Search
Email Us
Tennis Resorts Online
Essex Resort & Spa, Essex, Vermont
Courtesy Essex Resort & Spa

The Essex Resort & Spa
Vermont Tennis Vacations

Essex, Vermont



Waterville Banner

NETH Text+Graphic

New England Tennis Holidays. The tennis camp that feels like a vacation! Join one of our adult summer sessions in New England and enjoy spectacular mountain scenery, fine lodging & dining, and experienced professionals--all while improving your game and having fun at an award-winning camp! Camp runs every day from May to Oct. at Sugarbush, VT and on select dates in North Conway and Waterville Valley, NH. Our 32nd year! Call (800) 869 0949 or go to www.netennisholidays.com


Your Call

Here's what others have had to say about Essex Resort & Spa.

  • 2-Ball Rating "I booked this resort because it was advertised as having tennis clinics and programs on its website. Well, it seems that the tennis program is not available this summer. However, the program is still listed on their website. Don't book this hotel if you're looking to play tennis"—C.F., Adv. Int., July 2019
  • 2½-Ball Rating ""—J.S., Int., April 2019
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—D.A., Int., April 2016
  • 2½-Ball Rating "After attending tennis camps for 4 consecutive years and wanting to continue going, we never received any more promotional material. We were extremely disappointed and could understand the reasoning. We had to find other camps to attend and have done so. My wife and I were so disappointed that it seemed they did not want us back. With regards to the tennis clinic: We were flexible with our dates and asked that we be advised when it was a good week to attend with regards to the level of tennis and the amount of people attending--we did not get a response."—B.S., Adv. Int., April 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—M.A., Adv. Int., April 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I highly recommend this fun tennis camp. The resort is beautiful and most accommodating. The tennis is exceptional with outstanding tennis pro's. I have been there several times and have never been disappointed. The spa is excellent, the culinary school and zip line great fun and I look forward to returning for another fun week."—C.A., Adv. Int., March 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We find that Rob Barr, the head pro, is just a terrific teacher. He has a perfect demeanor of being engaged, encouraging, committed, warm and full of energy. Those working with him follow suit. It is lovely that as part of the tennis package the instructors have lunch with you everyday.
    The rest of the place is very hard to fault, unless you are looking for a ritz/mandarin oriental experience (and why would you in Vt.?) 20 acres are lovely; spa/fitness facilities new; bikes to take out; in/outdoor pool; mountains and burlington minutes away; and really good (sometimes great) culinary institute food and generous portions. Accomodations are spacious and very nice."
    —G.H., Adv. Int., July 2013
  • 2½-Ball Rating "I attended the tennis camp at the Essex last summer. While enjoyed the camp and the people I met I think it is important to mention that the week I was there was primarily geared toward doubles. I only play singles and was hoping to work on my top spin but given the class dynamics it was not till the last day that I was able to do so. I did end up with a private on my last day because there were no other registered guests."—C.S., Int., February 2013
  • 3½-Ball Rating "The Pros are excellent, very well school in finding your weakness and working on improving your strokes. I was lucky to be the only one there the week I went, so I had a private for 2 days and only had 2 other guys the 3rd day. Anders was especially good in working my forhand and volleys. I would recommend for anyone lookng for a week of relax fun and great food. Also Burington, VT is close and worth a visit on your off days."—J.W., Adv., July 2012
  • 2½-Ball Rating "We attended the USTA Seniors Doubles Tournament last fall (the tennis was actually played in So. Burlington not at the resort). The rooms were lovely. Breakfast in the Tavern was delicious. We spent a very pleasant evening in the Tavern listening to an acoustical guitar playing who did a wonderful job.
    HOWEVER - the dinner provided as part of the conference was abysmal. We were one of the last tables to be called – the process was painfully slow. First, you had run out of plates and silverware so we had to wait for more to be brought out. Then, a large portion of the food, including main courses, was completely gone. And what was there, was cold. When we finally got SOMETHING to eat, what we had was definitely not worth the wait.
    It wasn’t just that it didn’t live up to the hype associated with the Essex, it wasn’t good by any standards. Not very flavorful, not cooked well. And the staff hosting the food stations kept talking about how it was the USTA’s fault for increasing the numbers at the last minute. The Essex is a high end professional establishment that should take things like that into account and plan accordingly. And the staff SHOULD NOT have been complaining to the attendees about the tournament organizers – or anything else for that matter. Completely unprofessional.
    In addition to the bad food, the PA system was horrible! It made sitting through the presentations painful – sometimes literally.
    Although this had nothing to do with the tournament, I was completely disappointed in the grounds. While I’m sure they would have been beautiful in the spring, last fall they looked run down and neglected. The flower beds were full of flowers that had gone by and there was very little seasonal that was growing. There were at least 2 wedding parties taking photos surrounded by gardens of dead flowers. Had I been a manager there, I’d have been mortified. Had I been part of the wedding party, I would have been furious. There are plenty of beautiful fall plants/gourds/pumpkins/flowers that could have been planted or brought in to spruce things up. At a minimum the gardens should have been cleaned out of the plants that had gone by.
    Overall, despite bright spots such as the Tavern, I certainly would not recommend the Essex as a wedding destination. And I wouldn’t recommend it for any type of large meeting or convention. Our stay was a BIG disappointment."
    —M.L., Low Int., April 2012
  • 4-Ball Rating "Lovely inn, great food, beautiful setting, small and intimate tennis program, and fabulous pros!"—N.S., Int., April 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—E.B., Int., April 2012

See more reviews

Rate Essex Resort & Spa


Ratings

(46 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Instruction
4½-Ball Rating
Game Matching
3-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
1-Ball Rating
Cuisine
4-Ball Rating Lodging
3½-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
4-Ball Rating
Dollar Value
4-Ball Rating Other Recreation
3½-Ball Rating Setting
4-Ball Rating
Kids' Programs
3-Ball Rating Romance
4-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4-Ball Rating

Ratings

(46 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Instruction
4½-Ball Rating Cuisine
4-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4-Ball Rating Setting
4-Ball Rating Romance
4-Ball Rating Kids' Programs
3-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Game Matching
3-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
1-Ball Rating Lodging
3½-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
4-Ball Rating Other Recreation
3½-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4-Ball Rating

Rates and Reservations

Visit the website for current rates

The Essex Resort & Spa
70 Essex Way
Essex, VT 05452