Wild Dunes 728 banner

Tennis Resorts Online, the Leading Guide to Tennis Travel and Tennis Vacations
Your Definitive Guide To Tennis Travel





South Beach Racquet Club

Hilton Head Island, South Carolina


Your Call

Here's what others have had to say about South Beach Racquet Club.

  • 4½-Ball Rating "If you are searching for high end glitz and glamor, Hilton Head is not the correct choice for your vacation. However, if a laid back low country beach atmosphere supported by a family atmosphere sounds appealing Sea Pines on Hilton Head Island is for you. During our years of vacationing in Sea Pines I have participated in drills and round robins at a variety of the local tennis camps. This year scheduling resulting in my trying the drills at the SOUTH BEACH RACQUET CLUB, the experience was fantastic. Again, nothing “fancy” just well maintained courts, an extremely courteous and helpful staff, and good tennis. The pro who conducted our drills is named Angela. Now admittedly there were only a couple of participants in the drills, but in 5 minutes she began asking question about our different strokes. Was this comfortable, did I feel off balance, etc. With just a couple of minor modifications, my stroke improved, it felt more comfortable and the percentage hitting in bounds increased."—L.H., Int., May 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—K.F., Int., April 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "I greatly enjoyed South Beach Racquet Club. I did the daily stroke and drill clinic each day during our recent vacation. Very fun, lots of balls, great workout. Garrett was a superb pro, really helpful, very upbeat. The setting is beautiful. I will definitely be back!"—D.V., Adv. Int., April 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "Best tennis resort and best pro's ever. If your tennis team is looking for a fun weekend away with some excellent clinic time this is the place! Whether you are a new team looking for beginner lessons or a seasoned team looking for some fine tuning these pros are fabulous. Garrett & Jimbo are top notch ch!! Excellent courts in the back yard of Salty Dog."—K.G., Adv. Int., March 2017
  • 5-Ball Rating "This tennis resort has always met and exceeded our expectations with regards to quality of court surface, booking a court, and friendliness of service. The owners, Rachel and Don are always very accommodating, and keep their tennis shop up-to-date with the newest apparel and equipment. The tennis drills have always been very helpful as well."—M.G., Int., March 2017
  • 4-Ball Rating "Garrett Leal, the Head Tennis Professional is excellent and highly recommended. As I am a low intermediate player, and not naturally athletic, he was able to analyze my many mistakes and help me correct them. I can see improvement quickly when I remember to implement them. In the lessons he is unfailingly supportive and positive and empathizes with my not fully comprehending and implementing immediately. He remembers one's game and in passing a court on which I am playing, he will sometimes call out and compliment my succussful whatever, or suggests a better approach on my technique. This is very friendly as Garrett knows almost all the regulars at the Club, and only does this appropriately. Thank you Garrett."—D.R., Low Int., February 2017
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Great instructors for everyone. Jim and Angela were great. Pro shop staff was very friendly and accommodating unlike another pro shop we visited on the Island. South Beach racquet club is highly recommended. We have been playing there for years."—J.L., Int., July 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating "Great clinics run by instructor Garrett Leal. He was energetic, knowledgable, approachable, and very engaging. We will definitely keep coming back as long as he is teaching!"—B.H., Adv. Int., June 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Tennis Program is great! Lowcountry feel and style makes it very inviting! Great place to play and enjoy Tennis!"—M.O., Pro, May 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Angela Donoslovic is the best instructor I have ever met. She provides a perfect balance between verbal instruction and practice/play. She has great attitude (positive/supportive) and personality (fun/patient) and loads of energy. Her assessment of technique weaknesses is spot on and she communicates effectively with understandable prompts for easier and quicker incorporation into a student's game. Improving a student's tennis skills seems more a passion than just a job to Angela. I give her my highest recommendation."—S.D., Adv. Int., May 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The SBRC continues to provide me with the best tennis holiday. We came to the area for two weeks last year and decided to double our fun with a month this year. We were not disappointed. We are returning to the area and the South Beach Racquet Club next year. Why you ask? The tennis club is so very welcoming and committed to providing a superior tennis experience. The courts are well maintained and the staff is very friendly and knowledgeable about their products. The club pro Garrett has the characteristics that all great instructors possess. He is able to instruct, motivate and give the participants of his private lessons and group activities a great deal of fun. You will come away with a smile on your face and added confidence in your abilities. The other great asset of the club is its members. They are welcoming and encouraging. Members such as Lisa help visitors become part of the greater tennis community that is SBRC. Being invited to play with other club members makes this a truly memorable tennis experience. I would like to thank the owners, staff and club members of South Beach for providing this avid tennis player a really wonderful tennis holiday!!!"—M.W., Low Int., April 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—K.S., Adv. Int., March 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "A great place to play and learn tennis. Surroundings are great. Staff is friendly and very helpful. Not the biggest resort facility which makes the friendliness that much better. Lessons and drills offered were a lot of fun as well as educational. Would highly recommend to family and friends."—J.P., Adv. Int., March 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Great facility, good court availability, and friendly staff. Leagues and events are fun ands are the members and guests who play with us."—A.G., Int., March 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating "excellent court maintenance, very nice accmmodating people, pleanty of courts, easy to meet people and get games"—P.T., Int., March 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "There are tons of manicured courts at the quaint south end of Hilton Head Island. Every employee is helpful as they can be."—K.J., Int., March 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "A great place to call my home tennis club!"—N.B., Int., March 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating "Great club. Lots of variety in terms of players. Great pros, too."—R.P., Int., March 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating "An exceptional facility and club. Many activities for both young & old. I love their yearly Billy Bob tournament. It's fun, yet competitive. Highly recommend South Beach. If I lived in Hilton Head, I would definitely join this club."—J.Y., Adv., March 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The pros at South Beach run the most fun, dynamic and challenging clinics on the island. Participating in their programs have upped my game significantly!"—M.W., Adv. Int., March 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Friendly staff & excellent tennis instructions! Daily clinics are wonderful!"—J.D., Adv. Int., March 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating "Fabulous location, great proshop with the best selection tennis clothes on Hilton Head. Head pro Garrett is very knowledgeable in the sport."—S.W., Adv. Int., March 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "South Beach is a very fun place to play tennis. Great instruction and clinics. Although the courts are not always in the best condition, Hilton Head is a great place to play because of the great number of players visiting and residing here. It is a tennis dream come true for me. Homey and comfortable"—N.C., Adv. Int., March 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating "South BeachRacquet has everything. It cators to the higher ranked, pros and tournament players as is does the club player who is on the courts just to have some relaxation and fun. SBRQ also entwines the members and resort guest in a way that everybody feels comforable and all have fun. SBRC participates in manyTennis Club, Tennis Island activities ,Collgre player competions and lots of fun socials for all. If you in the area, Y'll come down. You will be glad that you did."—B.M., Int., March 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—J.T., Int., March 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating "It's a home away from home. Everyone that is part of the staff as well as the members are quick to make you feel welcomed and appreciated. This is my 6th year and plan to continually return to South Beach."—C.H., Adv. Int., March 2016
  • 3½-Ball Rating "I love the condition of the courts and the setting of the club... they have a good pro there but I do find it farther away then I care to drive if my matches end over the evening traffic... I live in the area so I have not had occasion to stay there but I have played on a team there and played against them also. I can not answer some questions because I live about 40 min. away."—M.C., Adv. Int., March 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "South Beach Racquet Club is wonderful. Great place for tennis and friends. Lovely owners!"—N.K., Int., March 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "Excellent programs & instructors make learning fun & also challenging. All levels of staff are always friendly & helpful, not just doing a job. Love that they have HarTru courts! Don & Rachel, owners very personally committed to guests having a great experience personally and with others. They have made excellent additions to exterior building that facilitates group tennis events & mingling after play & to watch other players. Whether an occasional guest or local resident, you can count on an all around awesome tennis experience at SBC on Hilton Head, Island, SC"—A.P., Int., March 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—M.L., Adv. Int., March 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "This tennis facility has a very friendly and welcoming atmosphere! There are 13 Har-Tru courts with two lighted. Many fun tennis socials each year are well attended. Hilton Head's best tennis!"—F.B., Adv. Int., March 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—P.B., Adv. Int., March 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—D.I., Int., March 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "This tennis club is a must ,when you come to Hilton Head.It is an excellent tennis facility,with friendly and helpful staff .If you join the club there are tournaments organised throughout the year ,as are the social events.It seems that they don't need much of an excuse to have a party,all of which are attended very well. It is like home from home.People are super friendly and you are almost guaranteed to make friends for life The professional staff are excellent and can make learning tennis fun"—M.S., Low Int., March 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—V.B., Int., March 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "Excellent staff. Very friendly and accommodating. Clinics available every day. Lots of fun tournaments. Always courts available."—A.R., Adv. Int., March 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "A favorite tennis destination for me & my family. It is a very relaxing atmosphere with a constant buzz of tennis activity, from round robins to drills & lessons. You can never go wrong with a trip to south beach."—A.R., Adv., March 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "Simply "Southern Confort""—C.P., Adv. Int., March 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I love everything about South Beach Racquet Club. We are all so lucky to be here and experience the wonderful staff and facility…Love it!"—C.M., Adv. Int., March 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating "Great staff, clinics and very open to visitors"—B.D., Adv. Int., March 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating "Strength - variety of socials and mixers and holiday events make for a great tennis atmosphere! Weakness - only two lighted courts if you want to play at night."—S.G., Adv. Int., March 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Spent a week playing tennis at this incredible club. Wonderful staff and terrific programs. There is something for every level of player. You come as a guest and leave as part of the family. Can't wait to go back!"—J.S., Adv. Int., March 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Phenomenal staff and services offered to all members and guests alike.Tennis programs geared to all ages and skill levels.Owners are tennis players themselves and are always available and hands on in their expert management of this facility. Only weakness inclement weather which would involve the temporary closure of the courts, ie. rain."—H.H., Int., March 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Great place to play tennis while on Hilton Head Island! Relaxing environment, fun staff and well maintained facility. The pro Angela was amazing and fun for early morning clinics and private lessons."—J.N., Adv., March 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "Excellent tennis resort. Great teaching, friendly staff, personal attention. Great at arranging matches for visitors and resident alike. Super. Love it !!!"—R.C., Adv. Int., March 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Fun and friendly!"—D.B., Adv. Int., March 2016
  • 5-Ball Rating "Great club. Friendly and knowledgeable staff."—G.B., Int., March 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Excellent facility with top notch teaching staff. Garrett and Angela know there craft and are exceptional listeners, as well as teachers."—B.S., Int., March 2016
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I was impressed with the availability of the courts and the exceptional coaching staff. I have already implemented strategies that were taught during my stay, and they are really making a difference. The South Beach staff was friendly, outgoing, and very helpful, and I will return there soon!"—S.O., Int., March 2016
  • 4-Ball Rating "We had a group lesson with Garrett Leal and had a wonderful class!!! He was wonderful to work with and so personable. Very knowledgable about the game!!!! A joy to be with!!!!! Can't wait to come back:-))))"—J.B., Beg., November 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We have traveled the world seeking tennis .. We found that South Beach Racquet Club on Hilton Head Island is one of the finest environments we have ever found. The staff welcomes you every morning like the sun coming up..warm and friendly. This is a club catering to friends, guests and locals. No, this does not have a famous name attached to the courts in an all inclusive resort type feel. This has a home away from home feel.. can't wait to get on the courts feel! You will be glad you stopped by. You can also rent your bikes from here so you can ride to your match! Give them a call..you will thank me later!"—B.A., Adv., July 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating "Excellent instruction and a very friendly staff. In particular, Angela Donoslovic-Skala can't be beat as a teaching pro. Highly recommended."—C.R., Adv. Int., June 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating "I took 6 hours of one on one lessons from Angela at South Beach. She was a fantastic teacher of tennis. She was able to communicate in a clear manner fine details of tennis strokes and strategy. I learned so much from her in one week. I will definitely come back again to take additional lessons from her."—D.W., Int., May 2015
  • 4-Ball Rating "We have vacationed at Hilton Head Island. SC.for the past 30 years. The high point of every visit has always been the time spent at South Beach Racquet Club, founded and run by Rachel and Don Sigmon. They are perfect hosts, with skilled coaches and bright, enthusiastic staff. You can always be sure of a warm welcome, with imaginative tennis programs to suit every age and ability and a variety of entertaining off-court activities."—P.S., Adv. Int., April 2015
  • 4-Ball Rating "great court conditions, warm professional staff excellent coaching and clinics"—P.T., Int., April 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "A delightful, very welcoming and inclusive club.The teaching staff is very competent and available to help us all improve our games. The staff in the clubhouse is excellent. If you want a game, talk to them and they will point you in the right direction to set one up. The owners, Rachel and Don Sigmon are very hands on and always welcoming and friendly to all members and guests alike."—M.B., Int., April 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—L.F., Adv. Int., April 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Super adult tennis environment. Friendly staff, friendly players and Garrett is a great instructor."—F.C., Int., April 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating "South Beach Racquet Club provides a great tennis experience. I was greeted in the pro shop by the owners, Don and Rachel Sigmon, and introduced to the facility. I had no trouble finding great matches throughout my week there. I also enjoyed the daily clinics and lessons. The clay courts are in amazing condition. I can't wait to go back again."—L.V., Adv., April 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—J.M., Low Int., April 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating "This is an extra special place - friendly owners and staff, great pro's and an excellent atmosphere both on and off court"—B.S., Adv. Int., April 2015
  • 4-Ball Rating "A very friendly and accommodating club! They are always ready to sponsor an event to involve others. 13 soft courts, only a short walk to the beach."—W.T., Int., April 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "This is an outstanding tennis facility. The pro and assistant pro are both excellent and quickly understand the court needs of all ages and levels of tennis players. Members are inclusive and open to meeting new players. The owners, Rachel and Don ensure a constant presence and are very helpful. All the staff is efficient. Activities are varied and provide a wonderful venue for meeting new friends and like minded tennis enthusiasts."—C.O., Int., April 2015
  • 4-Ball Rating "Wonderful setting for tennis with a beautiful deck overseeing the courts, great selection in the shop, Garrett is a young pro beyond his years, always smiling and encouraging. Good socials as well."—K.K., Adv. Int., April 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Wonderful,friendly tennis center. The har-tru courts are great (OK,the sun is sometimes a problem but you get used to it). The staff is very helpful, and great at arranging matches and round robins, and special events like the recent mini - "Davis Cup". The head pro, Garrett, is excellent. The ambiance at Sea Pines Plantation on Hilton Head Island couldn't be better. We come back every year for the winter months and may up that to a half year soon. I enthusiastically recommend it."—R.C., Adv. Int., April 2015
  • 4-Ball Rating "A well run, friendly facility with a variety of programs for all ages. Recently updated the facility and added a party deck that has been much used and appreciated by the members."—F.B., Adv. Int., April 2015
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—B.E., Int., April 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating "A hidden gem in HHI. Great staff!"—C.P., Adv. Int., April 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We have belonged to South Beach Racquet Club on Hilton Head for the past 10 years and have found a great tennis home there. Every year the Sigmons sponsor wonderful tennis parties with marvelous teams and prizes and fun. Including the "BillyBob Tournament" with age related brackets, and all sorts of holiday extravaganzas. The staff is wonderful, the pros are fun and extremely talented and gifted."—C.S., Adv. Int., April 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "South Beach is a real Tennis Center, with great pros, programs, Tennis camps and lots of competitive U.S.T.A. and Combo, and Flex leagues. There are men's and women's 70+ teams as well as many different levels. They have a great Sunday Mixed tennis group created by 2 snowbirds and the club is open to suggestions. This year these northern snowbirds introduced the Davis Cup Competition with 8 countries represented and lots of tennis. We would like to see a better Guest package and long-term snowbird package. There are two more huge events coming up one is The Canadian/American competition and the other is The Billy Bob Tournament which attracts over 100 people and is age related. The owners are very friendly and willing to try new things. A new outside deck has been added and it makes for wonderful gathering place to watch all the tennis."—L.G., Int., April 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I live here half the year and play 2 USTA tennis teams here at South Beach. Even if coming on vacation or staying a short time, the club can get you in to clinics, games and socializing. SBRC is a very unique tennis spot and super friendly!"—M.L., Adv. Int., April 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating "Great club and courts! Instructors had fun energy and really knew their stuff. Attended several group sessions, one was fast paced doubles(lots of fun) with some great players and the other one was a drill session which really broke down the fundamentals!! Actually made plans with some players to hit back at home!"—A.V., Int., April 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "One of the best tennis resorts I have visited. The proshop staff was super friendly and accommodating. They even found a babysitter for me in the mornings, so that I could participate in the clinics. The pro, Garrett, did a fantastic job leading the clinics, and improved my overhead in a few short minutes. I look forward to my next visit."—S.M., Int., April 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—K.S., Adv. Int., April 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Everyone makes you feel welcome...Place is wonderful The reception ladies were very professional, fun and efficient. They really help you find games if you are new to the Club. Garrett, the pro, is so enthusiastic, energetic, and a good teacher that he gets you to work even harder at improving your game. The clay courts are in excellent condition. It's our 6th visit and we loved it."—P.T., Int., March 2015
  • 4-Ball Rating "Garrett Leal was an excellent instructor for my two sons. They had a great time and improved with just a few lessons."—J.K., Beg., March 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We have been fortunate to participate in clinics, social round robins, but South Beach as well accommodated round robins for family retreats. In addition to a number of courts, a well stocked store, and gifted teachers, the setting is wonderful for friends and fans. A few steps to the Salty Dog, marina or walk on the beach. It works well if you are playing, sitting in a rocking chair watching tennis or enjoying the surroundings while you wait."—M.B., Low Int., March 2015
  • 4½-Ball Rating "My wife and I did stroke of the day 2 days while we were on vacation and we loved it. Good instructors, good workout."—P.G., Adv. Int., January 2015
  • 5-Ball Rating "I have been visiting Hilton Head Is. for many years. One of the main reasons I return is because of the South Beach Racquet Club. Don and Rachel do a great job of running the Club and everyone in the Pro Shop is friendly and helpful. Together they make a visitor feel like one of the family. Add to this well-maintained courts and you have a wonderful experience. I can not think of any weaknesses."—D.T., Int., December 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating "I took 2 drill clinics at South Beach Racquet Club in Hilton Head. The instructor, Garrett Leal, was an exceptional teacher and wasted no time with his very beneficial and high speed drills. What a skilled and wonderful teacher of tennis skills."—J.S., Adv. Int., October 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating "I enrolled my two grandchildren, 12 year old Emily and 14 year old Steven for tennis instruction. South Beach Racquet Club's Krystina Fluty was their instructor. The experience was wonderful. Emily and Steven are continuing to play. Their father, my son, is playing tennis with his children. South Beach has terrific instructors and appropriate tennis equipment for all ages and skill levels."—S.H.,  August 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Garrett Leal, the head pro, was fantastic! We did 2 hrs of drills with him almost every day, and he had a lot of patience and energy. He was very knowledgeable and the session was a lot of fun! I would highly recommend Garrett and South Beach."—A.S., Adv., July 2014
  • 3½-Ball Rating ""—G.K., Int., April 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Outstanding facility - gracious and courteous staff - and Mike was a really talented, patient and effective pro who greatly advanced our games - myself, my wife, and our 12 year old son, in private lessons all week. Mike - you're one of the best coaches we've had - thanks for a great week!"—D.G., Adv. Int., April 2014
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—J.T., Adv. Int., March 2014
  • 3-Ball Rating "The South Beach Racquet Club was the site of a match between Westminster College, Pa vs Shepherd Univ W. Va. We had 9 courts for a dual M&W match Wed 3/12/14 Courts were in excellent condition in spite of rain during early AM "club" personnel very friendley and helpful and we felt VERY "welcome". Match went quite well and lasted about 2 1/2 - 3 hrs
    We weee delighted to have the opportunity to play there."
    —S.R.,  March 2014
  • 4-Ball Rating "SBRC on Hilton Head Island, SC has well maintained Har-Tru courts with lighting. Great tennis instruction, clinics and round robin events as well as tournaments are held at SBRC. Staff members are courteous and helpful. Great viewing area from the porch decks with comfortable seating. If you go to SBRC be sure and browse through their well stocked pro shop and ask about their socials held after many events. Although there is no food on-site, several restaurants are nextdoor to the tennis club."—S.L., Int., March 2014
  • 5-Ball Rating "A laid back and friendly atmosphere, along with beautiful courts. What a great place!"—C.S., Adv. Int., October 2013
  • 4-Ball Rating "Courts and grounds are well-maintained. Great location on Hilton Head Island. Love the rocking chairs on the clubhouse porch. Staff does a good job matching up players for visitors."—S.R.,  October 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The clay courts were immaculate and as well kept an as any I have ever seen. The setting is beautiful. The staff is friendly and very accommodating. It was very easy to pick up a fourth player since our group consisted of only three. It was a wonderful tennis experience and I would highly recommend South Beach Racquet Club to any tennis player looking for a tennis get away."—E.S., Adv. Int., October 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating "I've been vacationing in Sea Pines for over 20 years and have played at the South Beach Racquet Club every visit. It has consistently been a great club and great tennis experience. The courts are fabulous and beautifully maintained. The staff is teriffic and knowledgeable. The clubhouse is charming and the atmosphere is friendly. A great tennis club."—J.C., Adv. Int., September 2013
  • 4-Ball Rating ""—J.S., Low Int., August 2013
  • 5-Ball Rating "Great facility in Sea Pines Resort. Our two teenagers took the Advanced Stroke Class every day, and eagerly got up every morning to go hit it. Excellent instruction, small class size and reasonable rates. With a well stocked pro shop and friendly staff, what's not to like?! I loved watching the class from a rocking chair on the porch!"—G.R., Int., June 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "This a beautiful facility. It is well-run, and its owners, Rachel and Don Sigmon treat all who come to the club with care and respect. Due to an injury, I can no longer play tennis. However, I love visiting the club whenever I am at South Beach."—P.D., Adv. Int., May 2013
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The lessons I had with Mike Sutcliffe at South Beach Racquet Club improved my game tremendously. I feel more confident and I’m having fun winning."—D.S., Adv. Int., December 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—M.B., Pro, November 2012
  • 4-Ball Rating "This was our 19th year at South Beach. We love staying in the vacation rentals and playing on the south beach racquet courts. This year 22 women made the trip. I alway have a tennis tournament for the ladies. If you have a group that plays tennis. This is the perfect spot. Beach, biking and salty dog....I never want to leave."—P.P., Adv. Int., October 2012
  • 4-Ball Rating "Several times a year we visit South Beach on Hilton Head with friends as well as with family members. When we are there with friends we play daily tennis and are always impressed by the condition of the courts and the friendliness of the staff. One year we needed an extra player and Rachel at the club offered to make some phone calls to help us out. We also rent bikes through them and several of us have taken some group lessons. My son (4.5 from Richmond) took a lesson from one of the pros (Mike) this summer and was very impressed with his teaching skills. There's always plenty of activity at SBRC and they have an excellent pro shop as well."—B.R., Int., September 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We have come to Hilton Head/Sea Pines from France for several years in the month of August and have been playing tennis at SBRC almost every day during our stay. We have always enjoyed the relaxed and at the same time professional atmosphere at the Club; we like the friendliness of the staff and owners who are all personally involved and adjust to you needs; we also like the store where we found a lot of nice and useful tennis accessories, and have been renting the well-maintained beach bikes from the rental that is part of the club. We have also taken some tennis lessons, clinics etc. that were always fund and useful. We can recommend the Club to anyone, at any level of tennis, who likes to enjoy a great setting and improve his or her tennis game."—G.W., Int., September 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "My husband, my daughter and I have been going to Hilton Head/Sea Pines for the past few years. We spend the month of August on the island. We can vouch for the fact that the South Sea Pines Tennis Club offers multiple services, from top rate pros for individual coaching, to more relaxed tennis events where individuals meet up to play tennis together, and improve their ground stroke, their backhand and anything else they want to work on. This Club has the great advantage of offering a hospitable environment where you can easily meet new folks travelling on vacation as well as locals. The Club also offers a bike service which has the great advantage of delivering your bike to your doorstep. It's hard to beat this wonderful tennis club, a family based enterprise which has the warmth of the owners touch."—A.C., Int., September 2012
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—L.G., Adv., September 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "South Beach Racquet Club is nestled in the beautiful Sea Pines Plantation on Hilton Head Island, SC. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The tennis instruction was top notch. I was absolutely delighted that Instructor Mike Sutcliffe really got my daughter excited about the game. Watching her progression with him was fabulous."—J.L., Int., August 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We have had another wonderful 2 months @ SBRC. Courteous and friendly staff and Mike Sutcliffe, the pro, ranks with one of the best!! Joanne and Bob Awrey"—B.A., Adv., April 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—J.P., Adv. Int., April 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Strengths - very friendly staff, good court availibility, courts in good shape, wonderful teaching pros, good pro shop, good restaurants near by Weaknesses - can't think of any."—M.P., Adv. Int., April 2012
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—S.M., Beg., April 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I love this club great courts and great people we try to come back every year"—J.W., Adv., April 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Just a great experience all around. The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable. Other players were nice and fun. And the lessons I took with Jeremiah and Mike were awesome."—K.S., Int., March 2012
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I took a series of five half hour private lessons from Mike. He was,by far,the best tennis instructor I have ever had. I wanted to modify my game to a more senior style of play and he helped me immensely towards achieving my goals. He is a great listener and tailors your lessons to precisely what you need and want."—P.W., Int., March 2012
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—H.M., Adv. Int., August 2011
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Our two boys (9 and 11) took private lessons here with Ryan. They enjoyed the lessons and definitely improved. Ryan was a great teacher -- perfect for their level. He kept them interested and enthusiastic! The staff were friendly and helpful. We would definitely recommend South Beach."—A.V., Beg., August 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Great faciilties, friendly staff and great teaching pro!"—D.G., Adv., June 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I recently took my semi-annual vacation to Sea Pines and once again took a few private lessons with Michael O'Keefe, the Head Pro. As usual, Michael was outstanding. He recalled our prior lessons from over 7 months prior and we were able to dial in to lessons that were really helpful to me based on how my game had evolved over that time.
    Michael pays great attention to the smallest details and also provides great "real world" examples that I can use during my USTA matches as well as practice sessions. I would highly recommend South Beach Racquet Club and Michael specifically for those vacationing in the greater Hilton Head Island/Sea Pines area!"
    —N.V.,  June 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "Great Instruction"—M.T., Adv., June 2011
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Very convenient as did not even have to get in car after arrival. Tennis courts, restaurants, etc. all in easy walking distance. Tennis folks very nice."—R.M., Int., May 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "Great place to play tennis and the personel are always great to work with and entertaining."—J.D., Int., May 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Skills taught were excellent, used many of the techniques they taught, and practiced them, I ranked very high in the round robin, LESSON'S...... it was a major difference in my game trying to employ these techniques.. I will be a better player...Great Jobs to the teaching pros...."—D.S., Adv. Int., May 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—T.B., Int., May 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "The pro shop had the best selection of clothing, shoes, etc that I have seen. It was great and also had some items on sale."—K.M., Adv. Int., May 2011
  • 5-Ball Rating "Absolutely loved the club. Took lessons all week, and learned so much, and am a much better player now. All the staff was extremely nice, and were very helpful. I'll always come back every time I'm near the area."—W.D., Int., April 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Michael O'Keefe is excellent. My sons, now 9 and 11, tooks a couple semi-private lessons from him two years ago and learned a lot of good basics and got interested. This year we were back in April and the boys went to him again for a couple semi-private lessons. He corrected a couple technique issues in the first five minutes and pumped them up with tennis energy again. He is super fun and obviously works hard at being a tennis instructor.
    The facilities are superb, not too big to still be comfortable. Clay courts are in terrific condition. Well organized and managed in all aspects. Did have trouble getting a court a couple times but that is because the place is so popular and weather was ideal. Not as big as Sea Pines club but Michael is the best for us."
    —D.W., Adv. Int., April 2011
  • 5-Ball Rating "The value of the lessons offered is incredible. Probably double of the number of balls hit during a lesson at my courts at home. It is an encouraging experience that makes me want to continue to work hard and be a better tennis player. I can not think of any weaknesses at this club."—A.H., Int., April 2011
  • 4-Ball Rating "To tune up for the New Jersey outdoor season, my husband and I took five days of semi-private lessons with tennis director Michael O’Keefe. He understood what we wanted our focus to be and responded with good tips and drills. His instruction was excellent…most insightful, carefully explained and each session was fun. By the end of the week, we felt we were not only back in the swing, but improved. The courts were in good shape and the pro shop staff very pleasant."—B.I., Adv. Int., March 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating " "—H.H., Int., March 2011
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I am from Southern Illinois and my friends and I attended a Tennis Clinic taught by Michael O'Keefe. The Clinic was outstanding! The Resort totally accomodating and Michael not only was a wonderful PRO but arranged for our groups every need. The PRO Shop was well stocked with great tennis gear and we all shopped, played tennis, interacted with each other and staff. What a wonderful way to spend a vacation and be athletic! South Beach and Michael were FIRST CLASS all the way. Thank you.  "—B.B., Low Int., November 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating " "—A.W., Int., November 2010
  • 5-Ball Rating "I had the most wonderful experience at South Beach Racquet Club. The instructors were knowledgable and dynamic making the clinics educational as well as great fun! The pro shop was stocked and the staff was helpful. Thank you all for such a great vacation!  "—M.S., Low Int., November 2010
  • 5-Ball Rating "Michael's ability to explain technique in a way that seems fresh and specific to you individually makes my clinic experience the best ever. He is fun yet professional and squeezes the best out of you as a player while never letting you doubt for one second that you are on vacation.  "—M.M., Int., November 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating "we just had the most fabulous learning experience, fun, and incredible hospitality for a womens' weekend at South Beach. I worked with Michael to set up 3 3-day clinics for 3.0/3.5 girlfriends. He did a wonderful job, and the owners and staff did everything possible to make sure we felt taken care of on and off court, giving us discounts on clothing. The instruction was first class. Drills were fun, and we were able to play/practice alot with instruction. Michael and SB are the best tennis destination ever! Call ahead and anything is possible, especially on the off season. We will be regulars even though we all live in Illinois.  "—M.M., Int., November 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating "Michael and Keith at the South Beach Racquet Club in Hilton Head flat-out deliver a comprehensive constellation of nuanced, detailed tips that help build a more complete game. Drills, techniques, mechanics, psychology, physiology and fun, are all combined to bring your game to the next level.
    My wife & I both participated in a week of clinics in early September 2010 and came away with so much more than we expected. Though we have been able to gain from the many other pro’s with whom we’ve taken classes I can honestly say that Michael and Keith opened new and exciting doors for our enjoyment of the game."
    —R.S., Int., September 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating "We have been coming to South Beach Racquet Club for many years. Both my husband and I always look forward to private lessons and clinics with the Head Pro Michael O'Keefe. Now our children do too! Of the many pros at clubs and resorts up and down the east coast we have visited, he stands out as a true gem. His amazing ability to diagnose needed improvements and adjustments to our games is remarkable. He then methodically breaks down the step by step remedies and in no time we feel huge improvements.
    Additionally, he is one of the nicest guys you would ever find on the court. We only wish we could visit more often or take him home to our local club. He is well worth the trip to South Beach no matter where you are staying on the island."
    —H.G., Adv. Int., August 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Another great week at South Pines Racquet club. Took Mike and Keith's drills, the best. Ryan took great care of the granddaughters, Mike's privates turned a friend of ours into a new tennis lover and Rachel, the owner always makes sure everything is running smooth. Best tennis resort anywhere. Wish it was closer to home."—V.H., Adv. Int., August 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating "Spent the week in Hilton Head, played got 3 lessons from Ryan, and had a great time. Ryan was the best pro i have gotten a lesson from in years. Had great fun and improved my game significantly. Very cool."—M.M., Adv., August 2010
  • 5-Ball Rating "Terrific service- We rented bikes from South Beach Racquet Club and all of the staff was professional and made sure we were happy with our bikes. We've rented bikes from South Beach for 5 or 6 years now. Always great! Love the tennis too. Clay courts are great and the pros are excellent."—S.N., Adv., July 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Rachel was great! Set up matches, courts are in excellent condition, GREAT organizing. Kept everyone up to date. Staff friendly! Come here again in a heartbeat!"—L.J., Adv., July 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "My favorite for vacation tennis! great for beginners or more advanced players. Staff is outstanding and very accomodating. Owners are very hands-on. i would highly recommend."—T.M., Adv., June 2010
  • 3½-Ball Rating ""—L.R., Adv. Int., May 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Great.. Very friendly and helpful. My favorite tennis club. Most certainly will return next year. Thet made our vacation relaxing and fun. Thank you."—V.P., Int., May 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating "We had a tennis girls' weekend with 8 of our closest friends. We all played at the South Beach Racquet Club and several of us also took a private clinic tailored for our skill level. We all had a great time and the staff was exceptional and worked very hard to ensure that we had a fantastic time. I would highly recommend this club. I felt very comfortable there, almost as if I was a member of the club. The pro shop has some of the best tennis clothes around too!"—A.B., Adv. Int., April 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating "I would highly recommend the South Beach Racquet club in HHI. Michael O'Keefe is an excellent instructor and his daily drills are great for players of all levels. I'm a 4.5 USTA player and had as much fun the less experienced players and even learned a thing or two. It's a beautiful facility with helpful, friendly staff - and you can't beat the location!!"—K.G., Adv. Int., April 2010
  • 5-Ball Rating "It is a wonderful club! I love playing tennis there every afternoon while on vacation. Plus the staff is so friendly and always helpful!"—M.G., Adv. Int., April 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "I brought my team members to South Beach last month and we had a great time. The drills and instruction were terrific! Everyone commented that they had a great time and learned more in our 4 days than in any other program!"—S.M., Int., April 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "SBRC is a great location with great staff and facilities."—J.A., Int., April 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "South Beach Racquet Club is the perfect spot for a tennis enthusiasts. Located in beautiful Sea Pines Plantation on Hilton Head Island, the club offers 13 soft courts, great tennis apparel and gear, a friendly staff and very good pros, (also bike rental). My husband, kids and I took lessons and clinics all week. If one of us was finished before the others there was a large covered porch with big comfortable rockers for relaxing and watching the tennis. We received great instruction and had lots of fun too. The location is great for biking, easy beach access, shopping and dining. We will definitely go back!!!"—J.H., Adv. Int., April 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating "Very good courts. Smooth and true bounces."—D.W., Low Int., April 2010
  • 5-Ball Rating "The property is very nice with large shade trees and a covered balcony to observe the courts. The Owners, Don & Rachel, are about as down-to-earth as it gets. They delightful people and the other staff very friendly as well. My Son loved his Junior Clinic. The Pro (Keith) was GREAT with the kids. I've never seen my Son so happy to go back each day. They even rent bikes here which is very convenient. Thanks for making our visit to Hilton Head a wonderful experience for all."—K.F., Adv., April 2010
  • 5-Ball Rating "a great place to play tennis,glof,shop,water sports,great places to eat and fantas beachs"—A.S., Int., April 2010
  • 5-Ball Rating "Really enjoyed the facility. Nice tennis shop along with great personel. The clay courts are in excellent shape and the camp I attended was exactly what I wanted. Have a very enjoyable trip to Hilton Head with this tennist resort being the highlight of my trip."—G.S., Int., April 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Great friendly staff and well kept grounds. We got a court right away. We'll definitely be back."—D.S., Low Int., April 2010
  • 5-Ball Rating "South Beach Racquet Club is our absolute favorite place to play tennis on Hilton Head Island. We've been going there for 18 years now. The courts are always in excellent shape, and the setting at South Beach is beautiful.
    The best part, though, is they have the friendliest staff of all the clubs I've visited. I've played at Palmetto Dunes, Sea Pines, the Westin facility, and we make a point of going to South Beach Racquet Club even if we're staying in one of the other plantations."
    —M.L., Int., April 2010
  • 3-Ball Rating "I was only in town for the weekend and only got to play once, but the courts played quite well and it was a good sized facility. Pro shop staff were great - the pro even replaced my grip with a new one when he saw how ratty my old grip was."—G.F., Adv., April 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "Recently I had the opportunity to spend 5 days playing tennis @ the South Beach Racquet Club. This and exceptional tennis facility. I enjoyed taking clinics from the head pro Michael, who offered great instuction. This is a warm and welcoming club in a great location in Sea Pines. Can't wait to go back!"—T.S., Adv., April 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating "Part of my tennis team enjoyed 3 days with Michael. He worked alot on game strategies and situational drills. I've been putting these "nuggets" into good use back in New Jersey. We had so much fun and I can't wait to go back again!!"—C.L., Int., April 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating "This is a great club in a wonderful resort. The tennis instruction was excellent and the owners of the club are some of the nicest people I have ever met. They went out of their way to make sure our group had everything. The courts are in great shape and the club is situated next to an adorable shopping village. It is the perfect get away."—C.S., Int., April 2010
  • 4½-Ball Rating ""—C.M., Adv., March 2010
  • 3½-Ball Rating "Fantastic club --the reason we keep coming back to Sea Pines and South Beach Tennis---condos and Racquet Club. Michael is fantastic coach and the office staff is amazing--extremely helpful, knowledgeable and friendly. Lots of serious tennis players here so esay to sub in or get a group going. thanks to Tri and all the great folks"—E.C., Int., March 2010
  • 5-Ball Rating ""—J.M., Adv., February 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating "Awesome tennis club. Was there for a long tennis weekend. Had a clinc with their pro and played tennis on their wonderfully maintained tennis courts. Very friendly staff and great tennis shop with all the latest apparel. Just a few minutes from the beach and great dining. Right next door to Salty Dog Cafe. A hop skip and a jump from Charlotte. Highly recommend it for a ladies tennis team get away."—S.H., Int., January 2010
  • 5-Ball Rating "South Beach Racket Club is so inviting with the beauty of the Club and tennis courts, a perfect location in Hilton Head. The staff is professional, friendly and very helpful! The tennis shop has the latest and most beautiful tennis fashion and the tennis lessons will last a life time!"—S.N., Adv., January 2010
  • 4-Ball Rating "Excellent facility with a top notch staff. Head pro, Michael O'Keefe, is quite good as an instructor. surroundings are beautiful"—R.M., Int., November 2009
  • 4-Ball Rating "Great all-around experience. Mike was awesome with both my daughter and myself. Keith took the time with my 7 year old son, and then took more time to talk thru some pointers with me. No question there is great value here. Cant wait to get back there next year for 2 weeks."—G.G., Int., August 2009
  • 4-Ball Rating "What a great surprise! I almost want to keep this place a secret. Everything was right about SBRC. I came down with 5 other ladies from my tennis team and took a couple of clinics with Michael and Keith. I've learned that you can teach an old dog new tricks! They were VERY good at helping us to improve our game on both the singles and doubles courts.
    Michael and Keith were very accommodating to each of our needs and they never seemed to run out of energy or enthusiasm. The facility is beautiful and the courts play great. It was an overall wonderful experience. We are all excited about returning in the Fall."
    —G.B., Int., July 2009
  • 4-Ball Rating "Affordable, relaxed atmosphere along with good tennis instruction. My 10 year old twins have played tennis here for the past two years and we will be returning. Mike O'Keefe, Dir. of Tennis is wonderful with children and their parents."—B.B., Int., July 2009
  • 4½-Ball Rating "A very friendly tennis club which welcomes vacationers and has some great clinics and events. Michael O'Keefe, the director of tennis and the chief pro, is a great teacher for all levels and who believes tennis should be fun, And that is what he makes it: fun. He breaks down your strokes and creates solutions to problems that are specific to your needs, not just cookie cutter instruction."—A.D., Adv. Int., March 2009
  • 4½-Ball Rating "We just started to play at this facility, having used other ones on Hilton Head before. This was the best we've tried so far. The layout of the club is very attractive; the courts are in very good condition; the staff are pleasant and helpful. The outstanding attraction, however, was the pro, Michael O'Keefe. He is an outstanding professional who gives great lessons and clinics. His greatest strength is that he doesn't teach by rote, but really tailors his instruction to your needs. He gave my completely different directions to my wife and I over our serves, because we both had different needs. My only hope is that he stays there so that when we return in September we can take up from where he left off."—P.H., Adv. Int., March 2009
  • 5-Ball Rating "The best kept secret on the Island, after wasting our time visiting the "larger" tennis resorts we stopped by the South Beach Racquet Club and met Michael (teaching pro) who immediately put together a goup of 8 players arranged for a mini round robin match, he even stayed late and participated in it. The owner's (Don and Rachel Sigmon) manage the club and they have managed to create one of the most enjoyable tennis experiences that we will never forget. This club is a must for any first time visitors to HHI looking for a place to find a match in a most pleasant environment."—V.B., Adv., February 2009
  • 5-Ball Rating "I loved it there. They have excellent services. The resort that I was in was great. The coach that taught me tennis was outstanding. I wished that I can stay in my vacation much longer, so I can stay in that resort."—A.K., Int., January 2009

Rate South Beach Racquet Club


Ratings

(168 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Instruction
4½-Ball Rating
Game Matching
4-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4-Ball Rating Tennis Complex
4-Ball Rating
Cuisine
3½-Ball Rating Lodging
4-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
3½-Ball Rating
Dollar Value
4½-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4½-Ball Rating Setting
4-Ball Rating
Kids' Programs
4-Ball Rating Romance
4-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4½-Ball Rating


Wild Dunes 250x250


Expedia.com


Ratings

(168 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Instruction
4½-Ball Rating Tennis Complex
4-Ball Rating Cuisine
3½-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4½-Ball Rating Setting
4-Ball Rating Romance
4-Ball Rating Kids' Programs
4-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Game Matching
4-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4-Ball Rating Lodging
4-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
3½-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4½-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4½-Ball Rating

Rates and Reservations

For rentals near the South Beach Racquet Club, contact:

South Beach Inn & Vacation Rentals., Inc.
232 S. Sea Pines Dr.
Hilton Head Island, SC 29938
Phone: 843-671-6498
Toll-free: 800-367-3909
Fax: 843-671-7495
Web: South Beach Inn & Vacation Rentals
The options include rooms at the South Beach Inn (which has efficiencies and 1- and 2-bedroom units) as well as villas and homes ranging in size from studios to 5 bedrooms.

Jan. 1-Feb. 5, 2016
Inn (daily): $75-$119

Feb. 6-Mar. 18 and Apr. 23-May 20, 2016
Inn (daily): $108-$152

Mar 19-Apr. 22 & May 21-Aug. 12, 2016
Inn (daily): $152-$196

Aug. 13-Oct. 14, 2016
Inn (daily): $108-$152

Oct. 15-Dec. 31, 2016
Inn (daily): $75-$119

South Beach Racquet Club
230 South Sea Pines Dr.
P.O. Box 5994
Hilton Head Island, SC 29938
843-671-2215
Fax: 843-671-1044
Web Link: South Beach Racquet Club
Internet Rates! Other Hilton Head Island Lodging. Check For Internet Specials at Hotels, Condos, and Villas

©2017 Roger Cox

Ratings

(168 Reviewers)
Tennis Overall
4½-Ball Rating Instruction
4½-Ball Rating Tennis Complex
4-Ball Rating Cuisine
3½-Ball Rating Dollar Value
4½-Ball Rating Setting
4-Ball Rating Romance
4-Ball Rating Kids' Programs
4-Ball Rating
Tennis Staff
4½-Ball Rating Game Matching
4-Ball Rating Junior Tennis
4-Ball Rating Lodging
4-Ball Rating Spa & Fitness
3½-Ball Rating Other Recreation
4½-Ball Rating Solo Travelers
4½-Ball Rating


Expedia.com

Kiawah Mar2011

Kiawah Island Golf Resort, South Carolina. Directed by Hall of Fame Tennis Pro Roy Barth, Kiawah's programs receive the highest accolades. Custom packages include unlimited court time, accommodations and daily breakfast. Enjoy Kiawah’s beach, spa, and dining. Call 888.856.7107 or visit www.kiawahresort.com/tennis


©2017 Roger Cox