Search
Email Us
Tennis Resorts Online
The Lodge at Ventana Canyon Golf & Racquet Club, Tucson, Arizona
©Roger Cox

The Lodge at Ventana Canyon

Tucson, Arizona



silverado 728x90

Silverado 250x250



Your Call

Here's what others have had to say about Lodge at Ventana Canyon.

  • 5-Ball Rating "Incredible tennis facility and staff. Jonas has a great drop-in program that benefits visitors like me. Victor is an asset as well, great to play against and helped to improve my game."—P.M., Adv. Int., September 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating "The pro always works guests into games on Monday,Wednesday, Friday and Saturday's. The men and women's groups are very friendly and there several levels of tennis available. There is also an active pickle ball program. The setting is exceptionally beautiful with mountains in the background. We love this place!"—R.S., Int., April 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "This resort is a wonderful family and couples resort. The golf is amazing, and the tennis courts are fabulous. The new swimming pool/jacuzzi with the bar makes it easy for groups to have a nice cocktail party outside. The rooms have been refurbished, and look amazing. It would be nice to have more utensils in the kitchens so that housekeeping does not need to be called. The bar area was redone as well, and a great place to gather to watch a game or just relax with friends. Food is great, bar service is great, staff is always polite and extremely helpful to answer any questions about your stay or things to do."—C.L., Adv., April 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "This is a great place! Incredible views, the best courts in Tucson! Jonathan Davis is an exceptional Director of Tennis. Staff very helpful. Would recommend the place to anyone!"—T.H., Adv. Int., April 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—R.K., Int., January 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "The hotel was very nice and we really enjoyed our lessons, Staff was excellent, especially Mr. Davis! I would definitely recommend."—A.K., Adv., April 2015
  • 4-Ball Rating "I visited with a group of dentists. I organized a week of tennis at Ventana. It was our second time there and everyone was very happy with the quality of the resort and the staff. The meals were delicious. A new pool was being built and hopefully bathrooms closer to the tennis courts."—R.D., Adv. Int., April 2015
  • 4-Ball Rating "Exceptional location and courts. Pro Jonathan is awesome teaching not only technique but also strategy. Does it in a relaxed, friendly way with great results! Highly recommend."—J.L., Adv. Int., March 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "This is a beautiful resort in a gorgeous locale - the staff make you feel special as well. I had a tennis lesson from Jonathan Davis, the head tennis pro, who also did a terrific job - his instruction was extremely helpful. I will definitely come back again!"—C.J., Int., March 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating "The Lodge at Ventana is such a unique and quality experience. The beautiful backdrop, luxury accommodation and great people are truly what make vacationing here most memorable w/ my family. My lessons from tennis pro Jonathan Davis was first-rate and unparalleled from other tennis facilities I've been to. Will definitely be coming back!"—A.F., Adv., March 2014
  • 4-Ball Rating "The Lodge at Ventana Canyon has a beautiful tennis facility. Courts are nestled in between the exquisite Catalina Mounains and a wonderful golf course. It's a place I find myself lucky to be able to play at regularly. Tennis instruction is top notch, the pro really takes care of guests by setting up matches and making you feel welcome. The Saturday morning Round Robins, always fun!!!"—V.T., Adv. Int., April 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Ventana has the best tennis facility and staff in the Southwest! The members are friendly and willing to play. The instruction I have received is world class thanks to Scott Anders and PBI. The only weakness is that the membership is older but they are young at heart and great to be with on the courts and socially!"—T.H., Int., April 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Scott Anders did an amazing job of setting up daily matches that proved to be fun and competitive. Club members were extremely friendly. Beautiful tennis facility."—M.W., Int., December 2012
  • 3½-Ball Rating "I enjoyed my stay at the Lodge at Ventana Canyon. It is set in a beautiful mountainous area. There are plenty of tennis courts and they are very close to the Lodge. The rooms are big but outdated. Overall nice trip."—M.W., Int., November 2012
  • 3-Ball Rating "Nice place, good tennis facilities, tennis staff great."—J.N., Adv. Int., October 2012
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Friendly and knowledgeable staff. Beautiful setting. Plenty of nice hard courts."—C.B., Adv. Int., October 2012
  • 4-Ball Rating "There are few, if any resorts with tennis that can take care of you like the Lodge. Scott, the Head Pro there and all of his staff are so attentive and pleasant. These are good people! The surroundings at the Lodge are second to none and the tennis facility is welcoming and and well cared for."—T.B., Pro, October 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We love this place. The setting is gorgeous and the hotel staff is so friendly and professional. It is the best room set up for families that we have ever found anywhere (loft suite). It is extremely good value for the money. Scott Anders (head pro) is a fantastic, inspirational teacher - he really listens and raises your game. When we visit Tucson, we would never consider staying anywhere else."—P.B., Adv. Int., April 2012
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Beautiful desert location. Great PBI tennis instructors with great daily clinics. Loads of fun!!!!"—B.A., Adv. Int., March 2012
  • 4-Ball Rating "My wife and I stayed at the Lodge for 10 days where we met Scott Anders, the head tennis pro. We took lessons and joined group events. We learned to analyze our opponent when serving, and we learned about the five return zones in doubles. We discussed and practiced chip shots. We found Scott informative and helpful --- an excellent coach.
    We also met other club members during a Valentine’s Day mixer. Everyone was friendly and welcoming. We mixed opponents and were delighted to play with other couples with similar interests and abilities. We’ll be sure to return to the Lodge in the future."
    —R.H., Adv. Int., February 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We first visited the Lodge at Ventana Canyon in February 2011 and, after having such a great experience with the tennis program there, returned in February 2012. Scott Anders, the PBI director, is very welcoming and an excellent instructor. He is very active in promoting his tennis program and even though most of those we played with (or against) were local members and not Lodge guests, we were always made to feel welcomed into the program. The fact that this year we ran into many of the same people we met the first year shows that they love the tennis program also.
    Scott is active with his members in their league play, but not too busy to hold clinics, drills, round robin tournaments and was available each time we asked for private instruction. He always offers to find suitable opponents for play.
    The Lodge is unique in that it is primarily a golf club with local members supporting the facility. There are only about 50 rooms to book so it feels very homey and comfortable and the staff takes an interest in your stay. The rooms are spacious, the beds are great and there is even a small kitchen with refrigerator, oven, cooktop, dishwasher and microwave if you wish to dine in.
    We will return soon to enjoy the Lodge at Ventana Canyon again."
    —J.H., Int., February 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—D.M., Adv. Int., February 2012
  • 4-Ball Rating "I loved how accessible the tennis was and how friendly all of the staff was. However, the restaurants seemed understaffed when we would come in for a break. Not sure how to address that but it was tough when we only had an hour break and all needed to eat but there would only be one or two staffers to accommodate our group of 30 as well as the other guests."—K.C., Int., November 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—C.S., Int., November 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "Rooms very well appointed, staff very helpful and went out of their way to make us feel welcome, pros participated with us in drills and round robins if needed. The courts were well lit and always available to us. Truly, I cannot say anything negative about this resort. Food was great as well."—R.C., Adv. Int., November 2011
  • 3½-Ball Rating "The special attention at any club is "Key" to success whether we need direction or just plain attention. This lodge gave us all of that and more. The gift bag for the group is always special and fun."—J.B., Adv. Int., November 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—K.R., Adv., November 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "It is a beautiful place. Nestled in the mountains, it is high above the city and very quiet. The tennis courts are in terriffic condition, and they are now just redoing a stadium court which is unbelievable. Only downside at all is the weather was a little warm for the time of year, but not unbearable. The tennis staff was extremely knowledgeable and helpful, and the pros, there are 2 were both extremely good and friendly."—R.C., Adv. Int., April 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "A real must visit Resort and Tennis Center. the Pro, Scott Anders, is outstanding. With Scott's tremendous teaching technique I learned so quickly, had fun and couldn't wait to get back for a lesson, and his clinics the next day. Don't miss joining in on Scott Anders tennis programs at the Lodge at Ventana Canyon - If you do, you'll miss the most fabulous instruction and clinics you've ever had!  "—C.G., Adv. Int., March 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "Highly recommend, largely based on Scott Anders, head pro, and his team, arranging a number of matches with local members. The members were great, friendly, and well matched players at 4.0 level. By end of the week, we felt part of their group!  "—D.T., Adv., October 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—C.C., Adv. Int., June 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Excellent instruction and tennis program. Even during our short stay, they made an effort to establish a relationship and help improve our tennis game over the course of the long weekend. Great facilities, small intimate setting was welcoming and quiet."—M.M., Low Int., May 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating "The Lodge is a gem. Three friends and I went for a tennis weekend and had a wonderful experience. The staff at the tennis center was extremely helpful and accommodating of our tennis needs, and we received outstanding instruction. The tennis center offers private lessons as well as a group drill class and round robin tournament for varying skill levels. There are many courts, so finding court time was not a problem. I highly recommmend this location for a friendly and strong instructional experience."—L.K., Beg., May 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating "My husband and I recently had a most relaxing vacation at the Lodge at Ventana Canyon, surrounded by breathtaking views of the Santa Catalina Mountains and beautiful sunny weather. Both golf and tennis were excellent. In particular, the tennis schedule offered lessons, clinics and round robin matches. Courts were always available and open until 10PM.
    As a tennis beginner, I had excellent lessons from Head Tennis Pro, Eric Gessner, He made instruction easy to understand and provided consistent encouragement, giving me the confidence I needed to pursue tennis at home. Also, Director of Tennis, Scott Anders urged me to participate in Round Robin matches. This was a great opportunity for me to improve my tennis skills. Other participants, mainly Club members, made me feel so at ease.
    My tennis experience at the Lodge was a huge positive. I am so grateful to Scott, Eric and the gracious Club members for all their encouragement. I am looking forward to my next visit."
    —J.S., Low Int., April 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—J.G., Int., April 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating "All the staff was very friendly and the tennis pro was energetic and positive. I was also very happy with the player match up service. One of the best tennis experiences I have had."—J.R., Adv. Int., April 2010
  • 3½-Ball Rating "We enjoyed our stay at The Lodge at Ventana Canyon very much. First, the tennis courts were accessible whenever we wanted to play whether it was first thing in the morning or after dark. Also, the two pros were available for lessons and were willing to provide either a teaching-type lesson or a workout-type lesson, which I appreciated. My two children, both of whom are beginner/intermediate players, had fun too. The Director of Tennis, Scott Anders, provides clear instructions and gave me some good tips that I think will help me to improve my game.
    Second, the accomodations were excellent. Our room was across the parking lot from the courts and was plenty big for four people. Third, the surrounding scenery was beautiful. I highly recommend this resort for a tennis vacation."
    —S.M., Adv., March 2010
  • 3½-Ball Rating "I hit with Eric and Scott on several days, and both provided great instruction in a friendly, fun, and informative way. Both also provided good information on area activities and restaurants. The tennis facilities are well maintained, and the mountains in the background provide for a beautiful setting. The Lodge accommodations are spacious, adequate, and a good value, but they are probably not as luxurious as the Loew's Resort up the road. The Lodge is a great place to spend a vacation of active tennis and hiking combined with relaxation in the sun."—M.A., Adv., March 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—K.L., Int., March 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—E.G., Adv. Int., February 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating "Tennis instuction here was very helpful. I brought several tips home with me. The pros were very friendly and positive and I would definitely go back there for tennis. Probably the best resort tennis experience I've had yet."—P.G., Int., February 2010
  • 3-Ball Rating ""—E.G., Int., April 2009
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I recently stayed there and the facility was beautiful. I had two hitting lessons with pro Scott Anders and had a great time. The setting couldn't be more perfect."—D.C., Adv., April 2009
  • 4-Ball Rating "Although I did not have children with me, I saw children each day enjoying the facilities and programs. Ventana Canyon was a lovely vacation spot and I plan to visit often. Both tennis pros (Scott and Eric)were extremely helpful in improving my game."—A.D., Low Int., April 2009
  • 4-Ball Rating "Friendly, fun members that make you feel like you are part of the club. Helpful pros who set you up with matches and court reservation -- made us feel like members."—K.A., Adv. Int., April 2009
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The Lodge at Ventana Canyon is a wonderful place to take a Vacation. The tennis professionals have been wonderful to us and always made sure we had a game or a lesson when we wanted one. I found both Scott and Eric to be very committed to serving the Lodge guests and my stay was made much more enjoyable because of them.
    The rooms at the Lodge at Ventana Canyon were both comfortable and well appointed. We were very pleased with both the comfort and cleanliness of the rooms. Our family enjoyed staying in a loft room. We found it very unique.
    I would recommend the Lodge at Ventana Canyon because of it's wonderful customer service, the outstanding tennis professionals and the very comfortable rooms. I will certainly look forward to my next visit to Tucson and the Lodge."
    —C.H., Adv. Int., April 2009

Rate Lodge at Ventana Canyon


Ratings

(47 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Instruction
4½-Ball Rating
Game Matching
4½-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
3½-Ball Rating
Cuisine
3½-Ball Rating Lodging
3½-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
3½-Ball Rating
Dollar Value
4½-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4-Ball Rating Setting
4-Ball Rating
Kids' Programs
3½-Ball Rating Romance
4-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4½-Ball Rating

Ratings

(47 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Instruction
4½-Ball Rating Cuisine
3½-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4½-Ball Rating Setting
4-Ball Rating Romance
4-Ball Rating Kids' Programs
3½-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Game Matching
4½-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
3½-Ball Rating Lodging
3½-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
3½-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4½-Ball Rating

Rates and Reservations

You have a choice of a 1-bedroom or 2-bedroom suite. Check the hotel for rates during the period you want to visit.

Visit the website for current rates

The Lodge at Ventana Canyon
6200 N. Clubhouse Lane
Tucson, AZ 85750