Search
Email Us
Tennis Resorts Online
Photo of John Newcombe Tennis Ranch, New Braunfels, TX
Courtesy John Newcombe Tennis Ranch

John Newcombe Tennis Ranch

New Braunfels, Texas



CDT 720x90

CDT 250x250



Your Call

Here's what others have had to say about John Newcombe Tennis Ranch.

  • 5-Ball Rating "THE BEST TENNIS EXPERIENCE EVER!!!"—B.T., Adv., April 2024
  • 5-Ball Rating "The John Newcombe Tennis Ranch is the best! Been coming for several years with a group of my ladies. The tennis, the pros, everything I’ve experienced at NEWKS are top notch. You feel like you’re part of the family. Can’t wait to come back!!!"—C.G., Low Int., April 2024
  • 4-Ball Rating "Great Pros, Great Staff, Fantastic price! Loved covered courts as a backup if it rained or if to windy to play outdoors. The food was pretty good. Clean rooms. Have re-booked over and over. We go 2 times a year. (we may start going 3 times a year!)"—S.B., Low Int., July 2023
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Think "better than average sleepaway camp." The place is not posh, but the Adult Weekend Getaway is comfortable, easy and fun. Since my first visit as a self-described intermediate beginner looking for confidence to bridge from private lessons to match play, I go solo once or twice a year. The group has numbered from 12 one weekend to 40 for another, including a ladies' league group of 10 that flew in from Colorado, with ages ranging from late 20s to 3 or 4 retirees; the camp staffs as many pros as needed to keep a low ratio. Every single pro I've met there has been really knowledgeable and friendly. To restate the obvious, the getaway is about tennis. You play all day, indoors or out, rain or shine. I would not recommend this place for absolute beginners or the non-player who just wants to tag along. The program is packed and doesn't lend itself to halfway participation. Accommodations range from 2-bunk cabins to hotellike rooms with balconies and even townhouse-looking units I saw only from outside. Lodgings are clean and comfy but spartan, a great place to stow your stuff, lay your head and relax under a hot shower, but you won't be tempted to lie in all day. The food is best described as hearty and moderately healthy camp fare served buffet-style. You won't see aspic (or chicken nuggets, for that matter), but the enchiladas or the turkey sandwich you build after 3 hrs on the courts will taste scrumdillyumptious. The last night is FUN. I have fond, if slightly sodden, memories of impromptu midnight tennis after an evening of chatting and dancing. I'm ready to go back this fall."—P.G., Int., July 2023
  • 4-Ball Rating "Tennis fantasy is an rare & exceptional experience. you are one of 60 to 100 campers. you will be coached and taught by 12 to 16 Pros who have won Grand Slams.They are legends of the game, (namely John Newcomb, Roy Emerson, Rod Laver, Mark Whitford, The Jensen brothers etc.. They put you into one of 4 teams, then they coach you, on court, while you are playing matches. for 3 to 4 days. There are 2 days of drills and basically one on one coaching. You eat with them, drink with them and have a lot of fun. You socialize with your fellow campers and the Legend Pros. Food is good and plentiful, beer is unlimited, so is the wine at dinner. I've been there 9 times. Some campers have gone back every year. 1 week in the fall for guys level 3.5 & up. 1 week for mixed in the spring."—R.W., Adv. Int., May 2023
  • 5-Ball Rating "Always Looking forward to another wonderful fun tennis experience. Meeting new tennis,people,meeting our friends there and most,of all the pros."—P.B., Int., January 2023
  • 5-Ball Rating "Thinking about a tennis vacation. Then think no more because there is really only one place to go. The John Newcombe Tennis Ranch. The wife and I have been going for years,and we can both honestly say that we NEVER had a bad time. Deep in the heart of the beautiful Texas hill country,the setting is beautiful as are the grounds;big shout out to those who keep it looking that way. Accommodations are just what you need. Hey folks,this is a ranch and not one of those overpriced resorts. Shout out to housekeeping for keeping the rooms clean. Food is terrific and very nourishing. Shout out to the kitchen staff. Oh yes,the tennis. Let's just say whether you are a serious tournament player,or a beginner or somewhere in between,then Newks is the place for you. Whatever YOU desire,the fantastic pros will do their very best to make it happen. It's really YOUR ranch from the time you check in until you check out. You want clay courts,they've got clay courts. You want covered courts,they've got those as well. You want individual attention in order to refine a specific stroke, they will work with you to help achieve YOUR goals. The drills are designed around the game based approach philosophy in that each is simulating actual match play. These drills not only allow you to work on technique, but they also test your fitness as well. Trust me,you will improve,but most importantly,you will have more fun than you thought possible both on and off the court. Adrian,Nick,Adam and all of the pros are there for one thing,and that is to make sure you have the time of your life. Trust me,you will. There is one problem however: the time goes by way too quickly but by the end of your stay,you will say:I'll Be Back!!!!!!! I can just about guarantee that you will be back....again and again and again... It's an addiction,but a good one to have. Overall assessment: BEST IN THE WORLD!!!!!!!!"—M.M., Adv., June 2022
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Best in the World Tennis instruction. Rooms and food could be a bit better but outstanding coaching and vacation spot!"—J.R., Pro, June 2022
  • 5-Ball Rating "The John Newcombe Tennis Ranch (Newks), has changed my life, I want to spend every day in New Braunfels, TX on the ranch. There’s no place on earth with a more positive and revitalizing energy. Everywhere you look, whether it be at the staff or the customers, there’s always a smiling face. 10/10 would recommend to any tennis lovers of all levels to choose Newks next time you want to live out your tennis fantasy."—Z.C., Adv., June 2022
  • 5-Ball Rating "I've being going to Newks for 5 years and have never had a single complaint about it"—J.V., Adv. Int., June 2022
  • 5-Ball Rating "High energy clear instructions"—A.R., Int., June 2022
  • 4½-Ball Rating "John Newcombe Tennis Ranch is by far one of the best tennis resorts for groups looking to have fun and practice their skills/technique at a very affordable rate! I’m from Chicago and have been going to their weekend Adult tennis camp for the past 5 years. It’s so popular with my Chicago tennis teams/friends that I’m bringing 20 people this year! Location: it’s less than an hour from Austin and San Antonio airports so it’s really convenient. We love to hang out in Austin after the weekend camp is over. Value: accommodations, meals and 6 hours of tennis are all included in one weekend package. I’ve been to a few tennis camps around the country and Newks is far by the least expensive without compromising on a great tennis experience. Staff: if you want to have a fun tennis getaway, the pros at Newks definitely deliver! The camp director Adrian and his staff always bring the energy, friendliness, fun and great tips. They keep you moving with dynamic drills, music and coaching. Accommodations: this is a tennis ranch, so it’s more rustic and less of a 5 star resort. But that’s why my group loves it. It’s all about tennis. There’s a pool and hot tub, but we really enjoy the 2 bedroom/2 bath condos that sit right off the clay and hard courts. And all the accommodations are close to the main hall. Entertainment: other than the tennis, the nightly entertainment by the staff is one of the reasons we visit Newks every year! The pros stay on the ranch and join the campers for Aussie style games, karaoke and camp fires. We really enjoy the fun and friendly atmosphere and the camaraderie amongst the staff and patrons. If you’re looking for a fun, affordable, memorable tennis getaway with a group, couples or even by yourself, than John Newcombe Tennis Ranch is the way to go!"—B.A., Adv. Int., May 2022

See more reviews

Rate John Newcombe Tennis Ranch


Ratings

(499 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
5-Ball Rating Tennis Staff
5-Ball Rating Instruction
5-Ball Rating
Game Matching
5-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
5-Ball Rating
Cuisine
3½-Ball Rating Lodging
3½-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
3½-Ball Rating
Dollar Value
5-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4-Ball Rating Setting
4-Ball Rating
Romance
3½-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
5-Ball Rating

Ratings

(499 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
5-Ball Rating Instruction
5-Ball Rating Tennis Staff
5-Ball Rating Cuisine
3½-Ball Rating Dollar Value
5-Ball Rating Setting
4-Ball Rating Romance
3½-Ball Rating
Game Matching
5-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
5-Ball Rating Lodging
3½-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
3½-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
5-Ball Rating

Rates and Reservations

John Newcombe Tennis Ranch

325 Mission Valley Rd.
New Braunfels, TX 78132