Search
Email Us
Tennis Resorts Online
Clubhouse Tennis Court at La Quinta Resort & Club, La Quinta, CA
Courtesy La Quinta Resort & Club

La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

La Quinta, California




Drysdale 2019 Programs

Join the Cliff Drysdale Tennis team for a tennis and wine weekend at the Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara in California or Chateau Elan Winery and Resort in Georgia. These unique camps will bring you the ultimate tennis experience where you can relax and unwind while playing tennis like never before. The weekend includes 9 hours of tennis instruction and play, a private guided wine tasting, and luxury accommodations for 2 nights. More information can be found online at Tennis and Wine Weekends



Your Call

Here's what others have had to say about La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort.

  • 5-Ball Rating "Beautiful atmosphere with highest quality tennis instruction. Look forward to coming back first chance I get!"—K.O., Adv., April 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating "It’s an absolutely stunning background right in the la quinta cove! Beautiful views and an excellent tennis facility with the best staff!"—A.W., Adv., April 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating "TENNIS HEAVEN... it was a few years since I had been to the Resort but going back this last March was a quick reminder of just how beautiful this property is. I brought a group of tennis players with me and Kevin Connolly and the entire tennis staff treated us like royalty. Not only is this the perfect place for tennis players, but the grounds are stunningly beautiful. If you haven't had a chance to visit this spot yet, you need to put it on your bucket list."—J.C., Pro, April 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Tennis program is one of the best I’ve been to. Hope to come again."—T.B., Adv. Int., April 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating "I take weekly lessons at La Quinta Resort from Rod Suarez who is an amazing tennis coach. I have taken many lessons from other instructors and have been to many tennis camps, and Rod is the absolute best. His knowledge, energy and enthusiasm are unsurpassed. He works me very hard and makes my lessons fun and exciting. Rod is such a positive and happy person and he is truly a joy on the court. My lessons with Rod are the highlight of my week!"—V.S., Int., April 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Tennis staff is great. Easy to communicate, easy to make reservations for lessons, hitting sessions, court availability."—E.D., Adv. Int., April 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating "Fantastic tennis program! Kevin Connolly's private lessons have been a highlight for many years. Combined with the amazing facilities at La Quinta, this is one of my favorite places to hit. Can't wait to visit again."—J.F., Int., March 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Tennis staff, in particular Ian Mindell are great for a workout coupled with instruction."—J.S., Int., January 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Ian Mindell runs an excellent tennis program. He is Knowledgeable, fun, and motivating"—D.W., Adv., January 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating "Take tennis lessons! Tennis instructors Ian, Randy and Jim are outstanding teachers, work super hard and really care about their clients. It’s very lucky to have access to such high quality professionals and individuals at a resort I love."—A.B.,  January 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating "Tennis instructors were outstanding"—J.W., Adv., January 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—B.W., Adv., January 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—L.S., Int., January 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—T.L., Adv. Int., January 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I visited during Christmas and started the New Year at a place I have been to for over 20 years .La Quinta Resort in its present iteration has now moved into the top 10 in the world as far its outstanding facilities ,world class tennis staff -over 8 high level on site pros, depth of clinics, private instruction, diversity of guests ,junior activities, newly remodeled fitness center, world class spa,, rooms, golf ,setting ,pools, weather ,location ,etc.. There is no need to go elsewhere in California for what has become a great tennis and pickle ball destination .The tennis and fitness staff will accommodate your every need. You're going to love it, I guarantee it!."—B.G., Adv., January 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating "I had an hour lesson with tennis instructor Rod today, and he was terrific! He was patient, great communicator, taught me new ways to step up my game, and gave me lots of insights into what I need to improve."—I.L., Beg., May 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The tennis instruction at La Quinta is fantastic! Lessons with Ian are always a highlight of our vacation here. Ian is extremely knowledgeable — and time with him, even when it is only a few days or a week at a time - always helps each member of our family progress as tennis players. He is gifted working with children, using variety, clever games, and humor to keep the lesson both fun, engaged, and impactful. Ian is also excellent at working with adults of all skill levels. Truly, the tennis at La Quinta is so great for the whole family!"—S.M., Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Tennis is the highlight of the activities at the resort. Excellent coaching as well as opportunity to have more family tennis experiences. We have been using the tennis facilities for the past 11 years. One of the main reasons we cone to this resort annually."—K.H., Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Outstanding all round - perfect location, friendly and experienced staff and pros, great courts. Highly recommended."—M.S., Adv., April 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating "I love LaQuinta and have been visiting for over 10 years. Their pros are the highlight-knowledgeable, fun and great instruction. My kids participated in all of their junior clinics. It was the best part of our trip. The kids had fun and improved their game, while parents got a chance to have some quiet pool time. The pricing was reasonable at $25 a session. If you visit don’t miss a lesson with Coach Jim or cardio tennis with Coach Ian. They are the best!"—H.C., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "This by far is one of the best Tennis resorts I have ever been too. The quality of instruction and attention to the needs of all players is unparalleled."—I.F., Adv., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Best tennis oriented resort in the USA and top notch pros. Pro shop does great job at setting up matches, too."—R.K., Adv., April 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating "Beautiful setting with excellent courts, including 5 clay courts in excellent condition. The staff is very attentive with high quality lessons, especially from Ian Mindell. I have been going there for many years and continue to return because of the high level of quality and beauty of the setting."—D.T., Adv., April 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—W.F., Adv., April 2019
  • 3½-Ball Rating ""—A.D., Adv., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—D.E., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—C.F., Pro, April 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—S.C., Int., March 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I had been to La Quinta a few times before, but only participated in the group clinics; which are fantastic. However, this year my girlfriend and I took a private lesson with Kevin Connelly; and my already lofty expectations were exceeded. I am a competitive 4.5 doubles player who plays regularly. Even so, Kevin gave me some great advanced technical advice in regards to my volleys. My girlfriend is an ex college player but had not picked up a racquet in 10 years. She was nervous to get back on the court after so much time away from the game. Kevin immediately put her at ease; and had her grooving ground strokes by the end of the lesson. We can not thank Kevin enough for his time and expertise! I would recommend La Quinta Resort to anyone looking for a top notch tennis vacation!"—B.M., Adv., March 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Just spent a week at La Quinta doing clinics every morning. Highly recommend it! The pros were very engaging, great instruction and fast paced. Really loved Nicole and Rod— they were the best!"—B.C., Adv. Int., March 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Incredibly beautiful facility with over 20 hard and clay courts. With a gorgeous center court. I was there with a pretty big group during the BNP Paribas Open and the new Director Kevin Connolly greeted me on my first day (I was there for the entire tournament) and was amazing throughout the tournament. We took some clinics and had courtime almost every day. The place was hopping with tennis energy and the pros had tons of positive feedback and patients. I have had the opportunity to go to many tennis resorts and their tennis facility behind the leadership of Kevin is really humming. I can't wait to go back."—A.C., Adv., March 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Came for the tennis stayed for the spicy margarita. I stayed at La Quinta resort during my recent trip to the BNP Paribas Open. Not my first trip, nor my last. The highlights are many, but I'd like to give a shout-out to the quality of the tennis program. The pros and service are topnotch, the court surface is impeccable and the views stunning. (I also saw tons of pro players who were there for the BNP tournament!) After my morning tennis I'd hop over to the poolside bar for some casual food, and the entire experience was just pretty amazing. Good work, La Quinta Tennis Club! Also, the spicy marg at Morgan's Restaurant was quite good."—K.R., Adv. Int., March 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating "Enjoyed playing with new tennis pro Coach from university of Colorado Who was teaching at la Quinta I think her first name with Nichole"—A.C., Adv., March 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—A.L., Adv., March 2019
  • 3½-Ball Rating "We took a tennis clinic with Randy. He was an awesome instructor. We were able to hit lots of balls with him while enjoying his humor. Would have been nice if we had the option to reserve a court to play amongst ourselves."—R.E., Int., March 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—A.W., Int., March 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "This was our first visit to LaQuinta. Kevin Connelly was outstanding arranging tennis for us during a busy Indian Wells week. He gave lessons to our entire family including our 16 year tournament player. We all enjoyed Kevin and his coaching immensely. We will be back!"—K.F., Adv., March 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "I have stayed at several properties in the desert over the years however keep returning to La Quinta. The best part is the new Tennis Director, Kevin Connolly, who has run several Peter Burwash International facilities in the desert! Look forward to my next return and more tennis."—T.G., Int., March 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "La Quinta has both hard and clay courts that are kept in great condition and have a breathtaking view of the surrounding Santa Rosa mountains. The tennis center runs clinics and other programs to members and hotel guests which are both fun and reasonably priced; the coaches are enthusiastic and knowledgeable. I always look forward to playing here."—S.J., Int., March 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating "I have been to La Quinta Resort twice in the past few months. Both trips were for a girls weekend get away. I highly enjoyed my time there. I was able to set up drills and court time a few weeks prior to our arrival. We played with a few different pros, each skilled and kept our sessions fun. The tennis courts have the beautiful backdrop of the mountains. The fitness center is adjacent to the tennis courts, which is great for stretching before or afterwards. I highly recommend La Quinta for anyone wanting a tennis get away! I will definitely come back."—C.M., Adv. Int., March 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Spent March 3-10 here. Beautiful tennis retreat. Kevin is an amazing PBI pro who taught us so much. I feel confident I can return home and win some doubles matches. The resort and courts are amazing. We love Kevin P.S. hate pickle ball lines on the court"—B.J., Int., March 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating "My recent visit 3/2018, was my 4th visit to LQ Resort. It's a beautiful resort with excellent tennis professionals and facilities.. I signed up for a tennis clinic each day and a few private lessons throughout my stay. I highly recommend Coach Jim. It's amazing how much he improves my game in just a few lessons. I have been told by my friends that Lynne and Ian are also exceptional. I found the tennis pro shop staff to be a little rude and seemingly disorganized."—M.G., Int., March 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "La Quinta Resort is a classic jewel in the desert. Avoid July and August, but the rest of the year, perfect! Facilities and staff are the best."—L.V., Adv., July 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "5 terrific pros-tennis coordinator always matches games to ones level and can always find you a game. Courts beautifully maintained. Gorgeous resort setting with wonderful accommodations. The new director is hands on and a former USTA coach. Everything you need onsite. You never have to leave this resort-wonderful spa-3 restaurants plus a coffee cafe."—B.R., Int., July 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "This is a beautiful vacation spot! It is a tennis destination and fun for the whole family. It has a new director of tennis that is working hard. She has great pros and a friendly staff to arrange clinics and/private lessons. The resort offers so many amenities to enjoy!"—C.K., Int., June 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "I've been playing at this club for the past 4 years. I am a local resident but I still feel like I'm on vacation when I arrive at the resort. The courts are in great condition and you can't beat the beauty of the location. The support staff are all terrific with an extra thumbs up to coaches Jim and Randy. You will love the tennis here."—C.M., Adv. Int., June 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "I have played tennis and stayed at the La Quinta Resort for over 15 years and have been a member of the club for five years. It is truly one of the most beautiful places to play tennis anywhere in the world. The facility is first class and the courts, both clay, and hardcourt are exceptional. Lynne Rolley heads up at a great staff of teaching professionals and staff does a terrific job of arranging matches, rarely do they not come through even on very short notice. First class in all facets."—S.C., Adv., June 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "Strong setting with strong tennis instruction is the name of the game at La Quinta! The resort has always maintained a special spot in my mind, having stayed there multiple times throughout my childhood. What really cemented my decision to come down from Northern California this time was purely driven by the tennis offerings. The possibility of getting on court instruction time with tennis director, Lynne Rolley, was an opportunity too good to pass up. She is a tremendous tennis mind with an acute ability to diagnose and correct a players strokes. With the courts nestled at the base of the Santa Rosa Mountains, La Quinta is a box that every tennis enthusiast should check!"—K.P., Adv., June 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Great tennis resort/ destination! Has improved so much since Lynne Rolley took over! Everything is better! The academy! Court conditions! They have an expert stringer! Just overall great tennis experience!"—C.B., Int., June 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "Beautiful views"—M.H., Adv., April 2017
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Planned a vacation to La Quinta and did not know about the tennis facilities. Was very pleasantly surprised by the program and game matching. They have a daily 1.5 hr clinic that is fun and well facilitated. I was surprised that Lynne Rolley actually taught these clinics. What a treat. She is a wonderful teacher, super energizing, and, makes anyone feel as if "yes! there IS a real tennis player inside." I think it is super that she spends her time with guests who may only be there for a few days . It gives the tennis program visibility and it makes people want to come back. Plus it shows investment on her part. I think they can offer more and people would come. Might be nice if they did a 3 hour morning program, like a half day camp. As for the resort, it's beautiful. It's well maintained and there are many different accommodations, so you can pick you price range. Of course, none of the accoms are inexpensive so if you are looking for a great value vacation, this isn't it. But if you are looking for a location that is good for multi-generation vacations this IS a good place. Lots of different things for people to do and then plenty of nice units that have living rooms. Plus beautiful public spaces. We loved it here and it was a great place to play tennis, while others were doing things that they liked (eg. hiking, golf, shopping, pool, etc etc)."—K.C., Int., January 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—L.R., Int., April 2016
  • 3-Ball Rating "Facilities are reasonably good. Several courts need to be resurfaced. Wasn't impressed with Tom Gullikson's instructions, but it seems like he left. Staff was attentive."—A.H., Adv. Int., April 2016
  • 3½-Ball Rating "La Quinta Resort is quite beautiful but it is certainly aging. I was there over the BNP Tennis Tournament and the villa's were quite old and had many issues about them. The grounds were nice but at a closer look were not up to par as in the past (many bare spots and dead or wilted plants) the tennis resort section has certainly changed from the past few years also. The tennis store has been cut in half and really carries nothing but a few items of clothing etc. The staff is still caring and good but there doesn't seem to be the same level of competence in giving lessons and setting up match play for better players. I loved coming to this resort and taking lessons and playing but i now believe that there are other and better options out in the desert that need to be explored and are most likely much better."—T.H., Adv., April 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "La Quinta Resort is one of the great tennis destinations on planet Earth. The tennis teaching staff is as good as it gets. The new director of tennis Lynne Rolley is a legendary leader in the tennis world, and an exceptional hands-on teacher of the game. Lynne is a delightful person who energizes any group she joins. The senior instructors including Jim Wolavka and Ian Mindell are equally superb teachers with great motivational skills. If you want to play and learn tennis for 3 days, 3 weeks or 3 months, there is no better place to go than La Quinta Resort."—J.G., Int., April 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Fantastic facilities, great instructors - fun for adults and kids alike. We loved our time here (have been 5+ times in the past 6 years). My kids love this place. Wish the they had a better selection of tennis clothing, but otherwise amazing!"—R.H., Low Int., April 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—K.G., Adv. Int., June 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating "We had booked private lessons over a 5 day period with our 3 kids and they all thoroughly enjoyed their experience working with Tom Gorman and the other tennis pros. Their style of teaching if very refreshing because they focus on basic principles that can transform one's game immediately. They make the lessons enjoyable and our kids can't wait to come back next year!!! The staff is friendly and very helpful."—N.R., Int., April 2015
  • 4-Ball Rating "I have played at resorts around the world and I have yet to find a team of professionals like the one that Tom Gorman has put together at La Quinta Resort & Club. The kid's clinics make me jealous that I am no longer a kid because everyone is having a blast - even the trainers. I wish that the club had more ball machines, though."—B.B., Adv. Int., April 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Great facilities, great instructors, great staff personnel, and an overall pleasure to participate. Will definitely return."—K.G., Adv. Int., April 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—S.G., Adv. Int., April 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—B.G., Adv., April 2015
  • 4-Ball Rating "I loved the La Quinta Resort! Pro's are excellent and service was tremendous!! I highly recommend it!"—K.M., Adv., April 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—A.B., Low Int., April 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating "It was an amazing resort and the staff in every way made our stay incredible. Tom Gorman the tennis pro was personable and should definitely be on everyone's list to do during their stay!"—S.F., Low Int., April 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating "Beautiful scenery and Tom Gorman is a master coach and he brought my game to a new level."—C.W., Int., April 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating "My favorite tennis/vacation resort!! Everything is amazing; from the grounds to the friendly service to the beautiful spa to the delicious restaurants...I could go on and on. The best tennis staff I have come across, hands down. Their expertise and experience are the best around. Tom Gorman runs a fabulous tennis program that has truly escalated since his arrival. I wish I could visit La Quinta more often - it is absolutely stunning!"—H.W., Adv., April 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Resort is exquisite and historical. Grounds are perfectly manicure with wonderful staff. Tennis center is well run and organized. Amazing experience every visit!!!"—P.H., Adv. Int., April 2015
  • 4-Ball Rating "Tom ran our drill for our 4.0 group visiting Indian Wells. The ratio was 4 to 1 and we received great instruction! Tom is high energy and fun! Hope to do it again in 2016! Thanks to Tom and his assistant. We did a cardio drill as well and that was super challenging and fun! 5 stars!"—K.S., Adv., April 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Beautiful facility with lots of grass surrounded by majestic mountains. Many courts, excellent coaching staff."—K.C., Adv., April 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—D.D., Int., March 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating "Highly recommend tennis at la quinta. Best instruction, staff, facilities and for gods sake...Tom Gorman. He's one of the legends of the game and to get his instruction is invaluable. My sister and brother in law take all the clinics and swear by them. To me, an hour or two with tom and I consider my stay well worth it. Did I mention the professionalusm of everyone involved: from landscaping, court reservations (THE BEST) to pro shop. There is strong leadership at la quinta tennis and it shows. Thank you"—J.H., Adv., March 2015
  • 2½-Ball Rating "The tennis office is not well run. I made two phone calls to get on clinic "list," showed up at 7:30 a.m. to be told I wasn't on the list. I did get in, but was the last person to do so. Lots of confusion. The instruction at the clinic was not especially good. And like everything else at the resort, probably overpriced. La Quinta is a beautiful place, and if you're staying there you can afford overpriced. But for the money you're paying you should get more. But part of being rich--yes, I am too--is you can toss money away as long as you're being pampered and not resent it too much."—S.C., Adv. Int., March 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating "This is an awesome tennis resort. Very high end. The pros are both fun and informative using humor and tennis knowledge to really drive in the key points of the clinics. Plus it is great that you get three different clinics in 1.5 hrs with three different pros."—A.P., Adv. Int., March 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating "La Quinta Resort is my absolute favorite tennis vacation spot! Best place to go to if you're a tennis lover (whether player or fan) as it's truly a tennis paradise! Tom Gorman and his tennis program are exceptional -- Tom's experience with top level world class pros and leading the Davis Cup to victory clearly shows! What's amazing to me is his ability to teach "club level" players with such enthusiasm and brilliant insights -- his love of the game is evident in everything he does! Truly a first class experience and something that stays with you long after you leave -- in fact, I bet you'll be counting the days until you can return just like I do when my trip ends!"—I.K., Adv. Int., March 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating "terrific instructors, personable , professional, amusing and very perceptive. My son (age 20) and I worked with Tom Gorman and he was a blast. He discovered thing in my sons game which truly advanced him. We also worked with Randy who was great and some years ago Ian and Jim who are still there but time ran out this time and can't wait. ps the staff is friendly and accommodating."—W.W., Adv. Int., February 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—R.D., Low Int., January 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating "Three years ago, we came to La Quinta resort for our Christmas Holiday. My 2 children and I were very involved in the tennis at the resort. My husband had never picked up a racket and did not on that vacation. Once home, he decided that if we were going to play, he needed to as well. I have been playing for over 30 years and was excited that La Quinta motivated my husband to play. He took lessons over the last 3 years and we just returned this week to another Holiday @ La Quinta. This time, my husband was right beside the rest of the family playing on the courts. The setting is incredibly beautiful as you play right against the backdrop of the Santa Rosa mountains. Tom Gorman and his staff are awesome and fun. What more could we ask for? Thank you La Quinta for our cherished memories."—S.H., Adv., December 2014
  • 3½-Ball Rating "The strength of this program can be stated in 2 words "Tom Gorman". We took several lessons with him during the week, and he had the ability to make the lessons useful and fun. he was able to adapt his lesson to the ability of the student and give us simple and useful tips to improve our game. The 3 of us who attended his lessons were all reasonable 4.0 players and we all received useful tips in improving our respective games. As well, Tom as personable as well as professional. The weakness of the Resort was its inability to find games for us outside of our group. Not once during the week were we called in respect of someone's request for a partner or a game."—A.W., Adv. Int., December 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—M.W., Int., September 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating "I had an amazing tennis experience this last week at LaQuinta resort, the tennis professionals really helped my game reach a new level. I highly rate this resort as a 10+!"—M.D.,  May 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating "Amazing!!! We loved Tom Gorman's tennis program."—S.N., Low Int., May 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating "The tennis at LaQuinta is fabulous! There are plenty of courts and you never know who you might see working out on them! The resort will match up instructors and students perfectly. The staff is a wonderful group of people, always welcoming and ready to help you with your tennis needs."—C.P., Adv., April 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—M.V., Pro, April 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating "Incredible Tennis Camp. Top Notch. Rivals any resort in the Country..Instruction Masterful- Adults and Kids all thrilled with our stay. Cant wait to go back. Tom Gorman and his team are superb"—V.P., Adv. Int., April 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating "It's great! First class courts. Great variety, condition. Friendly staff. Can't think of any weaknesses."—S.P., Int., April 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The best ever for tennis! Tom Gorman has created the perfect tennis environment!!!"—L.Z., Adv. Int., April 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating "We had a fabulous stay at LaQuinta. The rooms were comfortable. The resort amenities were great. We found the staff courteous and friendly. The restaurants were very good. The tennis complex met our expectations. The tennis staff were very professional; and Cindy, the tennis coordinator, did a fabulous job in setting up matches. We will recommend to all of our friends."—K.K., Low Int., April 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating "best tennis pros ever and beautiful and comfortable resort with terrific service"—A.D., Adv. Int., April 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating "I visited the resort this past weekend (April 25-27) and got to meet Tennis Director, Tom Gorman. The program was excellently run, and all of the tennis instructors I met were very skilled and nice. La Quinta's Tennis Program is a must visit and I look forward to returning."—J.L., Low Int., April 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—W.B., Pro, April 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—D.D., Int., April 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating "They have a fantastic program! Great coaches and the numerous courts are top notch. I love how motivated they were to set me up with matches. Can't wait to go back!"—H.Z., Int., April 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating "La Quinta is a desert jewel, who's program head Tom Gorman is not only a tennis legend but a truly exceptional instructor. His unique style not only helped me significantly improve my game but the opportunity to hear stories from his tour experience will be treasured. Tom is surrounded by a first class staff and other tennis professionals. A favorite which we'll no doubt return to for the world class resort environment, facilities and instruction."—D.B., Int., April 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—C.D., Adv. Int., April 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—E.G., Low Int., April 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "La Quinta Resort is just all-around beautiful! Specifically, their tennis club is a truly fun place to play! The staff are helpful and friendly with whatever you need. My husband and I both took a clinic and had matches arranged for us, all of which turned out great! The resort on the whole is a great spot for the family with really nice rooms, great pools and delicious restaurants!"—D.J., Int., April 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating "Everything was Excellent! No complaints!"—W.L., Int., April 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating "My in-laws love going to the resort. There are 10+ siblings/spouses that visit the resort because of Tom Gorman."—J.S., Beg., March 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating "Simply put, Tom Gorman is an asset every resort should have for repeat/referral business!"—C.S., Adv. Int., March 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating "Great get a way for tennis. Went with 3 tennis players and played in clinic every day prior to going to BNP Open. Tom Gorman's daily clinic the best. Structured to level of play. Book early, fills fast."—C.B., Adv. Int., March 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating "We travel to the La Quinta Resort & Club once a year. It is the most beautiful place! Flowers are everywhere and the food is incredible! It is clean and everyone is so nice. The tennis is amazing because the coaches are top notch. I highly recommend this tennis get away to everyone who loves the game!"—D.M., Adv., March 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating "Four of us tennis pals from Connecticut to Wisconsin return annually to La Quinta Resort/Waldorf Astoria for the tennis program directed under Tom Gorman while attending Quarterfinals through Finals of the BNP Parabis tournament. Tom and his entire staff are competent, fun, and professional. They are the best instructors we have experienced in our club-tennis and USTA/state league program travels thus far. Thank you La Quinta Tennis!!!"—A.P., Adv. Int., March 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "It is a beautiful setting with excellent tennis facility. From the outdoor courts you can see the mountains, desert, and swaying palm trees. They have great classes and pros."—E.H., Adv. Int., March 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating "Tennis heaven. From the grounds to the courts, the villas and the pros, there is no place like La Quinta that I've even been. Almost reluctant to give it such a great review because I don't want it to get too popular."—J.M., Adv. Int., March 2014
  • 3-Ball Rating "My wife and I recently stayed for three days at this resort (Thursday - Saturday)and were very surprised at the lack of tennis clinics offered. The only clinic available was a general one hour clinic for players of all levels on Saturday morning which was ok but nothing special. Given the lack of available tennis programs, we found it difficult to understand how this could be rated as a Number 2 tennis resort. If you're used to Saddlebrook type breadth of programs, I would not recommend this reosrt as a tennis destination although the courts were beautiful and the resort itself was very nice."—B.D., Int., March 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating "Great resort - our family favorite! Beautiful grounds, great tennis and spa, kids love the pool. Staff is very friendly, feels like our special home away from home."—M.M., Int., March 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating "Superb coaching and management under former Davis Cup Captain and top pro Tom Gorman. Courts are perfect, teaching pros are professional and exceptionally trained, pro shop ideal! Private lessons, clinics, match play, game matching and camps are organized and run flawlessly. The absolute best tennis resort I have encountered anywhere on the globe."—P.S., Adv., March 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Excellent - the pros were perfect, the club house, the courts and overall surroundings were ideal. Would highly recommend and intend on revisiting annually."—C.G., Adv. Int., March 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I've been playing at La Quinta Resort for over 10 years and it's a great facility. They have the best har tru I have ever played on, and a terrific staff of pros. Look up Ian Mindell if you want to arrange a clinic or just a one on one hit."—D.T., Adv., February 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The staff is AMAZING at finding and setting up matches. As a 5.0 player, I'm happy to hit with 4.5 players on up, and the resort ALWAYS pulls through. Within 2 hours of arriving, 3 people called me to hit. The facilities are top notch, the courts are in perfect shape, and my wife and I have met the friendliest people from around the world at the low-key "adult-only" pool -- a luxury when you travel to get "away" from your own kids. Great food and close by to dozens of fun things to do, restaurants of all types, and best of all the Indian Wells Tennis Center. I highly recommend this facility as a destination tennis resort!"—T.I., Pro, February 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating "Tom Gorman's tennis program is awesome! Tennis lessons from Tom also improved my golf game. Can you believe that!!!"—L.H., Adv. Int., February 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating "I Just had the best tennis lessons there in Feb 2014. The Director of Tennis, Tom Gorman, is amazing. I cannot recommend him enough. Tom made returning to tennis after a long 10 year hiatus fun and creative with good results! He has renewed my interest in the game and I look forward to playing again.
    Very friendly staff in the pro shop! No weaknesses to note."
    —J.R., Int., February 2014
  • 4-Ball Rating "Great facilities, excellent coaches, fun drills and clinics."—B.M., Int., January 2014
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Great weather, beautiful grounds, plenty of courts, good clinics, plenty of opportunities to play tennis and do other things, like golf, swim, bike, hike, or relax and read a book. The restaurants at the resort range from very good to excellent. They have a family and pet friendly policy so you will see plenty of families and people with their dogs. We enjoyed our stay at the resort very much. In the morning, we played tennis. In the afternoon, golf followed by a little down time or a jump in the hot tub and then it was time for dinner. If there was a negative, I would say our room was good but not great. It was a little tired and dated for the money but everything was there, it worked, and it was comfortable."—D.W., Adv. Int., January 2014
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—P.R., Adv. Int., January 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—N.H., Adv. Int., November 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "This is the most beautiful resort! Feels like home. We stayed for 10 days and it felt like OUR club! The staff and pros are friendly and helpful. Taking a lesson from Tom Gorman is only one of the highlights! It's hard to focus on the game when the beautiful Santa Rosa Mountains are so close and stunning! We kept saying they don't look real. One of our friends brought their 12 and 10 year old children. The 10 year old said she'd rather come to La Quinta than Disneyland!"—P.H., Int., November 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating "For 15 years our family has enjoyed La Quinta tennis during winter holiday. It has always been the best in terms of friendliness, access and professionalism. Now with 6 of the best maintained clay courts I have ever seen, it will be our destination location for the next 15 years as well."—R.S., Adv. Int., November 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Absolutely, hands-down, an amazing weekend!"—C.R., Adv. Int., November 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating "I have just returned to the UK from a fantastic two weeks holiday at La Quinta Resort and Club in Palm Springs, California. Brilliant location, perfect weather, fantastic tennis facilities, excellent coaching - I was lucky enough to be able to be coached by Tom Gorman and be "Gormanteed" to play better tennis. This must be the best tennis facility in the USA."—R.O., Int., October 2013
  • 4-Ball Rating "I had an amazing experience at this resort! I took tennis lessons with Jim! Loved it so much. It was my first time taking lessons and he was outstanding to say the least! Hw made me feel comfortable and confident and I learned so much! The staff at the pro shop were wonderful and accommodating..I can't wait to go back!!!!"—M.G., Beg., October 2013
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—C.K., Adv. Int., August 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—J.K., Low Int., June 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Great! Had an awesome lesson with Tom Gorman. He was generous with his time, gave great and easy to follow tips. Helped me immeasurably. Great sense of humor. Wonderful stories from a true piece of tennis history. The courts are great. The staff are great - very friendly and very accommodating. It was June so it was hot."—D.G., Adv., June 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating "I had an exceptional experience at La Quinta Resort & Club. I enjoyed everything from the tennis to the resort itself. I took both private lessons and a clinic while at the resort. The instruction is top-notch - I worked with both of the tennis pros Jim and Life who really gave me advice that has improved my tennis game. I returned to my home club with an improved kick-serve and more solid groundstrokes. Both Jim and Life are a joy to work with. I plan returning to La Quinta at least once a year!"—I.D., Adv., May 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Tom Gorman is a terrific head pro. Amiable, interested and available. Gives a great private lesson with incredible tips, even for the experienced tournament player. Plenty of courts and top notch game arranging. Great place for a tennis getaway."—D.M., Adv., April 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—J.S., Adv., April 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating "La Quinta Resort & Club has an amazing tennis staff. Anytime I'm in town, they always find a perfectly matched game for me, and they are consistently friendly, professional and competent. The tennis courts are maintained beautifully, and the setting can't be beat. I also enjoy being there during the BNP Paribas as several tennis pros practice on their courts. This is a tennis lover's paradise!!"—M.M., Adv., April 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating "Courteous staff, very accommodating, ask and it is yours........tennis director, Tom Gorman,and staff, Cindy, were incredible. very peaceful environment"—G.M., Int., April 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating "quality of resort, exception guest service, top notch instruction and courts. healing power of the desert mountains"—M.R., Adv. Int., April 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—J.D., Adv. Int., April 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—K.D., Int., April 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—C.W.,  April 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Great facilities and staff at this club. The grounds and courts are well-maintained, including clay courts. The front desk folks do a wonderful job of matching me for games and scheduling me for clinics and other instruction. I have had the pleasure and benefit of excellent lessons with a few of the different pros, and have already turned several of my hometown tennis buddies onto this club. The resort is quite busy during the tournament in nearby Indian Wells each year, but the atmosphere is electric and the service remains friendly and competent."—E.W., Adv. Int., April 2013
  • 3-Ball Rating ""—P.C.,  April 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—M.O., Int., April 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating "no weaknessed the best pros there bending over backwards to accomodate everyone they are so good with the kids plenty of tennis"—G.S., Adv., April 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating "Great courts and Great instructors."—R.W., Int., April 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating "Tom Gorman and his staff are incredibly hospitable and genuinely interested in the guests having an outstanding experience on the courts and the resort. The tennis courts and pro shop are in fantastic condition and provide for a great setting for clinics, as well as individual play. We highly recommend the resort and the tennis programs for families, couples and individuals!"—B.H., Adv., April 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating "Wow....what a great weekend to visit Indian Wells for the BNP Paribas Open tennis tournament. Saw many of the greatest tennis players in action and stayed at the La Quinta in Resort. Amazingly beautiful!!!! Flew in from the freezing north to find an oasis warmth and beautiful flowers in full bloom. So many flowers all over the grounds and fresh oranges, grapefruit and tangerines on every tree. They have probably 20 pools surround by 6 or so private villas each with its own hot tub. The friendly tennis staff (Tom, Juli and...)will find you a clinic or good partner hit with day or night. I have been all over the world and never felt so special!!! Great Job!!!"—D.L., Adv., April 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The Tennis coaching staff was outstanding. The instruction was exceptional and the personal attention was remarkable. Can't wait to return."—B.R., Adv. Int., April 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—A.B., Adv. Int., April 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—J.H., Beg., April 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—G.H., Adv. Int., April 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating "Weather is always guaranteed."—D.H., Int., April 2013
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—B.H., Adv., April 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Loved the drills and friendly instructors. My children took their first lesson and fell in love with the sport. Would highly recommend the resort and tennis program to my friends and have already shared in my wonderful experience."—N.C., Int., April 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I attended two adult tennis clinics. There were 12 adults on two courts with two pros for both clinics. The pros were fabulous. They were able to accommodate all levels of players. They kept us moving on the court. They were personable, knowledgeable and funny. Would highly recommend the facility."—L.D., Int., April 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—K.B., Int., March 2013
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—L.T., Pro, March 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—M.H., Adv. Int., March 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating "My wife, 18 year old daughter and I had a wonderful time in Indian Wells. The girls came primarily for watching the professional tennis. I really came to play tennis with the secondary purpose to be a spectator at BNP Paribas event. Our stay at the La Quinta Resort and Club was perfect. The professionals that Tom Gorman has on staff are experienced and fun to interact with in the clinics and in the private lessons that my daughter had. Cindi and Julie were truly "matchmakers" as they arranged excellent match play daily with interesting and capable players. Thanks to them, I was even able to "play way up" with two tennis pros on center court who were in town for the ProAm tournament. My tennis experience was outstanding.
    We also enjoyed the restaurants nightly with live music to entertain us. Of course, it was special to eat with Bob Bryan and his family near by in the Adobe Grill the night prior to the Bryan brothers win at BNP Paribas Open. Our first day at La Quinta was made special as we were able to watch Novak Djokovic warm up on their center court!
    We stayed in a town home on the resort site. The accommodations were great for our family. There were many small pools nearby and a nice main pool at the resort. It was easy getting around the facilities and resort as we rented two golf carts. We truly had a special tennis-vacation. We will return to the BNP Paribas Open (which we found to be more relaxed and intimate than our previous trips to the US Open) and of course I look forward to future stays at the La Quinta Resort."
    —D.P., Int., March 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Former US Davis Cup Captain Tom Gorman heads the tennis program at La Quinta and provides both topnotch instruction and plenty of tennis drill opportunities for beginners, intermediates and advanced players alike. The courts are always re-surfaced in advance of the Indian Wells tournament which is played nearby in early March. Many of the ATP/WTA competitors who play in the tournament also stay and practice on these courts which proves their quality. Gorman's teaching style is relaxed, simplified and easy to pick up. You learn verbally, by watching him execute the strokes and by doing it yourself. The instruction fees are reasonable. I would return again."—T.S., Adv., March 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We have been going there for six years during the Indian Wells Tournament time and stay for 10-14 days. We are 8-12 couples from Minnesota who do this annual trip. The facilities, staff and customer service are excellent and we have been well served by Tom Gorman, Cindy and the entire staff. We recommend the resort and tennis facilities to our friends."—M.B., Adv. Int., March 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating "The La Quinta Resort and Club has the best Tennis Camp for kids anywhere. I have 10 year identical twins which have been attending the junior clinics for several years now. Tom Gorman and his staff have these week long (or Holiday long) events extremely organized, fun, and more than that, a blast to watch. The Best"—T.H., Int., February 2013
  • 4-Ball Rating "The most idyllic tennis resort in the desert. Not to mention the truly exceptional Tom Gorman as the coach...........he is THE BEST! My husband and I really enjoyed playing tennis there and we hope to be back for more tennis in the future."—M.M., Int., February 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "strong tennis program easy to get games with members or other hotel guests"—K.H., Int., February 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "My wife and I just spent three days enjoying the wonderful tennis facilities and the exceptional staff in the tennis center. We had two sessions with Tom Gorman and thoroughly enjoyed them. Tom is an excellent instructor and brought his knowledge and experience of the game to each session. He really made us feel welcome and genuinely wanted to make sure we learned more about our game.
    We also attended a group session and had a great time. Ian and Jim provided excellent personal feedback and made the session very fun. The staff (especially Cindy and Juli) was also exceptional. From the first phone call with Cindy, until we departed, everyone was very helpful and ensured we had a great time.
    Thanks for a three great days of tennis!!!"
    —M.T., Int., February 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "WONDERFUL TENNIS DESTINATION! My family stayed at the La Quinta Resort and Spa for 10 days over the Christmas Holidays and we had an amazing time. The staff treated us like regulars. Both my husband and I are avid tennis players and my son, 9, also plays junior tennis. Each of us were matched with hotel guests and members from the club. In fact, I played everyday for 10 days - the tennis and company were fantastic. My son took both privates and group clinics with the pros - and each session was extremely worthwhile.
    Tom Gorman manages a wonderful staff of pros and tennis coordinators - Cyndi, Bev, Julie, Malcolm, Leif, Jim, Ian - we miss you guys already! I highly recommend La Quinta Resort and Spa for a tennis vacation/getaway."
    —S.S., Adv., January 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "La Quinta Resort in California is a terrific place to stay particularly if you enjoy tennis and golf. You can't beat the weather and scenery. The spa villas are very comfortable and spacious for families and are a great home away from home. The resort also has three great restaurants right on site, the Mexican restaurant being our favourite.
    We just returned back to the resort for the second year in a row because of the fabulous customer service and for the fact that we play tennis. You can't beat the staff and tennis professionals at the resort's tennis club. My son, who is a competing junior, received absolutely fabulous coaching by the professionals. Their love of the game is exciting and invigorating for tennis players young or old. The team of staff in the pro shop are also inviting and go out of their way to make you feel welcome and accommodated. We will be returning back to the resort again soon."
    —S.M., Adv. Int., January 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Most fab place we have been"—C.A., Int., January 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating "Superb in every way. No weaknesses."—D.A., Int., January 2013
  • 4-Ball Rating "Tom Gorman is the real deal, a true expert and professional. He coached our 12 y/o son with enthusiasm and care for three days at La Quinta. It was wonderful to see that Tom's success coaching so many tennis greats has not gone to his head. He's a down-to-earth guy who conveys his wisdom in a style that's both personable and fun. We can't wait to go back!"—C.S., Adv., January 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating "Tennis Program is Awesome."—D.S., Int., December 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Outstanding staff - they set me up with great games while i was there and exceptional coaching with Tom Gorman and team. Highly recommend it."—A.G., Adv., November 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—T.H., Adv., October 2012
  • 4-Ball Rating "Had an outstanding tennis experience with Tom Gorman, Director of Tennis. Tom was a world class player and also captained Davis Cup, including the "dream team" that included Aggasi, McEnro, Samprass and Courier. I was there for two days and had the opportunity to take two private lessons from Tom. He is an exceptional instructor and fine person and really helped me. I am 63 and a 4.0 player and Tom really helped me on my serves and overheads. It was a great experience and I will definitely do it again next time I'm in the area."—T.C., Adv. Int., July 2012
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Staff at the Tennis Center was outstanding. Don't recall their names but the 2 ladys at the Center during the Indian Well Paribas tournament, get our highest praise."—R.S., Int., May 2012
  • 3½-Ball Rating "We loved our stay at La Quinta Resort & Club. We spent 10 days at the resort and played tennis everyday. My husband is a beginner and my sons are also just learning the game. I play 4-5 days a week and we all felt at home. They were able to find me competitive games which made the time even more enjoyable. I also had the good fortune to take a Private Lesson from Tom Gorman. He is a great coach and learned some great pointers during my hour session. We are planning on returning later this year"—S.H., Adv. Int., May 2012
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—C.D.,  April 2012
  • 5-Ball Rating "Our experience at La Quinta for a weekend clinic with friends was superb. The pros were incredibly professional and knowledgeable while the weekend hard work fun and engaging for every participant at every level. Combined with the beautiful setting and La Quinta amenities, we think that every weekend should be a La Quinta tennis weekend!"—P.B.,  April 2012
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—S.N.,  April 2012
  • 5-Ball Rating "I think Tom Gorman's coaching is the best I've experienced anywhere. Tom has a fun group of coaches for both adults and children. He and his team definitely improved my technique and understanding of the game. I highly recommend La Quinta for all types of players young and old."—H.W.,  April 2012
  • 5-Ball Rating "There ARE no weakness and no down sides to the tennis experience at the La Quinta Resort! I'd tell my friends to RUN not walk and make reservations to rally!"—B.C., Int., April 2012
  • 5-Ball Rating "The resort was wonderful. The grounds were spectacular and the service was exceptional. I cannot wait to go back!!"—K.T., Int., April 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We are having a wonderful week, the facilities are superb, hard and clay courts surrounded by the San Jacinto mountains and the most beautiful grounds. It's almost hard to keep your eye on the ball. The staff is friendly and the pros are excellent. Jim worked with our group of four from Montreal emphasizing practical and personalized tips for each of our different styles. I will be leaving a better tennis player but also very relaxed (and well fed!)"—S.K., Adv. Int., April 2012
  • 5-Ball Rating "Juli was great at organizing the week for the four of us and Jim is a fabulous coach . Big improvements in several aspects of my game"—R.B., Adv. Int., April 2012
  • 5-Ball Rating "This is the BEST tennis experience I've ever had the good fortune to find. My parents loved it before me and I simply carry the tennis torch in a land and a Resort that I call paradise!"—L.R., Adv. Int., April 2012
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—J.P., Int., April 2012
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—C.N., Int., April 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—K.R., Int., April 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—M.N., Adv. Int., April 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The tennis pros and programs are one of the reasons we stay at La Quinta. The programs for children and the pros that teach them are outstanding."—B.G., Low Int., April 2012
  • 5-Ball Rating "Most amazing tennis pros I have ever worked with."—C.J., Int., April 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—M.S., Int., April 2012
  • 5-Ball Rating "The women I play tennis with at home were amazed by the improvement in my game. Working with Ian & Jim really helped my shot placement and doubles strategy."—A.W., Int., April 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "My 4 year old and 7 year old have never played tennis. All of the coaches were friendly, encouraging, and fun. They will always remember the fun game shtey played while learnign actual skills. They both look forward to lessons this summer in our hometown of Washington. La Quinta is Fabulous!"—C.F., Beg., April 2012
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—S.F., Low Int., April 2012
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—D.O., Low Int., April 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—C.S., Adv. Int., April 2012
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—K.B., Adv. Int., April 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—E.R., Adv. Int., April 2012
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—B.F., Int., April 2012
  • 5-Ball Rating "No place in the world better for the whole family to play tennis and learn a thing or two from the amazing pro staff! We return every Easter and the program gets better each year and the staff remains the same... Love consistency!"—P.B., Adv. Int., April 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Tennis program is great! The Tennis lessons I had during our 4 days at La Quinta Resort & Club were in a word, simply great. My wife found this resort while perusing the internet and when we learned it had a Tennis program, I became more ecstatic about our trip from dreary Seattle. Tom Gorman and his professional staff are first rate. They are friendly, professional, and attentive regardless of who you are actually taking instruction from.
    My expectation were exceeded by the professionalism of my instructor Malcolm, and the support staff at the Tennis program. First, Malcolm is a great instructor. He starts where you are and helps you develop skills from there. His feedback is specific and backed up by good explanations for why a stroke, maneuver, strategy etc... is desirable.
    I needed lessons in how to warm up ad cool down, and he spent time teaching me exercises designed to reduce risk of injury, and increase my pleasure of the game. In fact many exercises he showed me are similar to yoga exercises, so that was an interesting thing to learn. By the end of my 4th lesson my game had improved considerably. I was rallying with Malcolm with skill and endurance I had not had since I was in my early 20's (I started playing Tennis when I was 9). He spent time discussing the different racquets with me, and helped me select the best rental racquet ( I did not bring old a racquet with me).
    After the first lesson, I bought the same racquet at the Pro Shop (Ian, another instructor did a great job of stringing it and following up with me). Malcolm is very attentive to his students. He notices small details and factors them into his instruction. For instance, he noticed that for the first 2 days I wore a small elastic brace on my left forearm due to some residual pain from injury I am right handed), and on the 3rd day I switched it to my right am as a preventive measure, and he commented that I was wearing the brace on the other forearm. He asked about why I changed arms, and used this to tailor his instruction.
    Malcolm is obviously he loves the game, knows how to connect with people, knows how to teach technique and most importantly --- how to think about playing the game and how to stroke the ball most efficiently and effectively. This is an example of the kind of attentiveness that reflects a professional approach to quality instruction.
    I felt very welcome at the Tennis program. Tom Gorman (the program Director) is someone who is very open and available as well. When I asked about where I can find Tennis Facilities in Seattle, he knew where to recommend me. Jake Moe, the facilities manager keeps the courts and all facilities in top shape. The courts are beautiful to step on to -- beautiful landscaping at the facility, incredible fragrance of orange and grapefruit trees. The nets are in great shape, and the lines on the courts are very white and clear. The tennis balls have great bounce.
    I left the courts each day elated and excited. I plan to return for more instruction and to use the courts for play when I return to La Quinta."
    —B.P., Adv., March 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Tom Gorman runs a terrific program in a spectactular setting. A great staff of instructors. My children also had challenging and fun lessons."—J.R., Adv., February 2012
  • 4-Ball Rating "I learned more from Tom Gorman in 3 days than i did in the last 30 years. I was determined to update my strokes to reflect the new reality in tennis fundamentals. And Tom was instrumental in succesfully helping me."—N.R., Adv., February 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We took three clinics and a private lesson with Tom Gorman while at La Quinta this past week. All the staff were excellent, engaging, and top notch players and teachers. Tom was particularly inspiring and his pointers were really helpful. Leif and Ian were also great. The drills and tips from all staff were super!"—L.M., Adv. Int., January 2012
  • 4-Ball Rating "The morning tennis clinics during the last week in December I was there at 8am and 9am was exceptional. The tuition, care, attention to detail and kindness was stunningly good. This is my second holiday at this resort and I go there(from the United Kingdom) for the TENNIS. The tennis Professionals are ALL first class. They deserve to be very proud of themselves."—P.S., Adv. Int., January 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Every time I visit La Quinta I say, how can this visit top the last? With each new visit, I fall more in love with the tennis program there! Tom Gorman and his staff (Cindy & Juli in the Pro Shop and Coaches Ian, Leif, Jim & Malcom) do everthing in their power to make your visit the best! Great instruction, excellent game matching and fun drill classes are staples of La Quinta. I strongly recommend La Quinta to anyone looking for a SoCal tennis getaway!"—D.C., Int., January 2012
  • 4-Ball Rating "that the coaches are super nice and funny, and teach you a lot in a fun way!It is really fun to think that tom gormon (a great tennis player that was in the davis cup) is the director of tennis there. I dont have any weaknesses for the club. i love everything and they shouldnt change a single thing!"—D.C., Low Int., December 2011
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Strengths: Well known. Beautiful grounds and cared for courts. Weakness: Not many players in early November but was low season."—D.B., Adv., November 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Miracle-working tennis instructors. The instructor we had today, Jim, was sensational. As a couple, our skill levels ranged from non-existent (me) to super-rusty (her). One hour on the court with Jim whipped us into shape. Now we've got the form and confidence to get on the court without embarrassment. The facilities are stunning and the other members of the tennis club are fantastic -- from the director, Tom, to the front desk associate, Julie. You'll love it."—K.K., Beg., October 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "When we arrived Tom Gorman was merely a name we had heard of. By day 2 he was our instructor and by day 3 he was our friend. Tom and his staff made our stay at La Quinta our best tennis holiday ever, and we have stayed at many of the top 100 resorts. Being there during the BNP Paribas was an added bonus, as not only is the hotel close to the Indian Wells, but many of the players stayed and practised at the resort. Food and golf are also first rate."—S.S., Int., September 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "This resort has over 20 beautiful tennis courts. We have been there the past two years,staying there in 2011. We have been there during the Indian Wells Open in March. What really makes this place special is that many of the ATP and WTA players stay at this resort during the tournament. It is common to watch them practice everyday. We have seen and recevied autographs from Federer, Djokovic, Roddick, Sharapova, Wasniacki and even Sampras. If its nice enough for the pros its nice enough for you."—S.P., Adv. Int., August 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—R.J., Adv. Int., August 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Tom Gorman is the best tennis coach that you could ever hope to find. He is patient,funny and humble. His past accomplishments are a sure fire indication of his innate ability to find the fire in your game. I am a highly experienced tournament and USTA League Doubles player and have had hundreds of on court lessons from certified USPTA coaches and instructors."—R.B., Adv. Int., August 2011
  • 3½-Ball Rating "My girlfriend and I had a great lesson with Tom. Given my beginner status I was a little intimidated to be taking a lesson from a Davis Cup Champion/Coach but Tom was very easy going and tailored the lesson to our skill level. I look forward to taking another lesson with him when I return to La Quinta."—M.T., Beg., August 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "overall my experience was superb.The staff at the shop kind attentive and patient.The venue had great beauy with stunning gardens.I was delighted to see so many top players wawandering about during the BNP Paribas Open.we will be back.maureen and Peter Masters Isle of man G.B. U.K."—M.M., Int., May 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The La Quinta Tennis center in La Quinta, CA is really a special place. Tom Gorman runs a top-notch tennis center with an amazingly warm and friendly feel to it. Obviously having someone with Tom's experience at the pinnacle of professional tennis is unique to La Quinta, and something that cannot be replicated easily. My two young boys took daily lessons from Tom and his staff. They really enjoyed their time on the courts, and their tennis improved immensely during our stay. I also took some lessons and found the instructors extremely insightful and effective, as well as fun and pleasant.
    The facilities are immaculate and all the staff were wonderful. Everything was well-organized and ran on-time.
    Finally, Tracy Austin ran a family clinic for three days over the Easter weekend, and this was really fun. She is truly a fantastic person, and incredibly inspirational. Her instruction and insight were great, and she made real effort to personalize the sessions as much as possible. Tracy has been doing these clinics at La Quinta for 12 years, and clearly Tom Gorman is instrumental in arranging something like this."
    —J.P., Int., April 2011
  • 2-Ball Rating ""—L.S., Adv. Int., April 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—A.B., Adv. Int., April 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "best place to be when BNP Paribas is in town. Great staff, family ambience. The atp pro's love hanging out there when they're in town. This resort is so conveniently located and those mature citrus trees definitely add a touch of delight. I could go on and on about this place ... best thing to do is to check it out for yourself and you will see why this will become one of your favorite return vacation spots year after year ..."—E.B., Adv. Int., April 2011
  • 2½-Ball Rating "Perhaps I hit a bad week at La Quinta: We were there during the Indian Wells tournament -- the busiest week of the year. The tennis office staff was brusque and notably overworked. While the clinics were well managed on court, there were six people assigned to each court, which meant some standing around. And getting a clinic was nearly impossible, as there were long waiting lists that week for each of the two morning clinic times.
    Game matching was erratic, and I was underwhelmed with the two tennis lessons I had. The pro was friendly, but gave me almost no feedback on my strokes or game. (Pulling words out of him was so much work, I finally gave up.)
    I have been to several tennis resorts and camps, and have gained an enormous amount from each of these experiences. I gained very little at La Quinta. The tennis instruction there was a disappointment."
    —D.P., Adv. Int., March 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Outstanding instruction, superb effort by pro staff to arrange balanced matches, efficient, courteous and good follow-up handling of court booking. More awareness of night play opportunities"—W.L., Adv. Int., March 2011
  • 5-Ball Rating "Tom Gorman's tennis program is brilliant. I did 7 privates and 4 clinics in 11 days at the resort and learned so much. Improved my game quite a bit in a short time! I wish I would have had time to fit in some fun matches with other guests. My friends that used that service were so happy with the matches set up for them. Will go back next spring, can't wait! Resort is spectacular!"—C.B., Int., March 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Tom Gorman and his tennis staff are the best, we will keep returning to La Quinta Resort to play tennis with Gorman and team. The leased residences are very nice, but some of them need to be refreshed."—H.G., Int., March 2011
  • 3½-Ball Rating "excellent pros and good drills"—R.B., Int., March 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Both of us (one experienced tennis player; one a beginner) found LaQuinta Resort to offer the perfect tennis vacation - morning clinics with talented and extremely helpful (and fun) pros, and a very welcoming staff at the tennis center. We have been twice this year. Of course, best is being there during the PGA tournament. Players stay at LaQuinta and practice daily on the courts. Very exciting."—S.G., Beg., March 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating " "—J.C., Int., March 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "From the beautiful desert scenery and climate to the superb level of instruction and service, La Quinta Resort and Tennis club is the best in the industry. La Quinta's friendly, knowledgeable staff and pros operate at a level superior to all others. My 3 gals pals and I discovered we had learned more in one week than years of tennis instruction. Under the direction of Tom Gorman, coaches Wolavka, Mindell, Leif and Flesch,all have an eye for deciphering the details and tiny adjustments required for individual improvement. We all left as better players, equipped with new skills, game & practice plans, enthusiasm and a lifetime full of cherished memories! Thank you La Quinta  "—B.H., Int., March 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating " "—S.C., Adv. Int., March 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Best tennis desk in the country. Superb on setting up games and follow-thru. Terrific facility in every respect.  "—J.G., Adv. Int., March 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "Fabulous tennis vacation with excellent clinics by competent and friendly staff who were pros at working with the mix of beginners and more advanced attendees while providing useful tips aimed at each individuals' level of readiness. Attentive and helpful desk staff. Great full service resort (pools, hot tubs, restaurants etc)  "—B.H., Beg., March 2011
  • 5-Ball Rating "I highly recommend LaQuinta for a tennis getaway. The teaching staff is outstanding. I hadn't visited in over a year and the staff remembered me and my game. A simple gesture, but one with great significance to me.
    The Pro Shop staff went out of their way to schedule clinics and matches for me, as we had rain during our visit. I thought my long tennis weekend was going to become a "wash-out", but to my surprise, I played more than I had intended due to their diligence.
    I could go on and on, but I'll keep it simple...visit LaQuinta soon and often, you will not be disappointed!  "
    —D.C., Adv. Int., February 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Three days of FANTASTIC tennis at La Quinta! Sibling reunion - 10 adults - skill levels from beginner to USTA champs. Tom Gorman had tips, tricks and drills to meet all of our needs! Everyone walked away with new techniques to practice at home. The resort is one of the most beautiful places I've visited."—H.S., Low Int., February 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Tom Gorman was incredible. I organized a family reunion and with 8 of us varied in ages and levels he made 3 days of clinics really fun and valuable to all of us. Our rooms were gorgeous and we are planning another family reunion again at La Quinta next year!  "—M.O., Adv. Int., February 2011
  • 5-Ball Rating "Tom Gorman, the Director of Tennis has created a 5 Diamond Tennis experience at the amazing La Quinta Resort in Palm Desert. The amazing staff Led by Cindy and Julie was attentive beyond belief and they were able to schedule me two competitive matches a day, and fit me in to every clinic that I requested on short notice. Further moe the teaching pros were not clock watchers, they took an ongoing interest in my game far after the leason was over, even taking time to watch my matches later in the week and pass on sound advice without changing my entire game.
    If you love tennis this is a must add to your tennis vacation! Thanks Tom and Staff, see you soon!  "
    —A.V., Adv. Int., February 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "On a recent stay at La Quinta Resort I was mosted impressed with Tom Gorman, Director of Tennis, his program and the facility. I was part of group staying at the resort, and all of us plan to return for another great tennis experience and the wonderful amenities at this resort. We will return and tell our friends to go visit this resort.  "—J.B., Adv. Int., February 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Tom Gorman and La Quinta resort made my tennis team's experience fabulous. We have had clinics with Tom for 3 years and highly recommend him to other tennis teams.  "—L.F., Int., February 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "strong no weaknesses  "—M.C., Int., February 2011
  • 5-Ball Rating "I enjoyed the wonderful experience of Tom Gorman's teaching at La Quinta Resort recently. I was most impressed with the resort and with him and his facility. My entire group of tennis players were really excited with the resort and time spent in La Quinta. We will tell all our friends and will return often. Five Stars to Tom and his great program at one of the most beautiful resorts ever!  "—M.D., Adv. Int., February 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "La Quinta is the finest tennis resort my wife and I have ever experienced. The atmosphere was very elegant and casual at the same time. The head pro Tom Gorman made the tennis fun and a great learning experience. We are devinitely recommending this resort to our friends and will return in the near future.  "—J.C., Adv. Int., January 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Tom Gorman, the Director of Tennis, is a superb instructor and runs a first-class facility with a highly professional staff. I'm a tournament-level senior player and Tom provided tremendous insights while putting me completely at ease. A couple of lessons with Tom delivers more usable information than many pros can provide in a lifetime.  "—L.C., Adv., January 2011
  • 5-Ball Rating " "—A.G., Adv., January 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The most beautiful setting for tennis....great friendly staff for both kids and adults...picturesque and they have maintained the grounds beautifully.  "—P.P., Adv. Int., January 2011
  • 5-Ball Rating "Coach Tom Gorman's tennis program is exceptional. His staff includes wonderful coaches.Ian, Lief and Jim are terrific instructors for juniors and adults. These coaches take the time to get to know their students as people and as tennis players. The advice offered has always improved our games as well as our sons. We have been fortunate to take many tennis vacations and this program tops the list. The courts are also maintained beautifully!"—E.M., Adv. Int., January 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "The setting is spectacularly beautiful, the facilities are awesome and the instruction is the best we've ever experienced.We'd recommend La Quinta without reservation.  "—J.D., Int., January 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "It would be difficult to imagine a more perfect tennis teaching experience than that at La Quinta! Our family enjoys cardio and drill clinics at resorts across the country. The organization, instruction and friendliness of the La Quinta staff tops them all. I'd have to search hard for a weakness but perhaps the beginning drills were too advanced, but they make them work well, and provide encouragement and improvement for all levels."—R.J., Int., December 2010
  • 5-Ball Rating "This is an AMAZING spot to vacation. The facility is beautiful, the tennis pro's are great! Tom Gorman fixed my serve in 20 min. The food and wait staff treated us like pro VIP's and the weather was perfect. It was the first week of December and a great break from the upcoming holiday season. I played tennis on every surface as well as a few matches on the beautiful center court. Can't wait to go again.  "—S.H., Adv. Int., December 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating " "—J.K., Adv. Int., December 2010
  • 5-Ball Rating "The Pro Staff is 5 star. Tom Gorman, Director of Tennis, is a substantial part of US Tennis History. The grounds of the resort are OZ like with dinning at the resort and the City of La Quinta there are more choices than days in most vacation. If golf is also on your agenda The Resort and PGA West have the challenge for you. This is the "Total package" for fun in the sun year round, just bring sunscreen and a Panama Hat for summer months. Play early and relax by or in the pool in the afternoon. This is The Place to Be.  "—J.M., Adv. Int., December 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating " "—I.R., Adv. Int., December 2010
  • 5-Ball Rating "First Class facilities and staff! Gorgeous property - 5 Star in every way. This is one of the top resorts in the world."—D.F., Adv. Int., December 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "La Quinta offers the best of everything - first class tennis facilities and instruction, five star accommodations & dining, beautiful grounds, attentive staff - all in an idyllic, casual and unpretentious setting. Tom Gorman and his staff are incredibly patient and able to tailor instruction to your needs. With 23 courts and over 53 hot spas, La Quinta is a tennis lovers dream!  "—M.B., Low Int., December 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating " La Quinta Resort was a fantastic destination for a tennis vacation. The setting is so beautiful, the weather is great and the coaching staff are invaluable."—J.P., Adv. Int., December 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "One of the best trips I have ever taken. Went on a group trip with members of my tennis club. Beautiful grounds, exceptional food and top notch facilities. Loved the private feel of accomodations and the many pools and hot tubs for all the casitas. Playing on center court was a highlight, as well as playing barefoot on the grass at PGA West facilities. Tom Gorman and staff went out of their way to provide us with a memorable experience. Participated in clinics, round robins and match play and played on grass, hard courts and clay.  "—K.K., Adv. Int., December 2010
  • 5-Ball Rating "UNBELIEVABLE! Superb accommodations, hospitality and tennis opportunities. we were treated like royalty and had non stop fun and great tennis. Can't wait to go back.  "—S.M., Int., December 2010
  • 5-Ball Rating "This was the most AMAZING 4 days. The resort is beautiful, the courts are amazing and the staff is top notch. We also had the extreme pleasure of spending time with Tom Gorman, as a tennis fan, this was a once in a lifetime experience- except I am already hoping for a repeat trip! I do not have a single negative thing to say!
    We had wonderful clinics and then were able to have match play with local tennis members. We played hard courts, clay and grass all in the same day! The rooms were amazing and the 42 pools and spas spread out throughout the resort were wonderful. The food was also fabulous. I would tell anyone who asks-this is a MUST for any tennis fan (although, with the golf and other activities, you don't even need to play tennis to love La Quinta)."
    —J.W., Adv. Int., December 2010

Rate La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort


Ratings

(339 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
5-Ball Rating Tennis Staff
5-Ball Rating Instruction
4½-Ball Rating
Game Matching
4-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4½-Ball Rating
Cuisine
4-Ball Rating Lodging
4-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
4-Ball Rating
Dollar Value
4½-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4½-Ball Rating Setting
4½-Ball Rating
Kids' Programs
4½-Ball Rating Romance
4½-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4½-Ball Rating

Ratings

(339 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
5-Ball Rating Instruction
4½-Ball Rating Cuisine
4-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4½-Ball Rating Setting
4½-Ball Rating Romance
4½-Ball Rating Kids' Programs
4½-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
5-Ball Rating Game Matching
4-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4½-Ball Rating Lodging
4-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
4-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4½-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4½-Ball Rating

Rates and Reservations

Lodging ranges from the vintage casitas--a tiny one-bedroom cottage--to villas and several configurations of suites, from junior or what is really a small home. Most of the lodging clusters around a series of courtyards all with small swimming pools and hot tubs. Check with the resort's web site for rates on the dates you want to visit.

Visit the website for current rates

La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
49-499 Eisenhower Dr.
La Quinta, CA 92253