Search
Email Us
Tennis Resorts Online
Photo of Hanalei Bay Resort, Princeville, Kauai, HI
Courtesy Hanalei Bay Resort

Hanalei Bay Resort

Princeville, Kauai, Hawaii





Your Call

Here's what others have had to say about Hanalei Bay Resort.

  • 5-Ball Rating "Mary our tennis instructor was incredible! I highly recommend her if you are looking for private lessons for 1 or 2 people. She was great at teaching technique, very pleasant, and was able to teach both of us who were at slightly different levels of tennis. We love Mary!"—E.T.,  February 2024
  • 4½-Ball Rating "This is our second year playing tennis at Hanalei Bay Resort. Mary, the club pro, is so welcoming. We signed up for a monthly membership for our week in Kauai, and it was the best decision we made on the trip. We attended Mary's clinics and played round robin doubles, with one day just hitting singles. Each time we had a great experience. And of course the courts have an amazing location, the views are spectacular. We highly recommend this tennis experience."—R.S., Int., January 2024
  • 4½-Ball Rating "It was a great program. My coach Mary was fantastic because she teaches you what you want to learn. And I had an amazing time working on my serve. Mary was very helpful and patient. I would recommend her as a coach to anyone. thanks, Rio"—R.L.,  January 2024
  • 5-Ball Rating "Hanalei Bay Resort is such a fantastic getaway, and the outstanding tennis program keeps us coming back year after year. The setting and views are truly unsurpassed - Hanalei Bay is quite simply jaw dropping gorgeous. The tennis courts enjoy views of the Bay and Kauai's lush green mountains and waterfalls. There is a mix of hard courts and sand-covered turf courts which are a pleasure to play on and easy on the joints. The tennis director Mary puts on great tennis programs for both experienced players and novices, with offerings available for all. We got to learn new skills with Mary, and play with both fellow resort goers and local residents, which is such a nice balance. Don't hesitate to visit HBR!"—R.W., Int., January 2024
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Every year we return to Kauai and take Mary and Christian's tennis clinics. They are competitive and fun, and the view is unsurpassed. We love Hanalei Bay Resort and will continue to play here every year!"—K.P., Int., January 2024
  • 4-Ball Rating "I was staying at a neighboring resort but found Mary through the PBI system and played twice during my 5 day stay. The backdrop for the courts alone are worth the visit. Mary and I found out we know common coaches all the way in Miami - where i was visiting from and she made me feel right at home. She even let me win in our match play ;) I hope to be back some day and take in the entire experience again...it's been one of the better overall tennis experiences i've had."—R.C., Adv. Int., January 2024
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Mary is an exceptional coach and is full of encouragement, helpful tips; readily available and responsive. We have been coming here for years and so enjoy taking lessons from her. We always look forward to it! Beautiful courts with magnificent views of Hanalei Bay. Great surface to courts that reduces moisture so playing can happen even after a tropical deluge. Fun, beautiful and instructive."—K.E., Int., January 2024
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Mary Hannz, the pro, was fantastic, in the clinic but especially for the private lesson. In one hour we went through multiple strokes that I saw as my biggest weaknesses. Stroke by stroke, as if by checklist, she helped me fix all of them as if by magic. These are strokes I have struggled with. Finally we worked on three different serves, the kick being the one I really needed help on. At the end of the lesson, I could not believe the improvement. Best lesson ever!"—D.B., Int., December 2023
  • 4½-Ball Rating "My husband and I planned a 4 week vacation in Princeville, Kauai and upon arrival started looking for public tennis courts where we could play on a regular basis. Since not much was available any where on the island, we learned that The Hanalei Bay Resort in Princeville had court times available if you wanted to join their tennis club on a 1-month membership.. After visiting the resort and seeing the wonderful tennis facility, we met with Mary (director & onsite pro) who welcomed us and signed us up on the 30 day membership that we had immediate access to. (The cost to join was very reasonable!) During our time in Kauai we got to know many of the other guests who frequently used the facility and made us feel very welcomed. We joined Mary’s clinics, took private lessons and participated in the many Round Robin sessions as well as played and practiced our game on a regular basis. This is a gem of a tennis facility nestled in the beautiful Hanalei Bay Resort with ocean views on the north shore of Kauai. If you are a tennis player looking for a place to play, we highly recommend when staying in the area!!!"—S.H.,  November 2023
  • 5-Ball Rating "We spent a month staying in Princeville at a condominium just down the road from the Hanalei Bay Resort. We were hoping to play tennis regularly while on Kauai so I reached out to Mary Hannsz to see if there were opportunities to play at HBR. She was very responsive and set us up as members giving us the opportunity to enjoy use of the courts, connect with other players with similar skillsets, play in round robin groups thee times per week and to participate in daily clinics. Mary runs the daily clinics with a lot of energy and passion for the game. They are a great opportunity to hit lots of balls in a friendly atmosphere with some real quality players. I'd highly recommend them. Finally, I have to mention that HBR has some courts that look out over Hanalei Bay towards Bali Hai. The views are amazing and have to rank it up there with the most beautiful tennis resorts in the world."—J.H., Int., November 2023
  • 5-Ball Rating "Mary called us immediately after my initial inquiry. She patiently set us up on the scheduling platform. We arrived and met a tennis community of locals and travelers. Mary builds community unlike anyone I have encountered. I work in the resort industry and she has the ability to bring people together very swiftly. Her patrons include professionals who travel across the island, those that come from the main land just to hit with Mary and new people such as myself and my husband. Her drills are fast paced, instructional and informative. I have drilled for 20 years at multiple clubs and Mary’s instruction is top notch. We will plan future vacations around tennis with Mary."—S.M., Adv. Int., November 2023
  • 5-Ball Rating "Mary Hannsz, the Tennis Director at HBR, is exceptional. This was our third year in a row playing at HBR, and the best yet. We played 7 of the 9 mornings we were in Hanalei. As others have mentioned, Mary brings an infectious positive attitude to every clinic, lesson and interaction. She creates an environment where you feel like one of the local regulars by the end of the clinic, and all are cheering for each others good shots. You work on something new each morning in her various games and drills. We just returned from the trip, and already looking forward to the next time."—G.F., Adv., September 2023

See more reviews

Rate Hanalei Bay Resort


Ratings

(248 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
5-Ball Rating Tennis Staff
5-Ball Rating Instruction
5-Ball Rating
Game Matching
4½-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
5-Ball Rating Pickleball
3-Ball Rating
Cuisine
3½-Ball Rating Lodging
4½-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
4-Ball Rating
Dollar Value
5-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4½-Ball Rating Setting
5-Ball Rating
Kids' Programs
4½-Ball Rating Romance
5-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
5-Ball Rating

Ratings

(248 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
5-Ball Rating Instruction
5-Ball Rating Tennis Staff
5-Ball Rating Cuisine
3½-Ball Rating Dollar Value
5-Ball Rating Setting
5-Ball Rating Romance
5-Ball Rating Kids' Programs
4½-Ball Rating
Game Matching
4½-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
5-Ball Rating Pickleball
3-Ball Rating Lodging
4½-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
4-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4½-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
5-Ball Rating

Rates and Reservations

Hanalei Bay Resort

Lodging options are hotel rooms, studios with kitchenette, or one-, two-, or three-bedroom suites. Rates vary according to view. All units are atop a hill, with the beach a 5-minute walk away along a paved footpath. Rates include free use of the tennis courts. 

5380 Honoiki Rd.
Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722