Search
Email Us
Tennis Resorts Online
Hanalei Bay Resort, Kauai, Hawaii
Courtesy Hanalei Bay Resort

Hanalei Bay Resort

Princeville, Kauai, Hawaii



Mauna Kea 728x90

Masons Tennis



Your Call

Here's what others have had to say about Hanalei Bay Resort.

  • 4-Ball Rating "The Hanalei Beach Resort is a great place to play tennis in Kauai. It is a beautiful setting, with views of Hanalei Bay. The pro there, Mary Hannsz, does it all—exceptional communication, great clinics, and superb matching of players. The resort is great. Mary is AMAZING! Before heading to Kauai for a holiday, I contacted the Hanalei Beach Resort about its tennis program. In less than an hour, Mary contacted me directly to introduce herself and describe the resort offerings. Even though I was not staying at the HBR, I was invited to join clinics, and Mary arranged for me to play daily with guests and locals. She made arrangements day and night. She made it look easy. Needless to say, I had a blast. The local players were very welcoming and loved to compete. Thank you Trina, Lisa, EZ, Milt, Russ, and Ray for letting me play in with your groups. After playing some doubles, I watched Mary give a lesson to a 4 year old. It was a treat watching her interact with the boy, positive, encouraging, and with realistic goals. He had a great time and was smiling from ear to ear the whole time. It was his first lesson, but it probably won't be his last. The resort has 4 synthetic grass courts, that are a necessity on rainy side of the island. The courts allowed us to safely play through light drizzles and immediately after downpours (when the 4 hard courts were unplayable). For a guy of 62, the softer courts were also very easy on my knees and led to longer rallies. Thank you Mary Hannsz and my new friend on Kauai for 8 great days of tennis."—S.G., Adv. Int., January 2020
  • 4-Ball Rating "Mary is phenomenal! I came to the resort with essentially zero tennis experience, and within just two lessons she had me hitting powerful shots that were staying within bounds (which is a big achievement if you saw my first shots). She instantly identified the biggest weaknesses with my shot, and continued to drill good habits into me until they became natural. Mary’s also an extremely nice person, and I had a blast rallying with her. Looking forward to getting back for more lessons on my next trip!"—K.B., Beg., January 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating "Mary, the head of the tennis center, was amazing! My husband and I used tennis facilities several times and I took a few lessons with Mary. She is a very energetic, supportive, competent and professional coach. I was glad to spend time there and improve my tennis skills. Highly recommend!"—A.B., Beg., January 2020
  • 4-Ball Rating "Mary is amazing, she is an excellent, thoughtful tennis coach, with skills and dedication that go above and beyond. Cant wait to get back there and enjoy the Hanalei Tennis Aloha again."—L.H., Adv. Int., January 2020
  • 4-Ball Rating "Courts have turf/sand surface, drain the water (lots of rain up north) well and easy on the feet! Mary and Bruno very helpful with clinics and the ICE COLD towel after play was fantastic...."—G.H., Int., December 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating "Courts are well maintained with spectacular views. Mary, the pro, was outstanding. Friendly, helpful with great tips on my strokes. If you're on Kauai's north shore--a great place to play."—R.M.,  December 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "This vacation was one of my favorite vacation to date. Mary made it easy to schedule clinics and participate in the doubles socials with my husband. This entire trip was a birthday surprise for me and my husband nailed it when he based it around a tennis. I loved the grass courts which was good for my joints, had an amazing view that I could never forget! Mary was patient and encouraging, making it fun to participate in the clinics. Our stay was clean, and thoroughly enjoyed the hot tub, pool and beach all within a short walk from our room.All the staff was helpful, and courteous. I can't wait to return!"—J.M.,  December 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating "This trip was a surprise birthday get-away for my wife and the Hanalei Bay Resort exceeded all of my expectations. I connected with Mary, the tennis pro months ahead of the birthday to make sure what I was putting in motion would be the best surprise ever. The true focus of the trip was tennis but everything else that revolved around that agenda item also made the trip the memory of a lifetime. The morning views from the court were stunning and Mary was instrumental in making that trip the most perfect in our entire portfolio of vacations to date. Plenty of other things to do as well during the stay that I would have a hard time putting into words but if you are a dog lover and had to leave your furry friends at home, visit the local Humane Society and grab a dog for a field trip day. A favorite memory of ours after a solid morning of tennis clinic was to take a hike with an adaptable dog."—J.M., Adv. Int., December 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Mary at the tennis resort is terrific! She worked with my entire family and we all range in skill and experience. Highly recommend a private lesson as it is amazing value"—M.R., Adv. Int., December 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We came across Mary Hannsz, the pro, a couple years ago while staying at a nearby resort. My husband and I wanted to try to get some tennis in and boy did we ever. Mary hooked us up with some awesome daily clinics and round robins. We were only there for a week, but fell in love with the Hanalei Bay Resort. We have always been anti-timeshare UNTIL we visited this resort. Mary and her tennis program were the main reason we decided to buy 2 weeks. We love her enthusiasm and professionalism. You absolutely cannot beat the breathtaking scenery surrounding you while you play. We returned this year and played even more tennis than last time. Mary would even find people to play at various times of the day if you wanted. We took private lessons from her as well and admire the time she puts on the court for everyone. We decided that 2 weeks just isn’t enough, so we bought a 3rd week this time around. The resort grounds are beautifully maintained, the pool is amazing, and the beach a close walk downhill. But we have to say that tennis is what really sells this place."—K.C., Adv. Int., December 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Excellent tennis facilities, including a variety of surfaces. I liked the AstroTurf for its wicking ability and ease on the lower extremities. But the best part was the Pro at this resort. Mary Hannsz is a true professional in every way. She not only has excellent teaching skills, she also has the ability to read the tennis needs of each of her clients. She treats the participating players with respect. And she has a keen sense of humor. All in all, Mary is a great asset to the Hanalei Bay Resort and to their tennis center."—C.C., Int., November 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating "Have been going to HBR for over 7 years --- what more can you ask for? Great tennis experiences in the land of Aloha. While playing on the courts, you have the amazing view of the Napili coast which is a total WOW! Great courts that accommodate the sporadic tropical rains -- both special artificial grass and hardcourts. We love Mary Hannsz and her positive, motivating tennis instruction. Went to the daily tennis clinics at 9 AM at every opportunity -- fun and sharpened our tennis skills. Great cardio workouts during vacation. We'll see you next year, Mary!"—V.T., Int., November 2019

See more reviews

Rate Hanalei Bay Resort


Ratings

(162 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Instruction
4½-Ball Rating
Game Matching
4-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4-Ball Rating
Cuisine
2½-Ball Rating Lodging
3½-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
3-Ball Rating
Dollar Value
4½-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4½-Ball Rating Setting
4½-Ball Rating
Kids' Programs
4-Ball Rating Romance
4½-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4-Ball Rating

Ratings

(162 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Instruction
4½-Ball Rating Cuisine
2½-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4½-Ball Rating Setting
4½-Ball Rating Romance
4½-Ball Rating Kids' Programs
4-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Game Matching
4-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4-Ball Rating Lodging
3½-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
3-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4½-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4-Ball Rating

Rates and Reservations

Lodging options are hotel rooms, studios with kitchenette, or one-, two-, or three-bedroom suites. Rates vary according to view. All units are atop a hill, with the beach a 5-minute walk away along a paved footpath. Rates include free use of the tennis courts. 

Visit the website for current rates

Hanalei Bay Resort
5380 Honoiki Rd.
Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722