Search
Email Us
Tennis Resorts Online
Hanalei Bay Resort, Kauai, Hawaii
Courtesy Hanalei Bay Resort

Hanalei Bay Resort

Princeville, Kauai, Hawaii






Your Call

Here's what others have had to say about Hanalei Bay Resort.

  • 5-Ball Rating "Wow! What a beautiful setting in Hanalei Bay, Hawaii! You could not ask for a better place to play tennis and vacation! Mary Hannsz is an exceptional instructor! She is there for each player with positive guidance and instruction. Her love for tennis and people make playing even more enjoyable. In my case, I had not played tennis in over 10 years. Mary’s lessons and encouragement has gotten me back out on the courts and I am hooked again! Go to Hanalei and play tennis! I will be back next year!!!"—N.G., Int., June 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "My husband and I spent 6 weeks In Princeville Kauai and a friend recommended that I join the tennis clinic at HBResort. I’m so glad I did. I met the nicest people and thoroughly enjoyed the tennis clinics. I had not played tennis for quite a few years and the clinics helped me get my confidence back. Mist of all I looked forward to seeing Mary, the Tennis Director and instructor. She’s such a pleasure and a great instructor. I would highly recommend joining the clinic or one on one lessons with Mary. It will be the highlight of your vacation!"—F.M., Adv. Int., June 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Hanalei Bay is a great place--beautiful resort in beautiful surroundings. I love the hiking, hidden beaches, and happiness. Tennis is a perk. I have come to HBR innumerable times. I don't come to play, and don't play much if at all at home, but it's so much fun to play at HBR that I always wind up playing a lot there. Mary is wonderful, sets me up with matches or tennis partners and gives me lessons. The lessons are insightful, and her teaching is so good that I don't forget what I have learned. In addition, the people who play are very welcoming. It's like a second home--a happy place! If you want a wonderful vacation on one of the prettiest tropical islands on earth, with tons of things to do and if you want to have the opportunity to enjoy tennis at the same time, HBR is the place to go!"—R.B., Adv. Int., June 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "My wife and I returned to the Hanalei Bay Resort because we had such a fantastic experience the first time. The setting is unbeatable, the grounds, pool and spa are beautiful. It is a great place to hang out. The addition, since the last time we were there, of the Happy Talk lounge gives a good option for dinner at the resort. I am extremely happy with my tennis experience at HBR, Mary Hannsz is a perfect pro for the resort. She is a great player, an inventive and insightful teacher and, very importantly, a supportive mentor. She has a great, positive personality. My week of lessons will make a noticeable improvement in my tennis. Mary also led very useful and interesting morning clinics. She also did a good job of arranging matches for me. I thoroughly enjoyed the tennis at HBR. We highly recommend HBR for tennis and for the resort itself."—M.W., Int., May 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I recently took part in the tennis program at Hanalei Bay Resort (private lesson, clinics). I came away energized about my game and eager to practice what I learned. Mary Hannsz does an outstanding job with stroke instruction and court strategy and she then implements drills to support her coaching. I enjoyed the time I spent playing tennis at HBR tremendously, and my game improved a lot. The resort is gorgeous."—N.B., Int., May 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating "Just returned from six weeks at Hanalei Bay Resort, a Peter Burwash affiliate on the Hawaiian island of Kauai. We attended clinics two to three times each week in addition to playing in matches with other people we met at the resort/clinics. We hadn’t planned quite so much tennis on our trip, but between the excellent instruction, fun clinics, people we met and the extraordinary beauty of the courts on a bluff overlooking Hanalei Bay, we kept wanting more! Mary Hannsz, the on-site tennis pro, teaches all levels, and both my wife and I- two very different skill levels - came away with improved skills and strategies. We watched Mary working with kids and can’t wait for our grandchildren to take part in the program. We highly recommend Hanalei Bay Resort."—W.B., Adv. Int., May 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "My 8yr old son has wanted to try tennis. When we arrived he saw all the tennis courts and said he wanted a lesson. He was apprehensive at first, but Mary was amazing. She was the best coach! He had such a great experience that we signed up for more lessons while visiting. Now that we are home he has continued taking lesson."—E.L., Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The best experience ever! We arrived at HBR as a timeshare exchange owner and was pleasantly surprised at how wonderful the resort was....the view, the pool, the atmosphere, etc. But, the best surprise of all, was Mary Hannsz and the tennis program! Only two weeks before leaving to Kauai, I was looking at tennis resorts featured in tennis magazines and was going to book a trip when I returned from Kauai in NC. Little did I know that I would be staying at a "top 50 tennis resort in the world" at HBR! Not only was Mary extremely welcoming, she helped a former ranked racquetball player with "lots of bad habits", become a confident tennis player in two weeks! I can't thank her enough! AND because of her (and the wonderful tennis players that I met), we became an HBR owner. It was my intention to sell my other Kauai timeshares on this trip and instead we added HBR to our portfolio....so we will be back!!! Thank you again!!!"—J.P., Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Best tennis environment I’ve visited. Friendly and accommodating. The professional, Mary Dang, is a strong instructor with a focused yet relaxed and friendly manner. Lots of activities and chances to play with very little hassle."—A.C., Adv., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The tennis program at Hanalei Bay Resort is awesome! Mary has such a positive attitude and she goes above and beyond with individual lessons/coaching and setting up matches (she texted me after hours to tell me she'd found a good partner for me). She even hooked me up with a group of local social doubles players who made me feel at home. The facility is also well-suited to the local environment, as the four turf and sand courts allow for play during rainy conditions. For apres tennis, or if you need to wait out a storm, the Happy Talk bar and restaurant serves up great drinks and bites. Did I mention the views? Even an off tennis day can't get you too down when you have ever-changing mountain, ocean and waterfall views. Amazing! Great job, HBR. I'll be back!"—D.B., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We have been coming to Hanalei Bay Resort for forty years and it feels like home. The tennis program has been a vital part of our coming back so often. Mary, the pro is amazing. Not only is she a master at teaching young children to play and love the game, she also can make corrections in veteran players quickly and with a quick word. Her lessons and clinics are fun and challenging. She hooks me up with matches while I am at the resort. I can't imagine a vacation here without the tennis program. I love playing with a view of Bali Hai and Hanalei Bay. The resort has so many other activities. The condos have outstanding views. All of the staff is helpful and kind. I love it jere."—M.S., Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Hanalei Bay Resort has it all, tennis, golf, beach, hiking plus many North Shore attractions. The tennis is great for all ages. Mary runs lessons and programs for all levels and preferences."—I.S., Adv. Int., April 2019

See more reviews

Rate Hanalei Bay Resort


Ratings

(142 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Instruction
4½-Ball Rating
Game Matching
4-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4-Ball Rating
Cuisine
2-Ball Rating Lodging
3½-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
3-Ball Rating
Dollar Value
4½-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4-Ball Rating Setting
4½-Ball Rating
Kids' Programs
4-Ball Rating Romance
4½-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4-Ball Rating

Ratings

(142 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Instruction
4½-Ball Rating Cuisine
2-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4½-Ball Rating Setting
4½-Ball Rating Romance
4½-Ball Rating Kids' Programs
4-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Game Matching
4-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4-Ball Rating Lodging
3½-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
3-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4-Ball Rating

Rates and Reservations

Lodging options are hotel rooms, studios with kitchenette, or one-, two-, or three-bedroom suites. Rates vary according to view. All units are atop a hill, with the beach a 5-minute walk away along a paved footpath. Rates include free use of the tennis courts. 

Visit the website for current rates

Hanalei Bay Resort
5380 Honoiki Rd.
Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722