Search
Email Us
Tennis Resorts Online
The Fairmont Orchid, Kohala Coast, Big Island, Hawaii
Courtesy The Fairmont Orchid

The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii

Kohala Coast, Hawaii






Your Call

Here's what others have had to say about Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii.

  • 3½-Ball Rating "We ususually play here at the Orchid and at Mauna Kea Resort. The Orchid is my second choice to play. They have alot of courts and there is lots of availability. One thing though the courts a very dirty. The balls are black in about 10 minutes. But it is a beautiful spot and the resort is really nice."—D.V., Adv. Int., April 2019
  • 5-Ball Rating "This is the nicest tennis resort I've ever visited! The courts are well-maintained and the staff is the best! The instruction is top-notch, the best I've experienced in my 40 years of playing. The facility is beautiful!"—K.M., Adv. Int., February 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Outstanding tennis facility. Courts in n great shape. Staff could not be friendlier and excellent instructors."—H.B., Int., January 2019
  • 4½-Ball Rating "This is a terrific resort to enjoy both the natural world and tennis. The morning clinics were great, with a nice mix of drills and live ball /match emulation. The instruction was clear and concise. The pro, Ron, focused on only a few tips at a time- and each one improved my game. The private lessons were equally awesome. My children, also loved the instruction and they have different levels of proficiency. There are at east nine courts so it was relatively easy to fine a court in the shade and while well used we never had difficulty finding a court."—D.D., Adv. Int., December 2018
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—M.H., Adv. Int., December 2018
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Very friendly resort with nice balance of amenities and simplicity. Great setting and solid coaching staff. Excellent racket hire options."—N.E., Int., January 2018
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—Y.M., Int., June 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Amazing tennis facility and staff. Ended up hitting with the pro each morning and really enjoyed my experience. One of the best I have been around-the skill is high but their attitude and flexibility was suburb.. From Caroline in the shop to Rudy and Andre. I would highly reccomend coming here."—N.I., Adv., May 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Wonderful weather, superb scenery and top notch teaching, the Orchid is a perfect place to play. Rudy in particular is outstandingly talented and a fantastic teacher. I would recommend this to all sorts of people. The staff are more than capable and can teach children just learning to play as well as experienced players wanting to refine their game."—J.P., Int., April 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Very nice and convenient facilities. Head pro,Rudy is very friendly and knowledgeable. Good weather."—T.C., Adv., February 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Rudy, Rodrigo and Lei are very friendly, knowledgeable and professional. Well run center."—J.H., Int., February 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We always go to the Orchid for tennis, both for lessons and to play. Great pros and very well run. True Aloha experience!! Thank you all"—E.H., Int., February 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "The Fairmont offers world class facilities, a knowledgeable and friendly pro staff in paradise! Whales breach while playing tennis! What more can you ask for!?! This is a guaranteed amazing experience! I look forward to my return."—D.M., Adv. Int., February 2017
  • 3-Ball Rating "I attended two tennis clinics while at the Fairmont. The instruction was good for the people that attended both days. I wish there were more tennis strategies, drills and more instructions and tips for each individuals that were playing. Seems like the instructions were meant for every participants and were not individualize. Need more ball feed and court play. Perhaps indicate level of the clinic. It will help with the different drills and type of play. I was with an individual who was just starting which made it frustrating for me. Overall it was still fun."—M.L., Adv. Int., February 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "My husband and I have been coming to this beautiful island for a few years. What we love about it is that we can play tennis everyday of the week no matter where we stay at. We are staying at the Mauna Lani Resort this year and because of a friend's suggestion got a membership at the Fairmont Tennis Club. Rudy and his stuff are very welcoming, friendly and informative about the availability of meeting others to play tennis with as well as taking advantage of some of their great clinics with Andre or Rodrigo.. I took a clinic with Andre and he was great."—A.E., Adv. Int., January 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The facility is fantastic, at least 10 courts; all in top condition. The staff are friendly and the clinics helpful, well coordinated (for few or many). The shop is willing to set up games for us with other guests/players as well. Three of the courts have night time lights and even if the shop is closed, the staff offer cards for us to turn on the lights, at our own leisure, for cooler evening play. My only suggestion would be a small venue to purchase fresh juices or smoothies to enjoy at their lovely tables after play."—E.D., Int., January 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "The facilities were top notch, well maintained and in a beautiful setting. There were plenty of options for different modes of learning eg clinic, private or semi private instruction. The instructors were knowledgeable, professional and a lot of fun. All levels of player are easily accomodated."—K.N., Low Int., November 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating "Excellent facilities, outstanding staff. My wife and I truly enjoyed our time on the courts. Everything was well cared for and the setting was wonderful. A great place to play tennis!"—L.R., Int., July 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Wonderful place to play tennis. Personnel in the office is super kind and helpful. We got very professional help with tennis racquet repair. Cannot wait to go again next year!"—S.A., Low Int., June 2016
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Beautiful gardens surrounding 10 courts, including a stadium court. Night tennis on 3 lighted courts. Pro shop with good selection of rackets. Stringing available at shop."—L.L., Adv. Int., May 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The Fairmont Orchid has the best instructors on island. I did private lessons and the tennis clinics - both were great and I advanced."—A.R., Int., May 2016
  • 3½-Ball Rating "I was surprised at the number of courts and how well-kept they are for a non-tennis resort. I never had trouble getting a court, and I did a drill class, rented the ball machine for practice and played with my daughter and son a few times. The staff can even find you a partner at your level either finding a guest or a local. Some of the locals come to play at this facility. It is beautiful, with some shade on some courts, gorgeous trees and fauna surrounding it, and water and towels provided on every court. Can't say enough about a great tennis experience during my family vacation."—J.G., Adv., April 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—S.W., Int., April 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "A very pretty setting for tennis and the staff are very friendly. Who could not enjoy playing tennis in this place."—K.M., Int., February 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating "The courts are set in a matured landscape with shade and lots of flowering plants. The daily "clinic" at 0900 offers a chance to meet new folks and warm up. The facility was very gracious to host our Stafford HIlls Club for 5 days of tennis. The Fairmont is quite nice and staying within walking distance to the courts was great. Many close by rentals are available."—A.B., Adv. Int., January 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Great combination of top quality tennis and the beauty of Hawaii. Wonderful instruction here on top of its idyllic setting and 1st class facilities. Pro Andre balances valuable tennis tips and fun in clinics. Lessons quickly hone in on areas to improve. Fantastic all around!"—S.P., Adv., September 2015
  • 4-Ball Rating "Rudy and staff have been wonderful instructors to our 7 and 10 year old girls during our last four summers vacations (and Andre for the last two), since they were first introduced to the sport through their kids clinic at the Fairmont. They are especially patient and engaging and are always a joy to watch and learn from -- I always feel like I'm also getting invaluable parenting lessons at the same time!"—Y.C., Beg., September 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating "A beautiful setting. Rudy the head pro and other pros are very nice and helpful."—K.M., Int., June 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The staff and pros are great and very patient. The courts are in great shape and I enjoy the time I spend at this resort playing tennis. Have no negative things to report at this time."—K.J., Int., April 2015
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—E.R., Int., March 2015
  • 4-Ball Rating "Really enjoyed the scenery, ambiance and tennis experience."—M.G., Beg., February 2015
  • 4-Ball Rating "Great ambiance, Very knowledgeable staff. Always good experience to go play tennis or purchase equipment."—S.R., Adv. Int., February 2015
  • 4-Ball Rating "Personel were very helpful and supportive. The facility was clean, well maintained and attractive. Rudy was helpful, supportive and gracious. Rodrigo was our pro and he was incredible. He assessed our level and kept us moving forward in our skills. His drills were helpful. He was an excellent teacher but knew how to get the most out of my wife and I. We enjoyed all 3 days we took lessons from him. I could not have expected a better pro, mentor, supporter and friend. I look forward to another time (soon) to have Rodrigo help us with our tennis. I would recommend him to all level of players. YOU WON"T BE DISAPPOINTED. This was a great week due to Rodrigo and the Staff at the Fairmont Orchid Tennis Facility."—M.E., Low Int., January 2015
  • 4-Ball Rating "This is an awesome place to play tennis and forget about everything else. The staff is super friendly and the scenery is beautiful. Rudy, the director was very accommodating and his pros helped us get better with our game. I highly recommend this spot to anyone who likes tennis and finds themselves in the Big Island"—R.G., Int., January 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating "The Fairmont Orchid has a beautiful facility with exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. I have been vacationing and playing tennis on the Big Island for over 10 years and this is by far my favorite spot for tennis."—L.C., Adv., December 2014
  • 1½-Ball Rating ""—B.R., Adv., September 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—S.A., Adv. Int., August 2014
  • 4-Ball Rating "My daughter and I attended the clinics daily as well as a private lesson. It was very helpful. Our instructors toll some of our mistakes back to fundamentals and gave lots of tips on how to better our game. I would recommend this resort to anyone who wanted to play tennis on vacation."—A.W., Low Int., July 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating "You could not ask for a more beautiful setting, nor quality of a tennis facility. The grounds are kept up immaculately. The tennis staff consisting of Rudy, Megan, and Liliana could not have been more accommodating. I was able to play every morning and thoroughly enjoyed myself. I cannot wait to come back next year and just hope the same staff is on board."—D.N., Adv. Int., May 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—V.M., Int., April 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The setting is stunningly beautiful, the facility itself has great courts, and the staff are exceedingly friendly. Although the Fairmont is an upscale resort, the tennis facility is very-laid back and welcoming. And the instructors' number one priority is improving your tennis and enjoyment of the game! The pro shop has a basic selection of equipment and clothing, but I didn't go there to their facility to shop, so that is fine with me."—C.E., Int., March 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We had a fabulous time at The Fairmont Orchid. The manager and staff in the office were friendly, helpful and accommodating. They provided extra services as bringing cold towels to the courts and always greeting us with a welcoming smile (remembering our names) The tennis coaches went above and beyond their coaching time. They were able to work with all levels of skills. We found other couples to play with at the tennis clinics. The courts were clean and surrounded by the beauty of tropical Hawaii."—A.H., Adv. Int., March 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The Fairmont Orchid is a stunning tennis facility. The staff there is warm, friendly and knowledgeable."—M.V., Int., March 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating "The Fiarmont Orchid is an excellent tennis facility"—A.E., Int., March 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating "We loved this tennis facility the setting is gorgeous with the ocean views and lush tropical vegetation The daily morning tennis clinics are fabulous as both of the pros are knowledgeable and enthusiastic."—K.E., Int., March 2014
  • 4-Ball Rating "A beautiful place to play tennis! Rudy and his staff are always friendly, welcoming and helpful."—G.B., Adv. Int., March 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "A great location and the tennis atmosphere is very Hawaiian (friendly)!"—K.M., Int., August 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating "Rudy and his pros are experienced professional instructors that have a way to successfully communicate their recommendation(s) such that in my case, I successfully recognized and was able to make my feet, body, eyes and mind implement their recommendations. I am a high 3.5 now playing stategy and placement along with power as needed."—D.W., Adv. Int., August 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Beautiful setting, stadium court. Outstanding, friendly, professional staff who can accommodate a wide range of skill levels and desired activities. Great for vacationing with tennis friends or going individually. Our group of 6 4.0-4.5 friends just returned from a wonderful trip and are ready to go back again!!"—T.D., Adv., July 2012
  • 4-Ball Rating "My teenage daughter had a private lesson with Liane. She plays on the high team and I am a 4.0 player. I couldn't play because I am injured but watched the lesson. I was so jealous. Liane was so enthusiastic, entertaining and knowledgeable. She identified an area that needed work and adjusted the lesson accordingly. She had my teenager smiling the whole time! I wish my tennis team could travel there!"—J.M., Int., July 2012
  • 4-Ball Rating "Beautiful location and tennis facility. Tennis Pros Liane Depontes and Jon Griesser keep you busy with topflight lessons, clinics, and Free Play. Great tennis vacation"—C.H., Adv. Int., March 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Amazing experience! The resort itself is so nice, it was exactly what I was looking for, one of the most relaxing I have stayed at on Hawaii and the location was very nice. The tennis instructor was very knowledgeable, she knew what she was talking about and she made the lesson easy to understand and helped improve my stroke and my grasp of tennis. Her name was Liane. I would take another lesson with her for sure and I would reccommend her to my friends"—K.K., Low Int., November 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "My sister and I took two lessons with Jon, the head pro, at the Fairmont Orchid. I had not played in over a decade and Jon made re-entry into tennis easy and fun. The staff at the front desk lent me some great racquets and we had a blast with Jon. He was sensitive to the heat and made sure we were having fun and not taking it too seriously. My only regret is that we didn't get to play with Jon more. The courts were beautiful and the setting was lush."—C.M., Int., May 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "This is the second time around for our family and our 3 kids couldn't wait for their lessons from John Griesser. John's passion and love of the game are infectious. John, keep up the good work and we look forward to learning more from you next February."—J.M., Adv. Int., April 2011
  • 5-Ball Rating "Awesome "—B.P., Adv., December 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Friendly,personable,confident,competent pros; Jon Griesser & Liane Despontes. If only one or two people show up for the daily clinic, then you get a private or semi-private lesson at no extra cost.Best court rates:$30 per hour per court not $30 per person! Focus is on fun and positive reinforcement. Significantly improved my forehand - forever! Best tennis vacation ever! We did not stay at the Orchid but it is a beautiful Hotel on the ocean."—R.H., Int., April 2010

Rate Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii


Ratings

(56 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Instruction
4-Ball Rating
Game Matching
3½-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
3½-Ball Rating
Cuisine
4-Ball Rating Lodging
4-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
4-Ball Rating
Dollar Value
4-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4½-Ball Rating Setting
4½-Ball Rating
Kids' Programs
3½-Ball Rating Romance
4½-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
3½-Ball Rating

Ratings

(56 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Instruction
4-Ball Rating Cuisine
4-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4-Ball Rating Setting
4½-Ball Rating Romance
4½-Ball Rating Kids' Programs
3½-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Game Matching
3½-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
3½-Ball Rating Lodging
4-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
4-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4½-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
3½-Ball Rating

Rates and Reservations

Rates are the same year-round, except over the year-end holidays. Prices vary according view and are subject to tax. Ask about their discounts for USTA members.

Visit the website for current rates

The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
1 North Kaniku Dr
Kohala Coast, HI 96743