Search
Email Us
Tennis Resorts Online
Hanalei Bay Resort, Kauai, Hawaii
Courtesy Hanalei Bay Resort

Hanalei Bay Resort

Princeville, Kauai, Hawaii






Your Call

Here's what others have had to say about Hanalei Bay Resort.

  • 4-Ball Rating "We love visiting Hanalei Bay Resort for the tennis. Head pro, Mary Hannsz is very professional, knowledgeable and personable. Her positive and even-keeled attitude is infectious and sets the perfect tone for good, fun and challenging tennis. The facility has plenty of well-maintained courts, including four conveniently flanking the central pool, and another 4 not far down the hill. Drizzle or shine, there are always opportunities to participate in drills, round robin doubles, pick-up games or self-organized play."—K.S., Adv. Int., December 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Took several private lessons from Mary ... it was awesome !! Was having some problems with my ground strokes and Mary used several drills to get me back on track! I’ve taken lessons from many instructors for many years and I would rate her as one of the best ... very professional and hard worker !!"—B.H.,  December 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I had a wonderful experience with Mary Hannsz at the Hanalei Bay Resort. My boyfriend is an avid tennis player but I have never played. So when we visited in October I decided to take a few lessons. Mary was the perfect instructor for me. She was very professional, informative yet patient. She introduced me to the basics I needed to get up and playing right away. I highly recommend working with her, especially if you are just starting out. I know that a fresh start with good technique is really important."—L.V., Beg., November 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The tennis facility and program at Hanalei Bay Resort (HBR) are great. Mary is extremely friendly and helpful to guests for setting up games, lessons and participation in general. HBR is great for both a tennis vacation and for a casual set or two while vacationing at the resort. Locals and guests play together on the courts in match-ups at regular times during the week. Good fun."—M.W., Int., June 2018
  • 4-Ball Rating "Hanalei Bay is a beautiful resort with 10 tennis courts, a mix of hard courts and artificial grass. Getting an open court is not a problem. The tennis staff, Donald and Mary are friendly and knowledgeable. Over my 4 day stay, I took a private lesson with each of them, hit with a ball machine. Donald and Mary are experienced instructors; each gave me practical tips that immediately improved my game including my inconsistent ball toss, and forehand that tends to land short. The daily morning drills were a plus and adds variety. I should add for solo travelers like me, the tennis program was a great draw and Donald and Mary are happy to match you up with players at your level. I was concerned that Kauai rains a lot, and indeed almost everyday I was there it rained a little, but the rain is not continuous throughout the day and a light rain doesn't affect the artificial grass courts. If you want to combine tennis with other fun island activities, Hanalei Bay is a great way to do it. Hoping to return regularly..."—A.L., Low Int., June 2018
  • 4-Ball Rating "Love the place. Excellent Tennis program. Donald and Mary are ready to help with your stroke. They have a hard surface courts and artificial grass. It was easyt to find competive play and my level (3-5) and my husband's level which is 4.0. We will return next year."—L.B., Adv. Int., April 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Great view of Hanalei Bay. Maybe the best views anywhere in the world. Friendly instructors. Great kids program and adult matching.Many players. Highly recommended."—J.B., Adv., April 2018
  • 4-Ball Rating "Beautiful settings. Great availability with four hard courts and four artificial turfs. Excellent coaches, Donald Blecker and Mary Dang-Hannertz."—A.A., Int., April 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I feel welcomed the moment I step onto the courts and truly enjoy every minute I spend learning from Donald and Mary and playing as part of the HBR family. Both Donald and Mary , are always going out of their way to be helpful and warm. In fact, I miss HBR and my tennis family the moment I board the plane to return home."—L.R., Adv. Int., April 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "As a solo traveler, I was a bit nervous about finding a tennis group that I would fit in and feel comfortable with. I was blown away by the hospitality and kindness shown by both staff and players. Donald and Mary are the absolute best. They are incredibly talented coaches and equally as kind and generous. They both went above and beyond to make sure my experience was a good one and I am so grateful for the time I spent learning from them and getting to know everyone. I can't wait to go back!"—K.R., Int., April 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating "Mary and Don were very friendly! My wife and I had never played tennis and Mary worked with us and was very thorough in her teaching and explaining everything. We could not have had a better experience.. She made it very fun and we were able to go play on our own after just one lesson :)"—R.M., Beg., April 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I had a great time here. Mary and Donald were great, very welcoming and helpful in trying to network players. Great tennis advice as well. I highly recommend HBR tennis."—S.F., Adv. Int., April 2018

See more reviews

Rate Hanalei Bay Resort


Ratings

(120 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Instruction
4-Ball Rating
Game Matching
4-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4-Ball Rating Tennis Complex
4-Ball Rating
Cuisine
2-Ball Rating Lodging
3½-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
3-Ball Rating
Dollar Value
4½-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4-Ball Rating Setting
4½-Ball Rating
Kids' Programs
4-Ball Rating Romance
4½-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4-Ball Rating

Ratings

(120 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Instruction
4-Ball Rating Tennis Complex
4-Ball Rating Cuisine
2-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4½-Ball Rating Setting
4½-Ball Rating Romance
4½-Ball Rating Kids' Programs
4-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Game Matching
4-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4-Ball Rating Lodging
3½-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
3-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4-Ball Rating

Rates and Reservations

Lodging options are hotel rooms, studios with kitchenette, or one-, two-, or three-bedroom suites. Rates vary according to view. All units are atop a hill, with the beach a 5-minute walk away along a paved footpath. Rates include free use of the tennis courts. 

Visit the website for current rates

Hanalei Bay Resort
5380 Honoiki Rd.
Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722