Search
Email Us
Tennis Resorts Online
The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island
Courtesy Kiawah Island Golf Resort

Kiawah Island Golf Resort

Kiawah Island, South Carolina



Boars Head 728x90

LBK 2017



Your Call

Here's what others have had to say about Kiawah Island Golf Resort.

  • 5-Ball Rating "I have been vacationing on Kiawah Island for 25 years, and playing tennis avidly for more than 50. While I have visited many other tennis resorts in the U.S., none offer the amenities, quality, and overall experience of Kiawah Island Tennis. The tennis program on Kiawah Island is amazing and unique. The Tennis Center's soft and hard courts are perfectly maintained and located conveniently at the center of the island, a short stroll from Kiawah's five-star Sanctuary Hotel. But the true brilliance of Kiawah tennis is in its teaching program. Led by Director of Tennis Jonathan Barth and Head Tennis Professional David Boyd, Kiawah's program is perfectly tailored for the transient tennis population visiting vacation resorts. Kiawah Tennis has identified the five or six characteristics shared by every excellent tennis player, regardless of his or her individual playing style, and created a teaching program that focuses on improving those common characteristics. The final component is a methodical approach through which the entire teaching staff unerringly teaches these same characteristics through a consistent methodology. While each tennis professional has his or her own personality, tennis players are guaranteed to receive consistent training, regardless of whether they are paired with David (my go-to tennis guru), Jonathan, Langdon Brockington, Santiago Falla, or others on Kiawah’s professional teaching staff. The program, created by Kiawah tennis’ founder, Roy Barth (Jonathan’s father), is pure genius, as players of every level and style can achieve tangible improvement through a single lesson, or series of lessons. The friendly atmosphere around the courts provides the relaxation we are all looking for during a resort vacation. The tennis staff also maintains a list of local residents and other vacationers who are interested in playing and will match you with compatible tennis partners (singles or doubles) upon request."—J.B., Adv. Int., February 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating "For more than 25 years, I have been visiting and playing tennis at the Roy Barth Tennis Center at Kiawah Island Resort with the reason being quite clear. After having visited many other settings in the US Southeast, Kiawah Island tennis is simply the best! Nestled in an idyllic setting on the Carolina coast, the facility is 'state-of- the art with a friendly and helpful staff. Whether I have wanted to take advantage of clinics, round robins, individual instruction, arrange matches or simply watch exhibitions and discuss the game, the staff have always been able to accommodate my needs. Over the years, I have been able to establish close friendships with the staff and teaching professionals and have never felt like 'just another tourist.' The instruction that I have received from each of them - David, Jonathan, Langdon and Santiago - has been 'top-notch' and allowed me to steadily improve my game. You might not be surprised to know that I am planning on continuing my visits for another 25 years!!"—D.N., Int., February 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating "Our family has experienced the Kiawah Island magic for many years. We have vacationed there at least 15 times in the past 25 years. Each vacation provides all we are looking for-tennis, dining, beach, pool, biking and relaxing. One primary reason for going is the exceptional Tennis Program at East Beach Tennis Center. David Boyd is the head professional at East Beach. He arranges early morning clinics for our family which allows us an opportunity to play without crowds. He is a terrific instructor and makes tennis fun. Our entire family enjoys his clinics. David is a major reason we love vacationing at Kiawah. We hope to return soon."—G.C., Int., February 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The Roy Barth Tennis Facility on Kiawah Island is exceptionally beautiful, now more so than ever with the new courts all at the East Beach facility. The pros are great at helping to enhance your game and are very personable and have become great friends over the years. I've worked extensively with David Boyd who always makes it fun for adults and watching him with the children is a great experience. Langdon Brockinton, Jonathon Barth and Santiago Falla are also terrific in a private lessons and team/group clinics. Great technicians and teachers - never trying to change your game but helpful in making those tweaks that make a big difference!"—D.H., Adv. Int., February 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating "The island itself is amazing. Beach, golf, food, and of course the high quality tennis makes it an overall phenomenal experience. Nothing better than competition tennis in the morning and a relaxing day at the beach the rest of the day. Head pro David Boyd is awesome with kids (my daughter was 4 when she first took a clinic with him) and she still loves playing with him (she is 15!). We especially love staying in the villas with our family which is walking distance to the tennis courts. The Monday night pro doubles exhibition is always fun with cool raffle prizes."—J.M., Adv. Int., February 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating "Kiawah is our happy place. Spectacular beach, beautiful setting throughout with a relaxed feel. Many dining options. We continue to go back, though, because of the phenomenal tennis program. Great courts and fantastic instruction. David Boyd, in particular, is incredibly skilled in isolating the few, important things to focus on to improve your game."—D.P., Adv. Int., February 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating "David Boyd the head coach offers very personal yet professional coaching at a time that suits, he flexibly alters the lesson to what he knows we enjoy and will benefit our tennis. All the other coaches are very similar, Langdon we especially love too with his kindness and sense of humour! kiawah is something special, something for everyone, romantic, peaceful, sporty, natural, and classy. We are hoping it doesn’t get too overcrowded for the sake of the wildlife."—J.C., Adv., February 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating "I've loved going to Kiawah for the past 5 or so years. As a competitive tennis player, I have my fill of tennis training at the Roy Barth Tennis Academy in addition to taking private lessons with David Boyd. The instruction and competition are excellent ranging from technical tips to match strategy. Additionally, having pros like Santiago and Ryan duke it out on Monday's during pro exhibition is a blast. The amenities are also amazing including, but not limited to, a stellar beach and great swimming pools. The food is also great. I would personally recommend checking out La Tella, the local brick oven pizzeria. I love everything about Kiawah, and in particular its tennis program, so I would definitely recommend visiting."—B.P., Adv., February 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Finally getting around to reviewing my fifth Kiawah tennis vacation . Unsurpassed and can't wait until this July's trip. David Boyd the best pro around, and I've had many!"—Z.A., Adv. Int., February 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating "This is a wonderful resort for tennis. Sorry the name emphasizes golf. David Boyd, Head Professional, is the best tennis teacher I have ever had. I wish I could live at Kiawah. I adore the tennis experience there. Langdon Brockinton, who has worked there for many years, is also an excellent pro."—I.W., Adv., February 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating "David Boyd is an incredibly skilled tennis pro. He gave both adults in our family and our teenagers amazing instruction and feedback to improve their game. Fun to participate as well. We return year after year as this is our family's favorite vacation spot and absolutely love the tennis component. Fabulous tennis resort!!"—E.Z., Int., February 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating "The lessons and clinics that I participated in will extend my lifetime on the tennis court. I learned how to stroke the ball with a relaxed grip, which has notably reduced the wear and tear on my elbow and shoulder. A few months later, I fell out of the practice of having a relaxed grip and injured my elbow. However, I knew exactly what I had done wrong, and how to correct it, thanks to the staff at Kiawah. I owe them my ability to be on the court today, having fun doing what I love to do."—D.W., Int., September 2019

See more reviews

Rate Kiawah Island Golf Resort


Ratings

(263 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
5-Ball Rating Tennis Staff
5-Ball Rating Instruction
4½-Ball Rating
Game Matching
4½-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4½-Ball Rating
Cuisine
4-Ball Rating Lodging
4½-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
4½-Ball Rating
Dollar Value
4-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4½-Ball Rating Setting
4½-Ball Rating
Kids' Programs
4½-Ball Rating Romance
4½-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4½-Ball Rating

Ratings

(263 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
5-Ball Rating Instruction
4½-Ball Rating Cuisine
4-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4-Ball Rating Setting
4½-Ball Rating Romance
4½-Ball Rating Kids' Programs
4½-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
5-Ball Rating Game Matching
4½-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4½-Ball Rating Lodging
4½-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
4½-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4½-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4½-Ball Rating

Rates and Reservations

Accommodations on Kiawah Island consist of a luxury hotel called The Sanctuary (877-683-1234), one-to-three-bedroom villas, and three-to-six-bedroom luxury homes ranging in size from one to three bedrooms. Prices vary seasonally and by location. Discounts are available for midweek stays and stays of 4 or more nights.

Booking through the resort, as opposed to a private owner or real estate company, brings a number of added benefits including discounted court time, tee times, Kamp Kiawah discounts, complimentary use of the resort's swimming pools, and preferred access to the golf courses, tennis facilities, and recreation programs.

Visit the website for current rates

Kiawah Island Golf Resort
One Sanctuary Beach Drive
Kiawah Island, SC 29455