Search
Email Us
Tennis Resorts Online
Caneel Bay Resort, St. John, U.s. Virgin Islands
Courtesy Caneel Bay Resort

Caneel Bay Resort (currently closed)

Cruz Bay, St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands





Your Call

Here's what others have had to say about Caneel Bay Resort (currently closed).

  • 4½-Ball Rating "This was our eighth vacation at Caneel Bay and it remains our very favorite resort even though it's not easy to get to from the West coast. We had a lovely remodeled room at Scott Beach and perfect weather. Caneel combines fabulous beaches with fantastic tennis and beautiful scenery. The tennis program continues to be very active. We enjoyed both the mixed doubles round robins and the daily drop-in clinics with Eric Gessner. Eric is amazing in being able to immediately evaluate a tennis player's strengths and weaknesses and with just one or two suggestions he can make a lasting difference to a player's game. After struggling with my forehand forever he gave me some tips this year that have truly given me new confidence. We love the Agile court surface which is fun to play on and easy on your body. We can't wait to return!"—K.C., Int., June 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "I just returned from a wonderful vacation to Caneel Bay Resort. When choosing our destination, tennis is an important element of our selection. Caneel Bay and Eric offer fun, action packed clinics that build on your skills and are progressive throughout the week. We have already booked for next year - the great tennis followed by a beautiful beach makes for a perfect vacation."—D.M., Int., June 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Our daughter Isabella (top u 16 junior player) had a great tennis week with Eric Gessner and his players at the lovely Caneel Bay resort. We will definitely come back next year. Soren Frankild, Denmark"—S.F., Adv., April 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "I had so much fun playing in the organized doubles clinics and round robins at Caneel Bay this past winter. The pros are friendly and knowledgeable. They set up doubles exercises that are fun and helpful. I learned new doubles strategies while also getting feedback on my individual game. The setting is beautiful. I couldn't recommend the resort more highly."—C.B., Adv. Int., April 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Top flight resort with excellent tennis. Head pro Eric is extremely knowledgeable and accommodating. Top flight teacher. Courts are In excellent condition and the turf courts dried almost immediately after a rain storm. Plenty of courts and lighted courts for night play. Overall a great choice if you want a lot of tennis or just to have the option. Aside from tennis, the beaches are great. Plenty of choice. Pick a different beach each day!"—L.P., Adv., March 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "The tennis instructor was fantastic.Although I only took a 1/2 hr lesson he managed to give some key pearls that no other pro had taught me. I wish I had taken more lessons."—B.H., Adv. Int., March 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "The resort is fantastic! I am a very analytical person and I came to the resort with many technical questions, and somewhat hesitant to play with my limited experience. The Assistant Pro, Will Cochrane, was great. He was MOST welcoming and encouraging. Most importantly, he was able to speak "my language" and answer all my questions. He awakened in me a desire to go out and play more tennis. I am Definitely coming back!!!!"—M.P., Low Int., March 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "This resort has it ALL ( the tennis, food, beach, staff, natural beauty, accommodations, activities for all ages)! The only suggestion I would make is that there would be some music under the stars a few times during the week. SPECIAL NOTE: The tennis facility is fantastic (plenty of courts, well maintained)! However, THE BEST was the Head Pro Eric Gessner. He is able to improve your game as if he were a magician. He is patient, he teaches so you can understand the concepts, he is accessible, he extends himself past the time if he feels you are "on to something" and he encourages you to keep in touch after your departure if there are any concerns with your game when you are home. One could not ask for better as he is THE BEST Pro I have met!!!!!"—R.P., Adv. Int., March 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "great teaching. wonderful site. great courts. Loved the court's surface."—N.R., Adv. Int., March 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "9 tennis courts and a pro shop in a beautiful setting. 7 courts are synthetic with sand and they can take a lot of water so that you do not miss any paling time. Head pro Eric Gessner is the consummate tennis professional. Very personable, knows the game and is an extremely competent player. I enjoyed my time with him very much."—D.B., Adv., March 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Caneel Bay is a wonderful place to play Tennis. The artificial grass & sand surface are impeccably maintained. The surface is easy on the body and enjoyable to play. The staff lead by Eric are first class and very accommodating to arrange games or clinics. There are daily opportunities to play with other visitors both doubles and mixed doubles. They also have a great teaching program with very competent professionals. I'd strongly recommend visit Caneel Bay for tennis. The food and property are very nice as well."—T.P., Adv. Int., February 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Great facilities in a spectacular Caribbean beach resort. Courts are a comfortable synthetic grass which dries out astonishingly quickly after rain showers which usually last a few minutes. Eric and his staff wore great hosts and anxious to please. In typical PBI fashion, they have daily clinics, round robins, and player matching. Only drawback is that most visitors and guests are not there for the tennis, which is understandable with the gorgeous beaches everywhere. Locals were plentiful and welcome and were fun to meet and play with. The resort and island are world class!"—J.W., Adv., February 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Caneel Bay is the most beautiful setting in which to play tennis, and has a program worthy of its location. From the thrice weekly round robins to the private lessons, this is a terrific place to improve your game. Wil is a wonderful addition to the established program ably overseen by Eric, and my entire family hugely enjoyed Wil's enthusiasm for the game and his invaluable tips. Fresh from division one college tennis, Wil has energy and dynamism and ideas on how to take your tennis to the next level!"—L.T., Int., February 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "I always enjoy Caneel Bay, not only for the sun and snorkeling, but also for the pro there, Eric Gessner. I can't say enough about his teaching skills as he's helped me enormously with my game quickly intuiting what I'm doing and trying to do, but also arranging games and drills for me on a regular basis. A great addition to a heavenly place."—J.F., Adv., February 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Eric Gessner and his assistant Wil run a great program. I took a lesson from Eric and (3) clinics from Wil all of which were outstanding. I also participated in a round robin event that I enjoyed. In addition to being great instructors they are both pleasant and create a great social atmosphere at their clinics and round robins. The facility is beautiful and well maintained. Should I return to Caneel Bay I will again take part in their programs."—J.W., Int., February 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "Excellent program. Good lessons, drills and match ups. The courts are soft and a bit hard to get used to but work well in the climate and are playable shortly after rain. I highly recommend."—J.R., Adv. Int., February 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The resort is fantastic. I took a few hours of lessons with Wil, one of the pros and made a lot of progress. The staff is very helpful and willing to everything to help you progress as a player. There are also plenty of courts and opportunities to play, as well as lit courts for playing in the evening in cooler conditions. Aside from Tennis the resort is also a great place to swim, enjoy the beach and take in some sun."—B.F., Int., January 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "Did not take any lessons but the instructors looked excellent. They were, however, excellent, at setting up numerous matches with residents of the island, throughout my stay. Also, the weekly round robins guaranteed additional play, were well attended and gave the opportunity to meet additional players. 'will definitely go back"—H.G., Adv. Int., January 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I have the best two lessons of my wife with Eric Gessner At caneel Bay. He completely fixed my messed up forehand and backhand and also diagnosed a tiny but fatal flaw in my net game."—M.G., Adv. Int., January 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Just returned from Caneel 1/2017. The tennis courts at Caneel have all recently been redone. They have 7 with a turf surface and 2 hard courts. The turf courts are great, if it rains a little you can still play. The tennis staff is wonderful. We signed up for lessons with Eric, director of the tennis center. He was great. He is very knowledgeable and patient. He picked up on little things that helped improve our game. He is trying to set up more activities then what has been offered in the past. He is offering more clinics and round robin tennis. They do not offer camps at this time. I have watched him with the local children that he coaches. He teaches them in the same manner as he does the adults. The clinics we attended this year were done by Wil. Wil is very nice and runs an active class. He also is very knowledgeable and was very patient when answering question. Wil is seasonal help and I hope he gets to come back next year. The pro shop is small but adequate for needs. If you need racquet restung they will do that usually over night. Ours was done by the next morning. Can definitely recommend tennis at Caneel. Wonderful staff and a beautiful setting. Looking forward to returning again next year."—D.F., Int., January 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Had a wonderful time. Excellent teaching from Eric and Will - lesson every day. will definitely repeat next January."—S.P., Int., January 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "Caneel Bay offers some of the finest tennis in the Caribbean. The courts are beautiful, the teaching is excellent, the pro shop is small but adequately stocked, and the staff friendly. They have lots of programs and mixers. All around solid program and experience."—T.T., Adv., January 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I no longer bring a racquet on our Caribbean vacations as it's too hard to get a doubles game but Caneel Bay was an exception last week (1/17) Eric Gessner, the pro set up 3 competitive fun matches for me. The players were perfect, the courts terrific, the setup flawless and the weather cooperated. Eric and his staff are knowledgeable, enthusiastic and really nice. The setting, number of courts and surface are outstanding. I would highly recommend Caneel bay!"—K.D., Adv. Int., January 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I had an excellent three days of tennis with Eric and Will last week. The facilities were in outstanding shape, the instruction was top-notch. The drill clinic was high-enthusiasm, high energy but with a friendly vibe, which makes all the difference. You could see that reflected in the easy camaraderie of the clinic's participants -- just a bunch of happy tennis players."—J.G., Adv. Int., January 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—L.G., Low Int., January 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—M.A., Adv. Int., January 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—A.K., Pro, January 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "While the facility at Caneel is very nice, the pro is what makes it stand out. Whether in lessons or leading the clinics, Eric is an exceptional instructor. He is always upbeat and entertaining, while offering small changes to your approach that pay big dividends. He has also given a couple of private introductory lessons to my daughter who had a fantastic introduction to the game thanks to him."—J.C., Int., November 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "The Caneel Bay Tennis facility is fantastic! Courts are great and so is the pro, Eric Gessner. Can't wait to play there next year. We stayed at the Westin but traveled every day to Caneel to play tennis."—B.R., Adv., November 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating "The pro staff is exceptional. The atmosphere and setting on St. John is wonderful!"—J.G., Adv., November 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The tennis here was great. We loved the pro and the courts were fabulous. Daily clinics were a great way to start the day. So nice to be able to play at such a beautiful venue. We will be back for sure!"—J.G., Int., November 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—T.H., Adv. Int., November 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating "Eric was great. He helped my tennis game immediately. Great morning clinics and a ball machine available."—C.H., Adv. Int., November 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating "The tennis at Caneel Bay offers something for every tennis player including clinics, round robins, and private instruction. The pros do a great job in all these areas."—N.G., Low Int., April 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "The pros are friendly, completely dedicated to the players' enjoyment of their time and improvement of their skills. Impeccable maintenance of the courts too. Top-notch program year after year."—D.D., Int., April 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating "In December 2015 I spent a week on St. John, where I stayed at the Westin resort, and visited Caneel Bay a couple of times for their drop-in tennis program. I found the tennis at Caneel Bay far more attractive than at the Westin; the courts were in better condition, and the staff did a better job of creating opportunities for guests and visitors to play matches. Eric, the pro, was very accommodating, and he plugged me into some very competitive and entertaining singles and doubles matches. We played on the turf courts, and I was pleasantly surprised to find that it was possible to play safely in the rain when there was standing water on the hard courts (it rains a lot in St. John!). The other players were a mix of resort guests and local residents. I didn't see much else of Caneel Bay, but what i did see was lovely, and I was told that the restaurant there was one of the best on the island. A warning: I was told that during the Christmas peak season they don't offer drop-in tennis to non-guests, as the resort is full of tennis-playing guests."—C.H., Adv. Int., April 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Quinn was an exceptionally good pro. Not only is he an excellent player and hitting partner, but also he is incredibly pleasant and fun on court."—W.F., Adv., April 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating "Great over all instruction, enthusiastic instructor, solid advice, and a very pleasurable experience all together. I would recommend it to anyone who asked and go again myself."—C.B., Adv. Int., April 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Awesome tennis experience. Great facilities...was not sure about turf courts initially but they turned out to be very playable, and easy on the body. We were able to play even when the courts were wet. Eric had an incredible eye for spotting weaknesses in our game and making adjustments we could use right away."—S.F., Adv., April 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Great program, professional people and one of the most breathtaking ambiance you can play tennis in!"—J.G., Int., April 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "Caneel Bay is hands down the most amazing place we've ever stepped foot on…the turf courts are an absolute blast to play on and immaculately maintained. Your game might suffer from the intensely gorgeous view behind your opponent…towering tropical palm trees bland against rising island mountains. When you get hot, head down to the aqua-marine waters of the Carribean on the nearby beach and cool off--then back to the courts for another round of tennis. In addition to the turf courts, they have 2 new US Open hard courts: pristine! The light ocean breezes helped to keep us cool, but did not take away from our game. The pro, Eric, is incredibly helpful and runs a great program for vacationers wanting to enjoy both tennis and the Carribean paradise. For lunch, our favorite was the Beach Bar & Grill…fresh catch served over an array of healthy salads could only be topped by the best gelato we've ever tried at the gelato shop. There is an ambiance at Caneel Bay that is pure relaxation--an escape from all worldy concerns, yet any and every need is already anticipated by the staff. I even enjoyed just sitting in the cool shade watching my sons play tennis while sipping ice cold water and taking in the peace of the palm breezes. It is hard to believe that the ocean waters really can be as blue and clear as they appear in the photos, but the Caneel Bay beaches are just that--phenomenal! Caneel Bay will always be out #1 choice when planning a tennis, beach vacation. When we walk onto the beautiful property, complete with historic sugar mill ruins-turned fine dining restaurant, we all experience a deep exhale. Par none, Caneel Bay is an exquisite escape from the ordinary."—L.H., Adv. Int., March 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating "Tennis is the jewel in the. Town of Caneel bay, a 60 year old under-stated Eco luxury resort which has stayed true to Laurence Rockefeller'sfounding vision of a place to unplug and I get away amidst the natural care bean. The tennis program takes place on well appointed synthetic grass and newly resurfaced hard courts in a breathtaking setting. Daily clinics are a highlight of the program with the coaches being very a comodating and creative to serve clientele with a wide range of skill levels."—R.S., Int., March 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating "Great clinics. Eric Gessner PBI tennis pro and his staff are great. Ran drills that were good for both lessor and better players. Kept us moving. I am 4 ranked player and really enjoyed it. I took a private lesson also and they put me through a challenging workout while giving me some pointers I will take back home with me. The facilities are first rate. Ample courts so no no wait."—B.M., Adv. Int., March 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "We just spent the past week at Caneel Bay. My daughter had a great week with lessons and skill building drills. She learned a lot and had a fantastic experience with the kid friendly instructors. I couldn't speak more highly of a fantastic group of pros and a truly fabulous resort."—C.A., Beg., March 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—J.F., Low Int., March 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "An absolutely beautiful setting."—M.B., Int., March 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "Caneel Bay resort is absolutely stunning. We absolutely loved our time at this resort, from the breathtaking private beach to the wonderful service at the bar, to the unbelievably awesome tennis instructor Quinn Saine. He absolutely made our day when we played! Playing tennis with Quinn was the highlight of our vacation. I would highly recommend Caneel, playing tennis and of course grabbing an unbelievable meal at Zo Zo's. Thanks to everyone at this resort for a memorable vacation!!!"—K.B., Adv., March 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "Eric is the most exceptional coach we have come across. His grasp of the game and ability to translate it into a meaningful way to the average player is second to none. Thank you, thank you!!"—B.B., Adv. Int., March 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Great resort and great for tennis -- head pro, Eric Gessner, is a great teacher and can spot minor (of course major, too) adjustments that will make you an even better player. Gorgeous setting to work on your game. A young Assistant Pro (recent college grad) can also play with the best."—J.F., Adv., March 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating "Lots of opportunity to play. If you are not used to the sand/carpet surface in can be tricky. They have hard courts also."—R.L., Int., February 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Was at Caneel recently and the facility, the pro, and the overall environment was exceptional. I'd never been to St. John's (USVI) but the weather was fantastic and apparently very reliable. Highly recommend."—J.R., Adv. Int., February 2016
  • 3½-Ball Rating "wonderful tennis instruction. met nice couple through the pro, who arranged a game. highly recommend the pro. We were there Jan 2016"—L.D., Adv., January 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating "I had a few private lessons with Eric Gessner during the week I spend on Canell Bay Resort - and suddenly my back hand did what I wanted it to. Just great!"—L.J., Int., December 2015
  • 3½-Ball Rating "My Husband and I had the best experience with Tennis Professional Eric Gessner while staying at Caneel Bay. We each had a one hour private lesson with him. Eric is an excellent instructor. He assesses what you can do no matter what your level, with no assumptions, and adapts to give you the most productive lesson possible. He is an energetic, friendly personality both on and off the court. It was a fun hour in which I learned valuable techniques to take to my own practice. I highly recommend him for all ages and levels!"—D.P.,  July 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The Caneel Bay tennis experience is great. Eric, the pro, does an outstanding job organizing the drills so that each player gets plenty of hitting time. He offers constructive comments so each player gets an appropriate amount of individual attention. Overall an excellent experience!"—D.Q., Int., June 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Beautiful setting. Court surfaces easy on your joints with fair bounces. Pro Eric Gessner a real good guy with patience, great tips and extensive knowledge of the game. Nice pro shop with varied selection."—R.G., Int., April 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating "Great setting! Very friendly and inviting tennis staff. Excellent instruction and drills from Eric Gessner. Even with a large number of people in drills, he would give individual feedback that was concrete and easy to understand. Loved it and plan to return!"—A.D., Int., April 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Tennis coach Eric is the best I've ever worked with. He draws me to the resort, year after year. Kind, patient and effective. I think the rooms at the rest are overpriced--not as nice as others Ive stayed at in the same price range."—S.J., Adv. Int., March 2015
  • 4-Ball Rating "Eric Gessner has the right combination of knowledge, teaching skills, and personality for a great learning experience."—J.A., Low Int., March 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Caneel Bay is an uncrowded premium resort on St John, US Virgin Islands. The tennis facility has excellent turf & filled sand courts that play a fast ball, and dry very quickly after rain. Staff is friendly, instruction is skilled with daily group (doubles skills) lessons, and private lessons. There are 2 open round robin doubles weekly, and staff will set up matches for you as well. If you ever fantasized about being instructed by George Clooney, ask for Eric Gessner, a close look-alike and sound-alike, and a fine instructor. He is an astute observer, and offered several good suggetsions in terms of court skills and doubles strategy."—W.G., Adv. Int., March 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Great tennis/beach vacation. Started each morning with a tennis clinic (drop in) - very well attended. Each morning Eric completely changed up the drills - concentration was on skill while we were kept moving. There was always a group who stayed after to play. Afternoon round robins were free and great! Great resort, great tennis pro and staff..."—C.B., Adv. Int., March 2015
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—T.R., Beg., February 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The resort's tennis facility is in exceptional shape. It was the first time I played on an omni court surface. It was fun, but I was thankful Caneel also has hard courts. I attended the morning drill classes and found them to be a great way to start the day. The instructor was motivating and effective. His drills kept me moving and helped my game. Most importantly they were fun."—M.B., Int., February 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Wonderful tennis vacation resort. I had a great time playing at the twice a week round robin and each morning is a drop in drills class that had great instruction and was well attended. St John's is a quiet destination, the beaches are incredible as is the resort itself."—S.O., Int., February 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Caneel Bay is a perfect winter getaway for the active guest and tennis enthusiast. The setting is spectacular - rolling hills, pristine white sand beaches, crystal clear water teeming with sea turtles and fish, There are numerous options to keep you busy (snorkeling, scuba diving, sailing, swimming, yoga/Pilates/etc, tennis, hiking) and plenty to relax you (massages, great restaurants, hammocks, wonderful sunsets and cocktail hours) all readily available but never crowded. We have been to Caneel twice in two years and will keep coming back because it lovely but also casual. The tennis program is well staffed, welcoming and accommodating. They offer clinics every morning which are fun and challenging for all levels - not an easy thing to do when you have a mix of abilities but Eric Gessner, in particular, is a consummate professional, encouraging and enthusiastic, offering fun drills with just the right mix of cardio and instruction. Free round robins are held on several afternoons which are very well attended. The pros are happy to provide private lessons or introduce and setup games with other guests and/or local players as well. In short, the tennis program is very active and the courts are regularly used throughout the day (and into the evening as several are lighted) but we were always able to play when we wanted."—H.E., Adv. Int., February 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—C.G., Adv. Int., January 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—M.P., Int., January 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating "My husband & I spent a wonderful week at Caneel Bay participating in tennis clinics and round robins. The tennis instruction was excellent and delivered in a very direct, easy to understand manner. Our instructor, Eric Gessner, made such a difference that we returned again & again to learn & play more with him."—M.L., Int., January 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "A wonderful setup for recreational tennis players in a spectacularly beautiful setting. The long time pros there, Eric and Don, excel at customer service and will do whatever they can to give you an enjoyable experience, including arranging matches and lessons. Very popular is the doubles round robin on Tuesday and Thursday afternoons, where you can play tennis and get to meet other guests as well as locals on the island who come to Caneel to play. In an attempt to write a balanced review and come up with some negatives, I am hard pressed. I could mention that many of the courts are synthetic grass; while not my favorite, they are easy on the body, and there are also hard courts available if one prefers. If you are looking for fun recreational tennis in the beautiful Caribbean, this is the right place!"—P.S., Adv. Int., January 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The whole tennis staff at Caneel Bay was incredibly friendly and helpful. I attended several clinics and one private lesson with Eric Gessner, who is an outstanding tennis coach and teacher. The Novagrass courts are well maintained and are a great and forgiving surface. The staff was always happy to set up match play with other guests, or keep the lights on into the evening for those who wanted to play beyond the normal pro shop hours. The setting can't be beat, with beautiful surrounding gardens, palm trees and Caribbean sunsets as a backdrop to your tennis play. I highly recommend Caneel Bay for an outstanding tennis vacation."—D.D., Int., January 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Wonderful tennis instruction. Skilled and challenging and FUN! A great family experience for many levels. We will absolutely return again."—L.B., Int., January 2015
  • 4-Ball Rating "While on vacation at Caneel Bay, I took three private lessons from Eric Gessner. He did an outstanding job of identifying minor (but important) technical problems, without changing my overall game or technique. He explained them to me in a way that made sense so that I can replicate the changes on my own. I had a lot of fun working with him and felt that the sessions were very productive. Caneel's tennis courts are beautiful--nine courts overlooking the bay, complimentary for registered guests, always a court available."—E.D., Low Int., January 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Having been a nationally ranked junior player myself, my kids are getting into junior tennis after being gently coaxed (not too much pressure!). They go to one of the top academies in NY and enjoy the game. Caneel Bay these past two XMAS' was an opportunity to bring their levels up higher. I have been around tennis programs for over 40 years and, for a resort, the tennis program at Caneel run by Donald Becker is the best I have been around. The overall resort is spectacular and relaxing. The tennis courts are plentiful and well-maintained. Most importantly, the tennis instruction is spectacular. The level of pros and their warmth was impressive. Often times you will have pros that are great players with the personalities of doors. The pros at Caneel were great players and charming and excellent technicians. The pro that we worked with for 8 days straight was Eric Gessner. He worked on my daughter's serve and overall game for the second year in a row. You will not find a better pro than Eric. He can communicate with kids and adults equally well. His ability to help a student solve a problem in creative ways was awesome. I have done my 10,000 hours (times 2) as a player and a coach as well and the things he was explaining to my daughter and other students was fantastic. At every turn, he was able to have my daughter react to his comment and approach immediately. It was not as if he ever had change approaches on the same problem with her or other students. He was able to intuitively communicate with each student to produce immediate results. Really impressive stuff - and he is from the Midwest so he is super nice (not to stereotype). It is a shame we can't move him to NY! Truly one of the best teaching pros I have ever seen."—J.B., Adv., December 2014
  • 4-Ball Rating "We've been playing tennis at Caneel for 15 years, and the program just keeps getting better, for kids & adults. Morning free clinics & weekly round robins are great along with personalized individual lessons. Staff are great at understanding their clients needs & how to help them achieve goals, even on vacation. Our kids play almost daily, and when they don't want a lesson, staff are great about setting them up for games with other kids staying at the resort. New surface is a huge improvement -- we can play through bits of rain and get right back on the court after heavier rains. Wish they had more racquets for demo in case we've forgotten one."—C.S., Adv. Int., May 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating "I only just started playing tennis again this year after almost 20 years with only the odd hit. I so thoroughly enjoyed my lessons at Caneel Bay. Donald Becker (the head coach) was incredible. So patient, fun and obviously a very skilled player. I learnt so much in such a short time and I am very grateful and appreciative of that. The pro shop was run in a very organized manner and all the staff were lovely and always very willing and ready to help with anything. I would highly recommend the tennis set up at this resort to all levels of tennis players. You will have an excellent memorable time."—M.C., Int., May 2014
  • 4-Ball Rating "Great staff in a superb location."—A.S., Adv. Int., April 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "When I go to Caneel Bay each winter I look forward to playing tennis most of all. Donald and Eric are excellent teachers who adapt their approach to the ability and goals of each player. Twice a week they host round robins with resort guests and local residents. These are great fun for players of all levels."—D.M., Int., April 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "What an outstanding tennis resort. There are excellent clinics each morning, free time to play during the day and round robins in the afternoon. The Peter Burwash pro, Donald Becker was a real pro with inventive drills and sensitive insight on how to improve your game with a few tweaks."—E.V., Int., April 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating "Loved my tennis experience! Donald is awesome."—D.E., Beg., April 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating "The island, resort and tennis facility are fantastic. Better still is Eric Gessner, tennis coach extraordinaire!!! His understanding of the mechanics of tennis enabled him to raise the level of my game with a couple lessons. I will go back as often as I can as it is one of my favorite places to escape."—J.G., Int., April 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating "Great facilities and great services are found at Caneel Bay Resort. The staff is always eager to help and the courts are always in excellent condition. Would recommend to everyone I know."—J.E., Low Int., April 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating "Caneel Bay Resort is difficult to describe in words. It needs to be experienced. It is one of the most beautiful places on earth- but if you love tennis, it is paradise. Every time my husband and I mull over the various options for a special vacation, we decide to return to Caneel Bay because it offers everything that you could possibly hope for in a luxurious tennis destination get-a-way. Amazing food, breathtaking beaches, snorkeling, service- but if you love feeling like a kid in a candy store.... Head to their world class tennis facility headed up by Donald Becker. Don and his staff are there to fill your week with delightful matches, lessons that actually make a difference, and a complimentary round robin no money could buy! It definitely leaves you feeling that you need to live there. Positively inspirational. Each time we depart from the dock and see all the wonderful staff waving one last goodbye, my husband and I vow to ourselves that we will be back as soon as we possibly can. Tennis and Caneel Bay- a match made in heaven!"—M.W., Adv., April 2014
  • 4-Ball Rating "Our family of 5 spent a great week at Caneel Bay Resort on St. John. Our family is new to tennis but Donald and everyone in the tennis program made us feel welcome and successful. The clinics were informal and fun and my 13 year old said the lesson he had with Donald was more helpful and that he learned more in that one hour than he had playing with his high school coaches. We look forward to returning again!"—K.J., Low Int., April 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Highlight of the trip was playing tennis in the rain. Literally played great tennis in a rain storm that would have closed a hard court all morning. We played through the storm and had a great lesson, no slipping and sliding, unbelievable fun!"—M.C., Adv. Int., April 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Great place to play tennis. The beautiful setting is unsurpassed (both on the courts and the beaches), with occasional rainbows that take your breath away. The tennis staff members are very professional and attentive, excelling in customer service (Eric, who organizes the popular twice weekly round robins, will not only set up appropriate matches, he'll have your name committed to memory before you step on the court). The staff will go out of their way to find a good match for you if you want to play singles, calling on a pool of local residents if there is not a guest at the resort to make a good match). Difficult to think of weaknesses--some people may not be used to playing on the synthetic grass, but there are a few hard courts if you prefer. As a tennis enthusiast, one of the major reasons I choose to vacation on St. John is because of the tennis at Caneel."—P.S., Adv., April 2014
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Very personable and professional staff, round robin clinics great opportunity to meet locals and get the scoop on St. John. Also a fun opportunity to meet other tennis-playing guests and players for future matches. Addition of lighted courts definitely a plus, as daytime temperatures can get high, especially if one is not used to them."—J.H., Adv. Int., April 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Caneel is a relaxing resort...our tennis experience was exceptional..the staff is flexible, and dedicated to making tennis fun and challenging."—L.H., Adv. Int., April 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—B.H., Beg., April 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating "The reason we go to St. John every year for my husband's birthday...CANEEL BAY TENNIS!! Every Tues. and Thurs. they have a great round robin where you meet new players and get games. Eric does great match plays!"—C.B., Adv. Int., March 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Caneel Bay is an awesome resort. There is a multitude of activities to choose from on this picturesque place in St John, but the tennis stood out. I am an avid player, and was very impressed by the tennis program. There are drill clinics every morning run by exceptional, enthusiastic pros, giving personal attention to all attendees. I also participated in the Round Robin that is held twice a week. Many locals attend this as well. The professional staff do a great job pairing you up with players of similar level. It was a lot of fun, and the cost was very reasonable. I cannot say enough about Caneel Bay Resort, it is top notch, and I will definitely be returning."—E.S., Int., March 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "All positive - not one negative Great clinics, great courts - unreal. Everyone was friendly and excited to be there."—M.S., Int., March 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—A.B., Adv. Int., March 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Eric and Don were fabulous instructors. Both have a passion for the game and are excellent at communicating specific notes that improved my game (forehand, backhand, volley and serve!) The clinics were great, fast moving with lots of feedback and the round robin was evenly matched- 8 courts of doubles and many games went to deuce/ad. Their player matching abilities are phenomenal. The only thing missing was a more structured kids program (i.e. match play), although both my boys (9y and 12y) really enjoyed the lessons, asked for more."—K.K., Low Int., March 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating "Caneel is an incredible find. The pros and staff are wonderful, very nice people, great guides for improving your game, manage terrific group lessons, round robins, mixing resort guests with locals. I enjoy tennis at Caneel every time I head to St. John, at least annually for the past five years. I love the courts; they are VERY forgiving for aging knees--I can play tennis twice a day at Caneel (group lesson in the morning and 2 hours of round robin in the afternoon) and not ache the next day."—P.B., Int., February 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The tennis courts and the tennis instruction at Caneel Bay are fantastic. The courts are very easy on your joints and really fun to play on. The tennis pro's are excellent at assessing your game and making big improvements in your strokes in a quick amount of time. They also facilitate many different programs which makes it easy to meet and mingle with other tennis enthusiasts while on vacation. Hard to imagine a better place to play tennis in the Caribbean."—B.M., Adv. Int., February 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Caneel Bay tennis is outstanding and so is PBI professional Donald Becker. The artificial grass courts are a treat and the surrounding scenery is not bad at all. This is a must tennis resort to visit and should be on your bucket list for sure. I will definitely be back."—T.L., Adv. Int., December 2013
  • 4-Ball Rating "The setting is great, the courts are very good with a fantastic view and staff are very nice. Eric is also a great coach to play with!"—M.M., Adv. Int., September 2013
  • 3½-Ball Rating "the resort is very nice, the beaches are the reasons you stay at Caneel Bay, St John. But the Tennis courts are very nice, the artifical grass courts need some getting used to coming from hard courts but thy are very nicely laid out. Don Becker, director , was vey nice and a good player. Did not take lessons but played wih him 5 days. Knows his stuff and is very accomodating. Anyone going on a romantic getaway or beach vacation will be surpise to have a great place to play Tennis."—J.W., Adv., May 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "great sushi and lots of fun snorkling...Don from the tennis staff was outstanding and made our vacation extremely enjoyable"—E.R., Int., April 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Love playing tennis here. Don and Eric are fantastic and make tennis truly enjoyable. I learned a lot in my private lessons and gained valuable game experience playing in both clinics and round robins. Can't wait to get back to Caneel!"—M.S., Low Int., April 2013
  • 4-Ball Rating "Caneel Bay is consistently my favorite tennis resort. The courts have recently been resurfaced and the instructors there are some of the nicest and best professionals I've worked with. My wife and I will continue to visit there going forward."—D.S., Adv., April 2013
  • 4-Ball Rating "Excellent tennis instruction offered at this magical resort. My family and I have visited 10 times over the past 11 years and have significantly improved our tennis game under the superb guidance of Donald and Eric. Highly recommend."—J.M., Low Int., April 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating "Caneel Bay is our favorite resort and tennis facility anywhere. We have gone to Caneel twice yearly for the last 15 years, and will continue to do so. The tennis facility is one of the best in the world. We think that Don Becker, the tennis pro, is not only an exceptional instructor and manager of the tennis programs, but an exceptional individual who makes everyone feel welcome and inspired. Not only has my tennis game continually improved, but there is no more beautiful resort than Caneel Bay, with its gorgeous beaches, fabulous surroundings, and other amenities. The entire staff is gracious and friendly. We think this resort is NUMBER 1 in the World!"—M.H., Int., April 2013
  • 4-Ball Rating "My stay at Caneel Bay in Dec/Jan 2012 was a memorable 5 stay experience in a beautiful 5 star resort. What was different for my family and I was the tennis experience and the Professional tennis staff who made me feel like the success of my tennis game was as important to them as it was to me.
    Eric and Donald gave us some amazing and practical advice to improve our game that has been with my husband and I both for the past 4 months. Every week in my regular league i find myself thinking of their words!! If you are looking to improve your game you can not find better instruction than these wonerful guys!
    We can not wait to get back to Caneel Bay of course the beaches are wonderful, relaxing and all you would expect. BUT the tennis was the best tennis of my life! FUN, energetic, competitive, great insturction for all levels!! The perfect adult tennis camp hidden in a carribean paradise!"
    —M.T., Int., April 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—H.K., Adv. Int., April 2013
  • 4-Ball Rating "We are a family of four that base a lot of our vacation choices on tennis. The Virgin Islands are our favorite beaches and waters. The water sports and hiking is worldclass. This was our first stay at Caneel Bay and we will definitely go back. There was high quality, experienced coaching and there were both soft and hard courts. The facilities were beautiful. The adult clinics and round robins were well attended and enjoyable. The junior tennis was top quality which is difficult to find for tournament level players. The NC Tennis Family of the Year rates Caneel Bay exceptional."—S.T., Adv. Int., April 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "This is tennis at its best, and in paradise! The beautiful island of St. John, the National Park, the outstanding Caneel Bay resort with its 7 fabulous beaches, the 11 excellent tennis courts, and the outstanding pro tennis staff are all at your fingertips."—N.B., Adv. Int., April 2013
  • 4-Ball Rating "The tennis at Caneel Bay is excellent. The pros were great for adult drills and lessons for my young children. The facilities are wonderful too. If you are looking for a vacation with great tennis and beautiful beaches, I would highly recommend Caneel Bay."—K.F., Adv., April 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Enthusiastic and talented staff in a beautiful Caribbean setting! Most guests have visited many times because Caneel Bay is so special!"—W.H., Adv. Int., March 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Eric Gessner at Caneel Bay is an amazing teaching pro. Every year I seek his assistance and every year he immediately improves my game with his easy teaching approach. I always look forward to my time at Caneel to work with Eric and team, as well as the great clinics and round robin tournys with locals."—A.C., Low Int., March 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "In addition to the beautiful resort and beaches, Donald Becker and his team are tops. Their professionalism and dedication are just outstanding. Our family has consistently had fun while greatly improving our tennis. Can"t recommend Donald more highly!"—S.B., Int., March 2013
  • 4-Ball Rating "The pro, Eric Gessner, is a lovely guy and excellent teacher. Even though I've been playing tennis all my life, he gave me valuable tips and was great fun to hit with."—A.T., Adv., March 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The tennis pro at Caneel Bay, Eric Gessner, is outstanding. In his daily tennis clinic he immediately picked up a problem in my volley stroke that has been a "game changer," Daily clinics were very helpful to me, even with much less experienced players than me. I had two hour long private lessons with Eric. He is very talented instructor, the best I've ever had at any resort or clinic. He clearly loves all parts of the game and its contagious. The twice a week round robin was very well attended, there is a large group of locals that also attend."—P.C., Adv. Int., February 2013
  • 4-Ball Rating "My family has been coming to Caneel Bay for the past 9yrs. Tennis has always been a highlight. The tennis professionals are fun to play with and are terrific instructors. We always leave Caneel with new skills and new enthusiasm for the game. Our daughters, 9 and 12, have pretty much grown up with Eric, the head pro, and we all look forward to seeing him and playing tennis with him each year. Eric is a great pro and has a particular knack with kids. Donald, the director, has been a superb addition to Caneel. We hope he continues his tenure at the resort for years to come. He is doing great things with the program. The newly resurfaced courts, combination of turf and sand, are awesome! The surface is so comfortable to play on.
    If you are looking for a Caribbean vacation with a high quality tennis program for both kids and adults, Caneel Bay is a must. You will fall in love and we warn you, will return time and time again. And it will be well worth it!"
    —D.F., Adv. Int., December 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Incredibly friendly, enthusiastic, and skilled instructors. I went to an 8am clinic and had a private lesson on each of the 5 days of my vacation. I found their instruction to be the most effective I've received, focusing on the most impactful and easily implemented improvements first. I think my game improved drastically after just 5 days with them. Head pro Eric is probably one of the most personable, energetic, and positive people I've ever interacted with and it was a pleasure to work with him every day. This setting and staff make learning tennis a joy and I'd recommend anyone who plans to devote some of their vacation to tennis must visit."—D.G., Low Int., December 2012
  • 4-Ball Rating "Great tennis. Excellent coaching. Works with all levels. Makes great corrections to immediately improve game."—M.S., Int., October 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "lots of courts, friendly pros, multiple weekly round robins, various drills and clinics, right in the middle of the fabulous resort, in a few minutes after tennis you can be swimming in a tropical reef."—N.R., Int., May 2012
  • 4-Ball Rating "This past trip was our first experience with the PBI staff at Caneel Bay. We should have started earlier. Donald Becker was/is an exceptional instructor and great communicator. Our daughter had daily instructions with him and she has developed into a hard hitting aggressive player. Which is fine until I have to play her. The staff is friendly and caring. Tennis will be in our plans for future visits to this resort."—S.M., Adv. Int., April 2012
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—S.J., Adv. Int., April 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We were surprised that Caneel Bay resort was rated in the top ten in the country for tennis, mainly because one doesn't think about going to the islands to play tennis, that maybe it would be too hot? Well we were wrong and totally pleased with the well run beautiful location of Caneel Bay. Playing the clinics at 8 am and again at 4 there was a breeze and the weather perfect! The pros, Don and Eric, not only were they fun, friendly, and very accomadating, but their instruction was the best we ever got! They never tried to change everything we ever learned but made very good observations on what they saw, tweaked it and explained it so well that it became a natural transition to playing better. The pros showed enthusiasm and genuine interest in our progress. The instruction was superb! We highly reccommend tennis at beautiful Caneel Bay. We will difinately come back."—M.M., Int., April 2012
  • 5-Ball Rating "The Tennis program at Caneel Bay was extremely elegant and top notch. The PBI tennis professionals were well organized for daily activities and lessons and matched us well with competetion at our level. The staff were extremely hospitable and sought to make our stay excellent. The staff even directed us on some local hikes on trails in the adjoining US Virgin Islands National Park when we were not playing tennis. This resort is number one in terms of rekaxing and rejuvenating both body and soul!"—M.S., Adv., April 2012
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Caneel as a resort has plusses and minuses, but I will stick to the tennis side of things. Court time is free and easy to get even during Spring Break. Booking lessons is a little more difficult since there are only two pros. My daughter, age 9, took a lesson from Donald and she really enjoyed it. We got here 10 minutes early for the lesson and Donald taught her for 70 minutes. I must say that the courts are not in great shape and need to be redone."—L.S., Adv., April 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Caneel Bay is a wonderful place to vacation with free access to always available tennis courts, terrific daily clinics, regular round robins and an excellent pro staff. Next to the spectacular beauty of the place, the tennis pulls us back year after year."—W.Z., Int., March 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We return to Caneel Bay every winter for the high quality tennis program. This was our 16th year and I have to say that the quality of the program is the highest it has ever been. The program director, Donald Becker, tailors the program to each guest’s individual needs. He and his wonderful pros can help improve strokes, game strategy, or give you a fun workout. My daughter is a college player and finds her time at Caneel to be invaluable and fun. In addition, Donald and Eric are wonderful resources for resort and island activities. Once you go, you will understand why there are so many guests who return year after year to play tennis at Caneel Bay."—R.E., Adv., March 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We stayed at Caneel for about a week and played tennis with a pro for an hour everyday. All the pros we played with were with great, but Eric Gessner really stood out as the best for us. He provided great information for both beginners and fairly advanced players in our family and really helped improve my game!"—D.W., Int., February 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Magnificent resort that excels in accommodations, ambience, cuisine, service, tennis, swimming, boating, wind surfing, and beaches. Exceeds expectations for a 5 star resort."—H.W., Adv., February 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Phyllis and I loved the tennis at Caneel. The clinics and round robins were ably run and Eric G. gave fabulous lessons. Best of all the pros arranged great matches with other guests and locals. Thank you Eric! We'll see you next year."—M.J., Int., January 2012
  • 4-Ball Rating "A truly outstanding setting with fabulous tennis. Eric Gessner and Don, the two pros were outstanding as were the tennis facilities. Really a top notch experience. Re-kindled my passion for tennis. Highly recommended."—J.D., Adv. Int., January 2012
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Caneel Bay is a beautiful resort. The beaches are gorgeous and on the surface, the tennis facility lives up to its top 10 resorts rating. The pros, Donald and Eric couldn't be nicer, more helpful, informative and talented. What they control is outstanding. Unfortunately, the physical courts (hard courts) are surprisingly beaten up for a resort of this quality. I would have thought that they would have resurfaced the courts to show their best face to the world during the holiday rush. I was mistaken. Again though, the pros themselves are stellar and make a tennis visit to Caneel Bay worthwhile."—M.S., Adv. Int., January 2012
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—G.H., Adv. Int., November 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Terrific pros Donald and Eric helped me strengthen my forehand dramatically over a series of lessons and then provided four round robin doubles matches with guests and locals to practice it. Of course, they do this all the time and I should know, I've been going to Caneel Bay off and on since 1985. All the PBI pros have been terrific across that entire time span. Thanks everyone."—R.A., Adv. Int., October 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Caneel bay was the ideal tennis destination. Wonderful staff. Beautiful courts. Simply paradise on earth. Can't wait to go back."—D.E., Adv. Int., October 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Just returned from an idyllic visit to Caneel Bay. In addition to the paradise-like setting, the quality and attentiveness of the tennis staff (Eric and Donald) make this resort a must visit for tennis fans. Both my wife and I were on the courts each day, playing in the complimentary round robins, hitting with other guests or locals that the tennis staff paired us up with or hitting with the pros. The courts are well-maintained and the tennis pros go out of their way to ensure that your needs are met. We cannot wait to go back."—B.M., Adv., October 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Our simple room at Cannel Bay was right on Hawksnest Beach. An exquisitely beautiful beach with a different view of the islands on the bay every dozen yards. The sand came right up to our door. Our picture window was essentially one-way during the day. The summer price was right for us and the service was exceptionally high and friendly. The tennis center was amazing. I was well matched with a friendly local, there were occassional round robins mostly with local players, and free ball baskets. The tennis lessons my wife and I took with Roger, a visiting pro, got right to the point. In my wife's case, she immediately learnt that she was clutching the racket and should relax so that her wrist could get involved now that rackets are lighter than when I taught her to play."—A.G., Adv. Int., June 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We have played tennis at Caneel Bay a number of times and we really have enjoyed it. This year I had a number of lessons with Eric and I found him to be one of the best instructors I have ever had and hehelped me make my game much better. My wife also took lessons with both Donald and Eric. I highly recommend Caneel Bay for tennis."—N.S., Int., May 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "Donald Bekker made our family vacation a great learning experience, improving our games while making it fun. He customized the clinics to our skill level and schedule. The round robins on Tuesdays and Thursdays were filled with a mix of local talent and guests They embraced our 12 year old daughter and encouraged her in the friendly competition that Donald has fostered. It would have been even better if there were more junior focused programs."—G.H., Int., May 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "The tennis pro, Donald Becker, is a personable and excellent instructor. He motivated my 12 year old. He motivated us to get to the courts by 8am every day of our vacation before the sun was too strong. The tennis program helped make Caneel our choice for third visit in 5 years."—A.H., Int., May 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Very good player matching service with island locals and others at the resort. If there is no one to be matched with, there is complimentary use of the ball machine or a hit with the pro. Very nice hardcourts, some of the best I have ever played on, and there are also four carpet courts. No weaknesses here."—A.A., Adv., April 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "This was our fourth visit with our children to Caneel Bay. We had 10 magnificent days, and one of my highlights every morning was a one hour lesson with the pro Donald Becker. It was a great luxury to work on my game with such a talented and friendly pro. A few mornings I brought my children along, and he formated the lessons brilliantly for the 3 of us to insure that we each got great work-outs while increasing our skills on the court. Thank you, Donald!"—E.L., Adv. Int., April 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "Great tennis program, wonderful pros in Eric and Donald."—C.M., Low Int., March 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Overall setting is beautiful! Staff is friendly and professional. Courts are in impeccable condition. Bi-weekly round-robin tourney is a major plus."—P.M., Adv. Int., March 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Caneel Bay is amazing for so many reasons; one being that the tennis is outstanding. Donald Becker is truly a wonderful person and a fantastic tennis instructor. We had so much fun! Arranging lessons for 2-4 hours a day was hassle-free and everyone was so accommodating. They have a great selection of clinics and round robins.
    My first visit was with a friend but after witnessing how much children were enjoying themselves, I look forward to returning soon with my family. I would highly recommend Caneel Bay. I met so many people there who, understandably, visit regularly and hope to become a frequent visitor myself. Many thanks to the folks at Caneel Bay!"
    —A.M., Low Int., March 2011
  • 3½-Ball Rating "What a very accomodating group than runs the Tennis @ Caneel Bay. I had two lessons with Eric that were great. For both, we hit for the a good portion of the time, then I asked for some help on my serve and groundstrokes. The key to both sessions was that he worked with what I had, and tweaked a few things, which proved to be successful.  "—P.C., Adv. Int., March 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "weakness - no light at night strength - coaching staff, ability to arrange competitive play, ambiance, availability of courts hotel minuses - no bath just shower  "—A.Y., Adv. Int., February 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We've visited Caneel Bay eight times and always find it to be wonderful. The tennis programs lead by Donald and Eric are fantastic. The round robin is particularly fun and well-organized. Donald is great about arranging games with other guests for you, but we love everything about Caneel. We will be back!"—K.O., Adv. Int., February 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "Great 'soft' hard courts and a few 'grass' courts as well (grass 'carpet') Extremely charming and effective pros (Eric & Don)who provide anything you want- from individual lessons, group clinics and a link to local players as well as Tu/Th round robin play. Gracious good-humored- never a wait. Zero hassle. Water, towels and balls provided. They squeegeed the courts for me to play after a brief shower w/o prompt.
    Just a wonderful welcoming scene. As a 4.5 player, I was a bit better than the local women, but mixed and a few guests turned out well.
    Only 'weakness' was my lack of stamina when the heat & humidity was a bit higher one day. I should have played earlier in the morning! Went to Caneel for the gorgeous waters, but found great tennis as well.  "
    —S.H., Adv., January 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "Had a wonderful vacation week at Caneel. Tennis lessons and clinics with Eric Gessner and Don Becker were superb. Both are great teachers. Courts and facilities are excellent.  "—S.P., Int., January 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The tennis pros were amazing. Within 30 minutes of checking in with them they arranged a doubles match for me with three local players for the next day. They also organized great round robin doubles twice a week. I would have played tennis more if I could, but sightseeing excursions got in the way.
    As someone who typically travels with non-tennis players, Caneel Bay was the ideal resort for everyone and the tennis staff made sure I had plenty of tennis partners. I can't wait to go back and play with the friendly, local tennis players. Although it did seem odd that there weren't many resort guests taking advantage of the tennis courts and programs, but that didn't impact my experience. Lastly, the Caneel Bay Resort is truly a one-of-a-kind vacation destination."
    —M.D., Adv. Int., January 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating " The tennis courts are well maintained and in a lovely setting. Our lesson with Eric Gessney was excellent; he provided invaluable tips,kept the pace of the lesson brisk, and was patient and encouraging. This is an environment where both beginners and advanced players would have a great experience."—R.S., Beg., January 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Caneel Bay is a great place for tennis players. The courts are beautiful and very accessible and the instructors are great. We had not planned to play as much tennis as we did, but after taking our first semi-private lesson, we scheduled lessons almost every other day of our trip. We highly recommend it!  "—S.A., Adv. Int., January 2011
  • 5-Ball Rating "I just spent a week in St John's and played tennis nearly every day at Caneel Bay. The courts were perfect! Impressive local tennis following to coordinate matches at all levels. Pros (Eric & Donald) were amazing! Received some great instruction that improved my backhand and serve. My USTA rating is 4.5.  "—W.R., Adv., November 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "My wife and I really enjoyed the tennis center at Caneel Bay. We are 4.5 players from Atlanta and the pro on site, Donald Becker, ran great drill sessions and scheduled us doubles matches with great competition. The courts and staff are great and the beaches are even more amazing."—B.S., Adv., July 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating "I visited Caneel Bay for the first time this May and I am already planning my next trip back. The overall staff was so accommodating and friendly that you never wanted to leave the resort.
    I love to play tennis, so it was great that the pro shop was able to set me up with matches, as well as, had other tennis activities that I could participate in. The view from the top courts are amazing, so on your water breaks don’t forget to take a moment to admire it. I was able to spend some time with the head tennis pro, Donald Becker, who was always very warm and friendly and did a great job giving me some pointer that definitely helped to improve my game.
    Caneel Bay was exactly what I needed and I would highly recommend it to anyone who loves tennis and what to spend the rest of the day relaxing at one of their 7 beaches."
    —J.Z., Low Int., May 2010
  • 5-Ball Rating "Caneel Bay was a fantastic resort for tennis. The facilities were beautiful, including upper courst with ocean views. The staff was completely helpful and accomodating. My wife and I played daily, sometimes twice a day, and were always able to walk onto a court (and the resort was fully booked at the time). They had equipment if we needed it, allowed us to stay past closing if we wanted to and set me up with someone with similar skills so I could play complete matches. We cannot wait to return. The lessons looked great too- when our kids are old enough, we will bring them along."—P.H., Adv. Int., April 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating "Had a great vacation with my three kids at Caneel. wonderful pros that were good with all three children at different levels. Can't say enough good things.. Highly recommend."—F.O., Adv. Int., April 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating "Wonderful resort with exceptional tennis staff and plenty of opportunities to engage in match play, lessons, or clinics. I have been playing tennis at Caneel Bay for several years and have seen the turnover of instructors several times. Every pro far surpasses those I have had the opportunity to take with anywhere else both in teaching ability and enthusiasm. I unfailingly return after a week there with a newfound confidence in my game. Truly excellent."—S.T., Adv. Int., April 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating "Hot time of year, so lessons or clinic early morning. They arranged a good doubles match for Sunday morning. The resort is top-notch, with the tennis program a great add-on. For us, it is what led us to choose this resort."—T.S., Adv. Int., April 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating "I just returned from a fantastic vacation to St. John. I can truly say that playing tennis at Caneel Bay was a huge highlight. Early on in the trip I was playing their as an outside guest. At the end of the trip I was playing there as a hotel guest. The staff treated me exactly the same either way. I think that really speaks loads of them. I just returned from a fantastic vacation to St. John. I can truly say that playing tennis at Caneel Bay was a huge highlight. Early on in the trip I was playing their as an outside guest. At the end of the trip I was playing there as a hotel guest. The staff treated me exactly the same either way. I think that really speaks loads of them. We attended each of their morning clinics Mon thru Fri and felt both challenged and well attended too. Donald was able to manage all skill levels combined which I found impressive! At the weekend and end of my trip, I wanted to kick it up a notch by hitting singles with both pros (Donald and Todd). They were more than accommodating. I would HIGHLY reccommend this resort to anyone looking for a tennis vacation. I also look forward to the time when I can return! Charles W. Portland, Maine
    We attended each of their morning clinics Mon thru Fri and felt both challenged and well attended too. Donald was able to manage all skill levels combined which I found impressive! At the weekend and end of my trip, I wanted to kick it up a notch by hitting singles with both pros (Donald and Todd). They were more than accommodating. I just returned from a fantastic vacation to St. John. I can truly say that playing tennis at Caneel Bay was a huge highlight. Early on in the trip I was playing their as an outside guest. At the end of the trip I was playing there as a hotel guest. The staff treated me exactly the same either way. I think that really speaks loads of them. We attended each of their morning clinics Mon thru Fri and felt both challenged and well attended too. Donald was able to manage all skill levels combined which I found impressive! At the weekend and end of my trip, I wanted to kick it up a notch by hitting singles with both pros (Donald and Todd). They were more than accommodating. I would HIGHLY reccommend this resort to anyone looking for a tennis vacation. I also look forward to the time when I can return! Charles W. Portland, Maine
    I would HIGHLY reccommend this resort to anyone looking for a tennis vacation. I also look forward to the time when I can return!"
    —C.W.,  April 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I recently spent a week on St. John and had the great pleasure of playing tennis every day at Caneel Bay. Their facilities are fantastic. Lots of courts and two different surfaces! You could literally play (and we did) rain or shine! The setting is beautiful, the courts are in exceptional condition and the grounds are impeccable. I just returned from a fantastic vacation to St. John. I can truly say that playing tennis at Caneel Bay was a huge highlight. Early on in the trip I was playing their as an outside guest. At the end of the trip I was playing there as a hotel guest. The staff treated me exactly the same either way. I think that really speaks loads of them. We attended each of their morning clinics Mon thru Fri and felt both challenged and well attended too. Donald was able to manage all skill levels combined which I found impressive! At the weekend and end of my trip, I wanted to kick it up a notch by hitting singles with both pros (Donald and Todd). They were more than accommodating. I would HIGHLY reccommend this resort to anyone looking for a tennis vacation. I also look forward to the time when I can return! Charles W. Portland, Maine
    What truly sets Caneel apart from the rest and made it one of the best resorts where I have ever played had to be the incredible staff. Donald and Todd are knowledgeable, encouraging, extremely friendly and always very upbeat. They made my trip to St. John one of the best vacations ever. In my opinion, Caneel should be #1 in your top 100."
    —A.G., Int., April 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "donald Becker was an outstanding tennis pro. We were thrilled with the work he did over ten days with our 10 year old sons. One of the reasons we would return to this resort was because of the excellent tennis coaches"—L.W., Int., March 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating "The tennis facility and staff were amazing. My twelve year old son took lessons with Todd and his game has improved tremendously."—M.K., Int., March 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating "i really like the tennis lessons. they were very helpful and i got much better at playing. the tennis courts have greenery all around them and it is very beautiful. i had a great instructor who taught me alot but also conversed with me. i had a great time overall."—J.V., Int., March 2010
  • 5-Ball Rating "While in San Juan, I took advantage of the Player matching Service. Both players were highly skilled and provided me the practice I needed in preparation for the National Indoor 70's. The staff was most helpful and highly professional. I was also impressed with the on-court instruction being provided to both adults and youth. Thank you for making my time in San Juan memorable. Todd and Donald were most professional and demonstrate exceptional teaching skills."—D.S., Pro, March 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The Director of Tennis, Todd Kramer is exceptional. He was great with my daughter (10) and especially skilled in teaching my 15 year old son who came away from the week deciding that he wanted to do tennis as his spring sport at school. A very talented teacher and a great guy. We felt very lucky to had some time with him."—B.L., Int., January 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating "My husband, son and I traveled to Caneel Bay this past summer and had an incredible time. Both my husband and play on USTA teams and each of our teams had made it to the districts which were going to be played the week after our vacation. After telling this to Don, the head pro - he not only worked on what we wanted to practice but also went out of his way to set up partners for us even though no one staying at the resort was at our tennis level. He truly went out of his way.
    Along with playing tennis each morning, we adored the snorkeling at the resort beaches, swam with the turtles, and had a wonderful view from our cabin. The ocean waves were just feet from our door. We are counting the months till we can go back."
    —R.B., Int., January 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating "The courts were run very comfortably with no hassle. The instructors for both children and adults were very good. Adults were able to be paired with similar players if needed. It was one of the most pleasurable tennis experiences we have had a major resort."—M.K.,  January 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I went to Caneel with my husband and two sons. We all play tennis and we thought that the pro's at Caneel Bay were terrific. They were able to improve the serves of my 14 and 18 year old sons dramatically and they had a good system of teaching. They challenged us but remained positive in their approach. We took private lessons and clinics and were very impressed with the tennis program. When we left, Todd even came to the dock to say good bye to us."—M.P., Adv. Int., December 2009
  • 4-Ball Rating "Wow! This place is great! My family and I recently visited Caneel Bay on vacation. My daughter is just beginning tennis at 8, as well as my husband and I. The staff at Caneel Bay were all so incredibly pleasent, accommodating and professional, not only did we learn a great deal, but we had a ton of fun! Playing tennis on such beautiful courts was the highlight of our days there.
    Not only was the tennis great, but the snorkeling, and hiking were top notch as well. This was definately, one of our most relaxing, most fun, most athletic, and certainly, one of our most beautiful vacations. We will be back ... many times!"
    —W.B., Low Int., December 2009
  • 4-Ball Rating "I stayed at Caneel Bay in mid-December 2009 and had a great time. I hit several times with Todd, the head pro, who gave me some excellent tips. The helpful staff also found a local resident for me to play with. The tennis center is well-run and the courts are very nice. Plus, the resort is beautiful. Highly recommended!"—S.K., Adv., December 2009
  • 4-Ball Rating "I had the good fortune of visiting Caneel Bay in mid-November 2009, before the Thanksgiving rush, and found the tennis courts much less crowded than during the upcoming busy season. Pros Donald Becker and Todd Kramer were more than accommodating in arranging hitting lessons for this old-time wooden racquet player on the well-maintained hard courts (when wild donkeys weren't playing doubles). I think they (the pros) got more than a good game from this island visitor.
    I didn't have time to participate in the round robin doubles events, but they were well subscribed and included people from across the island. Donald and Todd were very attentive to the needs of the resort guests and happy to fit tennis in between snorkeling, sunning, sailing and other activities."
    —T.S., Adv., December 2009
  • 4-Ball Rating "I visited Caneel bay for a week in July 2009. The grounds and courts are wonderfully maintained. It is very hot and humid in the summer, so plan to play early and then hit the wonderful breakfast buffet. The pro, Donald has a wonderful attitude to help make the sessions fun. Locals filled out the round robin and the staff got a local for me to play on the off days. Pricey, but definately would go back."—R.R., Adv. Int., August 2009
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—K.K., Adv. Int., April 2009
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—H.K., Adv. Int., April 2009
  • 5-Ball Rating "As always the Caneel Bay Resort Tennis program & Facilities are optimum! The only downfall is to remember to book before you arrive so that you get the times you like for lessons - if you have preferences. Patrick Alle, the Director of the tennis program, and his entire Peter Bruwash Pros, deserve much praise for his excellence at running & facilitating very hectic christmas scene and making tennis truly fun for all ages & abilities"—A.S., Adv. Int., April 2009
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Beutifully maintained courts. Excellent instruction for my advanced 10 and 13 year olds, as well as for my wife and I who are beginners. The pro found matches for our boys and got us into a round robin that was also well matched and quite enjoyable. We all definitly improved our games and had a great time.
    I highly recommend this resort to any family or individual who would like to learn and play alot of tennis in gorgeous surroundings. We were there over Easter break, not crowded at all, courts anytime at no charge. I understand that they were very busy over Christmas break with 6 pros giving lessons all day long."
    —L.S., Beg., April 2009
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Strengths: Talented professionals; organized lesson and clinic scheduling; quality players come to the resort; they match up players for extra play time; Patrick Alle was the best head pro we have encountered on trips to tennis resorts!"—J.M., Adv., April 2009
  • 4-Ball Rating "The best....good tennis, direction and most cheerful. I've been playing tennis at Caneel for 30 years and these last were the best."—L.N., Int., April 2009
  • 4½-Ball Rating "My family and I have been going to Caneel for the past 10 years in a row. We wouldn't even consider another resort."—R.J., Pro, April 2009
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—V.J., Adv., April 2009
  • 4-Ball Rating "We have been visiting Caneel Bay for the past 25 years. The resort has always been a favorite of ours due to the stunning location and the wonderful tennis. We have especially enjoyed the past 5 or 6 years since Patrick Alle has been there as the tennis pro. His instruction is always new and fresh and we always come away with new ideas to work with and the feeling that our game has improved.
    The courts are in great shape, well maintained and have recently been resurfaced. The entire staff is very helpful and couldn't be nicer. We would highly recommend a tennis vacation at Caneel."
    —R.D., Int., April 2009
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—H.B., Int., March 2009
  • 5-Ball Rating "Great resort, and phenomenal instruction!"—S.G., Low Int., March 2009
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Caneel was the best tennis resort I have ever been to - and I've been to a lot. Patrick, the head intructor, was a phenomenal teacher, and they also ran bi-weekly round robins every tuesday and thursday. Courts are beautiful and the setting is even better. Decent prices at the pro shop too."—P.B., Adv., March 2009
  • 5-Ball Rating "Patrick is a terrific coach, courts are top-notch and service friendly."—J.G., Adv., March 2009
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—B.G., Int., March 2009
  • 5-Ball Rating "Before arriving at Caneel Bay, I had reviewed this website and thoroughly researched our vacation. I was looking for a resort that my husband and I could both enjoy. Ideally I was looking for a great tennis program but also a place to really unwind.
    I had read so many wonderful things about the tennis program at Caneel and their staff. initially, I was a bit surprised by how many people had raved about the pros. I had never seen a group of pros who had wgarnered such praise. So I went in excited but tried to keep an open mind.
    I must say that this was, without a doubt, the best tennis experience of my life. The reviews on this site were accurate. Patrick Alle, who runs the operation, has apparently been hampered with a back injury. But this in no way diminished his ability as a coach or as a person. He and Donald, the assistant pro, were so friendly and outgoing. They made us feel like we were [part of their family. They constantly were checking up on us and were genuinely interested in our wellbeing.
    The program itself is topnotch and there really is something for everyone. I took part in the daily clinics and learned something new every day. I participated in the round robins and had a blast. Both days in fact, all 11 courts were full.(Thats over 40 people for a complimentary doubles social) I have never seen a busier program! My private lessons with Patrick were the highlight though. Patrick is the most patient and knowledgable coach I have ever encountered. Despite a back injury, he seemed to genuinely love being out on the court. He made the lessons fun and challenging. Honestly, he made tennis seem easy and I never thought I would say that. In my opinion,Patrick is the best kept secret in tennis. I think paying the high room rate is worth it, just to play tennis there.
    The setting is beautiful and the facility has to be one of the best in the world. If you are looking for the ideal tennis destination, look no further than Caneel Bay. Now that I have seen it in person, it is no wonder Caneel was ranked #5 in the world. We will probably return again this year just for the tennis!"
    —K.T., Int., March 2009
  • 4½-Ball Rating "My wife Helen and I stayed at Caneel Bay the last week of February, 2009. We spent a lot of time at the tennis courts, and their facilities are the best we have ever seen. There are many well-tended courts of different surfaces that look out over the ocean, with a cool breeze blowing over them.
    spaceMarty, who runs the office, is friendly, attentive and organized. The head pro, Patrick, runs a highly professional and polished operation. And we had the pleasure of playing a lot of tennis with Don, the assistant pro, who works from morning til night helping people improve their game in an energetic and personable way. The courts are active and the friendly atmosphere lends itself to matching with other players; Marty and the pros are very helpful in creating playing opportunities among guests. It was a great experience and we can't wait to return."
    —D.C., Adv. Int., March 2009
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I love Caneel Bay! When I go with my family on vacation this is definately my favorite place! So much fun at the different beaches! The breakfast buffet is delicious! The tennis is really fun too...Patrick Alle, the pro here is so helpful, smart and friendly. I look forward to learning from him whenever we come here. I am a junior player and he gives me a lot of great ideas and advice! He can always match us up with other players, guests as well as local people too. I can't wait to come back!"—L.T., Adv., March 2009
  • 4½-Ball Rating "My family and I just returned from another wonderful vacation at Caneel Bay resort. We always have a great time here, especially at the tennis courts! Thanks to Patrick Alle and his program here, we keep returning year after year. Great competitive as well as social tennis. The round robins twice a week include guests as well as local tennis players and are a lot of fun. Patrick is professional as well as talented and friendly. A winning combo!"—L.T., Adv., March 2009
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Caneel Bay is beautiful in every way. Truly the most relaxing resort with gorgeous beaches and grounds. We return to Caneel Bay again and again and again....Mostly due to Patrick Alle and his outstanding tennis program. He is by far the best tennis professional we have worked with. Patrick has such a wonderful ability to make everyone, of every level, feel wecome and involved. Our tennis improves and we have a great time as well!"—S.T., Adv., March 2009
  • 4-Ball Rating "Superb natural beauty and excellent food quality. Outstanding tennis program - largely due I believe due to Patrick Alle's superb teaching methodology. I have never learned more from any tennis pro (I've been playing for 25 years). He has created a wonderful tennis environment that is both social and competitive. I was so disappointed to learn on our last visit in Jan. 2009, that due to health issues, he will be moving on. Such a loss for Caneel.
    spaceWe are returning to Caneel in March and know that it will be the last time that we will be getting a lesson from Patrick. Please look long and hard for the right personality for a replacement. He is one of the reasons that we return again and again."
    —L.M., Adv. Int., February 2009
  • 4-Ball Rating "caneel bay is my favorite place to visit. my husband and i just returned from a week there. i love the beautiful beach and entire tennis experience. Patrick and his staff are so insightful. we played tennis every morning and every evening.
    spacei had few lessons with Patrick and he was able to give me the confidence w/ my groundstrokes that i've never had before. he tweaked my serve a bit, enabling me to defeat my husband 6 times, which of course was sweet victory! we've been lucky enough to visit caneel bay a few times since we've been married. we've gone to other beach destinations as well, but to be perfectly honest, it's just not the same. we love our tennis time w/ patrick."
    —C.N., Int., January 2009
  • 5-Ball Rating "In 2004, my wife and I visited Caneel Bay for our honeymoon. We have returned every season but one, thanks entirely to tennis pro Patrick Alle and his staff. Caneel Bay is breathtaking, but beauty isn't that hard to find in the Caribbean. What we appreciate most is the instruction provided by Patrick, as well as the friendly-but-competitive twice-weekly round robins he hosts. In the course of one week, for example, Patrick rebuilt my homemade backhand (it is now no longer an obvious liability) and my wife's serve. She is a former college player who has since adopted bad habits. Patrick was able to identify and fix those habits in a way that felt perfectly intuitive. The courts have also been entirely remade under Patrick's tenure. The experience is relaxed, well-structured, very helpful and exceedingly enjoyable. We're looking forward to December 2009."—D.N., Adv. Int., January 2009
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—H.J., Adv., January 2009

Rate Caneel Bay Resort (currently closed)


Ratings

(194 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
5-Ball Rating Tennis Staff
5-Ball Rating Instruction
4½-Ball Rating
Game Matching
4½-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4½-Ball Rating
Cuisine
4-Ball Rating Lodging
4-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
4-Ball Rating
Dollar Value
4-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4½-Ball Rating Setting
4½-Ball Rating
Kids' Programs
4-Ball Rating Romance
4½-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4-Ball Rating

Ratings

(194 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
5-Ball Rating Instruction
4½-Ball Rating Cuisine
4-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4-Ball Rating Setting
4½-Ball Rating Romance
4½-Ball Rating Kids' Programs
4-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
5-Ball Rating Game Matching
4½-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4½-Ball Rating Lodging
4-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
4-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4½-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4-Ball Rating

Rates and Reservations

There are multiple categories of lodging at Caneel Bay. The least expensive are those near the tennis complex, the most expensive the beachfront rooms, including the five in Cottage 7, the former home of Laurance S. Rockefeller. Rates are subject to 8% tax and 10% surcharge.

Visit the website for current rates

Caneel Bay Resort (currently closed)
P.O. Box 720
Cruz Bay, St. John, 00831-0720 U.S. Virgin Islands
340-776-6111
Toll-free: 855-226-3358
Email:
Web Link: Caneel Bay Resort (currently closed)