Search
Email Us
Tennis Resorts Online
Omni Grove Park Inn, Asheville, NC
Courtesy Omni Grove Park Inn

The Omni Grove Park Inn

Asheville, North Carolina



Boars Head 728x90

Dave Marshall 2019

Dave Marshall Tennis runs Friday-Sunday weekend camps consisting of 8 hours of instruction and drills at $250/person as well as private clinics and other programing during the week. The professional staff includes Coach Dave Marshall, who coaches the Bryan Brothers and was a part of Mike Bryan’s doubles Grand Slams at Wimbledon and the U.S. Open, and Coach Ellis Ferreira, who himself has two Grand Slam doubles titles. Optional lodging packages arranged. For more information, phone 302.645.0713, email dave@davemarshalltennis.com or visit Dave Marshall Tennis



Your Call

Here's what others have had to say about Omni Grove Park Inn.

  • 5-Ball Rating "My husband treated me to another weekend getaway recently to our favorite place...an family tradition for us now. We, of course, had to come back with our tennis rackets to take advantage of another opportunity to work with Head Pro, Stewart Atkins. He was awesome...once again! The resort is beautiful, service is world-class, and the fun and recreation can't be beat! Thanks again, Stewart...see you next time!"—B.R., Int., April 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Stewart Atkins did a masterful job of helping my with some tennis problems. I appreciated his patience. Only problem was he is booked solid. Never fear, I got a session during my stay and would love to have another next visit."—C.P., Int., April 2012
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—S.Y., Int., April 2012
  • 5-Ball Rating "My son and I took a private lesson with the pro Wayne Forester. I have been playing tennis for many years, and this was an exceptional lesson. Wayne was able to quickly point out specific ways to improve our game. He did this in a way that was both easy to understand and patient. I would highly recommend this tennis center."—S.S., Adv., April 2012
  • 4-Ball Rating "Wayne Forester is an AWESOME tennis teacher. This was my first time with a racquet and he was incredibly patient, encouraging and explained things in a way that made sense to me. His follow-up, an email explaining what I learned, was a nice value-added touch to the overall amazing experience."—J.P., Beg., January 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Clinics are great"—J.A., Adv. Int., November 2011
  • 3½-Ball Rating "The head pro, Stewart Atkins, has an approach that is based on getting the best out you. His skill is in helping you achieve your goals by hitting rather than drilling, which I think most people would agree is a far more enjoyable way to improve your game. This makes it far easier to put what you learn into game situations. I am hitting the ball noticeably better - a real unpleasant surprise for opponents who have managed to beat me before now! I managed to speak to a number of regular local members at GPI and was impressed with the unanimous popularity of Stewart and his team."—P.S., Adv., October 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "My husband and I attended a clinic with Stewart and took a couple of private lessons from Wayne. Both pros are truly outstanding, we couldn't have been more pleased with the experience. The doubles clinic was fast paced, fun and informative we would have loved to attend more of these. Both pros are patient, encouraging, and focus on tips that will improve your game without starting from scratch. It was great to have the option of indoor courts if the weather is bad and the Grove Park is in a beautiful setting. We would highly recommend this resort and are looking forward to returning."—R.S., Int., September 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—M.C., Beg., August 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—P.H., Adv. Int., July 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "My husband and I had one tennis lesson with Wayne Forster and could have spent the rest of the trip with him. He had excellent insight as to strengths and weaknesses in our game, was infinitely patient and had great concise suggestions for improvement that are going to be really helpful in the evolution of our game and which are doable. Can't say enough good about him."—B.B., Beg., July 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "This was our 4th visit to the Grove Park Inn. Our family loves playing tennis and we often take vactions where tennis plays a big role in what we do together. We have given several tennis resorts a try in Georgia, Florida and South Carolina but we always want to come back to the Grove Park Inn because the instruction is top notch. Stewart's coaching works well with our level of tennis and he always gives us pointers to take home so we can continue to work on what we learned at the Grove Park.
    The city of Asheville is quite relaxing with great restaurants and of course, the best beer in the south which gives us plenty to do while we are relaxing between lessons. We would highly recommend booking a clinic or private lessons at the Grove Park. The instruction along with the atmosphere is by far the best we have ever experienced which is why we keep coming back year after year."
    —P.F., Adv. Int., June 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "I had the best vacation I've ever had at Grove Park. The Spa was phenominal. I attended a tennis clinic one day and enjoyed it so much, scheduled two more sessions with Wayne Forester. Wayne was a terrific instructor. The drills were fast-paced and fun. Wayne had us practice until we could execute what he was teaching. His instruction will definately make me a better player."—A.R., Adv. Int., June 2011
  • 5-Ball Rating "My wife and I recently spent four days at Grove Park Inn. We heard that Stewart Atkins was the best pro around. This certainly proved to be true. We both took private lessons every day. Stewart took our games to a whole new level! My wife is serving and volleying like a a pro. Stewart has simplified our strokes and made tennis even more enjoyable. His clinics are fun and exceptionally professional. The inside tennis courts are phenominal. We just can't say enough! We are planning a trip back as soon as we can."—T.L., Adv. Int., April 2011
  • 5-Ball Rating "My wife and I fell in love with the Grove Park...breathtaking! Being fairly new to the game, we found Stewart to be the perfect...and patient instructor! We left our vacation with a new hobby...thanks Grovepark!  "—D.C., Beg., March 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "My family and I stayed at the Grove Park Inn during an extremely busy weekend (later to find out that the "hightened security" was because the President and First Lady were with us at the hotel). We were surprised to be treated like royalty, as well, especially during such a stressful time for all of the GPI staff. We were very happy to be able to squeeze in a tennis lesson and work out with Stewart Atkins. We are already planning our next trip back to the beautiful mountains if WNC...perhaps on a weekend that is a little more low-key! :)  "—C.P., Int., March 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I go back to the Grove Park Inn once a year where I spend a day at the spa and work on my tennis. It is a great place with a warm atmosphere. The tennis program is terrific, indoor and outdoor courts. Wayne, one of the pros, is a great teacher. He is great at pinpointing your weaknesses and giving you tips to improve them. Months later I still remember his tips in my head. Apparently, they have had a really successful training program sending a number of teams to national competition but they are also good to intermediate players like me.  "—N.O., Int., November 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating "Excellent tennis professionals that teach great lessons and clinics"—P.G., Int., October 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating "I am a beginner to tennis, but always loved the game and wished I could do better - especially against my father-in-law. After a one hour lesson with Wayne (which was closer to two hours) he had me understanding more than I thought was possible, and had me hitting hard and accurate. I did one lesson that week, and it was enough to put my father -in-law on notice when he barely beat me the next time we played. I just wish I did a lesson/day when I was there. Wayne was great - I couldn't have asked for more."—D.D., Beg., October 2010
  • 3½-Ball Rating "I'm a 4.5 player always looking to hit with a pro when I travel on business. Wayne was terrific. We exchanged long, hard rallies; he gave me several good tips, which immediately paid off in my USTA matches. Not only that, the price for a 90 to 120 minute private lesson was the deal of the decade. Great fun, highly recommended."—L.N., Adv., May 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I am a beginner to tennis is every sense of the word but wanted to give it a try since my husband absolutely loves it. I am so glad I met with Stewart! He is funny, easy to be around and really helped me get past a life long block of thinking I can't learn to play tennis. Thank You! Turns out, I'm not as clumsy as I thought..."—A.P., Beg., April 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "First of all, the Grove Park Inn itself is one of the most atmospheric venues I have ever visited. Its remarkable golden-age glamour evokes images of the Great Gatsby, and the splendour of the turn-of-the century rich and famous. Its location in the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains, its friendly and attentive staff, the numerous antiques and unique arts and crafts furnishings, make this a hotel and rsort like none other. The numerous placards illustrating the notable personalities throughout the ages that have stayed there are a veritable Who's Who of the twentieth century.
    As an avid tennis player who has been nationally ranked, I have taken lessons from many top-notch professionals through the years, and visted many tennis resorts. I must say that the level of tennis and the level of service here was above and beyond what I am used to! Tennis professional Wayne Forester is an amazing player and instructor, and one of the friendliest as well! After hitting with me, and giving me some great tips, he also arranged for excellent hitting partners for the remainder of my trip. I truly enjoyed the time i spent at the Grove Park Inn, and in particular, with its tennis personnel."
    —D.R., Pro, March 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "My wife and I went to the Grove Park Inn Resort & Spa over the weekend for our anniversary. What an incredible facility in every way. The rooms, dining, spa, everything was truly exceptional. On Saturday while my wife visited the Spa, I took a private lesson with Wayne Forester at their indoor tennis facility.
    What a great time I had! Wayne gave just the right amount of instruction, along with a great variety of drills and games that were as fun as they were instructional. Wayne was quick to identify my strengths and help me understand how to build on and leverage them. As for weaknesses (and there are so many...) he gave great instruction on improving, but didn't spend more time than necessary, something I really appreciated.
    People go to Grove Park for their world-famous spa, and it truly is world-class. But I had the most fun of all during my tennis lesson with Wayne. So if you’re planning on going to the Grove Park Inn, I highly recommend you schedule time for a lesson with Wayne… it’s world-class, too!"
    —J.P., Int., December 2009
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I go to the Grove Park Inn about once every couple of months. It offer something for everyone!! I always start my day with a tennis lesson at the Sportscenter with Wayne. FABULOUS instructor!!! Knows exactly what to do to fix your game quickly. You see the results immediately. And he is soooo fun too. He has many great techniques to improve your tennis and he will play out points with you too. But forget about getting a shot past him, he is remarkable player! You can chose from indoors or outdoors depending on the weather of course. Then after some tennis , lunch in the Spa Cafe , and massage ,steam, and sauna for the rest of the day. Treat yourself and go today!!!!"—D.G., Adv. Int., December 2009
  • 3-Ball Rating "While at the Grove Park Inn I took two private tennis lesson and was very impressed with the pro's knowledge. Wayne Forester took his time with me giving me different approaches to my strokes, I certainly learned more in two days than my 5 years of playing tennis. Wayne was absolutely great. Thanks Wayne."—I.F., Int., October 2009
  • 4-Ball Rating "The tennis pros Stewart and Wayne were the best part of our girls' weekend at the Grove Park. Highly recommend spending some time having them work with you if you are a tennis player at any level."—W.A., Low Int., August 2009
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The tennis staff and facilities at the Grove Park Inn and Spa are outstanding. There are indoor and outdoor courts, which are a bonus.
    A group of 3.0 team members and I visited the resort for a weekend tennis getaway...complete with a 2 hour clinic AND doubles playtime with the pros. The pros (Stewart and Wayne) at the resort made us feel welcome AND introduced us to some excellent new skills/techniques that we brought back to our home courts... We will definitely visit this resort again!"
    —L.F., Low Int., August 2009
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Wayne Forester was the best tennis pro. He really took his time to help and was so easy to work with. My improvement was within 2 lessons"—M.D., Low Int., August 2009
  • 4-Ball Rating "My friend and I took a private lesson with Wayne Forester at the Grove Park Inn in July 2009. Neither of us had played tennis in years but I have taken tennis lessons off and on most of my life. Wayne was by far the best tennis coach I have ever had. He taught me things no one really has before, explained technique perfectly, he's patient, encouraging and fun. Anyone interested in tennis at any level would be remiss not to spend an hour or more with Wayne at Grove Park."—C.R., Low Int., July 2009
  • 4-Ball Rating "While at the resort I attended a clinic and took two private lessons from Wayne Forester. He is by far the best pro I have ever taken from (and I have had lessons from many pros at many different resorts). Wayne was right-on with the suggestions he gave me to improve my strokes and serve. He was clear in his explanations and helped me to get the feel of doing it correctly. I know my game is better because of his instruction. He even wrote up some notes from our lessons and emailed them to me so that I could remember everything we worked on. The Grove Park Inn is surely lucky to have Wayne."—P.M., Int., July 2009
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I attended an adult clinic and then did a follow-up lesson with head pro, Stewart Atkins. Both were excellent and Stewart was very accomodating about finding a time for a lesson, which I hadn't scheduled before coming. Gorgeous location and very professional and personable staff. Weaknesses: none noted."—K.E., Int., July 2009
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Personal attention to strokes and strategy; Stewart and Wayne both interested in improving individual performance and will help you work through problems"—F.H., Int., June 2009
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Fantastic fun. Stewart & Wayne were superb at working with each of us, giving individualized help, introducing new concepts, and did not attempting to discombobulate ingrained individual methods of racket grips. We had a wonderful time, great ‘different’ drills, and super guys to work with. We all left with new tricks in our bags to pull out on our matches. We walked (or hobbled – they worked us hard) away from the court improved players. The pros were extremely hospitable and even introduced us to Stewarts regular Asheville USTA team for some post-tennis fun. The tennis clinic at Grove Park is very reasonable in price as well. We definitely will return."—G.G., Int., June 2009
  • 4-Ball Rating "This was our second tennis team trip to the Grove Park Inn Resort and it was fabulous. Stewart Atkins the director of tennis is a great tennis pro giving our 4.0 team lots of fun drills and good tips to take back home. We will definitely be coming back again in October!"—E.G., Adv. Int., May 2009
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Have made two tennis team trips and one couples' tennis trip to here and hopefully they will not be the last! Great drills, lots of movement and excellent instruction. We are 4.0 players who are serious about our tennis and even more serious about having a lot of fun along with it. Stewart Atkins and company never disappoint and are super nice guys. And I came away with a 100% improved backhand. ;)
    You absolutely cannot beat the drill price; we set up our own schedule for 10 hours split over three days, and 3 hours of playing time among ourselves. Don't be shy about letting them know if you want the drills to go in a different direction; they will change it up on the spot.
    We didn't stay at the Inn but had access to the entire sport complex, so some of us went for spin class or used the treadmills and we are eyeing the pool for next time. We have been to SanDestin, Seaside, Reynolds Plantation and Van Der Meer, and this is my favorite."
    —R.H., Adv. Int., May 2009
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The facility if first rate and the tennis staff is most helpful. It is great to have indoor courts for inclement weather. They work well with either kids or adults and go to great lengths to help you get a game or clinic. Can't wait to go back."—J.M., Adv. Int., May 2009
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The tennis pro Wayne was extremely professional, fun and motivating! Any tennis lover would benefit from his expert guidance!"—A.B., Adv. Int., May 2009
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I had so much fun at the clinic, drill, with Stewart and Wayne. They kept everything moving at a fast pace and gave great tips on ground stokes, volleys and positioning. I wish I could go everyday,but will definitely be there when I am in Asheville....Rain or shine."—M.S., Adv. Int., April 2009
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Our ladies' team had such a great time with the pros Stewart and Wayne last fall that some of us made a trip back recently with husbands in tow. Great drills at an excellent price, fun round robin, good coaching and the nicest pair of pros you will ever meet.. We didn't stay at the Inn though; it was a busy weekend there, but booked a nearby B&B."—R.H., Adv. Int., February 2009
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I I would highly recommend the tennis pros at the Grove Park Inn in Asheville, NC. We just returned from a weekend of tennis drills and a round robin, to use what we learned. I learned a lot of doubles strategy and came away with some very useful tips. The pros are experienced professionals, easy to work with, and awesome players and coaches."—D.S., Adv. Int., February 2009

Rate Omni Grove Park Inn


Ratings

(38 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
5-Ball Rating Tennis Staff
5-Ball Rating Instruction
4½-Ball Rating
Game Matching
4-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4½-Ball Rating
Cuisine
4-Ball Rating Lodging
4-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
4½-Ball Rating
Dollar Value
4-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4-Ball Rating Setting
4-Ball Rating
Kids' Programs
4-Ball Rating Romance
4½-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4½-Ball Rating

Ratings

(38 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
5-Ball Rating Instruction
4½-Ball Rating Cuisine
4-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4-Ball Rating Setting
4-Ball Rating Romance
4½-Ball Rating Kids' Programs
4-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
5-Ball Rating Game Matching
4-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4½-Ball Rating Lodging
4-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
4½-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4½-Ball Rating

Rates and Reservations

There are two general options for guest rooms: the Main Inn, whose rooms though smaller have Arts & Crafts era antique furnishings, CD players, refrigerators, coffeemakers; and the Contemporary Wing, whose rooms are larger and furnished with reproduction Arts & Crafts pieces. Rates below do not include tax, which is currently 11%. Two-bedroom suites are also available.

Visit the website for current rates

The Omni Grove Park Inn
290 Macon Ave.
Asheville, NC 28804