Search
Email Us
Tennis Resorts Online

John Newcombe Tennis Ranch

New Braunfels, Texas





Tennis with the Stars

Tennis with the Stars Camp and VIP Event, held March 5-9, 2018 at Omni Rancho Las Palmas in California. The week is a combination of outstanding tennis instruction, mingling with star players from the ATP and WTA tours, and watching the pros play up close and personal. This is the ultimate Indian Wells Cliff Drysdale Tennis Experience. For more information, please contact Katie Steck via email k.steck@cliffdrysdale.com or phone 830-625-5911x208, or visit Tennis With The Stars


Your Call

Here's what others have had to say about John Newcombe Tennis Ranch.

  • 4½-Ball Rating "This is the best tennis camp. I have been here four times and wanting to go again. I'm also planning on going to the other camp in Florida. Keep up the good work"—M.W., Adv., January 2018
  • 4-Ball Rating "Just returned from a week at the Tennis Ranch. It was an exceptional week of excellent instruction. Strengths: individual attention, high quality feedback, consistent positivity. I also greatly enjoyed watching the Academy Students who were inspiring in both their abilities but also in their total acceptance of a bunch of 3.5 to 4.0 over 50's watching their drills. Food was delicious and plentiful. Chris, Weston, Hunter and Eric all were dedicated to the task at hand of improving the play of a foursome of very average players. I went with my 78 year old dad who has never really taken a lesson and he had a great time. I definitely will return. I also enjoyed side adventures to New Braunfels and Austin. All other camps were super expensive, this one is super reasonable and extremely worth the money."—A.R., Adv. Int., December 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "Strengths - Instructors were very willing to customize, esp. if you told them exactly what you needed to work on - Chris, Hunter, and Tyler were fantastic and always eager to help with specific actionable tips - Very positive social atmosphere with regular shared meals - Nice hearty breakfast buffet - Great value for the dollar - If you are a strong player, pros will often be matched up to play with you (at least for me) Weaknesses - Some instructors were basically robotic feeders and didn't really offer any advice - A bit too much match play for me (probably 20% of time) as I wanted more drills to focus on skill development - Too many of the drills and games (and even doubles play) intermixed very disparate levels (e.g. 3.0 and 4.5 probably should not play doubles together) - Limited food variety at lunch and dinner can get tedious - My children also did the youth tennis program, but none of them could tell me any specific advice they got (hard to say how much to believe this though) Overall This is a great place for the dollar and I'd highly recommend it. I also went to Saddlebrook this year. I'd say that while I got more in terms of tennis development from Newks, my child got more out of Saddlebrook. Of course, Saddlebrook has a much posher facility, but it also costs much, much more."—J.R., Adv., November 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "I have been going to Newks for 25 years now, or thereabouts, because I have lost count. I just keep coming back, usually during mid October for the weekend right before the Legends Week. It is a busy weekend but feels like an old friends' homecoming trip because of the great friends I have made at the Ranch for well over two decades. I love this place so let me just be clear about that from the get go. Anyways, strengths. The emphasis is on fun here and that is the primary reason why I keep returning. Sure, you can drill til you drop in the daily clinics and drills, particularly if the Texas heat is upon you. You can also find good doubles and singles match ups if your body can withstand all the tennis. Chris Jacques remains in charge of adult tennis at the Ranch and he has become a dear friend as well as a great pro. Chris's style is Aussie laid back and that continues to work for me. His cadre of teaching pros, which gets replenished somewhat each year, continues to be strong. This is not a camp intended for those who want a lot of individual attention and lessons. It is really much more of a group phenomenon. That said, any guest can arrange for private lessons if they so choose, you just gotta find the time to do it and of course, private lessons are not part of the affordable camp fee. The condos are not 5 star and there always seems to be something idiosyncratic about them, but they are comfortable and close to the courts. Great places to hang out with your mates. But if you are looking for 5 star accommodations, this ain't your place. It remains rustic with no illusions of being a Michelin property or resort. As for the food, the food on the Ranch is served buffet style and while it is not gourmet by any means, hey, it does the trick. If you want to explore local cuisine, you can always make excursions in to New Braunfels for BBQ and other good food, and the 45 minute trek to Austin puts you in culinary heaven. As for weaknesses? My pet peeve has always been the hot tub. They only have one and it is relatively small. While they replaced the old tub a few years ago, the new tub in my view is only somewhat better. Wish they would invest the $s in a bigger tub so that more of us could enjoy it over the long weekend. Another weakness in my view is the older har-tru courts. While these have underground hydration, these green clay courts suffer from inconsistent hydration and are not on par with other tennis locations that have good har-tru courts. Would be awesome if Newk and company would be able to put out some $s to upgrade these courts for those of us who really need the softer surface. The hard courts, by the way, were in rock solid shape overall on my last visit. One other very minor critique. For years, one of the things I looked forward to with each visit to Newks was getting my Newks Ranch T-shirt which used to be given to each guest. This year, the Ranch no longer provided the free T-shirt. I don't really know why this was but what I can say is that some of the 1st timers that I brought with me to the Ranch this past October were disappointed in not receiving their T shirt. They wanted to wear it proudly upon returning home and my feeling is the shirt really does help promote the Ranch. Oh well. Otherwise, let me finish by saying that I have encouraged many many friends to visit the Ranch over the years, and many have and many continue to do so. And, those of us who do return again and again do so for three primary reasons. One, it is all about the fun. Two, we have made incredible friends. And last but not least, Newks is truly a great tennis camp. I will be back in October 2018!"—G.S., Adv., November 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "I only attended the adult tennis camp (did not stay or eat there). It was a smaller group of 7-8 people in the heat of July in Texas. The instruction was terrific and I really enjoyed myself. It was 5 hours of tennis a day and was a terrific value. I would attend again."—E.J., Int., July 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "It is hard to beat the John Newcombe Tennis Ranch, why? Well their pros are first notch. They actually do care more about you then about themselves , are very versatile and you are going to get a ton of ball hitting up to 2 sessions 5 hours per day. Also afterwards, they make an effort to eat breakfast, lunch and dinner with you during your stay. It is not a customer experience, it is more like family. I have been there about 6 times and will go back again, heck they even know my name down there , try to find a resort where you are not just another number, at Newks you won't feel left out. Guaranteed!"—S.S., Int., June 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "It's the best tennis program in the country! Amazing pros who make it fun while implementing the very best instruction!!!"—A.C., Adv., May 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "I went to the John Newcombe Ranch twice in 2016. The first time was in March, I was part of a small group of 5 people. We had two pros on court for the entire time. The instruction was fantastic and the accommodations were wonderful. We especially liked the food, which was on site and inclusive. My game improved from this short week. The second time I went there was for the Halloween weekend with a bigger party of 15. We joined anther 36 players for a great group of 51. The visit was incredible. The staff was able to give the same level of attention and assistance to the large group as the small. Once again, my game improved. During the Halloween weekend we attending the Halloween party. It was so much fun we are going this year at Halloween again. I strongly recommend this resort because of the amazing level of instruction and the fun, total vacation, experience."—T.C., Int., May 2017
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Very good instruction with knowledgeable and fun pros. Also, this is a lot of tennis physically, get ready for it"—D.S., Adv., May 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "Don't hesitate going to Newks, best time of your life!! From the Texas Welcome to the Aussie feel, this place is fun on the highest level.. Staff are amazing and their enthusiasm, contagious! For Tennis and fun no better place!! Team-Family-Team"—A.J., Adv., May 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—M.L., Int., May 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—A.H., Int., April 2017

See more reviews

Rate John Newcombe Tennis Ranch


Ratings

(430 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
5-Ball Rating Tennis Staff
5-Ball Rating Instruction
4½-Ball Rating
Game Matching
4½-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4½-Ball Rating Tennis Complex
4½-Ball Rating
Cuisine
3½-Ball Rating Lodging
3-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
3½-Ball Rating
Dollar Value
4½-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4-Ball Rating Setting
4-Ball Rating
Kids' Programs
4½-Ball Rating Romance
3-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4½-Ball Rating

Ratings

(430 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
5-Ball Rating Instruction
4½-Ball Rating Tennis Complex
4½-Ball Rating Cuisine
3½-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4½-Ball Rating Setting
4-Ball Rating Romance
3-Ball Rating Kids' Programs
4½-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
5-Ball Rating Game Matching
4½-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4½-Ball Rating Lodging
3-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
3½-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4½-Ball Rating

Rates and Reservations

Rates vary seasonally at Newk's, reaching lows from November through February, when they offer a lot of 2-for-1 specials. All packages include accommodations, tennis instruction, and all meals. Prices are quoted per person assume double occupancy. Single-occupancy rates are also available.

November 2016-February 2017
Weekends: $335-$385/person. 6-day: $885-$985/person

March-October, 2017
Weekends: $365-$425/person. 6-day: $899-$1,050/person

John Newcombe Tennis Ranch
325 Mission Valley Rd.
New Braunfels, TX 78132

Special For Tennis Resorts Online

TRO Exclusive: Save $100!


John Newcombe Tennis Ranch Tennis Resorts Online users can claim a special $100/person discount on any adult all-inclusive week-long camp program. To get it, telephone reservations toll-free at 800-444-6204 or email the Ranch. You must mention Tennis Resorts Online to get the discount. Request a brochure.