Search
Email Us
Tennis Resorts Online
Hanalei Bay Resort, Kauai, Hawaii
Courtesy Hanalei Bay Resort

Hanalei Bay Resort

Princeville, Kauai, Hawaii





Your Call

Here's what others have had to say about Hanalei Bay Resort.

  • 4½-Ball Rating "My husband and I have taken lessons from Mary during our Kauai vacations over the past several years. Mary is not only a skilled tennis instructor, she is also a wonderful person. Being on court in Kauai and playing with Mary is always a highpoint of our time on the island."—G.A., Low Int., January 2022
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We have been coming to HBR for the past 5 years and each time I look forward to I taking lessons from Mary Hannsz. In a short and respectful time, Mary has helped me with my game. Mary has arranged many matches with others that are the same advanced level for my husband as well. We have often watched her teach groups of children with amazing patience and skill. You can’t have a better view while playing tennis."—B.D., Int., January 2022
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The setting is unsurpassed with views of Kauai's north shore. The all weather courts make them more available. Mary Hannsz is a delight."—M.P.,  December 2021
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Mary Hannsz is the PBI Tennis Director at the Hanalei Bay Resort. She runs the tennis program at the picturesque resort in Princeville, Kauai. Open clinics every day, private lessons available, social tennis round robin, etc. We participated in all the programs the resort offered. We took several tennis lessons with Mary. She is very talented, an easy going coach, a pleasure to learn from, and one of the best instructors I've ever had. Mary help me improve my technique and my game significantly. I've taken lessons from other instructors, but did not get the attention to detail that Mary provided. I learned so much from her! She's amazing!"—M.C., Low Int., October 2021
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The venue is unparalleled. The resort is absolutely beautiful, with great staff and is well maintained. The PBI tennis pro, Mary Hannsz, adds to an already superb experience. She is a wonderful tennis player who is able to adjust her level to the level her clients. She is very friendly, responsible, reliable and polite, and is very responsive to requests for lessons. She is always a highlight to my vacation at Hanalei Bay Resort and I always look forward to my vacation there for that reason."—R.C., Adv., October 2021
  • 5-Ball Rating "We had the opportunity to have several private tennis lessons with Mary Hansz at the Hanalei Bay Resort in Princeville. We had such a fabulous and fun experience and were so thrilled to have the chance to get to experience lessons and other offered group clinics with Mary. Mary was not only was great at instruction but also was a wonderful and friendly pro. You are very lucky to have Mary at your resort!"—H.L., Int., September 2021
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We had a great time hitting at Hanalei Bay Resort. The tennis director, Mary Hannsz, was outstanding. She went above and beyond to make sure we could be part of her clinics and had a good time. She made us feel like we were locals, who had been part of the tennis program for years. Mary and Ryan always responded to any questions quickly and enthusiastically. Her clinics were high energy, with everyone in the clinic having a good time, locals and tourists alike. Courts were nice with a view of the exceptional surroundings of Hanalei Bay. There are so many things to do when on Kauai, but we had a good enough time being part of the tennis program, that we prioritized hitting in the morning. Thanks Mary and Ryan."—G.F., Pro, September 2021
  • 5-Ball Rating "I was visiting Hawaii for a month in the summer. Mary was able to accommodate my whole family for lessons. Mary, is not only beautiful, always having a smile on her face, she also has the best kind of energy. Mary is wonderful to hit with and gives brilliant instruction. She gave me one simple trip on my forehand swing and now i have a better follow through and striking the ball where it needs to be hit. Mary is invaluable."—Z.K., Adv., September 2021
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Mary makes our yearly visits so pleasant, and she/Ryan go out of their way to include us in the fun events happening during each of our visits. Definitely adds a lot to our trip each year!"—M.W., Int., August 2021
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—P.O.,  August 2021
  • 5-Ball Rating "Hanalei Bay Resort is fantastic! The grounds, including tennis courts are spectacular. Mary is an absolute superb tennis instructor. She is simply amazing! She works well with people of all ages and ability levels. Simply wonderful! We will definitely return to HBR very soon!!"—J.K., Low Int., August 2021
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We played at Hanalei Bay Resort daily during our Princeville vacation and my daughter hit several times with Mary during this time. Mary demonstrated a really good eye and great coaching on top spin technique and stroke development as well as providing an outstanding mix of drills and on court instruction. Both Mary and Ryan were very personable and easy to interact with. This is a superb facility with a mix of hard and astro courts and a couple of the best pros in the business. We look forward to be coming back and have recommended Hanalei Bay Resort to all of our tennis friends."—R.B., Adv., August 2021
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Both Mary and Ryan are very insightful instructors. My tennis skills have improved significantly during my six-month stay with them. They are both great friends for everyone too!"—H.C., Low Int., August 2021
  • 5-Ball Rating "Ryan and Mary were incredible. So personable. So experienced with great insights. Loved it!!"—D.A., Int., June 2021
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I loved every minute of my tennis experience at Hanalei Bay Resort with Mary and Ryan. These awesome people make a fantastic team in a postcard-perfect setting. Clinics are energetic and practical. Situational drills lead to live doubles play that's just right - fun competition with constructive input. The community of players is a great mix of locals and visitors, so there's abundant opportunity to play with many different players. The synthetic grass courts were new to me but delightful to play on. I can't wait to go back!"—B.K., Int., June 2021
  • 4-Ball Rating "So happy to discover Mary and Hanalei Bay Resort tennis. Mary and her staff are great, very accommodating and responsive. Highly recommended. Headed back there soon!!"—S.S., Adv. Int., April 2021
  • 5-Ball Rating "Highly recommended!"—Y.Y., Adv. Int., February 2021
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Mary Hannsz is a gem and offers a full treasure chest full of tennis programming. She is exceptional at what she does. She quickly and accurately assesses individual strengths and weaknesses in order to maximize private lesson focus as well as how to best design successful group clinic drills for all participants. She is well-organized, an efficient communicator and an outstanding player/coach. The club offers a range of programming and court surfaces in an unmatched setting. I can't wait to go back! Thank you, Mary! Thank you, HBR!"—L.L., Adv., February 2021
  • 4½-Ball Rating "HBR is one of the most scenic resorts you'll ever see and the view from the tennis courts is spectacular. Mary and the other tennis pros are uniformly excellent. The players are a nice mix of locals and visitors; it's hard not to be pleased when you're playing tennis in paradise. I visited in October and there were showers most days which thankfully did not interfere too much with tennis since they were mostly fleeting."—A.Y., Adv. Int., February 2021
  • 5-Ball Rating "Mary is fantastic and a great teacher!"—G.E., Adv. Int., February 2021
  • 5-Ball Rating "While vacationing in Kauai I discovered Hanalei Bay Resort's tennis center. I signed up for a morning clinic. Wow! Mary is amazing. She is a great teacher and encourager and made each lesson fun. Once discovered I played 17 of my last 20 days! Thank you Mary"—D.B., Int., March 2020
  • 3½-Ball Rating "The tennis program was fantastic. Mary, the tennis Pro was extremely professional and generous with her time and energy. My Mom and I participated in Clinics and private lessons. Can't wait to go back!"—L.O., Int., March 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We loved our romantic getaway to the Hanalei Bay Resort! The food was excellent, the rooms were clean and spacious, and the service was outstanding. I am a lifelong tennis player and have seen more than my share of clubs and resorts. The setting is breathtaking — I've never been to a club with these amazing views of the mountains and the ocean. I took a lesson with Mary, who was not only a fine player and hitting partner, but was an exceptional pro; she pointed out one thing about my swing that just might save my wrist and elbow from future pain. Plus, she's absolutely delightful. I highly recommend Hanalei Bay as a resort, and if you are in the area and want some good tennis, make sure to check out the club. You won't regret it!"—J.M., Adv., March 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating "If in Kauii and play tennis or want to try it YOU must spend a couple days with Mary at Hanalei Bay. Its a personal experience everytime here and the activities offered from Clinics to instruction and the large group of players in round robins feels like your own club. Its about tennis and having fun at Hanalei Bay."—B.G., Adv., March 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—A.G., Adv., February 2020
  • 4-Ball Rating "Mary was exceptional as a pro in the private lessons. Learnt valuable aspects about the game. I would consider come back again!"—S.R., Beg., February 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Mary is an outstanding tennis instructor with a superb ability to incrementally improve your game by deconstructing bad habits and rebuilding better technique. She has an incredible way of infusing positive energy and feedback to all her students while remaining firm and focused on their performance with every single stroke. There’s no lazy, let slide mentality with Mary! But she will motivate you to be the best you can be! This is true no matter the age level or experience- no matter the positivity or negativity of the student (my son, my daughter, myself), she pulls the best out of us always. Check her out and enjoy the ride! You’ll have fun and work hard all at the same time!"—K.S., Int., February 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating "This place is beyond comparison! Beautiful scenery, excellent tennis (thanks, Mary!), great pool bar, wonderful staff. I could go on and on!!"—J.S., Int., February 2020
  • 4-Ball Rating "Mary Hannsz runs an excellent tennis center at Hanalei Bay Resort. With a private lesson she fixed my forehand. She also, coached during regular group drills, "Hammer Grip" for volleys. She is reliable, hardworking and organized She is an excellent communicator both on and off the court. I had fun playing tennis daily during my vacation and I have taken the Aloha spirit to Indiana and am.applying it to my game. Thank You Mary and Thank you Hanalei Bay Resort!"—S.B., Int., February 2020
  • 4-Ball Rating "The Hanalei Beach Resort is a great place to play tennis in Kauai. It is a beautiful setting, with views of Hanalei Bay. The pro there, Mary Hannsz, does it all—exceptional communication, great clinics, and superb matching of players. The resort is great. Mary is AMAZING! Before heading to Kauai for a holiday, I contacted the Hanalei Beach Resort about its tennis program. In less than an hour, Mary contacted me directly to introduce herself and describe the resort offerings. Even though I was not staying at the HBR, I was invited to join clinics, and Mary arranged for me to play daily with guests and locals. She made arrangements day and night. She made it look easy. Needless to say, I had a blast. The local players were very welcoming and loved to compete. Thank you Trina, Lisa, EZ, Milt, Russ, and Ray for letting me play in with your groups. After playing some doubles, I watched Mary give a lesson to a 4 year old. It was a treat watching her interact with the boy, positive, encouraging, and with realistic goals. He had a great time and was smiling from ear to ear the whole time. It was his first lesson, but it probably won't be his last. The resort has 4 synthetic grass courts, that are a necessity on rainy side of the island. The courts allowed us to safely play through light drizzles and immediately after downpours (when the 4 hard courts were unplayable). For a guy of 62, the softer courts were also very easy on my knees and led to longer rallies. Thank you Mary Hannsz and my new friend on Kauai for 8 great days of tennis."—S.G., Adv. Int., January 2020
  • 4-Ball Rating "Mary is phenomenal! I came to the resort with essentially zero tennis experience, and within just two lessons she had me hitting powerful shots that were staying within bounds (which is a big achievement if you saw my first shots). She instantly identified the biggest weaknesses with my shot, and continued to drill good habits into me until they became natural. Mary’s also an extremely nice person, and I had a blast rallying with her. Looking forward to getting back for more lessons on my next trip!"—K.B., Beg., January 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating "Mary, the head of the tennis center, was amazing! My husband and I used tennis facilities several times and I took a few lessons with Mary. She is a very energetic, supportive, competent and professional coach. I was glad to spend time there and improve my tennis skills. Highly recommend!"—A.B., Beg., January 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Mary is amazing, she is an excellent, thoughtful tennis coach, with skills and dedication that go above and beyond. Cant wait to get back there and enjoy the Hanalei Tennis Aloha again."—L.H., Adv. Int., January 2020
  • 4-Ball Rating "Courts have turf/sand surface, drain the water (lots of rain up north) well and easy on the feet! Mary and Bruno very helpful with clinics and the ICE COLD towel after play was fantastic...."—G.H., Int., December 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating "Courts are well maintained with spectacular views. Mary, the pro, was outstanding. Friendly, helpful with great tips on my strokes. If you're on Kauai's north shore--a great place to play."—R.M.,  December 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "This vacation was one of my favorite vacation to date. Mary made it easy to schedule clinics and participate in the doubles socials with my husband. This entire trip was a birthday surprise for me and my husband nailed it when he based it around a tennis. I loved the grass courts which was good for my joints, had an amazing view that I could never forget! Mary was patient and encouraging, making it fun to participate in the clinics. Our stay was clean, and thoroughly enjoyed the hot tub, pool and beach all within a short walk from our room.All the staff was helpful, and courteous. I can't wait to return!"—J.M.,  December 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating "This trip was a surprise birthday get-away for my wife and the Hanalei Bay Resort exceeded all of my expectations. I connected with Mary, the tennis pro months ahead of the birthday to make sure what I was putting in motion would be the best surprise ever. The true focus of the trip was tennis but everything else that revolved around that agenda item also made the trip the memory of a lifetime. The morning views from the court were stunning and Mary was instrumental in making that trip the most perfect in our entire portfolio of vacations to date. Plenty of other things to do as well during the stay that I would have a hard time putting into words but if you are a dog lover and had to leave your furry friends at home, visit the local Humane Society and grab a dog for a field trip day. A favorite memory of ours after a solid morning of tennis clinic was to take a hike with an adaptable dog."—J.M., Adv. Int., December 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Mary at the tennis resort is terrific! She worked with my entire family and we all range in skill and experience. Highly recommend a private lesson as it is amazing value"—M.R., Adv. Int., December 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We came across Mary Hannsz, the pro, a couple years ago while staying at a nearby resort. My husband and I wanted to try to get some tennis in and boy did we ever. Mary hooked us up with some awesome daily clinics and round robins. We were only there for a week, but fell in love with the Hanalei Bay Resort. We have always been anti-timeshare UNTIL we visited this resort. Mary and her tennis program were the main reason we decided to buy 2 weeks. We love her enthusiasm and professionalism. You absolutely cannot beat the breathtaking scenery surrounding you while you play. We returned this year and played even more tennis than last time. Mary would even find people to play at various times of the day if you wanted. We took private lessons from her as well and admire the time she puts on the court for everyone. We decided that 2 weeks just isn’t enough, so we bought a 3rd week this time around. The resort grounds are beautifully maintained, the pool is amazing, and the beach a close walk downhill. But we have to say that tennis is what really sells this place."—K.C., Adv. Int., December 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Excellent tennis facilities, including a variety of surfaces. I liked the AstroTurf for its wicking ability and ease on the lower extremities. But the best part was the Pro at this resort. Mary Hannsz is a true professional in every way. She not only has excellent teaching skills, she also has the ability to read the tennis needs of each of her clients. She treats the participating players with respect. And she has a keen sense of humor. All in all, Mary is a great asset to the Hanalei Bay Resort and to their tennis center."—C.C., Int., November 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Have been going to HBR for over 7 years --- what more can you ask for? Great tennis experiences in the land of Aloha. While playing on the courts, you have the amazing view of the Napili coast which is a total WOW! Great courts that accommodate the sporadic tropical rains -- both special artificial grass and hardcourts. We love Mary Hannsz and her positive, motivating tennis instruction. Went to the daily tennis clinics at 9 AM at every opportunity -- fun and sharpened our tennis skills. Great cardio workouts during vacation. We'll see you next year, Mary!"—V.T., Int., November 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Fabulous tennis vacay! Mary is my rock star! She ran fun, high energy clinics while providing excellent instruction. She was flexible in organizing the clinics according to how many attendees and provided attention to each participant. I was impressed by Mary’s tennis skills and I scheduled private lessons with her as often as our schedules allowed. During our 4 lessons together Mary skillfully and patiently worked with me to improve my strokes in a manner to reduce the chance of injuries. Mary is a rare gem! My return trip to HBR would be for the opportunity to have tennis instructions with Mary in such a beautiful setting."—B.Z., Adv. Int., November 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—D.D.,  October 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "A fantastic resort and tennis program. We have been going there for 18 years. Marry, the tennis pro, is the best we have seen. Her shot of the day clinics are high energy and worth while for any level. She makes it fun, and informative. She always does a great job of arranging some fun doubles matches for us. Can't wait to go back next year."—S.O., Adv. Int., October 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Had a great tennis experience! Mary was fantastic -loved her clinics and she arranged for me to enjoy some doubles matches also!! HBR is lucky to have her-can’t wait to go back!"—C.G., Int., September 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating "We loved the tennis clinics! Myself, my mother and my 5 year old son all participated in various clinics. Mary is great. Super warm, welcoming and experienced. My son loved his group with her. She was very encouraging to him and me. Every time we saw her on property she said hello and remembered our names!"—S.P., Int., September 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Even after 15 years of tennis clinics, Mary pointed out new techniques that improved my game and lessened the risk of injury for which I am grateful. Mary is highly skilled and teaches with a easy-to-learn and personable approach. I would highly recommend making your reservation today at Hanalei Bay Resort (8 times to Hawaii and it’s my favorite resort) and booking clinics/lessons with Mary. My only regret is that I waited until the end of my 11-night stay to schedule time with Mary."—S.I., Int., September 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Mary was spot on recognizing what my game needed to work on. She was an absolute joy to be around and such a great person. A wonderful experience that will have my wife and I returning and working tennis in at HBR on our next visit!"—W.S., Int., September 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "We had an excellent experience getting tennis lessons for our 13-year-old at the Hanalei Bay Resort. Mary is an amazing tennis instructor. She is patient, enthusiastic and kind. She is extremely knowledgable and experienced as an instructor and is able to break down different tennis strokes to smaller components, making the movements understandable and easy to learn. My daughter made huge progress in a few sessions. Thank you!!"—J.C., Beg., August 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Mary is a great instructor. She spotted and corrected flaws in my swings and was very patient and caring in her approach."—H.S., Low Int., August 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Mary really helped me learn new ways to keep playing without injuring myself. She's the best!"—L.B., Beg., August 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Wow! What a beautiful setting in Hanalei Bay, Hawaii! You could not ask for a better place to play tennis and vacation! Mary Hannsz is an exceptional instructor! She is there for each player with positive guidance and instruction. Her love for tennis and people make playing even more enjoyable. In my case, I had not played tennis in over 10 years. Mary’s lessons and encouragement has gotten me back out on the courts and I am hooked again! Go to Hanalei and play tennis! I will be back next year!!!"—N.G., Int., June 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Hanalei Bay is a great place--beautiful resort in beautiful surroundings. I love the hiking, hidden beaches, and happiness. Tennis is a perk. I have come to HBR innumerable times. I don't come to play, and don't play much if at all at home, but it's so much fun to play at HBR that I always wind up playing a lot there. Mary is wonderful, sets me up with matches or tennis partners and gives me lessons. The lessons are insightful, and her teaching is so good that I don't forget what I have learned. In addition, the people who play are very welcoming. It's like a second home--a happy place! If you want a wonderful vacation on one of the prettiest tropical islands on earth, with tons of things to do and if you want to have the opportunity to enjoy tennis at the same time, HBR is the place to go!"—R.B., Adv. Int., June 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "My wife and I returned to the Hanalei Bay Resort because we had such a fantastic experience the first time. The setting is unbeatable, the grounds, pool and spa are beautiful. It is a great place to hang out. The addition, since the last time we were there, of the Happy Talk lounge gives a good option for dinner at the resort. I am extremely happy with my tennis experience at HBR, Mary Hannsz is a perfect pro for the resort. She is a great player, an inventive and insightful teacher and, very importantly, a supportive mentor. She has a great, positive personality. My week of lessons will make a noticeable improvement in my tennis. Mary also led very useful and interesting morning clinics. She also did a good job of arranging matches for me. I thoroughly enjoyed the tennis at HBR. We highly recommend HBR for tennis and for the resort itself."—M.W., Int., May 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I recently took part in the tennis program at Hanalei Bay Resort (private lesson, clinics). I came away energized about my game and eager to practice what I learned. Mary Hannsz does an outstanding job with stroke instruction and court strategy and she then implements drills to support her coaching. I enjoyed the time I spent playing tennis at HBR tremendously, and my game improved a lot. The resort is gorgeous."—N.B., Int., May 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating "Just returned from six weeks at Hanalei Bay Resort, a Peter Burwash affiliate on the Hawaiian island of Kauai. We attended clinics two to three times each week in addition to playing in matches with other people we met at the resort/clinics. We hadn’t planned quite so much tennis on our trip, but between the excellent instruction, fun clinics, people we met and the extraordinary beauty of the courts on a bluff overlooking Hanalei Bay, we kept wanting more! Mary Hannsz, the on-site tennis pro, teaches all levels, and both my wife and I- two very different skill levels - came away with improved skills and strategies. We watched Mary working with kids and can’t wait for our grandchildren to take part in the program. We highly recommend Hanalei Bay Resort."—W.B., Adv. Int., May 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "My 8yr old son has wanted to try tennis. When we arrived he saw all the tennis courts and said he wanted a lesson. He was apprehensive at first, but Mary was amazing. She was the best coach! He had such a great experience that we signed up for more lessons while visiting. Now that we are home he has continued taking lesson."—E.L., Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The best experience ever! We arrived at HBR as a timeshare exchange owner and was pleasantly surprised at how wonderful the resort was....the view, the pool, the atmosphere, etc. But, the best surprise of all, was Mary Hannsz and the tennis program! Only two weeks before leaving to Kauai, I was looking at tennis resorts featured in tennis magazines and was going to book a trip when I returned from Kauai in NC. Little did I know that I would be staying at a "top 50 tennis resort in the world" at HBR! Not only was Mary extremely welcoming, she helped a former ranked racquetball player with "lots of bad habits", become a confident tennis player in two weeks! I can't thank her enough! AND because of her (and the wonderful tennis players that I met), we became an HBR owner. It was my intention to sell my other Kauai timeshares on this trip and instead we added HBR to our portfolio....so we will be back!!! Thank you again!!!"—J.P., Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Best tennis environment I’ve visited. Friendly and accommodating. The professional, Mary Dang, is a strong instructor with a focused yet relaxed and friendly manner. Lots of activities and chances to play with very little hassle."—A.C., Adv., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The tennis program at Hanalei Bay Resort is awesome! Mary has such a positive attitude and she goes above and beyond with individual lessons/coaching and setting up matches (she texted me after hours to tell me she'd found a good partner for me). She even hooked me up with a group of local social doubles players who made me feel at home. The facility is also well-suited to the local environment, as the four turf and sand courts allow for play during rainy conditions. For apres tennis, or if you need to wait out a storm, the Happy Talk bar and restaurant serves up great drinks and bites. Did I mention the views? Even an off tennis day can't get you too down when you have ever-changing mountain, ocean and waterfall views. Amazing! Great job, HBR. I'll be back!"—D.B., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We have been coming to Hanalei Bay Resort for forty years and it feels like home. The tennis program has been a vital part of our coming back so often. Mary, the pro is amazing. Not only is she a master at teaching young children to play and love the game, she also can make corrections in veteran players quickly and with a quick word. Her lessons and clinics are fun and challenging. She hooks me up with matches while I am at the resort. I can't imagine a vacation here without the tennis program. I love playing with a view of Bali Hai and Hanalei Bay. The resort has so many other activities. The condos have outstanding views. All of the staff is helpful and kind. I love it jere."—M.S., Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Hanalei Bay Resort has it all, tennis, golf, beach, hiking plus many North Shore attractions. The tennis is great for all ages. Mary runs lessons and programs for all levels and preferences."—I.S., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The tennis program at HBR is truly an outstanding aspect of the resort. That said, it is nearly impossible NOT to be distracted by the incredible beauty of the location. Both my husband and I really enjoy playing at these facility. You have a choice of playing on the astro-turf/sand courts or hard courts. You can play on the astro-turf courts right after it rains; or during a light rain if you don't mind tennis balls that look like comets with tails during your game....smiles. The Director and Pro, Mary Hannsz, is absolutely wonderful - warm, welcoming, professional, and a great teacher of the game of tennis no matter what your age. . My and I husband played in the regular Sunday afternoon round robin and really enjoyed it. I took weekly clinics and three lessons with her. My game was improved immediately. Since returning home to Colorado, people have noticed and commented on my improved strokes and game. I wish I could work with her every week. Thank you, Mary!" I am looking forward to seeing you next winter, 2020."—S.J., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "My husband and I vacationed at the Hanalei Bay Resort for the first time this month. The setting is amazing with views of Hanalei Bay and the Bali Hai mountains. We chose HBR because of the location and on-site tennis facility. The tennis program at HBR is truly an outstanding aspect of the resort and that's saying something. We really enjoyed playing on the astro-turf/sand courts. We were amazed that you could play on them right after it rains. The Pro, Mary Hannsz, is absolutely wonderful - warm, welcoming and a great teacher. My husband played in the round robin and really enjoyed it. I took a clinic and two lessons with her and I know that what she taught me will change my game. I wish I could work with her every week. Thank you, Mary!"—P.W., Low Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "We have been going to the tennis clinics at Hanalei Bay Resort and have had private lessons with Mary for 3 years. We visit Hanalei Bay Resort serval times a year. The bay view from the tennis courts is spectacular. If you play in the afternoon can hear the live music from the pool bar. Has grass tennis courts which are great on the knees and can play on soon after a rain storm. Have made many friends from attending the clinics. Mary puts lots of effort into the clinics, fast moving and get to hit lots of balls. Mary’s lessons are tailored to your needs, she works on and improves your strokes and strategy."—S.C., Low Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—C.R., Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "We just had a great trip to Hanalei Bay Resort! I love to play tennis on vacation, but the rest of my family prefers other activities. I attended daily tennis clinics and a round robin run by Mary, the wonderful pro. In addition, Mary really went above and beyond, by finding me groups to play with. She tapped into both other vacationers, as well as local members of the courts. The matches were always at the perfect level, and really added to an exceptional vacation."—S.J., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "I got to come here on a whim and I'm extremely happy that I did. A friend recommended HBR with exuberance, and they were not wrong. First off - the setting is the definition of picturesque. From the courts I played on, I could see the mountains, the oceans, and all of the nature you find in Kauai. Very quiet and peaceful too. My friend told me to ask for Mary for lessons and hitting sessions. She was lovely....Skilled, gregarious, completely accommodating, friendly. She also kindly set me up with some of the more advanced players on the island too, which is nice. It's hard to find good players when traveling sometimes, but she came through. They also have an "astro-turf," synthetic grass court - very interesting and worth trying out. I've been playing for over 20 years at a high-level, and this one was new for me. You get the benefits of a clay court (easy on the joints, sliding capabilities), but more sustainable, not as messy, etc. Definitely try these out. I'll be back - very satisfied. And if you are staying anywhere near the North Shore of Kauai, I believe this is really the only option to go to if you love tennis and/or are an advanced player. Ask for Mary ;)"—F.P., Adv., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "While my wife and I did not stay at Hannelei Bay Resort, I used the tennis facility for the entire month of March 2019. I had met Mary Haansz two years ago during our previous vacation to Princeville and I contacted here again in mid February this year to find our if she could help me with a very specific agenda. I am a tournament player in Canada, recovering from an injury and had not played since August 2018.. I needed very specific injury sensitive drills to do to help me recover safely and determine if I could get my game back in shape for an April tournamnent back here in Canada. Mary was exceptional.. She delivered on each and every need with enthusiasm and care. I'm a former Tennis Instructor myself... former U.S. Colllege player and Mary is simply one of the best instructors I've met. No advance player would be disappointed to hire Mary to help them with any technical aspect of their game. Thanks Mary... Until we meet again.. Mahalo!!!"—S.F., Adv., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "I just returned from my 4th visit to Hanalei Bay Resort with its totally amazing tennis scene. Eight courts: 4 hard and 4 Aussie Clay which I love since they play like hard-tru and are easy on the back and knees. Mary the pro there is fantastic -- not only great instruction at a style that is friendly and personal -- but she goes full-time to find you partners to hit with at your required level. PLUS you have one of the most beautiful vistas in the world of the Bali Hai mountains and Hanalei Bay with the light tropical breezes keeping the climate at a great level. Can't wait to go back!"—B.O.,  April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "I never miss a chance to attend the stroke-of-the-day clinics, which are a terrific combination of drills with instruction, refreshers, doubles strategy, and morning wakeup party with Mary as curriculum designer, coach, facilitator, and host. I don't know how she does it! I played at my club at home last night for the first time after two weeks at Hanalei Bay Resort, and instantly felt more confident on the court. And I'll be texting friends new and old back in Kauai to tell them so, because it's one big happy supportive tennis family."—R.L., Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "This resort is amazing and Mary was brilliant with teaching both my boys. The courts have the most incredible view and the grass courts allowed us to play even when it had just rained. My boys did privates and a clinic with Mary, and my son’s quote about her is “She offers mindsets and what you should try to do in order to make your strokes more powerful, accurate, and intense. She does this in fun ways so you don’t even know until you hit a ball. I wish I could have lessons with her every day!” With all the amazing experiences we had on Kauai, tennis with Mary is still on the top of the list. Impressive that she can compete with surfing and whales and dolphins. We recommend this resort 100 percent!"—C.C., Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Mary, the pro is wonderful with teaching children. Our grand children (now 8 and 10) have been working with her each year we visit HBR with lessons and have made great progress in learning the game. The best part is they actively ask if they can take lessons from Mary each year before we go. Thank you Mary for making their time with you both educational and fun. They both plan to take more lessons during the summer. George Arends"—G.A., Low Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—A.C., Beg., March 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—C.M., Low Int., March 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Tennis is a primary reason why we annually vacation at HBR. The courts are superb, (except for two) and the 4 sandy artificial turf courts allow play even in the rain, an absolute need in the Garden Isle. Tennis pro Mary Hannsz has really helped my game. She has taught me how to finally hit a decent topspin (after others have failed). He strategic tips for doubles play have also helped considerably. I enjoy playing with the locals several evenings a week. I may never become a 4.0 tennis player, but my time spent at HBR is both helpful and extremely enjoyable."—G.S., Int., March 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Mary Hannsz is a fantastic tennis teacher. Within an hour my stroke had significantly improved. She knew exactly what I needed to change and explained it in a way that was easy to grasp. Her classes were challenging and fun. For anyone looking to improve their game or just looking for a partner to hit with while on vacation I would definitely recommend Mary. Not to mention the incredible views of Hanalei Bay visible from some of the tennis courts. Playing tennis at Hanalei Bay is tennis in paradise."—B.C.,  March 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating "We love visiting Hanalei Bay Resort for the tennis. Head pro, Mary Hannsz is very professional, knowledgeable and personable. Her positive and even-keeled attitude is infectious and sets the perfect tone for good, fun and challenging tennis. The facility has plenty of well-maintained courts, including four conveniently flanking the central pool, and another 4 not far down the hill. Drizzle or shine, there are always opportunities to participate in drills, round robin doubles, pick-up games or self-organized play."—K.S., Adv. Int., December 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Took several private lessons from Mary ... it was awesome !! Was having some problems with my ground strokes and Mary used several drills to get me back on track! I’ve taken lessons from many instructors for many years and I would rate her as one of the best ... very professional and hard worker !!"—B.H.,  December 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I had a wonderful experience with Mary Hannsz at the Hanalei Bay Resort. My boyfriend is an avid tennis player but I have never played. So when we visited in October I decided to take a few lessons. Mary was the perfect instructor for me. She was very professional, informative yet patient. She introduced me to the basics I needed to get up and playing right away. I highly recommend working with her, especially if you are just starting out. I know that a fresh start with good technique is really important."—L.V., Beg., November 2018
  • 4-Ball Rating "Hanalei Bay is a beautiful resort with 10 tennis courts, a mix of hard courts and artificial grass. Getting an open court is not a problem. The tennis staff, Donald and Mary are friendly and knowledgeable. Over my 4 day stay, I took a private lesson with each of them, hit with a ball machine. Donald and Mary are experienced instructors; each gave me practical tips that immediately improved my game including my inconsistent ball toss, and forehand that tends to land short. The daily morning drills were a plus and adds variety. I should add for solo travelers like me, the tennis program was a great draw and Donald and Mary are happy to match you up with players at your level. I was concerned that Kauai rains a lot, and indeed almost everyday I was there it rained a little, but the rain is not continuous throughout the day and a light rain doesn't affect the artificial grass courts. If you want to combine tennis with other fun island activities, Hanalei Bay is a great way to do it. Hoping to return regularly..."—A.L., Low Int., June 2018
  • 4-Ball Rating "Love the place. Excellent Tennis program. Donald and Mary are ready to help with your stroke. They have a hard surface courts and artificial grass. It was easyt to find competive play and my level (3-5) and my husband's level which is 4.0. We will return next year."—L.B., Adv. Int., April 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Great view of Hanalei Bay. Maybe the best views anywhere in the world. Friendly instructors. Great kids program and adult matching.Many players. Highly recommended."—J.B., Adv., April 2018
  • 4-Ball Rating "Beautiful settings. Great availability with four hard courts and four artificial turfs. Excellent coaches, Donald Blecker and Mary Dang-Hannertz."—A.A., Int., April 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I feel welcomed the moment I step onto the courts and truly enjoy every minute I spend learning from Donald and Mary and playing as part of the HBR family. Both Donald and Mary , are always going out of their way to be helpful and warm. In fact, I miss HBR and my tennis family the moment I board the plane to return home."—L.R., Adv. Int., April 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "As a solo traveler, I was a bit nervous about finding a tennis group that I would fit in and feel comfortable with. I was blown away by the hospitality and kindness shown by both staff and players. Donald and Mary are the absolute best. They are incredibly talented coaches and equally as kind and generous. They both went above and beyond to make sure my experience was a good one and I am so grateful for the time I spent learning from them and getting to know everyone. I can't wait to go back!"—K.R., Int., April 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "Mary and Don were very friendly! My wife and I had never played tennis and Mary worked with us and was very thorough in her teaching and explaining everything. We could not have had a better experience.. She made it very fun and we were able to go play on our own after just one lesson :)"—R.M., Beg., April 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I had a great time here. Mary and Donald were great, very welcoming and helpful in trying to network players. Great tennis advice as well. I highly recommend HBR tennis."—S.F., Adv. Int., April 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Tennis at Hanalei Bay Resort is wonderful. The two pros are welcoming and supportive. Private instruction is excellent and clinics are terrific, instructive and enjoyable. Mary is amazing with adults and children. All levels are made to feel welcome. I would STRONGLY recommend tennis at HBR, whether you are going for a vacation and tennis is an "add-on" or whether you are going specifically for tennis. The courts are well maintained and the setting is magnificent.!"—D.L., Int., April 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "I didn't see/experience any weaknesses at this Resort. Both tennis pros were exceptional Instuctors."—J.D., Adv. Int., April 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Hanalei Bay has the most beautiful landscape I've ever played tennis at. Its better than Wimbledon. Its a breathtaking experience I recommend to anybody who loves the game And Donald was a fantastic coach, make sure you book him."—N.C., Int., April 2018
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—N.R., Int., December 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "Mary was an amazing coach, second to none. I needed to improve my backhand (a common problem for many players) and Mary was able to show me a few tips and coach me to see immediate positive results. Really a great coach, I wish I lived on Kauai where she teaches so I could schedule lessons with Mary all the time!"—P.G., Adv. Int., December 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "I was delighted to discover Mary & Donald and Hanalei Bay Tennis Resort. The newly resurfaced courts, picturesque setting, world-class instruction and opportunities to play with great players are unrivaled on the island. I never dreamed I'd improve my game on vacation but the teaching pros are so skilled they were really able to help my game. I felt like part of the HBR family from day 1. They were so welcoming and set me up with other players too. The organized programs were great fun; I especially enjoyed the fast paced cardio clinic and the Sunday Sessions. Aloha Fridays are a special HBR trademark. I can't wait to return to this magical tennis paradise. Now that I've found it I'll never go anywhere else!"—J.G., Int., April 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Courts are right above Hanalei Bay- best setting anywhere. 4 hardcourts and 4 synthetic that all play great.. Top notch PBI pros. Excellent clinics and game arranging. Friendly and competent staff especially tennis but throughout resort. Ideal for active , outdoor loving families. Our favorite place ever!!"—D.B., Adv. Int., April 2017
  • 3½-Ball Rating "The tennis staff and courts were wonderful! Only had a chance for one lesson with Mary and she improved my game tremendously! Still using the suggestions back at home and it's all coming together. The resort is on a beautiful setting and property with amazing views."—A.C., Int., April 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The tennis facility at Hanalei Bay Resort (HBR) is excellent. The courts are very well maintained/equipped, a beautiful setting and the staff is very welcoming. I stayed at HBR and had an incredible tennis experience. Don and Mary made it very convenient for me to play whenever I wanted to and connected me with locals so I always had someone to hit with. I highly recommend this facility and plan to come back next year."—J.K., Int., April 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "The Hanalei Bay Resort tennis program was phenomal! Mary specifically was wonderful to take lessons with. She completely changed my technique for the better! Can't wait to get back there and play with the staff again!"—A.R., Int., February 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "Mary at Hanalei Bay Resort instructed me in my first ever tennis lesson. I had such a wonderful time and she taught me so many great techniques that I can now use if I play/take lessons at home. I am so grateful for Mary's patience and skill. In addition, Mary was very accommodating with respect to letting us use the courts to play. My husband, who had not played tennis in many, many years, was able to play again and he loved it! It was a great time in one of the most beautiful settings in the world. I highly recommend the resort and the tennis lessons from great instructors! It was a wonderful time."—S.B., Beg., February 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "An amazing tennis community and pro team. accommodations are not overly luxurious at hanalei bay resort, but its fantastic value and amazing setting. i love this place."—R.D., Adv., February 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I had contacted Donald before our trip inquiring about tennis and what might be available to us. He was great with getting back in touch and letting us know our options. Once we arrived we signed up for a clinic to see how things went. We ended up having the greatest time. We did three clinics then took a couple of lesson with Donald. We could not have been happier with how we were welcomed by both Donald and Mary. We were thrilled with all that we learned from Donald lessons and clinics. It was one of the highlights of our trip and would love to come back and participate again. Thank you so much for such a great tennis experience and for getting us inspired again!!!"—B.M., Int., February 2017
  • 2-Ball Rating "Very nice facility but very average to poor tennis staff. Donald the head pro has very canned, generic instruction. The jr lessons my kids attended were extremely low energy and the instruction was very disappointing. Upgrade the teaching staff and this place could be awesome."—M.G., Adv. Int., February 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I was first introduced to Hanalei Bay Resort in 2014 and immediately fell in love with both the facility and the staff. First of all, the setting is unparalleled, with views of Hanalei Bay and the lush mountains and waterfalls of the north shore. I'm not a religious man per se but this is a truly spiritual place for me and I thank God for every moment that I get to spend there. The beauty is that spectacular! The synthetic grass courts provide a great playing surface in all but the occasional heavy downpour and also are a lot more gentle on the knees. Now to the staff. Both Donald and Mary are excellent, welcoming hosts and great instructors. Their match making is excellent, consistently matching me with similarly skilled players. They truly welcome you into a great community of tennis players. I always look forward to returning. Mahalo!"—J.S., Adv., February 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "Mary was a great instructor when I went on vacation to Kauai. I needed to work on my match strategy and she was able to give me some very good pointers. I would highly recommend taking a private lesson with her at this beautiful resort."—B.M., Adv., January 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Have you ever experienced Aloha Tennis? Well I had the pleasure of such an experience during my vacation time in Princeville,Hawaii, on the north shore of the island of Kauai. I was looking to get back into active tennis after a long absence due to a rotator cuff problem, and I was fortunate enough to wander into Hanalei Bay Tennis Facility and meet instructor Mary Dang Hannsz. Took five lessons over 2 wk timeline & learned that Aloha Tennis is equivalent to making a Mai Tai Cocktail. Take one part gorgeous tropical surroundings, add one part nicely kept facility, one part very friendly staff & members (aka Aloha Spirit), and then add two parts of an excellent instructor with a wonderful personality AND who can really teach; then u got it. Mary has knack of diagnosing technique errors and communicating same in a very positive & meaningful manner. She was most accommodating in fitting me into her already busy schedule, and nothing short of a joy to hit with & learn from. As we are very fortunate to vacation in this beautiful part of the world frequently ; I look forward to returning to the courts of Hanalei Bay Resort in the near future. And if your travels take you to Princeville, north shore Kauai I obviously strongly reccommend you give this facility a try. And by the way, if you want a great way to finish of your tennis day at Hanalei Bay go upstairs to the "Happy Talk" Bar , and order a liquid Mai Tai while absorbing the unbelievable vista of Hanalei Bay & the beaches where several scenes of the film South Pacific were filmed., Happy Aloha Tennis to one & all"—H.S., Int., October 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating "I was in Kauai for a week and the Hanalei Bay Resort made it a very enjoyable week of tennis. Donald was very friendly and I enjoyed a few of his drop in clinics and also played after with other members . I was introduced to some of the club members and welcomed into a mixed doubles group. After watching Mary Hannah giving a lesson I had to book a few with her , two great tennis lessons . I really enjoyed her insight and expertise. To top it off Mary's cardio tennis clinic was fabulous. I can't wait till next visit and recommend this club highly."—J.K., Int., October 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Hanalei Bay Resort is our favorite vacation destination because it overlooks Hanalei Bay in Kauai and it has now a superb tennis program and well maintained courts suitable for the climate. I am able to play tennis in the morning and walk to a great beach afterwards where I meet up with my wife who does not play tennis."—M.G., Adv., October 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The tennis director and staff are always warm and so welcoming. The atmosphere is positive and encouraging each time I attend. I was able to break and remake my forehand and learn applicable strategies for both my singles and doubles game. Each time I visit, I am made to feel as if I'm coming home. The resort and courts are meticulously maintained. The staff goes above and beyond to see that their guests needs are met. Hanalei Bay Resort is my favorite place in the world to play tennis and to enjoy all of the social aspects of clinic, private lesson, and group play."—L.R., Int., September 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating "I cannot say enough about the tennis program as well as the variety of surfaces at Hanalei Bay Resort. The highlight has to be both Don (director and tennis pro) and Kazumi's extremely attentive and personal approach to tennis. They are the best I've played with anywhere! Of course the setting is beyond stunning! This has got to be on your top list of tennis destinations if you love beautiful surroundings (I really can't put it into words!) and a very personal approach to tennis instruction with two of the kindest people you will ever meet anywhere in the world in Don and Kazumi."—C.S., Adv. Int., August 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Very personal service, tons of aloha energy, and they were responsive to our family goals and plans while on vacation. Mary was amazing in providing our daughter's first lessons! Highly recommended. The view is unbeatable from the tennis courts and the synthetic grass court option was a great experience."—T.C., Adv., June 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—L.R.,  May 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "EXCELLENT PROGRAM FOR FAMIES. Mary had my 6 and 8 year olds loving tennis and rallying by the second session. i can't thank her enough."—K.D., Adv. Int., April 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "We love HBR. We've been visiting for 5 years now and plan to keep coming every year. This was our first time taking tennis lessons and it was a highlight of our trip. We joined a clinic on one of our last days and wished we had done more. We thoroughly enjoyed them! Even my five year old daughter took lessons. Our clinic and all our lessons were with Mary. We love her. She is a fantastic teacher for all ages, always happy and smiling. I would recommend both lessons and the clinics. We plan on doing more next year!"—J.D., Low Int., February 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—B.H., Adv., February 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—M.G., Int., January 2016
  • 3½-Ball Rating ""—D.A., Int., January 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "So much fun. We were paired up with other good players."—J.H., Adv. Int., January 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Excellent, friendly and skilled staff. Great location, with beach access and superb view. I liked the turf/sand courts because we could play even after rain. My whole family enjoyed it and would definitely go back"—P.S., Int., January 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Friendly staff, fun clinics in the mornings, and round robins some afternoons. Staff also did an excellent job setting up matches between guests. The courts dry quickly if it rains."—S.H., Adv. Int., January 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating "Hanalei Bay has some of the most beautiful courts we have ever played on! The tennis pro, Donald, and his wife Kazumi run the tennis program which includes daily one-hour clinics and a Sunday afternoon mixer for adults, one-on-one lessons, and a junior player program that we did not participate in. The clinic cost is lower than many resorts we have visited, which was surprising since Hawaii is an expensive destination for the most part. There are 8 courts, with 2 in particular that have the most amazing views of the Kauai mountains and ocean (every court is in a lovely setting). Donald is a great instructor and the game matching he and Kazumi provided was more successful than we've ever experienced at a resort. I took a 1-on-1 lesson with the assistant pro, Mary, and she was also a gifted teacher who blended practice with tips in a way that was useful but not frustrating. The clinics seemed to hover right around the 3.5 level, which was perfect for me. The tennis matching allowed my 4.0-4.5 husband to find some higher level matches; he liked the clinics too but was definitely not having to try very hard to keep up. Overall a great value and great experience. We would definitely go back! Thanks, Donald & Kazumi!"—J.H., Int., January 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "What an awesome find. Don Becker does an awesome job on awesome courts. Clinics, round robins, lessons, arranging matches, junior program, beautiful setting all beyond expectations. fabulous locale. Worth checking out for sure."—M.A., Adv. Int., January 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We met the tennis pro, Donald Becker, while vacationing in Princeville, Kauai, Hawaii. He is very professional, knowledgeable, helpful, friendly, and welcoming, to both tennis enthusiasts and spectators alike. He is a true ambassador for PBI Tennis Specialists, very accommodating and helpful in arranging doubles matches, lining up players with similar skill levels. Donald made our tennis outing extremely enjoyable. A big thanks to Donald. Now that we know that there are so many resorts around the globe that our managed by PBI, we will definitely consider visiting these resorts in our future travels.."—B.B., Adv. Int., November 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Mary and Donald are the best!!!! Super friendly and were great at helping to set up some tennis for the week with a great group of folks, locals and frequent guests. Thank you Mary and Donald and hope to see you both again soon!"—M.L., Adv. Int., October 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We enjoyed the newly resurfaced courts immensely! You really can't compare the beauty of the resort and island to any other tennis resort. Don was such a perfect host: checking for fresh water, clean courts, warm and friendly demeanor. Although we did not take any lessons this time, I heard his encouraging, fun manner and remarks to his students. Made me want to take lessons but we ran out of time."—J.R., Int., October 2015
  • 4-Ball Rating "My husband and I stayed at Hanalei Bay Resort for the first time this October 2015. We loved staying at this resort; in particular, I loved the tennis clinics each morning taught by Donald Becker. I had not played tennis for over 30 years and was clearly a beginner. Donald's teaching approach was rigorous yet supportive, challenging and fun. I looked forward to learning from him and hope to return for another visit in the near future. I hope that Donald will still be there. Thanks, Donald! Christine Fredericks Carpinteria, CA"—C.F., Beg., October 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—M.N., Adv., September 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I had a TERRIFIC experience here. Great drill work with Don, competitive and fun round robin, and my kids really enjoyed their private lesson with Mary."—Z.N., Adv., August 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The courts were great. Loved playing on the artificial turf. The adult tennis program was fun and the PBI tennis intructor, Donald, was terrific. I would highly recommend going there for the daily clinics."—J.P., Adv., August 2015
  • 3½-Ball Rating "The tennis scene on Kaui is back strong. The court settings of course are beautiful and I got to meet a lot of fun and gracious tennis players. The pro went out of his way to make my tennis experience enjoyable setting up a number of matches. Look forward to seeing everyone next year."—B.F., Adv. Int., August 2015
  • 3½-Ball Rating "My husband and I selected Hanalei Bay Resort because of the PBI tennis program. Our first day at the resort was nearly over before we could inquire about clinics, etc., because the pro was teaching late in the day and no one was in the tennis office. When we did get on the court the pro handled our different tennis abilities by introducing a new concept immediately, leveling the coaching field. It would be nice if Hanalei Bay and PBI offered tennis vacation packages for various abilities that could be booked in advance. The onsite shop should offer tennis clothing and other tennis accessories. The lovely grounds of the resort, the new "grass" courts, and the tennis pro made it a delightful place to vacation. It will be more convenient when the restaurant is completed."—R.A., Low Int., June 2015
  • 3-Ball Rating "Rehabilitating from shoulder replacement/stress fracture, only used tennis backboard and 30 minute lesson from Mary , which was very professional and helpful. Resort room was very nice, but pool, bar, restaurant are still being rebuilt after extensive resort fire. Several tennis courts and pro shop being resurfaced/built. Nearby restaurants and entire Kauai attractions are excellent."—D.S., Low Int., May 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "It was perfect. Corley and Mary were great. Just what we wanted."—E.P., Adv. Int., April 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "At clinic this morning, Corley asked one of the students "what has been the high point of her vacation so far?" Here on Kauai there is so much Diane and I enjoy however I immediately thought that the high point for me has been the instruction from Corley and Mary. I just retired and now have some time to restart my game and with Corley and Mary, I am literely improving on daily basis. So Fun!"—R.F., Int., April 2015
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Our kids enjoyed tennis lessons with Mary Hannsz, who was a fun and terrific coach. Corey was also great and made court reservations easy to book. The views of Bali Hai are spectacular."—A.L., Int., April 2015
  • 3½-Ball Rating "I had lots of fun with the lesson."—D.P., Adv. Int., March 2015
  • 3½-Ball Rating "The location is stunning and can't be beat. The facilities are beginning to look a little tired though and some sprucing up is needed."—L.A., Adv. Int., March 2015
  • 4-Ball Rating "great staff and fascilities"—D.W., Int., February 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Absolutely excellent.Most beautiful courts.Very engaging pro.He gave me his cellphone number and I could text or call anytime to set up games and he made sure I was as busy with tennis as I wanted to be.If I didn't call him,he texted me to hear if I was interested and all my friends gave the same report of his service. Corly is awesome…never let him go!!!!"—G.V., Adv. Int., February 2015
  • 3-Ball Rating "6 tennis courts, 4 of which are in good shape. Very friendly and accommodating tennis pros on site. Wind can be an issue."—P.D., Adv. Int., February 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating "We took several group tennis sessions with the two instructors and they were -excellent with instant feedback until we got it and our technique has improved and we took the knowledge home with us and will practice so when we come back to HBR we will be even better. The clinics were well worth it. The instructors were knowledge able and positive and encouraging."—G.M., Low Int., December 2014
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—H.G., Int., November 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—K.Q., Int., August 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Just wrapping up a week of vacation in Princeville Kauai with my family and friends. Our day always started with a couple of hours of tennis on Court #4 (Ocean Court) at Hanalei Bay Resort (HBR). What a magical view! HBR has a tennis program run by Peter Burwash International. Corley Ward, the Tennis Director, went out of his way to welcome us, offered to set us up with matches, and really came though for us by stringing two of our rackets in less than 24 hours. Mary, one of the Pro's, was there to greet us with a big smile every morning and get us situated. She even hit with us on our last day. Don't let the smile fool you ... she has a wicked forehand! Although we didn't take advantage of the clinics and other programs, we heard from many people how effective both Corley and Mary were as instructors. Already looking forward to our next trip, and plan to get my wife and daughter in clinics next time."—B.W., Adv., August 2014
  • 4-Ball Rating "My son had the time of his life working with the tennis pro, Corely at HBR - he was knowledgeable and even arranged games with locals. Heidi, in the pro shop, was exceptional, even with her split schedule she would take the time to hit with my son. We would have liked, as owners, to have priority over coveted lesson times of the local members of the club...especially since we traveled across the ocean to get there...the regular locals seemed to have the best lesson spots! But all in all the pros at HBR were awesome and accommodating! Daily clinics were great! We loved it."—L.H., Low Int., August 2014
  • 4-Ball Rating "Was in North Shore for vacation. My daughter is a young Junior player so we signed her up for a couple privates with Mary to keep her playing. Everything went very well, nice staff and facility. Based on the construction going on, there are some improvements coming including possible grass courts. Highly recommend Mary for kids or adults. She's a great person and instructor."—B.S., Adv., May 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—B.D.,  April 2014
  • 3-Ball Rating "Friendly staff, clinics fun. Would like to have had more than one day a week of organized (round robin)play."—J.W., Int., April 2014
  • 4-Ball Rating "The tennis instruction was excellent. I learned a lot, played with really great guests and locals, and was able to play with friends outside of the tennis clinics as well. The courts were in great shape and were easily accessible."— .B., Adv. Int., April 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "If they're taking tennis classes, be sure to get Corley!"—C.M., Low Int., April 2014
  • 2½-Ball Rating "we have been spoiled by tennis destinations on Maui where we played at other clubs where we could play every day and we always had a match that was prearranged by the pro shop. (Royal Lahaina and Kapalua Bay) Maybe they have more players but in the 2 weeks we played at HBR we never were called with an opportunity to play with some other player. That option makes a lot of differenc for people who like to play daily."—B.V., Adv. Int., April 2014
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—S.G., Adv., April 2014
  • 4-Ball Rating "We visited Hanalei Bay Resort in January 2014. My children,ages 9 and 11, took two private lessons from Mary while we were there. Mary was an excellent instructor. I really liked her approach to teaching. If one of their shots was not right, she was always asking them what went wrong and showing them the correct technique. She had them constantly hitting and serving. I wish we lived in Kauai so my kids could continue lessons with her!"—L.O., Low Int., April 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating "Mary was incredible!!"—R.S., Low Int., March 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We spend a week at the resort and tennis courts were one of the reasons we picked it. Upon arrival I played with my daughter and Corley the pro came up to us to introduce himself. From there he setup several matches and a tennis practice for my two daughters. They had a great time and I enjoyed my games and making some new friends along the way. I would recommend any player adult and kids to stay at this resort. I have played all my life and this trip once the best one when it came to tennis and location. Great job!"—M.K., Adv., March 2014
  • 4-Ball Rating "Professional staff, lots of energy, very flexible, very friendly, and the surrounding view and beach are the best."—P.M., Adv., March 2014
  • 4-Ball Rating "HBR has everything, tennis, pool, spa and beach. I got lucky to fit in tennis 9 times in 13 days. The weather is very iffy during February/March as it rains a lot and can be very windy. It was also cooler than normal.
    Corley and Mary were terrific. So was Heidi in the pro shop. I also came down to HBR in Kauai last year. I called ahead of time and scheduled tennis. By the way, Mary and I look like each other. We called each other "sisters!""
    —L.L., Adv., March 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—H.P., Adv. Int., March 2014
  • 4-Ball Rating "Great instruction...helpful, friendly caring."—P.D., Adv., January 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating "Hanalei Bay Resort is amazing -- the courts are in great shape - and the tennis programming is first rate. Thanks to Corley and the rest of the tennis staff for a great week!"—P.A., Low Int., December 2013
  • 4-Ball Rating "This is an excellent resort with great tennis courts and coaching staff located in the center of the everything. There is also a wonderful pool and jacuzzi, which are nice after playing tennis all day. The location is one of the best in the world and the views are fantastic. Currently, there is no restaurant due to a fire on the property, but they are rebuilding and should reopen within the year. There are many places to eat in the vicinity. This is a great place to vacation with the family, as a couple or even by yourself!"—J.W., Adv. Int., December 2013
  • 4-Ball Rating "Great beginner/introductory class for children 6+. It was my daughters first time playing and she thoroughly enjoyed the class. Well structured with fundamentals and games to reinforce the techniques."—M.B., Beg., December 2013
  • 4-Ball Rating "Very good for vacationers looking to find tennis offerings. Good clinic play and competitive local players for fun doubles drop in. Unbelievable scenic locale."—M.B., Adv. Int., December 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Contacted the HBL tennis facility and they set me up with a nice doubles match. Had a great time. Love the views and everyone associated with the tennis facility very nice and helpful. Will definitely contact them again on my next trip there."—B.M., Adv., December 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Hanalei Bay Resort is a magical location. There is probably no more beautiful place in the world. The tennis facilities are excellent and getting better with clay courts on the way. Occassional rain can be an issue but it usually passes. Superb coaching adapted to each player's style of playing. Finding players and matches not difficult. Very friendly place."—N.S., Adv. Int., November 2013
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—R.L., Adv. Int., November 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Corley was an excellent instructor. We saw improvements immediately. He was very warm friendly and exremely technical in his assessment. The facility had a beatiul backdrop of the mountains and the bay. It was tennis in paradise."—P.M., Adv., September 2013
  • 3½-Ball Rating ""—J.C., Adv. Int., September 2013
  • 4-Ball Rating "We sent our 7 1/2 year old to learn tennis at Hanalei Bay Resort and she had a fabulous experience. Her instructor, Mary Dang Hannsz, was absolutely superb: patient, kind, fun, technically sound, and pushed just the right amount.
    Anyone who has children who want to learn how to play or continue progressing should go to Hanalei Bay Resort - the team there is terrific."
    —R.L.,  August 2013
  • 4-Ball Rating "Our tennis experience at HBR was wonderful! The staff was friendly and professional and very well organized. It was easy to come over to Kauai for the summer and get started on private lessons as well as clinics. Our daughter loved Mary and really bonded with her; she also improved significantly in the 5 weeks she spent with her. I loved the morning clinics with JD; such a nice mix of fun and competition. JD was really sweet, has a great sense of humor and always made everyone feel welcome. We will be back next summer! Just a note that we did not stay at HBR because we have a private home in Princeville. Cannot answer most of the survey questions. Thanks for the great experience :)"—C.O., Adv. Int., August 2013
  • 3-Ball Rating ""—L.K., Int., August 2013
  • 3½-Ball Rating ""—B.M., Adv., August 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—D.B., Int., May 2013
  • 4-Ball Rating "I think Corlee, the head pro is an excellent teacher and is doing an excellent job in promoting tennis and doing his very best in returning Hanalei Bay Resort to a top tennis destination once again."—G.R., Adv. Int., March 2013
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Excellent complex with 4 newly resurfaced courts (4 out of the 8). Incredible views of Hanalei Bay. Friendly staff. All levels of tennis to participate in. I did not take lessons or participate in clinics so can't comment on that aspect."—D.W.,  February 2013
  • 4-Ball Rating "Mary is a great teacher and if you have an opportunity to spend some time with her or have your children do so, it will be worth while, and a great experience!"—C.F., Beg., February 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Both Mary and Corey were great pros, very helpful. Corey was very responsive to setting up partners and Mary was fantastic with my three girls. They really looked forward to lessons with her. She really made it fun. Add the fantastic location and it really was a great experience. Can't wait to go back."—D.A., Int., January 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Great location, and great tennis!"—W.W., Adv., December 2012
  • 4-Ball Rating "Fantastic place for tennis and to pick up a game or clinic. Their new director Corley Ward is extremely personable and teaches great clinics. Clinics for everyone as I am a 4.0 player and just great fun. There is a great group of regulars you will meet and all are having a great time. Very friendly staff also. The Best place for tennis and a swim after on the beach or lunch at the Regis next door by the pool!"—B.G., Adv., October 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "HBR is the place for tennis on Kauai. Corley and Hannah are amazing! Both my wife and I are USTA 4.0 tennis players. I played in a couple of doubles round robins and then Corley and Hannah set me up with some fun singles matches with local players. Hannah even watched our kids so that my wife and I could hit together. The venue is beautiful (courts overlook Hanalei bay). Corley is extremely knowledgeable-- he helped me fix a problem with my forehand that has been plaguing me for a while. I wish there had been an opportunity to get a couple of lessons from him. Great job Corely and Hannah!!! HBR is at the top of our list next time we visit Kauai."—R.M., Adv., September 2012
  • 3½-Ball Rating ""—A.D., Low Int., September 2012
  • 4-Ball Rating "My daughter and I came to your resort to play tennis. We were not sure what to expect. After one week of playing in a round robin, clinics and a lesson; I highly recommend the tennis program at HBR.
    Upon arriving in Princeville, our hotel was promptly faxed a tennis program detailing clinics and lessons. I found Corley Ward to be a wonderful tennis coach and teacher. I am a 3.5 player, and Corley taught well to every level in our clinics. There was something for everyone.
    In a private lesson, Corley had great intuition, and was able to identify and correct errors in a positive and encouraging manner. I look forward to my next visit!"
    —C.R., Adv. Int., September 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I would rate the experience highly favorably. I have been going to HBR for 17 yrs now and the only thing that has disappointed me was the availability of tennis programs, partners, etc. I therefore was delighted to find this year's experience totally different. I found the instructor, Corley Ward, particularly excellent, as was the program in general."—L.R., Int., September 2012
  • 3-Ball Rating "The Tennis program was just getting started at the resort. I am a USTA 4.0 player and I participated in two of the morning clinics and enjoyed them thoroughly. The 4 upper courts were in good shape and Corley Ward, the tennis pro, was excellent. A good workout, lots of fun, and useful shot advice. Corley tried to set up a match for me but I wasn't available at the right time. Tennis racquets were available for use and rent."—G.C., Adv. Int., August 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—J.D., Adv., August 2012
  • 4-Ball Rating "Great courts....great pro...corley does a great job.."—M.D., Adv. Int., August 2012
  • 3½-Ball Rating "The most beautiful location for tennis on Kauai, overlooking Hanalei Bay and mountains. They have a new tennis program starting, looking forward to seeing the results when we return."—J.P., Adv., August 2012

Rate Hanalei Bay Resort


Ratings

(186 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Instruction
4½-Ball Rating
Game Matching
4½-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4-Ball Rating
Cuisine
2½-Ball Rating Lodging
3½-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
3-Ball Rating
Dollar Value
4½-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4-Ball Rating Setting
4½-Ball Rating
Kids' Programs
4-Ball Rating Romance
4½-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4-Ball Rating

Ratings

(186 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Instruction
4½-Ball Rating Cuisine
2½-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4½-Ball Rating Setting
4½-Ball Rating Romance
4½-Ball Rating Kids' Programs
4-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Game Matching
4½-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4-Ball Rating Lodging
3½-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
3-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4-Ball Rating

Rates and Reservations

Lodging options are hotel rooms, studios with kitchenette, or one-, two-, or three-bedroom suites. Rates vary according to view. All units are atop a hill, with the beach a 5-minute walk away along a paved footpath. Rates include free use of the tennis courts. 

Visit the website for current rates

Hanalei Bay Resort
5380 Honoiki Rd.
Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722