Search
Email Us
Tennis Resorts Online
Photo of Port Royal Golf & Racquet Club, Hilton Head Island, SC
Courtesy Port Royal Golf & Racquet Club

Port Royal Golf & Racquet Club

Hilton Head Island, South Carolina


Your Call

Here's what others have had to say about Port Royal Golf & Racquet Club.

  • 4½-Ball Rating "Tennis instruction is superb. The Pros are highly skilled and able to communicate tennis knowledge to the player, based on the player's goals. Also, the courts are always in extremely good shape, easily the best on HHI."—W.S., Adv. Int., April 2024
  • 5-Ball Rating "A Grand Slam Experience: A Review of Dale Brown, Heritage Golf and Port Royal Racquet Club. If you're searching for a children's tennis coach who combines skill, patience, and a passion for the game, look no further than Coach Dale Brown. As a parent, I couldn't be more thrilled with the transformative experience he provided my two boys (ages 7 and 10) during our March 2024 spring break at Port Royal Racquet Club, Hilton Head, SC. The boys had four individual private lessons which culminated with my 4th grader being very well postured for tennis team in Northern VA. More importantly, he inspired my boys to enjoy tennis and instilled their personal confidence in the sport. My 10-year-old son describes Coach Dale as “really patient, reasonable, fair, but really fun and a great teacher.” First and foremost, Coach Dale is absolutely dedicated. From the moment children step onto the court, they are greeted with warmth and encouragement, setting the tone for a positive and supportive learning environment. Coach Dale understood that the boys had different levels; and tailored two unique sessions with “drills” customized to their gaps, strengths, and areas for growth. At the end of each session, he played a game to improve their hits (and sportsmanship) while both boys strategized how to beat Coach Dale in volleys. Coach Dale is talented at breaking down complex techniques into simple, easy to understand concepts. His lessons resulted in my son being able to start tennis with confidence in serving and being proud of his top spin either backhand or front hand. Furthermore, his passion for tennis is contagious. His love for the sport inspired the children to develop a genuine enthusiasm for tennis that wasn’t there before. Through his guidance, he also taught them to be better well-rounded individuals in understanding sportsmanship, teamwork, and perseverance. No minute of practice was wasted from picking up balls, to keeping boys interested and driven, or to being respectful. Coach Dale also manages the Port Royal Racquet Club. The club is pristine, immaculate, and run by professionals who care about your experience, fitness, and Hilton Head, In addition to his exceptional coaching abilities, Coach Dale’s professionalism and communication skills are exemplary. He keeps parents informed about their child's progress, providing regular updates and constructive feedback. In conclusion, Coach Dale is a true gem in the world of youth sports. With his expertise, passion, and unwavering dedication, he cultivates a love for tennis that lasts a lifetime. If you're seeking a coach who not only teaches tennis but also instills invaluable life lessons, Coach Dale is the perfect match."—C.R., Beg., April 2024
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Had two beginner lessons with coach Dale Brown for three kids and an adult. All had a great time and learned a lot. Highly recommend Dale for lessons."—J.A., Beg., March 2024
  • 5-Ball Rating "Dale Brown is an outstanding coach. He explains everything very clearly and is particularly good at keeping it simple so it is easily understood and more likely to be retained. I learned so much from him this past week and really enjoyed myself at the same time. The resort is beautiful and the courts are superb. I plan to go back next year and I met several people who like it so much they return repeatedly."—K.N., Int., April 2023
  • 4-Ball Rating "Dale, our tennis instructor/pro, was excellent. Very knowledgeable, entertaining and tailored his program to our abilities and specific requests. He was responsive when we communicated ahead of time and everything he promised, he delivered (plus great restaurant recommendations! ). We definitely will go back. Port Royal as a tennis court is a lovely facility. Beautifully maintained courts in a gorgeous, Hilton Head setting."—B.J., Adv., December 2022
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We were a group of four 3.5/4.0 level players in Hilton Head for a week in Nov 2022. We signed up for daily back to back clinics (stroke of the day followed by fast strokes) with Dale. Dale is fabulous! He provided great insights into each of our individual games. We all improved during our time with him while having lots of laughs along the way. Some of Dale's pro tips were new to us and made us think of elements of our games in new ways. Since I have returned home, my serve consistency has vastly improved which is down to Dale's teaching. If one gets a chance to play at Port Royal, you will not go wrong with Dale!"—S.W., Adv. Int., December 2022
  • 5-Ball Rating "Dale is top drawer....high energy and effectiveness on the first stroke to the very last Virtuoso"—J.B., Adv., October 2022
  • 4-Ball Rating "Dale and his staff do an excellent job running the Port Royal Tennis facility. I have worked with several USTA certified tennis instructors, and Dale is up there at the top as one of the best I have had the pleasure to learn from on court. He had good input into my swing path, foot work and swing preparation that helped me improve my swing. I highly recommend anyone thinking of getting lessons from Dale to give him a shot. He is a great coach. He has excellent communication skills to explain what he is thinking with respect to your swing in a way that is easy to understand and implement quickly for improvement. Two thumbs up! Thanks Dale!"—J.P., Adv., September 2022
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—K.I., Int., August 2022
  • 5-Ball Rating "Awesome week of tennis clinics. Can’t wait to come again."—K.D., Pro, August 2022
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—J.H.,  August 2022
  • 5-Ball Rating "Loved my private tennis lesson and stroke of the day clinics I took with Dale the past few days. They were fun, I learned a lot and it was a great work out. I wish I was here longer and had something like this in NY! Looking forward to being back next year."—K.P., Beg., June 2022

See more reviews

Rate Port Royal Golf & Racquet Club


Ratings

(238 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Kids' Programs
5-Ball Rating
Instruction
5-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
5-Ball Rating
Game Matching
5-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4½-Ball Rating Setting
4½-Ball Rating


Port Royal Racquet Club

Ratings
( 238 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
5-Ball Rating
Instruction
5-Ball Rating
Junior Tennis
5-Ball Rating

Westin Ratings
( 3 Reviewers)

Ratings

(238 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Game Matching
5-Ball Rating Tennis Staff
5-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4½-Ball Rating Other Recreation
5-Ball Rating
Instruction
5-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
5-Ball Rating Setting
4½-Ball Rating Kids' Programs
5-Ball Rating


Port Royal Racquet Club Ratings
( 238 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Instruction
5-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
5-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
5-Ball Rating

Westin Ratings
( 3 Reviewers)

Rates and Reservations

Port Royal Golf & Racquet Club

10 Clubhouse Drive
Hilton Head Island, SC 29928