Search
Email Us
Tennis Resorts Online
Hanalei Bay Resort, Kauai, Hawaii
Courtesy Hanalei Bay Resort

Hanalei Bay Resort

Princeville, Kauai, Hawaii






Your Call

Here's what others have had to say about Hanalei Bay Resort.

  • 4½-Ball Rating "My husband and I vacationed at the Hanalei Bay Resort for the first time this month. The setting is amazing with views of Hanalei Bay and the Bali Hai mountains. We chose HBR because of the location and on-site tennis facility. The tennis program at HBR is truly an outstanding aspect of the resort and that's saying something. We really enjoyed playing on the astro-turf/sand courts. We were amazed that you could play on them right after it rains. The Pro, Mary Hannsz, is absolutely wonderful - warm, welcoming and a great teacher. My husband played in the round robin and really enjoyed it. I took a clinic and two lessons with her and I know that what she taught me will change my game. I wish I could work with her every week. Thank you, Mary!"—P.W., Low Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "We have been going to the tennis clinics at Hanalei Bay Resort and have had private lessons with Mary for 3 years. We visit Hanalei Bay Resort serval times a year. The bay view from the tennis courts is spectacular. If you play in the afternoon can hear the live music from the pool bar. Has grass tennis courts which are great on the knees and can play on soon after a rain storm. Have made many friends from attending the clinics. Mary puts lots of effort into the clinics, fast moving and get to hit lots of balls. Mary’s lessons are tailored to your needs, she works on and improves your strokes and strategy."—S.C., Low Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—C.R., Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "We just had a great trip to Hanalei Bay Resort! I love to play tennis on vacation, but the rest of my family prefers other activities. I attended daily tennis clinics and a round robin run by Mary, the wonderful pro. In addition, Mary really went above and beyond, by finding me groups to play with. She tapped into both other vacationers, as well as local members of the courts. The matches were always at the perfect level, and really added to an exceptional vacation."—S.J., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "I got to come here on a whim and I'm extremely happy that I did. A friend recommended HBR with exuberance, and they were not wrong. First off - the setting is the definition of picturesque. From the courts I played on, I could see the mountains, the oceans, and all of the nature you find in Kauai. Very quiet and peaceful too. My friend told me to ask for Mary for lessons and hitting sessions. She was lovely....Skilled, gregarious, completely accommodating, friendly. She also kindly set me up with some of the more advanced players on the island too, which is nice. It's hard to find good players when traveling sometimes, but she came through. They also have an "astro-turf," synthetic grass court - very interesting and worth trying out. I've been playing for over 20 years at a high-level, and this one was new for me. You get the benefits of a clay court (easy on the joints, sliding capabilities), but more sustainable, not as messy, etc. Definitely try these out. I'll be back - very satisfied. And if you are staying anywhere near the North Shore of Kauai, I believe this is really the only option to go to if you love tennis and/or are an advanced player. Ask for Mary ;)"—F.P., Adv., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "While my wife and I did not stay at Hannelei Bay Resort, I used the tennis facility for the entire month of March 2019. I had met Mary Haansz two years ago during our previous vacation to Princeville and I contacted here again in mid February this year to find our if she could help me with a very specific agenda. I am a tournament player in Canada, recovering from an injury and had not played since August 2018.. I needed very specific injury sensitive drills to do to help me recover safely and determine if I could get my game back in shape for an April tournamnent back here in Canada. Mary was exceptional.. She delivered on each and every need with enthusiasm and care. I'm a former Tennis Instructor myself... former U.S. Colllege player and Mary is simply one of the best instructors I've met. No advance player would be disappointed to hire Mary to help them with any technical aspect of their game. Thanks Mary... Until we meet again.. Mahalo!!!"—S.F., Adv., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "I just returned from my 4th visit to Hanalei Bay Resort with its totally amazing tennis scene. Eight courts: 4 hard and 4 Aussie Clay which I love since they play like hard-tru and are easy on the back and knees. Mary the pro there is fantastic -- not only great instruction at a style that is friendly and personal -- but she goes full-time to find you partners to hit with at your required level. PLUS you have one of the most beautiful vistas in the world of the Bali Hai mountains and Hanalei Bay with the light tropical breezes keeping the climate at a great level. Can't wait to go back!"—B.O.,  April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "I never miss a chance to attend the stroke-of-the-day clinics, which are a terrific combination of drills with instruction, refreshers, doubles strategy, and morning wakeup party with Mary as curriculum designer, coach, facilitator, and host. I don't know how she does it! I played at my club at home last night for the first time after two weeks at Hanalei Bay Resort, and instantly felt more confident on the court. And I'll be texting friends new and old back in Kauai to tell them so, because it's one big happy supportive tennis family."—R.L., Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "This resort is amazing and Mary was brilliant with teaching both my boys. The courts have the most incredible view and the grass courts allowed us to play even when it had just rained. My boys did privates and a clinic with Mary, and my son’s quote about her is “She offers mindsets and what you should try to do in order to make your strokes more powerful, accurate, and intense. She does this in fun ways so you don’t even know until you hit a ball. I wish I could have lessons with her every day!” With all the amazing experiences we had on Kauai, tennis with Mary is still on the top of the list. Impressive that she can compete with surfing and whales and dolphins. We recommend this resort 100 percent!"—C.C., Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "Mary, the pro is wonderful with teaching children. Our grand children (now 8 and 10) have been working with her each year we visit HBR with lessons and have made great progress in learning the game. The best part is they actively ask if they can take lessons from Mary each year before we go. Thank you Mary for making their time with you both educational and fun. They both plan to take more lessons during the summer. George Arends"—G.A., Low Int., April 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—A.C., Beg., March 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—C.M., Low Int., March 2019

See more reviews

Rate Hanalei Bay Resort


Ratings

(134 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Instruction
4½-Ball Rating
Game Matching
4-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4-Ball Rating Tennis Complex
4-Ball Rating
Cuisine
2-Ball Rating Lodging
3½-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
3-Ball Rating
Dollar Value
4½-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4-Ball Rating Setting
4½-Ball Rating
Kids' Programs
4-Ball Rating Romance
4½-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4-Ball Rating

Ratings

(134 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Instruction
4½-Ball Rating Tennis Complex
4-Ball Rating Cuisine
2-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4½-Ball Rating Setting
4½-Ball Rating Romance
4½-Ball Rating Kids' Programs
4-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Game Matching
4-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4-Ball Rating Lodging
3½-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
3-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4-Ball Rating

Rates and Reservations

Lodging options are hotel rooms, studios with kitchenette, or one-, two-, or three-bedroom suites. Rates vary according to view. All units are atop a hill, with the beach a 5-minute walk away along a paved footpath. Rates include free use of the tennis courts. 

Visit the website for current rates

Hanalei Bay Resort
5380 Honoiki Rd.
Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722