Search
Email Us
Tennis Resorts Online
Kapalua Tennis Garden, Maui, Hawaii
Courtesy Kapalua Tennis Garden

Kapalua Resort

Kapalua, Maui, Hawaii


Your Call

Here's what others have had to say about Kapalua Resort, Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, Montage Kapalua Bay, and Kapalua Villas Maui.

  • 4½-Ball Rating "Another great trip out with our friends. Love Kapalua for all the incredible activities in this area. Clinics were great and we had an amazing time. Already planning the next trip with this group."—E.T., Low Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "I have been to Kapalua Tennis Garden multiple times in the past 3 years and it is no secret why I keep coming back. It is hands down the best Tennis facility on Maui. It is superbly well taken care of, the Head Pro Nick Provenza is always exceptional & the views are phenomenal. I give it a 100/100 review in my book and I recommend it to everyone I run into on the island as well as the mainland."—G.H., Adv., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "An incredible tennis experience from top to bottom. Can't wait to go back!"—L.I., Adv., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—G.M., Low Int., April 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating "Beautiful location, lots of courts. Friendly staff and good coaching. The tennis shop is huge. The only draw back is that is does seem to rain on and off during the day because of it's location."—D.V., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "I came here with my fiance and we loved every minute of it! As avid tennis players, we loved how we could incorporate it into our vacation. We went to a few clinics with director Jason Purcell and his co-worker Nick. They were able to conduct a great class with players from all levels. The best part about playing tennis here is the gorgeous view overlooking the coast on one side and the volcano on the other. After the clinics and matches we joined our new classmates for lunch at the Pineapple Grill - the food there is delectable! We walked and drove through the resort and it is literal paradise. We have yet to find a better vacation spot than the Kapalua Tennis Garden! We look forward to returning!"—A.S., Adv., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "We can’t say enough great things about our time at Kapalua! The clinics were awesome, there were at least 3 socials when we were there and to top it off even our kids had an amazing leason with the director of tennis there, Jason Purcell. They wanted to go back to him every day! He was incredible - took the time to really help on and off the court to make our vacation one to never forget. We want to go back every year!!"—D.S., Int., April 2019
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Gorgeous venue with 4 newly re-surfaced courts, and nice shaded sections on the ends. Staff is amazing - so friendly and genuine, and always willing to give you tips to improve your game. Love the morning live ball clinics! Only downside - Napili gets a decent amount of rain, but that can't be faulted to the Tennis Garden! :)"—C.E., Adv., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Brilliant team. Exceptional insight to training, strategy and philosophy. And a brilliant setting and views that are probably unsurpassed anywhere in the world. Absolutely exceptional. cant wait to be back. The only weakness is the weather is a bit unpredictable but they make up and work with you to easily reschedule. And bring sunscreen."—M.S., Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Jason puts on an excellent program. We did a week long trip in July with 20 players and the clinics were extensive, the hospitality was top notch, and the Banana Bread was to die for. Jason made all of us feel welcome."—J.B., Pro, April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "I go to Kapalua Tennis Gardens several times a year bc we own at the Montage nearby. I usually take a group of tennis ladies with me. Jason runs a great program for us! We always have a fun time and learn something new to take home. He can manage groups of all levels and keep it interesting and high energy for all of us. Nick (pro) is another super knowledgeable instructor with a wicked game. The pros and staff are some of the nicest, most accommodating and warmest people I’ve ever met. The setting is lovely with views of the ocean and golf course, and courts well maintained with four courts in mint condition and the other six in ok condition. I enjoy my visits every time and love meeting usta players from all over the country. It’s such a friendly atmosphere and so collegial always. Highly recommend Kapalua Tennis!"—H.L., Adv. Int., January 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "As an enthusiastic tennis addict, Kapalua Tennis Garden is a place where I get my favorite “fix”. I am always dying to go back for more! Anyone who enjoys the game needs to play here. The courts are prestine, the view is spectacular and the surroundings are so beautiful it deserves the name “paradise”! But the most important reason to go? I would have to say the tennis instruction! Jason Purcell’s personal talent, coaching skills and enthusiasm for improving your game is as breathtaking as the surroundings! If you are planning a vacation in Maui and play tennis, make sure you carve out the time to play here everyday during your stay, trust me!"—T.R., Adv. Int., January 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating "The clinics are great. Courts are great and Jason is wonderful!"—M.M., Adv., January 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Kapalua Tennis was simply amazing! I came to Hawaii for over 1 week and was here every day mingling and playing with other guests and the superb pro's. I look forward to coming back and will be recommending it to everyone I meet. Teaching Professional Nick was one of the most friendly and knowledgeable tennis guru's I've ever met in my life. His drills were fun, and his drop in classes were spot on for placing us with appropriate skill level and enjoyment."—B.G., Pro, April 2018
  • 4-Ball Rating "I have enjoyed playing tennis at the kapalua on and off your years. I had not been back since 2015 and wow what a difference! Nick was fantastic and jason was able to was able to tweak my game to have even greater success. Since i got home I have been crushing it on the court! I also thought Debbi was a delight, so helpful! I cant wait to come be back at the end of the summer for a long tennis vacation with my girlfriends."—J.F., Int., April 2018
  • 4-Ball Rating "I LOVED my experience at Kapalua Tennis Gardens because of Jason, Nick and Debbi. Jason was a phenomenal teacher and as a newer tennis player that makes a huge difference. Jason’s knowledge and patience made it a great learning experience - so much fun. Nick brought the aloha to the double’s socials - such good vibes. I could tell that the whole team worked well together and Debbi couldn’t have been more helpful in the retail shop. I highly recommend people play at Kapalua Tennis (with Jason)."—G.B., Low Int., April 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "Loved this place !!! Played tennis everyday...the setting so gorgeous and they had clinics every morning. The pros were great !! Everyone was so nice...can't wait to come back. The most incredible place I've ever been...most relaxing and beautiful."—K.E., Adv., March 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "While the facility isnt world-class (yet) the staff definitely is. Between Jason, Nick and Debbi these guys are the best. Always accommodating and going the extra mile. Their clinics and instruction is ALWAYS on point, direct and insightful. Don't know how they keep up the great energy and enthusiam, but you'll see it each and everyday. Really can't say enough good things the Kapalua tennis gardens under Jason's direction."—T.Y., Adv. Int., August 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We last visited here 5 years ago. The new skill-level specific programming that has been introduced since our last visit was ideal. Challenged both of us and pitted us against like-skilled players. The setting is so idyllic that a windy or misty day is easily forgotten. When you chose Kapalua it's because there is no better setting on the island for playing tennis. The other resorts do not have the tranquil setting or cooling breezes Kapalua has, the latter making the tennis far more bearable in the strong Hawaiian sun. The tennis pass was a great investment too since we played daily which gave us discounts. Just wish they offered organized match making so I didn't have to give that business to another resort where the setting was far less idyllic."—P.S., Adv. Int., May 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I really enjoy going to Kapalua Tennis Garden. They have great instructors and beautiful courts. There is always something going on there. Either alone or in a group this place is ideal. Jason is a great guy with very solid tennis instruction and gives good feedback. He is truly interested in improving your game."—M.R., Adv. Int., May 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "Beautiful facility and friendly staff. Debbi in the shop takes care of any and all tennis needs. Great place to play!"—A.W., Low Int., April 2017
  • 2½-Ball Rating "The complex is in a beautiful setting and the courts are well maintained. The instructional and shop staff are quite helpful. There are a lot of clinics one can take. The biggest change this year is that setting up matches was virtually discontinued. Fees for locals and visitors were increased. This has resulting in a lot of the locals choosing to play at another complex. We play at a lower level and found a lot at our level (3.0 - 3.5) weren't available now for set up play."—R.E., Int., April 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "This is one of, if not the most beautiful tennis facilities I've ever seen. Jason Purcell is a world class instructor and Director. I will definitely be back! It's too amazing not to."—J.G., Adv., April 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "Great friendly staff. Good tennis instructors. Good experience."—R.W., Adv. Int., April 2017
  • 3½-Ball Rating ""—B.G., Adv., April 2017
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Plenty of courts, friendly and professional staff. Clinics are great as was drop in doubles. Wind can be a challenge, but can be a great excuse for every shot you miss."—P.D., Adv. Int., April 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—R.B., Adv., April 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "Still one of the best facilities to play tennis in the world. LOVE the new team in place, they continue to make tennis fun and enjoyable for all."—S.S., Low Int., April 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "We loved this place! Staff is very friendly, pros are top notch, and setting is beautiful. Fun tennis and we will definitely return!"—B.H., Int., April 2017
  • 3½-Ball Rating ""—R.P., Adv. Int., April 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Great facility and 10 day pass was perfect."—C.P., Int., April 2017
  • 2½-Ball Rating "This resort has completely jumped the shark. Locals won't play here (unless they have to) The tourist are all old poor/novice players It was when the management changed this place wen t down hill The desk lady DOES NOT MATCH ARRANGE - they are basically worth less now because the drop in doubles has SUPER BEGINNER PLAYERS"—J.T., Adv. Int., April 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I had another great experience at The Kapalua Tennis garden! The staff is full of energy and so welcoming. I visit at Christmas every other year and even see some of the same guests each year. The drills were well run and grouped by level. The drop in doubles is especially fun! Match arranging wasn't as organized as some years - it was a work in progress."—M.E., Adv., April 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—C.F., Low Int., March 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "Unbelievable setting for tennis. The pros have tons of experience and were able to improve my technique while giving me great workout."—G.M., Beg., March 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "Great tennis in the midst of lovely Kapalua Resort. An oasis on Maui. Pros are wonderful and setting is heavenly."—B.L., Int., February 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "I came to the Kapalua Resort from Phoenix, Arizona in late August/early September of 2016. The resort is phenomenal. I came for the annual Kapalua Open held on Labor Day each year. This tournament had over 100 players in many divisions. The cost was only $45 to play at this beautiful facility. The price included lunch from the Pineapple Grill, which was the most gourmet player's lunch I have ever seen. While playing on the courts, you can look over and see the most astounding view of Napili Bay. On the other side of the courts you see a gorgeous, top-notch golf course. The courts are some of the best I've played on, and the experience is surreal. The staff was extremely helpful in finding local food places and things to do. I was fortunate enough to meet Jason (the facility director) and Nick (assistant facility director). Both gentlemen are great coaches who are extraordinarily friendly and passionate about the game. Their positive communication and feedback encouraged me to succeed on the court in a way I didn't know was possible. I highly recommend everyone to plan the Kapalua Resort into their travel itinerary this year. I cannot wait to return to this amazing resort!"—A.S., Adv., February 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "This is one of my favorite tennis resort. The pros Jason and Nick are stellar, along with Debbie in shop. I was fortunate enough to have one lesson with Jason which dramatically improved my tennis skills. The clinics are fun, challenging and catered to the people that attend. Great workout and lots of tennis with great tips. The pros really care about improving each individual attendees and it shows when they teach. I can't wait to return as this is one of the best clinics I have ever attended. Highly recommend."—M.L., Adv. Int., February 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "Very helpful and accommodating from the reservation/shop staff to the tennis professionals. Jason and Nick have different but complimentary teaching styles, and both bring a sense of fun and refreshing Aloha that make this a different experience from mainland resorts. Jason has lots of great gadgets that he uses to help with swing shape, core strength, movement and stability on the court. They have a very affordable tennis pass that allows for complimentary court usage, complimentary drop in doubles, and reduced rates for clinics and use of the ball machine. Max 6 people in any tennis clinic, so lots of opportunity to hit the ball and learn. Weather can be an issue on that part of the island, more wind and rain than in Lahaina. But, also mercifully cooler! I am a 3.5 player and felt that I was matched and put into clinics that best suited me. Private lessons have also really helped my game - lots of learning in a short period of time."—T.J., Int., February 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "Excellent instruction by Jason Purcell - he is very observant and gave me two more skills to add to my quiver."—D.C., Adv. Int., February 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "Spent the week at Napili Kei Beach Resort right across the street from the Kapalua Golf & Tennis Club. Participated in two clinics and Jason Purcell helped our little group get better in a couple of private sessions. He came up with great observations in our game and he is good guy on top of that. Thanks Jason!"—M.P., Int., July 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "I am a 4.5 level tennis player and had the pleasure of working with Nick Provenza at the Kapalua Tennis Garden this spring on a trip to Maui. I booked several lessons with him in hopes of improving my backhand technique and forehand power. Nick was patient, professional, and able to take me through progressive steps to accomplish my goals. I particularly found the video analysis he did with me to be very helpful in this process. The facility and staff were wonderful."—B.H., Adv. Int., May 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "Kapalua Tennis Garden is my absolute favorite place to take a tennis vacation. The coaching at Kapalua is superb; I learn excellent fundamentals and strategy each time I go that I can immediately incorporate into my game. The staff is exceptional, the tennis programs are excellent, the merchandise in the pro shop is wonderful, and the grounds are immaculate. I highly Kapalua Tennis Garden to anyone who wants an unforgettable tennis experience."—V.M., Int., April 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Beautiful, tropical setting of the Kapalua Tennis Gardens. Avid tennis players come from all over the island to participate in the friendly, but competitive, clinics and round robins. Nick is a gem of an instructor with lots of enthusiasm. A must go to destination for any tennis player: beginner or advanced."—T.T., Int., April 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Great experience all around. The head tennis pro Nick was fantastic. Great teacher, great player, and super nice. Nice pro shop and terrific hard courts."—C.S., Adv., March 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The staff at Kapalua Tennis Garden were uniformly friendly and service oriented. The Pro Shop was well equipped. In particulary, the instructor was excellent and used a positive approach in her teaching methods with a strong background in the game. The setting -- a block from the ocean on Maui -- was a delight."—S.H., Adv. Int., March 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "Our favorite vacation spot in the whole world is Ka'anapali. After playing tennis all week at the Kapalua Tennis Garden we love it even more now (if that is possible). Great staff/pros (Steve, Colleen, Nick) able to get all levels involved and engaged with a great atmosphere. Highly recommend this to anyone traveling to Maui."—R.B., Beg., March 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "Great experience again for the 15th year. Unbeatable location. First class staff and creative programs. Also lots of other activities in the area and the finest of restaurants. It deserves to be in the top 10"—J.B., Int., March 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "Amazing experience, as always! Great tennis, beautiful surroundings and the staff is great! Everyone at the Tennis Garden is pleasant, kind, informative and goes out of their way to make sure you have a wonderful experience. Steve and his staff are terrific! A special thank you to Denise! Mahalo,"—P.S., Adv. Int., February 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating "Fantastic facility with excellent, friendly staff and pros. Arrived in Hawaii with the explicit intent of trying to improve a specific stroke (serve), and with the help of Steve and Colleen, left the island with a solid sense of what needs to change. Just have to hit about 50k of them to get the muscle memory down. :-) The staff was also extremely helpful in arranging hitting partners throughout the week. Recommend this facility highly."—J.M., Adv., January 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The pros were fun and friendly and accommodating. They were very helpful and taught using video and science to hit the ball biomechanically efficient."—J.B., Adv., January 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "Once again our visit to Maui was outstanding. The tennis we play at the KTG fits us perfectly. Both the daily clinics and matches put together by Steve and his staff are fun and beneficial to our games. We will be back again in 2016!"—C.S., Adv., January 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating "We had the pleasure of taking some classes with Colleen. She was so spot on the little changes we needed to make to improve our game. She had great input and made us feel very welcome. The front desk is outstanding as well. Very friendly and willing to arrange some play time with other members."—H.P., Adv., January 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "Hands down, the Kapalua Tennis Garden is the premier tennis facility in the Hawaiian Islands and its no surprise that so many people return to Kapalua to enjoy tennis. The daily tennis clinics are the best deal on the islands and really improved my game. The organized drop in doubles program is well run and all levels are expertly matched. The staff is exceptional and the Tennis Garden's setting, nestled near the emerald west Maui mountains and overlooking the Pacific beaches at Kapalua Bay is just unsurpassed. The only weakness is that the Kapalua Tennis Garden is no longer associated with the Ritz Carlton Tennis Courts (formerly the Kapalua Tennis Village)."—C.L., Int., October 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating "Colleen and Steve are an amazing and welcoming one, two punch of not only tennis knowledge and teaching, but also in welcoming folks into their special facility. We first visited a year ago and on our return trip were shown the same Aloha spirit. We enjoyed clinics, lessons, drop ins...the entire gamut. There is not enough praise for these two and their staff!! We look forward to returning soon!"—M.W., Adv. Int., October 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—R.B., Adv., September 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I did several stroke clinics, two of which ended up being essentially private lessons with Colleen Patton Campbell. Her teaching was superb. Her suggestions and corrections were the best I have ever received in playing tennis regularly over the last 25 years. I have been able to incorporate some of her suggestions with immediate and noticeable benefit to my game. I am still working on some of her other recommendations. She is energetic and passionate and an excellent instructor. I wish that I had had more time to work with her. I would definitely return for more clinics or lessons the next time we go to Maui."—R.F., Int., September 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Coach Colleen and Steve are excellent. Coach Colleen worked with me for a couple of private lessons and a few clinics and was extremely knowledgeable and educational. Both coaches really want to improve your game. With me they mainly concentrated on stroke skills (ground strokes and volleys) but gave me plenty of strategy tips as well. This is one of my favorite places to vacation and being able to improve my tennis makes it all the more enjoyable."—R.K., Beg., September 2015
  • 4-Ball Rating "Kapalua Tennis Garden is great. The staff is exceptional and the facility is very nice (although one of the courts I played on needs to be resurfaced but I'm sure they will address it). I was most impressed with their match making service. They set me up with a terrific player and we had a really good time."—B.G., Adv. Int., August 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "This tennis resort is so much fun, efficient, and knowledgeable. My lesson with Colleen was so good. I first got scared because I thought it was too much for me . After just a few minutes of instruction, I was eager to learn. By an hour, I have a full grasp of what she wanted me to do. I could not practice this on my own. The staff at this facility are just a pleasure to be around."—A.H., Int., August 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating "The pros at Kapalua, Colleen and Steve, are really knowledgeable. They make you feel like improving your game is their highest priority. They sincerely want to help you improve. They spend a lot of time analyzing your stroke and serve. Not only is the coaching excellent, it's affordable too. The drills and clinics were some of the most helpful I've ever had. I also played in the drop in doubles. All the other players are really nice. A great place to play tennis!"—A.E., Adv. Int., August 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I have literally planned my vacations around being able to play tennis here. The staff is terrific."—R.A., Adv. Int., June 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating "This tennis program has improved 1000% over the past year. The pros are great the clinics are varied and many and overall it is a terrific place to play tennis. They are very accommodating in setting up matches for you and also have drop in doubles throughout the week. Colleen is a terrific pro. She can teach to different levels at the same time and has a way of saying things in different ways so everyone understands. It's always great to really learn something new when you have played for a long time."—G.M., Adv., June 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Good teachers, Friendly staff and active programs"—G.H., Int., June 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I had an opportunity to take tennis lesson and drills from Steve and Colleen Campbell. They are exceptional tennis professionals!!! I was very impressed and most importantly, I learned. Steve, Colleen and the staff at Kapalua are indeed, first class."—L.T., Adv., June 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating "We had an exceptional experience at the Kapalua Tennis Garden. My husband and I did drills and/or had matches arranged daily. The drills were fantastic in that the pros all teach with a similar style. So instead of hearing one technique from a pro, and then hearing a different methodology from another pro the next day, the messaging was all consistent-this made it much easier to incorporate the suggested changes into our strokes and our games. We have taken many tennis vacations in the past and do drills regularly. Steve, Colleen, and David were quite dedicated to the players, focusing on the participants and working hard on our individual games. The staff that handles the pro shop and scheduling is extremely helpful, friendly, and attentive. The Kapalua Tennis Garden will be a main factor in scheduling our next visit to Maui!"—M.F., Int., June 2015
  • 4-Ball Rating "They did a very good job of making matches for me, including when the weather at Kapalua was not good (raining). Anna in the pro shop is great!"—S.S., Adv., June 2015
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—B.R., Adv. Int., May 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I spend the week in Maui as my home base but work trips to the other islands. For me this was a work trip no family etc. I always made a point to check at the Kapalua Tennis Gardens with Steve the tennis director there. He and his Wife Colleen have really made this club better than ever before. They set me up with one morning of doubles before my work day and another day with one of the members there playing singles. All the pros there introduced themselves and I just felt very well care for. Thank you, Steve"—G.B., Adv. Int., May 2015
  • 4-Ball Rating "Took a drill session with one of the tennis pros, Colleen Campbell, and was very impressed with her ability to observe my game and give me tips and suggestions on how to improve my strokes! She kept it fun and gave memory aids to help me to remember the new habits she suggested. Excellent Tennis Club all around with friendly and helpful staff, beautiful tennis grounds and environment in the resort town of Kapalua, West Maui!!!"—T.B., Adv., May 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—M.T., Low Int., April 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating "I took a 'Stroke of the Day' hour clinic that focused on serving with Colleen Patton. She was really great. Within 30 minutes I had a completely new serve - a much improved ball toss, grip and motion. She even offered a way to hold the ball while tossing to minimize the bad tosses. I'm so glad I took this class. Definitely well worth it. The staff are really friendly and the grounds are gorgeous. I highly recommend it."—S.H., Int., April 2015
  • 4-Ball Rating "I arranged for my HS son to have a place to practice for a week while on vacation. It turned into much more. David and Steve provided great instruction, and put in extra hours tweaking his technique. More importantly, Steve talked about how to approach tennis strategically. The many suggestions about future tennis opportunities in college, the making of a video, the life lessons that were incorporated, these were all the extras that Steve provided. And then Colleen was wonderful with my 9 year old. She explained things so well and I could see tremendous growth in just one week. He even got to jump in with the Junior Academy kids. Great atmosphere, awesome people to work with."—B.H., Low Int., April 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Had clinics with Steve and Coleen. They really made the expeince fun and a learnin one. Steve is both funny and able to offer very helpful suggestions to fine tune my game. The setting is really pretty and they have a nicely appointed pro shop. Everyone is friendly and helpfull both tennis and for local questions such as places to eat. Their clinics are upbeat and places to learn. I really enjoyed my tennis there!"—M.D., Adv. Int., April 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The Kapalua Tennis Garden is the most picturesque tennis facility we've ever been to. It's definitely worth a visit, even for a casual tennis player. I've been playing tennis for most of my life, but my husband just started playing last year. Between clinics, lessons, and drop-in match play, there were plenty of playing opportunities for both of us. The tennis pros (Colleen, David, and Steve), gave excellent and encouraging instruction. David transformed my husband's serve in just two lessons. Both my husband and I were able to take valuable tips home with us to work on. The clinics (stroke of the day and drills/cardio tennis) are great value at only $26 per person. If tennis is the main purpose of your trip, make sure you budget for some rain."—E.P., Adv., March 2015
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—P.P., Int., March 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating "I took 5 clinics with Tennis Pro Colleen Patton at the Kapalua Tennis Garden while on a 1 week vacation in Maui. This wasn't a deliberate 'tennis vacation' for me but the Kapalua Tennis Garden is so incredibly gorgeous and the pros there were so welcoming and fun that I kept coming back to make the morning clinics the start of each day. Colleen adjusts her instruction style quickly to meet the abilities and needs of each class so every clinic was unique and dynamic. Kapalua Tennis Garden should not be missed by any tennis lovers on a trip to Maui. It is also very affordable relative to the prices for pretty much everything else in Maui. Definitely a highlight!"—M.S., Int., February 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Beautiful facility with nice courts on multiple levels set into the hillside in Kapalua. Staff is very helpful, and graciously restrung my wife's racket in a day after she broke a string on our vacation. This led us to be invited to a tennis workout and group skills instruction, both led by Colleen, who was a positive and effective teacher."—N.M., Low Int., February 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating "Strengths: Robust offerings for clinics, drop-ins, and match-making services. Great, friendly pros. Excellent instruction. Friendly, social, non-intimidating environment. Weaknesses: Difficult to navigate website which is well hid under Kapalua's golf program, needed to search hard to find tennis info. On-site restrooms need updating."—A.P., Low Int., February 2015
  • 4-Ball Rating "Excellent instruction in the Strokes of the Day clinics. Really helped my volleys and forehand. Steve made it fun at the same time. Great way to start the day in Hawaii."—M.L., Int., February 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Instruction with Pro Colleen Patton EXCEPTIONAL!!!!!!!!!! I can't wait to return! Thank you Colleen and Kapalua Tennis Garden Best Vacation Ever!"—S.B., Adv., February 2015
  • 4-Ball Rating "My husband and I are avid tennis players, 3.5 and 4.0 respectively. We adore falling out of bed and literally onto the tennis courts. The staff arranges good games, mixes up the play, provides stroke of the day every day and on Saturdays and some evenings, has drop in matches. The fees are very reasonable. I have played so much tennis here over the past month that I have to take a vacation from my vacation, muscles feel well used. We highly recommend the new staff, Colleen, Steve and David--outstanding!!!"—W.W., Adv., January 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating "The Staff at Kapalua Tennis Garden helped me SO MUCH. I have been playing tennis for 10+ years and the couple lessons I took they really gave me some great advice and helped improve my game, backhand and serve tremendously. I liked the way they taught the lessons. They saw my weaknesses and corrected them right away, they knew what they were doing and were very nice. I had a great time there and will take the lessons that I learned and use them for years. Thank you all so much! I have been too many tennis resorts and locations but I felt you guys were the best! Thanks."—S.K., Adv. Int., January 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating "First I would like to start off by saying that I have enjoyed playing tennis at the Kapalua Tennis Garden for the last 14 years. Every year for my one months vacation I stay at the Napili Sunset which is a leisure 5 minute walk from the Kapalua Tennis Garden. The courts are centered on a extremely well manicured golf course with a restaurant right above them. The views are breathtaking. Recently Steve Campbell and Colleen Patton have joined the staff as Director and Professional. They have brought an uplifting and fresh attitude to the the adult drop ins and junior programs. Everyone is always made to feel welcome. They will gladly arrange for matches if you are traveling solo or would like to play some mixed doubles. Do yourself a favor and plan your next vacation to Maui and certainly visit the Kapalua Tennis Garden. Make sure and and tell Colleen that Misa from Las Vegas says Aloha. I promise you will have the time of your life."—M.J., Adv. Int., December 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "When vacationing in Maui I make sure to stay close to the tennis club. They are absolutely tops in my book for arranging matches, plus lessons plus drop-ins or other activities on the court. Steve and Colleen are just fun to be around. You can have some tennis every day, and I have never experienced that at any other resort."—W.F., Adv. Int., December 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating "The Kapalua Tennis Garden is a wonderful tennis facility in an absolutely gorgeous setting. It was a very friendly club."—M.L., Adv., December 2014
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Colleen Patton gave us (husband and wife) and excellent private lesson. She adjusted her method to each of our levels and learning styles. She presented both forehand and backhand strokes in a well organized, simple, easy to remember way. We went home to our normal games with clear points to watch as we try to incorporate the lesson into our games. Both she and Director Steve were very friendly and accomodating and we felt like we were very welcome at the resort. This was my first lesson ever and I now want to take more in the future. Our love for tennis increased as a result of visiting Steve and Colleen's facility. Great job!"—M.M., Int., November 2014
  • 4-Ball Rating "Kapalua Tennis Garden - Lahaina, Maui - A great tennis destination for all your tennis needs! The new Director of Tennis, Steve Campbell, his Assistant Colleen, and the staff of the Garden do a great job arranging games daily, sometimes twice a day if desired. For a fee of $95 per couple, you become a "member for the month." This entitles you to unlimited tennis, matches arranged with locals and other visiting guests, discounts on lessons,, classes and on merchandise. On Saturdays, catch the Cardio Tennis Class followed by two hours of Drop-In Doubles. The only negative is the frequent rain showers, which quickly disapte, but you may have to find a squeege or two to continue play! Great tennis, great staff. We look forward to our visit next October!"—P.A., Adv. Int., October 2014
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Enjoyed the Cardio Tennis class and the Stroke of the Day clinic. Fun instructors. Learned a few things to keep working on at home. Courts are nice. Location convenient to where we were staying at Kapalua Bay Villas."—J.A., Low Int., October 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Steve, colleen, and andy are the best. I learned more in 4 days and had fun doing it!Great instruction with a feel of aloha. I can't wait to go back."—P.D., Int., October 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating "Beautiful Kapalua Tennis Garden and pro Steve Cambell made for a wonderful experience. Thanks."—E.H., Adv. Int., October 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating "My husband and I took lessons with Andy Fitzell. He was extremely competent and professional and at the same time a blast to work with. The facilities were truly exceptional - one of the most beautiful and well kept tennis settings I've played in. We look forward to going back and hope to work with Andy again."—A.F., Low Int., August 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating "I have played these courts since 1985, and each time is amazing. The surrounding Kapalua Bay Golf Course and the VIew of the Ocean is unique! Being a former pro in the 70's, I realize that each moment on the court is special, and should never be taken for granted! The Kapalua Bay Villas are fantastic and the Montage Spa is world class! The pro at Kapalua, Colleen Patton, also is special! You will not be disappointed if you schedule a lesson or two while you visit! A very articulate , intelligent pro, with excellent intuition for the game! Perfect court surfaces, gentle ocean breeze, and sun shines till sunset!
    A fantastic restaurant 100 feet away from the court is ready to offer a meal or a tropical beverage to cap the experience at Kapalua! The only downside is you have to leave at some point, which is very depressing. Cant wait to return! No wonder Bjorn Borg enjoyed playing these courts! They are simply the finest, with the finest staff , in Hawaii! Aloha!"
    —J.P., Pro, August 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "This is a great facility! I have been there with my family eight times and always enjoyed the experience. The courts are beautiful and there are drop in programs for all levels. The staff also set up matches for my teenage daughter, who plays junior USTA tournaments."—M.L., Int., August 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating "We went with our three children (ages 15, 13 and 9) and it was just great. The coaches are just brilliant and very friendly and the children programmes are excellent and able to manage all levels. Most scenic courts we have ever seen ! Top quality overall - we will definately come back."—T.H., Int., August 2014
  • 4-Ball Rating "I took tennis lessons every day while I was on vacation in Maui. I was staying at the new Montage across the street from the Tennis Garden which was great. It was 5 min. Walk. Or they arranged for a golf cart to take me. I took my lessons with Colleen and she was amazing. If your in Kapalua. Book lessons with her. She is awesome teacher and I wish she lived in Los Angeles:) I learned so much from her, I was excited when I did come home and I did work with my teacher here and I was able to apply what I learned with her. She is fabulous and everyone at the tennis garden was really great and made me feel at home. I can't wait to return."—D.K., Low Int., August 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating "Our three children 9, 7& 4 years old had their great first experience learning tennis this summer with Coach Steve, Coach Colleen and Coach Andy ! They enjoyed learning the basic skills of tennis as well as spending great moments with new friends and coaches. We will definitely come back to their tennis camp and weekly practice when we visit Kapalua. Mahalo!"—H.S., Beg., August 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Outstanding clinics led by resident pro Andy Fitzell. His explanations are very clear with excellent visual analogies to highlight technical detail . He even filmed and critiqued serves . Outstanding experience. This is a very gifted teacher. I know teaching talent, as I am a professor . I played here last year. The previous teaching was already good. This present management and teaching is an improvement over an already strong program."—A.Y., Int., June 2014
  • 4-Ball Rating "Finding good Tennis Instructors and Tennis Coaches is difficult. If you are looking to improve your game and traveling to Maui I would highly suggest Jeff Smith the Tennis Director at the Kapalua Tennis Garden. He is the real deal! 5 Why's 1. You will see rapid results 2. National Certifications 3. Experience Teaching Different Ages, Levels, and Groups 4. Expert Knowledge of Proper Technique 5. Personality plus"—M.K., Adv. Int., December 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating "Outstanding tennis and professionalism by Head Tennis Pro at Kapalua Tennis. Can not say enough on the great drop in double clinic."—D.C., Adv. Int., November 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Kapalua is a great place to play. Love the friendly staff from the pro Jeff, Assistant pro Nick, to the wonderful girls in the office who do such a good job setting up all the many tennis activities and matches."—S.C., Int., October 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating "Kapalua tennis garden is our club away from home. The staff could not treat us better and work very hard to set up matches, make the drop in tennis fun and have a variety of clinics and activities going ."—R.C., Adv. Int., October 2013
  • 4-Ball Rating "We booked a vacation to Maui without even thinking of tennis. As the date neared I decided to check on-line and found Kapalua Tennis Garden. It was the perfect fit for combining tennis with other things we wanted to do on Maui (first time there). They offer a 1 hour stroke of the day clinic every morning at 9am. The pros were great and I definitely picked up a couple of thing to take home with me. Three days a week they have drop-in tennis. The turnout was good and tennis director was very good at keeping the matches competitive. We are definitely going back to Maui and plan to play even more tennis next time."—S.A., Int., October 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating "Beautiful setting, good daily clinics, friendly tennis pros and staff, overall great place to visit and play."—H.L., Adv., September 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Loved our week at Kapalua. Tennis program was great. Especially enjoyed the drop-in doubles on Saturday morning - some good players. Used what I learned in my lesson with Jeff Smith, who has a great teaching style. Only weakness would be it was a little windy, but the wind also cooled us off a bit during the warm afternoons. Can't wait to go back."—P.L., Adv., August 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Excellent daily stroke of day clinics which works on different skill sets each day. Great tennis instructions from club pro Jeff then applies the instructions in actual drill practices - lots of fun. Strenghts are the great customer services received from entire staffing who will go out of there way to get you a match game or signing you up for a lession or clinic. The tennis courts are in great conditions and local members and guest are very friendly. Must go and visit Kapalua Tennis Garden to experience it. My wife and I had a terrific time. Weaknesses are it may rain time to time during your clinic but the rain stops and courts drys down quickly. Also, must learn to deal with trade winds if you are not used to playing when windy. But the sea breeze feels good especially when you are working out hard."—E.A., Adv., June 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating "This is my first visit to Kapalua Tennis Gardens, what a beautiful place. My husband I enrolled in the daily stroke of the day lessons and played everyday. The tennis pro, Jeff was amazing, we learned so much from him. We highly recommend if you're in Maui to look him up. Timing was perfect, we played tennis in the morning, then went site seeing in the afternoon. The setting is gorgeous, the staff professional and friendly, full of aloha spirit. I can't imagine a better tennis experience anywhere!"—V.A., Adv. Int., June 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating "I have been coming here every year for 20 years. I always enroll in the daily stroke of the day lessons, play drop in doubles, then head for the beach to snorkel or boogie board at Napili Bay only three minutes away! The setting is gorgeous, the staff professional and friendly, full of aloha spirit. Whenever I return home, friends comment on the improvement in my game. I can't imagine a better tennis experience anywhere! There are plenty of rental condos on the beach available at reasonable rates for those who don't want to stay at the pricier Ritz-Carlton or Villas. The weather is cooler on this side of the island of Maui, a plus for those who don't want to play in the broiling sun."—S.D., Adv. Int., June 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating "Everything was excellent!"—J.M., Beg., April 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating "Kapalua has the most amazing tennis program and resort! I travel the world training with various coaches and these guys are my favorite! The courts are beautiful, grounds awesome, staff excellent and spa a great place to relax after an exhilarating workout or day in the sun! I recommend Kapalua Resort to everyone!"—D.M., Adv. Int., April 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating "Really a wonderful program in Tennis in an incredible location!"—I.H., Adv. Int., April 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I do not see any weekness. They are friendly and the drop ins are a lot of fun. We also like the tennis program that lets us join and they find matches for us. It is a Great experence."—D.T., Adv. Int., April 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating "SIMPLY OUTSTANDING in every regard!"—H.P., Int., April 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating "Beautiful facility with 10 courts in an idyllic setting with spectacular views and tropical breezes. Wonderful restaurant open breakfast, lunch and dinner steps away with views of the courts and surrounding countryside. Jeff, the director, runs a great program ranging from technical skills training for adults to kids."—G.K., Adv., April 2013
  • 4-Ball Rating "Beautiful setting, terrific instruction (Jeff Smith is energetic and supportive), nice pro shop. We had a great time playing on vacation."—S.A., Adv. Int., April 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating "Pros Jeff and Quinn run an incredible program at the Kapalua Tennis Garden. The setting is stunning and they make players of all levels feel welcome. Clinics (both adult and juniors) are dynamic, challenging and fun. Loads of courts made it very easy to get court time and we were able to book clinics and privates with lots of ease as well. Very friendly staff inside helping make the overall experience a wonderful one. Hard to imagine a better way to spend a vacation!"—L.L., Int., April 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating "Beautiful setting, friendly, helpful staff. Walking distance to a lovely beach and adjacent to great golf and restaurants. Great court availability and well maintained. No weaknesses. We will return!"—S.W., Low Int., April 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Gredat, great staff. They worked hard to meeet our every request, especially in setting u competitive tennis matches everyday we visited. I took a lesson and the instruction was alsotop notch. The facilities are first rate and walking distance from oour condo thhat we rented. Also walking distance to great beaches and running path along ghhe water. And the restaurants that we could also walk to were top notch. A peak tennis experience in each annd every way."—M.W., Adv., April 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—K.F., Adv., April 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Set up of the resort is spectacular, plenty of well maintained courts, never had a problem to reserve a court or the ball machine. Entire staff at Kapalua Tennis Garden is extremely pleasant and helpful. Jeff is a great instructor, in only five lessons he helped my daughter to improve tremendously her groundstroke and serve. We will return for sure next time we are in Maui."—G.K., Low Int., April 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "What an absolutely incredible find the Kapalua Tennis Garden was for me on this trip. I was in Maui for two weeks and first learned of this facility on the Destination Tennis show on the Tennis Channel. I decided to check it out and it absolutely blew my mind. The combination of great instructional pros, an intimate pro shop, good competition and a paradise type backdrop. As someone who visits Maui a couple of weeks a year, the Kapalua Tennis Garden has now become a significant part of all my future trips. Thanks for a great two weeks Jeff & Quinn!!!!!!"—K.E., Adv. Int., April 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—S.M., Adv. Int., April 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I participated in the "drop-in doubles" tennis offered three times a week! It was well run and a great experience to meet players of all levels of play! I was especially impressed with the staff's expertise and friendliness. I am definitely looking forward to playing there again next year!!! CP in IL"—C.P., Adv. Int., April 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Strengths: nice sunny weather adequate tennis courts experienced and friendly tennis director/coach/staff feel like home great loadging exceptional fitness facilties and spa have been back same resort for 9 years Weakness feel sad when time to go home"—H.H., Int., March 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating "A classy resort with first class staff and same for the tennis facility. Also an amazing array of amenities nearby. This was our ninth year and we'll be back next yea."—J.B., Int., March 2013
  • 3½-Ball Rating "The staff from PBI was excellent, having two Division 1 college players teaching there. Jeff Smith is the head pro and tennis director and was very helpful and encouraging. I'm a 4.5 rated player and felt like the instruction I received put me in a much more confident position to compete at that level.
    The facility was very nice, but the weather this time of year was a little difficult with the powerful winds."
    —M.T., Adv. Int., March 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I had a great experience at Kapalua tennis garden."—H.N., Int., February 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The Tennis Garden is the highlight of my visit to Maui. Jeff Smith and his staff work so hard to make this a friendly, positive, fun, and active experience. I enjoy both the clinics and doubles events. They manage the mix of skills so well, it seems to be the just-right combination of a challenge and relaxed fun."—J.M., Int., February 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating "I just had a great week in northern Maui, and the highlight of it all was the Kapalua Tennis Garden. I checked in at the pro-shop the day I arrived, asking if I could get some games there during my stay in Napili. I was welcomed right in and invited to attend the Saturday morning doubles drop-in the next day. This activity was super-well coordinated by Jeff and I was able to play some really fun sets with people from all over North America. Instantly, I had a bunch of playing partners for the rest of my stay. Throughout the week, Ana and Leanne arranged games for me every morning. All I had to do was show up. I had the opportunity to use the ball machine whenever I wanted as well.
    The grounds are beautiful and the courts are in fantastic shape. The other highlight is the price. For $50, I was able to become a member for a month. This entitled me to attend drop-in sessions 3 x/week, to use the ball machine and to have matches organized for me any and every day that I wanted. It also gave me a discount on clinics and on merchandise. I only stayed for a week but played 7 times and got more than my money's worth out of my 1-month membership. Next year, I'm going to stay 2 or 3 weeks! Thanks so much to all the the staff at Kapalua Tennis Garden :)"
    —E.M., Int., February 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating "Stenghts: 1) Great Director! Jeff Smith 2) Great location in Hawaiian paradise 3) Courts are great (although some may need to be redone) 4) Attracts many people who love the sport at all levels (courts are often full!) 5) Use of ball machine A+ 6) Great and friendly staff at Tennis Garden 7) Fresh water readily available 8) Garden itself is very well taken care of"—E.C., Adv. Int., February 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating "Every year we are greatly enjoy Maui's beaches, but our vacation would not be complete without playing at the pittoresque Kapalua gardens with their highly enthusiastic pro Jeff as our host. It's like a big family and I already look forward to be back in Summer, one of the ost outstanding overalll holiday experiences!"—L.S., Adv. Int., February 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We have stayed on Maui every year for the past 5 years and one of the highlights is playing Tennis at Kapalua, enjoying great matches and outstanding hospitality and a very dedicated, excellent pro Jeff. We'll be back this Summer for sure!"—R.N., Int., February 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating "Most accommodating. Provided excellent instruction. Arranged play with many other visitors. Despite being a temporary member they treated me with great respect and kindness. It is a gorgeous facility. Access to court time was not a problem. I will have many pleasant memories of the good time I had there. The Pineapple Grill is a wonderful restaurant as well."—C.P., Int., January 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "This is the 10 th year that my husband and I went to Kapalua. Originally, we went just to vacation in Maui but after our first experience at Kapalua tennis gar dens, we have returned annually just to play tennis at the Kapalua. We take advantage of all their offerings starting with clinics in the mornings, doubles games or drop-in doubles games in the afternoons. We also take lessons from the pros. This is the 3 rd year that we saw Jeff Smith, the head pro.
    Jeff has done a marvelous job providing partners as well as teaching at the resort. The club is well run and very nice to play on. As I stated earlier, I return each year just for the Kapalua tennis. I've considered going elsewhere in Hawaii but I'd miss the club too much. For tennis players, this is an incredibly fun and busy tennis club."
    —S.M., Adv. Int., January 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The Kapalua Tennis Garden is located in the Kapalua Villas Resort on the northern tip of the island of Maui in Hawaii. This is our second trip to this beautiful destination. The Resort is very scenic and spacious with a number of villas as well as the Ritz-Carlton hotel. Couple of fantastic restaurants on-site including Merriman's which is a must-do for the picturesque sunset at 5:30-5:45. The Tennis Garden facility has great hard courts and the teaching and club staff are superb. I am a 5.0+ player and the head pro, Jeff Smith is an excellent instructor and hitting partner.
    We stayed here last year and the weather this year was even more beautiful. It is a stunning place to play tennis when it is sunny and little wind.
    There are a variety of villas to rent. This year we rented a one bedroom in close proximity to the ocean. It was a fantastic experience watching the Pacific Humpback whales within sight of our vantage point.
    Definitely would recommend this resort and the Kapalua Tennis Garden for any tennis enthusiasts."
    —M.H., Adv., January 2013
  • 4-Ball Rating "Have holidayed in Kapalua Villas several years. One of the most beautiful places on the planet. Great tennis facility, a real gem. Jeff Smith is an excellent pro."—A.F., Adv., January 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Best 'stroke of the day' clinics ever experienced....provide racquets and shoes .....friendly, supportive, intelligent staff"—S.N., Int., January 2013
  • 4-Ball Rating "I was lucky enough to have private lessons with both Jeff and Quinn. The program was very helpful as clinics were always available and Drop in Doubles were a great way to meet others and play lots of sets. Rain was seldom a major problem. Folks were very friendly and patient. Great vacation!!"—J.D., Low Int., December 2012
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Chief instructor JEFF is very kind and good manager of this resort. I usually enjoy tennis at KAPALUA, JEFF's assist. From new years day of 2013 to JAN 7, I ang my friend visit KAPALUA and play tennis. Please make game matching during our stay. Stay at Napili Sunset unit# 103 or 104 or 105."—K.I., Int., December 2012
  • 4-Ball Rating "Fantastic venue to play tennis. Plenty of clinics and individual matches the club can set up for you. Jeff and Quinn we're awesome and can't wait to get back to Kapalua."—T.T., Adv. Int., November 2012
  • 4-Ball Rating "A superb tennis facility in terms of courts, setting and clubhouse. Stayed in nearby Kaanapali and only had a chance to play one day. Signed up for a hitting clinic, was the only one present, so I had a private one hour lesson with Quinn. Very good instruction, although a drill clinic probably would have been more fun. Did manage to play with some regular members. It was low season during my visit and I suspect the experience would be even better when more players are around."—P.R., Adv. Int., October 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We saw the Kapalua Tennis Garden from the window of a restaurant on the property, and decided to give it a try. I had not played tennis in more than 20 years, and my wife has never played. We took three private lessons (over several days), and we were both delighted. Our instructor - Quinn - was not only a skilled player and a very nice fellow, but he was a terrific teacher. We both felt comfortable in the first 3 minutes. While we only had time for three lessons, we learned a ton and, based on our great experience, are going to upgrade our health club membership back home to include tennis. My wife, who had never held a racket as of five days ago, finished her third lesson in a 20-stroke rally with Quinn. She was ecstatic, and she deserved to be. While we were there, we watched Jeff - the lead professional - coach a player who was already extremely good. He was also very happy with his lesson. Net: it's extremely scenic and a great place for players of all levels - from absolute beginners (my wife), to players like me who have not played in 20+ years, to people who are very skilled. We are both hooked on the game now, and we look forward to spending a lot more time at the Kapalua Tennis Garden when we return to Maui in a year."—D.S., Low Int., September 2012
  • 4-Ball Rating "I have used the Kapalua Gardens as my tennis activity for the last five year during my vacation. You are welcomed with enthusiasm, encouraging you to play regardless of level. The staff is cohesive and imbued with tennis knowledge. Tennis director, Jeff Smith, has a.unique talent for the management, marketing and professional instruction to all age groups. Drop-in-play integrating the levels of players into an enjoyable format is a plus that invites visitors and permanent residents to keep coming."—E.A., Adv. Int., September 2012
  • 3½-Ball Rating "I enjoyed the program, stroke of the day and the drop in for doubles in the afternoon. Jeff Smith and Quinn were very professional in their teaching and on time. Also my forehand and volley has improved."—D.D., Int., September 2012
  • 5-Ball Rating "How can you beat this? Jeff Smith and his crew are so nice and professional. The courts are beautiful. We participated in the Maui Open which he ran perfectly. 140 players, no hitches! Go there!"—T.S., Adv., September 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I hit with Jeff twice on this trip he is a great teacher and hits a great ball! In addition, the office set me up with a local player and we played some great sets. I will be back again. CB San Diego"—C.B., Pro, September 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—S.M., Int., September 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Best resort tennis that I've experienced. Lots of tennis going on - drop-in tennis that attracts a lot of participants, daily stroke-of-the-day sessions, and match arranging. I found the instruction to be very effective and the entire staff was extremely welcoming and helpful."—N.P., Adv. Int., August 2012
  • 5-Ball Rating "An incredible tennis facility with great classes, amazing instructors, clinics and drop in matches. Highly recommend to all."—A.W., Int., August 2012
  • 4-Ball Rating "I vacation here every year for the past 3 years with our time share at the Ritz, and every year I make sure to sign up for a clinic every morning while I'm there. The pros are fantastic and cater to all abilities. The drop in doubles on Saturdays are a favorite. I love meeting and playing with people from all over the country and locally. My kids also love taking their clinics too. It's just a great facility that has something for everyone who likes to play tennis. I'm anxiously waiting to return next February!!"—G.D., Adv. Int., August 2012
  • 4-Ball Rating "The facillities, staff and setting are as good as any in the world. We reccommend Kapalua Tennis Garden without exception except for the inconvenience of an occasional morning rain shower. Jeff Smith and Quinn are a real credit to the organization"—T.W., Int., July 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "My husband and I had a great experience with the monthly membership. It fit our needs perfectly. Loved the drop in tennis Mon Wed & Sat. Appreciated local matches that were set up to play also. Favorite Pro - Jeff Smith! Great coordinator for drop in tennis. Quinn just arrived and we really enjoyed him too. In the tennis shop Anna is amazing! Give them all a raise. They deserve it. They promote your resort well."—D.W., Adv. Int., June 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Great staff--Jeff, Anna, and Quinn are helpful, friendly, energetic. Love the Saturday, Monday, and Wednesday drop om matches."—G.W., Int., June 2012
  • 4-Ball Rating "Strengths: lots of courts, GREAT teaching pros, lots of drop in doubles times, beautiful/well tended courts, very kind/welcoming members, wonderful service and experience, tons of classes to choose from...you can play everyday for a reason! Amazing demo racquet selection--I almost didn't need to bring my own racquet.
    Improvements: add singles drop in's; more visibility on Game Matching (singles/doubles)
    Visiting from SF, wasn't sure how much I'd be able to play tennis...Kapalua Tennis Garden changed that where I was able to play 5 out of 8 days. World class teaching with tons of valuable classes to choose from--including for kids. Lessons are very reasonably priced. I learned a ton in my three lessons and had a great time playing drop in doubles. Will be back!!!"
    —S.W., Int., June 2012
  • 4-Ball Rating "Jeff did a great job of getting people on the court playing tennis."—C.J., Adv. Int., June 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I would highly recommend this to anyone. Nice to start the day off with a stroke of the day clinic, followed by a little beach time at some of the local beaches (which are always rated as some of the best in the US). The staff were extremely friendly and knowledgeable. I guess if I had to pick a weakness, it would only be that the pro shop could have carried a bit more equipment (I'm really grasping for a weakness though.)"—S.B., Int., June 2012
  • 5-Ball Rating "I so enjoyed my experience ( a week long) of playing, drilling and lessons with Jeff Smith at this resort. Every level is welcome and accomodated. I took drills at first, then realzied that Jeff could offer so much as a ro and also took daily lessons. Jeff , and his staff, are friendly, helpful an very knowledgeable. Thanks!!!"—P.H., Adv. Int., May 2012
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Clinics were only okay. Here they pretty much have to play with emphasis on 1 area of focus instead of putting you through a workout as well. Really depends on what you like from a clinic. Ended up taking lessons from Jeff Smith and he was fantastic! Walked away with some great pointers. He got at exactly what I wanted. I will go back to him on future trips."—M.P., Low Int., April 2012
  • 5-Ball Rating "This was our second stay at the Kapalua Villas (April 2011 and April 2012). On both visits the Kapalua Tennis Garden was one of our favorite aspects of the vacation. On our most recent stay we took advantage of court time, drop-in doubles, and our daughter (age 11 and a member of a tennis academy) took two private lessons with Jeff. She thought the lessons were outstanding. Jeff and his crew have a great thing going and we can't wait to return."—D.J., Adv. Int., April 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Jeff Smith is a fantastic tennis pro for all ages and levels. The facilities at Kapalua are very nice, and the tennis staff are friendly and professional. Our 9 yr old daughter also participated in a junior tournament level clinic run by Jeff and Chris, and she thought it was excellent."—D.S., Adv., March 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "As a tennis playing family, we all found exactly what we needed at the Kapalua Tennis Club. From my nationally ranked son who wanted to hit with a strong professional, my husband and younger 12 year old who enjoyed using the ball machine, to myself who enjoys playing competitive doubles, we were all satified with our tennis experience at this club...and that's not easy to do ! We all played virtually every day: there are clinics for juniors; drop in doubles at a competitive level where lots of people from the island, visitors and residents alike, actually drop in; daily stroke clinics or you can arrange private lessons with either of the very personable and outstanding tennis pros. I can't imagine and certainly haven't found any better location for a tennis club, the setting was superb. I highly recommend going to Maui, staying at a Kapalua property and playing tennis at this club. You may never want to go anywhere else !"—S.B., Adv., March 2012
  • 4-Ball Rating "very friendly staff shot of the day at 9 am - very convenient for vacationers professional tennis pros gorgeous spot good selection in the pro shop"—T.C., Low Int., March 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The tennis Pro's Jeff and Chris were both great! We spent three weeks with family and friends taking lessons and playing for hours at the resort."—R.S., Int., March 2012
  • 5-Ball Rating "First - absolutely beautiful setting. Variety of programs, clinics for all levels. Incredibly friendly and helpful staff. Towels, water readily available. Enthusiastic support for all visitors, sincere interest in giving them their money's worth. We'll be back."—W.D., Adv., March 2012
  • 3½-Ball Rating "The strength is a good blend of day clinics along with finding you someone to play with in a stunning setting. A weakness is the lack of a fixed length program of instruction."—J.M., Low Int., March 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "They offer an extremely well organized tennis program for all levels. You can count on a fun tennis experience and also get some excellent lessons and drills. My husband and I especially enjoyed the drop-in mixed doubles--the best we have ever attended."—S.G., Low Int., March 2012
  • 4-Ball Rating "This is a well-run establishment with extremely competent and friendly personnel in a very scenic setting. There are over 10 courts but it would benefit from having two or three covered by a dome as in some seasons wind or a passing shower detracts from the experience. With or without a dome it is a great tennis experience and the staff of Jeff, Anna, Chris and Liane do an incredible job."—D.C., Int., March 2012
  • 5-Ball Rating "What's not to like - fabulous tennis, pros with specific tips to make my game better, blue skies, games matched to my level, and a beautiful setting. Kapalua Tennis is a big part of my Maui vacation."—N.D., Adv., February 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "i attended the cardio tennis workouts a couple of times and they were both excellent workouts; Class is limited to 6; Superb combination of cardio and tennis play; Lots of fun on-court drills and games;"—M.A., Int., February 2012
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—D.M., Adv. Int., February 2012
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—G.W., Int., February 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Our daughter (varsity high school player) has taken lessons from Jeff Smith on two different vacations we took to Maui (2010 and 2011). Her improvement in a week each time with Jeff was very noticeable. Highly recommended."—M.K., Int., February 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I have really enjoyed playing tennis at Kspalua Tennis Garden this year more than ever. I'm not sure that I know all the staff members; however, I am impressed with Jeff Smith, Chris, Anna,and LeeAnn. They do a good job setting up matches, even calling to remind me. The are all friendly and extremely competent. I look forward to returning next year."—I.L., Adv. Int., February 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The staff and the facilities at Kapalua Tennis Garden are number one in my opinion."—A.G., Int., February 2012
  • 5-Ball Rating "This is my 3rd trip lifetime to Kapalua and each time I've been impressed by the Kapalua Tennis Garden and staff. When I called for a court and hitting partners, I was given several options. I ended up taking 2 lessons with the director Jeff Smith which were really great. As a 5.0 player I usually just want to hit, but he was able to give me a few simple tips to fine-tune my shots. When I broke my strings on my only racket, they got it back to me <24 hr turn around time. Their newly surfaced courts are terrific and I hear they plan to do the bottom courts soon. Would definitely love to come back to Kapalua and hit with Jeff again!"—J.S., Adv., February 2012
  • 5-Ball Rating "The Kapalua Tennis Garden has numerous regular playing activities such as shot clinics and drop in doubles. These are all outstanding. The clinics are informative and well run by tennis professionals who helped me tremendously with refining my strokes. They were fun and moved quickly. The drop in doubles program provided a great entry to the Maui tennis community. By mixing resort guests, part time and full time residents in round robin play I was able to meet and arrange games with people I had already met and found compatible in both level and personality. I took a lesson for a problematic serve that I had been fighting for years. Jeff Smith the Tennis Director got me adjusted to take advantage of my abilities. Just as importantly, he taught in a clear way with simple principles. As a result my serve's consistency improved dramatically almost immediately. His teaching approach also gave me a vehicle to self correct when I missed a serve. I could not recommend Kapalua or its friendly personnel any higher."—T.R., Adv., February 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The Kapalua Tennis Garden is a beautiful facility in a beautiful location. We played tennis every day while we were in Hawaii, and especially enjoyed the tennis program at the garden.
    The staff was very warm and welcoming. I was amazed how quickly they knew us by name. There was a good mixture of vacationing players like us and local club members. We never felt like outsiders. I can't wait to return to Maui for another tennis vacation, adn the Kapalua Tennis Garden will be our primary destination."
    —M.W., Adv. Int., February 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Excellent stroke-of-the-days; roundrobins; and matching. Great prostaff rouns out a beautiful and exceptional facility."—S.G., Adv. Int., January 2012
  • 4-Ball Rating "I've been going to the tennis garden for many years and the last couple of years, it has vastly improved. The staff and the teaching pros are very friendly, professional and helpful. The courts are being resurfaced in phases and results have contributed to a more enjoyable tennis experience."—D.R., Adv., January 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—J.P., Adv., January 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—A.K., Adv., December 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "I had two very superb and patient instructors.Chris Duarte and Jeff.I was thrilled to get such top notch instruction and both gave me invaluable tips on my game. The courts are great to play on and the restaurant The Pineapple Grill is best in the area once you have had your lesson. I plan on going back. Hope those instructors are still present."—K.H., Beg., December 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "The Kapalua Tennis Garden is fantastic! I've now been twice and thoroughly enjoyed it each time. Jeff, the Tennis Director, has great energy, can really communicate effectively and I feel as though my groundstrokes and volleys really improved."—J.J., Int., December 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—C.E., Int., December 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I have been playing tennis for many years at the Kapalua Tennis Gardens and have really enjoyed the experience. The coaches are very pleasant and helpful and I have had the pleasure of meeting many of the local tennis players, each year. The coaching staff have been very welcoming to a visitor such as myself"—D.B., Int., November 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—C.L., Int., November 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The Kapalua Tennis Garden will never disappoint you! If you are a tennis player up to level 4.5 you will matched up with local and visiting players for some great games. The staff will always find you a game.
    If you desire some lessons they provide daily “stroke of the day” sessions for small groups. The staff is very friendly and courteous plus the resident tennis pros provide some great lessons and tips. The facilities at the Garden are well maintained and the drop-in costs for playing is very reasonable. The added plus is that you can’t beat the beautiful location of the Kapalua Tennis Garden."
    —G.R., Adv. Int., November 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Excellent experience. Top notch instructors and clinics. Beautiful setting."—D.C., Int., November 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Jeff Smith, Ann, Leanne and all those at the Tennis Garden are absolutelt and genuinely dedicated to customer service!!! I have never seen any tennis resort as friendly and hard-working to make sure that your tennis experience is fun and rewarding. I am a 4.0/4.5 player and was quite satisfied with the match-ups that were provided by the super-friendly staff. Thanks soooo much!!"—J.K., Adv., November 2011
  • 5-Ball Rating "We look forward to the drop-in tennis every time we're on Maui. Jeff Smith and his staff are the best---so friendly and professional.We actually had friends from our home club there at the same time as us and we brought them to the drop-ins. They absolutely loved it. Some of us were even able to sub in some games on other days with some of the locals---great fun, great tennis, great facility."—S.D., Int., November 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "Jeff was really fantastic in helping lift my game from the first lesson. Easily the best tennis instruction I've had. I left with a good sense of where I needed to go with my skills and Jeff broke it down simply and effectively so I'd be sure to remember even after my vacation."—K.M., Beg., August 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "My husband and I took a series of private tennis lessons with Jeff at Kapalua resort and we were very impressed with the quality of both the lessons and the resort facilities. br />Jeff is a prefect detail oriented and professional instructor who took great care in targeting our specific needs. We felt that we both learnt a great deal and left with valuable feedbacks on our tennis game. He was very good at illustrating his instructions in a way that made it easy for us to remember and focus. Overall a very very good instructor. br />We also took some clinic and thought that those were interesting as they focused on a specific stroke each time. Nice way to meet other people as well! I would highly recommend the Kapalua tennis garden, the facilities are great, in a beautiful setting and up to date equipment. The staff is very helpful and friendly."—J.C., Int., August 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—J.S., Pro, August 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Situated in paradise, the tennis experience was tremendous. My family including our 14 year old son who is provincially ranked in Ontario throughly enjoyed our week vacation. Jeff Smith, the director of tennis, is very personable and enthusiastic making us feel right at home. His staff also share his energy. My son received the high level of performance that we were looking forward to which included arranging him to hit with some better players on the island. The "drop in doubles" which takes place 3 times a week was attended by experienced level players and was fun for all of us."—D.H., Adv., August 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "Beautiful facility with a very friendly staff and excellent pros."—O.H., Adv., July 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We visited the Kapalua Tennis Garden while vacationing in June 2011. I had several lessons with the Director of tennis, Jeff Smith, who was fantastic. As a 4.5 player, I'm always looking for tips to advance my level of play and Jeff did a great job helping me out on a few items. The facility at Kapaula was terrific....friendly people, beautiful location, and the staff helped arrange matches for me. I would go back in a heartbeat"—E.V., Adv., July 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "Jeff Smith and team runs one of the friendliest and best family tennis resorts. We are a tennis family with beginners and experts and all of us had a great time over the course of a week, playing every day."—C.R., Adv., July 2011
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Wonderful, Jeff Smith was great."—S.L., Int., May 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Jeff Smith, Director of Tennis, is an exceptional instructor. Jeff's ability to explain tennis techniques and concepts in a clear, concise manner provides his students with all of the essential building blocks to excel at the game. In addition, Jeff's constant reinforcement of proper techniques during his lessons forces the students he instructs to practice the correct way to hold the racquet, balance their feet and rest their dominant arm throughout a match, all of which will ultimately reduce the risk of injury. Simply put, the lessons my wife and I took with Jeff were the highlight of our vacation. We will definitely seek further instruction from Jeff at the Kapalua Tennis Garden with each return visit to Maui."—P.G., Beg., May 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The Kapalua Tennis Garden is better than ever. Great instructors. Jeff Smith provided excellent teaching. Very nice program for tennis activities. Made the vacation particularly enjoiable."—P.R., Int., May 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "One hundred percent satisfied. Unlike what many said, it was not so windy in my a week stay, so I played almost everyday. Staffs including the coaches were very friendly. Through matchmaking and drop in doubles, we met some wonderful locals and visitors. I even had a chance to play against nationally ranked junior. Everything was perfect."—N.P., Adv. Int., May 2011
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—I.H., Int., May 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "Kapalua Ritz Carlton Residences are wonderful and my husband and I took 3 fabulous private tennis lessons with Jeff Smith at the Tennis Garden. in the short 6 days we were there. We got great instruction, made some really noticable improvements, and would highly recommend it!"—V.Z., Int., April 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "One of the most beautiful tennis facilities. Multiple courts offering a variety of matches, drop ins, individual play or instruction. Perfect tropical climate with warm weather and slight breezes to make the experience pleasant."—J.T., Adv. Int., April 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Playing tennis at the Kapalua Tennis Gardens truly was a highlight of my holiday. The Stroke of the Day clinics were excellent and the Drop in Doubles were well run and well attended. My son also took part in the junior tennis and was instructed as if he was part of the regular program. Jeff put an exceptional effort into his coaching. All staff did an excellent job of making everyone feel welcome. It is a beautiful place!"—J.B., Int., April 2011
  • 5-Ball Rating "Great tennis program for both visitors and locals. They provide match making services and, drop in, and a variety of clinics. Good private lessons too."—T.S., Adv. Int., April 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The stroke of the day clinics were really great. I was very impressed with how they could manage a wide range of abilities in one clinic and make it worthwhile for everyone."—A.P., Adv., April 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Instructors are varied and have a diverse clinic format. Was able to meet a variety of player levels and play subsequent matches after attending the clinics. Very attractive resort, good racquet selection, friendly staff. Would like them to offer a 50's plus clinic for those who play tennis but no longer play league or tournaments."—B.M., Adv., April 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "There is a very good variety of clinics and a good tennis director and lots of courts. The prices were a very good value. There are small pools throughout the resort that are very nice and convenient but the large pool had no free shade (you could pay for cabanas) and no tables to sit at outside of the restaurant area."—A.L., Int., April 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "Great courts with a beautiful view. Great pros and great experience."—K.T., Adv., April 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Kapalua Tennis Garden has excellent private lessons for all levels. I am a 4.0 player and the head tennis pro. Jeff Smith improved my first serve by 20 mph with accuracy and consistency in one lesson. Stroke of the day clinics are well organized and run. My 14 year old daughter enjoyed the Tournament Juniors clinics. Fantastic tennis experience."—J.C., Adv. Int., April 2011
  • 5-Ball Rating "My wife and I enjoy tennis both competitively and socially. Jeff Smith was a terrific instructor. He has a passion for the game coupled with deep technical knowledge. I would highly recommend the drop in play as well as the instruction for varying abilities. We will be back. Thanks, The Dye Family, Boise Idaho"—J.D., Adv., April 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "Great clinics and lessons. Low key and fun. No standing around during clinics; always moving."—E.S., Adv. Int., April 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I attended two "Stroke of the Day" workshops during my recent week-long trip to Maui (March 2011.)I can't rave enough about how friendly and professional the staff was. The classes were small enough that it almost felt like a semi-private lesson; Chris was able to give each of us individualized attention over the course of the hour. I have to say, my volleys and topspin definitely improved after my short time at the club! The people at the front desk were so incredibly nice and helpful--they helped arrange a match for me with one of the locals since I personally didn't know anyone in Maui. The time I spent at the Kapalua Gardens was one of the highlights of my vacation. I can't wait to go back!"—K.D., Int., March 2011
  • 5-Ball Rating "I highly recommend the tennis program at Kapalua. While in Maui I took two lessons from Jeff Smith. He gave me excellent, easy to understand insruction, was energetic, friendly, enthusiastic, and hard working. He was also flexible with my schedule. It was a great workout, and Jeff improved my serve and forehand quickly. After each of my lessons, Jeff had a lesson with a young man with physical and mental disabilities. It was amazing to observe the way Jeff worked with that young man.
    While we were there, Jeff also set up a couple of matches for my Dad. The courts were great, and the scenery was beautiful. I highly recommend Jeff and his program at Kapalua and hope to return there soon."
    —J.S., Adv., March 2011
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Instructors good with kids. Both fun and instructional. A little unreliable with the group lessons. Sometimes are some last minute cancellations due to lack of numbers of participants."—N.K., Low Int., March 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I love the instructors and the lessons are top notch. The tennis facility is beautiful. I love the daily stroke of the day in the morning and the drop in doubles as well. The ability level of the players is pretty even and they are very nice as well."—P.L., Adv. Int., March 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—S.R., Adv., March 2011
  • 5-Ball Rating "great teaching pro in Jeff Smith, enthusiastic, intelligent, and great personality. Courts topnotch, players of different levels, though during my stay did not see lots of higher rated players (4.0 or greater).  "—F.G., Adv., March 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating " "—D.T., Adv., March 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I have visited Maui for the last 8 years and during our monthly visits I consider my time spent at the Kapalua Tennis Garden to be one of the high points of our visit. From Anna at the front counter to the pros out on the court everyone is friendly, helpful and skilled. I have particapated in lessons, clinics, and drop in doubles. In every situation I have been pleased by the activity and impressed with the value for the dollar.
    As a retired educator I have been impressed with their ability to deal with a wide range of skill levels and with all ages from the tiny kids to seniors. In additon the setting is really special. We will be back to Maui again next year and I am looking forward to my time on the Kapalua tennis courts.  "
    —B.B., Adv. Int., March 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "Jeff Smith, Director of Tennis at Kapalua and his staff are always willing to help you find partners for tennis. Great instructor and organizer of the clinics and drop-in (roundrobin). We have a condo on Maui and have been attending the drop-in's and clinics for the past 5 years. Weakness--they should have the money to invest in maintaining their courts  "—J.W., Int., March 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating " "—J.C., Adv. Int., March 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating " "—A.F., Adv., March 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "Tennis resort in a beautiful setting, Resort Director Jeff is a very good instructor and the other Professional Chris is good also. My wife and I participated in the Stoke of the Day, Cardio and drop in doubles, the five days we were there and had private lessons. Clinics were well attended as were the drop in doubles. Great experience.  "—J.C., Adv. Int., February 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "Strengths: Very friendly, knowledgeable staff who are genuinely interested in seeing their clients learn to play tennis better and enjoy their entire tennis experience. Weaknesses: None I can think of  "—M.D., Int., February 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "This is an extremely visitor-friendly facility from the charming Anna on the desk to the very conscientious work of Jeff and the warmth of the regulars. There are many options and skill levels and a mellow Maui attitude is the dominant theme. You may have to cope with trade winds, humidity and rain squalls but as long as you go with the flow it is ultimately a tremendously positive experience. A couple of the courts need some minor work but there is usually lots of room. there is limited space for practicing on your own but jeff does a very good job of matching players of comparable skill and disposition.  "—D.C., Int., February 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "The Kapalua Tennis Garden is a fantastic facility with great personnel. The pros Jeff and Chris are very good instructors and along with Ana make the extra effort to insure that everyone has a good tennis experience."—H.C., Adv. Int., February 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "During my 26 years as a resident on Maui, The Kapalua Tennis Garden has fulfilled all my expectations for quality coaching, compatible matches and tournament play.  "—J.L., Adv. Int., February 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Ana, Tim, and Chris are excellent to work with, always striving to give you the best they have - lessons, clinics, putting people together for a match. We stayed for 2 months and it was an great experience. We'll be back next year  "—K.A., Int., February 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "My wife and I stayed at the Kapalua Villas for a week this January. I took 5 private tennis lessons with Jeff Smith, who is an excellent and patient coach. I got exactly what I wanted out of my week of lessons, which was to hit a lot of balls and improve my technique. I would go back to Kapalua again, soon.  "—H.L., Adv., January 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Very friendly and professional staff. Nice tennis courts on beautiful settings of Kapalua. Drop-in plays are convenient and well organized. Definitely a-must-be place for tennis players at all levels.  "—T.L., Adv. Int., January 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating " This is my third visit to PBI Kapalua Tennis Garden and I continue to give it high marks for the sheer beauty of a 10 court facility along with a fine mixture of clinics, drop-ins, junior programs and one-on-one sessions with the PBI pros. Another feature I enjoy is the fact that Kapalua Tennis Garden serves a strong local tennis community."—J.M., Low Int., January 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "Excellent facilities, great staff. We needed a tune-up for the beginning of high school varsity tennis season - Jeff Smith was excellent: he has a great personality, had very helpful skill drills, really understood the goal to "get my son back on the court" after a several month layoff. Three mornings of focused work - goal accomplished - valuable take away techniques for both myself and my son. Overall - excellent!  "—J.S., Adv., January 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating " "—G.R., Adv. Int., January 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "The tennis instructors are top notch. Patient, helpful, professional, positive, clear, encouraging and a perfect joy that kept me returning day after day. It was also notable that the instructors were able to deal with multiple skill levels simultaneously, engaging all equally.  "—K.F., Int., December 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating "The pros were very attentive and great at giving instructions and showing how to achieve great results.  "—J.P., Adv., December 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating " "—T.T., Int., December 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "My wife & I have just returned from 10 days at Kapalua. We attended 5 Daily Clinics - 2 were rained out. Jeff Smith is the new Head Pro and he was excellent. Jeff's assistant Chris Duarte taught some of the clinics and was also very good. We both learned some valuable skills and can't wait to go back.  "—S.A., Int., December 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I had an excellent time! Everyone was so nice and the scenery around the courts made for such a pleasant experience. Drop in doubles was defiantly my favorite! I really have nothing negative to say."—J.B., Adv. Int., December 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating "I had a wonderful experience at the kapalua tennis garden. Great lesson from Jeff Smith and wonderful staff."—R.B., Int., October 2010
  • 5-Ball Rating "We have been coming to the Kapalua Tennis Garden for over 10 years and it is one of the reasons we visit Maui. Excellent instruction and clinics, beautiful facility (love the butterflies that drift by during games) and very friendly and knowledgeable staff. A definite "10" in our book."—N.D., Adv. Int., January 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Justin Work was great teaching our family ! He is the reason i came back again this year to Maui. his whole team at Kapalua was great. My backhand definitely improved!!!"—R.R., Int., April 2009
  • 5-Ball Rating "Awesome tennis environment, nothing else like it. Great staff, pro shop with tennis attire and equipment. The best thing, they will set up matches at your level for your entire visit, along with providing a variety of round robins, clinics and private lessons."—C.S., Adv. Int., March 2009
  • 3½-Ball Rating ""—M.I., Int., March 2009
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Truly an awesome site in every respect. The setting is world class and the staff are outstanding. Attention to detail is second to none. The only challenge is maintaining focus on the game because the surroundings are so perfect!
    The programs offered are comprehensive ranging from kids programs, matchmaking, drop ins, shot of the day etc. The staff are VERY active in making this a true tennis vacation/destination. The current pros have gone a long way in the last two years in expanding the programs.
    The only "downside" is that the area can be windy. This facility deserves the consistent rankings it gets year after year."
    —M.S., Adv., March 2009

Rate Kapalua Resort ,
Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua,
Montage Kapalua Bay, and
Kapalua Villas Maui


Ratings

(247 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Cuisine
4-Ball Rating Romance
4½-Ball Rating Kids' Programs
4-Ball Rating
Instruction
4½-Ball Rating Lodging
4-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
4-Ball Rating
Game Matching
4-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4-Ball Rating Setting
4-Ball Rating

Ritz-Carlton Kapalua Ratings
( 3 Reviewers)
Lodging
4-Ball Rating Kids' Programs
4-Ball Rating
Cuisine
3½-Ball Rating Romance
4-Ball Rating
Solo Travelers
4-Ball Rating
Other Recreation
4½-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4-Ball Rating
Spa & Fitness
4-Ball Rating

Kapalua Villas Ratings
( 4 Reviewers)
Lodging
4-Ball Rating
Cuisine
3½-Ball Rating Romance
4-Ball Rating
Other Recreation
3½-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4-Ball Rating
Spa & Fitness
4-Ball Rating

Ratings

(247 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Game Matching
4-Ball Rating Lodging
4-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4½-Ball Rating Romance
4½-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Instruction
4½-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4-Ball Rating Cuisine
4-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
4-Ball Rating Setting
4-Ball Rating Kids' Programs
4-Ball Rating

Ritz-Carlton Kapalua Ratings
( 3 Reviewers)
Lodging
4-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4½-Ball Rating Setting
3½-Ball Rating Romance
4-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4-Ball Rating
Cuisine
3½-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
4-Ball Rating Kids' Programs
4-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4-Ball Rating

Kapalua Villas Ratings
( 4 Reviewers)
Lodging
4-Ball Rating Other Recreation
3½-Ball Rating Setting
3½-Ball Rating Romance
4-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4-Ball Rating
Cuisine
3½-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
4-Ball Rating

Rates and Reservations

Visit the website for current rates

Kapalua Resort
Kapalua, Maui, HI
Web Link: Kapalua Resort