Search
Email Us
Tennis Resorts Online
Palmetto Dunes Oceanfront Resort, Hilton Head Island, South Carolina
Courtesy Palmetto Dunes Oceanfront Resort

Palmetto Dunes Oceanfront Resort

Hilton Head Island, South Carolina


Your Call

Here's what others have had to say about Palmetto Dunes Oceanfront Resort and Hilton Head Marriott Beach & Golf Resort.

  • 3½-Ball Rating "This is a pickelball resort that has tennis courts. Do not go thinking there is a large tennis playing community here. It may have once been a great tennis resort but they have paved over tennis courts to put in pickelball and some of the tennis instructors have converted to teaching pickelball. 2 times per day 100 people show up for the pickelball round robins, which are excellent - tons of energy. 1 time per day up to 12 people show up for the tennis round robin. Pickelball is thriving here. Tennis is dying here. The tennis clinics we did take were very good and the tennis instructors are good, but there just are so few people there playing tennis that it isn't a lively atmosphere. One of the pickelball coaches told me that if my group wanted to play tennis on HH island, we should have gone to Vandermeer. So...that says it all !"—S.B., Adv., October 2022
    Palmetto Dunes Oceanfront Resort responds: We're happy you came to Palmetto Dunes Resort for your tennis! We're also sorry your perception is that tennis is dying here in lieu of pickleball because tennis is not only thriving at Palmetto Dunes, but also setting all-time records. Yes, the pickleball round robin has 90-100 people per session and the tennis round robin may have had 12, but the round robin is only a small segment of the tennis offerings here. Tennis instruction and play account for the major use of the courts, and while tennis is more seasonal in nature than pickleball, tennis still generates more business than pickleball for the year. In fact, 2021 tennis instruction set a record, eclipsing the old mark by nearly six figures! Pickleball is indeed a very important addition to our offerings here, but we still have 19 clay tennis courts, and this resort is still appropriately named Palmetto Dunes Tennis and Pickleball Center—deliberately in that order because we highly value our tennis and our repeat tennis customers. We hope you will return to visit!
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Participated in a beginner's clinic and at the end of the hour was allowed to take part in a social round-robin. The other players patiently helped keep score (it's a convoluted system) and first reminded me, then penalized me (appropriately) for standing in the "kitchen." All in all a very pleasant introduction to the sport."—R.C., Adv., October 2021
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Excellent pickle ball and tennis facilities offers g a variety of instructional programs and round robin playing opportunities 7 days a week. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable."—K.C., Int., July 2019
  • 3½-Ball Rating "I was part of a group of 10. We booked two units (four double beds each, plus sofa beds) for a week in April. The units (two bedrooms, two baths, living room, dining area, full kitchen at roughly $1,500 US per unit) were a two-minute walk from the courts. We were given two hours daily of court time per unit at the same time (10 a.m.) and then paid court fees if we wanted more court time (and if courts were available). Clinics were available, but we didn't try them. For myself, I found the prices for the group clinics far too steep. The courts were in perfect condition to start each day. Later in the day, not so perfect, but playable. It would have been nice to have brooms and line sweepers available to use by ourselves. Off the courts I booked a bicycle one afternoon from the resort's bicycle-kayak rental shop. That cost $30 US for a heavy, utilitarian, 18-speed (I think) bike. Captive market prices, I think. A few weeks later in England, I rented a very similar bicycle at a train station. Paid about $13 US to register (for a year) and about $5 US for the day. So . . . much, much less. Palmetto Dunes is a great all-around resort with a very good tennis setup. We could walk to the beach in 10 minutes. Note: Throughout the resort and much of Hilton Head there are signs warning you that automobiles and trucks have priority over pedestrians and cyclists. As a pedestrian or cyclist on the island, you learn that many motorists take this policy to heart."—J.F., Adv. Int., June 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating "The Palmetto Dunes Tennis Center is outstanding. I have been traveling to the resort at least twice a year for the last five years, and I look forward to returning each time. The tournaments are well run, the island is beautiful, the drill sessions offer a great workout, and the people are extremely nice. The deli across the street is always excellent too. Their weakness is that they don't have one or two young pros right off the tour, or right out of a D1 program with a national ranking. They could use someone relatively young that hits a big heavy ball. I do hit with one pro who is a fellow 5.0 player so I don't mean to minimize him in any way."—P.B., Adv., May 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I went with 6 women for a custom tennis vacation and it was great. We stayed in a house close to the courts within a 5 minute bike ride. The beach was beautiful. The tennis instruction was excellent and lots of fun. Will definitely go back again."—D.V., Adv., May 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Lots of Pickle Ball courts now at Palmetto Dunes Oceanfront Resort and they are full! It is great to see so many people out playing. I played tennis and, as usual, Tennis Pro Hank Iannuzzi was the best. His instruction is easy to remember after the lesson so I am able to utilize my skills in the game."—N.I., Int., May 2019
  • 2½-Ball Rating "The facilities at Palmetto Dunes are excellent. They have 25 has-tru courts that are in great shape. Our rental allowed us two free hours of tennis each day however I was never able to play that much because the courts are always booked. For example, college tennis teams were playing there everyday and then they also ran a 128-draw tournament. So, on two days it was impossible to get ANY court time. One day the staff member was laughing because there was a waiting list of 30 people who wanted court time - this is two days in advance. The pros are mediocre at best. For every clinic they are married to the ball machine...for all levels. The clinics have 6 people per court and 4 people watch while 2 people use the ball machine. The rental unit we stayed in had a wonderful view of the ocean and the spectacular sun rise. But the furnishings were dated, we had virtually no light in the master bathroom for the first 3 days,every glass was dusty, and our dryer did not work for 4 days. In summary, the unit was terrible. There are many places to play tennis on Hilton Head......go elsewhere. This place is overrated, the tennis staff is mediocre, the rentals are old and dated."—R.H., Adv., March 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Palmetto Dunes offers a variety of programs for players at every level of experience. I arrived as an absolute beginner 3 years ago, and have taken clinics and private lessons with instructor Scott (Scotty) Clements every spring since. His approach is supportive, and doesn't depend on a lot of technical detail. My level of play has improved quickly, so I can get out and really enjoy the game! Everyone in the pro shop is friendly and helpful, so that even a beginner feels special! Honestly, I can't think of one negative! I have taken lessons and participated in clinics elsewhere in the last few years, and have not found the instruction nearly as helpful or positive as at Palmetto Dunes."—V.W., Int., October 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We've gone to Palmetto Dunes several times and have had an excellent time every time. The pro's are experienced, knowledgeable teachers who always improve my playing. The setting is wonderful. I found the clinics really helpful and hard work. Be prepared to be very active."—M.C., Adv. Int., August 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—R.J., Adv. Int., August 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Palmetto dunes is the nicest place to stay in HH. The tennis courts were the nicest (vs shipyard/Sea Pines/Royal). Intermed/advanced Clinic from 8-930 was very good. They also have beginner clinic right after that. Also did Serve clinic which was good. Return clinic was not that good. They have a round robin every day at 3pm where players can get together and play doubles. **Grounds are very well kept. Instruction was great but do wish it had the 5 hour clinic days that Saddlebrook has in Tampa."—C.E., Adv., July 2017

See more reviews

Rate Palmetto Dunes Oceanfront Resort or
Hilton Head Marriott Beach & Golf Resort


Ratings

(232 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Pickleball
5-Ball Rating Cuisine
3-Ball Rating Romance
3½-Ball Rating Kids' Programs
4-Ball Rating
Instruction
4-Ball Rating Lodging
4-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
3½-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Pickleball
5-Ball Rating
Game Matching
3½-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4½-Ball Rating Setting
4½-Ball Rating


Palmetto Dunes Tennis & Pickleball Center

Ratings
( 234 Reviewers)
Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating
Instruction
4-Ball Rating
Pickleball
5-Ball Rating

Marriott Ratings
( 1 Reviewers)

Omni Ratings
( 1 Reviewers)

Ratings

(232 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Game Matching
3½-Ball Rating Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Lodging
4-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4½-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4½-Ball Rating Romance
3½-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
3½-Ball Rating
Instruction
4-Ball Rating Pickleball
5-Ball Rating Cuisine
3-Ball Rating Setting
4½-Ball Rating Kids' Programs
4-Ball Rating


Palmetto Dunes Tennis & Pickleball Center Ratings
( 234 Reviewers)
Instruction
4-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Pickleball
5-Ball Rating

Marriott Ratings
( 1 Reviewers)

Omni Ratings
( 1 Reviewers)

Rates and Reservations

Palmetto Dunes Oceanfront Resort

Palmetto Dunes has 1-to-4-bedroom villas, all with kitchens, and homes as large as eight bedrooms. These occupy various locations throughout the resort, including oceanfront, golf course, and the harbour. As a guest of Palmetto Dunes, you receive two hours of free tennis or pickleball court time daily per unit (based on availability). There is a three-night minimum at selected times of the year. Additional exclusive resort discounts available when renting through Palmetto Dunes Oceanfront Resort.

4 Queens Folly Road
P.O Box 5628
Hilton Head Island, SC 29938