Search
Email Us
Tennis Resorts Online
Hanalei Bay Resort, Kauai, Hawaii
Courtesy Hanalei Bay Resort

Hanalei Bay Resort

Princeville, Kauai, Hawaii



Mauna Kea 728x90

Mauna Kea 250x250



Your Call

Here's what others have had to say about Hanalei Bay Resort.

  • 5-Ball Rating "While vacationing in Kauai I discovered Hanalei Bay Resort's tennis center. I signed up for a morning clinic. Wow! Mary is amazing. She is a great teacher and encourager and made each lesson fun. Once discovered I played 17 of my last 20 days! Thank you Mary"—D.B., Int., March 2020
  • 3½-Ball Rating "The tennis program was fantastic. Mary, the tennis Pro was extremely professional and generous with her time and energy. My Mom and I participated in Clinics and private lessons. Can't wait to go back!"—L.O., Int., March 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We loved our romantic getaway to the Hanalei Bay Resort! The food was excellent, the rooms were clean and spacious, and the service was outstanding. I am a lifelong tennis player and have seen more than my share of clubs and resorts. The setting is breathtaking — I've never been to a club with these amazing views of the mountains and the ocean. I took a lesson with Mary, who was not only a fine player and hitting partner, but was an exceptional pro; she pointed out one thing about my swing that just might save my wrist and elbow from future pain. Plus, she's absolutely delightful. I highly recommend Hanalei Bay as a resort, and if you are in the area and want some good tennis, make sure to check out the club. You won't regret it!"—J.M., Adv., March 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating "If in Kauii and play tennis or want to try it YOU must spend a couple days with Mary at Hanalei Bay. Its a personal experience everytime here and the activities offered from Clinics to instruction and the large group of players in round robins feels like your own club. Its about tennis and having fun at Hanalei Bay."—B.G., Adv., March 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—A.G., Adv., February 2020
  • 4-Ball Rating "Mary was exceptional as a pro in the private lessons. Learnt valuable aspects about the game. I would consider come back again!"—S.R., Beg., February 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Mary is an outstanding tennis instructor with a superb ability to incrementally improve your game by deconstructing bad habits and rebuilding better technique. She has an incredible way of infusing positive energy and feedback to all her students while remaining firm and focused on their performance with every single stroke. There’s no lazy, let slide mentality with Mary! But she will motivate you to be the best you can be! This is true no matter the age level or experience- no matter the positivity or negativity of the student (my son, my daughter, myself), she pulls the best out of us always. Check her out and enjoy the ride! You’ll have fun and work hard all at the same time!"—K.S., Int., February 2020
  • 4½-Ball Rating "This place is beyond comparison! Beautiful scenery, excellent tennis (thanks, Mary!), great pool bar, wonderful staff. I could go on and on!!"—J.S., Int., February 2020
  • 4-Ball Rating "Mary Hannsz runs an excellent tennis center at Hanalei Bay Resort. With a private lesson she fixed my forehand. She also, coached during regular group drills, "Hammer Grip" for volleys. She is reliable, hardworking and organized She is an excellent communicator both on and off the court. I had fun playing tennis daily during my vacation and I have taken the Aloha spirit to Indiana and am.applying it to my game. Thank You Mary and Thank you Hanalei Bay Resort!"—S.B., Int., February 2020
  • 4-Ball Rating "The Hanalei Beach Resort is a great place to play tennis in Kauai. It is a beautiful setting, with views of Hanalei Bay. The pro there, Mary Hannsz, does it all—exceptional communication, great clinics, and superb matching of players. The resort is great. Mary is AMAZING! Before heading to Kauai for a holiday, I contacted the Hanalei Beach Resort about its tennis program. In less than an hour, Mary contacted me directly to introduce herself and describe the resort offerings. Even though I was not staying at the HBR, I was invited to join clinics, and Mary arranged for me to play daily with guests and locals. She made arrangements day and night. She made it look easy. Needless to say, I had a blast. The local players were very welcoming and loved to compete. Thank you Trina, Lisa, EZ, Milt, Russ, and Ray for letting me play in with your groups. After playing some doubles, I watched Mary give a lesson to a 4 year old. It was a treat watching her interact with the boy, positive, encouraging, and with realistic goals. He had a great time and was smiling from ear to ear the whole time. It was his first lesson, but it probably won't be his last. The resort has 4 synthetic grass courts, that are a necessity on rainy side of the island. The courts allowed us to safely play through light drizzles and immediately after downpours (when the 4 hard courts were unplayable). For a guy of 62, the softer courts were also very easy on my knees and led to longer rallies. Thank you Mary Hannsz and my new friend on Kauai for 8 great days of tennis."—S.G., Adv. Int., January 2020
  • 4-Ball Rating "Mary is phenomenal! I came to the resort with essentially zero tennis experience, and within just two lessons she had me hitting powerful shots that were staying within bounds (which is a big achievement if you saw my first shots). She instantly identified the biggest weaknesses with my shot, and continued to drill good habits into me until they became natural. Mary’s also an extremely nice person, and I had a blast rallying with her. Looking forward to getting back for more lessons on my next trip!"—K.B., Beg., January 2020
  • 5-Ball Rating "Mary, the head of the tennis center, was amazing! My husband and I used tennis facilities several times and I took a few lessons with Mary. She is a very energetic, supportive, competent and professional coach. I was glad to spend time there and improve my tennis skills. Highly recommend!"—A.B., Beg., January 2020

See more reviews

Rate Hanalei Bay Resort


Ratings

(170 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Instruction
4½-Ball Rating
Game Matching
4-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4-Ball Rating
Cuisine
2½-Ball Rating Lodging
3½-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
3-Ball Rating
Dollar Value
4½-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4-Ball Rating Setting
4½-Ball Rating
Kids' Programs
4-Ball Rating Romance
4½-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4-Ball Rating

Ratings

(170 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Instruction
4½-Ball Rating Cuisine
2½-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4½-Ball Rating Setting
4½-Ball Rating Romance
4½-Ball Rating Kids' Programs
4-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Game Matching
4-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4-Ball Rating Lodging
3½-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
3-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4-Ball Rating

Rates and Reservations

Lodging options are hotel rooms, studios with kitchenette, or one-, two-, or three-bedroom suites. Rates vary according to view. All units are atop a hill, with the beach a 5-minute walk away along a paved footpath. Rates include free use of the tennis courts. 

Visit the website for current rates

Hanalei Bay Resort
5380 Honoiki Rd.
Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722