Pro Dana Langston"—W.W., Adv., February 2012
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Thoroughly enjoyed the daily drills with Dana; he's a great balance of suppport and critique! Welcoming Pro Shop and personnel. Terrific experience"—B.L., Int., October 2011
  • 3½-Ball Rating "High energy fast action drill by Dana was just what our USTA ladies looked forward to and enjoyed while at Port Royal Racquet Club. Tanda made us welcome as well as the entire staff. Great place to vacation and get some good tennis instruction."—J.E., Int., October 2011
  • 5-Ball Rating "Outstanding people and facility. Denny Bianco and his staff go the extra mile to take care of all his guests on off the court. It's obvious to me why this club is perenially named a top tennis resort."—D.B., Adv. Int., July 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The grounds, pro-shop and personnel were delightful to encounter. The grounds well kept, pro-shop had a great inventory of clothing and fun accessories and the personnel were welcoming and made you feel a part of the tennis community @ HHI"—L.K., Low Int., July 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The accommodations were excellent (Crown Reef). The staff (Tanda Bianco) at the club was fantastic. She was very helpful with the tennis, places to eat, and or visit. She is so warm and caring. We like staying there because of the people at the tennis club."—R.P., Adv. Int., June 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "We have vacationed at Port Royal Racquet Club for four years and have had a wonderful experince each time. Tanda Bianco has made us feel like family each time. We plan to come back again next year."—R.M., Adv., May 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—H.M., Int., May 2011
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—G.C., Adv. Int., April 2011
  • 5-Ball Rating "One of the finest tennis facilities in North America. The courts are excellent, but the difference between Port Royal and all other tennis facilities is the attitude and helpfulness of the staff - especially Denny Bianco. He has gone out of his way numerous times to set up compatable players and games that were thoroughly enjoyable as well as competitive. He and his staff always went the extra mile to insure all visitors had a great tennis experience.  "—D.L., Adv., November 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Beautiful facility and well maintained. Tennis Director, Denny Bianco, and his staff do a tremendous job promoting tennis and arranging competitive matches for locals and visitors.  "—D.H., Adv., October 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Have been an island resident here for over 14 years and can certainly recommend Port Royal Racquet Club. Denny Bianco and the entire staff go out of their way to make sure your tennis experience is perfect from lessons to finding just the right tennis partner or partners. You will not be disappointed."—G.K., Adv., October 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Great place to play tennis and meet new guests as well as playing team tennis. Denny Bianco does a GREAT job. Highly recommend to any visitors to contact this resort facility to play some great tennis.  "—K.J., Adv., October 2010
  • 5-Ball Rating "The Club is a dirtballers best friend... Denny Bianco does a great job w/ visitors, locals & out-of-towners  "—B.H., Adv., October 2010
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Port Royal Racquet Club is an Excellent Tennis Facility! Denny Bianco and his staff were always very helpful and courteous allowing for wonderful tennis experiences!!  "—B.K., Adv. Int., October 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "the staff is excellent and assisted in setting up match play, the lessons are outstanding  "—D.D., Adv. Int., October 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Top notch tennis resort with both hard and har-tru courts and great staff  "—R.S., Adv. Int., October 2010
  • 5-Ball Rating "Enjoyed are stay this year ,customer service was great.  "—R.U., Adv., October 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "the staff, including director, denny bianco is always more than willing to do anything to keep his visitors leaving happy and eager to return.  "—S.A., Int., October 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating "Port Royal, Hilton Head Island, SC; great match making, long history of being player/USTA team friendly. Denny Bianco noted for great customer service. Great tennis player's friend.  "—J.B., Adv. Int., October 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The director of tennis at Port Royal (Dennis Bianco) will jump through hoops to find you a match.  "—R.S., Adv., October 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating "I have been playing tennis at Port Royal Racquet Club in Hilton Head since I started vacationing there in the late 70's. I have always enjoyed their instructional classes and drills. The manager Denny Binaco has always been helpful and accomodating of our group needs.  "—P.C., Adv. Int., October 2010
  • 5-Ball Rating "Denney Bianco and his staff are the best! the facility and courts are outstanding. Had a great time!  "—A.C., Adv. Int., October 2010
  • 5-Ball Rating "I enjoyed the warm welcome offered by the staff headed by Denny Bianco and I was in heaven playing on the immaculate clay courts at The Port Royal Racquet Club.  "—B.Y., Adv. Int., October 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We just returned from a long week-end on Hilton Head Island and a package deal at Port Royal Racquet Club. Our instructor, Clint; was fun,extremely helpful and provided us with clear, understandable and retainable information. Even though we both have played since Jr. High, we always glean beneficial analysis and tips when we do drills or clinics at PRR. We return to Port Royal each year because the clay courts are well kept, the environs relaxing and all the staff are welcoming and happy to see us. They get that we are there to enjoy ourselves and not to become tournament level players. The court time deals are unsurpassed on the Island. We have tried drills at Palmetto Dunes and Van Da Mere but haven't enjoyed the experience at those programs as much as our time spent at PRR. We always feel like PRR gives a damn if we return, even though we are definitely not the high level type players that pros probably most enjoy. We are in our 60's and just trying to maintain our tennis capabilites for another decade or maybe two!"—S.W., Adv. Int., October 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I stayed at the Marriott Barony next door and was able to use the Port Royal facilities; they were fantastic and the pros and drills were so fun. I played two hours of drills in the morning (fast action drills and shot of the day) and then hit the beach with my family the rest of the day. The pros were enthusiastic and able to accommodate large groups. Be sure to reserve your spot for drills the day before i.e. don't just show up."—J.L., Adv. Int., August 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating "Honestly, all strengths! These folks are incredibly customer service oriented and so helpful, professional, and friendly. We look forward to visiting each year, sometimes twice a year."—G.K., Int., August 2010
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—J.C., Adv. Int., June 2010
  • 5-Ball Rating "Great overall. Denny was a great help in our stay."—D.R., Adv. Int., June 2010
  • 5-Ball Rating "Fantastic. Best tennis resort I've every been to. Courts are well maintained and the service was amazing."—A.W., Beg., June 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I brought my two daughters, 13 and 11, to Port Royal for instructional training. Alfredo worked with them. I teach tennis part-time and in just 5-6 hours, Alfredo had made them considerably better players! If you have a junior player that loves tennis, run and don't walk to Alfredo at Port Royal! Tanda was a great host and treated us like we were family. No doubt we will return."—G.M., Adv., June 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "A great facility. Excellent courts in a very pleasant surroundings with a helpful staff. Our group keeps coming bach here for a tennis week each year."—C.S., Adv., April 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The Port Royal Racquet Club in Hilton Head is the best place to play tennis on Hilton Head Island. I have been visiting the island for 15 years and find the staff and members at this club extremely accommodating and friendly. Many of the locals play at this club and Denny and his staff do their best to find you a match at your ability level. Many of my friends have spent tennis vacations at Port Royal and expressed the same positive opinions. Port Royal is like my home court when visiting Hilton Head Island!"—P.K., Adv., April 2010
  • 5-Ball Rating "Courts are in great shape. Had to have a racquet restrung- excellent job and good price. Love to play here!"—L.H., Adv. Int., April 2010
  • 5-Ball Rating "Very knowledgeable and friendly staff along with excellent courts to play on. No matter what level of player you are, the staff is welcoming and very supportive."—J.C., Int., April 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating "What a great tennis experience it is to play tennis at Port Royal. Lots of courts and you will enjoy all of the drill offered and the staff is great. Enjoy"—P.K., Adv. Int., March 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—J.S., Int., March 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating "Great tennis courts and pro shop."—L.M., Adv. Int., April 2009
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Great tennis facility, very nice people. I wish they had game matching, offered more variety in clinics, and had a daily round robin. When we go, we set up a private group clinic for the week which works out well. They are very accomodating."—N.B., Adv. Int., April 2009
  • 4-Ball Rating "I have been taking lessons for the last 2 years. But the instructor at Port Royal immediately helped fix some of the problems that I have been struggling with since I started. Very good instruction and insight."—M.L., Int., April 2009
  • 4-Ball Rating "Great friendly service. The courts were really nice and private, with lots of shade trees."—J.P., Int., April 2009
  • 5-Ball Rating "Wonderful staff, helpful and encouraging and always cheerful. Tennis instruction is excellent. Stroke of the day drills are extremely helpful and focused. Patrick Page does a wonderful job as tennis pro and Denny runs a fine facility."—P.B., Int., April 2009
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Outstanding tennis experience. Clint was a super instructor with plenty of passion. Tanda did a fantastic job of finding strong players to round out our doubles group. Very accommodating on short notice."—B.U., Adv. Int., March 2009
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Our small (3) group of 4.5-5.0 rated players just returned from a very enjoyable 4 days at Port Royal. Tanda Bianco was able to work with us to tailor a combination of professional instruction with competitive doubles play. Clint was an excellent, enthusiastic pro and gave us plenty of new things to think about in the areas of tennis strategy (who's heard of triangles?) - no small feat given the number of years our group has playing.
    When one of the members of our group cancelled 2 days prior to our arrival, she was able to set up a number of skilled and personable players to fill out our doubles matches each day. We stayed in a 3 bedroom condo right down the street from the racquet club that was reasonably priced. The facility is a little older and may lack some of the amenities of nicer resorts, but for someone looking for a hard-core, intensive tennis experience, I would recommend it. In the past three years, we have gone to Saddlebrook, JW Marriott Palm Desert and Port Royal - Port Royal provided us the best overall tennis experience."
    —K.L., Adv., March 2009
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I liked the group instruction. It was a lot of fun. The tennis drills were great."—D.B., Adv. Int., March 2009
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The tennis pro's are excellent for the Barony owners and Pat in particualr as well as Dana. We enjoyed our week here and we are glad we did this clinic."—M.M., Int., January 2009
  • 5-Ball Rating "Port Royal Racquet Club is a world class tennis resort for players at every level. Tennis instruction clinics conducted daily each morning by Dana Landin and Patrick Page are fun and productive at every level of play. They quickly diagnose a problem and then help the student overcome it. Dana is precise and incisive with instruction and Patric makes the learning experience fun. Both are excellent in their own way.
    spaceThe more hearty players can meet others during the clinics and schedule games later in the day. The staff does a superior job maintaining the courts in good condition. And all are friendly and helpful, down to the current resident cat, named Ace."
    —J.C., Adv., January 2009

Rate Port Royal Golf & Racquet Club


Ratings

(242 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
5-Ball Rating Pickleball
5-Ball Rating Cuisine
3-Ball Rating Romance
4-Ball Rating Kids' Programs
5-Ball Rating
Instruction
5-Ball Rating Lodging
4-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
5-Ball Rating Pickleball
5-Ball Rating
Game Matching
5-Ball Rating Dollar Value
5-Ball Rating Setting
4½-Ball Rating


Port Royal Racquet Club

Ratings
( 242 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
5-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
5-Ball Rating
Instruction
5-Ball Rating
Junior Tennis
5-Ball Rating
Pickleball
5-Ball Rating

Westin Ratings
( 3 Reviewers)

Ratings

(242 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
5-Ball Rating Game Matching
5-Ball Rating Tennis Staff
5-Ball Rating Lodging
4-Ball Rating Dollar Value
5-Ball Rating Other Recreation
5-Ball Rating Romance
4-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4-Ball Rating
Instruction
5-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
5-Ball Rating Pickleball
5-Ball Rating Cuisine
3-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
1-Ball Rating Setting
4½-Ball Rating Kids' Programs
5-Ball Rating


Port Royal Racquet Club Ratings
( 242 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
5-Ball Rating Instruction
5-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
5-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
5-Ball Rating Pickleball
5-Ball Rating

Westin Ratings
( 3 Reviewers)

Reservations

Port Royal Golf & Racquet Club

10 Clubhouse Drive
Hilton Head Island, SC 29928