Search
Email Us
Tennis Resorts Online
Northstar Tennis, Truckee, California
Courtesy Northstar Tennis

Northstar California

Truckee, California



La Jolla Banner

PBI Camps-Silverado



Your Call

Here's what others have had to say about Northstar California and Northstar Tennis.

  • 5-Ball Rating ""—C.M., Beg., May 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating "The instructors are fantastic! Guillaume Tonelli is the best tennis pro I've ever had. He gives you great tips that especially targeted at improving your game. The courts are situated in a lovely part of NorthStar as well."—J.A., Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "NorthStar Tennis Program was very high quality. This was my first experience with this tennis camp, and it exceeded my expectations, and far above other tennis clinics & camps I have experienced. Very organized, communicated quickly & clearly to my inquiries prior to camp, clinic days started promptly with attention to stretching & warmup to start, and the nonstop action with drills & technique. Highest compliments to the professional & talented coaching staff. Guillamne as camp director, is the consummate professional, yet warm and approachable He keys into his participants weaknesses & strengths quickly & adapts specific drills to those needs. And he makes it fun - mixing up drills & technique - keeps the group moving along with much variety - never boring for sure! His support staff - I usually had Cody or Jennifer - also excellent, and very people oriented as well as skilled tennis players. They seem to really enjoy the participants as people, as well as address their desire to improve tennis skills. The location at NorthStar resort can't be beat - many courts, surrounded by towering pine trees, with a small but complete tennis pro shop & covered patio area to enjoy mid morning break. They even served 'healthy' snack offerings each day with fruit, eggs, cheeses, & other much appreciated snacks to replenish us after lively tennis sessions. I will be returning to NorthStar tennis camp this summer, and taking a group from my local tennis club with me. I have spoken so highly of the camp several friends are interested in joining me. Oh, and did I mention - my tennis game improved GREATLY during my week at camp, along with some follow-up single clinic teaching days. Highest compliments to Guillamne & his tennis program at NorthStar."—S.S., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—J.O., Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Had a wonderful experience here this last summer. The instruction was extremely professional yet very friendly and personable. My instructor Guillaume was very patient in helping me with my backhand and my game is better for it. Would totally recommend Northstar Tennis to anyone looking to improve their game."—T.L., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Our experience at Northstar Tennis was exceptional. The setting is picturesque and charming and the courts are well maintained. Most importantly the staff is wonderful. They are friendly, welcoming and know how to ensure a good experience no matter what the level of tennis expertise. The tennis instructions was excellent. We had individuals in our group with minimal experience and those who played on tennis teams back home. Everyone was given individual things to work on and were provided encouragement throughout. The snacks provided for the tennis clinics were modest but delicious. The Friday margarita party after the clinic was a fun way to end the week. The pro shop was quaint, but had all the necessary equipment and supplies. Northstar village is a close walk and has many shops and eateries, making the overall experience exceptional."—J.D., Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "NORTHSTAR TENNIS is a beautiful facility with a stunning setting and superb staff. Guillaume is the director and he runs an organized program as well as energetic and instructional clinics, resulting in NEXT LEVEL tennis. I cannot say enough about the tennis at Northstar ! Working with the pros there is highly informative and gets you thinking about things to move your game to new perfection ! This is a not-to-be-missed tennis experience !"—P.K., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Great resort, great tennis instruction, and a lot of fun!"—J.S., Beg., April 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating "This was a terrific tennis camp The instructors were very knowledgeable and enthusiastic"—O.G., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The pros were fantastic and it was so much fun. I would recommend this place to anybody that wants to learn and have a ton of fun."—A.G., Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Some of the best camps I have ever taken! Highly recommended!"—C.H., Adv., April 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating "Excellent program, well organized, adapted to group size change and abilities. Both pros were very upbeat, positive, and skilled. Good management of breaks. Overall excellent program!"—S.B., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Friendly, comfortable environment to work on improving your strokes. And the scenery is stunning, too. Great team -- competent and caring!"—S.M., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Beautiful setting, very friendly staff, great energy, cogent tips, it leaves nothing to be desired! My teammates and I annually travel to this amazing tennis venue.."—P.M., Int., April 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating "Northstar has a fantastic youth tennis program! The instructors are some of the best! They are patient with beginners and challenge the more advanced. My boys loved the program so much that they wanted to attend the tennis clinic every day on our Tahoe vacation. Looking forward to joining clinics again this summer!"—K.B., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—T.O., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—C.H., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Northstar’s tennis program is one of the best! Hidden up in the beautiful Sierra Nevada mountains Northstar offers incredible scenery to go along side their incredible tennis program. The tennis pro’s are so fun to train with! Even the kids get excited! The resort as a whole is out of this world too. So much to do on and off the court. 5 stars."—J.O., Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—C.C., Low Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "My tennis friends and I did a three day camp last August. It was amazing! Guillaume is a high-energy, enthusiastic instructor who can hone in on how a small change in your stroke, stance, or follow-through can change your game dramatically. He managed to keep us all engaged and moving at a fast paced clip. He is knowledgeable and funny and kind, even when he's explaining what you are doing wrong. I cannot recommend this clinic more highly...just wish I could have stayed longer!"—K.C., Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Beautiful setting in the Lake Tahoe area, range of activities to entertain the whole family, exceptionally friendly and knowledgeable staff!"—J.V., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Northstar is a beautiful setting for both relaxing and doing sports. The resort is exceptional and the staff is even more so. The staff is highly professional while still being kind and engaging. I highly recommend!"—J.V., Beg., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Great place for a tennis getaway. Excellent staff and outstanding instruction. This is my absolute favorite tennis trip every year."—J.B., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "I played tennis my entire life and had a 6.0 ranking. I want my kids to enjoy tennis as much as I do so I always look for the best tennis coaches out there that know about the sport and can make tennis very fun. My 13 years old LOVES Northstar. And I have to admit I love it too:) the team is wonderful- they make it so fun and entertaining. I went to 7 different academies in my life and know a lot of coaches. Northstar is the best out there and it’s amazing that it’s located in Tahoe. I went to Mouratoglou Tennis Academy (probably the biggest academy with Serena Williams as their top star), Barcelona Academy, and other big ones. The problem with these huge academies, is that they are amazing for professional players- great coaching staff, resources, medical staff, etc... but for all the other players (my kids for example!) they hire a coach for $15/h to help with summer camps and clinics. This is how they make money but as a customer, you don’t get the value unless you are professional. The biggest problem, is that they don’t make tennis fun/ which is crucial if you want your kids to enjoy the sport and get better! This is why, I think Northstar is the best out there (or at least the best I tried). The lesson is very fun AND you improved tremendously. The director, Guillaume, is a head a coach for a div 1 college team and is one of the nicest and funniest person out there. He built a great team of coaches and the culture is awesome. The bonus in all this, is the location! Just beautiful- so great for parents too:)"—P.F., Adv., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—T.F., Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Northstar tennis is amazing!! Every staff member I have encountered have been kind, friendly, and knowledgeable! We come to Northstar for vacation every year, and I’ve watched them coach tennis for a while, I was nervous, because the coaches were so good playing with amazing players, they were going to play circles around a beginner like me. Boy was I wrong!! The coach “G” took his time and taught to my level! He didn’t rush thru fundentials, and really helped my build my skill set! I left being a better tennis player then I entered! I can’t wait to come back and learn some more! Whether you are a novice, or an expert, Northstar tennis is the place for you! I recommend them to everyone!!"—A.L., Low Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—N.B., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I have done a LOT of tennis camps and clinics and the pros at Northstar are amazing. Not only are they the best pros at teaching tennis, but they REALLY do have the most fun. I can not say enough great things about it, I look forward to it all year!!!!"—R.S., Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—Y.W., Low Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Asked everyone in group what they wanted to work on and touched every one of them. Also, evaluated the group to make it challenging and fun for every level. Definitely would do it again."—M.S., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Playing tennis at Northstar is like a dream come true. The courts are nestled in pines and aspens, providing a peaceful setting for great mountain tennis. The altitude makes for bigger serves and shorter backswings lead to better success."—J.K., Adv., September 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—J.S., Int., May 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—K.K.,  May 2018
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—M.D., Int., April 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "Great one-on-one attention and a lot of FUN for kids of different levels and ages."—J.L.,  April 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "My husband and I look forward to going to Northstar every year. The mountain courts are beautiful and we get excellent attention during our tennis clinics and lessons. Love the Pros. I look forward to going back this year for our 14th year."—J.P., Int., April 2018
  • 3½-Ball Rating "My 13 year old son has been going to this camp for 6 years, one week every summer we are vacationing at Northstar at Tahoe. He asks to go every year, so this year we are planning on 2 weeks at Northstar. The camp makes tennis fun by not only doing basic drills, but integrating fun tennis games that hone in their skills while having a blast. The instructors keep it fun & engaging. The pool is right there, so he and some other kids take a quick swim to cool off after a few hours of tennis. Lastly, for parents, it is a flexible camp so you can sign up for a few days a week or all days depending on your vacation schedule. The only weakness is that the camps runs a few hours in the afternoon, and the morning might be nicer for the kids in case it is a hot day. Fortunately, the weather is mild in Tahoe."—C.M., Int., April 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "It is hard to find the right words to describe our experiences at Northstar Tennis these many past years. Every year we look forward to sign up for more camps and clinics, and reconnect with the Team. Guillaume Tonelli takes his role at heart and is a wonderful tennis player and a super friendly and caring coach. His teaching skills are truly amazing. He is someone you always enjoy being around and playing tennis with. The team he puts together is most helpful, welcoming, very qualified and very patient with players at various levels - kids and adults. The atmosphere around the Club is fun and yet this is about serious tennis in hot weather! The Club setting is beautiful by a small river among pine trees and next to two gorgeous swimming pools. Do not hesitate to drop by and hit a few balls. You will not be disappointed!"—A.W., Adv. Int., April 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The courts are beautiful, the mountainous setting is absolutely lovely. The area is impeccably landscaped."—P.M., Int., April 2018
  • 3½-Ball Rating ""—N.P., Int., April 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "My wife and I had lapsed in our tennis and we chose to visit Northstar Tennis at Lake Tahoe to rekindle our games. We were expecting to spend most of our time at the resort, but ended up spending all day, every day at the tennis facility. We loved our experience so much the first time we visited in 2017 that before we left we had booked a second trip for just a few weeks later and have now returned twice following our first trip. The grounds are amazing, with areas to relax and to enjoy the views of the Tahoe woods, as well as to take a dip in the pool and hot tubs within the broader Northstar facilities. The teaching staff and programs were truly the best we've ever experienced. There is a strong variety of expertise on the teaching staff, which meant both my wife and I were able to pair with pros that fit our abilities (and personalities). We did a mix of private lessons, semi-private lessons, and group instruction/programs -- each type of instructions was incredibly valuable. From a weakness perspective, the facility offers only hard courts, which might be a turn off for those who prefer clay, har-tru, or other surfaces. Additionally, if you are not accustomed to playing at altitude, Tahoe may be challenging!"—J.G., Adv. Int., April 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "This is a hidden jewel. I have attended their five day clinics over the last several years. It was always good, but it is now better than ever. They have really helped me improve my game. The staff is friendly and patient. It is very personalized. The courts are in great shape and the setting is beautiful. I am a vacation homeowner nearby. There are hotels and rentals within the Northstar complex. My suggestion is to arrive a day or two early since it is at a high altitude. I am excited to come back this summer and fall."—J.H., Low Int., April 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "My friends and I had a great time at the Northstar tennis camp, we’ve gone the past 2 years and plan to be there again this summer and future summers. The tennis instruction is excellent, they focus on smaller groups on every court so you get a lot of individual attention. Guillaume, the head pro/Tennis director gave us great advice on technique, strategy, and the mental part of tennis. They keep things moving fast and the drills were some of the best I’ve ever experienced. If you’re thinking of trying a tennis camp, don’t hesitate to book your reservation at Northstar!"—J.R., Adv. Int., April 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—E.D., Pro, April 2018
  • 4-Ball Rating "Northstar Tennis is a wonderful facility, beautiful courts in a beautiful setting. The staff are very welcoming to all players and guests."—L.L., Int., April 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Guillaume runs a fantastic tennis program at North Star. My 13 year old son, Lance Lucas, played with Guillaume there last August and had a very productive and enjoyable experience. Lance is 7 UTR player and Guillaume took him under his wings and helped him overcome weaknesses in his game. The setting at Northstar is nothing short of stunning. What a beautiful place for a tennis camp. The altitude takes a little getting used to as the tennis ball moves faster in the thin air but that made it easier for him to play when he returned to sea level. Overall I would give Guillaume's program 5 stars."—A.L., Adv., April 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "My kids have participated in the Northstar tennis camp several years in a row. I have to say, it's something they look forward to each year. The relaxed nature of the instruction, the highly teachers, and just the overall vibe of the tennis at Northstar has helped my kids skills grow in a non-competitive and fun way. I believe Northstar tennis camp has instilled a life-long love of tennis in my children, which is exactly what I would have hoped for."—A.S.,  April 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "Amazing resort. The courts and facility are very clean, convenient, with so many activities to do. The quality of the Tennis coaches is unparalleled. I have been playing tennis for over 25 years, and I was amazed by how good, knowledgeable and fun the coaches are. My kids had so much fun while learning tons."—P.F., Int., April 2018
  • 4-Ball Rating "If you want a tennis courts to talk about that will have people saying, "No way!", check out Northstar. Their courts are numbered and go UP the mountain, all on a different level. Pine trees line the sides of the courts, and you feel like you are in a forest. Because you are! The nearby condos are nice, but aim for the luxury units surrounding the Northstar ski plaza (not much traffic in the summer and good rates!). Those classy, lap-of-luxury accommodations will be as big or bigger than many of the homes you own. Be sure and check out the near-by Truckee. Shopping beyond belief, good restaurants, lots of atmosphere. Sacramento or Reno are closest airports. The tennis people are easy to work with in planning an outing. Check to make sure pine needles are swept off the courts before your group plays each day. Keep in mind altitude is higher than most courts, so you will be panting a little more quickly than you are used to. Also, high altitude balls are needed or delated, older ones (that's a plus, huh? Better than giving them to the dogs for play). Our group (four courts of us) went strictly to play so we were not in the instruction program."—C.J., Adv. Int., April 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "Northstar has an amazing set up, in the middle of the mountain, it is a beautiful spot to play tennis in the summer. The pros are fun and very helpful, and i cannot wait to go back!"—S.H., Adv., April 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "My husband and I love coming back every year and the kids camps are always a highlight of the summer. Zeke and the staff are great and make our time there enjoyable for everyone. I highly recommend!"—M.M., Low Int., April 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "Zeke and all the staff do an exceptional job... Cody and Jerome, in particular, were great. Our whole family comes back for the camps every summer and our kids have a blast!"—K.M., Adv. Int., April 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Amazing staff and beautiful location"—J.K., Adv., April 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I build a 5 day adult clinic at Northstar Tennis into my summer calendar every year. The program has an excellent, experienced staff led by Zeke Straw. When the clinic ends each day at noon you can enjoy resort amenities including pool, exercise facility, kids programs and Northstar Village. With 10 high-quality hard surface courts there is never a problem getting a court time. When my son was younger he learned the game through youth clinics at Northstar Tennis."—M.V., Int., March 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "Northstar adult tennis has been a regular part of my summer for over 10 years. Can't beat the location. Aside from the 2-3 main pros there, staff has shifted a bit each year. I find that makes it more interesting...new drills, new approaches. And every year I've met some other repeat campers and some new ones. A really nice mix."—B.I., Adv. Int., February 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating "We were just getting back into tennis, and both my husband and myself loved the drills and instruction. We could play extra matches, too. The accommodations were superb. The condo was amazing and extremely well-equipped. We also took advantage of the health center. After this vacation in 2013, I broke my foot and didn't play much tennis until now when I'm getting back into it. We hope to attend another 5 day camp this summer."—T.C., Low Int., February 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Beautiful location; most enthusiastic and talented coaches; great for adults and juniors; I have gone for over ten summers; Zeke Straw is the best...up-to-date with tennis techniques and coaching techniques and beneficial cross-training like yoga and TRX."—G.P., Adv. Int., February 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—R.F., Adv. Int., February 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Northstar is a great place to play tennis, even if you are going solo. It's a wonderful place to take a 2-day or 5-day camp with your teammates. Book a week for your team or call ahead to have them fit you in solo. After a challenging morning on the courts, hit the fitness room or cool off in the pool under the beautiful quaking aspens."—A.N., Adv., April 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—J.F., Int., April 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "This is a beautiful setting and has a great coaching staff. They are good at helping diagnose your weaknesses and helping you correct them. They are very positive and you get a good work out too."—A.S., Int., April 2015
  • 4-Ball Rating "Strengths: Excellent, experienced staff; proximity to resort amenities including pool, exercise facility, kids programs and Northstar Village; 10 high-quality hard surface courts; tennis clinics and lessons for kids of all ages. Weaknesses: None noted."—M.V., Int., April 2015
  • 4-Ball Rating "I've done the 2 day clinic plus the altitude clinic three years in a row. We go up with a group of women from our local team. Without a doubt, I learn a few new items every year that improve my game! Plus, Zeke and his team are professional, positive and encouraging. Lots of energy! The facilities are beautiful too. We are already in the process of booking 2015. The good news is you can make suggestions for what you want to work on....stategy, skills, etc and they will taylor the camp to suite your needs."—M.O., Adv. Int., April 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "This is a terrific tennis camp and the setting amidst tall aspens and pines is stunningly beautiful. The camp is well run with a low player to coach ratio. Zeke Straw, head tennis pro ensures all players are challenged and learn in an atmosphere of fun, comraderie and hard work! Guaranteed to improve your game! Lodging and restaurant options are almost limitless in many price ranges and categories throughout the Lake Tahoe area."—M.S., Adv., April 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Northstar is a great vacation destination especially if you play tennis. I go for an extended stay with my husband plus I take a shorter vacation there every year by myself. The tennis instructors are excellent and they teach alike. They are knowledgeable, friendly, and they all use the same tennis language so their instruction is very consistent, whether it's a camp or private lesson. The vacation setting is beautiful. The sushi restaurant is superb! I keep going back to Northstar!"—J.M., Int., April 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The Northstar Tennis program provides great support to all levels of players. Zeke Straw's energy and enthusiasm is contagious! He and his staff can help individuals and teams improve their games and have a great time doing it. The Northstar Tennis programs is set in the beautiful Northstar Ski Resort at Lake Tahoe. The courts are are in great shape and the pine trees and aspen provide a perfect background. A camp or vacation with Zeke and the Northstar Tennis program will be and experience you want to repeat!"—J.K., Adv., April 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Our family is looking forward to our third summer with the Northstar tennis pros! The 5 day adult & kids clinics are fun and engaging and all of our games improve so much each year."—D.F., Adv. Int., April 2015
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—S.F., Int., April 2015
  • 4-Ball Rating "We loved the format--play lots of tennis in the morning, pick up a delicious lunch in Northstar village, then go for a long hike in the mountains with our dog in the afternoon. The tennis instruction was excellent. Led by Zeke Straw, who is upbeat, observant and impressively flexible!, we felt our games improve over the week. We took good notes and used the drills at home. I went 5-2 in my 4.5 USTA season and I'm crediting Zeke and his gang for the improvement."—L.L., Adv., October 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I had the chance to participate in the adult tennis program at Northstar. Zeke and his team were great at creating an environment to bring the best out in my game. The facility is beautiful and the instruction is top notch. I look forward to the next time I will be able to attend!"—J.K., Adv., October 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Absolutely love the tennis camps at NorthStar. Beautiful atmosphere with great teaching pros. I have always been challenged by the pros and I return home with new tennis skills. The tennis pros keep me moving all the time and I feel like I get a full year worth of lessons in one weekend. I look forward to returning again next summer!"—M.H., Adv. Int., October 2014
  • 4-Ball Rating "I've been going to Northstar's adult tennis camp every summer since 2004. We now have a group of regular's who go together which makes this a fun vacation with friends. The pros and staff have become our friends and spending time with them is a huge part of the experience. Zeke and Guilluame especially make this a wonderful and fun tennis experience and every year they have new tips and drills that help you improve."—C.E., Adv., October 2014
  • 2½-Ball Rating ""—J.Z., Int., March 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating "Highly recommended. The best teaching staff. Educational and entertaining. The village is a great place to stay. No negatives I can think of. Look forward to returning every year."—C.B., Adv. Int., March 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—N.B., Int., March 2014
  • 4-Ball Rating "I have attended Northstar 3 times so far. Each time I learn something new and I have been play tennis for 45 years. The setting is beautiful, and you have the afternoons free to explore Lake Tahoe area. I brought a new person with me the last time I attended, and he loved it also. We both will return this summer. The staff are always friendly, humerous, helpful, and enthusiastic. The ratio of instructor to student is quite high.
    The instructors divide players up according to their level so that you can practice/drill with people of similar ability. Sometimes players nearly get a private lesson. I really can't say enough about this experience. It's a "must do" for me every year.
    No actual negatives to state."
    —M.D., Adv. Int., April 2013
  • 4-Ball Rating "The Northstar at Tahoe tennis program is located in a beautiful setting. Courts are surrounded by aspen and pine trees. The staff are wonderful and created a fantastic family experience."—J.K., Adv., April 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The coaches are great. The setting is fantastic. The weather during camp season is unbeatable. The pricing is very fair. The only weakness I can think of is that I don't think there are camps for beginners."—A.S., Int., April 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The courts at Northstar are amazing! Located in one of the most beautiful spots in the country, surrounded by tall pines and firs there is no better place to hit the ball! The pro, Zeke is the best and his energy and passion for the game are unmatched."—E.J., Adv. Int., April 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The Northstar-at-Tahoe tennis facility is one of the best we have ever been too. Not only do they have great facilities, they have the most enthusiastic tennis staff ever-teaching skills while everyone is having a blast in one of the most beautiful places in the country! We highly recommend tennis players of all ages and levels to go there-it will be a memorable experience! (We have been coming every summer for the past 20 years and both our kids learned to play here)"—E.B., Adv., April 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Love Northstar for tennis! Zeke is amazing. He has tons of energy and a real gift for getting others excited about the sport. This Fall, our my ladies tennis team will head up there for a weekend camp. We've done this four years in a row, and love it! My kids also participate in clinics over the summer. Great instruction, beautiful scenery, a great high-altitude workout and lots of fun!"—K.H., Adv. Int., April 2011
  • 5-Ball Rating "The tennis staff is very accommodating in terms of finding matches, coordinating tennis ability in lessons & camps. Gorgeous setting in the mountains. Lake Tahoe nearby offers water activities and good hiking. Lots of great restaurants and shopping."—P.C., Adv. Int., April 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I’ve attended a five day adult clinic each summer for the last five years. These clinics have been a major factor in my improvement as a USTA player. Coaches Zeke Straw, Malcolm Ridenour and Dirk Haas – all USTPA Pros – bring complementary skill sets to the clinics. Zeke and Malcolm are excellent at explaining proper technique and locking in lessons learned through guided participation. Dirk helps players develop the mental and strategic side of the game, including drills to help each player minimize unforced errors and play the most effective game possible.
    Although I improve every time I attend a clinic, the main reason I keep coming back is that I have fun with the coaches and my fellow students.
    If I had to point to a weakness, it would be that the first day is always a challenge due to high altitude. It takes a couple of hours before my cardiovascular system starts catching up to the thin air. By the end of the week, I’m in the best cardio shape I will achieve all year."
    —M.V., Int., April 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "When we started going to Northstar 5 years ago, it was totally undiscovered. Now, the village has so many new restaurants and alot of shopping. There are wine tastings, things for kids to do etc. My husband and I go for the tennis camp and golf and stay free package.
    We usually stay at the studio condos because they are more reasonable and we love being among the cool pines up in the mountains. The newer condos in the village are very beautiful also. It's an excellent place to vacation and we will be there again at the beginning of July of 2011."
    —J.P., Int., April 2011
  • 3-Ball Rating "Much more geared toward doubles players.... very few singles drills. Malcolm was great. The head guy, Zeke, seems more interested in playing than analyzing strokes at times, it seems."—C.B., Int., July 2009
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Very good tennis instruction. Very physically demanding and a great workout."—H.M., Adv. Int., January 2009

Rate Northstar California or
Northstar Tennis


Ratings

(86 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
5-Ball Rating Tennis Staff
5-Ball Rating Instruction
4½-Ball Rating
Game Matching
4-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4½-Ball Rating
Cuisine
4-Ball Rating Lodging
4-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
4-Ball Rating
Dollar Value
4½-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4½-Ball Rating Setting
4½-Ball Rating
Kids' Programs
4½-Ball Rating Romance
4½-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4½-Ball Rating


Northstar Tennis Ratings
( 82 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
5-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
5-Ball Rating
Instruction
4½-Ball Rating
Junior Tennis
4½-Ball Rating
Dollar Value
4½-Ball Rating

Ratings

(86 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
5-Ball Rating Instruction
4½-Ball Rating Lodging
4-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
4-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4½-Ball Rating Kids' Programs
4½-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4½-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
5-Ball Rating Game Matching
4-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4½-Ball Rating Cuisine
4-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4½-Ball Rating Setting
4½-Ball Rating Romance
4½-Ball Rating


Northstar Tennis Ratings
( 82 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
5-Ball Rating Instruction
4½-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4½-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
5-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4½-Ball Rating

Rates and Reservations

Lodging ranges from studios 1-to-3-bedroom condos or 3-to-5-bedroom homes in clusters in various parts of the resort. For details about the tennis program, visit Northstar Tennis.

Visit the website for current rates

Northstar California
2200 N. Village Dr.
Truckee, CA 96161