Search
Email Us
Tennis Resorts Online
Palmetto Dunes Oceanfront Resort, Hilton Head Island, South Carolina
Courtesy Palmetto Dunes Oceanfront Resort

Palmetto Dunes Oceanfront Resort

Hilton Head Island, South Carolina


Your Call

Here's what others have had to say about Palmetto Dunes Oceanfront Resort and Hilton Head Marriott Beach & Golf Resort.

  • 4½-Ball Rating "Participated in a beginner's clinic and at the end of the hour was allowed to take part in a social round-robin. The other players patiently helped keep score (it's a convoluted system) and first reminded me, then penalized me (appropriately) for standing in the "kitchen." All in all a very pleasant introduction to the sport."—D.J., Adv. Int., October 2021
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Excellent pickle ball and tennis facilities offers g a variety of instructional programs and round robin playing opportunities 7 days a week. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable."—K.C., Int., July 2019
  • 3½-Ball Rating "I was part of a group of 10. We booked two units (four double beds each, plus sofa beds) for a week in April. The units (two bedrooms, two baths, living room, dining area, full kitchen at roughly $1,500 US per unit) were a two-minute walk from the courts. We were given two hours daily of court time per unit at the same time (10 a.m.) and then paid court fees if we wanted more court time (and if courts were available). Clinics were available, but we didn't try them. For myself, I found the prices for the group clinics far too steep. The courts were in perfect condition to start each day. Later in the day, not so perfect, but playable. It would have been nice to have brooms and line sweepers available to use by ourselves. Off the courts I booked a bicycle one afternoon from the resort's bicycle-kayak rental shop. That cost $30 US for a heavy, utilitarian, 18-speed (I think) bike. Captive market prices, I think. A few weeks later in England, I rented a very similar bicycle at a train station. Paid about $13 US to register (for a year) and about $5 US for the day. So . . . much, much less. Palmetto Dunes is a great all-around resort with a very good tennis setup. We could walk to the beach in 10 minutes. Note: Throughout the resort and much of Hilton Head there are signs warning you that automobiles and trucks have priority over pedestrians and cyclists. As a pedestrian or cyclist on the island, you learn that many motorists take this policy to heart."—J.F., Adv. Int., June 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating "The Palmetto Dunes Tennis Center is outstanding. I have been traveling to the resort at least twice a year for the last five years, and I look forward to returning each time. The tournaments are well run, the island is beautiful, the drill sessions offer a great workout, and the people are extremely nice. The deli across the street is always excellent too. Their weakness is that they don't have one or two young pros right off the tour, or right out of a D1 program with a national ranking. They could use someone relatively young that hits a big heavy ball. I do hit with one pro who is a fellow 5.0 player so I don't mean to minimize him in any way."—P.B., Adv., May 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I went with 6 women for a custom tennis vacation and it was great. We stayed in a house close to the courts within a 5 minute bike ride. The beach was beautiful. The tennis instruction was excellent and lots of fun. Will definitely go back again."—D.V., Adv., May 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Lots of Pickle Ball courts now at Palmetto Dunes Oceanfront Resort and they are full! It is great to see so many people out playing. I played tennis and, as usual, Tennis Pro Hank Iannuzzi was the best. His instruction is easy to remember after the lesson so I am able to utilize my skills in the game."—N.I., Int., May 2019
  • 2½-Ball Rating "The facilities at Palmetto Dunes are excellent. They have 25 has-tru courts that are in great shape. Our rental allowed us two free hours of tennis each day however I was never able to play that much because the courts are always booked. For example, college tennis teams were playing there everyday and then they also ran a 128-draw tournament. So, on two days it was impossible to get ANY court time. One day the staff member was laughing because there was a waiting list of 30 people who wanted court time - this is two days in advance. The pros are mediocre at best. For every clinic they are married to the ball machine...for all levels. The clinics have 6 people per court and 4 people watch while 2 people use the ball machine. The rental unit we stayed in had a wonderful view of the ocean and the spectacular sun rise. But the furnishings were dated, we had virtually no light in the master bathroom for the first 3 days,every glass was dusty, and our dryer did not work for 4 days. In summary, the unit was terrible. There are many places to play tennis on Hilton Head......go elsewhere. This place is overrated, the tennis staff is mediocre, the rentals are old and dated."—R.H., Adv., March 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Palmetto Dunes offers a variety of programs for players at every level of experience. I arrived as an absolute beginner 3 years ago, and have taken clinics and private lessons with instructor Scott (Scotty) Clements every spring since. His approach is supportive, and doesn't depend on a lot of technical detail. My level of play has improved quickly, so I can get out and really enjoy the game! Everyone in the pro shop is friendly and helpful, so that even a beginner feels special! Honestly, I can't think of one negative! I have taken lessons and participated in clinics elsewhere in the last few years, and have not found the instruction nearly as helpful or positive as at Palmetto Dunes."—V.W., Int., October 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We've gone to Palmetto Dunes several times and have had an excellent time every time. The pro's are experienced, knowledgeable teachers who always improve my playing. The setting is wonderful. I found the clinics really helpful and hard work. Be prepared to be very active."—M.C., Adv. Int., August 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—R.J., Adv. Int., August 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Palmetto dunes is the nicest place to stay in HH. The tennis courts were the nicest (vs shipyard/Sea Pines/Royal). Intermed/advanced Clinic from 8-930 was very good. They also have beginner clinic right after that. Also did Serve clinic which was good. Return clinic was not that good. They have a round robin every day at 3pm where players can get together and play doubles. **Grounds are very well kept. Instruction was great but do wish it had the 5 hour clinic days that Saddlebrook has in Tampa."—C.E., Adv., July 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "I have visited Palmetto Dunes 8 to 10 times over the last several years. I have visited other tennis resorts at Hilton Head Island as well. Palmetto Dunes offers a beautiful setting next to the beach, with outstanding clinics and game matching. It is particularly good for the advanced player, which is rare for tennis resorts, as their are local adults and juniors available for hitting."—P.B., Adv., March 2017

See more reviews

Rate Palmetto Dunes Oceanfront Resort or
Hilton Head Marriott Beach & Golf Resort


Ratings

(234 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
5-Ball Rating Pickleball
5-Ball Rating Cuisine
3-Ball Rating Romance
4-Ball Rating Kids' Programs
4-Ball Rating
Instruction
4½-Ball Rating Lodging
4-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
5-Ball Rating Pickleball
5-Ball Rating
Game Matching
4-Ball Rating Dollar Value
5-Ball Rating Setting
4½-Ball Rating


Palmetto Dunes Tennis & Pickleball Center

Ratings
( 236 Reviewers)
Tennis Staff
5-Ball Rating
Instruction
4½-Ball Rating
Pickleball
5-Ball Rating

Marriott Ratings
( 1 Reviewers)

Omni Ratings
( 1 Reviewers)

Ratings

(234 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
5-Ball Rating Game Matching
4-Ball Rating Tennis Staff
5-Ball Rating Lodging
4-Ball Rating Dollar Value
5-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4-Ball Rating Romance
4-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4-Ball Rating
Instruction
4½-Ball Rating Pickleball
5-Ball Rating Cuisine
3-Ball Rating Setting
4½-Ball Rating Kids' Programs
4-Ball Rating


Palmetto Dunes Tennis & Pickleball Center Ratings
( 236 Reviewers)
Instruction
4½-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
5-Ball Rating Pickleball
5-Ball Rating

Marriott Ratings
( 1 Reviewers)

Omni Ratings
( 1 Reviewers)

Rates and Reservations

Palmetto Dunes has 1-to-4-bedroom villas, all with kitchens, and homes as large as eight bedrooms. These occupy various locations throughout the resort, including oceanfront, golf course, and the harbour. As a guest of Palmetto Dunes, you receive two hours of free tennis or pickleball court time daily per unit (based on availability). There is a three-night minimum at selected times of the year. Additional exclusive resort discounts available when renting through Palmetto Dunes Oceanfront Resort.

Visit the website for current rates

Palmetto Dunes Oceanfront Resort
4 Queens Folly Road
P.O Box 5628
Hilton Head Island, SC 29938