Search
Email Us
Tennis Resorts Online
The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island
Courtesy Kiawah Island Golf Resort

Kiawah Island Golf Resort

Kiawah Island, South Carolina



Boars Head 728x90

Boars Head 250x250



Your Call

Here's what others have had to say about Kiawah Island Golf Resort.

  • 4½-Ball Rating "Roy Barth was fantastic on the court with us. Great to meet him and listen to his career and incites. Very impressive to have Roy on the court.d The other pros were excellent. Would go back asap."—C.N., Adv., September 2022
  • 2½-Ball Rating "They were disorganized. No coordination between reservation staff for hotel and the tennis program. They said I could drop in to am clinics but they turned out to be full after I paid a lot for accommodations and drove out of the way to get there."—V.W., Adv. Int., August 2022
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Just returned from our annual trip to Kiawah. Once again a superb tennis/beach vacation. David Boyd, head pro, is the benchmark upon which I measure all tennis instructors. The beach is magnificent and the restaurants varied and excellent. Can’t wait until next year’s visit!"—Z.A., Adv. Int., July 2022
  • 5-Ball Rating "Kiawah Golf Resort is a world leader in providing a complete vacation experience for all age groups. It’s tennis program was founded by legendary tennis player Roy Barth and continues under Roy’s very capable son, Jonathan and his team. If you are looking for a 5 star experience in the USA, make this your next destination."—T.W., Int., May 2022
  • 5-Ball Rating "The programs at Kiawah are top notch! The core fundamentals that Roy has implemented as the foundation of the programs will help any tennis player improve. Along with the great staff and setting, it’s a fantastic health and wellness tennis experience!"—T.S., Adv., May 2022
  • 5-Ball Rating "Had a dream vacation and am going back this summer!!!!!!"—K.Z., Adv., May 2022
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—S.G., Adv., May 2022
  • 5-Ball Rating "If you want to go to the perfect place to find an absolutely gorgeous setting combined with the perfect tennis environment then this is it! My family visited over spring break and the experience could not have been better! Our kids were able to join the Barth Hawtin tennis academy while my wife and I did the clinics. Teresa in the shop was also outstanding matching us with new and different players to the point we even tried pickleball and had a blast! The island is beautiful with lots of good options for dining and the beach is wide and open. Superb place and easy understood why they are number one in this ranking. Jonathan was great with us along with the rest of the pros!"—E.L., Adv. Int., May 2022
  • 5-Ball Rating "I have been vacationing on Kiawah Island for 25 years, and playing tennis avidly for more than 50. While I have visited many other tennis resorts in the U.S., none offer the amenities, quality, and overall experience of Kiawah Island Tennis. And even though it seems impossible that Kiawah’s tennis program could improve, it somehow manages to get better each year. The tennis program on Kiawah Island is amazing and unique. The Tennis Center's soft and hard courts are perfectly maintained and located conveniently at the center of the island, a short stroll from Kiawah's five-star Sanctuary Hotel. They have recently added ten clay courts, all of which have state-of-the art LED lighting that provides both a brilliant daytime lighting experience (needed for these sixty-year-old eyes!) and such precise focusing that they do not intrude upon nearby Tennis Club Villas, or turtles nesting on the beaches nearby. But the true brilliance of Kiawah tennis is in its teaching program. Led by Director of Tennis Jonathan Barth and Head Tennis Professional David Boyd, Kiawah's program is perfectly tailored for the transient tennis population visiting vacation resorts. Kiawah Tennis has identified the five or six characteristics shared by every excellent tennis player, regardless of his or her individual playing style, and created a teaching program that focuses on improving those common characteristics. The final component is a methodical approach through which the entire teaching staff unerringly teaches these same characteristics through a consistent methodology. While each tennis professional has his or her own personality, tennis players are guaranteed to receive consistent training, regardless of whether they are paired with David (my go-to tennis guru), Jonathan, Langdon Brockington, Nicolas Castro, or others on Kiawah’s professional teaching staff. The fact that David and Jonathan have each taught at Kiawah for more than 20 years and Jonathan, for 16 says volumes about the level of dedication and commitment each Kiawah Island tennis professional brings onto the court for every lesson. The program, created by Kiawah tennis’ founder, Roy Barth (Jonathan’s father), is pure genius, as players of every level and style can achieve tangible improvement through a single lesson, or series of lessons. The friendly atmosphere around the courts provides the relaxation we are all looking for during a resort vacation. The tennis staff also maintains a list of local residents and other vacationers who are interested in playing and will match you with compatible tennis partners (singles or doubles) upon request."—J.B., Adv. Int., May 2022
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—C.M., Int., May 2022
  • 5-Ball Rating "Incredible barrier island located just outside the bustling city of Charleston with great food and shopping. Kiawah is the perfect stop for a retreat including great tennis, dining, golf, and spa."—A.W., Pro, May 2022
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—A.E., Adv., May 2022
  • 5-Ball Rating "Beautiful setting. The tennis clinics, drills, round robins, and instructors are the best anywhere. There is also something for everyone in the family, including those that don't play tennis or golf --beautiful beaches, and river, kayaking and long bike paths that everyone in the family can enjoy."—C.M., Adv. Int., May 2022
  • 5-Ball Rating "Friend’s daughter age 9 had multiple tennis lessons with Dave at the Roy Barth Tennis Center and he was so great with her. Taught her with such energy and enthusiasm that he really got her hooked on tennis. She got there barely knowing how to hold the racquet and now she is playing matches with her school team. Jonathan Barth and his staff run a well oiled operation and one that truly met and exceeded our expectations. Great job tennis staff, can’t wait to get back on the courts!"—G.C., Low Int., May 2022
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—M.L.,  May 2022
  • 5-Ball Rating "Kiawah Island is a wonderful resort. My tennis, my passion, was improved with the support of the Roy Barth tennis professionals. We loved the entire SC environment...the island and Charleston."—H.G., Adv. Int., May 2022
  • 5-Ball Rating "The Kiawah Island Golf Resort is amazing! The entire resort environment is exceptional on many levels. The playing, lodging, eating, relaxing and rejuvenating experiences are all 10’s! And, not too far from beautiful Charleston! We look forward to our next visit."—J.G., Low Int., May 2022
  • 5-Ball Rating "We absolutely love Kiawah Island Resort! We have been vacationing there for 7 years and it just still amazes us how much we love it and always want to return! The resort is top notch in everything they do! It is a fabulous place for families or couples. The tennis is top notch for juniors, beginners and top players. The coaches are excellent for all levels. The setting of the tennis courts is beautiful!"—K.R., Adv., April 2022
  • 5-Ball Rating "I have been attending the Roy Barth Tennis Center at Kiawah Island Resort several times each year since 1995 and never get tired of returning there. Having played at several locations in the U. S. southeast, I can truly find no better tennis venue than the Barth Center. The setting is idyllic and relaxed with the instruction second to none. All of the teaching pros there are wonderful, but David, Jonathan and Langdon are, of course, very easy to get to know but are also especially talented and inspirational. I plan to continue visiting there for at least another 30 years!"—D.N., Int., April 2022
  • 5-Ball Rating "An amazing resort both in setting and staff. We've been coming to Kiawah for years and every time we return we feel so lucky to have found this location. Jonathan leads some great Junior programs as well as adult instruction. One of our favorite places to be!"—M.K., Adv. Int., April 2022
  • 5-Ball Rating "The Roy Barth tennis center is top notch and Roy is there to offer tips and instruction. Jonathan Barth runs a high energy program with great pros and lots of fun along the way. Learned so much and enjoyed every day on the court. Kiawah Island Resort offers beautiful golf courses and a world class beach as well as first class restaurants and shopping that can’t be beat. Looking forward to our next trip this Fall!"—K.K., Low Int., April 2022
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—C.W., Adv., April 2022
  • 5-Ball Rating "The Tennis Camp is outstanding. Under the direction of Jonthan Barth, we were able to get outstanding lessons, court times and social matches. The combination of clay and hard courts is fun and the atmosphere of Kiawah Island is one-0f-kind. Even tried pickle ball and had a great time. Accommodations were perfect and the service and food was the best. Would highly recommend the resort to anyone wanting an exciting and enjoyable tennis experience."—D.P., Adv., April 2022
  • 5-Ball Rating "Kiawah never disappoints. It is a wonderful getaway resort for families, couples, and tennis teams. I have been there for all three. Top notch accommodations, food, service, and variety of amenities. I especially love the Roy Barth Tennis Center: beautiful courts, talented pros, and a well-run pro shop."—C.Z., Adv., April 2022
  • 5-Ball Rating "We love Kiawah and have especially enjoyed the tennis instruction and atmosphere at the tennis center. Can't wait to go back!"—J.S., Int., April 2022
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—P.V., Int., April 2022
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—B.B., Int., April 2022
  • 5-Ball Rating "Kiawah has an amazing tennis program led by outstanding pros. The facilities are impeccable and the experience is truly phenomenal. I have been to many resorts for tennis and golf and Kiawah outranks them all. Fabulous for families as well as couples and single travelers. I recommend if you are a tennis player or golfer to visit Kiawah at your earliest opportunity!"—L.K., Adv. Int., April 2022
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—H.H., Beg., April 2022
  • 5-Ball Rating "My favorite vacation spot of the year is Kiawah Island. The tennis at the Roy Barth Tennis Center is the best instruction I have ever had. All pros are knowledgeable, the setting is beautiful and the courts are immaculate. There are plenty of options for adults and kids. Also, the island has fun family activities and amazing adventures and top notch dining options."—J.W., Adv. Int., April 2022
  • 5-Ball Rating "Kiawah Island Golf Resort is my favorite place to vacation. From the amazing tennis instruction and clinics, to the amazing staff, to the bike riding, golf, and beach, it is an incredible place. Romantic and family friendly all at the same time. Jonathan Barth and Roy Barth run an amazing tennis operation there."—J.C., Int., April 2022
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—C.P., Adv., April 2022
  • 5-Ball Rating "Tennis facility and instruction are top notch!"—M.C., Adv. Int., April 2022
  • 5-Ball Rating "Had a dream vacation at Kiawah. There was everything for our family of 11. Tennis, Pickleball, Beach Pools, Camps Clinics and Golf."—S.Z., Adv., April 2022
  • 5-Ball Rating "Kiawah island is our favorite get away for tennis and relaxation. Roy Barth’s Tennis is outstanding; my game is elevated when I leave.."—K.P., Adv. Int., April 2022
  • 5-Ball Rating "Kiawah Island is a wonderful and professional tennis resort. The tennis pros, David Boyd, Jonathan Barth, Langdon Brockington and Trevor tailor lessons and drills for every level of player. We look forward to our vacation this Fall and also trying out pickle ball."—R.D., Int., April 2022
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—J.M., Adv. Int., April 2022
  • 5-Ball Rating "Very friendly and accommodating staff who bend over backwards to help organise times to suit you, fun pros who excell is giving you what you want whether it be a fun large family group lesson with games to 1:1 serious coaching. The weather is great any time of the year, the Island is very beautiful with a scenic natural coastline and is great for golf, cycling, walking, shopping and eating. David Boyd is amazing as a coach and super organised!"—J.C., Adv. Int., April 2022
  • 5-Ball Rating "Kiawah is my favorite tennis vacation destination. Wonderful courts and setting. David Boyd is my favorite pro in all the world."—I.W., Adv., April 2022
  • 5-Ball Rating "It truly is a fabulous place to vacation. It is not just the tennis or other activities that make it special, but the location of the property and how we were treated and the lengths to which the entire staff took to make our vacation great, whether it was a Kiawah or elsewhere! We shall return!"—P.K., Beg., March 2022
  • 5-Ball Rating "I was a relative beginner in tennis just a few years ago, but have been coming to the Roy Barth Tennis Center for the last 5 years. The pros, including Roy Barth himself, are very engaged in the lessons, they offer the same tips, and my game has improved a lot. I recommend this tennis resort highly!"—F.B., Low Int., March 2022
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—J.B., Pro, March 2022
  • 5-Ball Rating "Love the Roy Barth Tennis Center. Have been going there since I can remember with my family to play tennis, get private lessons, participate in clinics, and buy some gear from their pro shop. The instructors are phenomenal and have really helped improve my game. 11/10 would recommend."—J.B., Int., August 2021
  • 5-Ball Rating "Tennis facility and pros are superb. Really help me with my game."—M.B., Int., August 2021
  • 5-Ball Rating "A superb, top-flight operation. I had clinics with Langdon, Mike, Trevor, and head pro David Boyd. Each and every one was a pleasure to work with. I try to have a keen eye for organizations that attract great personnel. In that connection, I was super impressed that even after a long day on the court, every one of these pros was smiling, still offering great tips, still helping me get better. They specialize in offering actionable, simple steps even an amateur like me can use to improve my game. Best of all (and hardest to accomplish, I'm guessing) is that the advice is consistent across pros. These folks will help you improve your game, lengthen your tennis life (because one core emphasis is on not clenching wrist, arm, or shoulder muscles), and have fun while you're at it. I'm coming back next year!"—D.W., Adv. Int., March 2021
  • 5-Ball Rating "Our family has experienced the Kiawah Island magic for many years. We have vacationed there at least 15 times in the past 25 years. Each vacation provides all we are looking for-tennis, dining, beach, pool, biking and relaxing. One primary reason for going is the exceptional Tennis Program at East Beach Tennis Center. David Boyd is the head professional at East Beach. He arranges early morning clinics for our family which allows us an opportunity to play without crowds. He is a terrific instructor and makes tennis fun. Our entire family enjoys his clinics. David is a major reason we love vacationing at Kiawah. We hope to return soon."—G.C., Int., February 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating "The Roy Barth Tennis Facility on Kiawah Island is exceptionally beautiful, now more so than ever with the new courts all at the East Beach facility. The pros are great at helping to enhance your game and are very personable and have become great friends over the years. I've worked extensively with David Boyd who always makes it fun for adults and watching him with the children is a great experience. Langdon Brockinton, Jonathon Barth and Santiago Falla are also terrific in a private lessons and team/group clinics. Great technicians and teachers - never trying to change your game but helpful in making those tweaks that make a big difference!"—D.H., Adv. Int., February 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating "The island itself is amazing. Beach, golf, food, and of course the high quality tennis makes it an overall phenomenal experience. Nothing better than competition tennis in the morning and a relaxing day at the beach the rest of the day. Head pro David Boyd is awesome with kids (my daughter was 4 when she first took a clinic with him) and she still loves playing with him (she is 15!). We especially love staying in the villas with our family which is walking distance to the tennis courts. The Monday night pro doubles exhibition is always fun with cool raffle prizes."—J.M., Adv. Int., February 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating "Kiawah is our happy place. Spectacular beach, beautiful setting throughout with a relaxed feel. Many dining options. We continue to go back, though, because of the phenomenal tennis program. Great courts and fantastic instruction. David Boyd, in particular, is incredibly skilled in isolating the few, important things to focus on to improve your game."—D.P., Adv. Int., February 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating "I've loved going to Kiawah for the past 5 or so years. As a competitive tennis player, I have my fill of tennis training at the Roy Barth Tennis Academy in addition to taking private lessons with David Boyd. The instruction and competition are excellent ranging from technical tips to match strategy. Additionally, having pros like Santiago and Ryan duke it out on Monday's during pro exhibition is a blast. The amenities are also amazing including, but not limited to, a stellar beach and great swimming pools. The food is also great. I would personally recommend checking out La Tella, the local brick oven pizzeria. I love everything about Kiawah, and in particular its tennis program, so I would definitely recommend visiting."—B.P., Adv., February 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating "David Boyd is an incredibly skilled tennis pro. He gave both adults in our family and our teenagers amazing instruction and feedback to improve their game. Fun to participate as well. We return year after year as this is our family's favorite vacation spot and absolutely love the tennis component. Fabulous tennis resort!!"—E.Z., Int., February 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating "Excellent facilities. Excellent staff. Pros are experienced and have been there a long time. Roy Barth is still around and spends time at the clinics giving pointers. The clinics are instructional and helpful. Consistent teaching approach is shared by all of the pros. One of the best tennis experiences; I have been at Saddlebrook, Vandermeer, Sugarbush, Stowe and IMG."—P.K., Adv., May 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Jonathan Barth and his staff are the best!!! They have great clinics and even better insights and tips. And you can't beat the setting - beach, biking, golf, walking trails. And tennis!"—B.P., Adv. Int., May 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—A.F., Adv., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Kiawah Island Tennis Resort is unbelievable. From the breathtaking views of the ocean to the friendly staff members and top notch facilities, there really isn’t anything like it. If you are looking for a great vacation or tennis getaway weekend, Kiawah is the place to go."—J.S., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "This resort was absolutely incredible! From the breathtaking views to the incredible staff, I definitely recommend this to any vacationeer or tennis enthusiast!"—K.P., Adv., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "This is an amazing place to go! The beach is not crowded at all and the water is really nice. It’s about a two minute walk to the beach and it’s the best ever."—J.A., Adv., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Best resort I’ve ever been to!! Amazing facilities and the faculty is always so kind and welcoming."—C.S., Adv., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "I just got home from another great tennis trip! Thank you Santiago and Jonathan. I will be back!"—J.D., Adv., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Kiawah is great! We have really enjoyed our time on Kiawah playing tennis. We were able to take advantage of great instruction from a couple of pros. The junior program was good and they worked the kids hard. We are excited about the full time academy starting now. I can’t wait to get back to Kiawah this August! The additional 10 clay courts really has made the facility fantastic!"—J.H., Adv., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "We have been sending our kids to the Roy Barth Tennis camps in Kiawah for the last 8 years. The staff is amazing and always remember seeing our kids year to year. The instructors are teaching pros! This is so important nowadays, as most places simple feed balls to the kids without instructions. Our kids thoroughly enjoy their time at the Roy Barth Tennis Center."—C.G., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "It really doesn’t get any better than Kiawah Island Golf Resort. I have played tennis in dozens of states and at tons of tennis centers, and Kiawah Island is hands down the BEST place I’ve ever been!! The tennis coaches are exceptional and I know that I’m getting better every day when I’m training with them. The courts are always in superb condition and in under less than a minute walk, you can find yourself at The Sanctuary Resort, one of the most beautiful places to stay!!"—K.W., Adv., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "The facilities at Kiawah Island are really superb Tennis -Amazing tennis clinics and drills all year -Taught by personable talented and consistent staff with consistant teaching formats. -Amazing knowlwdge brought to the clinics by Roy Barth, his wisdom of the game is like no other coach has taught me in all my years of playing. -The laid back friendliness of this resort is great for all ages and all levels of play -The kids clinics are kept fun and engageing as well as the adult"—E.G., Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Kiawah resort is an exceptionally beautiful resort. Went there for a wedding and discovered this gem on the coast. It is so family friendly with so man fun options for kids and adults! The tennis center is amazing, and the professionals there are so nice and helpful. We loved our stay and will definitely be back!!!!"—P.V., Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Great hotel accommodation. New clay courts. Nice staff and helpful. Jonathan Barth is a great instructor."—B.B., Low Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—J.S., Beg., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—T.S., Adv., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "We've been visiting Kiawah for over 30 years and the islands Tennis program continues to impress. The quality of the instruction is great, the backdrop and upkeep of the facilities is outstanding, and they offer programs for every level from a 6 year old beginner, to advanced tournament players. I played competitive tennis there when I was a child, and it is a joy to now bring my children back to Kiawah and show them this special place which was part of so many of my childhood memories."—M.K., Adv., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "The Roy Barth tennis center is a top tennis complex. Beautiful facility and great instruction. The pros are great instructors and a lot of fun."—T.C., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "The Roy Barth Tennis Center on Kiawah Island, SC is an outstanding facility. It has 19 clay courts and 3 hard courts surrounded by beautiful scenery. The grounds are in pristine condition. Head pro, Jonathan Barth, is an excellent instructor as well as an innovative program developer. The atmosphere is always warm and encouraging. I would highly recommend this destination for your next tennis vacation."—L.K., Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Wonderful for families and people and children of all ages. All of my children and grandchildren look forward to tennis lessons and camps every time they go to Kiawah. Staff very professional and wonderfully patient!"—K.I., Beg., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Kiawah is an amazing resort with top notch tennis, golf, dining and accommodations."—M.C., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "This is the perfect location for family tennis. The Tennis pros caters to all tennis abilities. The staff and pros treat you like family. They were excellent with young kids learning the game for the first time, with adults picking up the game again and the serious players in our group. The resort offers hotel and condo rentals. We did not take advantage of the spa, gym or hotel services but instead rented a condo. There is so much to do outside of the tennis courts. Families will fall in love with beach, the bike trails, the camps and the activities run by the island. The Tennis center runs activities for all levels of tennis player. They help you find players to set up a game. The courts are in great condition. Only weakness is that there are no indoor courts; however, there are very few bad weather days. Kiawah is close to Charleston which offers culture, history and great food. The food at Kiawah is good but Charleston's food is exceptional. We will be returning to Kiawah for decades to come."—R.L., Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "My family has been going here for more than thirty years and it just keeps getting better. Outstanding tennis facilities plus beautiful beaches, great golf options and a variety of family activities make this impossible to beat."—N.L., Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "We have been going to Kiawah Island Roy Barth Tennis Center our entire lives. The instructors are always so friendly and able to work with a varied level group in their clinics making everyone feel like they got the best out of it. I always book clinics and always walk away with good instruction, a good work out, and friendly experience."—S.R., Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Kiawah Island is a place like none other. The tennis staff does a great job with their programs and match making. You have 3 levels of programs (beginner, intermediate and advance) for adults and children. On the adult side,you can choose instructional stroke of the day clinics,drill sessions or tournament tough (advance players) and for the children you can choose between mini camp, tournament tough and now a full time academy! They also have a Monday night exhibition with great prizes and open to all players. I was able to play with different guests staying on the island, and also had a great time with Santiago (one of the pros ) my family and I cannot wait to come back!"—E.D., Adv., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—J.C., Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "The Entire Kiawh experience cannot be matched elsewhere! Exceptional Tennis Staff, especially the Barth family on site. Roy Barth, ( recently retired ) has Passed the club into the mirror like, talented hands of son, Jonathan Barth. We look fwd to any time we can visit, every season seems perfect!"—B.B., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "The resort is world class the facilities are really top notch. My family was with me and we had a fantastic time. I took lessons from a pro named Santiago. He was very patient and seemed to really care about the lessons. The staff also helped setup a match with another guest. The staff were very accommodating and made my time on the court very enjoyable."—C.Y., Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "In my many years of playing tennis, David Boyd is one of the best pros I have worked with. My game has improved immensely under his instruction and his lessons are always really fun!"—H.P., Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—S.C., Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Overall, my personal experience with the Kiawah Island Golf Resort tennis facility has been outstanding. David Boyd, the Head Tennis Professional at Kiawah Island Golf Resort, has been giving us private lessons every summer for numerous years and they have been exceptional."—K.T., Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We love Kiawah Island and especially the folks at the Roy Barth Tennis Center. My children and I take numerous lessons a week during the summer months from head tennis pro David Boyd. David is the best! David is great working with all levels of tennis and my college kids do not hesitate to request mom to book lessons with David when their friends come to Kiawah to visit. I have brought several of my tennis teams from Houston over the years to Kiawah and they greatly enjoyed the clinics with David, Jonathan Barth, Langdon and Brandon. The new court facilities are amazing and Im sure they will be put to great use this summer. I would highly recommend a tennis vacation to Kiawah Island."—K.T., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "I take lessons in many places and hands down the instruction at Kiawah results in more points and matches relative to peers. Even more importantly the pros remind us how to have fun (lest we forget!) and keep our bodies healthy (loose grip prevents tennis elbow and results in more power too). David Boyd is my favorite however I have yet to meet a pro at Kiawah who was anything less than outstanding."—D.D., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "A Beautiful location with an Exceptional Staff!"—E.T., Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "We have been visiting Kiawah for family vacations for several years now and the primary reason we continue to return is the tennis facility and staff!"—L.D., Adv., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Kiawah Island is simply an amazing place to visit. There is so much to do between enjoying the beach, the spa, cuisine, bike rides, golf, and tennis center. The tennis center is top notch with the cleanliness of the facility as well as the world class tennis professionals. The instruction is both fun and impactful to your game. They even have pickleball courts if you play that as well! Kiawah will not disappoint!"—S.M., Adv., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "The pros, clinics, and drills were all outstanding! I thoroughly enjoyed every minute. I had several ah-ha moments."—A.B., Low Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "This resort and tennis center is fabulous... the surroundings, the pros and the facilities. I loved the beautiful new courts!!"—B.M., Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Visited Kiawah for the first time over spring break, had a blast Tennis was exceptional amazing staff really enjoyed my lessons w the Tennis Pros , took lessons with Santiago and was super impressed with the level of Tennis and the facilities were state of the art. Can’t wait to go back to this paradise! I’m a high level player and my wife is beginner and they were able to arrange both singles and doubles w other guests which was awesome and the kids had a blast as well, great junior programs!"—S.T., Adv., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "My family loves taking "staycations" at Kiawah every once in a while throughout the year. Our kids play the Kiawah tournament and we've always taken that opportunity to stay at the resort and enjoy the wonderful facilities and setting that Kiawah island has to offer. We enjoyed the social play as well as the instructional clinics with Jonathan, Santiago, Langdon, and Lauren. All the pro's are very consistent with their teaching method and they all have great personalities. We were also super excited while talking to their director Jonathan Barth and hearing about the new year round academy they are launching this summer, as this is something we are considering for our kids to join. We also love how the new facility looks with the brand new 10 courts and how everything is consolidated into the Roy Barth Tennis Center. If you are considering your perfect tennis vacation this is the one place you cannot miss. did I mention we love kiawah!"—A.V., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Took a few lessons with a pro named Santiago. Truly a wonderful teacher and lovely person . My level improved quickly and he made me Want to come back to visit again!! Wonderful staff."—R.T., Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Kiawah Island Resort is magical, it is my favorite place to visit. The tennis staff is outstanding, the courts are beautiful and well maintained, the clinics and private lessons are always enjoyable, fun and packed full of great instruction. The entire resort is just heaven, this is our number one place to get away."—T.H., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Amazing Facility! Can’t wait to see the new courts!"—J.S., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "The quality and consistency of the pros is top notch. I take private and group lessons and my game has improved a ton! The instructors, even in the group setting, pay close attention to your swing and always have advice. They care about your progress and are excited when you improve."—J.C., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—S.W., Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Always an exceptional tennis resort that is strengthening its program with the addition of eight new clay courts. Expert staff and extensive offering of classes. Other plus items: five-star Sanctuary hotel, many top rated golf courses on the island, tremendous array of casual to fine dining opportunities. The beach is but a few minutes walk from the tennis complex. Amenities, amenities, amenities to complement the tennis program. Wide array of lodging opportunities to fit any budget. Less than an hour to downtown Charleston, SC."—B.T., Int., December 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "I have a great experience coming down to Kiawah Island every year. the shop people (David and Sean) go above and beyond trying to set up matches with people with similar abilities. as a beginner player that sometimes can be intimidating. I love how they have programs for all abilities every day of the year. I can do the strokes of the day while my husband does the drill sessions or books a private Lesson with Santiago. All the pro's are very friendly and consistent with their teaching method. As I said before, we love Kiawah!"—A.V., Beg., April 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "Came down for the weekend (easy trip from Atlanta) and well worth the drive. It’s amazing how much one can improve in a weekend when you have the right coaching. Met up with tennis pro Santiago Falla and worked on my area needing the most improvement: my serve. In a matter of 20 minutes I was hitting the ball completely different and harder. Of course, I’ve been playing for a while so this was the perfect tuning I needed. However, it’s clear to me that Santi can help at any level from beginner to advanced. I also worked on my backhand and after a few tips, I had the opportunity to spend a good while on the tennis machine in this individual court to myself to build muscle memory. Can’t say enough good things about Santiago and the tennis center. Very well run and after a weekend I will definitely be a repeat customer."—P.R., Int., April 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—H.L., Int., April 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "Kiawah Island is the best tennis resort I have ever been to. There are great instructors and programming for all ages, guaranteed match making system, and beautiful grounds and facilities. Jonathan Barth is a great instructor and Roy Barth is wonderful."—J.C., Adv. Int., April 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "Kiawah Island Tennis Resort has fabulous programs, great accommodations, and fantastic professionals. The staff is exceptional, offering a variety of clinics for adults and kids. The entire family can enjoy a tennis vacation at Kiawah. The pro shop offers a great selection of tennis clothing, raquets, and resort apparel. We save all year to travel to Kiawah for tennis."—S.K., Adv. Int., April 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—S.D., Beg., April 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "Best experience ever! Beautiful place with great staff who are knowledgeable and professional. Tons of options for every walk of life including children and single travelers. Would definitely recommend."—K.D., Adv., April 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "This resort and especially the tennis program exceed customer service expectation. You will not find a better quality tennis program anywhere. Attention to detail and individual skill sets make even group lessons seem like a private lesson. You can get a good workout and have fun at the same time. The facilities are well kept and beautiful."—T.T., Low Int., April 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "Roy Barth tennis center is absolutely fantastic! I frequently come here with my family, and every time, we have a friendly face greeting us! Also, when I take tennis lessons from the pros, they are super helpful and instructive. The ball machine is also super convenient and always helps me with my form. I was also happy when they found matches for me to play when I was there. Love this place and it is always my go-to when I'm in Kiawah!"—A.H., Adv. Int., April 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "Wonderful resort with excellent staff"—J.S., Adv., April 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "Kiawah is a magical place! Bike trails gallor, golf and lots of tennis. Plus an amazing interactive water area with 2 slides for the kids. Don’t forget to go to the beach too! So much to do in a relaxing atmosphere! The tennis camps are awesome! All the coaches are wonderful and you have so much fun. They are really great with the kids too! My kids love going to tennis camp while we are there. We always up our tennis game for sure after we have left these camps! Can’t say enough great things about Kiawah!"—A.S., Adv. Int., April 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating ""My family and I stayed at kiawah over the winter break and we had an abosulte blast! The weather was fantastic for that time of the year which allowed us to play tennis every day. My wife and I did the clinics while the kids took private lessons with Santiago. Now all they talk about is wanting to come back!""—C.R., Int., April 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "My family loved vacationing on Kiawah and taking tennis lessons from Santiago. We are from the Northeast and Santiago taught us great fundamentals to bring back home with us. He and the rest of the tennis staff are very patient and flexible instructors. Santiago was charismatic and ensured we got the most of our hour lesson each day. We will be back!"—M.S., Int., April 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "I recently attended a tennis clinic on Kiawah Island at the Roy Barth Tennis Center a few months ago. This was my first time taking a tennis clinic on Kiawah. I have been in the past to play tennis with my children, since their clay courts are so nice. The clinic was a wonderful surprise! I had a great time and learned a ton on how to improve my groundstrokes. I would recommend any player trying to improve their game to give Kiawah a try. You won’t regret it!"—J.K., Low Int., April 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "My family and I have been coming to Kiawah Island for 25 years and never grow tired of it. I have been playing tennis at the Roy Barth Tennis Center for most of those 25 years and keep returning because of the outstanding facilities and tennis instruction I have received. During that time I have gotten to know all of the instructors and have come to feel as if they are part of an extended family. Jonathan, David, Langdon and all of the others have always tailored their instruction to the needs of my particular game thus allowing for me to glean maximum benefit from the time I spend there. Through the years, I have visited other tennis camps and resorts, but have nowhere experienced the friendly, personal, and expert instruction that I have at Kiawah. I plan to keep going back for the next 25 years!"—D.N., Int., April 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—M.S., Adv., March 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "Great place for tennis, golf, the beach and overall enjoyment"—P.G., Int., March 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—K.S., Adv., March 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—A.S., Adv., March 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "This resort has everything. A great tennis program, friendly staff, with lessons & many clinics; and opportunities to join round robin groups. The courts and grounds are extremely well taken care of which makes for lovely surroundings. Being located so close to Charleston, makes this a perfect location to soak in southern culture as well."—W.G., Beg., April 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "We traveled to Kiawah Island for a tennis weekend at Roy Barth Tennis Center. I spoke directly with Jonathan Barth to set up a weekend specifically tailored for our tennis ladies which included four women. We had three days of 3 hour sessions that included techniques, i.e. eye on the point of contact, strategy for doubles, i.e. pressure opponent, live ball feeds playing the point out. Amazing each day the energy and content that was given to us by Jonathan. Jonathan went above and beyond to arrange tennis matches for us in the afternoon with local ladies. We truly experienced Southern hospitality. The facility is very nice. The one downside is our trip was too short. We all wanted to keep drilling on the courts. Thank you!"—T.P., Adv. Int., April 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "Everything about our tennis at Kiawah was top notch! The instructors were great and super accommodating!"—B.A., Adv. Int., April 2017
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Plenty of courts, great physical beauty, few singles players, high fees,"—D.H., Adv., April 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—R.R., Pro, April 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "Kiawah Island has a perfect blend of leisre, relaxation, and sports. The beach is gorgeous. The walking and riding paths copious and beautiful. But it is the tennis that rises above it all. The grounds r arranged for uninterrupted tennis and the staff is impeccable. Always a pleasure to visit the Roy Barth Tennis club."—M.P., Adv., April 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "The staff is top notch and always willing to help. They treat everyone like they are the most important guest there. My husband and I usually celebrate our anniversary there and the resort always makes sure they send us a bottle of wine. We love the tennis facilities and the instruction is always fun but technical. I go home with improvement to some aspect of my game. We can't wait until our next visit in paradise."—M.N., Int., April 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—B.B., Int., March 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "After coming to Kiawah for the junior tournament in October for the last 5 years, I decided to enroll my son into the Barth Tennis Academy. He was able to get strong preparation for his tournament, by having an opportunity to play matches against other top ranked junior players, get key strategic advice from the coaches, and be challenged everyday with new drills. Jonathan and George worked with him for the week which he greatly enjoyed. The big draw that will keep us coming back was the individual attention he was able to receive that other tennis academies don't always guarantee. We will be back this summer for more top notch tournament preparation."—S.P., Low Int., March 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "As a relatively new tennis player I thought the morning clinics were very helpful, to help me really focus on the fundamentals of how to make more consistent solid contact. The instructors were all very enthusiastic and the courts were in excellent condition. I will be back in the future for sure."—J.T., Beg., March 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—R.S., Low Int., March 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "Absolutely breathtaking. The staff, facilities, and environment is in a league of its own."—S.R., Adv., March 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "I had an awesome experience at Kiawah Island. The people were super nice and the experience was once in a lifetime. I will be back for another experience."—B.B., Int., March 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "Thoroughly enjoyed the seclusion and the beautiful atmosphere. Staff and scenery were both exceptional. Would recommend to anyone trying to get away and enjoy some peace and quiet while at the same time having your needs tailored to by an extraordinary staff."—J.G., Int., March 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "The staff and tennis professionals were second to none in terms of knowledge and approachability. A must visit for any golf and/or tennis enthusiast!"—W.S., Adv., March 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—D.J., Beg., March 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—T.B., Low Int., March 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "Greatly enjoyed my trip to Kiawah this past January. I always come down for a week at a time for tennis and golf. The staff at the Roy Barth Tennis Center were very accommodating and friendly, even when I came during a busy weekend asking for tennis lessons. I learned far more than expected for the second straight year. The forehand clinic with Langdon and serve clinic with George were a blast. Recommend any avid tennis player hoping to improve their game to give Kiawah a try."—P.W., Beg., March 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—J.H., Int., May 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "Brought a group of 8 women to the Tennis camp. It was one of the best camps for developing skills and analyzing each individual. Fabulous experience. We stayed at a friends private residence."—G.G., Int., May 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "Roy and his team are exceptional in their professional approach with instruction of tennis! I love the island and its family approach in a serene setting which is unsurpassed anywhere! Excellent vacation destination which will not disappoint!"—C.W., Adv. Int., April 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "The golf and tennis are superb! Walking the beach is a must..."—E.F., Low Int., April 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "This spring was my first time coming to Kiawah Island for tennis exclusively. I typically make the drive with a few friends to go golf, but with my young kids picking up tennis recently I decided to go try and get a few lessons. Never having been to the Roy Barth Tennis Center in my past trips to the island, I was very impressed. The courts were in much better shape than the clay courts I'm used to playing on, and I could hear the ocean from the court. The shop staff was very helpful in informing me on the different types of rackets I should use as a beginner. Once I got out on the court for my lesson I had a great time. The pro was absolutely terrific. It is safe to say that from now on I will be bringing both my golf bag and my tennis rackets on hopefully many trips to come."—B.S., Beg., April 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—A.H., Adv. Int., April 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "Probably the best resort I've ever attended anywhere in the world. Every facet of Kiawah's operation is top notch and exudes professionalism. I would be hard pressed to think of anything they could do better, but each year, they exceed my expectations."—T.B., Adv., April 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—S.Y., Int., April 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "Beautiful Island with excellent tennis court. The staff are friendly and courteous. The pros are the best!"—J.C., Int., April 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "Great tennis staff right on the ocean. If you want top rate training see Roy Barth and his team. They are the best."—T.W., Int., April 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "Kiawah Island is one of the most beautiful places I've been. The natural beauty, along with thoughtful development has produced a very serene, relaxing environment. The tennis program is my favorite activity, with multiple clinics to choose from everyday and friendly, talented pros to help get the most out of your game."—S.W., Adv. Int., April 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "Amazing tennis, David Boyd is a standout instructor. Highly recommend. You will not be disappointed"—D.R., Int., April 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "I took several lessons over a long weekend with Pro David Boyd. He did a fantastic job and I learned so much in such a short amount of time. I have taken lessons regularly from at least six pros (at other clubs) over the last 10-15 years and he is, by far, my favorite."—A.G., Low Int., April 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "Being from a small town in southern Vermont, travelling south to spend a week at Kiawah with my family was a terrific experience that I look forward to repeating in the near future. The shop staff that greeted me once I arrived on the grounds at the Roy Barth Tennis Center, was as charming as the beautiful facility that I was so so excited to play at. All of the pros were excellent in their instruction and were all incredibly friendly. I left Kiawah with the feeling that my tennis game had greatly improved in just a few days, and I strongly recommend any tennis player to check it out!"—T.F., Beg., April 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "A few girlfriends and I have been taking a yearly "girls trip" to Kiawah for the last 3 years. We are set to go again in a couple of weeks. The tennis instruction by David Boyd is fantastic. We all agree it is the best we've experienced. Kiawah is a beautiful island. It's very relaxing and well preserved. The food is outstanding. We always rent a condo vs. staying at the on-site hotel so I cannot comment on the hotel rooms, although what I have seen of the hotel is beautiful! Highly recommend!"—A.J., Int., April 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "Kiawah has great facilities with excellent pros led by Roy Barth. We always enjoy our visits to Kiawah because we are tennis nuts and the courts are in great shape and we always get fun and competitive matches there."—E.W., Adv., April 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—R.K., Adv. Int., April 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "Kiawah Island is on of the most well-run resorts that I have visited because of the variety of ages that it caters to along with the variety of activities that are offered. The tennis and golf programs are unparalleled."—R.H., Int., April 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "Great tennis facility with outstanding staff!"—R.S., Adv., April 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "Great tennis program with variety of styles to instruction but consistency in teaching techniques across pros! Helpful, encouraging, fun!"—J.S., Adv. Int., April 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "Great teaching pros, consistent concepts. Beautiful natural surroundings. They helped find matches with similar players. Friendly interesting people. Great tennis center and shop. Programs for all levels and ages, adults and juniors. Spectacular setting. Would recommend to anyone who loves tennis."—P.S., Adv. Int., April 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "The tennis instruction at Kiawah is always top-notch! The tennis facility is maintained perfectly (except for the occasional alligator walking around) and the pro shop is stylish. The resort is gorgeous yet not stuffy. Dining is always fantastic."—P.S., Int., April 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—J.B., Adv. Int., April 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "If you play tennis this is the place to go. The beaches are beautiful, food on the island is yummy and the tennis facilities are number 1. My family and I have been visiting the resort for over 20+ years . Roy Barth and his staff at the tennis shops are always accommodating and helpful. I started taking lessons from Roy whenI I first visited the resort many years ago and I love that when I return each year that he and his friendly staff are there ready to help me improve my game or find me a match. . Jonathan and Langdon are great to take lessons from."—G.C., Low Int., April 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "We own a rental villa on Kiawah Island and are very passionate tennis players..we like to invite our tennis friends from the Midwest and have great fun. The Roy Barth Tennis Center is a great learning place to improve one's game. The pros are fantastic!"—D.U., Adv. Int., April 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "We had great time at Kiawah Roy Bart Tennis. My 6 year old son had several lessons with Santiago and he loved it. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone who wants to bring their game to next level. We will be back next year."—D.K., Adv. Int., April 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "Kiawah Island Golf resort is fantastic. We have taken a family vacation to Kiawah for the last 20+ years. We have stayed at many of the villas for a week at a time and we adore the Sanctuary for some of our shorter stays. The staff at all of the facilities are wonderful. We love to play tennis and the Roy Barth Tennis facility is the best. The instructors are patient and consistent. We even have beach staff that we look forward to seeing every year. We love Kiawah Island!"—J.M., Adv. Int., March 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "Wonderful facility, great pros - very instructive. The courts are beautiful and well maintained. The top rate extra amenities like The Sanctuary are absolutely splendid."—P.D., Low Int., March 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Fantastic instruction. All Pros are friendly and knowledgeable. Island Beaches and their accommodations are FIVE STAR."—J.F., Adv., March 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—L.W., Int., December 2015
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—T.K., Adv. Int., November 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—I.W., Adv. Int., August 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating "I have vacationed at Kiawah Island Resort six times in the past five years. This is extremely unusual, as my husband and I love to discover new spots and rarely visit the same place twice. My visits have included getaways with girlfriends, time with family, and a week sharing a villa with another couple. Each time the resort has been the perfect spot. First off, are the wide range of villas that provide enough privacy (bathrooms with each bedroom) and communal areas (living rooms, screened porches, decks), along with well equipped full kitchens, to allow groups to co-exist in comfort. Second, the expansive grounds that include 10 miles of wide, uncrowded beach are perfect for walking, biking, or playing in the surf. The miles of asphalt bike trails take you through forests filled with wildlife (I’ve seen wild turkeys, osprey, many deer and even a bobcat.), past marshes, and beautiful golf fairways. Kayaks and SUPs can be rented for trips through the marshes to view birds of all kinds, as well as dolphins. (Guided tours are also available.) But, the thing that really keeps me coming back is the Roy Barth Tennis Center. I have had the good fortune of visiting several of the top tennis resorts/camps in the country, but the program at Kiawah tops them all. There are two large tennis centers that include both clay and hard courts that are kept in immaculate condition. Stroke of the Day Clinics and Drills are available seven days a week and may be scheduled before or after you arrive at the resort. Individually planned lessons, clinics, and camps are easy to arrange by calling the Center. But the thing that puts Kiawah truly above the rest are the pros. Most resorts and camps have one or two “name” Head Pros who oversee the program and may or may not teach on-court. They seem to often hire local teaching pros to do the “heavy lifting” of the clinics…Pros who may be of the same caliber, or less, than those you usually work with at home. At Kiawah, whether you are on-court with Head Pros Jonathan Barth and David Boyd, or working with Brian, Ryan, Santiago or Langdon, you will be receiving top notch instruction that is directly overseen by tennis legend, Roy Barth. Roy makes certain that the same concepts are taught be each pro, but it is apparent that he allows them to let their personalities shine through in how the concepts are presented. When you take a clinic at Kiawah, you know that you will learn something, receive individualized instruction, and have a great time. It is easy to see why Kiawah is rated Number One by tennisresortsonline.com. I am already looking forward to visit seven next spring."—D.W., Adv. Int., June 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating "Pros are amazing, great instruction, and such a beautiful place!!"—M.S., Adv., April 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating "Superior TENNI."—B.B., Adv. Int., April 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—N.S., Adv. Int., April 2015
  • 4-Ball Rating "Nice facility and gift shop. Friendly staff (Langdon) and eager to facilitate our arrangements."—J.P., Int., April 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—L.S., Adv., April 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating "Jonathan and his team ran some really fun drills; I had a really nice time and met some really great players."—J.F., Beg., April 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating "We have been to Kiawah several times and continue to enjoy the beautiful resort and the excellent tennis instruction."—M.H., Int., April 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating "Amazing! Love Roy's clinics and instruction. The facilities are top notch!"—P.W., Adv. Int., April 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—E.C., Adv. Int., April 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—R.M., Adv. Int., April 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating "I had a fantastic experience at Kiawah last March. I played tennis everyday while I was there. The staff at the Roy Barth Tennis Center is exceptional and very friendly. I really enjoyed my lessons with George Handy, as well as all of the pros I had for the morning clinics. I highly recommend planning a trip to Kiawah for anyone who is an avid tennis player."—N.L., Int., April 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—R.P.,  April 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—A.E., Int., April 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating "Kiawah is a beautiful island with 10 miles of white sand beach, pristine environment and activities for all ages. The tennis facility is conveniently located close to the fabulous Sanctuary Hotel and condos and the lessons I had improved my game 100 percent. I have taken lessons before but what Roy Barth taught me has really changed my game and made me a better player. I would highly recommend this resort and the Roy Barth Tennis Center."—N.S., Int., April 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating "My family and I stayed a little over a week at Kiawah and had one of the best vacations of our lives. The island is beautiful, the facilities are top notch and the programs are suited for all types of players. They have a good mix of instructional programs as well as drill sessions which emphasize more point play. All of their pros teach the same method which is nice. Santiago worked with my kids and I and he was great transitioning from kids to adults. Made it super fun and our family loved it!"—P.R., Int., April 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating "Kiawah Island Golf Resort has a great facility, excellent coaching staff, and a wonderful environment to play tennis in!"—J.W., Adv., April 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating "Kiawah is one of the most beautiful and friendly tennis resort in the world, but it's the outstanding tennis instruction that makes it ideal. David Boyd is a master at his craft, and the improvement we've seen in our daughter since taking lessons with him has been phenomenal. Would recommend Kiawah for anyone who wants a beautiful, relaxed setting with first-class instruction!"—L.S., Int., April 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating "It doesn't get much better than playing tennis at Kiawah Island. The pros are awesome and their instruction is great! Also, it is such a beautiful place to play tennis. Best tennis resort ever!"—K.W., Adv., March 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating "I was especially impressed with Santiago Falla, one of their pros. He does not just stand across from you with big basket hitting balls to you, but looks at your strength and weaknesses (afraid mostly) and works out a training program tailored to your needs. I also liked how nice he is with kids in the junior program. Good matchmaker. Found always people at my level to play with."—H.B., Adv. Int., March 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating "My entire family loved the programs the Roy Barth tennis center at Kiawah had to offer, from the junior program for the grandchildren to the "matchmaking" for the adults. We ended up asking for the pro, Santiago, as everyone in the family loved him and his instruction. Our family is planning another week this year to capitalize on the fabulous tennis program at Kiawah."—S.D., Int., March 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating "beautiful location, excellent accommodations, and friendly and expert staff"—A.C., Adv., March 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Beatiful sourroundings, great courts, surfaces for ecveryone, wonderful staff and pros like Santiago Falla. Drabacks are that there are several centers to play on and they are far apart."—D.L., Int., March 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating "Fantastic facility with great natural setting, wonderful club amenities, great courts, attention to player's needs, and wonderful instructional programs & pro's."—A.D., Int., March 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating "Pro's and location are second to none-"—B.F., Adv., April 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—J.B., Adv. Int., April 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—Y.R., Int., April 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating "The best tennis resort you could hope for! A beautiful location, impeccable facility, and great programs offered everyday. But what really sets Kiawah Resort apart is the incredible staff. They're helpful, knowledgeable, and most importantly incredibly fun! I would recommend Kiawah to anyone who enjoys tennis-- or anyone who wants to start enjoying it!"—W.D., Int., April 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating "Excellent teaching in an extraordinary location."—S.R., Adv. Int., April 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—S.Y., Int., April 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating "David Boyd, Kiawah's head tennis professional, is this program's greatest strength."—J.B., Adv. Int., April 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating "Kiawah Golf and Tennis resort is the only place on earth you would ever need to go... it is the ultimate in tennis clinics/resorts... Roy Barth and his staff are amazing.. I can not thank them enough for all they have done."—C.N., Adv. Int., April 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—B.S., Int., April 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating "The Roy Barth Tennis Center at Kiawah Island Golf Resort was the highlight of my trip to Kiawah. My wife and I traveled there in late March to visit relatives nearby and to enjoy a mini-vacation. Once I discovered the tennis center, I had to go every day while there due to top-notch instruction by Roy Barth himself and a very well trained and capable staff. There were also several similar skill-level players in the sessions. I returned home with lots of exciting new things to work on. While I was at tennis, my wife spent much of her time visiting with local friends who happened to be in Kiawah too. She was excited to see new birds on field trips with them, sometimes on bikes using the handy paths that wind through the resort. We also found it very easy to head to nearby destinations, including Summerville, to visit family, and to explore the historic plantations and other sites around Charleston. This was a wonderful trip for us and we would recommend it highly to others!"—J.A., Adv., April 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I went to Kiawah for a serve clinic. Luckily for me, I ended up alone with Jonathan Barth for a private course. I am a 4.5 player that has taken lessons elsewhere with knowledgable people but I must admit that Jonathan was the most helpful coach I have ever seen period. He gave me the right Tools to fix my errant toss. Plus, 30$ for half-an hour is very cheap in my humble opinion for outstanding teaching. Its Worth everysingle penny of it. I will definitely go back there. Its a million time better than wasting big sums of money at camps like bollitieri or else. That being said, I wish I could have tried different sticks at the clubhouse cause I am in the process of switching racket. Thanks again! (by the way, nobody paid me for writing that review) I am very critical of everything by nature (being french-canadian must have something to do with it;-) Its just what I have experienced there. A+++"—D.J., Adv. Int., March 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—T.H., Low Int., May 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—B.T., Adv. Int., May 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—S.C., Int., May 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating "Excellent location with exceptionally friendly and caring staff."—W.S., Beg., April 2013
  • 3-Ball Rating ""—R.A., Int., April 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating "Everything at Kiawah was PERFECT! I can't wait to comeback with my team this fall! The adult clinics were great and the round robins were fun."—J.B., Beg., April 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating "The instruction at Kiawah is great! I am a 4.0 player and learned more during our stay than the last two years taking lessons at home. The round robins were great as well as we enjoyed playing some social tennis while on our tennis vacation. It is impressive that they can match people up for games with such short notice as well...the employees here really care about their guests. I can't wait to go back!"—R.R., Int., April 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "This is the best resort and spa with even greater tennis. Guest rooms are georgeous . Food is 5 star and the spa is beautifully run. Tennis courts and pros make this a perfect getaway"—M.G., Adv. Int., April 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating "The staff at the tennis center is always accommodating with scheduling, offerings and options. Everyone is so friendly and genuinely excited about tennis!"—T.T., Beg., April 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The Roy Barth Tennis facility on Kiawah Island has been a family favorite for over 10 years. This year my sister and I organized a tennis camp of 12 ladies from the Toledo and Cincinnati areas. Jonathan Barth coordinated a fantastic 3 day camp with 8 hours of exceptional tennis instruction. Tennis professionals David Boyd, Brandon Blankenbaker joined Jonathan for our group. All the ladies felt they received excellent instruction on doubles strategy, stroke, movement and playing tips.
    Our group rotated with each professional daily, so we received different areas of expertise. David was very technical and helped to understand our strengths and weaknesses. Brandon was excellent at helping us work our doubles movement on the court. Jonathan worked us through many drills, then gave us pointers during our Round Robin tournament play. In between the instruction, their personailities ensured we had a little fun with a lot of laughs... The ladies are already planning our trip back again next Spring."
    —C.D., Int., April 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—K.K., Int., April 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating "This is an exceptional resort! I took a 2 day clinic with my sister and sister in-law which I found to be one of the most helpful clinics I have ever taken. The staff was awesome and our instructor was able to help me correct an issue with my serve that I had been struggling with for years! I would highly recommend this resort."—B.M., Int., April 2013
  • 2½-Ball Rating "I spent week between Christmas and New Years 2013, mainly to take advantage of the tennis clinics, etc. I was disappointed in the offerings and to be turned away from a.m. clinic because of restricted # of players to be accommodated. They need more pros or be willing to accommodate just one more player very eager to participate. I will not return to this tennis resort or Kiawah Island, which is too remote an area."—S.C., Adv. Int., April 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating "Best tennis, golf and hotel"—B.B., Adv., April 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating "We just got back from our April spring break down in Kiawah, South Carolina. Both my children and I took clinics and private lessons at The Roy Barth Tennis Center. We all enjoyed the instruction and pros. We all came back learning something new about our game, and making sure "we watch the point of impact" as per Roy Barth. It was an honor to take a clinic from him. He wants to help you be a better tennis player. Plus he is just a great guy."—S.K., Adv. Int., April 2013
  • 4-Ball Rating "Beautiful resort and tennis club! Had a great week of clinics with David. Will be back again!"—B.H., Adv., February 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating "The best resort I've ever been to and the best tennis instruction I've ever received. What a wonderful experience!"—B.J., Adv. Int., January 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating "What a fabulous time I had at Kiawah last week. The tennis facilities are terrific but what really stands out is the incredible tennis instruction my friends and I had with Johnathan Barth, Brandon Blankenbaker, and in particular, Roy Barth. We all walked away with not only some valuable doubles tennis strategy but also individual pointers and comments that were incredibly helpful. I look forward to my next visit!!"—N.S., Adv. Int., October 2012
  • 5-Ball Rating "I went to Kiawah on a 4-day tennis team/girl's weekend in Oct 2012. The Roy Barth Tennis Program is the BEST tennis experience I have had in my 30+ years playing. I can't say enough about the entire staff, everyone from Mr. Barth and his first-rate teaching staff, to the pro shop assistants, to the grounds crew! The resort staff was professional, friendly, and helpful. I loved the "improve what you've got" approach to the clinics and drills, rather than the "copy this or that pro player". I've often been bored at other resorts but NOT here, especially with Mr. Barth walking the courts offering up spot on constructive instruction. He is truly a national tennis treasure! I had pretty high expectations, as I had heard so much about Kiawah -- and the resort met and exceeded them! Weaknesses? I don't remember. That's what happens when you send your clients home happy! Sincerely, Carlotta Lane"—C.L., Adv., October 2012
  • 5-Ball Rating "Completely wonderful world class tennis resort nestled within a golf & beach setting. Tennis pros phenomenal, Roy Barth still teaches occasional lessons. Great positive atmosphere for kids as well both in weekly 2-hour camps and in private lessons at all levels of ability from starters all the way to junior tournament prep sessions. These guys seem truly to love the game, are great at teaching it, and foster a fabulous environment for adults & kids to learn, tune up, or take their game to a new level.
    Pool & beach amenities are fabulous, the marsh environment & bike paths offer great ways to see the local environment and animals, the restaurants are amazing, and world class gold available for family members preferring that sport. Cannot say enough good things about the Roy Barth tennis center at Kiawah. I leave motivated to play more when I get home."
    —B.M., Adv. Int., July 2012
  • 5-Ball Rating "Beautiful island and wonderful tennis facilities and instruction."—D.L., Adv. Int., April 2012
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—J.B., Int., April 2012
  • 5-Ball Rating "All around excellence. The staff and amenities are world class quality."—M.S., Adv. Int., April 2012
  • 5-Ball Rating "I had a great weekend of instruction from the pros at Kiawah. Jonathan gave my friend and I a two hour private lesson and then arranged a match for us after our lesson so we could work on our strategy in a real match. The hotel was absolutely superb and the service was outstanding. We had a great dinner at the Atlantic Room! I can't wait to come back out and work on our doubles strategy some more."—B.T., Low Int., April 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We had a camp with Jonathan Barth athe West Beach Tennis Club in early spring and it was amazing (super accomodating) it rained on us but all the pros were very accomodating to get the clay courts playable for us and had great instruction. Island is beautiful as well. We highly recommend Kiawah tennis. Thanks"—J.P., Int., April 2012
  • 5-Ball Rating "The tennis staff was amazing! I loved how the instruction was consistent from pro to pro. The villa we stayed in was great and so close to the facility that we could walk there in just a couple of minutes. We are already planning our next trip. I am just sad that we cannot attend the charity tournament next week. It will be on our list next year!"—T.S., Int., April 2012
  • 5-Ball Rating "Great resort!!! Amazing courts set in an amazing atmosphere! The staff was very knowledgeable & friendly. Would highly recommend this place to tennis player at any level."—R.F., Int., April 2012
  • 5-Ball Rating "The setting is magnificent, the weather ideal, except it's humid in August, and the teaching pros are the best. Monday night exhibition matches with the pros are fun for all with prizes. Great hospitality, high quality merchandise in pro shop."—J.D., Int., April 2012
  • 5-Ball Rating "Best tennis instruction I've ever experienced. Beautiful location to top that off!"—P.R., Int., April 2012
  • 5-Ball Rating "Kiawah was a great place to escape for a relaxing and rejuvenating vacation. Our tennis instruction was a great experience. We'd like to give a shout-out to Brandon who worked with both my wife and I and our kids. We will be sure to come back soon!"—M.H., Int., April 2012
  • 5-Ball Rating "It is a great place away from civilization. The heavy forests make it seem so far away from downtown."—S.B., Adv., April 2012
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—D.H., Int., April 2012
  • 5-Ball Rating "So much fun!"—C.P., Low Int., April 2012
  • 5-Ball Rating "Kiawah Island Golf Resort is probably the best tennis/golf resort I have ever been to. Whenever I'm sitting at the office, the one spot that I consistently find myself daydreaming about is Kiawah. Beautiful setting, wonderful amenities and staff. Speaking of staff, I'd like to mention Brandon. He is truly an asset to the resort and a favorite of our family! Always a pleasure to see him and we look forward to seeing him soon!"—E.Y., Low Int., April 2012
  • 5-Ball Rating "This is a great place for a family vacation. We had excellent tennis instruction for all ages within our entire family (8 to 82). The scenery was breathtaking, the dining and other activity options were phenomenal. We will definitely be returning as soon as possible!"—J.C., Adv. Int., April 2012
  • 4-Ball Rating "Great instruction and great instructors, well structured in a beautiful resort. You will leave playing better than when you arrived."—S.B., Int., March 2012
  • 5-Ball Rating "Our vacation decision was made based on previous years of visiting Kiawah and having already had fun learning tennis basics. We are now into our third year of tennis and decided it was time to go back to Kiawah with tennis as number one priority for us the parents - and a great Kiawah Kamp as a camp priority for our kids. The experience far surpassed the expectations.
    The tennis was fantastic for one main reason with a host of supporting reasons. Number one - David Boyd. As Head Tennis Pro, he guided our clinics and drills every day using perfectly balanced coaching with an eye for how to push us, and when to push us. The "keep your eye focused on the point of impact" was well explained through out EVERY clinic and drill. The continuity of this particular training was so clearly visible with each time that we put the ball into the net that the light bulb moments were every hour....it makes sense finally. After the "impact" training hit home, then the nuances of details like "racquet face, not following through properly or hitting the ball too late, came into instruction.
    Finally I was ready for the Adult Tough Tournament. The option to play three or four hours of tennis seemed a little too much when we booked but in reality we wanted to play for five or six! The teaching was well paced, the water breaks gave time to ask questions and get to know the pro as well as the other players. The simple placement of the balls was perfectly timed for each player - David knew who to push and when to push them and why.
    The larger classes were immediately split to a perfect pro/attendant ratio and the skill level was quickly assessed also. Day Six of "Tennis Camp" was bitter sweet. We did not want to leave - but we wanted to go home and show off our new skills. Highlights of some of the things that I learned - eye on point of impact or your ball will go into the net (every time), loosely hold your racquet - tension is bad, pivot with your right foot for forehand cross court shots - one step with a pivot could mean you get to the ball, serve - head up, arm up - stay up, wrist down - and the ball will go in! Some of this I have heard before but not actually registered - this time it has STUCK.
    I truly believe that I am a better player from the 6 day experience with David and his team. I LOVED my time at the Roy Barth Tennis Center. Everyone was fun, patient, respectful and charming. It was the best vacation ever!"
    —L.M., Int., August 2011
  • 5-Ball Rating "Just got back today from a week at Kiawah. My wife and I attended clinics and drills at the Roy Barth tennis center. The instruction was fantastic; the instruction changed every stroke for the better and they taught a few new ones. Not only were the stroke mechanics improved but the teachers brought a fundamentals philosophy that can't help but improve your game. Roy Barth was personally at many of the sessions and his staff was excellent. They made learning fun and sought to improve each individual, regardless how much needed fixing."—J.F., Adv. Int., August 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Kiawah is the best beach locations I have ever found on the Eastern Coast of the USA. There is so much to do, for nearly everyone. The tennis clinics were very good, but the semi-private lessons I took with my wife were a better value. Charleston, SC is about 45 minutes away, and the nearest grocery store is about 30 minutes away. Nothing is cheep on the island."—G.L., Adv. Int., August 2011
  • 5-Ball Rating "Best staff and atmosphere anyone could ask for!"—C.R., Beg., April 2011
  • 5-Ball Rating "Outstanding resort with excellent tennis, golf, biking, beach and susnset. Spend the evening relaxing or take a short drive to Charleston for fine dining and sightseeing. Our tennis group visits Kiawah every year and we love it!"—M.K., Adv., April 2011
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—S.F., Adv., April 2011
  • 5-Ball Rating "Kiawah has an amazing tennis facility and the tennis pro's there are very helpful!!!"—K.C., Low Int., April 2011
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—J.M., Adv. Int., April 2011
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—K.W., Adv. Int., April 2011
  • 5-Ball Rating "This was my eighth tennis camp at Kiawah Island Golf Resort. I attended the 3 day camp with ladies on my tennis team and we had a blast. David Boyd, our pro, was just that. He gave us several tips that we were able to use right away and left us with several things we each needed to work on. The accomodations were just perfect for us. A three bedroom cottage with a kitchen was convenient to all. We have already made our reservation for next year!"—J.S., Adv. Int., April 2011
  • 5-Ball Rating "Kiawah Island is the tennis mecca for vacationers. I spent an exceptional long weekend there, and have nothing but wonderful things to say about it. Everything on the island, from restaurants, to golf, to tennis, to lodgings is perfectly thought out for utmost convenient. It was easy to tell the tennis pros were experienced, both with their games and ability to teach players of all levels. Kiawah is a personal favorite and quickly became a family and friend favorite. Everyone who goes will go back again, guaranteed!"—J.C., Adv. Int., April 2011
  • 5-Ball Rating "Great instruction from Jonathon and David. Gorgeous setting. The hotel on site is fabulous although we stayed in a very nice 3 BR villa. Great golf, also. Have a drink at the Ocean Course as the sun goes for a stunning view."—E.G., Adv., April 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The drive to the Island of Kiawah sets the stage for a relaxing and magical vacation. The first day was spent courtside with the resident Pro as he demostrated the strokes of the week. The clinics were well taught and managed well. Ous chidren also were in the Jrs. Programs while we had our adult clinics. We fiished the morning with a family game of doubles. The afternoons were spent beachside and with late afternnon bike rides under the shaded bike paths. This is a destination that's worth repeating."—M.T., Adv., March 2011

Rate Kiawah Island Golf Resort


Ratings

(286 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
5-Ball Rating Tennis Staff
5-Ball Rating Instruction
5-Ball Rating
Game Matching
4½-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
5-Ball Rating Pickleball
5-Ball Rating
Cuisine
5-Ball Rating Lodging
4½-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
5-Ball Rating
Dollar Value
4½-Ball Rating Other Recreation
5-Ball Rating Setting
5-Ball Rating
Kids' Programs
5-Ball Rating Romance
5-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4½-Ball Rating

Ratings

(286 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
5-Ball Rating Instruction
5-Ball Rating Tennis Staff
5-Ball Rating Cuisine
5-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4½-Ball Rating Setting
5-Ball Rating Romance
5-Ball Rating Kids' Programs
5-Ball Rating
Game Matching
4½-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
5-Ball Rating Pickleball
5-Ball Rating Lodging
4½-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
5-Ball Rating Other Recreation
5-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4½-Ball Rating

Rates and Reservations

Kiawah Island Golf Resort
One Sanctuary Beach Drive
Kiawah Island, SC 29455